(2011/04) Apr 2011

Hope all mummies are doing great!

I am 19weeks and baby is going to be an aries girl. I am a high-risk mummy-to-be bec of my thyroid condition, blood clot easily, past 2 miscarriages (1 was late stage) and pass 35 years old. Looking forward to cross the halfway mark next week.

Did my Oscar test on week 12, detailed scan on week 15 (and 1 more on Week 21) and started my calcium, iron and omega oil supplements.

I thought i felt baby's movement at week 17 (couldnt differentiate between stomach gas and movement) but confirmed it was baby's movement after each scan.

Could any mummies tell me if there are any pre-natal yogas that are not too expensive? I checked out some and a session costs about $25. I am also thinking of swimming.

pearly u only gained 600g?!!?!?!?

blearghhh

i don't wanna weigh myself anymore..think i'm going to freak myself out... keep eating alot these few days...

pink,,

I didn't know I was dilating so fast.. started having contractions around 2am.. thought was LS at first!! Haha!!so tried to sleep for a while cos i think the hospital said don't come in till the interval for each contraction is 15 mins i think.. so i bathed around 6am in the shower, everytime the contraction came, my toes would curl up and I stop breathing for a while.. Reached hospital around 7am.. then nurse checked and I was already 6cm!!! But after epidural and breaking water bag, slow down quite a bit that Dr had to give me some oxytocin.. My labour from start to finish was about 14 hrs..

kai lee, hi 5! I also wanna try for natural w/o epi this time. For my last time.. I signed the form for epi... but i dilated too fast.. end up din get to use epi too. I'm thinking since first time i can do it w/o, #2 shd be easier (theorethically).. so try enduring ba? hahaha

Irene,

ya the tummy bindin I refer to post natal massage..

Kailee,

for c-sect u can chose either GA fully asleep condition or partial n u be awake but I no gut to stay awake n see how they prepare to cut me leh[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ya epidural got side effect like shiver n vomit for some woman usu if u wan natural ur gynae will let u try first if u can't tahan anymore can still call for epidural.

Pika,

welcome.. Hmm I tink the price for prenatal yoga is abt ther wor..

Gerry,

haha I feel v shiok after epidural was administer[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hmm 1st time mummies, try not to think of child birth as being so scary,so painful etc.Supposingly women of older times survive child birth without any pain relief n can even have a dozen kids. probably babies during those times r smaller whereas nowadays babies r getting bigger so may be abit more tough. But women have higher tolerance of pain and so if u try not to think of it as so painful,so scary, d delivery will be over soon. Usually u forget about d labour pain soon coz u b so busy taking care of d baby to think of such experience.

I had natural delivery for my #1 & #2 and had used d laughing gas as d main pain relief.My #1 delivery took a very long time 18hours in all and so i did a jab on d thigh for additional relief for me to have some rest.

#2 was a breeze gave birth 2hrs after in checked into hospital at 7am.

Both my babies r considered big for my built,I'm only 1.54m and #1 3.64kg n #2 3.52kg and I didn't use any vacumn or forceps.Probably d baby's birth position is good that's y can come out of d birth canal easier.

I had episotomy as my gynae had recommended to cut rather than to get natural tear.he uses d anology of cutting a cloth vs using bare hands to tear a cloth.D 1 using cut will be easier to sew back whereas d tear will be uneven n zig zag.

hello mummies!!!!

Pink

woh i sooooo long nv talk to u liao how r u????

Wat a shiok life *envy*

For the gathering i choose 26 Nov cos me dec start work le.

Piggytoh

Congrate on the gd result [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chloemummy

do rest well n have a gd mini confinement. Anthing jux pop in n chat wif us we r happy to know u n have u s a fren.

Gerry

WAT!!!!! 14 hrs???? omg mine last me 9 hrs i already gng to die le. u r so wei da [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Had a very very bad PH n i reali regret to the max [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Supposed to drive in to Malaysia on tue nite cos of me i spoilt everything n offended my hb family. They even say nasty things to me.

Even yday me still quarrel wif hb till evening time me den feel better haix. For soooo long tis the 1st time my hb scolded me everytime we quarrel he will gif in but not tat day. tis pregnancy my temper is frm bad to worse.

