(2011/03) Mar 2011

dazel, my mum cook pork porridge but she use pork slices and my gal nv eat the pork one leh. i was asking mum y don she put minced meat, she say pork more difficult to digest. so must wait till she older then giv. so in the mean time, she's only eating threadfin porridge lo.

esnow, i use the detol wet tissue can clean off leh...u try.

i think i can confirm the powder comes from the battery, cos i took out the battery this morning and the whole battery compartment is littered with the powder lor. sigh, see liao v sian cos i FEEL the powder is like toxic one... anything tt comes out from any electronic stuffs cannot be non toxic one lor.

zenia,

I dun knw what type of pork my MIL use, no fats leh, she steam the pork first, then after put into the porridge so got the pork smell & taste. Personally I dun really like minced meat, coz got a thinking, the meat they use like not fresh type, so put all in the machine, minced it and can't tell if its fresh or not fresh.

dazel, the mince pork we always use at home is not those kind alr minced de. norm mum will buy a piece of meat then ask the stall owner to mince. so it's better ba.

zenia,

by the way... my mom bought at wet market. ehhhh.. ask u all the corn can just put any kind? hahaa.. i only go supermarkets leh! at NTUC no see other kind of corns except for PASAR brand one.. sweet or not?

Jaster, corn is naturally sweet de. i ever eaten those two color corn, got white and yellow color one. tt one super sweet. think from japan and cameron highland. japan ones v ex, cameron ones hard to find. sometimes market have... maybe ask ur mom to check it out for u.

Dazel: u dun go market one? Those market pork stall minced meat r usually balance meat.. So what I usually do is I buy and go back minced myself.. I buy only kidney meat (pork) cos it's soft and no fats one.

So it's soft enough for bb to eat de..

those 2 colours corn is call "zhen zhu mi", its very sweet de..

but i dont give corn as puree leh..cos cannot digest...

so i used corn and stock only

agreed! corn cannot be digested easily.. my niece and nephew love corn.. than when they poo, still can see corn inside de..

never will be a fan or will i eat corn! i smell cup corn or corn soup, i feel very nauseous cos previously had food posioning when i was very young.. so maybe will ban corn at home! haha.. if J want to eat corn she will have to eat it at mil place...

ask you all ar.. when you say cook the stock for porridge, is like cooking the soup separately than when about to cook porridge, use that as the "water" is it ?

zenia & 2Ks,

Is it? I dun knw, thought the uncle minced and put there sell, coz saw NTUC, they sell those already minced type.

dun like that leh, I dun go market lah. If ask me to buy groceries, I think I tabao easier. Last weekend, I buy those Heniz canned type and feed bb. Jialat hor.

NTUC dun really sell the pearl corn. Must go market or Prime Supermarket. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

allets

I used the stock as the water instead

So for clara porridge which i separately cook for 2 meals a day.

The porridge stock is

1) Ikan Iblis Stock - I used the medium one which

I normally buy from Kovan Wet market

2) ABC pork Rib Stock

3) Dried Scallop/FIsh bone stock

4) Spinanch/ Carrot/ Corn stock

5) Pork Rib spinach Stock

6) Carrot/ Potatoe Stock

So many etc as I normally cook a big pot of soup daily so Clara stock for her porridge wll come from there.

For Meat

- I buy from market the Buay Ba (Teochew dialect() or u call it pork fillet. which is like a long piece of meat like those char siew like that. Is red and market sell abt $12 per piece.

I get the uncle to mince for me 2 times.

For Fish

- Cod Fish

- Thread fin fish.

So far, only these 2 fishes that have less bones and is good for baby.

-Grouper fishes are more oily. so will start her at later age.

Corn-

I use corn as stock and occasionally pluck some of the corn nib and steam and remove the outer husk to feed clara. I agreed is a bit hard to digest too

U can occasionally add some pearl barley ( from Holland) one better. Not too liang as the chINA barley.

THe minced meat _ i normally press into ball size palm sized and put into the slow cooker together

Rice-

Get the newly harvested rice. Vacuum packed and I bought from KOVAN market from a dried store.

It sell at $8 for 2.5 kg. and it is very fast to cook and very soft. Just like eating Crystal jade porridge... GOR GOR type..

Sweet Potatoe

I occasionally steam and press. no more puree as Clara started to wean well early, but sweet potatoe can cause bb hard poo if not euff fluid taken.

I prefer to give her pumpkin over sweet potato.

So i just cut a few cubes and throw into her porridge

Veggies _ I still using organic veggies for her till she is older. I will switch her to normal veggies from market (since our meat also not organic!)

Fruits - I nvr add fruits into porridge cos too sweet and flavoring. But I oli cook apple pork rib soup as the stock

2k - Yes, im using Xin Mi also.. Bought from Giant, the 2.5kg pack one...

Linda - Wow... you're such a dedicated mommy huh... So much recipe.... So many things to learn from you... Clara is such a lucky girl!!!!

