(2011/04) Apr 2011

JJ

i bringing my own PJ leh but nor sure if KK allows u to wear ur own..for TMC they allow

i only bring a small towel cos i don't intend to bath

Food for thought since we are on the topic of DHA:

Copied from kellymom.com

There is no evidence whatsoever that breastmilk is deficient in DHA, and there is no evidence that DHA supplements taken by a nursing mother will improve the long term outcome or IQ of her baby. Nursing mothers who get more DHA do have have higher levels of DHA in their milk, but it is not known whether these higher levels are beneficial or what the optimal levels might be. Vegetarians, particularly vegans, tend to have lower levels of DHA in breastmilk.

Dr. Thomas Hale recommends that normal breastfeeding women should not be supplemented with polyunsaturated fatty acids (PUFAs). He indicates that while it is true that populations who ingest large quantities of fish and therefore polyunsaturated fatty acids do not have cardiovascular disease, he has indication that their rate of stroke is much higher, and so recommends that "supplements" not be used.

Nursing and pregnant women are certainly encouraged to eat natural sources of DHA and alpha linolenic acid. Good sources include:

cold water/oily fish and fish oils (e.g., salmon, mackerel, herring, tuna, sardines, anchovies); fresh fish is better, as freezing destroys some of the EFA; avoid consumption of fish that may be high in mercury

green leaves of plants, including phytoplankton and algae

some seeds and nuts (flax seeds, walnuts, canola, linseeds, pumpkin seeds)

some legumes (soy beans, Great Northern beans, kidney beans, navy beans)

Gerry: I agree with your posting on DHA though I also take supplements now. Think natural foods is always the best. Do note that for fish, mackerel & herring is high in mercury so need to watch intake. Nuts are high in fats so also gotta control intake.

Gerry,

tt is y i am thinkin of inducin if not wait cannot reach him dunno how.. but induce i scare v slow cos every labour diff mah although tt time after break waterbag v fast but dunno this time will it be the same.. headache...

so durin BF u din take any supp? actually i was wondering if tt was the case those DHA in FM is consider what wor...

Shyann,

oh i see cos from wat i know some co they dun allow HL be4 ML so u mus see if ur CO ok with tt anot...

Rene,

i agree natural food best but v hard to eat salmon n cod daily mah plus i dun take vegie so bobian i try to take some supp keke...

rene,

wow.. the store open at 10.30 wor! sianz.. maybe i buy mac breakfast go there eat.. planning to go tml morn.. haha..

piggy

thanks for yr guide, i just placed my order hope everythg go smooth hehe

but there is a flat $4 shipping charge ler

St,

Wont get to meet you, my next appt on 21 March.

Yes she will nag at me on every visit to to ctrl my diet. But i guess cant help it, my BB is absorbing well. My #1 also quite big, 3.5kg. How big is ur BB now? So is ur BB head getting lower? My BB head is not very low yet but due to big size, have to deliver early.

Piggytoh,

Yah manz, gynae said cant wait till full term. O/w BB wld be more than 4kg, by then it wld be hard for me to push out. So she suggest inducing.

shice: yeah, dat's wat I heard from the salesperson la. Depends on how much u really want the items i guess... cos can be quite unpredictable mah. If really gd items like the quinny buzz going for $500+, there may even b crazier pple going earlier....

piggy

i order the 180 one loh maybe i got the referer can have $5 offset so its less than 40 total i paid US$41.46

1 of the spreer got disc code share in her thread so i just use it

bbgoh,

icic if be4 freight it less than $40 den i tnk the $4 applies.. but nvm la still cheap[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tiffany,

wah tt big.. my #1 est birth weight 3.6/7kg so i induce at wk 38 he was 3.1kg n i was short so i tnk 3.1kg jus nice for me..

Tiffany

oh so u just get to see her this week?

my bb at 34+ weeks was 2.6kg

my bb head is low when i saw her.

but all the weight thingy is just +/-

she also ask me to control haha even tou my #1 was also big

Thanks gers - looks like I have to confirm with the nurses at kkh. If possible i wanna wear my own PJ's wearing the open back one's or normal ones is so eeks ...

