(2011/03) Mar 2011

My baby got admitted cos of jaundice but pd is confident she can be discharged tml. But can't help crying whenever I tink tt she's in the hospital alone. Now regret didn't stay in hospital with her. Am I a bad mummy?

Now tt she's in the hospital, got to feed her formula milk. My bad again.. Jus hope she'll be out tml so I can continue breastfeed her.

Sorry to rant here but I feel so bad now..

.. My ss seems to be decreasing even though I pump every 3 hours.. Now 3 hrly only can get combined of 100ml..haiz..'also dunno wat's wrong leh.. Than pump Liao breast like not empty totally ..arrgh.. So fan!

Hi Mummies!!

2Ks - I've got a place at the 350b IFC liao!!! Yeahh!!! Finally can rest my mind, phew... So I will see Kiefer there =) This is so far the best news during my confinement period lol....

Those in SBW looking for IFC, so far Cherie Hearts revert that they still have slot. Total care of bb is 14 and the ratio is 1:3... currently having promo, after subsidies fees payable is $700.

Fel: so baby cry and make noise we just ignore? But if middle of the night if I let her cry, den she will wake the house up, like tat how?

Btw, su he san is wad? I only had 1 session of massage, cox my mil say massage not much use wan. Then the ml tat I used only spent like 5 mins rubbing my womb area, rest of the massage was other body parts, like defeating my purpose lor.

Xiaofeizhu: really?? Good that kiefer has friend already.. But then hv u went to take alook at the venue? It's not as nice as others u know... Very small and it's together with the toddlers..

But it's the cheapest among all in sbw.. Kiefer is entitled to $40 sibling discount..

L3x: both my sons cleared of jaundice so I don't know how u prob feel..

But dun worry bb is in good hands of the nurses in the hospital.. She must recover then go home Ma rather at home u also dunno how to handle her jaundice right..

For couple of feeds fm doesn't really matter really, they won't forget your bm and your smell de..

Take it easy alright? Crying is not good for the eyes

Thx 2ks.. I also thot she cleared of jaundice when I discharged aft delivery. But today's chk up showed tt she has jaundice thou not dangerous level. But leaving her was so hard.

Fwah... Those on my fb will know how RL got the shock of her life today...

We reached AMK hub wanna go NTUC.. at the car park setting up the stroller, helper & CL had plenty barang like diapers for RY & RL.. Bottles of drinks for themselves & me...

And hung everything on the WTP stroller.. Then we put RL in...

Then I took out pillow in the boot wanted to put at the sides of the stroller cuz it looked so empty with a small RL inside...

CL walked towards me, helper also dunno for what reason walked towards me.. Stroller was just 1m from the car boot...

Lo N behold, stroller fell backwards... I was facing stroller and both of them facing me.. I shouted, both looked back...

CL fast enough to grab stroller and carried RL out...

While helper still wondering what happened and she was the nearest to stroller and could have hold it up if she was fast/alert enough....

RL was sleeping and woke up shocked and crying..

Hb was 2m away and walking off when he heard the commotion N he screamed at us.. Nobody in particular...

Then I took over RL.. Hubby stormed off.. And I walked off too..

CL & helper followed behind...

Later CL told me helper wept.. She must have the shock of her life too.. Probably wondering if that's the end of her job...we haven't exactly said anything to her regarding this...

But we intend to talk to her after CL leaves...

With CL ard, she had good life for 28days doing nothing much except play with RY n minimum housework...

Sigh... So heartpain...

But lesson learnt and reminder to us..

Never hang heavy stuffs on the handle of strollers!! Esp when we are carrying NB inside..

Never happened to RY before but we were using Capella then.. Big n sturdy Mercedes... Now this lightweight stroller we took for granted... Sigh...

Oh while typing this, RY finished her milk and KO!! hehe.. Good good... Now left RL to latch and sleep..

One full month party so eventful..

Not to mention the scratches on rental car that I had to pay for damages... Sigh... AP received also not enough to cover for yest's expenses.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Fel: I always tot I'm the only 'zek ark' one.. Cos Jav slp in yaolan fr first mth, den I took him off completely.. N on cot, he cries v badly.. So I leave him alone to cry too.. N my pil n parents say I'm v bad always leaving him to cry n slp.. But both me n my hb have e same thinking as u.. If keep carrying, patting, rocking will become habit.. N next time xin ku is us..

