(2011/03) Mar 2011

Airmez,

THen did yr mum stkrike 1st prize? hahaha!!!

I fainted once while diving, can u imagine? I already jumped into the water, then before descend, dun knw wat happen, I fainted, then next time I realise i already back on the boat, my instructor jump down and pull me up.

No 1st prize leh... sibei malu, me lie there on the floor like a starfish, with my aunt poking the spot above my lips hoping to wake me up... wah lau eh.

Panda, tat was super dangerous!! Fainting while sinking. Wah............ 0_o

Yaloh.. somemore wore till lok-lok. No face see pple sia.

I'm on leave today! Gonna watch Harry Potter later at noon! Woohoo!!

Talking abt flipping.. My girl flipped for the 1st time tis morning.. But sad to say, i wasn't around to see it.. Out to work already.. sob sob..

Pixie,

u more drama than me lor .. at least i faint at home.. haa

Airmez,

The moment i read your post i tot u got the 1st price Toto tat's y u faint at 4D shop .. haha

i think i'll nvr go back to tat shop again lor .. hahahaaa

Huh, i become 7th mth singer ? Dun worry, i can still 'perform' this friday ..

Lilprecious, u coming ?

sinmey: No, I din faint cos I got 1st prize. Haha... Faint, followed by painful tummy churning.. There's a clinic next to the 4D shop. Doc gave me a jab to stop the tummyache. Then later that day, my menses came.

Just saw in ST, Isetan Baby Fair till 14 Aug.

Airmez,

Do u intend to buy those swing gate? I thought of buying one as u knw our stairs are v steep, and once he start to crawl, that's it, hv to 24hr eye on him.

Anyone seen the new bp on personalized pacifier? So nice! Duno Rach got lobang anot. If not am ordering frm them Liao.

Abt fainting, since young I would black out aft every injection. I already know so everytime aft vaccination I would sit down n wait for the fainting. Haha.. There's always a 10 sec headstart for me. Only in my recent yrs den I got much better as I always ask to lie down n ask for smaller needles for injection. But I'm not afraid of the pain leh, jus tt the blackout would always come, duno y.

you all very drama leh!!! ai yooooo... sinmey, take care ah!

yah lah.. each bb develops on his/her own pace... hahaaa... just can't wait to see him flipping on his own lah.. haaa...

Panda> when I used to use Huggies, I only buy from BP leh...

$15 a pack... Think no sales are cheaper than that...

If u need the contact whatsapp or PM me hor....

Free delivery for 6packs....

Think tampines got one $14.50 de some more but self collection only....

Woke up a dozen times last nite...

Ry n rl taking turns to cry and wake and woke the other....

Now I'm still on bed.....

Like never sleep whole nite...

Dunno rl teething turned bad or what....

Ry is cuz Weaning her off breasts.... Project Day 2...

She will cry n cry before drink her fm...

And twist and turn and roll on floor....

Hell on earth for me.....:/

Rach - Why u wanna wean off RY from your breast? Thought just not too long ago u say gg to feed as long as possible?

l3x: u are really very INTO BP stuff huh...everyday shop at BP hur hur...LOL

rach: now go thru weaning ry again...please after this round, dont give her the breast again la..

its very heartpain to see her like that...

wah.. all the durians, fever, flu, fainting..

hey mummies who are joining us tmr, some of us are meeting for breakfast. Without the babies thou, hahaa.. at Bugis.

Those who applied 1/2day to join us at ktv only, pls watsapp or sms me hor, then I know we need how many rooms mah, I need to call and book this evening alrightly!!

milktea

i might be able to join u all for bfast, i whatsapp u later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Fel, 2K> for some reason not I want.... I'm forced to stop bf her.... Now thinking if I should start pumping so I can still let her enjoy bm.....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Sigh....

