(2011/03) Mar 2011

Oh dear, I am so sorry, AirMez! I don't mean to drag your mood down. I was reading the news after I posted one comment on porridge here, so thought of sharing it, coz we were also talking about it. Sorry babes!!!

2Ks, that's the way lah... I try to console myself saying some money luck is coming if I see a lizard in my house. Then I will not hate lizard so much, and try to like its presence. LOL! Cockroach, no way! Especially those will the yellow stripe mark on it and the antena!!!! I feel like hammering it but I dare not get near it, not even 1 m away!

2Ks, thanks for not scolding me in having the thought of introducing frog meat to Javier, yet still teach me how to cook it. Much appreciated your kind understanding! I thought I will receive many lecturing, so dare not say it out until now. lol.... All who don't agree please don't scold me.. I won't try to kill my boy. I thinking of sharing the porridge with my boy! haha...

Back to the frog, my mum says put in the whole piece better! I saw the frog still in a piece, with some blood, but without the head lah.. Freak me out! I think I will ask her to wash for me later.. So I must add in the ginger first in the porridge or together with the frog at a later part? my mum says boil long then the porridge will be sweet? Put in how long must take out liao?

LOL @ Zenia! ur mum's house at Boon Lay old estate is it? Why got different species and fat fat one? I only know of such lizards at my grandma's house at Boon Lay! lol....

Milkea, so please stop killing lizards now.. no wonder recently you buy alot of things, coz ur cai being washed off le lah, so you are spending n spending. Just like me! But I didn't kill the lizard, lizard just don't visit my new house. lol.. Or my hb killed too many cockroaches at my new house? Oh no....

annie: u r very the cute...

i never put in the whole pc la.. i par boiled the other parts 1st to remove the blood and dirt, then i throw in the bones 1st (not eating one) to boil with ginger...

then lastly i add the legs part (to eat one), i cut into small small pc..

ginger add in when u are cooking with the other parts..

the leg later then put in, otherwise will tough leh..then not nice le..

dont add too many things in it..plain frog porridge smell very nice one!

take pics show me huh...

u really put in effort to cook for javier...so wei da la!

hmmm.. annie, i am trying to picture a headless frog in the pot! the scene must be very funny and i cant helping laughing as i typed!

hi mummies!!!

speakin of stock... i also added celery to the vege stock.. cos i follow the first food also... but only 2 stalks for 2l of water.. shldnt b too liang ba??

yesterday went to buy pork bones to cook stock.. uncle says to buy meat part instead.. cos bones too heaty... so he "change" my order to meat instead...... is it true?

2ks,

i tried using the tiger porridge flask on mon for the first time... but machiam not hot enuf to "continue" cookin the porridge leh... mayb bcos i didnt fill it full? end up, i used back the thermos pot instead....

fel,

i got a mini collection on the shuttle series,,,, 6L, 4.5L and 0.9L... hahahah but i find it useful as i often juz boil soups, fruits water, barley, etc with them.

porridge.... sian ah.... my gal eat 3days, dun want liao.... cereal also entertain her for 3 days only.... then she keep grabin our food.... give her rice grain.. she so happi...... but she stil bo gek leh!!! how to give solid food?? still need to mince all or can give grainy soupy stuffs to bo geh bb??

poky: really? can one..just maybe something went wrong..

it cant be called "porridge maker" for nothing right...

u got the shuttle chef then use that la...0.9L one good enough to cook porridge

yday i also cook one portion porridge in my 4.5L tiger thermal pot...can lor...just one portion for kyler..its 2 ladles scoop of porridge

Hey Poky - i faced the same issue as you.. my tiger thermal pot refused to work well ... it can only keep the food warm for a few hours.. as to letting the porridge cook until nua nua, i doubt its capability.. is it because our quantity too little ? in the end, i have to cook using slow cooker before transferring into the tiger thermal pot for storage.

actually thermal thing hor..."cook" already u still have to heat it up or add ingredients after that...

it just help to speed up the cooking, as in no need to keep stirring, save gas, can put in then go out, come back can eat le..

this is what thermal about...

even if i cook soup in it, i boil le, when i wanna eat, i still got to heat up..

just that i dont hv to keep standing and see fire..

and the water level wont reduce if i am using thermal, if use fire, the water level will reduce..

Poky: My L always eyeing our food when we eat, then I will give him grains of rice to chew. So nice to watch the Bo gey chew, very cute. Lolzz. But I dun think he like the whole bowl of grainy porridge.

