(2011/03) Mar 2011

ya man..i am also using the cda until kosong.

anyway if u put yr kids in cc/pre school or whatsoever, the 6k is actually not alot la..

kiefer only 18 months already 3/4 gone.

kyler one already finished...

i rather keep the funds in a saving account, at least its 'moveable'

but then i am still using the cda account for kyler also finish, just deposit the full amount lor. and at the same time "WISHING GOVT DO MORE TOP UPS TO CDA ACCOUNT"

FAT HOPE~~

JAJ,

Give J sometimes ... Shay gone through the same situation when he 1st transfer to Todd Class. He was ok at first to go 'play' at the Todd class so long his ifc teacher is with him. He enjoyed the few hours session there for music/art class. But come the official transfer, i still send him to the ifc in the morning, then teacher will bring him out after his bfast. At this stage, he already know that he will be out soon so he will cry even when i drop him at ifc. 1 week later, i drop him straight to Todd class. Crying is normal. Shay cry for 3 weeks i think. Now, i was told that he dun even want to go in ifc ... and start enjoy the Todd Class.

Hang in there ... J will pass the phase soon.

Hmm, regarding the uniform ... I have not buy any yet .. haha. Cherie heart nvr ask me to .. maybe it's air con and their uniform is short sleeve/pant. I saw all the kids in Toddler class wearing the long sleeve PJ from home leh. If you plan to withdraw J soon, maybe just let him wear home cloth for the time being ?

CDA,

Haiz, the IFC cost me $700 after subsidy.

The $6k + $6k can last me 17mths ... Shay started ifc when he was 3Mth and he is 19mths now. Means i left only <$1000 now.

wah.. all the babies promoting to toddler class liao..

poor Ethan still on waitlist. TMD. lolx.

allets, which cc did you managed to get a slow for J?

annie, I din know you can use meimei CDA for Javier leh..

ehh.. not sure if this is correct, when the child turns 6yo or 7yo, no more CDA, all the funds will go into their Edusave.

However, if you do not wish for the auto transfer to happen, you can write for the balance to transfer to your savings accounts.

you all can check, my friend just did it, her dotter attending P1 this year.

sinmey: i abit cheaper than u only lor..$671...

lol...so i tahan a couple of months more than u..

my turn coming soon lor...he going to toddler soon...

wonder will he cry or not??

tres, you made me laughed at your comment > "Next time for mei mei, I will not be kiasu and put into CDA, rather open savings accounts, at least can withdrawal if I wanna!"

won_mummy, I also deposit the amount I need for deduction into CDA only, won't deposit all at one go into cda as I have the same thought as your friend. CDA only can be used for limited areas and cannot be withdrew for other purpose, so not ideal to put all into cda unless I have extra money. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sinmey, thanks for your reply to Jav's transition to tod class... I hate to go through that phase loh... Hope he will be brave and accept the fact soon! From last night till this morning I keep telling him not to cry when go to tod class, he is big boy liao, must go join kor kor n jie jie at another class cannot cry, shame shame! He just tiam tiam listen to me, dunno he understands what I'm talking anot. lol...

I don't wanna let the IFC/CC teachers know I have plan to withdraw Javier coz it is not 100% confirm yet (scare my mum plays me out), so if they give me uniform I just wear for him loh. Don't want him to be the odd one also. Nvm lah, if really withdraw then ask who wants the uniform, if not keep for memory. haha...

milktea, I also just know from other mummies can use sibling's cda for CC/kindergarten de, coz that's what my friend did.

Hi hi 2ks *shy*

Special appearance today because very sick of staring at my flights booking. Haha..

2nd one, ya.. soon soon.. I hope. Haha..

I din realised from IFC to toddler also got problem leh. So kelian that they have to go thru another round of "dramas".

milktea: not all will have problems la..

kyler transitted smoothly, no prob.

its just a matter of time, once pass that period its fine already.

well, i think weird thinking i have ba.. why i am asking on partial payment is because currently already paying mil for the caregiver fee, so i considered this as an expense that i need to pay every month. so if i use half CDA half cash, i think can last CDA longer right since she will have a good 4-5 years in cc. another alternative will be that the amount i usually paid to mil, shall go into a separate saving account from her personal saving for J than when CDA use up, i will use this account to pay her cc.

ya, agreed. better to wipe out her CDA before she go to primary school.

milkteam - i checked with Cherie hearts @Chervon, they still have vacancies. so no waiting list required. just that i lazy to go and get the doc to certify on her jab. so filled up the form, went for 2 school visits, but haven enrol officially nia.

allet u cfm have weird thinking. lolx.

the money you monthly give to your MIl cont put in your savings then when J's CDA finish then pay using your cash loh.

