(2011/04) Apr 2011

Tweety,

Oh no.... I just can't get to sleep.... Feeling uncomfortable but dun know where or what... Maybe coz it's not my room, nit my bed and coz my little bunny's not with me!! :p

Congrats moon & fung

Up feeding baby

Moon,

Usually in the hospital very hard to rest..

Fung,

Our body usually takes 3-5 days to produce milk.. In the meantime, baby's body has enough store to tide him through this period and he doesn't need fm.. Of course, if u give him fm, he will accept.. Doesn't indicate he needs it..

It is fantastic that he is latching and sucking well.. He is trying to stimulate your milk production.. If you really want to bf, don't give up and just keep latching.. The milk will come in.. The early days are painfully exhausting as he will want to latch on non stop and you might think you are not producing enough to meet his demands but he is actually doing this so that you can meet his demand!!

Usually you will know when your milk has kicked in is when your boobs feel fuller, baby's poo will change from black to brown, to green to yellow mustard seed consistency ( usually takes more than a week) and check your baby's tongue.. It will be whitish..

No and you don't need to pump to find out you have milk..

My #1 fed hourly the first week or so and it is also normal.. Although super tiring for me.. I wanted to ensure that both my kids are tbf.. And yes it can be done!!!

Moon,

Maybe u're still excited over d birth of ur baby that's y can't sleep? Anyway if u had opt for total breastfeeding, probably d nurse will push baby from nursery to u soon for feeding...

I remember during my stay at MT A, d nurse will push my boy to me at about 4am for feeding.

Woke up to latch my boy at 1.30am n then pump n after finish pumping, my boy hungry again. Luckily he can go back to sleep but I'm wide awake now. I hope I can go back to sleep....

Moon: you're still excited over the arrival of ur bb la.. Relax relax.. =)

Just fed my boy.. Now pumping... The big (hubby) and small (baby) sleeping soundly on my right and left.. Hahaha..

I'm still awake! Sighzz....been having such sleepless nights these few days, only manage to zzz about 10am till noon n then continue with noon naps.

Btw, other then bengawan solo vouchers, what other cake vouchers are there?

Any mummies went back office to give full month cakes n vouchers? Not sure if I shd go back office during full month or not coz don't know if my colleagues got consolidate ang pow or not. My dept head gave me a big ang pow n I'm kind o stressed what cake voucher to give her.....

Tweety,ur baby also sleep together w u n hub or in cot?

My boy sleeps between me n hub, lazy n find it quite a chore to put baby in cot.

Btw, any mummies experiencing finger tightness pain, like d finger joints kinda ache when u bend.

When I had my #1 boy, I had wrist pain n now my #2 boy, had finger pain. Didn't have such problems when I had my girl thou.....

Ningyo: initially I put bb in between us to sleep.. But hubby is those deep sleeper.. I scare he turned and squash bb sia.. I put bb in cot now..

For me I will bring bb to office to send out full month cakes.. =)

Piggy, i got help w #1 but #2 I'm on my own liao. Joel is not ez at all! Yest CL carry him from 1am to 5am cos he dun wanna zz once put down cry liao! Even CL cant handle. Today someone's gonna zz throughout his full mth celebration le! Hb early morn so pissed le. I ordered extra food for buffet.. End up yest n today then alot of ppl last min say cant come!

Tweety

thanx [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

me oso slp wif bb hehe but I will b in the middle of bb n hb. Love slpin wif bb cos can smell him n slp plus I always cuddle him. He seems like my Teddy bear now.

Moon

congrats

Sandy: yeah.. I love sleeping with bb too.. But hubby la.. Too dangerous.. Only sometimes when I take afternoon nap.. I will put bb on the bed with me.. Heehee

Elmo: hugz hugz.. Maybe joel got wind in the tummy?? that day jerrell also not willing to sleep.. Then put Ru Yi oil for him.. Then he poo poo... After that he slept..

Oh dear.. Alot of ur guests cannot attend??

morningladies..

Congrats Moon!!!

Elmo,

my #2 also not ez... nite feed ok but after feed dun 1 to sleep.. sleep a while make noise n go on the whole nite bth...

ya it like tt always last min many cant make it ..

Piggy, same here! Joel zz also make alot of noise!

Tweety, no wor. According to CL.. Joel's nite sleeping habits are horrid! Keep waking up dun wanna zz.. Ask for milk but give le cant finish. Then few days back drink friso ok.. Now at nite prefer my milk again! His pattern keep changing.