2Ks, hmm. I guessin bcos i put too little. Less than half. Mayb only a quarter? Thus not able to work to it best? Use thermo one, rice only quarter also can cook. I wanTed to use the tiger one So easier to bring over to inlaw place to continue to cook. Cos i can only boil it at home Jux b4 going to work. So i actually need to boil it again when feedin?

Allets, luckily i got the thermos to fall back on. Then How u cook the porridge? On the slow cooker over the night, morn Then transfer to warmer?

Ya, I like to see my gal chew rice and fish I giv her also... Like the food is v nice like tt... Haha... She'll eh eh eh if we nv giv her lo... So norm if my mum steam or fry fish for us then we'll giv her eat also... She enjoys 'eating' with us [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Poky/allets - I also use the porridge maker for my gal porridge... I cook ard 6plus in the morning then in the evening 7plus pour out its still hot, gd for bb to eat w/o heating up... what I did was boil hot water and fill up the jar then cap it for a while, then cook my porridge, boiling liao, then pour away the hot water in the jar then pour in the porridge and let it cont cooking inside.... but I use normal rice so I got soak the rice overnight and use my hands to break the rice before cooking it... for your reference =)

poky: i havent been using it after i got the tiger big thermal la...

i prefer that cos i dont need to transfer out to warm it to add fish, vegetables..

porridge very easy one leh...if its half cook, just boil and stir it again will be cook very fast..

if use xin mi even faster.

yr shuttle chef can also bring here and there ma...

ya...must use hot boiling water...with bubbles type..

XFZ: that is very clever of u...

put more than 8 hours still hot?? i didnt know that...

2Ks, thank you very much! Now I know how to prepare the frog leg porridge. Heng I say out, if not I will end up dumping the whole frog into the porridge! Ok, I shall try your way and let you (and other who are intersted) know how it looks and tastes k! I was actually very lazy for 2 weeks coz I keep going out then no time to cook porridge for him and I just gave him quick cereal then I felt so guilty after seeing my friend's bb food album. Thus, I decided I shall be more hardworking and let him try more food since he is so greedy - what also wanna eat! lol...

Hey, I heard about the magic thermal pot. Is that the one you all are talking about? Can just let it cook slowly overnight then porridge will be nua nua in the morning?

I tested the thermal with hot water . Pour in for overnight than next morning pour out, water stil hot de . So is not the pot got prob but I think is my quantity too little ..

Poky - I only cook for J on weekends .. Weekdays my mil settle at her place ... Weekends usually I wake up at 730, put rice n pork into a ceramic bowl than double boil in the slow cooker . By 9 plus I stir abit . Let it cook until almost 11 than add fish in to cook awhile before switching off . For veg, use separate Philip steam n flip . Will add pumpkin or sweetpotatoe to blend also .

Poky - Wow you got so many ah...

I feel like getting the 6L one... Hee Hee HEe.... Like a bit kwa zhang lei..

2k - okay... I'm thinking of using it to cook stock lor... very or over ambitious hor... haha... very KS also... lol...

lim,

lol. ya lor, if whole bowl, they will start to cry instead...

2ks,

cos tiger one got the cap bowl, can use it as bowl to feed. also easier to pour out. so tat y thought to change to it, rather than continue with the shuttle chef. =(

i tried findin xin mi, but all only big packet, which i cant finish.... so only use normal rice for her. =p

XFZ,

i wash n dry the rice b4 i grind it n store it in container. everymorn will scoop 1 tablespoon to cook. but stil not able to cook nua nua inside the porridge maker. but then, i did not add hot water first like u did... i only cook at abt 6.30am, then mil open to feed bb at abt 6pm. stil hot, but i find the rice stil not v nua leh.....

allets,

ya lor, i also think most likely is the vol not enuf for the porridge maker. but cook the whole pot, too much for bb leh!

fel,

i started with only 6L only. it comes with 2 3l inner pots also. so can cook 2 "dishes" at the same time... then later bought the 0.9l when i started cookin porridge for #1. the 4.5l, i only juz bought it few mths earlier... cos got discount mah... n i find 6l too big sometime when cookin for only 2 adults. but when i cook stock, i use the 6l so tat i dun hv to worry the soup will spill out when bringin it to boil.

but like wat 2ks says. 6l to cook for 2pax really too big... lol

You all made me feel like buying the magic thermal pot! But if I buy, I'll also buy small one coz what 2Ks says is right, buy small one easier to cook for bb. Anyway I am buying for the purpose of cooking his porridge, so small one is better n cheaper!! Lol

wah....i hvnt start my boy on porridge.

After reading the threads, feel like cooking porridge this weekend...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but I am going to Baby Fair @ Expo this Sat...must find time to do marketing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Annie,

I am going down to NTUC during lunch hr to get the small thermal pot...