Piggy so good your baby !!! he gave you a thumb ups signal to say that everything is ok.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cute to the max !!!

Pink me same like you leh no maternity benefits somemore have to fight hard for it.

I am ok with both dates if you are organizing an outing for central location.

Sandy hugs you ok? Try to relax wait baby can feel it wor... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

26th Nov Dinner meet up in Town

1)Pinkraindrops

2)Sandy Dee

3) Vivi

3rd Dec Dinner meet up in Town

1) Pinkraindrops

2) Vivi

Please add on to the list! thanks! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sandy... aiyo what happened? it's normal for pregnant women to feel more emotional... try to explain to your hubby and hope he can be more understanding during this period~~~

As for the relatives...think it's better to ignore what they say to you... have to do what's right for yourself your child and your family right...

I think swimming is good cos it takes the pressure off the belly being pressed down on yr cervix & also off yr back.

but mummies who going swimming must be extra careful abt pple swimming near u, esp if lots of kids they anyhow splash & jump into the pool.

Then when going to toilet for bath be careful of slippery tiles.

Now rainy season will have wet wet ground & puddles must be esp careful since our sense of balance is off liao

vivi i walked/hopped in the pool a few nights ago u can try! wahahaha but i dont think that counts as proper exercise... sigh im prepared to grow damn fat coz im too lazy to do proper exercise

Sandy..

I cheated.. I had epidural.. Hehe!! And plus I felt that cos I exercise (swim and yoga) during that pregnancy, made delivery easier.. and not soo tiring.. Even during and after delivery, I could still use my legs to push myself to the other bed..

For those scared of multiple tears.. do try to do your pelvic floor exercise.. Helps to make that area more elastic.. But apparently, asian skin tend to tear so most OnG tend to do preventive episiotomy.. My ang mo friend didn't tear at all!!

JJ,

I agree I love swimming but cos now a lot of rain and lightning.. thats why don't dare to swim as often..

ningyo..

So 2nd one is faster?? my gynae told me that I should rush to the hospital this time since this is #2.. Haha!!

18hrs without epidural!! I salute you!! =)

Ningyo,

wah u so lucky I had episotomy cut also but still tear :x

sandy,

thanx.. Wat happen ? Dun be sad no gd no gd..

Vivi,

haha ya today he gave us lotsa action even not our first time for FA but still we were pretty excited durin the scan[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

kailee,

btw new born no need supp but if u breastfeed u need to take supp..

1) Pinkraindrops

2) Sandy Dee

3) Vivi

4) avocado

1) Pinkraindrops

2) Vivi

Hope to join in if i able to knock off on time.

Vivi we can go home (TYP) together after that. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

piggy..

Did you ever ask your Dr since you had multiple tears down there previously, the next time when you give birth, what is the chance of tearing since these scars are already lines of weakness and will tear more easily?

Hee hee Avocado you staying in Toa Payoh too? Sure we can go home after the dinner.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Piggy no matter whether the little one is your first one or not, when you see the little one is fine at the scan, the feeling will still be the same. I remember when the first time my little one waved her limbs at me when she was about 8 weeks I was so touched and was talking about it non stop to my hubby.

1) Pinkraindrops

2) Sandy Dee

3) Vivi

4) avocado

5) tweety

1) Pinkraindrops

2) Vivi

3) tweety

Hee hee Tweety wow good leh have you and Avocado to accompany home... I am looking forward to the gathering.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gathering, i cant make it on 26th Nov.

Gerry, my gynae also said the same thing! He say if by 38wks i still no signs of popping.. he say can consider inducing.. cos he dun want me to deliver in taxi/toilet, etc... I hope i no need to induce.. I prefer to let bb come natuarally.

vivi, ya i also think so. And take longer. If given a choice i will prefer no intervention. For my #1 my gynae wanna break my waterbag 1st i also dun want.. i told him i wanna go home bath, take my bag, then go hosp. :p:p:p

hmm.. i going detailed scan on 26th nov, after tt maybe got movie date with hb. Maybe i can just drop by to disturb u all. :p

just want to encourage mummies here abit regarding natural birth.

my birth story is quite a smooth and short one.