I also got a slot at Carpe Diem but it's about 3 bus stop away from my place, so I waitlist Ethan walking distance from my place. Confimed slot in Feb 2013, that's the plan for now. Can't wait for the boy to start school seeing all the Mar babies going to school with so much activities and so much learning. Heehee..

yes man, I cannot understand your thinking leh, allet...very confused.. lol... CDA/cash, all still money ma... you better don't go confuse the principal to ask for half cda half cash. if you use half cda then your school fee is like only 25% discount since 75% is your own money? Hiyo very confused....

Milktea, you will have to go through the crying phase first before you can see him enjoys school. wahahaha...

Wow, all the talk about cda.. For me jiejie has wiped out more than half of meimei's cda already..n meimei hvnt even started school... Faintz...

Hands up whose babies went for the18th month jabs already? What are the jabs to take?? Is there another chicken pox one??

hello hello all!!!

Suddenly talking abt school and CDA, everyone is back! hahha! HOw is everyone?

ya, milktea... they will have to go thru the 'sticky' phrase first before the start learning anything!!!

thanks mummies for the advise.. maybe i really think too much ba! spoke to hubby and yes, we will use up cda first before using cash. also broke the news to my mil that we will send J in after chinese new year. quoted the example where end year not many students around, got alot of viruses etc. haha.. and also, want her to be in nearer to 2 years old .

i think it is probably time for me to doll up J's bedroom, get a new bed for her and start training her to sleep in her own room. realised J is a little slow in this aspect. still unable to sleep on her own. i tried , but her tossing n turning make it so diff. and also, now we are preventing her to put thumb and soothe to sleep, so i guess once we manage to kick off this habit, next up will be sleeping in her own room.

i guessed i really learnt alot from J.. and when i have #2, definitely no patting, no carrying for bed and no sucking thumb! it is so difficult to wean her off her thumb! to the extend we have to use ginger, apply tiny bit of ruyiyou to prevent her from putting thumb into her mouth.

i realised that when mil coordinate with me, it is easier to change J's habit. like now, after almost 2 weeks, she has finally managed to stand and let us bath. still got the shocked expression when water flows down, but no longer wailing and crying! yeah! currently on project wean-off.. that is to kick off the habit of sucking thumb.she hardly does it while with us but not sure when she is at mil place. so, everyday i will have to remind mil, and ask if J got suck thumb not. heehee.. it is a little sad to see her like a cold turkey esp during bedtime cos unable to suck thumb, but is for her long term good! she suck her little thumb until got some red blot spots at the tip liao. so yes, i must remain determined to kick off this habit!

actually thinking back cc fees are very exp hor.

lets quote an average family, lets say the parents joint income $3000, the ifc fees take up to $700-800 a month, lets say 2 kids, $1200 for cc alone. balance $1800 still need to buy fm, pay PUB (every rising), food, etc, where got balance left?

not forgetting the very exp doctors fees, injection, diapers...

aiyo..

imagine for normal cc, some of them still "invite" outside classes like speech & drama, phonics, what dance etc, all need top up cash.

u dont enrol yr kid be the odd few out. then how??

die die bo bian have to squeeze the $ out.

2Ks, totally agreed with you loh.... This is S'pore life... and sadly our government dun seem to realize this. Maybe they thought every parent is earning $4-6k each on an average that kind ba. You nv even mention their insurances, savings leh? then no need give parents? Sigh big big! Sometimes I really wonder how those malay do it, they only have husband working (I heard of one husband is driver earning less than $2.5k) and need to support house, wife and 4 kids leh.. How they do it?? Is it chinese more high expectation huh?

JAJ: i think hor, malays they sell their house then got money lor. nowadays malay very rich hor, they got cars all that one lor.

then usually they have their grandparents to take care of the kids, their kids dont need to go cc mah. u see seldom cc have malay kids lor.

not much.

maybe they doesnt buy insurance la, then they dont buy exp toys, no jumperoo, no exp baby carrier, no exp stroller, no brand clothes, thus they can do it bah...

JAJ,

Yalor, most malay family, their wife will stay at home take care of kids. Then food also home cook (cheaper ba, $20 can have a nice home cook food for a family of 6 liao). I have a malay fren who never use huggies/mamypoko de lo. Drypers or ntuc brand nia.

I would say depends on wat lifestyle u expect lo.

Sigh, i also dun understand how most singaporean can live so 'expensive' ...

ST,

wave wave .... Shay is in Cherie Heart Admirax, near the fortune god there .. not bad. It is open not long ago so the place is quite new. Also, the principle is quite friendly too.

hi 2Ks & JAJ, i think we have t bench mark average household income of $4K liao. I thnk it is stated in the papers that Sg AVg hhincome is +/- S$4K.

Yes I agree that living expenses w kid(s) will increase accordingly. that's something the govt won't and will not understand.. coz there are a lot of rich pple around that can afford those ex toys, enrichment classes & all. The govt see this kinda of spending and assume it will be the same for ALL family mah!

