(2011/03) Mar 2011

spinach can use yin choy with sharp pointed leaves...

those are for porridge or frying..

the round headed ones for soup.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

SN

Sigh I can't take leave, it's the dreadful annual budgeting exercise again so it's peak period for Finance. Are you going? If so, can help me pass something to sinmey? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ST> yup both can.. Just a matter of taste only... Think the sharp pointed ones taste better in porridge..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mimimo, sinmey isn't going to the gathering lei... how to pass to her? via rachel ah? big or small item? if small should be ok haha..if big...then i have a problem...i haven't figured out how to bring bb out alone with no carrier.... hahaha

SN, ooo then it's ok, I wanna pass the small tin of enfa milk powder to her. I'll find some other way [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

No carrier also can, just carry him, sling your diaper bag, hop onto the cab, sit tight and you'll reach her place shortly...hee I do that too when I bring him out alone :p

M, my girl used to finish her milk at 1 go. But started few wks ago, she'll drink till 40-60ml den start to push out or talk or smile. We'll try encourage her to finish it. At times will leave abt 5-10ml wasted.

Me too. Have never join u guys b4. Fri i've mtg. Can't take leave. Arggh.

gd morning ladies..

Joc,

same here... my boy also will drink a bit..and he will pull out his bottle using his hand then look at you then laugh... then he will try putting the bottle back into his mouth again.. this will go on a few times till i take the bottle away from him lor... is he playing? or showing us that "look mom! i can drink my own milk?" kind of thing? hahaha...

Hello pretty ladies! I just got back from a ten day twin city tour of Australia with two monkeys! my hubby was working the first 2.5 days(including official breakfast lunch n dinner), so I had to entertain two kids all day! Lol!

Took them to aquarium, wildlife park, beach etc! Felt a bit kancheong initially but was ok la.. Good bonding .

2k: you can do it de! I'm annoying to take them to Bali/bintan in nov cuz sunay loved the beach.

My girl takes solids too but doesn't affect her milk at all.. So not replacing feed.

8.30- 200ml

9.30- 2tbsp cereal plus fruit puree plus veg puree

1pm: 170ml

2pm: yoghurt/fruit puree/teething biscuits/etc

4pm: 170ml

6pm: 1 soup ladle porridge w veg n fish (sometimes) and fruit puree

8pm: 270ml

But ya la.. Some days drink less some days eat less. Still look skinny lor! :p

Re baby playing during milk feed: suniska was like that too n if my maid was feeding her my maid would keep trying until I went to Aussie then cuz no time to entertain her, if She plays I just put the milk away n let her starve a bit., then ok le! Hehe

mummies, does ur bb fuss before going to bed? i realized recently my gal has been v fussy when she's in bed, her eyes is obviously closed and kept rubbing her face on her bolster and pillows. i tried to leave her alone to let her self sooth it works for a while and she started crying again. i pat her she also don wan, then suddenly she KO-ed! sigh, wat can i do?

zenia,

mine also... he will rub his eyes... then buah the bed... then flip here flip there... if he can't find a comfortable position he will cry! then when i pick him up and want to rock him he push me away then i put him back on the bed and he KO too lor!

milk drinking- Janelle only drink like 4-5 times a day with 1 cereal (similac fm scoop - 2 scoops mix with carrot/pumpkin ) and 1 porridge... if she sleeps, she can finish her 170ml within 10 mins.. but if she awake, she dont drink... stopped pumping a month plus ago and today is the last packet of febm liao.. so from now on is total fm for her..

i guess she she is drinking averagely ba.. but her weight doesnt seems to be putting on much.. so small size.. yest weigh her only 6.5kg nia...

mil said Janelle appetite not very good.. so she bought Eu Yan Seng Si Sen Brown rice and si sen powder to mix into her diet.. ok anot ar ? she told me the Eu Yan Seng said after 4 months can start liao.. anyone of you started Si Sen powder or brown rice on your babies ?

for sleeping at night, Janelle knows when is bed time..she only want to go to our bed and lie .. if you leave her on her high chair, she will cry and demand your attention.. but the moment she lie on our bed, she will suck her thumb, flip and flip and can self entertain.. even though we barricaded her all the time with pillows, big sofa cushion, she managed to break free last sunday.. in the end, she fell off from the bed, with face down and was crying pretty badly.. soothed her, checked and ensure no visible injuriy.. monitored her for the past 2 days, all seems fine.. like that not necessary to bring to see doc right ? She can eat, no vomit , can play well.. should be ok right ?

