(2011/03) Mar 2011

Lailai, u also have someone elder to help u coax Bb, not bad.. My boy just cried again.. Latch him one side then changed side n he fussy n cried n screamed until my mum woke up n carried him away again... Tonight is another nightmare.. But luckily I not so sleepy so can tong...

Yes, if pump in car I will wear nursing shawl.. Must wear la, if not how to pump in car? No free show for ppl! Haha... So far i only pumped once in car coz that one really overshot.. Drag till 6 hrs, bursting Liao so Bo bian pump in car while on our journey back home.

My boy also always fart n same loh, sometimes the fart sound is poo, sometimes is just fart.. The poo also can be very massive or little bit.. I think all newborn always fart??

Pixie, ok, so nect time I can look for cue too. I know is normal for Bb to cry but when he cries very attract attention leh, so paiseh if dun faster pacify him...

Wa I dun dare to imagine 8-9hrs no pump no latch the breast will be like what.. 6 hrs I already bth Liao... Hard as rock... Dun dare to try 8/9 hrs... When I know I going out long I always prepare my pump to bring out n leave in car. Anytime need to pump just hop onto car n do it! Hehe... But if got Bb, Hubby cannot drive loh, must carry Bb n wait for me to pump finish then can start car. Imagine the no. Of things need to bring just to go out?? Phew!

Tres, same here! When he can't latch well n always fuss when latching I really thought of exclusive pump n just bottle feed ebm but dun bear to give up latching him. When at times he good mood n latches well until satisfy n fall asleep I really feel great n content with him too. Although pumping n feed ebm also bm but latching is really a different feeling. Haiz.. So I also worry if latch at outside dunno he will fuss anot..

My mum says my boy got wind in tummy that's why uncomfortable n cannot sleep! She says haven't full month must always wrap his tummy double layer. But my Hubby always think Bb hot!

I remember seeing some mummies mentioned abt "Ridwind" from guardiance. Is it really effective? Can give to infant less than a month old anot?

Milk tea ... My pd never say it's normal for young bb etc .. Just prescribe me 2 drops to use alternately

My one is more like runnin nose leh .. Once sneeze . It all come out .. So i tot pass by the bro coz he was having running nose tt time

I also ever tot of videoing the breathing .. But if the pd all not tt concern I guess it will outgrow

For me I have experience both with ebm

N latch outside n frankly if I can choose I prefer to latch

I took ebm outside coz #1 wouldn't latch until month 2-3

So I really hated to bring so many things out like go picnic .. Then the same time worry the breasts not clearing if out long time

At month 2-3 my #1 was slowly train to latch so I ha confident he will latch any where any time I was so happy I don't have to bring so Many things out n wait for milk to warm so I vow to never give bottle to my girl till she latch well ..

So far i latch the girl for my 2-3 out

Tt day when marina bay sands.. I just sat on those bench.. Nursing cover then latch .. 10min done . Just need to look for a nursing room if not Bench will do

Then I went office tt day @raffles place ... Coz it's quite packed n I don't recall where has empty Bench unless I go restaurant etc so I did in car since I am gg home too

I went sq 2 ... Dun have a single nursing room n no seat for tired shopper .. Damn lousy .. Luckily I found a bench chair left by a push cart owner so I did there .. Tt the most lousy place if not suay suay stil got seat for shopper lor

For tt I was out from 1-5 pm .. Latch once at 3pm

I realise if on the move ie shopping.. Either sling or stroller .. On motion they tend to sleep longer .. So latch should be able to tahan 2-3 hrs .. I think at home shorter coz not in motion lor

I have been doing exclusive pumping.. So far Pumped once outside when brought bb for pd check.. At mt a bfing room where hb brought bb n seated with me till k done with my pumping.. Now go out bb got 1 barang barang bag n mummy got my medela one to carry.. Really alot of things compared to those latch on de.. Even when I just finish pumping n knowing that inammgoing out, dunno leh, will only feel secure when I bring my pump out.. Next week bb shower heng is do at home n can pump anytime! Think I addicted to pumping sia! Just know open fridge saw my ss like just nice for bb intake for e day plus 1 surplus pack, I panicked a little.. Cos yest Missed 1 4-hrly pumped n ended up drGged to 7 hours due to food intake lah ( mum cooked soup w alcohol than alcohol still damn strong).. Heng my output for that pump managed to exceed usual pump Amt. Usually middle if nite will do last pump at 1am than sleep thru.. But cos scared not enuf ss for bb, am up now Pumping! My mum can tell me 'still have milk to drink, pumP later lah'..

