(2011/04) Apr 2011

Cowgal,

actually i din lost much weight durin BF also but it help as in i din gain also... i tink i lost weight due too takin care of bb n eat little while i BF...oic... ya if got travel PIS is v troublesom... now i waitin to see if my HB goin us if he goin ask him buy ther... if not gotta join spree liao..

oops.. IC.. thanks cowgal...

I let my boss know le.. coz i think at least she will be more understanding if suddenly i need to go on planned MC.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bbgoh,

i used b4 medela mini electric...not powerful and very noisy cant tahan!

medela swing also not tat powerful not at least is quiet than mini electic.

PISA and freestyle better cos is dual pump. save time. and wun pump one side and leak one side.someppl said avent manual are better cos can control....and light and portable. but hands will be tired.

1st time mummy,

my advise..borrow mini electric/swing from fren and see got milk or not. if got milk and wanna to persist then buy a PISA or freestyle. it is wat i do. becos heard some ppl dun have milk at all and dun feel engorgement at all after giving birth.

for me this time round...think will borrow from fren 1st....cos also scared no milk.. becos i ate medicine to stop breastmilk during #1.

piggy when u stay? i always get from leng leng.

thanks gals will see gynae tmr and hear what she says

piggytoh

the folic acid from unity as in the brand also unity brand right??

piggy

i fully express de so didnt get nipple sore/crack but starting due to engorgement then was very pain after 1wk supply stabile liao jiu okie

i did enjoy when see the supply queit satisfy but just tiring & mid-night must wake up to pump then cant sleep on tummy haha

but u mention PIS is heavy?

i still searching

pinkraindrops,

Cracked nipples is due to breastfeeding but the enlarged and darker aerola is due to pregnancy leh... but will go back to normal after a while.. my breast went back to normal after i stopped breastfeeding when my baby was 14mths. but then i am small.. so i got nothing to sag leh.. lol

but one thing for sure... i saved loads of money by breastfeeding and i am determined to do it again.. milk powder really very ex.. my little glutton demands quite a bit now so can feel the pinch now

but the best part has gotta be what breastfeeding advocates always say.. your baby will be smarter and healthier...

hey, but thats my own opinion la. if you are not ready, dont stress yourself over this issue. i was never breastfed too and i grow up fine!!

Pink..

Don't feel bad about how you are feeling towards this pregnancy.. The hormones can do weird things to you.. This pregnancy is also making me feel very sick want to get this over and done with it.. Like how I wish it is April already... I was very moody and always take it out on my hubby but luckily he understands that it is the hormones speaking cos I normally not so cranky..

Breastfeeding..

I manage to TBF my #1 until about 10 months.. Then after that I feel like she no longer interested... and plus I really wanted my body back.. I didn't want to lactate anymore..hehe!! When I started.. I really wanted to give up to.. I have cracked bleeding nipple and everytime she suckles I can feel a electric shock through my body.. but I keep telling myself to go on.. cos it is good for her... when she was 3months, hubby and I fell very sick.. we both had mycoplasma infection but I still bf her. and she didn't fall sick!

No one should tell you how to raise your child.. You as a parent should be the one deciding how best to raise him.. Just because everyone says bf is good.. but if you don't feel comfortable, don't. Happy mummies have happy babies...

Cowgal..

I totally agree with you.. I am also going to do an oscar as I feel that having a downs kid will affect my #1 child. And I don't want her to be burdened by her sibling like that..

Michelle, dunno wat tonics to take?

I added sharlin, hippo on fb. I'm JP.

Hey, I only bf for 2mth+. But my stored bf lasted another mth. Cos my office no place to express except in toilet.. so i lazy lah.. stop when go back to work. this time will have 1 more mth to bf! I only buy Avent manual.. not bad.. cos dun intend to bf too long.. so dun wanna waste the $. But I think my old pump show be growing mould already leh.. shd be buying new one.

BBgoh,

icic i latch in the hosp so crack badly may borrow pump from hosp this time round... yes PIS is bigger freestyle is smaller n portable easier to bring ard..

