(2011/03) Mar 2011

2ks... Gave up coz I hate the feeling of carrying and pacifying a crying baby with a full breast... Plus am doing the night feed.. Somemore bb goes to nanny then not sure if she knows how to handle bm so I just stop lor...

I normally do my housework every day/ alternate day after my boys sleep So that weekend we can enjoy some family time and bring the kids out... Maybe tts why I'm more tired coz I ended up sleeping late...

Fel.. Your hb is so cute......!! Oh well, no harm done lah, just waste of food nia. Ifnscold him then they will not help out in the future.

Mummies, anyone knows where to buy those neck floats for bb to swim in?? Went KP, they dun have wor!!

Thank you Jaime, 2Ks, pixie, Jeraldin, chen n sinmey... now im much more relaxed aft confirming.. thou i know standard normally is 6 mths.. but well u know old ppl, start nagging.. tt the sch is not suitable for him, nvr seen anyone sick until so long b4.. so poor thing la.. bla bla bla.. so im like under the pressure thou i know its normal.. sigh!

2Ks: tt means about there lo.. 3 MO till 1 YO.. around a long period of time to get accustomed also.. actually i now send him back even if hes sick leh.. unless v bad n haf fever, i def wont send back lo.. cos i keep tinking, it doesnt make sense if every slight flu n cough i keep him home n each time he returns to sch,he starts the whole stupid cycle again.. can die!n tt time his bday i went to his sch, alot of his frens nose flowing or coughing like crazy, i guess tts how he returns to sch well but brings the germs home again.LOL..

Jaime: i tink its the season this round.. think J prob gotte used to the env alrdy.. so change new CC, not necessarily gotta go thru whole cycle of falling sick again right?

Chen: yah.. he takes leh.. multi vits n sumbuccol.. =( think mayb he jus needs time to get accustomed?..

pixie: ya! cos my in laws n my mum keeps giving me stress, n tt day i went to tuina i asked the sinseh, she told me if the kid is abt 3, normally they'll be okay.. cos of the immunity. so tell me to give him some time, let him grow older n he'll get out of this phase.. 3 YO.. tts a super long wait for me.. hahahaa..

Jeraldin: i see, Jav CC no aircon.. tts one of the reason why i wanted it plus its jus a few blocks away frm my plc.. jus hopes all these clears up. nvr easy esp we gotta keep him away frm didi.. he loves kissing n playing w him.. even the sinseh told him dont kiss didi pls.. LOL

SN n mimimo: thanks n yes.. i really wanted to jus call n scold her upside down.. sigh! i didnt la..but my hb suffer lo.. i nag him whole night n next day.. wahahahaaha...

sinmey: hahaha, me too! each time think abt adding more.. i will rem wad sinseh said..hehe.. but i jus tell myself to look out lo.. as long as he doesnt feel or look uncomfy n can finish with no vomitting n no bloatedness.. den shud b ok bah? haha..

yup, Jav takes lotsa fruits too.. all fruits r his fav.. but water, i tink he drinks v lil in sch.. the teacher tells me he doesnt wan to drink.. sigh! he everyday everywhere give new patterns to ppl.. headache.

tres: online haf..=D

pixie: LOL .. i tink its the genes bah.. my ex CC haf the same exact scenario too.. mum plump but dad super skinny.. both her children r plump n eat ALOT..

Jav eats alot too.. when he was younger i was always afraid he'll become too fat.. but it seems like he is v active thus burns all his food v quickly tts y eat more..thank god hes tall like his dad, not short like his mum! else, i no eyes see him...

Mummies, need advice...

I plan to start clear febm frm today onwards. When I defrost n pour into milk bottles to bring over to mum place for her to feed while I go work, e fishy smell is strong.. Normal? I tried two packs before in e past before I invest in chest freezer, but that time not so fishy smell leh. I tried mix chilled w febm into e bottles. Now i worry ;

1) milk stil ok for bb to drink?

2) wil bb drink?