i start to feel mild cramp at abt 1am+ then till 3+am abit more regular so proceed to hospital..check in at 4am+ and was 3cm dilated (without much pain)...then 6+ the pain abit cannot take it (my pain threshold is very low) and asked for epidual...after epidual applied i was relaxing and watching tv then abt 9am felt a strong pressure at my V area and start pushing,..by 940+am my gal came out liao...

my gal is slightly on the small size abt 2.8kg hence i dont have much tear and only a few stitches...and i can walk around after 1pm that same day...

conclusion is natural birth is not so scarely lar..dont be afraid [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] (of coz everyone will have different experience juz wana share my easy one to help making you more relax)

piggytoh/ pink

Tue preparing to go malaysia hb god sis suggest to bring my hb ex gf along who is my sil cousin when i heard abt it i ignore but my hb gif a very big reaction i was so angry so told them i don wanna go aft my hb ask ard they say the ex not gng tat time i already very angry so i threw temper refuse to talk to any1 even his bro call me i ignore so hb gey angey started scoldin me n rush out of the rm sayin he cant tolerate me anymore n commented so wat i preggy. the sil heard came in ask y i dislike her cousin (hb ex) n say i shld know is her cousin y m i so rude past r all past y mux i b so petty i shld not walk away when i c her all kind of rubbish.

the pro is tat woman last time tryin to break us apart n even try commit sucide if my hb b wif me scolded me all kind of nonsense. tis thing stop when i get my hb bro into the pic. i don even know wat her thinkin now has she put down anot im not sure.

But i donno y out of sudden my reaction so big cant even control my temper [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

gerry

hehe i oso use epidural lo but b4 usin i was like a mad woman aft using m still 1 cos feel soooo giddy n keep vomitting.

Tis time round i psycho myself im not gng to use epidural cos is very ex i rather get a branded bag or haf gd food n i wanna be wei da hahaha go natural ***Hopefully hor i can success*** :p

Hmm Sandy I can understand whaty you had such strong reactions because we are talking about your hubby's ex.... maybe if I am you I will react strongly too.

Ignore those sensitive people no point you get angry and upset because of them.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pink, natural delivery not tat horrible if you got a gd gynae.

Ladies, I heard tat epidural will slow down the delivery hours.

So just try without epidural 1st.

I also dilated 3 cm with waterbag leaking unknowingly. Cos no contractions also.

Luckily tat nite I got gynae appt….and admit me immediately at 7pm+.

But no contractions come till gynae decided to induce at 4am in the morning.

Once they drip induce very fast…within 1 hr contractions come and gave birth at 7am+.

kai lee ….go for it!

elmo...me this time ard also try not to use epidual also. hopefully can endure. haha.

1st delivery dun use cos wan to experience how painful is it.

st, my 1st pregnancy I also gained 20kg…now think already 5 to 6 kg…like a big meatball.

Vivi, induce not more painful...is tat the delivery hours may be much longer. like a hole is not open...then u wan the hole to be open...it need more time. but think drip induce is faster than vaginal induce.

furthermore for my case, a induce is necessary cos already dilating and water is getting lesser inside.

vivi

thanx my dear. ya i ignore them liao since tat day onward i try to siam them n hide in my rm thru the day.

Cowgal

yup i think epidural slow down the delivery. i was dilated so slow till hb got to talk to my gal askin her to come out cos im in pain n lucky she listen to him if not i frm mornin will pain till nite lo

Went for check up today and doc confirmed it's a boy! ((:)

Piggy can help update? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks!

Gerry,

ya u r right i better ask my gynae inmy nex check up:p actually i tink for my #1 becos i act clever go ask my gynae to minimise the cut -_-

Vivi,

hahah actually all this while i dun feel as excited for allmy checkup compare to #1 :p ut FA scan is really fun u get to see ur bb organs, heart blood vessel, lips n more precise image n actons.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw induce is not more painful.. but becos for induce they need to insert a pill to soften the cervix n the side effect is the contraction will kick in earlier the rest is the same as natural birth:p

Winwin,

u r lucky.. actually i find 2.8kg a gd weight liao.. ")

Sandy,

icic.. hmm i tink it becos now we r preg so emotionally we feel weaker.. i tink once u move out everything will be much much better no kpo pp interfering... ignore them since u cant stop them...