I'm actually doing e same for Jayien nw too.. He actually cries n screams till no voice.. Same as Jav.. Still trying to figure out if there's any other way out.. But seems tt we jus gotta b hard hearted in order for things to work out nicely..

But funnily, Jav wants ppl to accompany him to slp, no patting no nth.. Jus wants someone beside him n he'll fall aslp himself..

L3x,

Physiological jaundice usually peaks at about day 7, so it's not uncommon. My bb also just discharged yesterday (day 5) for jaundice. I know how you feel to leave bb in hospital. Meanwhile just pump diligently & rest more.

Mamy poko sales??

who was saying where have sales??

Went NTUC today dun have leh...

Bought 1xS for night wear...

And bought 1x S pet pet also... 48pieces think enough to last till she outgrow and use M ba... Have 4x M pet pet to standby Liaoz...That's 320 pieces can last 6-8weeks ba...

L3x: I know how u feel.. Very heartache also when doc says need to admit RL and I stood outside nursery also wept.. While she cries her lungs out...thank God she was cleared very soon...

Baby will be fine soon... Dun cry okie... I teared a bit then tell myself dun be silly.. Very common... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

L3x

Dont be too hard on yourself. I can understand how u

Feel coz my baby was also hospitalized for serious jaundice 2 wks ago. I really felt empty when he wasn't home w us that

Few days n teared when I visited him the 1st nite. I asked PD

If I could stay with him n she said no coz ache noticed those who do, babies tend to stay longer too. N don't worry, your baby is in the nurses' good hands. N it's ok to give baby FM

coz it helps to keep them hydrated n get them to pee, poo n in that way, the bilirum is also excreted n they will be rid of jaundice faster. So try not to cry but think positive. Your baby will be back with u soon!

Hey rach

Hope your baby is ok. Take care!

Btw L3x

U can call the nursery to let them know u want

To BF your baby.just ask them what is the feeding time

For tomorrow morning n tell them not yo feed baby as u r going to BF her.

Lx3

I have been through it too. Lucas was warded with a jaundice level of 21. Was v serious and pd said to be warded at least three days. I told the nurse to give him full fm ( he was on total bm since birth), I didn't stay with him too. He managed to recover quickly and discharged on the 3rd day.

It's tough not to cry but really you need to stay calm for baby. it's not good for your eyes, will Lao hua next time hor.

Rach: the sales for mamy poko think ends last thurs.. Usually any ntuc sales last one week.. Unless baby fair or what. Check out the straits times every thurs

Thx mummies.. So many of u went thru it n are so brave. Yah, will be strong too n try not to tear again.

Rach, hope raylynn is ok n not shocked by the incident. Mummies are really wei da. I must evolve to b 1 wei da mummy too..

L3x- dun worry, ur bb will be fine.. my was admitted last mon after her pd Check also for jaundice.. 24 hours phototherapy.. Wat we did was hb sent my Ebm to hosp n the nurses fed her with my Ebm.. If ur bm not sufficient, nurses Wil just top up with fm..'dun worry so much k.. Ur bb is in good hands..'just think of it this way, in hosp, bb receive e best possible treatment n she will be cleared of jaundice faster than us tanning e bb ourself..my pd initially told me bb need to be warded for 48 hours but hosp called after 1 day n said can discharge.. Look at it from a better side, e next time u see bb, she is all ready to go home! Cheer up k!

L3x, I've been through de same, heart felt so pain when Bb has to admitted for jaundice. Felt so sorry to Bb. Pls be calm as this is common 4 most of de Bb.

Jester, I hav a big tummy like 3-4 mths preggies. M on c-sect 2, 20 days after delivery. I m starting massage tmrw as de ml said she won't touch de belly button n below area (wound). Will try n c how. Mainly to massage breast n back.

L3x - same here, my girl was 22, 3 days. Can't afford to stay, plus kinda pointless. I pumped and my husband sent in the am, then I go n feed her at 12, 3pm n spend time with her, gave her half BM n half FM cos the light therapy makes them drink more.

It'll be ok.