Linda - The Ikan bilis stock, just pure ikan bilis stock only? Nth else? Any pork or etc?

2k - for the threadfin fish hor, you mentioned before you usually buy them in 1kg, ask the fishmonger to cut into small slices huh? Then you freeze them up?

When wanna use then defroze?

pooh bear, have u started giving your bb fm? i tried two days ago and it was disastrous. bb just took one sip of the fm and vomitted! I'm gg to try another brand of fm, hopefully not so stinky.

I have the following Stage 1/2 available for sale

Enfalac A+ HA (900g)

Exp: 16 Jun 2013 - 1 Tin

Price: S$45

Enfalac A+ (900g)

Exp: 25 May 2013/26 Jun 2013/29 Jun 2130 - 05Tins

Price: S$40

S26 Stage 2

900g Exp 21 Jun 2013 - 01 Tin

Price: S$32

400g Exp 19 Jan 2012 / 23 Jun 2013 - 03 Tins

Price: S$36 (S$12 each)

**If purchase all, can let go at S$60.

Similac Stage 2 (400g)

Exp 09 May 2012 - S$12

Interested, please pm me. Thank you.

SN, ever since I established supply in the 3rd week, I haven't given my bb any fm. I'm going Australia for 2-week holiday, flying this weekend. Now I'm a bit worried that my supply will drop further if I don't pump frequently while travelling. May need to supplement with fm. Maybe your bb will accept another brand of fm. Hope for the best.

Fel: I asked the fish monger to slice into pieces for me and I don't want the stomach area cos more bones..

One slice is 2 meals mah..

Actually if u dont wanna use stock doesn't matter one cos it need time to make too.. Like what I say u can use spare rib in the porridge too.. It will taste as nice de.. Nice smell too..

Pooh bear: enjoy your trip! My hubby is also planning a holiday in jan but bringing 2 and pumping plus wearing thick clothes.. I really dunno whether can or not... Dunno can survive bor..

Poohbear, how many times do u pump at home n in office? Im gg back to work hence worried ss will drop... Tts y im starting fm..

Finally brought janelle go n have her Photo taken . Tried on iPhone to take but image not good . Have booked my cruise trip as well ! Looking forward to it !

Fel

For me I go market n tell the Aunty I Don wan the stomach one and she know is for baby to eat. So she will cut fillet the whole fillet. Separate bones and tails.

The fillet I go home n cut according to my requirement n press the flesh again to make sure no bones.

The tails n bones I used as stock base for family soup n for her stock.

Ikan blis- there are diff kind. Small to big bones

Big bones are normally very salty n dried. And chalky

Small one for Nasi lemak business!

Medium is for common use soup

U can add huai Shan for open up Eden appetite

When he can eat better, u can add some wolfberries from eys.

U can go for organic tofu from unicurd if he is not soy allergic.

Best is go for organic veggies n purée till he eat well then switch to normal.

DefrozE-

I defroze the nite before I zzzz and placed at the fridge instread of freezer. So the next morning at 6, I

Get ready all stuffs include stock and low heat into cooker plus I have to cook lunch n dinner dishes.

All must standby by 7 before Clara awake.

i m getting worried...am i delayin my baby's diet?? anyone same as me???

I havent started porridge for bb yet. only cereal and every weekend new puree for him. so far only tried purple sweet potato, carrot, butternut squash, potato, peas, apple and banana.

is it too slow for him? will he be lack of nutrients? he is still drinking BM...

babybride: dont worry la..u are not alone...

i also just started puree a few kinds only...

porridge not yet also...

its ok de..

Hi babybride,

Likewise, my baby is still on BM and I'm only giving him cereal and some types of puree too. In fact, u gave him 2 more variations than me already. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Babybride> ya Lo... Rl only had peas, carrots, banana puree and I'm starting spinach today..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

She has 1oz puree & 5-6tsp cereal a day.. Morning and evening... The rest I latch...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Linda - thanks...

So for ikan bilis stock... You just add medium size ikan bilis to water..

Do you add anything else? Like pork, or etc?

The organic tofu... From supermarket?

hello mummies, does ur bb have hard poo after replacing one feed with porridge? my gal's poo is hard ever since i started her on porridge for dinner. what should i do? should i drink prune juice?

thanks mummies..at least i felt better now...i scared i dont give him enuff nutrients for his growth...

now he only take at most 3 tall tall teaspoon of cereal each day then he wil scream for bm liao..sometimes if i can reach home earlier then he will get to eat apples..but hor he funny baby one..give him full apple peeled skin liao he like..just suck suck the apple only he happy liao..if i puree it or i boil it, he dont wan apple liao

babybride: I also have not start on porridge. He's only taking milk and cereal daily. Puree, I have given carrot, potato, spinach, banana, pumpkin. Nowadays I also lazy to make fresh puree for him, usually buy those bottle puree for him. So dun worry k..I'm sure your boy is growing very well.