3) if bb don't drink how? Febm? Bb how since I at work?

Or i worry too much?

1) is

Bb bride - febm sure got smell unless u scald it before putting into e fridge .. This was mentioned here a number of times on how to scald milk .

Febm of cos can drink lah even got smell .. If not I think all e bbs here will ran out supply since most of us went bCk to work Liao n they can only rely on ebm n febm .

If bb reject, try mix ebm n febm.. If not intro fm into febm .. I now mix a scoop of fm into janelle's milk to neutralize e smell..

Worst case - reject than give fm loh ! Or bb starve abit they will drink .

Hi mummies, I'm abt to Onli b able to give my girl 2 feeds of bm & the rest fm (3 feeds) coz my ss is not enuf. U Tink I shd cont pumping? Many times, feel like giving up. So tired n troublesome. Any recommendation at which timing I shd gif bm/fm? Start w fm for my 1st feed den alternate or start wif bm for my 1st 2 feeds the rest juz fm? Currently the 1st 3 feeds r bm & last 2 feeds r fm.

Changed teat to 3m last night and had a terrible time feeding him... He was gasping n taking breaks to breathe... In the end he got so pek chek he decided not to drink.... N started crying... Should i change back to 2m or train him to get used to 3m?

Sn

I'm thinking if you should try it in the day when his mood is generally better than the night? If he's so far ok with size 2, then imo no need to change. If not, you just have to spend a few days to get him used to it. I took a few days for him

To adapt.

mimimo: kiefer is only 6.5kg as at 6jul...light rite? i dunno the milk he drank went where la..

yeah, hang on there on bf, remember u had gone so far to provide for yr little one...

u might not see much benefits now...but u will see it later..

lilprecious: from what i see, at least takes 6 months for them to get use to the cc lor.. if no fever and he is still very alert, u can still send him to cc, cos i see no point u dont send him to school, yet he recover already go back to school, the same thing repeats again...u should let his body slowly ascustomed to the environment there...

last time kyler in IFC cham to the max, every 2 weeks or so he fall sick, then the poor nose aiyo...then cough aiyo, become so common...

but after he turns 1 yr old, i gave him sambucol, and he gets better. of cos flu & cough still will la, but cut down alot alot le...

so give jav 6 months to build up his own immune system alright? hang on there!

jeraldin: its your decision to give up or not la..

but no matter what is the decision, its still to the benefits of your child.

for me, i do my daily household chores, i try to complete them by 9pm so that i can sit down with kyler for 15-20 mins before i put him to zzz. hubby will feed didi, then i spend some time with kyler lor. but of cos if hub is not around, then poor kyler has to self entertain himself..

i dont accumulate my ironing, so i dont sit there to iron during weekends, i spend 5-10 mins every alternate day to iron 3-4 pcs of clothing + kyler uniform.

i leave those bulky items like bedsheets etc to wash during weekends lor.

give yourself a break at times, take a half day or what, relax yr mind, recharge your body...

otherwise u will ki siao u know...

sometimes i also nag and nag at hubby, but that is my only way of releasing my stress, so i told him to just listen..

babybride: when i see your questions. i go ......

i think basically u think and worry too much...

we already said many times febm will have a fishy smell.

u might notice, those freeze like 1-2 weeks or so the smell is not as strong as those keep for a few months.

u suddenly give bb total febm, most likely will reject unless he is a milk monster.

i suggest u adding 20% febm 80% chilled bm first, then slowly adjust the amount to become total febm

but i think for u, if bb reject u start to worry then u will worry what to do with the febm that u have stored.

just try and error la....baby hungry will drink one, so see whether u can 'fight' with the baby or not..