Baby bride according to books latching is

More effective than any pump in the world unless the latch is wrong .. But if latching correctly .. It's should clear more than pump for same amt of time etc

First indicator for milk intake thru latch

How often poo n pee. The best indicator is weight gain

So long when u visit pd he wil chart growth n never say much abt weight gain etc means it's ok means bb isndrinking well

Fullness of breast is no indicator of how much bb is drinking

U can go kellymom.com to surf ard .. Its has the best breast feeding info

For my girl she is on 90% latch .. She gain 1 kg from birth weight in 1 month ... Nurse say her weight gain is good

U can refer to this chart as well

http://www.kellymom.com/babyconcerns/growth/weight-gain-metric.html

Thanks, Jamie. I also initially thought latch outside is the best! No need bring so many things n pump outside n Bb can act as our pump to have us release our breast, so one stone kills many birds! But really dunno Bb will willing to latch cooperatively outside anot. Must try once then can determine my Bb pattern. But I agreed with u, when Bb on motion like even when u carry them in hands or stroller, Bb can sleep longer than at home! Coz when we brought my boy to see doctor those few occasions, my CL hand carried Bb n he nv wake up until we put him down on bed where doctor checked him physically. He can sleep really well.

Allets, I also like u leh.. I very paranoid.. Feel more secure to bring my whole tote bag of freestyle pump out if I go out. Coz scare miss timing can pump in car. Dare not risk to skip pumping n let breasts engorged.

Eh..so far I've been latching my boy outside & the only public area we've been to is raffles hospital. I also use shawl to cover & just walk around like that lor...can keep him quiet & sleepy...hee...Can't wait for the pupsik poncho to arrive!

Fel: I bring my own thermal flask then I put hot water, by a couple of hours the water not so hot le, otherwise I just add abit of tap water or whatsoever lor..

Anyway at home I not using those electric pot for water so my water not 100degrees one

lai_lai, given u access... go my profile can see liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tres: that's the prob with latching lor... Latch awhile sleep.. Our neh neh really got sleeping pill effect like what fel said..

That's why I prefer to bring ebm out to feed. Like that he sure tong 2 hours lor

Annie: u get used to the bb crying when u r outside... Dun worry... Kekeke..

Even now kyler at 27 months, when he go out still got Barangs to bring, just smaller nia..

Kids... Haiz..

jaime

envy u leh, even if i latch my gal now, she only drink maybe 80% of her supposed intake...an hr later, she will eh eh eh again for milk...like that how to tahan outside? thats why like 2ks, i have to resort to ebm, sure full and sleep longer with the rocking motion of the sling

annie, allets

i go out never need to pump....even if its 3hrly, just pump before u go out...3-3.5hrs outside is a nice number to start off with....dun need to bring pump out bah?

Annie> talking abt experienced mummies why no latch outside?? Me me me!! I latch EVERYWHERE!!

Jaime says so long got seat can latch...

Rach says.. So long got nursing poncho/cOver can latch!!! I can latch and shop ard NTUC.... As long got poncho to cover... I cradle and latch and walk and shop and talk... Sometimes one hand can still use hp... (for Rayanne time).

Now havent go out that long yet... But still do able....

I also latched and push stroller inside cold storage alone okie.....

Im the lazy mummy who latch everywhere & everytime...

I think I only brought ebm out Once or twice during RY time...

First few months didn't know...

But I brought the milk out and back... Cuz end up I latch....

U latch, no need pump, milk, flasks etc...

If u all looking for THERMOS, I can get it from local supplier... Good rates.... Need moq 30.

We just need to start collating... Waiting time depends on when we can hit 30... Unless u all wanna get flask plus foogo food jar...(for keeping porridge warm when they start solids ard 6mos..) Then we prob need 15mummies, 2 each.. Can hit moq Liaoz..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Milktea> my Fm I Nv keep Longer than 1hr also... Heard alot bacteria de.... Warm environment is where bacteria thrives...