ST,

no brand 1 jus ask the stff there ard $2.50 nia..

ethanmy,

actually breastfeedin is ex also mus buy fish oil n milk to drink but like u say it more healthy la:p

Cowgal..

I only started pumping milk 1+ months after giving birth to #1.. Was very scared to pump and then see nothing.. very demoralising.. =( So I just let my girl latch on and trust that she has enough milk by the amount of urine and poop she generated!! and plus she was growing.. I didn't buy a pump until I felt my supply was steady..

But actually now come to think of it.. even though I have done this before.. I still feel a little stressed out.. I mean I was either attached to a pump or baby for an additional 10 months!! Like I cannot leave home without a baby for too long.. if not it will be very uncomfortable... Like I went to tokyo with my hubby when #1 was 7 months.. I had to bring a pump everywhere!! So i was pumping in the toilet all over tokyo!! Not the best holiday.. Only manage to get more sleep!! Which I needed then..

piggy

i got inverted nipple so b4 delivery alrdy worry abt this issue then standby the pump le hehee

elmo

last time i also pump at ofc's toilet

piggytoh,

actually i din take any supplements leh. i think i shld this time round.

my mil just cook lots of fish and soup for me to produce milk. and i try to eat healhy. but i still continue to take spicy stuff when baby was bigger... cant resist.. lol.. luckily my son chin chai.. he had not rejected my milk before when i take spicy food

bbgoh.. i lazy lah... Plus after confinement i stayed at my mum's place.. she always nag n nag abt me bf-ding.. till i v pekchek.. then bb keep crying.. got no time to pump also (my boy dun like to latch for long).. so by 2mth+.. supply already dying. My milk came on the 2nd day in hosp leh.. and dripping already! Thinking back.. quite wasted.

elmo

yah during BF really cant have stress, some of my frens also have mil who kp nagging & complain said bb not full kp crying, BM not enuf bla bla bla

anyone noe the market price for

- Avent single electric pump

- PIS

- Free style ?

still thking buy new or preloved one

ethanmy,

ya shd take supp if not ur milk not nutrient not v gd leh other than the probiotics... if not u buy the maternal milk also can i heard if we BF n din take enough calcium our teeth n bone v weak 1..

bbgoh,

depend u wan local 1 or US 1... for PIS n freestyle if import from US is $400+ if local PIS i tink $700+ n $900+ for freestyle..

Kaira, how old is ur #1? I learn that must hv at least 3yrs gap before ur 2nd bb then only u can opt for natural... If not hv to stick to c-sec....

Pink n Elmo, accepted u!

Thanks mummies for accepting, now in the process to match the name n picture.... Haa haa....

st

Just post yesterday that I have very bad result too. Scan no problem but fail due to my blood test and partly my age already pull me down to 1:100 risk.

Amino is not a scarely thing, no pain or not consider pain to me, the process is fast. Actually I dont feel anything after the test, just a precaution dont walk too much dont carry heavy thing for the 1 or 2 days.

lyon

heard it's also a risk to do the test..and it's also the waiting time..if i decided to go with it i need to wait anothet 3 more weeks...

hello ladies.. .back from my oscar test... =) bb don't cooperate today.. so went to walk walk (shun bian go for hospital tour) then go back for scanning.. heehee...

Sharlin/Michelle: added u in FB.. =)

hippopolai: accepted your request.. =)

hippopolai,

#1 just pass his 1 year. Oh I didn't know abt the three gap .. So I don't have a choice ..

hmmm think must have a talk wi gynae ler [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thanks .

piggytoh,

now i remember.. yes i drank maternal milk... i think thats the only 'tonic' i take during breastfeeding.

bbgoh,

2nd piggytoh, can buy the us set fr BP or US spree... so much cheaper and brand new one some more

mummies, dont be too stress over the test results. My friend just gave birth and her baby turned out fine despite the test indicating high risk. I am wondering if this test is necessary, most cases seem to be false alarm and we end up getting stressed for the next 6 mths.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

piggytoh..

ya.. must eat nutritious food.. last time in school, my lecturer ever tell me that some of his sister's teeth fell out during bf!!! cos not enough calcium.. actually i think the body will take everything you got to make the milk so if you don't eat well, you'll suffer in the end... weak bones and teeth..

