(2011/03) Mar 2011

JAM, what does little gym do?

I'm sending CHloe to gymboree music lessons. Seems like she likes it more as compare to the usual gymboree lessons.

Any idea what does GUG do in their classes for 18 months kiddos?

jaster - yes. but slow in process. i want a snake boy if possible. so, started to try during my trip. but miscalculate e dates lar. when i book my trip, thats e 'date' end up feb only 28 days, march delay few days. become my most not fertile date. lol....

anyway, whenever possible, we might start trying le. cos we r into e snake yr baby zone already [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]....u? any good news so far?

B has 4 top, 4 bottom teeth n 2 top, 2 bottom big molar teeth. total 12 now. Also walk fast but slow in talking leh. keep mummber baby language which we cant understand. i think she singing song too when we play video for her. again, dont know wat she humming...

tres - and also, old wife tales says, if bb still cant talk, they cannot have mouth to mouth kiss with another bb. my gal 'lost' her 1st kiss to another elder gal who still can't talk at 20mths. n she from vietnam....now when my gal talk, my parents wonder if she speaking vietnam....faintz....lol

hello mummies!!

GUG

its 1.5hrs (or was it 1.15hrs?)

songs, then more songs but need movement like walk jump, hop kind

then chinese lesson. teacher sing a song and have puppet play on that particular theme.

every lesson is on 1 alphabet. eg today is missy mouse, MMMMM, so everything is about mouse.

then got art/craft OR music room. kids love that part.

break 10mins, snack, washup

final part zoophonics, abit of montessori dramatics play about mouse, always got a plush toy of the animal on that day...then do the zoophonics chant, match alphabets via zoophonics way

finally byebye

that was during my #1's GUG 18mths

he was in GUG for 2 terms and he managed to pickup zoophonics from there completely

once a week, weekend. not cheap but my son liked it

thanks Pixie... hmm... ya the price for GUG is quite steep for a weekend classes.

But if it serve it purposes than it is money well spent right?

now my dilemma is that if she will be in montessori PG on weekdays, should I or shouldn't I enrol her in GUG?

sinmey,

thx for the advice on the milk shake... u know hor, i so silly... tot it realli like drinkin milo. juz add water n powder n shake... only to realise it to shake with milk!!! =p

sinmey - i wish i am.. but that would probably mean raping my husband and demanding it. haha.. he said next year than start to try. so bo bian loh. everytime we pek chek looking after janelle, he will definitely bring out his old grandfather story and ask me "hai yao sheng #2 "? super piss with him!

Poky,

i also nvr put milk to shake leh .. only add cold water. actually add milk taste better, jz that i lazy to buy milk, plus i think drink too much milk will gain weight (i only like those full cream milk)

allets,

haha ... u can create 'accident' de .. haha .. by seducing him .. wakakaka

sinmey,!

aiyah!! i even purposely go buy milk leh!!! nvm... tmr lunch i drink with milk. dinner use water only!... i using meiji low fat... hopefully it not fattening?

tres - my hubby dont want age gap too close. so ideally is 2-3 years apart. than we dont want snake bb (this mummy personally dont like ) so earliest can try will be next apr onwards ..

morning mummies...

just wondering, any of ur kids sleeps on same bed as you? my gal used to sleep on her own cot, now mattress on e floor. but recently, she seem to realise there r better 'spots' to sleep. Either with me, or squeeze in the middle with my parents. what should I do to kick her habit away huh? Or maybe, is it advisable to get a bed rail?

any advice pls?

Won mummy - Janelle sleeps in her cot side by side our bed. but i did not put up the bed rail so that she is free to roll to my side.. but so far she is pretty contented in her cot so even she roll over, just a bit nia.

but i do realised that getting her to sleep is super difficult lately. can pat her for almost close to an hour. and when weekends, she can nap for 1-2 hours and last the whole day.

I know I might come across as mean but my #1 we pat pat pat till WE fall asleep or arm cramp and then at 6 months we read that it's wrong to do so, so we reduce and then just sit by her bed till she falls asleep. #2 we hardly pat, maybe 2 mins to calm her down when she was very very young, never carry to sleep, I don't sit by her cot either. I fed her, burped her, sang one song, kissed her good nights and put her down, she might cry a little some night but after 5 days she cried cos I took too long to leave the room!

Now they both sleep together in their own room liao, no patting, either my husband or I will sit in the dark for 5 mins till #1 gets sleepy then we leave. It's AWESOME.

