(2011/03) Mar 2011

pinky,

i also prefer play than loft... can't wait to see all the bbs' photos..

me also thinking to bring Shay for the studio shoot .. jz Shay nia, but the 2 hrs really bit long for me.. scare the hyper boy cannot than and throw tantrum. and boy dun have so many choice of clothes to change leh .. i love the naked/jz with diaper shots most .. haha..

Jaime,

is the photographer in Play good with bb ?

The PA's one not really good with bb, so i'm like a crown/silly woman there trying to make Shay laugh ..

PA that photographer got full time job one..

think photography is extra hobby only...

but i tot for that kindof price, its not bad?

maybe my expectations lower..

2ks is correct....freelance photographer cant compare to studio one... that's why their price is much cheaper...but for that kind of price...consider quite worth it...

Sinmey, my experience with PA is still quite ok ... I do not need to do much to make Matthias laugh/look at the camera ...early morning his mood is good ...plus he was enjoying playing with his 2 helium gas balloons ....but doubt i can bring him to 2hrs indoor photoshoot ....he starts to fuss after the 45mins ... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jaime/Charmaine is so guai ....2hrs no fuss at all ...**salute**

2Ks,

i know .. and it takes time for the part time photographer to be 'pro' too .. haha .. and the price is really cheap compare to those 'branded' one .. haha.

mai hiam lar .. maybe my expectation to photographer is 'high'. haha. should have ask them way camera they use .. haha

pinky, hmm ideal leh.. baby cheesecake.... find one day, i go n make also... like most,,, my gal only porridge (mainly) n cereal (v occassionally)... but these few days, last min hug buddha leg... start givin bread, plain rice n mee hoon kuey (when eatin outside)... cos need to prep her to start eatin outside food while in HKG... not goin to prepare food for her there la... too much hassle.... let her start exploring the outside food of MSG..... try to give her as little as possible.. but doubt got much choices lor....

2ks, limlim

is it advisable to go shenzhen from HKG? thinkin to go 1 day trip there.... juz take train to lo wu station, there alrdy a shoppin centre bside the custom rite? or stil need to take train to shoppin area??

got 7days... but now like not much place to go... disney 1 day, ocean park 1 day, maccau 1 day, snoopy world+new town plaza 1 day, peak+fa yuen st 1 day, mongkok area 1 day.... duno where else to go..... schedule not v pack ba?? cos dun want to rush too much....

only bringin the maclaren quest... not bringin the twin liao... too heavy... if like wat u all say, carry up n down,,,, bring the lightest one ba....

photoshoot...

i still waitin for the ones i took under the groupons... regret big time.... took 3 pkgs,,, 1 for each family. in the end,, only my inlaw took with us n the gals... my family give funny reason... my mom says her hairstyle not nice.. want to wait til her hair loses it fizzy perm liao.. then wan to take the shot.. by then, coupons expire liao! end up, went for 2 times at outdoor within two wks.. shacked... so lesson learnt.. no more buyin of groupons, at least only 1pkg at a time.... nxt round, shld b when older is 4yrs old or the younger is 2yrs old?? meantime,,, i practise my photoshop skills more ba....

mimimo: the top up in the cda account one is it announced at last year budget?

poky: i am not sure of shenzhen leh..never been there and not interested to go leh..

why dont u get some baby food from isetan scotts? they have porridge too, otherwise some heinz jar??

HK food is to the saltish side leh...

I never been to Shenzhen, my ah Lao dun let me gO alone , say not safe. And we go HKG the shopping also cannot finish le. You can always get porridge in HKG, pork ball or fish porridge should be safe for babies.

pinkypink ..so chim teh cheese cake ..ok let me know nwhich day..if need to take leave i also go..so tt my girl has a gourmet meal..

when u gg studioplay...heard their schedule so damn packed..

sinmey...the photographer..i dont think he is super good with kids coz he is married with no kids..but at least i feel his effort to bond with the baby and make her laugh..thru out the whole session he was like signing..A,b,c,d ..no other songs..but i think his KPI from his boss Sean Lau..every setting must have smiley pics lor..not enuf to just have front facing photo..so he will like pretend to sneeze n make the baby laugh etc..during rest time.he will go to my girl and carry her ard etc..such i think its an admirable effort ..whether it works or not its secondary coz its baby dependent.

i guess its better than maryann koh from studio loft..she doesnt do anything..she only expect the paretns to clown ..coz she is busy taking pics...but long time i never go studio loft oredi...

how was it during the xmas shoot, pinkypink...