2k> there won't be another time le la......sigh...

rach: feeding breastmilk is not all about latching la...

since u think that u still wanna give ry the benefits of bm, then pump out and feed her thru bottle mah...

like that she also can have the benefits of bm rite..

dont be lazy la...

u have another set of problems later when u wanna wean rl lor..

kyler is also taking my ebm...thru bottle..

tres,

yeah lor.. read that... my boy tends to pull his ears leh. so i dunno if it's normal.. but since he's not fussing and crying much i'll assume he's just playing le lor..

I know it's abit too early for us but read this and decided to copy and paste it here for sharing:

Teaching Young Toddlers (below 2 plus)

If you know how to teach your child especially in a play-based manner, she will definitely progress. Before 2 yrs old, you can start building up her foundation gradually on the LETTERS OF THE ALPHABET (a to z) and NUMBERS (1 to 10), shapes and colours using simple, cheap (if you buy from pasar malam) and fun ways through the following toys:-

- Letters and Numbers Puzzles (both wooden and foam type)

- Letters and Numbers Blocks (cube type) - for her to stack and after a while help her form the order a-z or 1-10 as she progress

- Wall Charts from letter 'a' to 'z' with words and numbers to be pasted on wall

- Magnetic Board for her to doodle and later on draw and write as she progress older

- Wooden puzzles on shapes, animals etc

- Electronic toys that has music c/w letter and numbers

- Whatever toys, wall charts, kid’s tabletop etc you can find that emphasize on letters, numbers, shapes and colours which is within her ability to play

- VCD that emphasize on letters, numbers, words and colours (provided you are not against child watching TV. Personally I find it ok as long as not too much exposure)

The above is just a portion of her play time having “academic learning”. Do note that very young toddlers has very short attention span, so each activity may only last for a while. It is play, play and play using different types of toys. Talking, singing, and reading pictorial books (little word more pictures) or picture talk, outing to build up her motor skills etc forms the fundamental learning development.

So far, puzzles are the most powerful resource to learn letters and nos. The key of teaching her while playing is this - You have to say out the letter whenever she plays. This is very important as you are teaching her subconsciously while she is engross in the toy or 'struggling' to fit the letter in the puzzle :p The initial purpose is that she is able to identify the letter shape and fit in but as you read out the letter and she starts to understand, the ultimate purpose is that she is able to identify the letter or even say out the letter and fit in the correct place. It is not necessary to repeat saying the letter, just once is enough (eg. Yes, it’s letter ‘d’ etc) . The child also need not complete the puzzle if she refuses to play after a while. Remember to emphasize on easy letters first eg. 'o', 'i', l etc and once you roughly know she can recognise some of the letters, ask her what letter is that (eg letter 'o') when she tries to put in the puzzle (this is call testing). Afterwhich, you continue to say the letters for her to learn while she's playing until she finally able to recognise and identify all the letters of the alphabet. This way of prompting applies to all types of visual aids and learning toys so that you know whether your child knows the letter or not. Praise them when they name the right ones and they will be proud of themselves too.

For young toddler, your role is to GRADUALLY help her identify the following at fingertips by 2 yrs old:-

- 'a' to 'z'

- one to ten

- 'a' to 'z' stands for .... (eg. a for apple, b for ball....z for zebra)

- shapes, colours, animals etc

- Simple spelling based on MEMORY if she can (eg. zoo, cat)- for 2 to 3 yrs old

Remember no force learning i.e force to sit down and learn the words. All these teaching should be relax and carefree and should not test your patience at all as it is based on your child’s attention span and play style.

By 2 or 2 plus when she is able to achieve the above, you can start introducing phonics for her to spell based on the sound. As I understand from the mummies, it is after the child had acquired and know the letters and even the phonics sound, they do not know what to do next to help them spell or read. Few of them go by force learning and keep flashing cards which to me, is boring and the child will soon switch off. This is where my phonics training course comes in. By then if you take the course, it's really fun and I believe she will benefit from it. It's not solely the teaching but many more things using toys, teaching aids, prompting etc to gradually help her to read, spell and write well by 6 yrs old. But never mind, now it's still too early to talk about this.