Gatherings- how i wish i could attend but new job cannot take leave yet.. boo hoo!

Jaster,last time my gal drift to lala land on her own de. i only accompany her then i play my phone, she'll drift off. it has been a wk or so since she started to become like tt lor. i see liao dam sian. i hope this is jus a phase lo, faster faster pass pls!

allets, my mum say bb dunid to eat si shen de. unless bb reali don eat anything or don take milk then take. else next time appetite become v good liao become super fat bb then when u wan them to go on diet then v difficult to slim down cos the stomach alr expanded to accomodate more food liao. My family got a live example lor, my godmum used to make my godsis appetite good despite her eating and drinking norm. then now she's those big size type lo. so i kinda agree my mum on this [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyone know if there is any BP selling Emma J nursing bra??? i bought one from TMC..not bad..but expensive..so thinkg if bp got sell...

allets: kyler last time also take si shen powder + si shen porridge...

but he is not fat now la..

it helps to "open up" the appetite...

to me not so much difference leh..

just that its easier as a quick meal to me..cos cook very fast.

regarding falling, babies prone to falling..its very hard to avoid leh seriously..

even our eyes on them also they can fall..

so just monitor la..

but i seen parents rushing them to KKH a&e all that la..

but rush the doctor will say the same thing, ask u monitor any vomitting etc

Sry to join in while u all r chatting abt bb food.. Need advice here.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] yesterday afternoon dun know y have this feeling to call nanny house to ask abt my girl what she doing.. N I'm shock to find out that the nanny went out n left my girl with her 14yrs old daughter at home.. I'm shock n angry ! N nanny call bk n tell me she went down n pack food for dinner..plus she sound so normal .. Omg lo! Come to mind is like this is not the first time... !! N tt nanny always choose the timing when we going to pick her she arrang my girl to slp.. Haiz den on our way to drive her home is so cranky lo..

Haiz I dun dare to show angry or say any angry words to nanny scare later she treat ill my girl more worst.. But if change nanny my girl got to get use to new area again will be hard on her too haizz.. Headache!!! Help!

Talking about bb slping, my boy dun fuss b4 slping. But recently he will wake up in the middle of the night to play!! Flip here, flip there, keep knocking against the playpen n talking to himself. Usually last about half hr den he will auto go back sleep. haha..so funny. But make me not able to sleep.

Guess baby is going through another growing phase that's y the change in their behaviour.

Over the weekend, bought my boy to see pd cos his rashes becomes very bad. His neck and tummy all red, even the back of his ears also have. Doc say it is eczema. Although doc say it is quite common in babies and nothing serious, I can't help feeling worried and sad for him. Hope he will recover soon.

Pinky,

Welcome back .. Steady la u ... i salute u brought 2 kiddos everywhr ALONE ... omg .. i brought my 2 kiddos to Tioman resort. I would said i'll die if my sis is not coming with me ...

I'm planning another trip year end .. but i'd not go without my sis .. haha

bb fussed b4 sleep.

Shay also same ... unless he KO during the milk feed. Noticed that if he over exhausted/too sleepy, he will get more frustrated and more difficult to fall asleep. Sometimes, i'll hug him tight to calm him down, or sing song ... at time, i jz leave him in the dark room. after 15mins i came in he sleep liao .. haha (how nice if this is always the case)

So now, i try to play with him b4 sleep, make sure he really tire and he will totally KO during the milk feed ..

Allet,

y u need to add si shen powder to the si shen brown rice ? Tot it's already contain the si shen powder. Actually to me it's jz another brown rice lor. I tried but Shay don't like it leh.

