(2011/04) Apr 2011

Btw, there's a motherhood fair at expo next Thursday to sun.. Maybe those interested in sling or carriers can go down have a look.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vivi,

Ya we try to burp him half way during feed but sometime when burping also cry.

As for bathing, water temperature is ok. As for timing, is always in the morning like 9+, or 10+. But i noe sometime when he is sleeping, my MIL will still bath him coz she said cant bath too late. Juz like this morning, when he merlion until whole body aso hv, i told my MIL tht need to bath him again but she said cannt bath so many times, use cloth with water to clean can ald. But i insist to bath him coz so sticky hw to juz wipe with cloth and water only.

As for carrying him, we tried all kinds of position, sometime it works, sometime it doesnt works, dunno why.

Gerry,

The philip sale that u mentioned, the steamer cum blender at $120, is it philips AVENT combined steamer and blender?

Vonn,

My MIL will always bath him after a while after his feed. And usually after his feed, he will fall asleep. Is that consider his napping time?

Re: motherhood fair

Dunno got what special deals, anyone knows?

Re: warming up ebm

Recently i realised tht zaccheus like to drink his milk warm, coz when i express my milk out and put o/s to wait for his next feed, he will cry when drink half way and dun want to drink but when we take the milk to make it warm a bit, then he'll drink.

Fung Fung

For me usually I will bath baby at 10am if not latest by 11am

What I do is usually Vianne will wake up 15 minutes before next feed and quickly bath her. Before that I stand by milk so once bath she can drink. If she fuss sometimes I will give pacifier. Once in water she calms down but when u scoop get up she wail so I give pacifier while dressing her. I hate to bath her after feed because need to wait awhile to bath her and if she falls asleep then I try not to stir her

I bath Vianne twice a day because weather hot and I find top tail not really clean and Vianne dislike top tail so I give her a quick bath at about 5pm usually

Maybe when you carry baby try to talk to him in a soothing way see if you can calm baby. Have to trial and error. What I do is to talk to her ask her what is wrong and carry her upright on my chest and pat her backside or back

Gerry,

at least ur #1 n #2 take turn my 1 nap n wake up together lol~ jus now feed 1 the other whine so i carry #2 n feed my #1 lo siong ah..

Hippopolai,

sian tml also.. mine is on n off when my HB work OT i also gotta take care of 2 really siong leh.. n #1 will come n wan carry lo...

Jtho,

oh for me i will pour the required room temp in the milk bott so when feedin time jus pour the hot in so the temp jus nice cos i scare the flask if too long the water temp may drop ..

fungfung,

cos yaolan bb feel more secure mah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

the playmat is LG parklon can buy from BP cheaper.. i bott mine from small small world ..

Can anyone advise how to clear blocked duct? I latched bb on 2x, pumped 2x 120ml but the pain keeps coming back... Used hot compress n massage also no use wor... I need help!

michelle

wat I do is msg then pump 2hrly till ita clear then hg bk to usual interval 3-4hrly. if not, do u wanna ask ML to do mag for u? is it very pain?

Vivi,

If my boy wakes up before next feed, he'll cry and when hd cries, MIL will give milk first rather than bath him. Even give pacifier when he cries, sometime he dun want. So he will keep crying and even louder.

Ua, i noe weather is hot and bath once a day is nt enough bt nw staying at MIL's place so a lot of restriction. At nite, can only Top tail.

As for carrying, have tried all, sing song, carry him in watever position i can think of, talk to him and ask him wat's wrong, pat him and swing a bit. Cant think of wat havent try?

Piggy,

If they are so use to yaolan, dunno will it be difficult to wean off later or nt.

As for the playmat, is small small world a BP place?

Fung, have to play by the ear. I dnt agree w showering after feeding hence I prefer to wait ard 20-30mins.

For myself, I dnt shower right after meal for watever reason(can't rem).

Piggy, I'm using the same method as u. Fully feel u have to handle 2 kids alone. Hope my helper can manage when I resumed work. I think till Dec hols, she be alone handling I freak.

