(2011/03) Mar 2011

Sinmey: haiz yalo.. Hubby already keep nagging y tt noisy Mei Mei is here again.. I also dun know what to say .. The pri kids is not her kids as well.. Hmmm u put in which IFC? Dun mind share?

Pooh: yalo i also can't believe my girl need to takes so long to get use to it.. When my girl is settle down den nanny start to give me problem haiz..I guess izzit I'm too good tt I nv complain anything to her so she start to give patten.. Kids nowadays catch n learn things really fast compare to our old days tt we r so sotong n blur..

Talk about pre-school me also super KS start to search for it.. Haha.. Can't help it as I guess we mummies heart for our kids frutre [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] while I guess me no choice to put in full day program ba..

Poohbear: yup! Aussie v baby friendly, all baby food n liquids allowed on board. Just declare it when u reach Aussie! they won't even open your bag unless you hv tin cans. But baby food v cheap n lots of variety in aus so ucan consider buying there instead.

Tres, I'm sending for half day cos I have in-laws to look after. Actually I don't mind sending full day, but my in-laws prefer to look after in the afternoon.

Pinkypink, thanks for the info. I'm thinking of bringing some baby food on board and buy there for the rest of the trip.

Sigh. Feel like I haven't slept at all for two days. Baby has been waking up every hour at night. Madness. Cry pitifully and whine. Can't determine wat is wrong. Fed gripe water, rubbed Ru Yi oil on her tummy and used nasal spray in case it's nose congestion ald. Feel like crying together with her. Sigh.

Morning everyOne ... J.a.m: understand how u feel not enough slp.. Do u try to let her slp at sarong? Or baby wan u hug hug?

Haiz what a day yesterday my fall from my bed .. I had already place her in the midden of the bed n get water to clean her up for bed time but in min thing happen.. N hubby piss of me ;( shout at me ... ;( ;( till now we are in silent no talk.. ;(

** I mean my girl fall off my bed top** [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

JAM, if this continue, you wanna try to see pd? Maybe it's ear infection or something? Unlikely they will whine every hr unless they are not well lor!

Serene, aiyoh, have to be careful liao. Nowadays better not to leave unattended for even 1 sec (if possible). They very hand fast leg fast one!!! haha. Yr hb, just manja a bit, can't liao. Guys will forget things really fast!

Sinmey, I also considering half day CC or playgroup lor. Dun think will put in full day CC unless I have #2 then!

I think a bit cruel to pull away my bb from my mum leh then! Afterall, she has brought my bb girl up! As a mum, I think i can understand the feeling of 'separation anxiety" hahaha!!!

Any idea if u I pout her into playgroup, can i claim subsidy as well??

serene, hope ur bb is ok.. dun worry, ur hubby is also just anxious ah. after a while will be ok. tried the sarong and cuddled her but no use. hmm.

Tres, ear infection? i'll check later when i go home. yup, i think give her one more night. will bring her to pd if it happens again. she sleeps better in the day at my mum's place. hmm.

think i also should start looking for playgroup or half day child care. my sis giving birth to her second next feb. dun think my mum can handle one 5-year old boy, one 1 year old and one newborn! need to look for alternative... hmmm

Serene,

My girl go to fullday cc when she turn 18mths. It takes her abt 1 mth to settle down .. Now she enjoy it though some days she feel like sleeping on the bed & dun wan to go school ..

My boy go IFC since he is 3 mths old. No choice coz i have no one to look after him, i can't get a comfortable nanny & i have to back to work after my maternity .. Maybe he is still too young that time ba so he dun need time to settle down .. haha. The best thing is, though he is 7.5mths now, he is ok with everyone who carry him. Well, guess he can recognise ppl, as he will stare at u 1st if he dunno u, but he still ok so long someone carry him .. hahaha ..

Oh, Shay is in Cherri Heart now .. the Admirax Sembawang branch. I like it coz it's new branch(yes, all toy & exersaucer is NEW) and only 5 bb there (3 bb & 2 walking todd). I think some mummies here put in MFS(My first Skool) too. You may wan to visit the IFC around ur place, talk to the teacher to find out more.