Hence ANNIE, not advisable to warm ebm and bring out.. So risky... Thats why food stays fresher in the fridge... Same theory....

Mmmmm... Dunno if I miss out any other posts....

Blueroti> if u wan ml contact, pm me... I just posted last Friday on one...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

She's only available every Friday to do...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies, I'm running a fever and took panadol. Can I still breastfeed - latch or ebm? Tks tks!

Sigh... Hopefully I can recover fast. This is the 2nd time i'm sick since delivery.

Rach one level higher than me .. Movim also

Can latch ... Li hai

My slinging skill stil very lousy

.. To me is rocket science man .. Til I master tt I don't dare to latch on the move

Waiting for the outing in mid apr so tt I can learn from the expert like rach

Jaime> haha thanks... I'm lazy so I gotta find ways... Last time only me n rayanne... So gotta manage....

I go bugis mrt always latch inside cold storage... Cuz I dunno where's the nursing room and by the time I reach RY also crying for milk already... So just walk into cold storage.. Put on poncho and latch at the baby corner.. Pretending to look at baby food and milk powder etc... Lol...

In mrt if baby hungry also just take out poncho and latch...

Sometimes while standing and ppl will offer seats when they see me so Xin ku carry bag and latch etc... Hahaha...

To me the beauty of latching is convenience and anytime...

No need worry suddenly no hot water how to make fm or warm ebm...

Of cuz not all mummies can afford to do it cuz need go back work.. But still ok de... In cars also can... Weekends when u go out... Save alot of hassle... Already alot of things to bring lo.. Lol...

Hmm..... Guess iwill bring bb out after confinement n see what works best!!!

Xenia, I think can lah, pupsilk is meant for 0 mths bb too right??

Zenia> beauty of pouches/slings is can be used frm

NB.... Put the baby inside cradle carry.. Baby so close to u... And sleeps very well.. Human sarong.. RY last time can Ko the moment I put her in till I reach home.. 3 hrs no wake up.. Shiokness for me.. Handsfree and fuss free..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

any one who is a FTWM who is like latching 80-90% of the time? wanna find out...how many times can pump...sometimmes i worry pump oredi..bb wanna latch but quite empty...

wanna create supply n ask boobies to work harder..but also not to oversupply as well lar..ie create 1-2 extra feed (ie 1 milk bag) day for storage i am happy liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jaime

at home i also latch while doing tasks...i latch with my left hand, cradle hold, and right hand i can feed my #1 or shower my #1....do-able one de!!

practise at home then go out is a breeze lo

Jaime - ME lor... I latch 100% day n night... Day time i can dont pump, but night time need to pump before sleep and once during middle of night.. (after i feed baby)

Can have around 150-200ml surplus...

But hor, cos im intending to send my boy to IFC, so wanna up supply (kiasu also la, scare later supply stagnant and cannot catch up since they say first six weeks is important if wanna up supply), so since yesterday, i've been pumping out my milk four hourly, fed him those that i pump via bottles...But in between he cry i still latch on la... So that boobie that i latch on, will have lesser milk at next pump lor...

Today im feeding him frozen EBM that i thawed..

Pixie/2k - Ask u ah...

When you feed your baby frozen EBM, do you give 100% thawed EBM or do u mix with chilled "fresh" one?

fel

i think 2ks give a mix...my #1 can accept 100% thawed ebm....so i alwaus give thawed ones

must see if your bb rejects the metallic taste

Jaster: I normally plc bb on my chest n burp him aft feed n den aft sometime I'll jus hold his face n plc him dwn on the mattress .. Haha, dono hw to explain leh..

Pixie: I'm v scared of tt too when I place Jay lying face dwn n

slp.. But tts e only way he will slp.. If I plc him jus lying on his back, he'll nt slp n cry.. I suspect he has some phlegm too.. Thus can't slp well n throw up milk.. If nt I'll let him slo in rocker, slightly propped up n he slps well this way.. Sigh! I always jus jump up while aslp n quickly chk if his nose is blocked or nt..