Hmm...if follow my mum traditional method, double boiled the porridge is very time-consuming right? Which is better?

fel: 4.5L is enough for a family of 4...

the water level wont reduce like what u cook over stove..so u can put full full too...

annie: its a good buy...very convenient

i even cook fu zhu barley dessert/red bean/green bean/herbal drink in it...

other than soups like bak kut teh, pig stomach soup...

its much much better than pressure cooker, i have a pressure cooker too..but the soups taste is not as good as thermal..

With all the porridge talk, I'm tempted to cook porridge for my boy thus weekend. Shd i start off with just plain porridge or can I directly start adding stuffs to it?

Something to share, philips sale next weekend.

mummies, do u wear perfume? i heard from my friend say perfume not so good for bb's respiratory development. is it true? i haven been wearing perfume since my bb is born, when can i start wearing again? cant wait...

ST, ya, better go Taka, Isetan, Robinson or even Tangs, these places to buy better.

2Ks, so how to use it? I heard to boil the porridge over stove then after boiled, put the pot of hot porridge into the thermal and let it slowly cook for hours? That means I can only use the thermal pot if I am cooking the night before? so that the porridge will be nua enough by the next morning? If I wake up in the morning to cook for noon sure lai bu ji right? I'm abit confused by the method of using the thermal pot leh.

Jo, for a start you might just want to cook a veggie (spinach or carrot) porridge? Coz some ppl prefer to intro fish later stage.

Zenia, I also wear perfume eversince I return to work leh. Even when I going out with bb and latching him I also wear leh.. I think it should be okay since bb is already older. Newborn I don't dare to wear perfume.

Zenia, I've stopped wearing perfume ever since I found out that artifical fragrance (which often contains things like parabens & phthalates) are not so good.

all talking about thermal.. i got kinda confused what is the one you all talking about.. why got 4.5L, 6 l de ? any photos to share ?

Afternoon Mummies!!

2Ks - Pouring of hot water to warm the food jar is taught by the promoter. With this additional step I feel it really helps to keep the food hot longer.

ST - I 2nd 2Ks, Endo brand really not gd... when purchasing you can check with the promoter on the material used for the pot... Tiger thermal pot the insulation is just the metal itself, but for La Gourmet brand they use a liquid pack in the walls of the thermal pot to keep the food warm... the above if I nv rem wrongly...

allets - its the size of the pot...

http://www.usa.tiger-corporation.com/products/subcategory/20

I felt like crying... My eyes full of tears and I couldn't help cursing the cruel van drivers who ran over the girl!!! Go to hell!!!

//

The Guangzhou Military District General Hospital said that the 2-year-old girl, Wang Yue, died shortly after midnight of brain and organ failure. "Her injuries were too severe and the treatment had no effect," intensive care unit director Su Lei told reporters.

//

2Ks - Ya the handle one not bad... plus I like that the lid can be taken off as per the rest but at the same time it is those spring up type not manual =) yday cook lotus root soup with black bean sauce steam fish keke...

XFZ: the 4.5L the lid also can take out, just no spring...

i think i need to polish my outer pot lor..not shiny anymore..

yummy...do able one rite..

i ordered a happycall pan..waiting for it to arrive...

my marinated chicken wings are waiting for me..

2Ks - The pot loses the shine quite easily, got a drop of water then stain liao... okok must let me know after you try the pan, if gd then I can consider getting also hehe... think my MIL also interested in the pan =)

sorry to disturb.. not sure if i can join in this thread?

i am a sahm with 2 kids.. my young one is jan bb 2011 n i have a 3 yr old tot..

i read abt the thermos cooking discussion and it is really beneficial.. i am currently using it to boil soup but dunno how to cook porridge.. i just bot 1 0.9L shuttle chef.

2Ks, can share with me the steps by steps how to cook porridge using thermos pls?btw i also ordered a happycall pan.. shld be coming soon.. hope with all these can save lots of time and i can spend more time with my kids..

thanks mummies.. hope i am not intruding coz i feel so isolated as my circle of frens start shrinking.. =(

I jus bought happy call fr gmarket too... I bought the orcher deeper... The bronze color one. Cos I see many reviews say the original happy call is too shallow for chicken or thicker meats. Actually is bought for my mum la cos I don cook de. I bought it for 69.90... I think its a good buy...the seal seems quite good too!

Zenia,

$69.90 is super good deal for the deeper pan! i got mine for $69 also.. but the original one. yet to arrive.. urs arrive?

i heard very good review on this and seen the advert... really good! i must try out when the pan arrive!

Will there be any outing coming up other than the Xmas party?

Mayb we could arr a mummies and babies tea session or something?