Tres,

i can feel u .. ur mum has been with her all this while of course will bu she de lar .. It's good to send her half day 1st. Let her get use to it 1st. Later send full day not so gan ko.

Tres: ya aft this will not dare to put her at bed Liao.. Still feel really sad tt my hubby shout at me.. This is the first time! I also feel v bad n hurt too for my girl ma.. :'( :'(

Jam: thanks ya have check this morning no where found blue black will follow up to check for any sign.. Pray hard nth will go wrong.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Ya if yr baby still like tt tonight should bring yr baby see DP [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Now trying to ask my mil to give up her job n look aft my girl hopefully can lo if not got to look for IFC Liao.. Think nanny really cannot make it haiz..

JAM,

Maybe teething ?

I remember Shay also had this .. waking up every 15-20mins lor .. suddenly cry & whine whine whine .. with close eyes. I guess some where must be very uncomfortable/pain cause him not able to sleep. I just need to hug him tight & put him back to sleep .. Then i touched his 1st 2 whities on his lower gum after few days..

But if ur bb has congested nose, u might want to seek doctor advise coz she might have breathing difficulty or other infection(ear?) ..

Serene,

Aiyoo, since my bb can flip, i nvr leave him alone on bed .. not even when he sleep.. sayang sayang ..

Jz ignore ur hb, u r not doing it purposely ma .. jz be carefull lor .. dun leave her on bed alone again ..

yup Sinmey, coz my mum's place there is a MFS, so tempting, i heard good reviews abt it, esp from Fel!

Also it's a chance for them to interact longer with other kids lah!

Serene, perhaps you can use emotional blackmail lor.. haha, tell your mum that go IFC very ke lian, then maybe she will auto give up her job! BUt to give up her job for your bb, it's really tough decision making!

Perhaps you can really look for IFC. Now that our bbs are approx 6 - 7 mths, i feel it's fine (healthwise) to put them there. It's a chance for them to interact and learn new things. Staying at home can only learn what our mums' teach and usually it's all the old school stuff, not really beneficial to them too!

Babies falling off beds:

I think it's a matter of time before every baby gets it once, unless we mummies are really with them or someone is with them wherever we go....

To prevent it from Happening, we just CANNOT LEAVE ON BED at all!!

I used to think ok wat.... Nv Happen before.. I in n out room 2sec only.... And tada!! It happened to RY when she was abt 6-7mos... She roll roll roll and dropped on floor...

Wa Lao... After that.. Never ever dared to leave her alone AT ALL!!!

They are really very fast hand fast leg de..... Before u know it; happen already....

So far for RL, she hasn't had any accidents...

RY Had a few since birth... I carry her sit on sofa she slide and knock her head on my mum's wooden sofa... "BANG!"

cried like mad and had green veins showing.. Still there now....:/

I Blame it in my mum's kid's unfriendly home.... Haha...

Of cuz my own carelessness also la... Was watching tv and tryin to latch her then... Unhooking my bra and she slide off...:S

So mummies, pls be careful ah...

Put thEm on ground level as much as possible...

Soon they will learn to put leg over baby cot also le...

So those inside cot gotta watch out also lest they be superman....

For me now is playmat most of the time... Heheh...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

sinmey: O i also do hear some good comments abt "Cherri Heart" i guess diff area have good n bad comment.. as im stayin at the East side.. Wah u r lucky lesser kids mean better tk care of as the teacher will not in stress.. oo "My First School" ok will go check them out =) thank u v much for sharing =)

yalo sad too.. hope everything will be ok.. haiz..