The only time they sleep with me is when they are sick, for 1 night and that's it. The husband will sleep on the sofa. #1 know she gets one night to manja if she's sick and that's it and she's gonna be reallllllly sick lah.

Point is - kids DO NOT NEED to pat, rocked nor carried to sleep. Seriously! They also don't need to sleep with you, if you want them to cos you want that close-ness, that's cool but you have to deal with it in the long run.

hihi... i also find that Chloe now needs to sleep on our bed before we move her to her cot. She use to sleep on her own in the cot. Perhaps it is us (the parents) who always take the easy way out by letting her sleep w us.

I'm also starting to 'train' her to sleep on her own in her room. Hope I will be successful then i can have my own room back! haaha

M, i ask you, did you use the baby monitor to 'hear/ see' what they are doing in the room? Or you just let them be?

I think different parents have different parenting style.. yes, i will definitely look forward to the day when Janelle can sleep on her own rather than monkey here and there now if we put her to lie in her cot.as for sleeping in her own room, probably a little longer. cos her room 2 rooms away from ours. i scared she middle of the night wakes up cant find us how.

Die. Eden used to sleep on his own in his own room. April I was on leave for two weeks n the naughty boy slept with us every single night.

Now he don't sleep in his own room. Haiz. My own itchy backside la.

Create more problem for myself. Sigh

Tres - I use the baby monitor, make sure they are okay and we have a camera in their room (cos of maid issues) and we check on them to make sure they are sleeping not playing... it happens esp during their afternoon nap, kinda funny, we watch for two minutes then open the door and tell them to sleep. #1 will jump to her bed and # 2 will quickly lie down and pretend to sleep :p .

Allets - my #1 is perfectly capable of opening her own door and our door but the funny thing is, if she needs something, she'll just sit on her bed and cry till one of us comes in.

I know parents have different ways of doing things, I guess I'm trying to say that it is possible and I do love my own bed and room back. My MIL always insist must carry to sleep, pat lah, rock lah, my own mum kinda as well but she accepted our methods more readily. I'm thankful that I was given the Baby Whisper book, it really was helpful.

That's it, my two cents [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

M - wow!! you r really steady!! how did you do that? i guess cos you have your own house, no grandparents heartpain to destruct ur plan? I tried to be firm most of e time, being e bad person. but she knows she have her 'support hill' to go to. eg my dad...haiz

allets - keep it up!! i think its tough to train them back to sleeping on themselves. so, pls let her stay in her cot and not put her in between ur hb n u.

tres & fel - yeah. me too...cos there were few nights in a row she keep waking at middle of e night. since she slept in my parents room, in order not to keep waking up, my parents put her in e middle w them. or sometimes, she wants me. so i carry her to my bed n sleep w me. n now, she dont like to sleep on her mattress alone anymore [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] seems like really our fault [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] taking the easy way out...jialat....

how to train them back to independent?

won_mummy,

more hard hearted and be more persistent? haha... but i think i'll give in if Jo cries a lot! thinking how to wean him off from pacifier. He needs it to fall asleep!

so far he has been on his own bed but once in a while i'll be too tired and sleep with him after his night feed... mine also no patting! just let him toss and turn and after a while he'll doze off to sleep...

last time kyler also sleep in his own cot and i use baby monitor to keep track. i also practice no patting no rocking.

but after kiefer come out, in order not to disrupt kyler zzz, so he shifted to sleep with me, and the dad sleep with kiefer in another room cos he was on permanent night duty.

i think i going to do some minor adjustment in their room 1st, always wanna do but its a big project. cos sure got to sacrifice a few days of sleep to adjust them.

but in the meantime, i think i better focus on my "quit pacifier project" first.

sometimes its like, after kiefer zzz, and i wanna spend some time with kyler, so its usually in our room. its been so routine, kindof get used to it..

sigh..

jaster - yes! to be more hard hearted n persistent. but cos if night time my bro or SIL (who is preg now) is at home, its difficult to force my gal to sleep on her own. she will scream till whole blk ppl wake up. thats y we keep giving in to her till she now prefers co-sleeping. jialat.

2ks - yes. no more patting n rocking for my gal too. but she needs iphone flash card to fall asleep now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i think i m giving her all e bad habits. how ur 'quit pacifier project' going?

won_mummy: i totally understand...

bring them in is easier, but bring them out is difficult!

now kyler will tell me, "mama i wanna go to the room"... the room means my bedroom lor..sigh,,

quit pacifier project now think 80% pass, at home i already hide all the pacifiers, going to throw them soon. now left 20% at ifc lor.

must ifc cooperate also la, they just told me this morning sometimes they will give him when he is fussing

tres - yes eden sleep with us every single night..

sigh...

he never touch his room for like 2 months already...