I dun know, maybe it is also due to our kiasu nature to want to have everything best for the kids that why we are spending so much... unlike the Malays.. they lead a happy go lucky life... sometimes I wish I can be liek them...... but but see my surroundings.. how to slack esp w the kids... pple will ALWAYS compare lor! hiaz...

2Ks, I see/hear one is the malay wife not working, looking after the kids themselves, then only depend soley on husband's income of not more than $2.5k... Yet still can survive with 4 kids.. Yes, you are right loh, they don't have enrichment classes, ex toys, clothes or food. No holiday also. Maybe only malaysia trip. Yah, I really notice most Malay buy Drypers but I dunno how to use dryper leh, will leak etc. I'm not talking about those malays who earn higher income lah.. those sure can have better living standard and those also not having more than 3 kids leh. Normally those lower income family have more kids leh if you notice...

tres, household income of $4k also not enough leh... if each wife/husband earn $4k each, total household income $8k then enough.. $4k household income to feed 2 kids can be quite stressful too if both have to go CC. How to have more than 2 kids?

haha.. agreed,is the standard of living lah. i think we want more luxury comfortable life compared to our other races.

my husband was just telling me, his army mate, $1.8k support family of 4 loh.

JAJ - Drypers? My little Janelle has been using Drypers since birth. no leakage problem leh. in fact my sis 2 kids also drypers all the way till now de. but when i let J try those slightly more expensive one like mamy poko n huggies, will leak leh. so i think differet bum diff lah. and she help me save a tweeny weeny bit of money. i always buy from giant, 2 packets for $31.95..

Kasper's cda went to all the doctor fees for himself and korkor..

We are doing the top up monthly via giro...

#1 is in pre-school

and yes, they have all e extra classes such as art, and phonics.. but its not exp..

just that need to stay back and no school buses..

the other fees once a year will be the yr-end concert.. on avg, a ticket cost abt $30-$50 to see your kids perform...

Malays

I heard that they give birth got more subsidies than us??

nowadays they more richer, got branded strollers.. compare to previous times, they are flaunting their wealth more obvious..

But i do agree that they don put education as priority..

What im not happy is that they dont have birth control..

I dunno how to just put my kids at home and do nothing with the maid..

so i rather send them to school..

Really cannot tahan Kasper's big lungs...

Diapers

Im a loyal fan of huggies ultra..

erm, maybe their butts all sensitive...

but kasper use diaper like use tissue.. i buy until hands soft...

now converting him to cloth diapers..

cheap and good.. found this brand call ALVA and HAUTE POCKET..

i also dont like drypers... i rather use pet pet than drypers lor.

but now i used pampers more for kiefer.

smiggleprince: some cc their extra classes is exp u know. i remember i got a mummy friend put in dunno what cc, each extra class is $200+ per term. then got many. but she cant afford so only took one.

kyler extra class is cheap la..$40 per subject per month. so still affordable.

no more extra money already la...intend to enrol him in tae wando at my cc there, only $40/term, super cheap

annie: i remember i read papers. it mentioned that its the malays that is contributing to the national birth rate lor. they tend to have 3 or more kids, chinese usually 1/2.

well, maybe we really should reduce our spending lol...

2Ks,

we should EARN MORE ... but HOW ??

Annual increment 2-3% and inflation 5% ... Sound like every year pay cut in reality ?

sinmey: u still have annual increment, my increment is once every 3-5 years lor. and not much hor..

not like 100/200 kind...

$50 now soooo small. go market already gone...

and i am surprised on the foodcourt price lor...sometimes eat foodcourt also need more than $15

my hubby used to participate in school nationals and was instructor..

tryin to teach Kayden next yr...

Malays

like i say, they are heavily subsidised from the hospital..

like mendaki fund, mcdonald fund..

they can just apply and give birth for free..

my #1 cost me $40k and im still paying, hospital reject my appeal for subsidy cos we earning more..

the malay women opposite my bed chalk up to $80K and get it all subsidised..

It puts me off giving birth..

Sinmey

ya.. everythin increase more and faster than our pay..

i dunno how i can save $$$..

smiggleprince: ya i intend to let kyler learn next year. instructor said need 5 years old then can listen to instructions...and he is a december baby somemore...

actually i wanted wu shu...

but wu shu very far...

sat he already having chinese lessons, i dont wanna add more stuff for him. and sundays i try not to plan anything study related one for him

Malay really have more subsidy? How come leh? I don't understand...

allets, you are the first chinese friend I heard using drypers leh, seriously!! Javier is a royal fan of Pampers. I only buy during promotion, so 2 packs of 60 pcs each cost only about $35. I think is affordable and good! I just bought Fitti (recommended by my friend) to let him try using at IFC. At home under my care use better one. hehehe...

ya loh, so maybe is our problem... we want good stuff, good standard of living, so money always not enough... I should dig my eye balls out! lol...

annie: but i heard drypers pants not bad..maybe can consider trying it.

i still like mamy poko pants, compared to pampers one. more soft.

open i am using pampers cos calculate and its cheaper than mamy poko.

but like what i told u, i like mamy poko NB & Small size diapers cos got the 'poo poo pocket'

JAJ,

Have la .. i saw some Chinese kids using Drypers in cc too .. Personally i prefer Pet Pet too for the cheaper brand. But heard Drypers improve the quality...