Tres: haha emotional blackmail good one! Ya my hope is not tt high tt she will give up her job to tk care my girl.. and another problem is my FIL is in JB also one of the biggest problem.. Just try my luck =p .. ya will go look ard for afew IFC before have she hand in.. really hope can be lucky to find a good one >.<

Serene,

can understand you feel... like that time i also left a big scratch on my boy's face and i blamed myself for it for days!!! and now to think if my boy is to fall down from the bed i think i may feel guilty for weeks lor!!!

but let go dear.. it's part and parcel of motherhood yah? i mean this incident will serve as a reminder that at all times we got to be careful and alert... and never to leave our bao bei on the bed unattended, and even though there are pillows to for a barricade. nowadays Jo is on 3 big matteress on the floor but we are still afraid that his head will humptump the wooden floor one day! hahaa..

My baby also fell off the bed last mth. Then so suay his great grandfather pass away same day. My HB also very pissed at me then. He wanted to go back to KL for the funeral, in the end never go cos he scare his son got internal injuries. =X

limlim: Oo den is yr baby ok? but come to my mind if is happen the other way round i think we mummies wun get tt piss as the man's as i think we mummies will be more understanding.. =(

limlim: i guess we are careless ba =(

Btw any mummies here can share what food normally IFC will provide? As now they are able to have solid food =)

if it's me, i will be equally pissed off with my hubby or more pissed than he will be! hahaa.. cos my hubby is those type that things already happened cannot be undone that kind.. and his temper is much milder compared to mine! hahaa...

Serene,

Depends on the individual IFC ba ..

Cheeri Heart provide the Cereal (Nestle brand) and Gerber puree to my bb leh. And next month onwards, they will cook the porridge (mostly fish with vege/carrot/pumpkin/sweet potatoes). As they grow, they will give the slice fruit instead of bottle puree.

Anyway, i do buy provide my own cereal to IFC too and if weekend i made extra puree, i'll give it to IFC to warm up & feed Shay.

When u visit the IFC, ask them for the menu. As each kid grow differently so it's up to the parent to give the go ahead to the IFC to start any new solid.

anyone rented any toys from www.mygrowingtoys.com? have they closed down or something? i put in my order but no reply at all for 1 week liao! good thing no need to pay during the order.

actually ifc not bad, at least you no need to worry they will anyhow feed eggs etc to your baby.

Sinmey: Ooo good information able to proivde own cereal to IFC =)

hmmm.. now IFC sound better den nanny.. i guess provided im heng to get a good IFC la hehe =x

Mummies !!

Reporting here .. Super duper busy at work with 2 HR events on fri and entire of next week !! good pay but work like crazy in my new company ! But luckily got understanding and pretty boss ..

Falling off babies - I guess it is reAlly passing phase .. My niece fell from sarong even .. So I agreed! Safest place is ground zero ! Now mil put janelle on mattress on the floor also will sit there look after cos they flip flip than out onto the floor ..will kok head if continue flip .. Sometimes I leave J on playmat she flipped out within seconds .. Hb always said that bb got 铁头.. Nof afraid of pain de ...

Can I check, any idea if go cruise, the restaurant got provide porridge for bb ? Is it blend enough ? Still thinking what to feed j on our first overseas trip on 3d2n cruise to kl ... Wanted try 4d3n but hb said too long scared j cannot ... Is cruise bb friendly ? Any facilities they can enjoy ? Wan bring her go swim in e pool but not sure clean not .. Haha ..

SN: I rented my jumperoo from them. They also took a few days to reply. If they no longer in biz, then I don't need to return them their jumper Liao. Lolzz

Allets: I think cruise not much things for baby to do. Cos we wanted to go for Alaskan cruise, so I did a bit of read up on cruises. If toddler, maybe still got some activities for them.

Allets, think better bring our porridge maker or those HEinz food jars, not sure what else they add into those porridge at those buffet line coz they will sure add chicken stock, salt & stuff to make it taste better mah!

Ya, Limlim, agree w you! for them now, bb there is not much they can do coz we are not able to put them into those child-minding services yet! Wait till they are like 2 -3 yrs, we can start going club med, crusie where the bb can entertain themselves with their own programmes!

limlim, one whole week le lei! still no call from mygrowingtoys! wah lao! lousy service..... maybe you really can keep the jumperoo forever hahahaha

serene, i think your nanny has too many kids at her house le.... very disruptive to your baby's sleep lei...so noisy how to sleep? unless your baby is well trained to sleep with other kids stomping around and screaming in the house.... think IFC might be better for you.