The ultimate purpose of starting early to be able to spell and read is for the child to be able to WRITE by the time they are 6 yrs old to fully prepare them for primary school. Once a child can achieve this, tuition and academic enrichment class will not be necessary in primary school which spare them and parents a lot of agony. If the foundation is strong and without the need for tuition, the child will be able to breeze through upto at least Pri 2 with good results and yet enjoy their precious time at home.

Panda: Haven't really thought so far abt swing gates yet.. U got lobang? think Cheong Choon at Chinatown have; but unsure of price competitiveness. Come to think of it, windows without grilles, a concern for us soon or years later?

Milktea: thanks for posting that... Kyler is really very slow

Airmez: your house no grilles?? U can still hesitate till bb one year old la.. I regret big time for not installing grilles together with Reno... So dusty and got to clean up after installing

Of cos need grilles la..

My mil paid for my grilles after kyler can walk lor..she scared

thanks milktea....

RY also slow.... she can recognize some fruits and food... but not A-Z definitely....

teaching her 1-10...but.... she is not there yet....

I read ur article i stress... lol....

toking about grilles..oso tinking about it..nex few months have to install le..

Yes should have install together w reno..beta actually less hassle..lol

sinmey, hope you are feeling ok liao. Goodie! can see u on Fri.

I've just realised from all your stories that it's ok to leave a fainted person alone. haha. As in, not be so alarmed to call 995. I do get fainting spells often also...

milktea, me me! I'll be on half day. Will wadsapp u tmr for exact location.

Talking abt academic learning, as my girl grows, I always wondered how to introduce letters to her. Cos I'm not sure what her pace was, but I do teach progressively. I started her on leapfrog, letter factory when she was one year plus to 'test water' and that really helped me pave the way to teaching her letters. I'm not against her on educational TV prog, and I thought the DVD really helped me alot. She enjoys watching it everytime I played. Kids love repetition.

Ok, that's my sharing of lazy teaching, leaving it to the DVD. haha. Letterland is also a set of good educational series.

my girl 2yrs+ liao, and house still no grills. Darn worry when I leave her alone for awhile. It's better to have it.

I lagi jialat loh, coz I bought from previous owner and the house came with a nice looking grills.

And then?

We had it removed bcoz we wants to feel free!!

So now we have to pay to install a new one loh.

Sianz 1/2

Hmmm... do you all wana consider Bulk Purchase in doing the window grills?

Those keen let me know lah, I think my pricing should be cheaper than market.

Airmez,

Saw on newspaper isetan baby fair selling $69 for the swing gate but think hv to measure see if it's fit or not.

No window grill think we got to close window n on aircon.

Airmez, I also think like you leh, but my mil said kids will learn to push chair to the window, open and see look see look de.

No grill means our window cannot lock rite?

I really dun like window grill leh =(

Milktea - no matter how you don't like.. still must put...

It's for your baby's safety... Recently, there's two cases of children falling to their death!!!

One was six another 5/6. I can't remember.

Let you choose:

1) Risk Losing your precious Ethan or

2) Live in a "ugly house with grilles" ??

(sorry ah, very straightforward)

To me i'm fine with grilles, my hubby don't like but no choice... For our precious baby's safety, we need to lor....

Leave NO ROOM for regret... Don't wait for things to happen liao then tell or ask yourself WHAT IFS/ I SHOULD HAVE blah blah blah....

Milktea-Window grills oso wanna bp huh..?lol..but got diff pAtterns de and designs de woh....then mar mummies window grills pattern same same ..kekeke

2Ks, Fel: yah.. it's better to have window grilles. But quite a major project to install grilles for the whole house, not to mention still got a sky garden without a roof (no window panes, cant install grilles). Maybe can just lock up that door, and just target on the indoors..