(2011/04) Apr 2011

Piggy,

Oh is it?? I don't use toner leh.. Hehe!! Hmmzz.. But I have tried the Lancome genifique serum and I quite like it.. But that one also super ex.. =)

Jtho,

Oh.. icic.. Musician in the making..=)It sounds nice with your surname..

Pink,

It can be quite scary even though you can't feel the pain.. My friend was telling me that there was lots of tugging and moving of your body parts..

Vivi: yupe Mt A.. think hubby can go in... if it's epidural.

Gerry: yupe quite scary but just endure for 15 mins and the baby will be out. Er.. labor for first kid may drag on for 20 over hours for some and it may not be successful... Gan chiong spiders like me cannot wait and have no determination to do it =)

Pink,

But he will be by your side.. and there will be a cloth blocking you from the goriness.. So no worries.. I think hubbys will be less exposed to the bloodiness if wife choose c-sect.. cos normal, he might be able to see everything.. and the floor below us will be damn messy like someone was murdered there!! Haha!!

gerry

ya, you're right, even though cannot feel the pain, can smell the burning smell due to the cutting, like in a workshop, and can also feel the tugging and moving when gynae is trying to carry the baby out... hahaha... you're reminding of my previous experience...

Yee Gerry that sounds scary better pre empt my hubby first because he phobia of all this and more so if I am going for natural. But if I pre empt him later he chickened out ....

pink

Yes, he is good and I've been seeing him since my #1 so it has been 4 years+ already.

Wow, 29 will be end of the month!! The initial process will be very fast when the baby is out!! For me, I only felt that the sewing back takes forever, maybe it's because bb and hb not with me after that!!

jtho,

Oh ya.. they will be cauterizing too.. Haha!! I do mice surgeries and sometimes when I cauterize them, got this burnt bak kwa smell!! Haha!!

pink,

Ya labour can be super jialat.. I know someone who was in labour for 24 hrs.. scary.. that's why like what piggy said.. Epidural!! After I had epidural, I was reading magazines and watching tv till I delivered.. haha!!

jtho: forgot to mention, if u really want to change ur boy's name on BC and need a lawyer.. i got contact... My MIL is a lawyer... that is if u don't already have one handling your stuff for you =)

gerry

when u do mice surgeries, it's like burnt bak kwa smell, when gynae cutting me up, it's like cutting and welding smell of a big car... hahaha

pink

if i find a very nice name for my boy, and if i want to put it in my son's bc, will sure let u know [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

*close my eyes*, *close my ears*, *close everything* wahahahaha okok i shall be brave [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pink

since u've decided on c-sect, be encouraged... at least u know the whole process will be very fast and the ordeal will be over within an hour [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i went thru it and it didn't take me long to recover actually...

jtho..

Haha!! Must be quite an experience.. Being wide awake and getting cut up!! surgeons always think themselves like car mechanics/butcher!! Hehe!!

Seriously, I think people who choose c-sect are the brave ones!!

Pink,

Jia you!! =)

jtho: yesyes.. actually for me I think both ways will be scary for me... and it's harder for me to deal with the uncertainties of natural birth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Parsley's cord is still around her neck but gynae says this is nothing, it's only 1 loop and he has delivered some babies with 4 loops around their necks. So I juts want her to come out safely and everything to be within my expectations. I cannot deal with surprises... I had 1 sister 1 friend 1 cousin and 1 cousin-in-law going thru emergency c sect in the last 1 year or so... and they have no problems recovering. All of them tried damn hard to go thru natural and failed.... i dont want to go thru that...

Gerry: thanks thanks! I will update from my iphone after i give birth yah! hahahaahah live report again.

Vivi: yes yes and every year when we celebrate Parsley's birthday I will remember that it's ur anniversary too =))))

Piggytoh

ok ok

Damn pissed off feel like killing ppl grrrrr.

Stupid fren of hb borrow $ frm us den ask him pay up machiam like cutting his flesh still got the cheek to say so wat I don pay u oso cannot do anything to me. Damn shit lei trust him n tis wat we get. Feel like takin a chopper go down n stab him *cruel me*

Pink,

Ya ya!! Live update like that mummy from the march thread!! You must remember details so next time when parsley misbehaves, you tell her mummy had a hard time with you when you were in me!! Better beahve now!! =)

jtho..

You went through it nonetheless!! So when will you know whether you can opt for natural or have to go for c-sect?

Sandy,

Calm down.. Sigh.. That's the risk when you lend money to your friends..