Tres- I love my first skool... But they got their flaws also la. The IFC Eden is at doesn't apply nappy cream for him til he got bad nappy rash.. Then I kept reminding the teachers so many times... I told them apply thick thick n as much as u can. Guess what. Today came back whole groin also white colour.. Haha and he smells of the purple desitin smell lo...

Apply more I also cannot complain. I rather they apply more than don't apply at all... Despite all these I still like his school a lot.. Much better than his previous IFC bright kids ... Every time I walk pass there, babies n kids r always screaming n crying..

Anyway I wanna prepare myself for cooking porridge for baby. Not planning to start anytime soon but KS syndrome kicking in so I wanna ask...

For those who are making porridge using stock..

How to make stock? What kind of stock recepie do your use? Wanna share?? I will copy down n prepare myself...

I really dread the porridge period. Not that I don't know how to cook.. I just dread cooking every single day.. Oh dear!!!

Lazy mummy here...

Regarding puree

I've tried the following, wanna share n see if there other food I missed out and can your suggest to me?

Given

Sweet potato

Potato

Pumpkin

Spinach

Carrot

Banana

Apple

Pear

Haven try

Pea

Honeydew/ rockmelon

Peach

Avocado

Apricot

Papaya

Zucchini

Broccoli

Yam

Not exactly a very adventurous mommy here...

I know we mix puree like

Apple + pear

Spinach + carrot

Pea + butternut

Any other combination you mummies wanna share??

SN: haiz yalo.. Den yesterday went to pick my girl up the 2yrs old Mei Mei not there le.. Haiz.. Talk about sleeping my girl always come home slp like a pig can see from her eyes like nv slp enough lo.. So heartbreak [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] den reach home she sure slp like pig for 30min den wake up again prepare for bed time den as her parents no time to spent with her.. Sad.. Only weekend lo.. Ya now looking at IFC near my area see how ba..

Fel: haha I laugh like mad when u mention yr boy came bk with the cream smell LOL!~ I guess they got rem few others kids request as well lol.. But I tot having the cream is part of the step ah..

Haha porridge v easy de u get a cude of(half size of yr hand) pork non fat meat(washed) cut abit of yr choice of vegi ..

Now the Amt of rice i give 1 full soup spoon n cook with the meat place in the centre of the bowl(as in the end u can eat up the meat coz we just wan the sweetness of the pork meat goes into the porridge) n the vegi as well.. Let the rice cook for awhile till u see soft but still in a rice shape.. Start to use the spoon n keep going round n round n press the rice till u see the texture u wan den can feed Liao..

The ending look yr porridge will look light green n taste of pork sweetness [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] yummy haha.. So far I only try this la LOL..

Combos I have tried

Pear + Pea

Apple + Carrot

Corn + Squash

Apricot + Pear

Porridge stock I use carrot, corn and pork ribs (smells nice and taste nice) and ikan billis stock (for calcium). But when I use the stock for my porridge I add water so that will not be too sweet. Then I will add carrots, sweet potato or pumpkin inside.

Older generation say try not to give chicken too early cos will case phlegm. But up to you.

For the porridge stock, do u all cook it together w the porridge everyday? Or cook a pot of stock then freeze them in small portions so tat daily juz take up a portion to cook the porridge?

My girl suddenly dun like to drink bm. Halfway, She'll refuse n struggle to finish. When drinking fm she's ok. Anyone experienced this?? How???

Morning mummies. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Joc: ya my girl also dun really latch long nowadays as now I mix with BM with FM den she drink finish if fully BM she sure will left 50ml without fail.. I guess now they prefer to have solid food instead..

JOc, could this be a phrase for her ??