Michelle,

Congrates[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Winwin,

How lucky u are. Your natural delivery is certainly an easy and smooth one. My first is a c section , so never experience water bag burst or contraction pain. Hopefully this time round will be a easy and smooth natural birth for me.

I am selling away the spare parts for the Avent Duo electric pump.

It consists of 2 funnels, 1 tubing set and the control handle. Totally brand new. gotten it from the philips service centre in sept. am selling it away as my hubby got me the medela freestyle instead. original price was $170. willing to let it go at $160. collection at tanjong pagar MRT station on weekdays.

Interested parties, pls sms me at 98635226.

michelle

Congrate [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Piggytoh

Woh can c soooo many things ar. Strange lei my gynae nv ask me to do any FA or detailed scan lei. shall ask him abt it on my next check up.

yes yes moving out is the best haix hope it will fast fast come thru [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Kaira,

thanks..

Sandy,

huh how come i thot it a mus to do detail scan? cos it v impt to see if the spine n all the organ is well developed leh.. the sonographer told me 5mth is the best time cos another mth the bone will cast a shadow on the heart so cant see the details on the heart so clearly wor...

dun worry v soon u can move out.. ifu really cannot tahan i tink temporary rentin a room is the best..

1) Pinkraindrops

2) Sandy Dee

3) Vivi

4) avocado

5) tweety

1) Pinkraindrops

2) Vivi

3) tweety

4) mrs Chua

Can't make it on 26th cos co d&d

Hi pika,

welcome! U also have thyroid condition? How is yr level now? U sound positive which is good throughout the pregnancy...i wish I can be like u to make my pregnancy enjoyable....

Hello all!

I think i ate something wrong yesterday morning. vomited again and no appetite for lunch and dinner. today still the same. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so xinku.

Sandy,

eh? how come didn't ask you do?!

I just realised my FA is included in the oscar package. :X

1) Pinkraindrops

2) Sandy Dee

3) Vivi

4) avocado

5) tweety

6) hippopolai

1) Pinkraindrops

2) Vivi

3) tweety

4) mrs Chua

5) hippopolai

I keep visit toilet after drink water leh.... But this shouldn't happen in 2nd trim right? Anybody exp the same as me?

Morning Ladies..

Hippopolai,

it happen to me thru out for my 1st preg wor.. n now 2nd preg also same the moment i drink more water i feel the pressure on my bladder le n mus go toilet:p

Michelle.. I kept wanting to ask u. R u from July 2010 btb forum? Anyway, congrats for having a boy ;)

Weight gain.. So far, I gain abt 6 kg.. 5mths 6 kg.. Really wonder how much I'll gain more till I give birth?

I oso hoping for natural birth but my threshold is extremely low so dun think I can dun ask for epi..

ladies, long time no see!!

Just in case u all interested, there's a MOMS & TOTS fair going on a Singapore Expo this wkend at Hall 4A.

Then next weekend at same venue is the Parenthood Fair!

Enjoy & buy lotsa great stuff at gd bargains!

G'morning ladies...

Elmo,

Your Dr said if baby don't come out by 38 weeks, you should be induce?? I wouldn't want that either.. I think only if baby come out late, then must induce..

Hippo,

It is still happening to me.. My previous pregnancy also like that.. I think it really depends on how your uterus is position.. I know even when I am PMSing, I will need to pee in the middle of the night one..

Piggy..

You ask Dr not to cut too big? Ohzz.. Ya but this time better be careful cos you got a few scars down there lor.. I think like if you had an 1 episiotomy, the Dr will cut the same place one.. I think the same goes for C-sect.. that's why some Dr don't recommend VBAC.. cos scared the C-sect scar will burst open when you are trying to push baby out..

Mrs Chua,

I remember gaining that much for my first pregnancy, but towards the end, the growth like slow down so end up only gained 12 kg.. Now I think I have put on about 5kg ..

Sandy,

I think it is natural what you are feeling.. I think sometimes pregnancy makes you more vulnerable and insecure...

Gerry,

ya lo cos scare cut too big painful but it worse... stupid me la... ya i heard abt the c-sect thingy be4 tt y usu if #1 c-sect #2 c-sect better...

argh.. really need to vent abit... v v fed up with my work i wonder how much longer i can tahan... early in the morning nag n nag.. really v irritating...