Why u guys ordering the fish oil huh ? I thot only need to eat this supplement during preg....

piggytoh,

I was short too!!! That y my gynae was worried i have difficulties pushing out. I also induced for #1 but was 1 day earlier than my EDD. So are you inducing this time rnd too??? My gynae suggest i induce on 38wks this time rnd as #2 was much heavier than #1.

St,

Yup i just went to c her on mon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Wow your BB is big too. So did she expect early delivery for your case? I think she said the same things to most of the mummys.. Oh u have been with her since your #1! Same as me..

JJ: think u have to check with your gynae on your next checkup.. I went to visit my friends who delivered at KKH... think they have their clothings to wear de....

Tiffany,

ya i am considerin inducin on 23 Mar but #2 was smaller la was 2.2kg at wk 34+ but i v tired with all the ache alr so thinkin of inducin if he haven come out by then..

tweety: So funny rite, if we all at TMC ard same time... HAHAHHA =D Or better still, if those taking non-single bedder same room..... keke

Rene,

Of course natural best.. But sometimes modern living very hard to eat all these nourishing stuff. there's just too many processed, fast, convenient food to suit our hectic lifestyle..

Piggy,

Actually, my gynae didn't recommend that I take fish oil supplements.. so for both my pregnancies, never take wor.. only take iron and those multi vits.. then last time while breastfeeding, i also didn't.. But i did try to eat more oily fish like maybe 2x a week.. and I was reading that those edamame beans very high in essential fatty acids so I did take quite a bit of that.. I really don't know how true lah this whole DHA study..

tweety,

I have gained 12kg so far!!!! My stomach is getting sharper & harder each day.. Cant wait for bb to pop out..

Piggytoh,

Oh i might induce ard that week (wk 38 of my pregnancy) too. Still haben pick a good date yet.. Me too! Back aching, pelvic pain.. Wishing #2 can pop out earlier..

Hello everyone ....

Managed to come in only now. Today's weather is meant for sleeping in not for work...

I dont know why suddenly feel nauseous

Finally today is FRIDAY!!! Our Edd is getting nearer....Mixed feelings anyway...

Mummies - Kindly check how mummies store their Breast milk after pumping? Bottles or breast bags are better? we need to sterlize the breast bags also?

Have you bought steriliser yet? Still wondering which is the better brand to get... Avent, Pigeon or Medela? Any suggestions?

Afternoon all!

Have very bad leg pain today... think my water retention getting worst. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

piggytoh:

okie. I'll go check and see what's written on the packaging. :D

Bbgoh hi 5 ha ha never thought I would be so heavy hee hee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jfaith I bought the Pigeon Sterilizer and the milk and food warmer together. I think you can look out for bundle deals at Taka now since they have a baby fair.

Yoti I was thinking about milk bags to store breast milk... Bottles are good because they are reusable. I have some milk bags so seeing how it goes if I have enough breast milk then I will buy more.

vivi

hehe this preg i control a bit so not too bad. my last preg this stage i jiu gained le 22kg.

yoti

if store in freeze better use milk bag, if for next day consume then i use glass btl & avents cup

jfaith,

i am usin Pigeon i tink it quite gd...

Yoti,

breastmilk bag is usu sterilised alr... for me cos my s/s is low so i only got enough for 1 feed after each pump so i jus keep in bott den feedin time take out n feed bb directly after warm... usu milk bag is for excess la... usu initially most would use bott to store...

Gerry,

icic... cos tt time i no time to eat nourish food so i make sure i drink maternal milk haha...

yoti, dun need to sterlize the breast bags..

vivi, bottles are good but after full month if u have a lot of BM, u still need milk bags.. for #1 I bought 20+ avent 120ml bottles.. but now if I got excess I wont store le.. I will give to #1 n drink..

Shyann,

ya tt wat my gynae clinic asst told me cos we can take ML 1 mth from EDD den tt time i also plan to take be4 pop so can save on ML but they told me some co dun recognise HL near due date 1 cos it like play cheat n they will take it as ML so better check..