FYI, i give bb a daily feed of febm since he was 2 months old...to get him used to the milk..

sometimes he reject so i break into a few times to feed him...sometimes he will just finish the whole thing..

so its just trial and error ok

2Ks.. how do you manage to do housework when the kids are not asleep yet? wat time your #2 sleep? coz every night i will go back my mom's place for dinner then only leave around 8.15pm.. by the time i reach home need to wipe down didi then feed him and put him to bed... meanwhile the older one will self entertain if daddy is not home yet... so all my household chore can only do when both of them sleep...which is about 10pm...

i normally dun wear clothes tt need ironing so it just my hubby's shirt.. prob 4 shirts, 2 pants a week... so quite easily settled within an hour or so... tt's why like not much reason to get part time help since the part time helper like not much things to do anyway...

Jeraldin: #2 will drink milk at 8.30-8.45pm then he will zzz

i reach hm at 7pm, so i prepare dinner hubby will feed korkor, then i go wipe down didi, then i go unpack their bags, soak their clothes, pack the school bag, then do the misc stuff lor.

after hub finish feeding korkor, then we have dinner then hubby will entertain both of them whereas i go wash the clothes, hang clothes, iron clothes etc, washing/sterilizing bottles, pack the bm for next day, feed dogs, use the magic clean to clean the floor if i see alot of hairs, otherwise if no time i will set the navibot to vacuum.

throw rubbish, prepare next day food (if i am cooking soup, usually fridays la)

those take more time to do housework i will leave it till weekends lor...no choice. i also think whether do i really need a part time maid, i am so not use to having some stranger at home,

Mimimo, haha i tried again at 830am feed just now... He was really choking every few sucks n started to scream.. So i went to change back to 2m n tried feeding him again n this time he guai guai drink haha... So i spent the last 30min sterilising n changing 5 bottles back to 2m... Haiz... I will try 3m in a few weeks time..

Pandahut, yr boy using 3m 了吗?oh n regardibg yr post yesterday, is yr boy ok w u wiping him down n yoyo him to sleep if u spent the whole day with him?

2Ks, you sound so superwoman at home leh! Admire your efficient hands n legs coz you can do so many things every evening. I still trying to train my hands n legs to be so efficient. I reach home 8pm, store my ebm, then sometimes need to wipe down Javier, sometimes don't need if my mum went over my house. Make him sleep le, then I go wash/sterilize bottles, have dinner, bring down clothes from drying poles n fold n keep, iron clothes, bathe then almost 12-1am le leh... Why I do thing so slow? Weekend then me n my hb will do more housechores. I still considering if I need one part time maid since my mum/mil will help sweep, mop floor few times a week, only thing that didn't clean is window n wipe fixtures. I also buying irobot to help vacuum floor every weekday.

Hi Mummies!!

2Ks - You really super mummy.. still can cook! I totally gave up on cooking after work... now usually I will wipe down bb while hubby eats dinner then hubby feed bb while I eat dinner then hubby will entertain bb while I go wash clothes, sterilize bottles, bath etc... Working mums with no help really very siong...

babybride - For FEBM, its really trial and error as what 2Ks said! I also try for quite sometime before I get the right mix for my bb... you still have chilled EBM to mix so its easy... cos I stopped BF-ing so I got to mix FEBM and FM for bb... at first I also try until pek chey but I know FEBM is still good for bb so just continue trying... becos of FEBM I still manage to let bb drink patial BM for a month and I'm really glad...

annie: ya i think i do things fast la...in between i also fold clothes, hang clothes...i think i have more clothes to wash and hang than u..LOL.

i just try my best to do whatever i can la...

MULTI TASK is the word that best describe what i am doing, i can be like boiling water, washing/ironing clothes then while feeding korkor i can be washing bottles too..

my window and fixtures i dont bother lor...dont expect my own house to be very clean la, so close one eye lor..

irobot only help with the floor la, if wet floor right, then the irobot will stain the floor and you got to mop too..

then corners cant clean...but well....better than nothing...

i usually set it on before i go work

dont add so much stress on yourself, just do within yr limits...can do just do, cant do, do it another day..

u are blessed la, cos yr hubby do help out

xiaofeizhu: i can anyhow eat but kyler cant mah...i try my very very best to provide nutritious food for him...