Ya lo.. Last min many of those frens with kids sick cant come. Who wanna come my place eat free food. Welcomed! :p

Mummies.. How much does ur 1mth ld drink now? Initially I giving 100-120ml every 2hrs but now less than 2hrs, my boy will wan milk. So we increase to 120-140ml.. Sometimes drink halfway, he will doze off..

1. Is it 120-140ml too much for him?

2. Will you wake him up to finish all the milk? if yes, how? If no, Wat will u do with the milk?

Michelle S,

that is still cheaper then the one i went to. i paid around $90+.

Mrs Chua,

when my bb doze off while feeding, i'll use my finger and lightly stroke his lower cheek area (taught by the LC at TMC) and he will begin to suckle again. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

otherwise you can try stroking/rubbing his feet/hands to get him to wake up to continue to feed.

tweety,

i have two more weeks too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Elmo & piggy... Gervaise oso the same, at night will keep asking for milk. After drinking hard time burp, burp Le put him slp, after awhile ask for milk again.. Drink milk half way zzzzz.. Cannot finish, can't wake him to finish it so alwAys drink half den v shortly ask for milk again..

Ningyo.. For me, I invited my collages (abt 10 of them)to bb shower den In thr end onli 2 came so I Jus gotten bengawan solO vouchers & get one of them on my behalf go office on mon distribute.. Anyway now office super peak cos without me & my suP resign, they really lack of manpower so if I bring bb down is like disturb their work & they dun hv time entertain us.. So decided to give them vouchers & that it ;)

Tweety & sandy.. I oso like to zzz with baby on bed but my hubby & tweety's hubby same, dangerous man slp will hv big action later squash bb so I onli let bb slp with me when hubby nt ard..

Mummies.. Wan to check.. I notice my boy these 2 days will b wide awake from 7pm onwards until abt 9pm sometimes 10pm.. Though he is tired but fun really wan to zzz.. Morn oso abt the same, wakeie ard 5am tor milk den dun really wan to zzz Liao.. Is thus his sleeping pattern? If yes, can change him? If nt I not enough slP leh ESP morn part..

Am packing up to catch my flight this noon back to Aust. Still packing togther with yelling at #1 to stop taking things out from luggage and hoaxing #2 to sleep.

Those who want feedback from Good Luck Kitchen. Feedback from guests are good. They love the pig stomach soup. Portion was ok big. I ordered 35 pax for 45 adults. Remember to bring extra plates and cutleries if you are ordering lesser than the no of guests. Oh and.. noodles portion is big. We managed well as we ordered only 1 noodles and had 8 other dishes. We then cook a pot of white rice to supplement.

Gerry, how to prevent bb from wanting to suckle to slp... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

N so hard to guage wat e bb wants sometimes. Like this am, 2:15am, my helper fed her FM, I woke up at 3am to pump(finally able to wake up on alarm to express), but ended up, I had to soothe my bb! Seeing that she seems to want to suckle some more, I put her to my B, but ar, abit here n there, not really suckling, for 1 hr til 4am! So I hv no choice but to get up to express. Then 5am+, just when I'm done with expressing and gg to slp, she cried for feed! But I've already put the EBM to the chiller, so end up I mix FM for her again, [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Lynn, mine ar, sometimes it works, probably when she's still hungry, so it'll kinda wake her up to feed again, but ar, most of the time she'd just nibble nibble a few secs, aiyoh I don't wanna be a walking pacifier, no rest! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

piggy: nvm.. ren for 1 wk n 2 days can le.. can train my tolerance level to the max.. LOL.. was telling my cousin abt this CL, my cousin was saying the CL see me and my hb young, 1st kid.. so both of us "HAO QI FU".. -.-

winwin: hugs ya.. are u feeling better now?

Congrats moon! Our bbs have e same weight :)

Fungfung

No need to pump to know if we have milk... Just let ur bb suckle... The milk will come in naturally... I pump only because my bb wasn't latching v well... So I pump to stimulate e milk supply.

I just went to the PD at bukit batok central cuz my boy has rashes around his neck.. Doc said my boy has sensitive skin... I wonder if it's due to e birds nest I drank in my 2nd trim. Sigh.

hi mummies, popcornmum has popped! i neva can imagine contractions can be so painful!!! almost wanna faint liao. pls help to update the table. thanks! DOB: 21st April 2011 Wt. 2.845kg natural w epidural

Mummies, long x no post but have reading.

