(2011/03) Mar 2011

fel,

i got the crayola's crayon that can easily wash off. It is good enough to start off. Even my girl is still using it.

Urinal,

Mummies with elder boy (2Ks), is this neccesary ?

I tried to put Shay on the potty sit. Aiyoo, he cannot sit there quietly lo ? run out from toilet naked ... he think it's a bath toy ..

2Ks,

wa, u very ON leh .. frankly, i never let them play the water colors or paint at home ... haha. They play in school so the most i let them scrabble with crayon nia ..

Fel

i also use the crayola..

#1 will use the pencils on my wall sometimes when naughty.. at least can rub away..

sinmey

almost every week i let my boys play with water outside the house..

just bring all the toys out and get them to wash the toys..

kill 3 birds with 1 stone.. play and clean toys and can wash my floor...

if weather not good, i replace it with warm water..

Kasper loves to scoop water so he will play for almost 30-45min.. then total knockout..

you can try this if you don wan them to play at home

sinmey: yes, kyler is using it, i have 1 i put in the common bathroom, then my hub bought another from korea.

kyler is quite short so he can use it when initially when he is toilet trained.

but shay is quite big size and tall rite? he can just pee into the toilet bowl, should be no prob.

not training him on potty yet, to me waste of time cos he dunno it yet.

no la...not on la...they like to play paint leh.

shall bring out this weekend and let kiefer play.

let me buy some carrots and potatoes and go pick some leaves first

smiggleprince,

yea, i do let them play water in those baby pool, but in the bathroom instead of outside the house. Usually saturday/sunday afternoon ... haha

oh....i have the crayons also..

fat fat ones...

havent let kiefer try also...

shall find one day.

sometimes i let him do some doodling la...but very disturbing when doing it with korkor together, cos he wanna draw on korkor's one leh

2Ks,

Shay is not as tall as his sis ... To pee in the toilet is still long way to go .... unless he stand on a stool (dangerous leh)

wah ... i very guilty .. can i buy the normal water color & let them play on mahjong paper ?

2Ks,

haha ... i also never buy doodling ... hopeless mummy ..

aiyoo, i bought the kids racket and Shay is trying to hit the ball whole afternoon ... though sometime he smash him self and jie jie ... now left with 1 small bruise on the head ...

sinmey: dont want water colours, cos when they use the brush, the whole palette will become one colour..LOL

buy poster colour, which u can pour out one, i used paper plate as holder, they can stamp their whole palm or feet on it.

kyler is using the urinal lor, until now, cos i find it more clean, better than they pee into the bowl, they always will touch the seat (sickening)

talking abour bruise, kiefer got one on his forehead lor, he knocked onto those glass door at the shop in KL, think he didnt see the glass lor

Sinmey

my bathroom very small..

and they will knock into my glass..

so outside better for me...

Kasper like to cook and eat lor..

so i took out some old cooking set for him...

thatboy.. always hungry.. even play also must eat...

He keeps screamin and screaming.. like practisin his lungs...

any idea how to shut him up??

2Ks,

haha, Shay also knock on the glass 'door' in school last week.. no bruise jz red red.

Ok, thanks for sharing on the poster color thingy. It is like a small tub of individual colors right ? Should be ok for their palm/feet to play with it ba ? they are no longer 'baby'

smiggleprince,

hahaa, i also need a remedy to shut my girl up ?

she can talk & talk & talk ... hmm, maybe let 2 of them meet & talk to each other .... hahahaha

My common toilet has no glass so enough space to play there.

Both my kids also like cooking set .. the problem is, Shay will 'make' the 'milk' and 'drink' the shower water (yiakkkk) then my hb will nag at me allowing them to play cooking in bath room .. My girl even worst, scoop the bubble and make 'ice cream' for Shay ... Shay told me 'lak lak' (spicy) ... faint*

sinmey: its the 6 tubs small one, suggest u dont get too many colours, lesser for them to choose okay...otherwise aiyo...they will want this colour la, that colour la..irritating.

yup okay for them to play with their palm and feet, just use paper plate to 'store' the colours.

Where to buy the crayola from?

I see the website till eyes blur blur liao.. so many types...

Any specific item to suggest?

Thanks. The second one looks good!!!

How about crayon? Should get fat or thin one?