Jus had a war, went for 2hrs me time and home to fight 2hrs battle! #1 cried for almost 1hr b4 I'm home and another on off 2hrs...crying again with corse voice!

Infact I nvr bring her out b4,so far to hospital,pd and citysq mall(within 3hrs we r home). Total less than 5x...

#1 was cranky too and hubby 越帮越忙!气死了!

Feel like asking him go work tml haha

Anyone need his 'help' tml pm me!! Hahaha...

Vonn

reason why cannot bath after feed is because baby will vomit milk

Fung Fung

A bit tricky for yours because mine most of the time awake so easier. Hmm if you wake the baby 10 minutes before feeding time? My mil also made comments on how come baby need to bath twice? I ignore her

jtho, that's wat i tot too, but then again, I dun feed my bb jar food nor I freeze home-made pureed food, so that's why I kept thinking abt it lor heee. Nvm, what I wanted is a really fast action warmer, so since none can deliver what I'm looking for, it's ok to do w/out then... thks ya, everyone, for the valuable reviews/info!

oh, warmed up ebm can last up to 4hrs, cfm?

Fung,

Yup that is the one.. Comes with free gift too.. 1 baby feeding bowl and spoons and 2 avent containers

Piggy,

Wah siong.. You are good.. No maid.. Do everything on your own.. Pei Fu!!

oh ya, read from someone's earlier post is that the young savers acc will be automatically 'opened' when we set up the child's CDA acc with OCBC bank rite? I didn't get the passbook leh... But I applied for the CDA acc via post and then later I saw both a/cs linked to my internet banking.

Dreamyspring, d auto vacumn cleaner is Romba n d mopping cleaner is Scooba. I have d cheapest range of d Romba whch I got from their shop at Chinatown for $398. It's not super duper clean but acceptable but then it's not that durable. I had mine fixed 2 times during the year n now after a year, d battery seems to have ran out, always low batt so I chunk it in storeroom Liao. D local warranty is 1yr for d vacumn cleaner provided that there r no rust as it's not supposed to use on water surface. battery is 6mths warranty.

D Scooba is quite X, about $1k but if buy from Us website cheaper. Can check out hardwarezone forum under the Home & Furnishing there's a thread on Romba & Scooba.

Michelle, I find d best is let baby latch. Probably let baby latch for longer time n a few feeds n should clear.

Mum05, basically only 2 types of sling, 1 with a ring which can adjust the length n d other is like a pouch fixed loop can't adjust. But there r many different brands in d market, think d more popular adjustable sling is MIM(Moms in Mind) n d pouch is pupsik.

Another wasted Sat for me! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so sad didn't get to go shopping.....sighzzzzzzzzzzz

my fingers r so itchy, I need to buy something~~~~~~

btw, mummies using d Bjorn carrier, which series did u buy? D classic, air , active or synergy? Where s cheapest place to buy, saw BP got sell, would it b cheaper than Mothercare?

Mum05

Whether warmed up EBM can last 4 hrs or not, I cannot really remember. Can our expert here, Gerry, enlighten us? Hehehe... For me, I checked with my hubby whether it is ok, he said ok... But so far I didn't need to put aside for more than an hour [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gerry,

Bobian sumtime when u gt no help u will force urself to do it jus tt more challenging..

Mum05,

Ocbc will mail u a letter to collect the bankbook 1.. But u can also walk in ask them to issue..

ningyo

i latched until my nipples are sore and painful n my goose pimples all came out whenever he suckles... i never latched since the day he came home from hospital so i think im not doing it correctly. i'll try latching again on his next feed. anyway, latching is not supposed to hurt right?

im using Bjorn synergy. my boy quite like it cuz he can fall aslp easily whenever i put him inside... and it's quite easy to use. the only thing i dont like is that my shoulders ache after maybe 2 hours of using it... cheapest place to buy is BP ($219) definitely. Everywhere's selling at $299 (Taka, first few years, mothercare)... I hardly see discounts for Bjorn... even after mothercare member's 10% discount, it's still more expensive than BP. You can go try out at mothercare, then if u decide to buy, you can get it from BP. :)

mum05

yes the young savers is automatically opened. cannot choose de... they did issue me a bank book for the young savers account. for the CDA, only a card. :) i think if they didnt issue u a bank book, u can request from them..