Piggy, I'm giving fm le. Simply can't manage bf. Not easy with #1, but hang on..I'm waiting for the day of freedom frm nite feed too. Mine oso very noisy when sleeping, my hubby commented she's Ferrari cos the sounds she made sounds like sports car haha

Elmo, mine too..last min there are ppl tar can't turn up. Can't help it too.

Mrs chua, mine oso drinking pattern like yours. Im not sure if I'm correct. Jus sharing my style..every 2.5 to 3hrly is 100ml, ard 1-1.5hrs after the 100ml if she need milk, I give 70ml.

Nite I will make 120ml and she will drink watever she can but I try to make sure she drink min 100ml.

Congrats to those who have popped! Welcome to owl club!

mikio: i m better now no more fever le thanks. btw how come you dont want to change your CL? managing a new born already very challenging and you still need to tolerate a CL which you pay to hire??????

piggy/vonn: mine too!! very noisy when sleeping..like an ah bei keep having those hmmm hmmm hmmm sound. at first i tot its the air con issue. at first we cant zzz at all coz keep wondering is baby ok or not but now we have learn to ignore and juz continue to zzzzzz

mum05,

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] probably bb very tired.

pink,

jia you jia you! the day is ending soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

just realised my supply seems to have dropped and bb doesn't seem to be drinking enough.

anyone know how to increase supply other then latching and pumping frequently?

Sigh.. The weather is sooo hot!! Omg!! This weather is soo not helping my skin getting better!!Arghzz..

mum05,

After a feed, if baby falls asleep.. I would unswaddle a bit to wake her up and then put her to bed.. However, this does not work for every baby.. you can try.. Some babies find it very shiok to sleep on the boobs.. Unfortunately..

Wah you very hardworking pump and latch like that.. Very exhausting.. For me I find latching the least tiring.. Actually when I latch baby, I would be doing something relaxing.. Like reading a magazine or watching tv.. so the time will pass by very fast and it is not tiring at all.. =)

For my #1, I didn't have a maid and it was my mum doing everything so I didn't want to pump when I am with baby cos then I would have to wash and sterilise.. Super ma fan.. Hehe!!

winwin,

good that you are feeling better.. =)

pink,

Try to enjoy yourself.. =)

Gerry, wanna ask how u latch ur baby while keeping ur hands free to do other things? Using breast friend pillow or sling? I'm still trying o find a good method to latch baby properly.. Then next time can bring him out without carrying all the ebm and stuff.. I.e. Do direct latching..

Wanna ask one more question, if I warm my ebm but baby cannot finish, can I keep for next feed or throw away (ouch!)? if keep, then should keep in pigeon warmer, room temp or fridge and for how long? Tia!

Hi hi~~~

Congrats to Moon, Fungfung, popcornmummy!!!!!!

Went out this afternoon to the cake shop some mummies recommend to order the full month cake... The price is quite ok but have to self-collect, a bit Ma fan... Anyway, booked Liao... Then suddenly reminds me actually I can order from Lecafe... -_-" sian half~~~

Winwin,

Jia you! U will b fine soon!!!!!

Michelle,

U or ur hubby Have history of sensitive skin? Gene play a part too...

Hi Gerry,

Isn't true that breast fed babies will take longer to sleep through the night? Ytd I latched my gal around 11+pm. My CL said she opened her eyes big big and refused to sleep. But right after the btl feed(ebm) at 3am, she straight away sleep till she missed her feed at 6am. Two of my friends expressed out their bm and btl feed their gals during day & nite time. They told me that their gals started to sleep through the nite since 2th mth.

i realise i updat my delivery date wrongly, it shld be 16 apr instead of 18 apr, can help me update the table?

I do not have any milk supply until 5th day i managed to pump out some colostrum, then 6th day then got a bit of milk supply, until now is 9th day, every day i can only pump out less than 200 ml, is it normal? i think is consider very low, i feel so disappointed and my baby had been drinking FM, only 1-2 feeds a day is BM. i give FM to my baby since i got no BM for the first few days, now, my baby cannt latch on correctly, he only suck the nipple and dont open up his mouth, anyone know how overcome this problem? i hope can latch him on to help build up my milk supply

Winwin and piggy, so did u give FM to ur baby on the first few days? and did u encounter the same problem as i do?

Hi Gerry,

To add on...my gal always doze off when I latch her, hence, she may not drinking enough bm. It is Soooo hard to wake up her at times!

Jojo.. I have the same prob as u too.. My boy always doze off half way while latching.. End up din drink enough.. Sigh.. Bottle feed, he can still stay awake and finish 80-100ml.. Wish he could sleep thru the nite soon... He's now almost 3 wks old..