Sinmey

ya, but the thing is Kasper talk very loud!

like yelling..

everythin im home after work, he will greet me like im his idol... Scream and scream in excitment.. so funny and i feel so honoured to have such a fan!

hahahaha...

fel

sometimes, expo sale sells crayola at a discount...

fel: personally i find fat one for their age now. cos grip better.

just get mahjong paper for playing with paint...

easy and big pc.

fel - haha.. me also thinking of starting J on some painting and colouring. bought colour pencils from popular, sian, need to sharpen. i thinking of getting Crayola from overseas spree.

1 question, where do you sit the kid when doddling with crayons? On the floor or on thier kiddy table or dining table?

i think need leh, cos they can sit there and eat their breakfast/lunch etc.

when i bought a table, i didnt want those ikea type, cos round one is like so occupy space etc.

and some branded ones are so light, can move one.

then kids furniture is so expensive lor! sickening!

anyone went to last year babymarket expo fair last year ? got any good buys ? this year's will be from 5-7 oct. thinking whether should i go.

huh? I tot eat meals, eat at the dining table mah!

i tot kiddy table is more for handi crafts and other stuff??

hmm.. my house no space to put leh! Unless I clutter my living room???

tres: up to u la...

i let my boys eat breakfast at the kids table together.

kiefer is not sitting on his highchair already, and other chairs is too high mah.

after having kids hor..

what ID designed house, also become messy house!

my white theme house now become colourful house lor!

all the colourful toys!

JAJ: i bought the wooden type table (heavy type) from NTUC, but i doesnt like the chairs, so i bought the chairs that cc used from toys r us (very exp @$19.95) each!

but i like the ntuc table, cos the edges is round one.

2Ks, thanks for sharing the pics of your kiddy table and chairs. I like the toysrus chairs too!

=> Okay, some update on Javier's transition to Toddler class...

Ytd IFC teacher wanna help him put on shoes to walk over to the toddler class but he refused to wear shoes and leave the gate coz he never see my mum there. I told the teachers this morning that he is afraid of being taken away, and they said yes, he didn't want to leave the gate if not the family members there to fetch him. Wahahaha.... (maybe he scares later when we go fetch him he not here and cannot go home, how smart ya?)

Then after IFC teacher saw him playing happily at toddler class, she sneaked off and when Javier turned and couldn't find the IFC teacher he started crying all the way for 45 mins. They were supposed to put him there for 1 hr but sent him back 15 mins earlier yesterday. There were actually few of his ex IFC classmates there but Jav doesn't wanna find them. There is also one teacher who runs between IFC and toddler class whom Javier is familiar with but was on leave yesterday, so Jav has no one to look for in toddler class and felt lost. Poor boy but no choice have to let him get used to new environment slowly.

He will start full day at toddler class from 1st October onwards.

Fel, teachers told me there will be uniforms prepared for him. They will pass to me by end of this month and the uniform cost will be deducted from the deposit I placed with them earlier on, so no need to pay again.

annie: i am also thinking whether did to take half day leave on 1st oct or not. but hesitating cos no matter what, the boy has to get used to it.

just that cos in the morning between 7-8am, if i drop him, i will have to drop him at the main bay, which is very unfamiliar to him. after 8am then they will bring the toddlers to their own bay. then at 5pm, they will bring the toddlers to the main bay again and wait for parents pick up.

so i think its the drop off and pick up that i am thinking of..

2Ks, you worry he can't get used to new environment and you may need to fetch him home earlier, like you just put him in at first?

I never plan for this leh, coz the IFC/CC is side by side only, so I thought even if he really cried badly they can still send him back to IFC to calm him abit and I wouldn't need to go fetch him at half day or what. For my case, there is main no pick up bay, we will have to change to send/fetch him at the new toddler class liao... and he will need to be in uniform. Can no longer just carry him off the bed and send him there in his pyjamas. Meaning I have to wake up early to change him.

annie: aiya, just cant accept the fact that the boy is growing up so fast. well, i think i have confidence in him la. he should be able to adapt.

just sometimes i feel that i short change him u know. everything i do for korkor but not him. sigh..he has to be independent lor.

changing clothes is very fast one...kiefer doesnt nua in bed, so he is easier than his korkor...his korkor super nua one..

hey mummies, quick question. if we topped up J's CDA to $6k, than with govt topping up another $6k, i am wondering how long can this fund last ? we have topped up half the amt liao and since she is going Cc soon, we intend to top up to full. her cc estimated cost is $530 per month. and if we use CDA for cc, can we use half and pay the other in cash or what ? so far, we haven use her CDA for anything else. her injections i paid using my medisave etc.

also, those with experienced, any recommendation when is the ideal period to send her in ? i thinking of Dec but i recalled my friend was telling me that end year not ideal cos school will be lesser students due to holiday period etc. So i really dunno sia.