Automatic Vacuum Cleaner - My hubby also looking ard for one.. initially looking at romba or irobot.. then after some research, a better one is Neato.. easy on maintenance (no need to clear the dust/hair everyday), faster than irobot (due to the better algo i think), thus saving electricity.. we gg to buy from US website within the next couple of weeks and ship over.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] if u wan more info, can let me know.. i can ask my hubby to share more info here..

Babybjorn - i bought a second hand one at $140, which the previous owner use less than 5 times.. model is synergy coz the extra back support is good and the material is air mesh.. good for sg weather.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] can try at mothercare first before buying second hand online.. that's wat i did.. vivocity sales person very frenly.. the harbourfront one dun even help or give advise when i enquiry abt the carrier.. and they dun seem very knowledgable..

Michelle, yup correct latching won't make d nipples painful or sore. Make sure areola is in baby mouth when latching.

Btw, d difference between Bjorn synergy and air is that synergy more suited for taller built pple isitz? Coz I'm short n so not sure if synergy will be too big for me.

Tomorrow shall go harbourfront or vivo mother care to try.

Shice, thanks for d link! But it's seems to b available in jun....I think I'm abit impatient, hope to try n if ok to get asap. Supposedly I shdnt be spending $ buying carriers coz i have an ergo which is d wardrobe for 4yrs, a sling but currently dun fit as well coz I'm still abit fat so caused me to have shoulder ache.

Btw, how much is d neato?

My baby must have been as upset as me for not being able to go gai gai...he's been awake almost d whole day n now getting cranky liao n having problem sleeping!

Ningyo

Hmmm ok... I try again later... I just hope it won't morph into mastitis... The diff between air n synergy is e extra back support... Synergy has a back support piece... Compared to air, synergy is more comfy... Tall or short, doesn't really mk a difference cuz e straps can be adjusted.

Pupsik

I like pupsik cos of the design but my boy hate it n love my MIM. Tried it at mothercare I took M can't fit, L abit loose not very comfy for me n bb while XL very loose [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Food jar + water flask promo

Went n bought on fri so used it for my outing jux now hehe love it the porridge I prepare fOr my gal is warm n she finish everything n the flask is small don feel so heavy happy wif my buy hehe

Ningyo

Need to ask, if my bb is sleeping soundly n my blocked duct is getting more painful, what should I do? Should I pump out first? I scared I pump Liao then when I latch bb, he has ntn to drink...

Article on roomba vs neato vacuum cleaners.. Quite technical n detailed..

http://www.robotreviews.com/reviews/roomba-780-vs-neato-xv-11-head-to-head

http://www.botjunkie.com/2010/06/04/irobot-roomba-560-vs-neato-xv-11/

The cost of neato xv-11 Is abt $600+ after taking into account the shipping charges from USA.. If wanna get locally, can get from valurobovac.weebly.com where they selling at $800+.. If get locally, more expensive but at least got warranty from the seller and dun have to worry abt the shipping.. So see whether u wanna save cost a not loh..

So d Neato is a new competitor for Roomba. Anyway, $600+ still abit steep...hehe, dun think my hubby will approve for

me to buy n also i dun really have a good experience with my Roomba coz only last me a year n worst is within d year, I have to lug d Roomba for repair twice.

ningyo.. roomba spoil so easily?? hmm.. but wat's your experience with auto vacuum cleaner? is it really useful? coz i seriously doubting it's effectiveness.. i scared my hubby buy liao, end up become white elephant at home.. sigh..

Shice, maybe I'm unlucky lor. My gf also got d cheapest roomba n been using for a yr+ without any problem. Maybe she dun use it as frequent as me, I use d roomba at least 3 times a week n always make effort to remove d battery after each use so as to retain d useful life of d battery.