Zenia: There was a period when my boy has hard poo when he's taking cereal. I think that is because he's not taking enough water. Tried to feed him as much water as possible and fruit puree on daily basis. After a few days his poo poo is not hard anymore.

Because of his poo poo problem , I dare not start him on porridge.

2ks, thanks! You BM supply more than mine. Shouldn't be a problem.

SN, I'm pumping 2-3x at work, then 2x at home on weekdays, 3-4x at home on weekends. Supply is dropping, now about 800ml a day. But definitely will pump less frequently when travelling. If not enough, will have to supplement with fm. Have you tried other brand?

I'm opening my place next week..

Any mummy and babies wanna come?? My place is at punggol. Posted few weeks ago but

No response lei.. Wanna try my luck again.

I'm free for the whole week.. See which day your wanna come and let me know..

If no response also nvm la..

Zenia - Janelle poo at times is hard de loh.. than she will gek and cry badly.. cos i think very xin ku and cant get the shit out. just need to give plenty of water and liquid food than will be better liao...

Hi Mummies!!

Long time nv post here... Feeling tired from bb teething pattern... lack of sleep... C has slight fever yday due to teething, feed her med before she sleep and she vomit out everything including her milk.. got to chg her, bedsheet blah blah... teeth teeth teeth faster come out pls!!

Started my gal on porridge... alot of work to cook but I'm enjoying it... make different types of puree, stocks and freeze them in the fridge... so far I only cook vegetable stock (receipe from first food book) but minus the bai cai cos I think its too liang for bb and vary abit on the ingredients quantity ...then when I cook the porridge, some times I will add in a small pc of pork rib as taught by 2Ks and the porridge would smell and taste very nice already even before adding in any other ingredients =)

Was at Tamp mall during lunch, there's EYS sales, mummy looking for tonics can go see, bought a can of Brown Rice Si Shen Powder for bb, U.P $15.90 now $12.72... just to share...

hi hi XFZ!

oh dear..teething is a love hate thingy lor...

temp kiefer no more drooling and chewing la..

but i am expecting it to repeat anytime although his 2 bottom teeth out le..

must par boiled the spare ribs to remove the 'dirt' ok..i usually scald it with hot water for awhile first before dumping in the porridge..

i think its good enough even without using stock..

u got time then make stock and freeze it bah...

use the thermal pot huh...can freeze those no seasoning one first for Bb C then add seasoning for balance for yourself to drink..

one stone kill 2 birds hur...keke

Halow 2Ks!!

Ya lor love hate relationship... now my gal drool like nobody biz, can see it drip onto her clothes/bib type... the moment she get hold of anything in her hand, it will go into her mouth... when I apply dentinox for her, she feels better but as I apply, she enjoy biting my fingers lol...

Yes mdm, I got par boil it before cooking, now my feezer and crisper compartment suddenly very busy haha, got stocks la, puree la, veg, poultry and fish... the freezer used to only have ice-cream, pizzas, hot dog, crab meat lol... ya use the thermal pot to make stock, very gd no need to watch fire and is very gou wei... tonight's dinner black herbal chix soup and si chuan cai w pork yum yum... last night still make potato+cucumber+egg mayo for this morning breakfast =)

Threadfin really exp hor, I see in ntuc.. lucky my in-law sell fish so can save cost *happy happy*

Wanna ask, when you cook the EYS si shen powder for Kyler,do you add in any other ingredients? Need to add or not?

jojo/allets... hmm, think i'll giv her more water see how ba... dam ke lian to see her gek until face all red lor.

anyways, my boob got block ducts again. dam sian, old neh liao still block >.<" and the block part is at the bottom of the right boob, so painful... hot water treatment didnt seem to help too much. now walk also pain :c

zenia: i pian tai one..if i see got block ducts...i will press and rub and press until disperse...LOL

end up my whole neh neh red red...

XFZ: yes..i got add threadfin, silverfish, spinach, eggs (not now)...

apps me if u dunno how to cook..i tell u how...

cos this EYS brown rice abit ma fan...but it smells great..

wow...nice dish huh...today i cooking tom yam soup...

mine freezer is always full one lor..thats why i need a chest freezer for BM separately..

very seldom see girls your age cook la..

good job mummy!

I'm planning to sign my 2 girls up for Julia Gabriel holiday programmes.

There is a 20% group discount if 4 or more children register at the same time. It can be a different programme and venue.

If anyone is interested too, please PM me so that we can all enjoy the group discount.

Information for the holiday programmes. http://www.juliagabriel.com/pdfviewermm1ab.html

RE: Medela Motor Black Dust

I had the same problem as well. Medela confirmed that the blackdust from the motor is non-toxic, but I wasn't convince as well. U can get replacement motor from Medela in U.S if it's still under warranty, but one will have to bear the shipping costs. Write to them and attach photos of your "dusty" motor. It helps !

I doubt the dust is from the battery... as I was inspecting my set, looks more from the motor. I suspect it's a batch problem.. hmmm.