Mummies, what u all do with the umbilical cord? The one that dropped off.. Also, first month hair cut, is it cut on exactly the date ur baby is born? Do u all keep the hair or do anything with it? Just getting some opinions here..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vonn/Winwin,

noisy still ok but he sleep abit cry wake up n the cycle continue whole nite really bth lo...

Mei,

yes i gave FM jus gave watever BM u can to ur bb dun stress..

Shice,

for the U.cord i ordered the U.cord stamp from taimobi n becos they gave free hair brush so we get them to come shave n do the brush...

Mei,

Day 9 can get abt 200ml is very good~!!!!! me today day 20 only 200-220ml per pump... If no latch can get at most 250ml only lor...

How many ml ur bb drinking? Big drinker huh? How come 200ml can only get 2 feed??? How long do u pump interval? I feed 2.5-3.5hrly... Pump after I latch... How abt u!?

My bb girl also cannot latch well after we're home... I keep on trying every feed... Even until now my girl also latch then btl feed... We are still in training to do total latch!

Bb takes time to learn how to latch... I find that if we btl feed & want them do completely latching... It's abit difficult, coz suckle from btl is much more easier, so in the end they dun want to latch on nips... -_-" so if u can, try to train ur boi to do completely latching... Jia You!!!

My girl from initial latch 10mins until today can latch 1hr liao... Soon we will keep all the bottles away~ yippee!

Shice,,

Unfinished BM can keep in fridge for next feed... Remember not to mix, let bb finish the balance from last feed then top up new 1...

Piggy,

How much u pay for the taimaobi package??? But I dun wan shave Jovie's hair... Just cut a bit... 意思意思就好... Haa haa...

Shice,

For my 1st, I just keep the cord & shaved hair in an Ang pow....

Piggy,

Not same... Urs is IL... Mine is my own parent... & yet they dun really understand that I need to bond with my kid & I need to rest at the same time... They come I still must stay awake to 'watch' them just in case they anyhow teach Terry like the biting incident.... I get no rest & I get no slot to bond with Terry.. Super buay zidong...

winwin: don't need to change her.. just need to tahan her for 8 more days and i'm counting down..

hipopoplai: HOLD ME~~ sometimes i got the urge to slap my CL on the face... Zzzz.. the comments she make damn irritating... i've been hearing it like almost 100 times.. *shakes head*

Mikio,

GO AHEAD!!!!! Or I help u slap!!!!! Wahahahahaaha!!!!!! *evil laugh*

Go ahead & tell her off... I'll be standby cheer for u!!!!! U need me wear mini skirt & cheer!???? Or just my sleeping PJ can Liao??? Let u chose, Kekekeke....

Hi shice,

I very often would use the cradle and cross cradle hold. And all I need is 1 hand to support baby to my body and leaves the other hand free to flip a book, eat etc.. Like right now I am typing while feeding my girl.. Hehe!! No I don't use any pillow or sling. I find the sling too difficult for me to control my baby. Try to practice at home first.. When I go out alone, I would hold baby with 1 hand, take my shawl from my bag with the other hand, wear it and place baby under to latch..

Unfinished ebm can be kept for next feed.. No longer.. I would keep it in the fridge and 20 mins before next feed I would warm it up. But I wouldn't mix it with a fresh batch of ebm. I would warm it up separately.

Jojo,

I don't know abut sleeping through.. I think it is baby dependent.. Cos I have friends who do direct latch at night and baby will sleep through the night.. But that would mean that the last feed is about midnight and baby will wake up around 6am..

And for me my #1 didn't even sleep through the night after I weaned her off my boobs at 1 yr old!!!! Sigh..

And I also have friends who give FM/EBM and still don't sleep through the night..

If you think baby is not having enough.. Maybe if she falls asleep, you can unswaddle her and place her to your boobs again.. or you can massage your breast, and some milk squirt into the mouth and baby will wake up and continue suckling..

hipopolai: LOL!!! wear bikini.. =p

She say my boi keep crying so need to ask my hb to buy electric yao lan soon.. i say.. got normal yao lan can liao.. then she still can say back le.. she say that like that i will be very busy when she's not around.. i have to be always at the yao lan...

bbgoh: ya.. won't slap her.. scarli she hoot me back.. LOL.. 8 MORE DAYS~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I bathed my boi today.. think i'm a bit slow.. he cry and cry.. -.-