Hmm I dun think it will be a white elephant coz it's really useful for lazy n busy pple like me. Hehe, juz press 1 button n d vacumn cleaner will got clean d house n u can enjoy ur TV or surf net. But it's best if ur house dun have too many furniture or obstacles. My roomba got repaired once coz d sensor koyak n roomba can't retract n kanna stuck n end up I have to manual shift d roomba to clean other area.

D model I got is basic n so don't have any auto house to go back for recharging or set any timer, so can't comment much.

Btw, d battery is not cheap too, I think roomba battery cost $90+ . Even thou it's very small, u b surprised that it can still manage to vacumn quite alot of dust.

Those normal vacumn cleaner r actually more practical n durable n cheaper n more functions than auto vacumn cleaner. Auto can only clean d floor, can't clean sofa or curtain.

My conclusion is auto vacumn cleaner r only suitable for busy n lazy n not too fussy pple. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Finally out from confinement and BB L is 1 month old already :)

Guess I'm too excited being able to eat outside food and go shopping that I'm still not sleeping now!! hiaz ... wanna go more shopping tomorrow!!

Too many "shows" to bring my #1 to see this holidays!!

My boobs still have that uncomfortable feeling after every pump or feed ... hiaz I seriously don't mind having the pump on for longer period as i feel much better some times .. kind of strange right and I'll get more milks due to the duration LOL!!

Vonn,

My MIL also wont shower Zaccheus after his milk, she'll wait for a while as she said after a meal cant shower immediately and aso scare he will vomit milk out if he cries.

Vivi,

If wake him up before feeding time, he'll make noise if he didnt sleep enough or make noise coz is feeding time. So when he is sound asleep, dun dare to wake up him if nt he can be very cranky. So sometime i can only play by ear to see the situation then act. And once act, will try all kinds of method to make him calm down.

U mean sling him to make him calm down when he is cranky or to wean him off yaolan?

Actually is nt so much of his crankiness, the only thing i worry is tht he'll vomit milk coz when he cries, he'll struggle and sometime will hold his breadth for a few seconds. If nt, i'll juz leave him cry until he is tired if tried all methods aso nt successful.

Gerry,

I'm looking at that too. Is a better deal than staff purchase. Where did ur mum got it? The sale until when?

Fung Fung

Then I think you need to play by ear. If baby wakes up before feed not crying quickly catch him to bath.

You mentioned that he likes Yao LAN sling a bit like Yao LAN maybe you can sling him? So far anyone in the family managed to calm him down when crying? Maybe you can observe what went right when the person who manages to calm him down. Most importantly when baby cried don't panic and be calm.

Fung,

Opps paiseh.. I bought the avent steamer cum blender for $176.. Phillips having warehouse sale at tpy lor 1.. I think today last day..

Vivi,

Ya lor hv to play by ear, no choice lor. Hope this situation will gets better when he is older. As for sling him, maybe i can try it. Nw watever method i can try will try. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

as for any family members can calm him dwn, i find tht is very funny, whenever he is cranky in whoever's hand, once switch hand, the latter will be able to calm him.

As for colicky, have been giving him the ripwind, bt dunno whether it works or nt? We aso dunno hw to determine that.

Gerry,

Oh so the blender that i told u is $176? Then wat u buy for $120? So $176 is the discounted price (nett price) with all those free gifts tht mentioned earlier?

Gerry,

The steamer/blender must wash carefully, especially the inside top part (sort of like a "strainer").. Very difficult to wash away even if a little bit of oil (even from fish).. Must scrub and scrub, ar bo quite smelly and if unlucky, may grow maggots from tiny leftovers that we can't reach in corner de.. Cos I kena before.. Damn gross..

Sold mine away for I think $100 only.. Of course I scrubbed and scrubbed clean clean and smell nice nice before selling! haha.. Wouldn't sell with such an er xin looking or smelling sight de.. =X.. It was still very new (like a week old or so) but very difficult maintenance.. If maid wash, all the more must check and scrutinize..