sometimes its just easy food la..like a soup, i throw in carrots, pork etc, then he can eat with rice, then i fried omelette or what lor..

u know now outside food alot of MSG.

otherwise i use the thermal pot cook ikan bilis soup then i throw in fishballs, meatballs, prawns etc, then we have the same pot of soup for dinner..

very sui bian one la..

that is why self-entertain is very important for kiefer, i hv not much time for him...

but i try my best la...5-10 mins of time alone with him is sufficient too...

and nice seeing you that day at mrt! your hubby look so young!

allets - I mix FM w FEBM cos BB not use to full FEBM feed.... just that you must try and find the correct mix for your bb... then when preparing feed more ma fan cos must rem to warm FEBM then later go make FM then mix both together...

2Ks - Can understand cos you still have Kyler to feed... I also thinking, when bb start porridge what shld I do?? Can share your experience?? Haha my hubby got boyish look so he look young, he will be happy to hear this when I tell him tonight lol... happy to see you that day too... shld find one day take leave then ask the rest out for breakkie and shopping =)

allets - I dun put powder directly to FEBM... I will warm FEBM in a bottle, then make FM in the milk bottle then pour in the warm FEBM to feed bb.... cos if you put powder to BM then later you add in hot water will kill the nutrients in BM so I will make FM till the correct warm consistency then pour in the warm BM...

but isnt the warm bm enough water for the milk powder? i always just add 1 scoop of powder into her warm milk than shake the bottle for the powder to dissolve.. than pass the milk for janelle to drink..

SN,

Yes, my boy changed to 3M teat about 1 week ago and he is ok now. When u changed it, try it during day time if he not ready then change back teat #2, no hurry, coz its only I realised he got difficult sucking #2 teat and so try #3 teat again and he ok with it. And he is 5 month old today!

Sunday I yao him to sleep and he ok with it. I think he still prefer my hb or my mum to yao him to sleep, this morning also my hb yao him, he lay there v quiet. Maybe he associate me with bathing him, feeding him but not yao him. hahaha!!!

xiaofeizhu: i see from your back view i know its u...LOL...ya your hubby looks vvvv young lor...

my hubby is very uncle type one...LOL

i recommend u getting a thermal pot...it is very convenient for FTWM like us, morning throw in the rice and ingredients into the pot, then boil it, then put in the thermal cooker, come back VOILA, porridge ready for makan..

otherwise slow cooker? but have to be very careful, cos some slow cooker doesnt cook that "slow" so yr porridge maybe too dry/burnt by the time u come back for work (> 9 hours) and it waste electricity..

i give si shen too, but i bought EYS type still must cook over fire, but i think some dont need.

2ks really super women...even iron kyler's uniform!!!..i dont even bother to iron..washing the uniform daily is already a chore..

i dont do much housework oredi becuase of my part time helper.

she help me clean the whole house, the toilets, the windows, iron my hubby cloths mainly coz we accumulate a lot..so the helper spend 1 hours plus just ironing my hubby clothes mainly and some of mine..

some additional time is to clean the kitchen cabinet, stove top etc..

i dont mind paying coz i realise she does a better job than me or my hubby can ever do or clean..even my high expectation hubby thinks she is doing a good job..its ok lar just 4 hours in a week having a stranger..most of the time she is cleaning , dont really bother us ..its just my son bother her lor...walking ard the house etc..unless she comes on weekday when my son is in CC

really pei fu 2ks..coz if cook also my hubby cook lor coz i cannot make it lor..when he is in SG, he finishes work on time.

the only downside he travel 50% of the month..

so now i am doing a very silly thing coz hubby out of town again..drive my boy to work, n drive back to park the car in my home then take the bus out ( i stay 20 min from office n i got no parking in town [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif])

then take bus go pick up boy after work..sometimes take taxi..but yesterday my boy was very obedient..walk with me to the bus stop coz he wanted to take the bus instead of the taxi..n heng the bus not crowded at 6 plus..

reach home 645pm..eat dinner..

clean up , pack his bags , eat dinner, bathe the boy n myself,

latch the girl put to sleep

then play with boy, then put to bed a boy who will take forever to zzzz...i only get to sleep when my boy zzz at 11pm!!!

but i am lucky coz i dont have to ferry my baby ard coz my mum is with me until end of the yr..

n she helps me with the laundry and dishes for now.n cook my boy's dinner...