I'm nw in Jav cc, his first day at sch today.. Lucky my hb off today, thus let him look aft Jay.. Jav refused to come in initially like knowing we going to leave him here, but managed to bluff him in n he's so far ok, no crying yet.. But I do hear him making noise..... I was walking him here jus nw, hands in hands n I felt tears welling up in my eyes.. So sad n can't bear to leave him here... Sobbb.. Hopefully he's able to settle dwn n nt gif any prob esp tmr my hb going to work n I haf to send him dwn w Jay..

Pixie - two more questions...

Let's say i calculate my boy would need around 800ml of milk for 24 hrs...

Do i bring down all three milk bags from freezer at same time.?

Or maybe do few hours apart?

Since one bag can sustain about three feeds? How do you do it?

What the maximum amount of milk do you store in Lansinoh milk bag?

Rach

My first Boy I mostly ebm. When out have to ask for hot water etc n a lot of things to bring.

Now with 2nd boy, seems like I prefer latch on. Must b after 5 years I'm lazy to carry so many things, even pumping I'm a bit lazy hahaha warm up ebm also I've been quite impatient .

Only thing is I dun have a lot of bf clothes. So now I'm wondering wat to do when I start going out. Cuz bf clothes r easier rite?

Mummies who r bfding

- do u use breast pads all the time?

Butter - yes... I wear breast pad all the time.. now is still disposable one... planning to change to non disposable one when my next pigeon box finish...

fel..tks for info

i do try to pump b4 sleep

but middle of nite too slzepy to pump

coz bb wake up , latch burp sleep then i also sleep ..all done in 10-15 min.. if pump i need to spend another 15-20 min

hmmm must find another opening to pump where can yield a far besides asking boobies to work harder

sometimese my girl will release latch coz she squirm here there if outside using sling quite dangerlous.. later expose

now i also latch one hand type one hand on laptop...

Hi mommies, sorry to disturb

L'OREAL Cosmetics is having private sale 70% OFF. Ends this saturday! Ranging from lipsticks, eyeshadow, make up set, eyeliners, mascara, etc from as low as $9.90

I want to order but have delivery charges. So any mommies here interested to order 2gether? I can post the items to u for free if not too bulky.

I posted the brochures here if u want to see the sale items:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/57349653@N03

(copy and paste the whole link)

Delivery time will take abt 7-21 days. Please email [email protected] if keen. I want to order asap coz some items already sold out. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

butter8 same as me

my boy on ebm.i got no bf clothes..onnly a few nursing bra also never use much during his time..

now i bgt 2 BSS, 3 nursing tank all spaghetti strap so tt can wear also when no longer b/f..maternal love got very nice nursing top which can be normal wear as well..

but sometimes i wear tube wiht strapless bra..i just pull one breast out n cover with nursing cover lor

if got nursing room like united sq.. dont even need nursing cover or nursing top...

i never use breast pad since #1..at home leak abibt lar...outside leak into the bra abit..but not much..so no need

Fel: I give a bit of frozen bm and fresh ones..

I think if one whole day feed it doesn't matter whether u bring down all together of difference of few hours la.. Trust me, u might forget to bring down if u break it up.. We tend to be more forgetful nowadays..

Butter8, I wear breast pads all the time, I dun want to risk leaking lor...

Thermos

getting from local distributor... So basically u can search

Www.thermos.com and let me know specifically what u want..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Most are available unless some models maybe phase out or oos...

Foogo food jar very popular even till now cuz it's the only jar that's BPA FREE for baby food...

Maybe if someone is free and keen, and search out which thermos flask is better.. Cuz I have no idea...

Then maybe the rest of mummies will follow suit and get that model...

Butter> yah Lo.. Very hassle to bring so many things.. Lol...

PUPSIK POUCH

laUnching new designs in May... Interested mummies can wait for new designs..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lilprecious: first day they usually ok cos u still around, it's the next few weeks that is jialat! Cries and hug and we feel so sad.. But it's really Bo Bian.. He go cc u can handle better really..

Wah Rach, u really steady man! Can latch n shop at the same time!

I envy like siao! I stopped latching since baby hospitalised for jaundice

N hv been pumping coz i want to keep track of his milk intake to ensure he is

Not dehydrated - coz PD said baby was dehydrated when admitted.

Yday tried letting hm latch on but less than a min, he looked like

He was choking! So i stopped n went back to pumping.

Will PM you for ML's no. Thanks!