It smell good to me, but i think the texture is not as nice/smooth leh. Or i have yet to master the cooking skill .. haha

Just to vent a bit. Am feeling a bit depressed. My MIL helps me look after my 2 kids when I work. Yesterday evening, my mum came to my house to play with the kids. When hubby went to MIL house for dinner after work, I called him to ask him to send my mum home after his dinner. Shortly after he came back, my MIL called to tell hubby he didn't wash his bowl after dinner. So hubby went back down (MIL stays downstairs) & MIL complained to him about me. After hubby told me about the complaints, feel a bit sian but also feel that he's caught in between. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

abt bb sleeping, bb Chloe also like that, when time's is up for her sleep (ard 9pm plus) she will fuss, so I will feed her, let her drift off to lala lah herself. So far so good and yes! sometimes she wakes up ard 3plus to play, eyes big big but we just ignore her or bring her to sleep between us, after a while, she self soothes and sleeps again!

Allets, Chloe is also small size, abt 6.7kg. I think as long as they seem ok, growing well, not need to worry ba! If Janelle can take si shen powder, then go ahead, but guess no need to force her. As long as they drink their fair share of milk, they should get all the nutrients needed right? Let's not worry too much!

pooh bear, it;s natural for MIL to 'complain' but as long as you & your hb communicate, can liao! as long as he knows your intentions and reasons, hack care MIL or even mother lah! sometimes very hard to please all of them, as long as you stay close to your loved ones, can liao!

2Ks,

yes, it's smooth, but like got bit powdery powdery leh .. or i should cook longer ? this saturday i try again

Anyway, he loves the porridge leh .. haha

serene, hmm... if yr bb still ok with strangers, u might wana consider a change. Other than that, if your current nanny is doing a good job, you might want to stay on with her. I was thinking, she could have got her daughter to pack dinner instead...

pooh bear, yr hub very good lei, will go back to his mum's house to wash bowl. Never mind la, one ear in and one ear out.

sinmey, long time no hear frm u!

chen: i think i long time didnt hear from u lor!

i hear from sinmey more than u...

think only can see your face updates thru facebook huh huh...

how have u been??

pooh bear, wah your mil very particular about washing of dishes huh? if it's just one bowl, can't she wash it herself? it's not like all the time that your hb forgets to wash mah.... so well...old folks have their peculiarities... sometimes complain to hb also end up more tension and conflict... cos he's caught in between...

Pooh bear,

left ear in right ear out lor ...

no ending MIL story .. forever we cannot be their 'ideal' DIL de .. so, jz ignore lor

tres, chen & SN,

Thanks for your kind words. Really very hard to please all of them. And my hub is the only child & he's very nice to his parents. I also try to one ear in and one ear out. I think MIL's a bit jealous and feels under-appreciated. She's particular about us showing respect to her.

sinmey,

It's really a never-ending story. I'm far from her 'ideal' DIL. So try to ignore, but sometimes really feel that she's picking on me.

sometimes i will also think what kindof MIL i will be in future...

i always believe that sons always will belong to his wife ones..

only daughters will side own parents more..

haiz...and i got 2 sons..boo..

i am plain lucky that i got a nice MIL..she always told me, she cannot say too much otherwise the DIL, Son-IL all will not come home and make her own kids in a difficult position..

so she try to balance everything...

although she doesnt like the youngest SIL, when her son call or come back, she never say bad things about her...

i think she is in another level already...i wonder i can do that or not...

pooh bear, my MIL sometimes also complain to my hb abt me not letting her carry bb. but my hb always side me and ask her not to anyhow say. i think most impt is the impression ur hb puts u when ur MIL talks bad abt u. cos u cannot do enough to please them de. I'll do the things she complian abt me more if she complains abt me de, i'm jus a typ bad DIL lar... haha Cheer up k? look at ur bbs, see them smile at u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2Ks,

u will be good MIL .. to your 2 K's wify ..

yea, watever i feel unhappy with, i try to remember next time i better dun be like tat ...

