(2011/04) Apr 2011

Mrs Chua:

I didn't go in the end. hubby says too crowded, afraid i might get hurt, fall down or wat. (he too paranoid liao lah >_<)

probably will go weekday instead.

what's DOM for?

Piggy,

Yeah e electric bill ..... We did calculate in coz e CL will use tons n tons of water that wat my Hubby say

Vivi,

VSOP also can if u dun have Dom but normally ppl will give I got like 6 to 7 bottles of DOM as gift .....

Piggy, 1st and 2nd mth after del always got alot things to buy and spend alot $. Luckily my bonus is coming in march jus in x to cover some cost. Electricity base on #1 oso double lor..,

SY,

ya cos we bath also mus boil the water etc... sigh...all $$$$...

Lynn,

it use to double boil with herbs n black chix to bu our body durin confinement...

Vonn,

ya lo the spending is nv endin once u have children..

Wah.. Confinement so ex! My first also nowhere near this amount.. Somemore all in lump sum of cash.. If i do, think we declare bankrupt liao.. Hehe.. Never expect so ex de wor.. U ladies really power.. I nvr hear most of the herb names before, much less cook/use them.. Haiz.. U all got so much knowledge..

Anyone got recipe for fish + papaya soup that i can cook everyday in slow cooker to share?

I saw someone mention Quinny zapp.. Got the "new seat" version.. Can "reverse facing" & recline also.. Looks tempting also..

piggytoh,

oh. and rice wine? cause I see my dear's grandma only making the rice wine in buckets and pails.. pretty scary...

Pearly,

cofinement can be cheaper depend on ur budget la.. i can really see n feel my body gettin better after all the bu-ing leh.. last time be4 i preg my body like v liang n weak 1... but the stroller u buyin also v ex mah.. so it depend on where u wan to invest ur $$ also la[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lynn,

the rice wine is added into the food we eat helps in bu blood n improve blood circulation etc... my CL told me alot of woman can finish 8-12bott in 1 mth lo.. n usu they ate alot durin confinement 1 so she always say y i ate so little... even the double boil soup she made with DOM i also drink untill v tong ku cos i am not a liquor person n i dun like bu soup so always force myself to drink...

Oh I think I may have VSOP from my hubby's collection. Ask him to dig out so can save some $ and the VSOP can come into some good use instead of collecting dust in the cupboard.

Wah I cant bear to think about the utility charges since there will be extra headcount in the house. I think my dad will faint when he sees the bill although we are the ones who paid for it.

Vivi,

but i tink usu need 4-5bott leh..

the utility bill is not only becos of additional headcount but all the cooking, bathing n aircon of cos hahah...

piggytoh,

sigh. confinement feels like so xinku.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but all because of bu. have to do it...

Lynn,

for me confinement is v xinku cos i dun like confinement food 1... n i am not a herbal soup lover image the DOM/Martel soup is sooo thick but bobian lo.. even my hair thickness improve after confinement loL~

Piggy,

The stroller $900+ leh.. Have 30% on top of that somemore. Cos fren can help me buy with sp.. No fight de wor! Lol.. CL alone already 2k+ liao! =x All add in abt 5k? My stroller not that expensive compared to this ba.. Haha.. Even stokke also much much cheaper!

Somemore stroller use for long term.. Confinement 1 month only.. I not rich so quite scared of the amount loh.. But good for mummies who can bu well after birth.. Confinement is not easy also..

Other than fish + papaya soup, wad other soups can help with MS?

Lynn I can feel the xin ku now lor I am feeling very HOT despite just now went to bath liao... cannot imagine confinement if no bath ....

actually I like to drink those soup with herbal and hard liquor but I think will be sick if continously drink for a while instead of once a blue moon.

Eh check with you all the VSOP is the Martell one right ? Then I have more than enough for confinement liao hee hee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pearly

green papaya & fish bone soup

- boil a medium size pot of water

- add Ginger to reduce fishy smell

- add fish n boil for 1/2 hr

- remove skin n seedsof papaya. Cut into chunk

- add papaya to the soup n boil for 15 mins onli. Do not over boil

- can add red dates for additional sweetness. (Traditional Chinese medicine practitioners believe red dates provide "heatiness" which balances the "cooling" effects of the green papaya.