2ks, how u cook ur boy's dinner ah?

SN, tks!

Was thinking shd test water 1-2 spoon to feed him cereal soon as he seems v hungry all the time, now drinking 200ml every 3-4 hrs and bottle empty aready still sucking.

2Ks: I was reading your daily routine.. I was like "偶像!!“ Reach home at 7pm, still need to prepare dinner, not to mention those housework and the kids!!!!

Sweat man...

2Ks - wah you can recognise me from my back view hehe... my hubby will soon turn uncle cos his tummy has been ballooning ever since I get preggie... I nv eat supper nor ask him buy me alot of stuff to eat during my pregnancy dunno where his fats come from... everytime say I hai him... so this is how you do it... ok time to invest in a gd thermal pot... so after like 9 hours of 'heating' in the thermal pot, the porridge will be soft? Prob for the start must still blend it for bb hor...

allets - Cos my bb dun drink full FEBM so my way of doing is diff.. as long as your bb is ok with your method then no need to worry...

jaime: kyler school uniform is those cheapo material one, if i dont iron, its very crumpled leh...so i iron lor, i like him to wear neat neat mah.

i very half hearted to get a part time maid la, my hubby got suggest before, but i see myself still able to handle it, so i temp put on hold lor. what to do, i have to take care of myself since young, so more or less got use to it bah.. my mum always said i poor life..

my hubby is going overseas too next month, going vietnam and KL...he starts to worry about me being able to cope or not...

its more on sending the kids to diff cc...

i can park the car in my office building la...but i dunno should i drive or not, cos the traffic is horrible nowadays.

i usually cook soup using the thermal pot, i prepare the ingredients the night before, then before i sleep, i dump the ingredients in, then boil it, then i put in the thermal pot, next morning i reboil it again and come back at night the soup is ready lor, the carrots, pork etc are soft enough to eat..

then i fried one more dish for me & my hubby eat..

otherwise i cook porridge with the pot and 3 of us eat that same pot...

or i cook ikan bilis soup with the thermal pot, come home add fishballs, meatballs, eggs, prawns...whatever i can find in the fridge

in cantonese we called it "one pot soup"

airmez: i can jolly well dont cook for kyler la..

not everyday i cook, maybe alternate days i cook during weekdays...

but bo bian, he is still growing and i prefer him to eat home cook food, i.e. with no MSG mah..

this is what i can do for him...

when i see him enjoy the food i cook, i feel happy...

last week i cook pig stomach soup, he can tell me "i want more", so that makes me happy despite being so tired..

my thermal pot is my favourite la...my MIL bought it for me...

XFZ: i saw thermos have those smaller thermal pot called shuttle chef...i never use it before though...i am using tiger..

but hor if u have the tiger porridge cooker right, if u blend the rice, the porridge cooker can cook the porridge into the consistency that suits our baby...

one more thing i will ask u to buy if u are cooking during weekends at home (more time), buy a non stick pot, easier to cook porridge leh...LOL, then hor throw in a spare rib (par boiled), and your porridge will be very smooth and smell very nice...

2ks, u really are a superwoman. Jus reading wat u did makes me tired. Cos i no helper too n take care of baby n hpuse alone, so tk no pay leave till end of yr. Cant imagine have to cook, work, tk care baby n housework altogether.

The thermal pot u buy is those tiger brand one huh?

2Ks,

I imagine myself in your shoes, and was thinking how it will turn out.

I think most likely I will end up quarrelling with my ah lau every day.

Cos I'm the "task-oriented" type. If I got a to-do list to complete, I want to finish it before resting. So I get very very fustrated if someone interrupted me with questions or wat-not. Cos I feel that someone is "obstructing" me to get my rest.