Pink,

u very brave leh..so fast decided to go epidual instead of GA. I still cant make up my mind, very scare of the idea of being cut up and half way epidual went off haha...but heard that if go by GA then recovery will be slower...sighz...and hubby not very keen go to in unless i insist..

winwin: i've heard of many personal experiences from mothers who went thru it mah... so i know the process is very fast... just try to bear with it and baby can come out safe and healthy without complications and not going thru any distress... Try to convince ur hubby to go in with u for support... my hubby is very onz that kind coz he wants to have the baby more than me. Now he's busy mugging the Gina Ford book to learn how to take establish the feeding schedule etc... Tell ur hubby u've worked hard for 10 months for the baby u only need him to go in for 10 mins and it'll be over [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and he's the father so he shld be involved in the process!

I think epidural is better because u will be awake through out and if we go thru GA the baby will be sleepier and won't really want to latch on (if you wanna breastfeed). GA effect also lasts longer so we'll be groggy for quite a while... I'm scared of being "put to sleep"..epidural still ok... awake to see everything [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sandy: wah this kind of friend really jia lut... next time cannot lend him money ever again...

i think u dont make urself angry bah.. let ur hubby settle with him.

Hello all!

So sorry I've been MIA for so many months. Really busy with work and No 1. Now that we're in the final countdown, it's fun to come back online to hang out with you gals here!

Wah, lots of talk about epidurals, GA and c-sections. At the other end of the spectrum, I am here mugging up on water birthing, haha! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Looks like we shall have lots of different styles of births in our group here.

Pink: Totally agree with you that an epi C-sect is better than a GA C-sect if the mum can stomach it. GA is riskier and the time delay before you can attempt bfeeding is longer than if you have an epi. Jia yo girl! Let us know once you fix a date - guess gynaes generally will opt to do the c-sect around Week 38 or so?

Jtho: Does Olivier speak French? My No 1 is in a French playgroup at Alliance- lots of fun!

Piggytoh: So what is your push gift gonna be huh? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I love discussing push gifts! One of the nice elements about pregnancy, haha.

So anyone else thinking of water labour/water birth?

Diaper bags - aiyoh, this is always a big headache! I have two Neverfulls - one large one and one medium one - but I agree that it's a pain when the stuff is jiggling all over the bag. Plus when the bag is heavy, it's quite painful to support the weight with the thin shoulder straps. I also bought a Coach diaper bag for No 1 but the bag, when empty, was already quite heavy. So ended up using a Skip and Hop diaper bag the most - but mine is very worn out and it is a bit on the small side for a newborn which has more barang.

Sigh....so was thinking about buying a JJ Cole one from Mothercare last week, but stopped myself at the last-minute to do more research. Anyone got reviews/feedback on JJ Cole?

Gerry,

yup tt wat the counter gal told her wor cos she also gt rashes...

Sandy,

cool down usu I only lent pp money if I have excess cash so if they really dun rtn at least I wun run into

financial difficulties n to pp I really v close cos I hate chasin pp for money since alr like tt also bobian if he refuse to rtn can only take it as a lesson learnt but he really a bastard la buay zidong..

Seems like most here are more keen on c sec than natural. The brave side of me wanna try for natural, *~*. Don't know if I can endure. On the other hand very worried end up emerg c sec worst, waste money.

Yolksac,

oh he jus bott me a Tivoli PM but I told him no play cheat tt for #1 now I also dunno wat I wan leh haha but I aimin an Agnes B bag as diaper bag cos it waterproof n my too branded so dirty also ok I nv like diaperbag leh so far have been using big bag n use diaper organiser[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yes I agree neverfull the shoulder can be quite painful with tt thin strap..

Gerry

haix already warn my hb but he don wanna listen to me so now he headache ask me how I donno wat to do jux tell him I feel like gng up to tat idiot pl n stab him to death

pink

we r not gonna b fren wif him anymore *sound childish* hb told him straight in his face don bother to call out to him next time. Haix sway to the max.

Mummies!! I need help

would like to know a co cannot owe us salary for more than 1 wk rite? I remember tat time I came across 1 of u mummy post on thread regarding tis b4. Would like to double check wif u all again.

aries: nononono.. most mothers here are doing natural.. think only got a handful of us doing c sect, and most of them are doing it because their #1 kids were c sect already....

I'm the only first time mother who's doing elective c sect. :p

Aries,

hee for me I find those goin for c-sect is more brave leh I dun tink I can lie ther knowing the dr cuttin me keke n natural recover faster n can slim down faster[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sandy ,

ya no more than a wk..

yolk sac: u're back!!! MISS YOU!! MUAKZ MUAKZ!!