Allets, why don't you start in Jan? or better Feb. Cos then kids come back from holiday always got some kinda flu bug they'll transmit to the rest of their 'frens'.

2Ks, Javier sometimes can sleep beyond 8am, that is why some days I have to carry him out of bed and leave house straight. So not possible not to wake him to change him loh. Then sometimes he throw tantrum dun wanna change diaper etc...

I find the uniform will be a waste if I have to withdraw him in March, only wear a few months nia. What do you all do with used uniforms? Nobody wants de right?

annie: kiefer also sleep late during weekends, but weekdays once i make some noise he usually will open eyes...then he will call me or his papa lor..

uniforms if those brands ones like learning vision, MFS, cherie hearts still can sell away..

but smaller names, think nobody wants, unless u ask his classmates?

not bad ah! Kiefer knows when is the weekends or weekdays ah!

Chloe doesn't.. everyday auto 7.30a, will sure wake up and shout for us! She sleeps in the next room!!

allets, you can do your estimated calculations, if CDA doesn't use up, it will be 'transferred' to some post primary / sec funds.. so it will still be under J ba!

tres: no la..cos weekends i woke up late, then no noise he will wake up late also mah. weekdays i woke up at 6am, he is generally a light sleeper la. also cos he sleeps early la..he slept at 9pm everyday..so think 9-6+ is enough sleep for him?

ha...cda if put cc definitely cannot last until primary one lor.

then most 3-4 years wiped out.

hahah, oic!!! 9-6am, 9hrs of sleep plus afternoon nap time, should be enough lah!

mummies, any idea if nursery classes can deduct CDA???

I try not to make sound when I wake up, otherwise if he wakes up right he will not let me go do my things freely. Very sticky... so I prefer to prepare myself first then go wake him.

Javier's CDA already finished loh. I plan to use meimei's cda for Javier's kindergarten school fee...

tres, if the nursery/kindergarten is registered under mcys should be able to use CDA. Most kindergarten can. Even the private kindergarten I'm looking at can use CDA for subsequent months. First month must pay cash first.

JAJ - whoa.. so fast J's CDS wiped out liao? i am hopeful it can last me more than 20 months.

so there is no partial deduction from CDA than partial pay in full ?

M- that's what i heard as well.. like Dec kids go hol, than come back, v easy to spread their viruses. will try to see if mil can help for another 2 months. to me, next year also better. cos hb just changed job to those rotating shifts one. so i am hoping the less transition the better.

tres: from what i know, usually those 2 hours class seldom have cda. u can check with the school.

annie: why javier cda so fast finished?? kiefer starts ifc earlier than him, i still have leh, but that one can tahan another half year or so nia la.

his ifc fees already $671 per month

allets, Jav's cda wiped out already because we used his cda to pay for his cordlife for 21 yrs straight, so half of the cda fund was gone. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Plus his IFC fee is not cheap, $750 after subsidy, CC is $500 after subsidy.

I am not sure about partial deduction, you have to call the school to check with the principal. Why do you need partial payment when either way also your money ma. Not like you can save more by doing so, right anot?

currently Chloe PG doesn't deduct from CDA. HEr CDA is to see her PD lor.. I see so much $$ lock up there & can't touch!!

Next time for mei mei, I will not be kiasu and put into CDA, rather open savings accounts, at least can withdrawal if I wanna!

topic regarding CDA [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

my colleagues whom kids are also in cc advised me which i think quite make sense. Just a sharing:

To him, he feels that it will be better than we use up our CDA $ 1st. if finish then top up cash.

CDA - you can only use it for seeing doctor, some schools and thats all. there is a limitation on places you want to use the $. although next time it will be transferred to primary/sec funds, but if there is nothing you can pay it for, then its kind of wasted.

cash - since we already willing to fork out e $ for cc, why not open a savings account for our kids, deposit that monthly $$ into their account instead? cash can make of better n more flexible use next time, eg buying a musical instrument to be used in sch? buying a laptop etc? We can't use CDA $ for these since it have been locked up.

Since both CDA and cash are also our $, why not make it more flexible for future [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]