Can oso try pork ribs with black bean soup n steamed tofu with egg and minced chicken which is rich in protein n protein is gd for promoting lactatio

Sandy,

Thanks!! I'll write down.. That's the least i can do after birth liao.. The toufu is not soup de right? I can eat with my tingkat.. Keke.. Thanks so much wor!!

Pearly me definitely will bath cannot imagine sticky and need to BF... I always believe we have to be clean in order to take care of baby...

Vivi & Piggytoh,

I'm okay with confinement food and stuff, but the thought of taking it for a month.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

yes. I keep feeling very warm now. bath liao, just apply the stretchmarks cream only, start to perspire le. must stay in aircon room 24/7 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Pearly,

no la i am not tokin abt engagin CL it like even no CL can jus buy the herbs cos like i say confinement got cheap n ex way la... cos for me i can nv bring myself to buy such an ex stroller wor cos not as if other cheaper stroller cannot move... tt y i say it depend on individual n wher u wan to invest la... cos like now my boi less than 2 yrs old alr dun like to sit in stroller [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ya black bean soup n peanut soup is gd also...

Vivi,

confinment can only bath once day n in afternoon leh tt is y i hide myself in arcon room.. cos imm after bath i sweat can faint 1.. esp u wan to massage n wrap so can only let ur ody sweat it out.. hmm i usin martel also so ya martel can use also..

piggy,

thanks for your thoughts...hmmm... maybe should not waste $$ to buy nursing bra... get normal wireless bra as what you mentioned... heehee...

Vivi,

I heard some say after a certain period, can bathe but with super hot water? Or must continue to use herb water? For hair how sia? Will use powder?

Piggy,

Me not much choice cos my 2 kids with me 24/7 mah.. So need to have a comfy stroller.. If go out, i bring them out alone de.. Die die have to strap both down loh.. If i bring out once in a while with hubby, still ok la.. I dun drive also so have to prep for long journeys.. But i haven't buy yet cos i dun think will go out during next few months ba.. Sure shagged..

fungfung,

cos tt for me la.. cos i dun like to latch for friends who latch they get nursing top also so if u wan to use nursing bra can but i tink it gd if u wear nursing top too?? for me i dun like nursin top leh keke cant imagine canonly wear nursing top when go out[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yeah Piggy will bath once a day and that is the time that I will treasure the most lor... ha ha to think we treat bathing as a common thing now and by then it will be a luxury.

Pearly for hair since I cut it short I will wash alternate days. Cannot dont wash because I have oily scalp... Once washed already need to use hair dryer to dry the hair. I have gotten the confinement shampoo and the body wash and the erbal pack, I think should be quite ok...

Fung Fung if you want can buy 1 pair to try first and if it works for you can buy more nursing bras. I bought 3 the other time because I need that as my existing bra was a little tight so might as well buy nursing bra. Anyway it is more or less the same as normal wireless bra except that it has a flap.

Pearly,

ya i know jus tt i cant bear to spend so much on stroller la if i wan i will prob buy the 1 ningyo post this morning $200+ nia keke.. cos if they dun sit really headache sumtime when my son dun wan to sit in stroller can really cry all the way 1 so if i wan to bring 2 out alone without transport i will use carrier bah... if not those dual 1 v heavy also[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Vivi,

hair can wash no worries but make sure u dry fast.. oh my aunt taught me to use hard liquor to apply onto scalp to prevent wind from entering i tink it works wor..

piggy,

oh so you'll bring enough BM when go out so that no need for bb to latch on... or u bring pump out and when got BM, then you pump?

vivi,

ya.. i got 1 already.. maybe can try it on and see whether i'm comfortable or not... if not, then maybe as what piggy said, put on normal wireless bra.

piggy,

hard liquor onto scalp? not hot meh and funny? then after that can wash hair immediately after apply? or must wait for a while?

Vivi,

Got confinement shampoo de ah?! Where to buy? I need to wash cos my hair super long.. Rather bun up than cut loh.. At least wun irritate my neck cos there sweat the most de.. Been thinking abt to deal with hair.. I'll also blow dry..