Now also with MS... baby don't really suffer one.. cos the nutrients will take from mummy... so mummy will end up weaker.. sigh... i had a fren who had bad ms and barely ate the entire pregnancy but her baby was 3.2kg at birth.. quite big lor..

Gerry,

ya lo my friend mum had 4 tooth fall out becos of lack of calcium.. so i make sure i continue to take calcium n milk lo...

Tweety,

so manage to see the gender??

kaira: I don't think you need a three year gap for a VBAC (vaginal birth after c-sect) - you just need to a find a doctor who is skilled to do it. Lots of Singaporean docs just don't like doing VBACS because they get nervous doing it, so they use excuses like, "you need a three year gap" etc. If you're keen to explore, you should go for it and find a gynae who is willing to do the VBAC -mine does and I'm sure others do too.

From the UK Caesarean Website:

How long after a caesarean should I wait before having another baby?

The gap that you should have between your last pregnancy and the next is your decision, although there is evidence that the uterine scar does become stronger over time. Research has looked at different gaps between pregnancies from those grouped as "less than 6 months" up to those grouped as "longer than 2 years". The risk of uterine rupture or of the scar separating remains small even with small intervals, but gaps of less than 6 months had the highest risk.

However, the risks are tiny in all cases and most mothers who go on to have a small gap between pregnancies do not encounter problems. Despite research showing slightly higher scar separation rates when inter-pregnancy gap is shorter, it can still be argued that a VBAC is the safer choice.

Child spacing is a very personal decision, which is far more complex than consideration of caesarean scar rupture statistics. It is your decision to make and factors such as your age, how easily you are likely to conceive, your general level of health, and how ready you feel to start another pregnancy, are all likely to be important to you in making that decision.

There are plenty of women who have had perfectly straightforward vaginal deliveries when the gap between pregnancies has been very short.

Back at work today so can't post much.

I breastfed my #1 for 10 mths until I changed job. For those buying preloved or borrowing breast pumps from friends do be careful on how good the motor is. At first I borrowed my sil's freestyle which was 2 years old but used for 5 mths only but it was not good. I did not know until I went to the lactation nurse for a consultation and she told me that my breast was clogged and it's likely the pump motor was not good. She told me to get a good pump so I bought PIS as my gal did not want to latch. If you are serious about breastfeeding, it's better to buy a good pump. Of douse baby latching on is the best. Also start doing your homework on which pump u want to buy but don't buy first until you give birth cause I know of friends who bought but end up no milk. When you need it just get your hbby to get it for you.

The Oscar test is just a probability test so that's why those of high risk are recommended to go straight for amino.

St, for my last one I did the cvs as I could not wait till 16 weeks. This one had a 2% miscarriage rate but my Oscar results was so bad that the miscarriage risk was lower than my Oscar risk ratio so I did it.

Yolk Sac,

That's very informative.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Really got to have a chat wi my Gynae and see what he has to say. TQ

Sookie,

actually if we have no milk all the more we need a gd pump.. i have friends she use avent den v little milk thot no milk so visit LC the LC say who say so got so much milk so she borrow the medela from hosp wah v gd supply.. like mine v pathetic milk even the LC durin my stay say no milk but ask me to keep tryin so after i pump n pump my milk slowly increase... so i am bend to get a gd pump this time round.. many friends of mine buy Freestyle n all loved it wor... tink it the motor prob bah...

Hi st, my ratio at that point was bad. The scan was 2.9mm. After my blood test the results was like 1:8 for trisomy 18, 1:12 for DS and 1:15 for trisomy 15. So can you can tell it was that bad. Also my gut feel was that something was just not right. Sigh. As such I went ahead with the cvs.

piggy

thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] will look it out, i thk nw still too early hehe

and also ll ask ard if can borrow from frens

st

dun be so stress.. ll pray hard for u

Michelle S, bbgoh

thanks for the prayer [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]