How ah... im half hearted also la... want to let him sleep on his own.. need a few days to let him cry himself to sleep...

haha... i should tell my hubby to doll up J's room and learn to be a hard hearted mummy. maybe shall let her sleep in her distant bedroom soon..

everynite J will have her last feed at 9.30pm, than hubby or myself will carry and pat lightly, hoping she can go to zzzz land by 10pm where we get to do our own things. maybe we dont have the patience to let her roll and play and drift off to lala land on her own ba. cos that would mean maybe by 11pm this monkey still not asleep.

parenting style are really different!! buay tahan mil .. she is pampering J like nobody business. drink milk, eat porridge need to go downstairs de. biang! weekend i dont care, you want to eat you eat, dont want, i can dump the whole bowl away. i am not going to bring you downstairs just to have your meals!

mummies - in july i have a 9 days break from work cos mil travelling. hb and i thought of bringing j for a short short trip, any suggestions ? hopefully not too ex de cos we might be going taiwan wiht the rest of my family in oct. but i dont want to stay and waste my leave in jul. any suggestion where i can go ?

allets, you can try Club Med Bintan, let J go her those kids activities. That's sometime I wanna try...

2K, you mean you have successfully wean Kiefer off his pacifier even before he sleeps?? *well done! I'm trying but CHloe will fuss and then nor sleep. so I give in still hahah!

tres: yup! he seldom take pacifier to sleep...

only initially where the eh eh eh lor.

but sometimes dunno why he can find the pacifier that we hide somewhere in the cot.

these few days i already keep away the pacifier, so i think its gone for good at home la.

2k - ya, not even nap time. nap time he sleep on sofa and play mat? we tried putting him into his play pen (his is playpen, not cot), he scream n cy in middle of night... sleep with us no problem de... can sleep through nowadays

lol...

Sigh. im also a bit disappointed things turn out like this... but... i created it,...

2k - dont even know will have a not...

husband is crazy... sometimes say yes, sometimes say no. till im blur!!!

2ks

Hello!!!!

Is k2 on pacifier? X2 not on pacifier...she not keen ard 6-8mths old

Last mth i shifted x1 to his own bed own room. Hb sleeps with him in the same room but diff bed. Once x1 can go to sleep on his own then hb will shift back w me. Bb still latching so still co sleeping w me leh. I oso want her to sleep in her own room but that means sleeping w my maid. I not v keen on that

2ks - ya loh, actually we intended to stay 1 night at RWS already for my birthday that week. but just thought whether can we do something different. driving up to malaysia we dont dare. cos dont know the route well.

but i dont want just a stay in rws, i want a real short holiday! so i texted him and said want a short holiday, he told me will discuss . i told him i want to look forward to something during this week and not wasted staying at home the 9 days with janelle. moreover, it's my bday week also. super unromantic hubby.. so far no plans yet!

allets, it's like that 1.. they will expect us to plan and perhaps they pay! Or go for a short holiday at BKK lor. Good shopping and good food!

pixel: yes kiefer is on pacifier. WHATEVER to make him shut up that time..LOL

so far for a week, i hide the pacifier already. so think at hm, its pacifier free...left ifc only lor. just reminded the teachers yday.

allets: my hubby leh...is full of ideas where to go..he told me he wanna go sunway, go KL, go bintan la...

i am the one who rejected him...piangs, bring both is not an easy task lor..so many things to pack and bring..ma fan.

i booked a farm stay in malaysia with my #1 thread mummies, so quite looking forward to that..

but i am paying for it leh! he asked me go sell seafood to earn the farm stay...

tres: yum at BKK food..really nice

but nowadays bkk is not that cheap also leh. things getting exp.

when i go shopping, i see how much they quoted tourist i wanna faint..and u buy u take otherwise just go..they wont call u back.

the price they quote my hubby and the singaporean next to me, it a huge difference man!

2ks- no.. my leave period is from 30 june to 8 july .. the farm stay you mentioned seems interesting.. can share more details ?

Tres - no lah, with Janelle, go BKK not fun de. cos cant shop well wiht her around.

actually i thought of just finding a place to laze around.. but lazing in RWS for 2 days or more is very ex and not worth.

tres: i was planning for a long long time. but keep hesitating cos its malaysia..scared scully the pics online and actual got drastic difference..

but seems to be ok la..

we took the package tour plus stay, its around $291sgd for 2 adults & 1 child, but child under 3 is free