ST....sometimes for us..we take quite good shot of our kids...sometimes free lancer can be disappointing yah....

hahahah...but yet we still engage them ..for different reasons i suppose...

ST , my girl got fuss alittle..just feed her baby bites and puff...then she ok...

mummies..i rememebr last yr we are all so eagerly listening for the budget before we pop...

this year no one bother...hahahaha!!!1

Jaime,

haha .. got KPI some more .. But can see his effort lo..

i agree with u on the gd shots by parent. Coz we have more time with them and we jz snap when they r in gd mood ..

Can't blame the photographer too .. they only have that 1-2 hrs with bb and it depends on their mood too .. Shay was not in very gd mood that day, coz he miss his morning nap at 9am ... haiz ..

ST,

which camera model u using ?

* market researching*... my hb is going to 'kill' me

Yup, 2ks. There's nothing much for us this year, just the usual gst voucher depending on your housing. The focus is on the lower income, productivity and elderly.

Sinmey

Go buy D800! Poison poison!

I think I'm the odd one out, no photo shoot for my boy before and now and near future. Super lazy. All his photos are taken randomly using iPhone and hb's dslr.

If doctor prescribed an antibiotic for your child, will you giv antibiotic to your child?

Jaime/Sinmey: HB is using D90 ....

ST: I would; cuz I trust my pd that he doesn't anyhow prescribe antibiotics n I rather bb get well faster before a common cough turns to bronchitis. Plus doc usually explains y he's giving antibiotics..

ST: Usually if bb doesn't get well after sometime without antibiotics, doc might prescribe antibiotics. I will give if doc prescribe. If u really reluctant to give, u can ask doc if there are other medicine apart from antibiotics. As what pinky says, if you dont, bb will take a long time to recover and may develop into something more serious. Hope M get well soon.

Ok thanks mummies...

At least I feel better now...this morning got questioned why gave M antibiotic ...i was like @_@ ...felt bad also ....

ST

i will not give

but we all have our own parenting beliefs so really what you want to believe and follow

Good Morning AM (morning show on Channel 5) recently had a talk about the over prescription of antibiotics in SG.

SG is rank one of the top few countries with antibiotics prescription, and we generally are immune to the basic/popular few due to "abuse"....

its a long story but theres always 2 sides to a fence leh

pixie: i guess u will not give also..

i will see la...if taking too long, i will give, cos i need him to recover quick otherwise cannot go childcare leh..

if taking care at home, i prob wont...

see situation lor.

I caught that program! But my pd is not quick to gif antibiotics so when he does I will gif to the kid lor!

plus I'm asthmatic so I'm v scared the kids lungs will get weak if they hv prolonged cough etc

2ks

there is no right or wrong leh, i think.

the only "wrong" (if this is really wrong) is how we understand antibiotics.

antibiotics is used to kill or slow down the growth of bacteria, but if your illness is NON bacteria related, then giving antibiotics has got no use to the sickness you have...

usually we have virus, or bacteria related sickness. eg administering antibiotics to a viral illness does nothing.

the specialist on the show said rest is the best cure but when we are working and bz in our lives how to rest eg 1 week or 3 days rite O_O|||

i've seen doctors who are surprised at how i do not give medication to myself and my kids. but then again they are doctors and their job is to give meds hor? hmmm...very contradicting lol

But for kids under one it's usual to do nasal swab test to check source of illness right? Bacteria/virus?

My pd does tt.. Even fr sunay too altho not really required.

pixie: yeah...i understand...

i try my very best to dont rely on medicine

i do notice that sometimes take western medicine too much become immune already, not effective.

thats why i try to hold as much as possible..

but sad to say, i need them to recover so that can go childcare

i get sick of western medicine, sometimes i just dont give and i feed chinese medicine instead.

to me, i think its more mild la.

jojo

nice!

but i think its a tough job to edit all the pics for all photoshoots, so maybe PA's editing is just simple simple only? else how to deliver the CDs....

issit very hot on that day?

Thanks Pixel. My timing is 2pm and it is super hot. Better dun choose this timing...very hard to take. I've not receive the CD from PA yet..but i guess the editing should be simple simple de.

Jojo,

Nice pic .. and he is like a big boy leh ..

Pixie,

Don't expect too detail editing ho .. only simple crop & lighting adjustment i guess ... else, how can he deliver in few days times for so many customer .. some more he freelance and no editing team to help ..