Thanks for being super supportive in my first trimester... i will always remember that =)

so fast we are reaching the last lap!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I've read up about water births before [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] More and more mothers in the westernized countries are doing it, some of them even attempt it in the comforts of their homes. Although in SG I think the options are quite limited. When I went for the Mount A hospital tour, they had a few delivery suites which had the bath tub in it. I think it's actually a good alternative to the conventional delivery method, because you get to be in the squatting position and gravity will help. I find the conventional method of having the mothers' legs propped up and opened wide quite offensive, honestly. Especially with so many nurses and midwives walking in and out to do VEs and checking on your progress.

In US they have doulas who are trained to teach the mothers how to breathe and control the pain. Here i think you have to check with the hospital to see if they have such a service.

Aries: if you would like to try going natural, you should! Thousands of women manage just fine, with or without pain relief, and you will always wonder if you don't try. My own experience was that it was one of the most empowering experiences of my life. So give it a go if you want to!

Piggytoh: is the main Agnes B shop in paragon? Yeah the material would be great for a diaper bag!!

Hi yolk sac

Olivier can understand French cos his papa speaks to him in French. He will speak some words in French too. I enquired about the class at Alliance already but Olivier is still too young to be enrolled now. On top of that, they only have weekday classes which is no good for me as I'm working.

Pink: hello gal!! Thanks for the encouragement! Yup am delivering at Mt A like you. My doula is encouraging me to water birth (was initially suggesting just to labour in the water). Fingers crossed it goes well! Btw I have condensed Gina Ford (the first two weeks post-birth) into 1-2 sheets as I found the info to be scattered all over the book. You want? Drop me an email at [email protected] and I will reply with the "cheat sheets".

wah, yolk sac! u're a power mummy! cheat sheets somemore! :D hehee ok I'll email u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pink:

actually i havent decided to go thru which method lar coz very scared by the idea of csection. if i opt for epidual then i will definetly ask hubby to go in and he will just go in (even though not very willing heee). anyway not sure if gynae will allow me to choose epidual or not since my case may have implication.

Sandy before you dont friend that idiot make sure he pays you back the $... haunt him every month when it is paytime to get back the $... No excuse at that time to say he got no $. Little bit is better than nothing...

how much does he owe you?

Jtho: oh I see! Guess the kids can only start at age 3? Lots of half-French kids in my daughter's class. She loves the programme!

Yolk sac,

actually the 1 I wan dunno sg have anot cos I saw it in jap in my recent trip regret big time tt I din buy[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] but nvm la save $$... Keke..

Pink: oh I scroll thru and read many talking abt c sec, I thought why nowadays c sec so popular. But I think it's a very personal choice la, also depends on the bb situation.

Piggy: oic, it seems like vbac is not really a very possible way here since most exp c sec mummy are going under the knife again. And also many docs are not very pro vbac. I agree in fact c sec also takes a great deal of courage!

Yolk: yup I wanna try natural if all conditions allow. Really wonder how it will feel like..

Anyway for mummies thinking of using xuan for bb name, I jux came across my mind yu Xuan sounds nice too. Jus a suggestion. For my gal I'm think of using "en" but Still haven come to consensus with hb yet.

see you gals talking abt using branded bag as diaper bag made me remember last time i bot a LV neverfull tot big big very useful..who knows after awhile i realised things get very messy and we switch to a normal backpack and since then my neverfull has been "resting" at home as its too big to use as normal handbag hee

Aries, only a few gynaes in Singapore do vbacs. Birth feels like this - one contraction that feels like period cramps, then a break, then another cOntraction. As you progress, each contraction lasts longer and is more painful than the last, and the break in between is shorter. Then you will feel an urge to push and this is the last stage when you give birth to the baby.

winwin,

if u wan to use neverfull u mus put in a bag organiser but still it too big n empty so not v easy to use as diaper bag[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Piggy,

Oh ic.. But is skII really very good if use correctly?? Hmmzz

I find the Agnes b straps too thin and can be quite painful to carry if there are a lot of stuff..

Yolk sac,

Actually I find nb have lesser things to carry than older babies.. Last time when I was still breastfeeding , all I carried was a few diapers, wet wipes, a water bottle for me and my trusty shawl.. And I am all set.. Older babies must bring their food, lots of bibs, their water bottle.. Aiyoh sometime headache..

Are u thinking of a water birth.. Recently on mind your body, they wrote about it and mothers really feel very calm and much less pain as compared to natural without epi..

Gerry,

i dunno leh tink also mus see ur skin suitable anot... oh the design i wan still ok the strap not tt thin but i dunno if the 1 i wan sg have anot cos Sg 1 mostly fabric 1...

yesi agree younger bb lesser things to bring [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]