But my hubby is the "do slowly / enjoy the process" type. He will put in pockets of time to relax in-between/during tasks. Can sit back to enjoy fruits even though still got tasks outstanding. Wanna chit chat or talk about news?! while I'm working through the tasks. I will snap at him and then World War III starts.. -_-"

Hohoho...

2Ks - Wahh very gd info, I must copy and save it =)my MIL last time also got buy me something like the thermal pot but I think its more for keep warm only not those being able to cook food... shld go look for one... robinson shld have all this thermal cooker and pots hor?

L3x: at least u on no pay leave now, can still do your best for the house and baby..

when i on maternity leave, i go marketing with the baby every week, then i cook meals every tues-fri.

i just try my very best to take care of the 3 men in the family lor..

tell yrself, u have done yr best, reward yourself when necessary....

2Ks,

Pei fu! That's y i can nvr imagine how to cope if got 2 kids as 1 kids only, weekday got my mum & maid, weekend got in law, just 1 baby, I need 4 helper, so if got 2 kids, think I need 8 helpers.

Airmez,

Why men all the same. Ask them do things, they can nob their head but the butt still not move yet and still continue their TV. My HB can sit beside baby and baby crying and yet he can continue playing his iphone till I have to show face or scream.

Yet we women got things to do, we faster wanna finish it.

hey u mummies dont misunderstand that i am boasting hor..

i just trying to tell u guys that all of us try to be the best...

some feel that they too tired, no help from hubby, do alot etc..

can think of me...cos u guys are not alone...

i am doing all those stuff alone too...

so lets jia you together ok!

L3X: haha...i heart tiger and elephant brand... both never make me disappointed..

the thermal pot i am using is tiger brand those big type (think $200+)

but its a good investment. my MIL bought it for me though..

i know thermos got a smaller one called shuttle chef..

anyone use it before??

2Ks,

Pei fu! That's y i can nvr imagine how to cope if got 2 kids as 1 kids only, weekday got my mum & maid, weekend got in law, just 1 baby, I need 4 helper, so if got 2 kids, think I need 8 helpers.

Airmez,

Why men all the same. Ask them do things, they can nob their head but the butt still not move yet and still continue their TV. My HB can sit beside baby and baby crying and yet he can continue playing his iphone till I have to show face or scream.

Yet we women got things to do, we faster wanna finish it.

airmez: i was like u when i have kyler...i die die must finished the things. and if the things i cant complete it, i will get pissed off and throw temper..

but slowly i realized, having the little ones means i cant go according to my schedule, there are alot of unforeseen happenings that will disrupt my schedule/plan..

so if i get disrupted i get pissed and things cant even be done and everyone not happy...

so i turn around and change my thinking,

now is can do, i do, cant do, i do it another day..

Panda hut: I burst out laughing on ur 4-8 helpers comment. Sama-sama.

Make me sibei paiseh to share my typical evening after work.

7:30pm - reach home

730 to 815 - eat dinner

815 to 845 - bathe and blow dry hair

845 to 9 - lament abt hair loss <sob>

9 to 930 - play w bb

930 to 10 - me time

10 to 1030 - pump and sterilize bottles

1030 to 1115 - me time again

Zzzzzzz....

Wah lau eh, sibei relak sia! I love my mum and maid!!!

Airmez,

hahaha!!! My bro told me his ratio is 1baby:2adult and his is twins so he need 4adult, thus he got 2 maids. My ratio is 1:4. Jialat hor.

For me, coz I can go work late, so

7+am - bb wake up, my mum feed & play w him

9am - I wake up, bath bb

10am - go work

7pm-reach home, I makan while maid feed & clean up bb

8pm - I shower, then play play w bb b4 he zzzzz

8+pm - watch TV while my mum put him to zzz then "me time" all the way till I zzzz around 10+.

Mon to Wed - I night duty

Thur, Fri - HB night duty

Sat, Sun - In-laws night duty