My mum also tell me that since 2 days ago, Chloe just refuses to eat porridge but she drinks her milk. SHould I be too worried?

for my ger, mil will cook 1 meal of porridge for her .. she will use 1 spoonful of rice grains and cook with a piece of meat.. use slow cooker cook for about 3-4 hours until very lan... than about cook liao, she will add in fish meat and a veg (either carrot/pumpkin/brocoli).. than my mil will blend half the portion of the porridge until even lan.. than mix the other half to feed...cos she said now no teeth yet so if dont blend, like cant swallow very well and also afraid of indigestion..

as for lunch, typically is the si sen brown rice cereal from Eu Yan Seng....

so in total, my ger drink 4 times milk (7.30am, 1.30pm, 7.30pm and 10pm) plus 1 cereal (lunch ) and 1 porridge (dinner)....

yet to cook porridge on my own for Janelle... i kinda dread the cooking of porridge on weekends sia..since i dont cook nor go market de.. so what mil will be doing will be to give me 2 portion of fish and veg (enough for sat/sun) packed nicely in diff tupperware containers than i bring home.. the slow cooker i received during my house warming yet to open but it's too big for my tiny princess food preparation! so maybe tomorrow must go buy slow cooker liao cos i find cooking using gas very lay-chey and messy..

ask you all ar, if use slow cooker cook, do you all use the double boiling (tun) method or directly throw the rice and ingredients into the slow cooker ? cos i think the smallest slow cooker also seems big for the tiny portion of food we preparing leh.. mil is use a ceremic bowl to contain all the rice and ingredients than pour water into slow cooker to cook the meal..

any idea where to get small electric blender? i think the brand start with "U-something" de.. i usually see them on demonstration either in ntuc or those pasar malam.. the philip steam and flip blender i have like very big ! so thought of getting those compact electric de easier to wash also...

aiyoh, i feel so stress today. my morning pump typically is 480ml, and today i only pumped 400ml!!! is it an indication tt my bm is drying up? any mummies also have the same experience?

allets, i used slow cooker to cook before leh! IT takes up to 4 hrs to cook until the porridge very lan! So i decided to use back stove top to cook instead!

yr girl ok with the Si Sen Brown rice? My mum is trying out today wor!

Allets, my mum also bought slow cooker for my gal. end up she still use stove to cook porridge for my gal. she'll soak the 'new rice' in water for 2hrs first then cook the porridge, i think 15mins porridge ready liao.

allets: why dont u get those handheld blender...

its the most easy, u can even put in the pot that yr porridge is cooking, and just blend, no need to transfer out and just one small thing to wash

hi..

stove to cook is faster.. but imagine waking up early to cook and still need to "kan" the fire... i rather let it takes it time to cook.. my intention was to wash and prepare everything the night before.. than on weekend, set the alarm, wake up at 7, put everything to cook... than cos this week Janelle injection at 8.20am.. so at least i can leave the slow cooker to cook and i can leave the house.. so hopefully by the time we return, ta-da! the porridge is ready... but jus to confirm, we cook porridge than when about to eat that time, than we put in the fish and veg right ? so am i right to say i have to separately parboil the brocoli? if not will not be soft right ?

btw, when you all say slow cooker can cook until very lan, is the texture like puree type? or can still see grains? must we switch to the highest ?mil yest cook from 12-4, porridge lan, but still grainy leh... that's why she has to blend...

tres- janelle tried for the past few days si sen brown rice ok leh... even for normal milk feed, mil will add abit of si sen powder into it.. have to keep on reminding and ensuring that she dont exceed /overdose the quantity.. i very scared later eat too much si sen.. is there any side effect of si sen powder or si sen brown rice cereal ? with this si sen brown rice cereal, mil dont even want to finish the happy bellies brown rice cereal.. she ask us to bring home and feed on weekends... haha.. she is those type that believe in chinese medicine/mi fang de... good or bad ? to me, i dont mind cos understand that si sen brown rice need to cook over fire... so lay chey! only weekdays Janelle get to eat ai xin meals.. on weekends, both hb and i are too lazy i think... haha..