Same goes to my mum ... she used to nag nag nag at us or at my father .. i always tell my sis, we better remember this & do not repeat the same mistake. Nagging at our kids & hb .. haha ..

i know this is hard, & i DO nag

2Ks, zenia,

Thanks for 'listening' to me. I also wonder what kind of MIL I will be. My hb also tries to side me, but I wonder if that might make her more upset. :p Will try to look at my bbs & cheer up.

sinmey, I also try to remember next time not to be like that. I also nag at my kid & hb. :p

Thanks Chen.. But my girl takes 2month to get use to this current nanny.. >.<" tts v long.. Ya that's what I'm thinking too y can't she ask her daughter go down pack instead.. I'm fine with if u bring my girl along to buy dinner but not at home with her 14yrs old daughter.. N now her house like childcare =.=" faint! Last 2weeks say school holiday cousin come her house stay with a 2yrs old Mei Mei N yesterday I saw tt Mei mei again.. Now her house have my girl, 2yrs old Mei Mei, pri 2&4 kids .. Omg... Haiz...

Any mummies know any nice nanny staying eunos crescent area or east side..

Pooh: ya as long yr hubby is on yr side still ok.. Just listen in n out from the other side can Liao.. Hehe :p tts what I did too.. Dun tk it too hard.. Old ppl is like tt hehe :p

Serene,

wahh .. school holiday finish very long liao leh

She might be taking care other kids ? the P2 & P4 is not her kids ?

i left my #1 with Nanny & i'm very lucky to met a good one. But too bad she prefer to work in office rather than stay home with kids lor coz her kids all big le.

So for my boy, i can't find one that i can feel comfortable with de lor (Blame the previous nanny set my high expectation on them lor). End up i put Shay in IFC. Happy to say that I'm quite happy so far lar ..u might wan to consider IFC as one of option. Good nanny is hard to find and it really depends on your luck de lo unless ppl recommend.

Serene, 2 months to get used to nanny is quite long. Plus now they start to have stranger anxiety. Like for my girl, my mum was away after her first month. Recently came back & my girl will cry when my mum carries her for too long or when she's sleepy.

thanks for 'listening' to me venting. Trying not to take it too hard. :p

oh well, 2K, Sinmey, that's a bit far away for us to 'think' liao!

Serene, perhaps you wanna consider infantcare instead? At least the pple there are a bit more professional? Least you need not worry.

Even when I leave my bb at my mum's I have to close both eyes leh! She can leave my bb with my maid and go marketing hor! Even my own mum can do this, let alone a nanny lah!

Mummies, not to stress you all, are you all looking for pre-school for your bb alr? I heard some good ones need to register NOW wor!!

Mummies, pls educate me,

Pre-school are like school that teach the kids educational stuff for like 2 - 4 hrs dailys.

CHildcare is for the full day with programmes.

Not sure if i shuld register for childcare (say half day) or pre school. Near my mum's place, there is my first skool.. so thinking of puttin gher there for half day, what are your tots?

tres: personally, if i have someone taking care for me, i will only send my child to those 2-3 hours playgroup when they around 20months or so..

cos by then they can listen to instructions abit..

to me playgroup is not really to learn things or what, just to let them have a feel of school and make friends, sing song, mingle with other kids

half day childcare and fullday childcare the charges are not much different, and they wont really learn alot..

cos usually the class starts only at 9am, then later bath all that, then zzz le..

usually morning is one language, afternoon is another language, so she will still miss out some..

whereas playgroup, is full 2-3hours activities..think it might be better.

Tres,

hmm, for me who do not have anyone to take care my kids, i left with fullday childcare.

But in fact, my girl learn a lot from playgroup. Her cc has theme every 3 mths de (eg: Q1: Animal, Q2, Occupation, Q3: Weather..) and she learn the 123/ABC there too. I doubt her nanny is teaching her anything lor. Other than that, she sing song/play games ..

sinmey... that's what i think too.. even if my mum takes care, she doesn't teach her much lah! Old pple not too educated, how to teach???

Kind dilemma leh?

Full day CHildcare, can claim max subsidy.

those 2-3 hours playgroup, dunno know how much to claim also?

Tres,

the cost for half day is $150 i think .. so the pay sum for half day/full day is abt the same.

The only thing i felt guilty sometimes is .. she might be tire or unwell or dun feel like going to school, also she has no choice to go full day lor .. it's like from 7.30am to 6.45pm till we picked her up. But if your mum is at home, at least you can opt to send her from 9-5 pm lor .. most class start 9am & finish by 4.30pm i think ..