Jaime,

Thanks for telling me the Play's using 5D. It's good enough for studio shots.

sinmey

yah, im thinking hor, 1 day he take ard 5-8 customers max? then 5-8 x 150pics...OMGosh...i will die from editing man

u see the pic he edited for jojo's boy...the top part there, the lake, its too bright (2x horizontal overexposed blobs), which distract the eye to the top instead of drawing the eyes straight to the pic of the child + balloon...

pixie: wah...u see until soooo detailed.

i lower expectations la..i think its nice! value for money...

jojo: the pic is nice! the ballon is nice also! he ok sitting on the grass? think if kiefer he sure fuss one..

Pixie,

i agree, but that one not the simple 3-click editing and i doubt he will do that .. haaa.

i think he just correct the exposure, cropping for better porpotion nia lo .. u r right .. so many pic, how to detail edit .. some more he got his full-time job .. can die man ..

2Ks,

Jojo's boy is not camera shy .. and he looking at the camera lor. i saw the pic in the PG website, their family photo is nice too. bb also looking at camera ..

ur little K can compete with Shay .. sit on grass and cry together.. haha

pixie: Wow..u see till so detail. He is freelance so I don't think he will be doing detail editing. Somemore it's not expensive, so cannot expect too much.

2Ks: Balloon buy from xpressflower at Jurong Point. Think most shopping center will have.

My boy is very naughty during the shoot. He can't stay still. He is also amazed with the grass and keeps crawling all around. He also keep crawling towards the ducks on the lake...so dangerous. He even eat the grass!! We had such a hard time to get him to stay still and look at the camera. Most of the time, the PG tell us to keep looking at the camera and the moment J looks at the camera, he clicked. We are so tired out lo.

We even bring his walker there, hoping to take some shots of him standing/walking with the walker. But he totally ignore the walker. Haiz..

Hi March Mummies,

So long didn't come here. Good to see so many mummies still here.

On antibotics, I totally agree with Pixie. Antibotics is only useful for bacteria related illness. But I noticed a lot of doctors give antibiotics for viral illness as well, which does nothing. If I take the antibioticI will give, if I am in doubt I will questioned the doctor the neccessity to prescribe antibiotics. Our misunderstood ways of prescribing and taking antibiotics is causing so many illness to be resistance to antibiotic. I am so worried what will happens when our children's children grow up.

sinmey: i think kiefer will either crawl around or pull the grass lor!

he very terror now la..

somemore i have to scold him 'gently'...difficult task..LOL

halow mummies

i test test bring my boy for photoshoot caz my wedding studio give me 2 free photos...ayoh i tell u...he super stern loh..no smile nothing just stare straight sternly at the photographer..give him balloons/toys he look at them touch abit but stil stern stern face..only after finish liao then he smile..ayoh..we all like clowns trying so hard to make him smile..in the end failure leh..

he go pull his socks, crawl on the floor touch the light stands..etc..i dono how i can manage if i go book the 2 hrs studio play..havent book that yet...heng!

freesiajen

agree. thats why i havent been taking antibiotics for the past ~10years. i think its more impt for my body to fight the bacteria than getting antibiotics to help me.

jojo, 2ks

yest brought my bb to park, she oso eating the grass n leaves....i oso have to stop her so many times....maybe i should bring the outdoor shoot to someplace CONCRETE LOL

Mummies might want to try this method....try act sneezing --- .....to make ur babies smiling.... it works most of the times [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Antibiotic

Since I already let M ate ....no choice got to complete it ...sigh! just normal runny nose only ...

I got a question - how often does your little one falls sick? Mine gets the common flu almost every 2-3 months after he past the 6th month mark.

mimimo

is that very frequent? considering that our babies are now 12mths old, after 6mths mark, meaning only 6 mths passed.

in the 6mths, your child is sick every 2-3 mths meaning sick 2-3times within this 6mths...

meaning....your child was sick 3 times for the whole of 1 year. i think its a good %

no child will not fall sick. falling sick is just the body's way to cope with the virus/bacteria...

actually your child has to fall sick for the first few years to build up his immunity ler

mine got the runny nose 2x from birth till now, and i think its a good % too; am i too optimistic? LOL

pixel: Yalo...busy running after him and stopping him from putting everything into his mouth. But see him like that also very cute..we keep laughing too.

ST: No need blame yourself. Most important is he recover. My boy given antibiotics when his runny nose and coughing did not recover after 2 weeks. 2 weeks is already quite long for a bb so pd has no choice but to prescribe lo.

Mimimo: Mine so far only one time fall sick due to common flu..touch wood. Others will be fever due to injection.