Piggy,

Ya.. Heavy ok cos i no need to take bus.. Just train.. As long as sturdy n comfy for all 3 of us most important.. My girl is trained liao.. Haha.. She ok to sit in stroller cos she knows mummy dun like to carry her.. Either stroller to go gaigai or home liao.. Haha

Fung ,

usu I plan my timing Cos tt time I alone n BB feed on 3 hrly routine so I will pump be4 go out n bring alone milk for 1 feed usu I go out within 3 hrs so ok as BB get bigger they drink more n the feedin time will get longer..if u intend to stay out longer can bring puump out tt y I buy freestyle cos light..

Vivi/fung,

the hard liquor I apply after shower den blow dry cos it will evaporate so no smell 1 n I use spray to spray onto scalp I dun feel hot leh not spray on to hair so I dun smell anything also..

Pearly

the steamed tofu is a dish [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pork ribs with black beans soup

pork rib - 500g scald in hot water to remove the blood

black bean - 1 cup

peanuts - 1 cup

salt

- soak black bean n peanuts for a few hr

- boil a med size pot of water

- put pork rib in to boil for 1/2hr

- add black bean n peanut. Boil till beans, nuts n meat r soft

- add salt to taste

tis may not b as fast acting as green papaya soup but it provide variety [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

the recipes I took frm book call Successful Breastfeedin by sister kang frm Mt A.

Another way I heard to increase supply is to take raw fenugreek. Which they say is much better than takin in tablet form. But I dare not take keke

Pearly ,

no need confinement shampoo 1 tt time I jus use norm shampoo n rinse with herb bag water or lemongrass water but all boiled water cos they scare the heater water not clean cos tap water mah ..

Maybe diff stage la my boi all along sit stroller 1 but now tt he bigger he will wan to come down n walk when he sit too long I gt friends their kid dun 1 means dun 1 n she bott quinny summore.. I startin my boi at cc nex wk else I dun tink I can handle manz mus take care of both den built up milk s/s will die u nt sentin ur gal to CC?

fungfung

it's to apply after wash, just on the scalp won't make hair smelly. won't feel hot lah. hehe it's good for us

someone mention we can only eat wine tonic foods after 12 days? So is it include the rice wine cooked food?

bcoz this time is my mum do for me and she not so expert. I cant really remember last time how my CL did

Sandy,

I dun like the papaya soup taste so was glad when my CL told me black bean soup or peanut trotter soup works the same n I drink these 2 soup only n i tink it work the same wor[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Piggytoh

tmr I meet u ard 7pm can? Can't find other arrangement le my hb can't do it so I got to go.

How u bring the milk out aft u pump?

Piggytoh

I nv tried b4 green papaya or black bean soup b4. But then best is my hb aunt told my hb don let me take green papaya soup cos it will cause my ss to drop *faint*

btw besides threadfin, u mention u took cod fish n salmon. We can take hor? Any idea wat other fish oso?

Sandy ,

I dunno 7 pm I can make it anot leh cos I need to wait for my hb if he work late I be stuck cos my house to JP walkin distance 15 min n the wine quite heavy leh.. Ur hb nt comin with u?

Sandy,

cod n salmon becos of the rich omega n dha for breast milk la bt if gt drink maternal milk or fish oil no need eat fish daily 1[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Do any1 have idea tat we cannot take egg for the first 12days is it true?

I'm now very very confuse lo heard alot of things donno which to follow. Like the vinegar with pork trotter some say mux take on the 1st 3 days some say mux wait aft 12 days aiyo so messy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I heard from my TCM doctor that the first 12days of confinement most important, must eat well, sleep well etc etc, think its cause to heal the wounds/tears bah?

How true I have no idea though..

Sandy,

Chicken , egg n other tonic after 12 days e first 12 days wat my CL cook is veg , soup , fish n fry meat w rice wine after 12 days all those can eat n bui our body stuff .....

Piggytoh

alamak den hor u better don bring le ba. I ask my hb to go over ur Hse n collect but oso donno wat time cos he got ot. I ask him go back office ask tmr wat time finish work let u know.