At 3am this morning, after pumping, i spent 1.5 hrs trying to

Clear my lumps. Duno y more lumps last nite - mayb coz of the fish i ate so more

Milk produced?

Re: breast pads - i used them every day (when i had my no.) 1 went back to work

Coz scared leak n stained my top.

For warming of EBM outside for my no. 1, i would bring along a container bigger

Than thermal flask cup or depending whr we go, i would ask for a bowl n hot

Water fr the eatery or restaurant for warming up the milk. I was using der brown bottles

So thermal cup too tiny. So yes, we would bring thermal flask w hot water, bottle with room temp water, FTG

To hold EBM etc.

fel

for me ah, i bring the whole day feed kind...

i bring down every night for the next day. if in the afternoon i realised out of stock soon, i will bring down another pkt quickly...everything play by ear

i store max amount in the milkbags...ard 300ml+ per bag

eh mummies

i have lots of febm....i have no space....i wanna donate......

it may be going to be a messy affair if i do the above, sure get thousands of pms but better than throw away mah...

however i need a token of appreciation lah, for the steriliztion, washing, soap, water, milkbag, electricity, efforts blah blah

lemme think about it how to go about doing this? first come first serve? limit to 2bags per mummy? errrr *scratch head*

rach

i got your mail, thank you very much, you really shouldnt have!! i still scratch head why u send me?? heeheee

btw, your poncho for bfding/latching outside is which brand one ah? coz i see a lot of nursing shawl cover the front...i wanna pull up my top, i need a 100% coverage kind of cloth that covers front & back

breast feeding on the go or doing something??? :p me no standard yet.. I blur blur just sit on bed with pillows and feed. At most I just iphone only/watch tv/ listen radio. only a few times I walk out to living room and sit at sofa with a shawl to cover. I know I haven't master the art of moving with out exposing myself.

jaime,

I have a few bf bra, 2 nursing spagetti tops, 1 nursing top and 2 dresses.

I never thot of the tube idea - so silly thats a good idea.

bluroti

wow you are so hardworking in the middle of nite. last nite I slept thru from 1-530am... wake up waiting for baby to wake to latch lol...think my milk bursting out until he vomit a bit. bad mummy

breast pad,

I cant dun put... my one side sure leak alot when BF ... very funny...

I just felt like my breast so cooped up all the time.. cuz all the clothes a bit tight cuz I never had such big boobs. :p blah...

plus stuff the padding like so big.

I guess no choice for now...

after how long will our breast kind of adjust? will they change a bit of size too?

Rach,

I'm going out today to PD without pupsik boo hoo... thats why no choice have to order from u the older design first... will u get delivery today? *crossing fingers and hoping** [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I also soooo need a poncho...

actually your bb aulait one has the most coverage hor...hmmmm now thinking of buying more..hehehe

Fel: the bag very nice!!! I want too!!

Annie: ridwind according to my pd I'd most effective if given halfway thru thr feed.. It's herbal n not medication so I do use it. Results seen quite fast.. Tummy will feel softer n Bb will burp n fart alot.

If Bb is choking when u latch, u could hv an overactive let down.. I hv same issue.. just manually squeeze out some milk first then lAtch.. Should b better..

Waiting for my new CL to come lo. Hubby today around took a day leave to help out but really help out??? Haha!!!

Feeding!!

I didn't pump till now.. Today is day 9. Purely latching only. Bb drinking every 2hr plus minus lo. Been doing since back from hospital n recent bb check up at PD gain 300g+ within a week so I guess she getting enough fats from my milk.

I still have no signs of serious engorged so I just leave it. I ask PD about latching n pumping. He told me frankly latching is e best. Bb gets all e hind milk n thick milk which consisted of fats n better nutrients directly goes to bb but not ebm which is all mixed together. I found an article from Internet about breastmilk n breastfeeding n indeed talk about this. Usually expressing out breastmilk partly is to reduce e engorgement. Though nutrients not as much better than direct latch but still ok for bb.

This round I not very hardworking to pumP n stimulate lo. When my gals around, the more I have to try give them my attention! Tiring...

halo butter8

i dun have a choice but to massage since there's no ML in sight to relieve me of the pain. but in the end, was so tired that i missed my next 3-hrly pump n only woke up 4 hrs later!