Vivi,

I manage to done it half way without him crying. I saw that he is awake so quickly get him to bath. When i undress him, he is ok (not like other times, when undress he aso cry) the only time he start to cry is when put him into the bath tub. I notice that he feel unsecure and scare coz his hand will try to find something to grab. Even though i support his other hand, push him to sit back against the basin, tok to him to assure him tht mummy is here, he still cries. Any suggestion to make him feel secure and not so scare?

For me is once I put baby down in bath tub, I start to put her in a sitting position and pat her back with water and wash her back first then place baby in a slight lying position first and wash her front . Again before washing front pat get chest with water.

Maybe for a start try not to load too much water . Then what I will do is to tell baby what am I going to do .

I really cannot take it anymore, sooner or later will get depression. I juz dun understand how come i can make the sacrifice for bb but juz ask him hold on to his game 1st, so that he can help mi bath zaccheus while he is awake. He said tht 11-12pm he cant coz need to do something to his game. So damned pissed off, u mean must suit his timing and nt bb timing, before having zaccheus, i can tolerate it . But now got new commitment and responsibility, i juz dun understand why. Thought with a kid, his role will change and will be better. I'm not saying that he didnt did his duty as a father (he does help) but i juz find that he shd hv differentiate which are his priorities.

Sorry for venting out here if nt i'll go crazy...

Fung Fung

Guys are like this. I was so mad at my Hubby when he continue his phone conversation while Vianne starts to cry. I was busy preparing bath water. Then he just start to undress her but all that Vianne wants is just a cuddle.

Then when his off day I ask him to help me while I try to nap a while. He complained that his off day and yet he had no rest because he needs to take over me. I retorted by telling him that if you want to be a father no off day for you. Then I stayed at home means I have no rest too?

Heehee, sorry wanted to say bath tub, dunno why type basin out

Pearly,

Thanks for sharing, maybe shd try it next time when hv the chance.

Vivi,

I did that, even before putting Zaccheus dwn, i use water to pat his chest 1st. And once inside the bath tub, i aso put him in sitting position, let him lean on my arm and wash his back. But when it comes to the front, i cant put him in slightly lying position coz he already so scare in sitting position, i scare he'll cry even louder

As for loading of water, will try nt to load too much water next time and see how. I did tok to him wat am i doing and even assure him tht mummy is here and mummy is holding u, dun worry.

Fungfung,

Why not just tell him to bathe baby after he's done with whatever then leave the baby beside your hubby and u leave the room or hall (wherever he is at).. It would be better if baby cries cos he would have to take action liao.. No man can tolerate a crying and wailing baby.. Meanwhile u just rest while u hear your hubby panic loh.. When he screams for u to help, tell him your rest is VERY important leh.. U're not free from now till 1hr later..

Not say I chek ark or wad la.. But everytime only we panic, a bit not fair la.. I pei fu u leh.. Still can allow your hubby to play game as priority!! Even a past hardcore gamer like me also cannot do it liao.. But then again, maybe becos I'm the mother and not father.. Haiz..

Just gotta let the men "taste the medicine that we eat everyday" ar bo they will never understand de loh! Throw the baby to them for 1 or 2days and see how they act.. I always challenge my hubby one.. haha.. So now, he understands my pain..

Vivi,

Ya, it's so frustrating... We women even though has motherly instinct or motherly care and love doesnt mean that being a Daddy dun need to do anything other than providing the sperm only (sorry for the language)

Vivi,

Last time during #1, my hubby also always tell me he needs to sleep cos got to work.. I always retort back saying I'm also WORKING at home 24/7 and also need sleep leh, how? I cannot even eat my meals or use the loo at my own pace leh.. At least he gets to eat or poo in peace.. Break time can slack a bit.. And got off days, I dun have leh.. He works ONE shift, I work ALL shifts leh.. Men ah! Buay tahan them sometimes..

From day 1, I already make so much noise to go work.. Then he start to worry about the "taking care" of baby part.. Cos if I suddenly give up and go work, baby die at home alone loh.. Waahahaha.. Right after those arguments, he started to understand cos I always tell him to take leave to take care of baby alone while I hide away to rest! He now know very xin ku le!