2Ks

Star learner use to have the Free Aikido. But they cancel the class for younger kids <N2 .. Say cannot get them to follow ... My girl just know Aikido is about kick kick and wrestling nia... with the hak, huk sound ...lol

Maybe 5yo is good to start on Taewondo. I wanted to let Moiie learn swimming leh, but i think she is bit scare of big pool (blame the lazy mummy never bring her to expose to pool).

sinmey: ya lor...i brought kyler to see the twd instructor. he said too young lor. he cant listen to instructions so ask me to bring later.

so just wait lor.

it at the MPH further down my block..so convenient.

wah.. today got so much to read!

I been saving up Ethan CDA for school next year.

All the affordable ones near my place fully book, so need to pay more not knowing whether their quality of teachers got better or not.

DUH..

Diapers, I've tried pampers, MP and recently Merries. I like and usually buy when there's promo at NTUC.

Act they also dun use alot now la, compared to NB.

2Ks, MP ex leh.. even promo also still not as cheap as pampers...

sinmey, I think most parents buy lousy diapers to be used in CC, anyway not they clean up, so no need use good one at CC. wahahaha...

Milktea, don't you find their urine volume has increased? Last time I can don't change his diaper at night, but now cannot leh. If he wakes up for milk in the middle of night morning the diaper sure can't hold his urine. Now every 3 hrs his diaper very heavy liao coz his urine vol. so much! He drinks quite a lot of water/milk...

Yesterday Javier cried until vomit twice during orientation at CC. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Dunno he today how. when teachers ask him whether wanna go to child care, he shakes his head. lol...

milktea: i tried merries..not bad also. but expensive leh.

annie: last time i support MP cos hub works there mah..

lol..but now its not as cheap as pampers lor. pampers got promo now meh...almost 6 weeks no promo already.

no hor..so far i been giving cc good diapers sometimes MP (i buy in malaysia so its much cheaper) or pet pet (ok consider cheap).

cos when they go toddler class, they got timing to change diaper one. not like ifc, they will auto change every few hours. but in toddler not like that, so i will prefer to give him good quality diapers.

one thing i dont like about pampers is, when with 2 urines, it sag...sometimes sag until like dunno what

annie, I like MP coz very soft, but I like pampers for nite wear becoz very thin so by the time I chgn for him in the morning, the thin become thick liao but still not as thick as other brands.

Then I like merries becoz the urine become like crystal gel, when leak, bed will not be wet. Damage not so jialat.

But I just buy whichever is on promo loh.

Jav still wakesup middle of the nite for neh neh?

Ethan slp late, last milk around 10-11pm so next morning 9-10am then wakes for his milk.

2Ks, I think 2weeks ago pampers 2x60 for SGD 30+ but I went JP NTUC 3x in a week, that shelf is always empty loh!

Annie bot evrything must be!! LOLX =P

for diapers, I use Pampers for my house, my mum wants to buy MP & pull up pants.. I always stock up from luvbabies website.. hahha! Buy $200 at 1 go so that diapers can last for months! hahaha!

tres, I buy my Nan from luvbabies too!

Their retail store is a block away from my place so I just buy from there, same price w/o delivery thou =P

Hi Mummies!!

Today all so active =)

I also using pampers for C... very thin easy to bring out also... last time use MP but I realise MP cannot hold her uring for the whole night but pampers can so don't wanna ma fan just buy pampes ans use for both day and night... C's CDA also drying up soon... used it for her jabs, GP and IFC fees...

milktea, yes Jav still wake up for neh neh at night. Now slowly improving... 1 week maybe got 2-3 nights sleep through, then some days will wake up for milk. We tried to ignore him and trick him with tutu also cannot work, so no choice better make and give him then we can sleep better, rather than he whines all the way and disturb our sleep. He will finish all the milk then pass the bottle to my hb then fall back to sleep. He is really a milk monster!!! Maybe he sleeps slightly earlier so cannot tong till morning for next feed even though he drinks 210-240ml at bedtime. He sleeps around 9-10pm.

2ks, I saw promotion few times already leh.. NTUC, Cold Storage, Shop n Save and Giant also have pampers promo.

2K - thanks

I no member lei... Haha..

I just ordered from BP... Paid $20 for the 4ct pain and one box of big fat washable crayon