L3x, same same. I was very sad and teared in front of the nurses when my bb had to be warded 24 hours for phototherapy. Don't worry. Your bb is in safe hands! I pumped in the hospital immediately and twice at night so that my hubby could deliver my ebm in the morning for him. Thank goodness he was discharged the very next day!

Don't worry okay? He will be fine.

leon,

my bb is 5day old. i also pump out now, output ard 60ml at the moment per pump 3 to 3.5 hourly. so i guess its around the same as urs. i also resist the idea of FM but gave in in the end when my ss is not adequate at times.

maybe we should not be so hard on ourselves and i learn to 'see open' from the mummies advice here..cos in our heart, we know we did whatever we can for bb rite.

Rach: hope Raylynns feeling ok now.. Luckily yr CL was quick to react.. !

Ok I'm gonna start Jay on slping programme.. haha. Hopefully he can slp more n more each night without much crying.. pretty hrtpain to want him go thru same thing as korkor.. But well, long term is more impt. Hee

Spyria

Wow that's not bad too me.

I've questions on pump n yield too:

I just found my breast feeling very full so I decided to try pumping before sleep. I pumped for 20 mins n I got ..... 20-30 ml.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] is this an indicator of how much my Bb gets? If so it explains why he gets hungry really fast or needs top up at times.

Just had my massage today n my ml say I'm a bit dehydrated n I'm not getting enough water.

Could b one cause to my low milk rite?

Guess tomorro I will up my drinking n also try the milkmaid tea [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

In the mean while I'm ok to top up w fm. An tho my Bb jaundice level ok on day 3 he seems to look more yellow today. We r at day 6 now. He too not getting enough fluid from me.

Thanks to this forum to keep me sane n cool thru out the pregnancy n birth [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

N oh what do I do w 20 ml of ebm? Keep in fridge n warm up for Bb tomorro n top up again? So pathetic

think mamy poko got salaes in cold storage...i saw just now....2 packs for $30.85 (small packing, s size 48 pcs..)

NTUC pet pet 2 packs $31.85....

Hi Leon,

Yeah ... don't stress but do remember to still try to latch feed ur baby at least once everyday if u intend to do latch-on feeding... cos sucking from breast is slower than sucking from bottle hence there is a possibility that baby may "prefer" bottle teats than nipple.. however if u intend to feed baby EBM then I think should be ok

Rach

Wah that must b scary for u n prob even more scary for maid. But I find it's common for maid to do this, prob after this she will never make the same mistake again.

Pinkypink

Yup will do that tomorro. Prob my breast also sore from today's massage. Soooon painful.. Usually I love massages but not the first 2 times of post natal .. Definately not relaxing

butter,

i didnt really latch much dats y i got this output? if i latch, its only 8-10mins on left breast.

and i gather tipz from the mummies here like how to do it and so my method now is, massage and hot compress for abt 5-10mins for both side. then pump 12-15mins, stop, briefly massage again and pump for 8-10mins.

i jus started using this method and i see an improvement ..maybe u can try it out?

Belinda - im referring to let baby cry to sleep only, when it's time and baby due for sleep.

E.g.Evening to night time... Diapers changed, feeding done and baby fall asleep at breast, so i put him back at cot... Then he will wake up crying wanting to be carried, then i have to be hard hearted and let baby cry 5-7/8 mins then i will go attend to him... I also feel very heartpain when i see my baby cry until like that, but no choice lei...

Lucky we live by ourselves, no parents or ILs to interfere la..

Like today i had a hard time seeing him cry himself to sleep, no matter how i let him cry, he wouldn't fall asleep by himself, ( my poor baby is kind of sick also la), so no choice, always use the ultimate method, latch him lying down on my bed (god knows why that always work, he KO immediately), so i let him sleep a bit more soundly (not a very good idea but i'm kinda desperate liao) then i bring him back to his cot lor...

Sigh... Belinda, it's really easier said than done... I'm also still trying...learning... Really not easy, sometimes i also wanna pull my own hair out also..

But night time (10pm -6am), my boy usually cry for feed only... I will change diaper and feed n burp him and put him back to his cot... More often than not, he is more than happy to drift back to his dream land...

I don't know why, maybe cos i don't on the light, only on toilet light when change diaper, after that i feed him with only my laptop light.. but he is awake, but after taking the neh neh aka the sleeping pill, he will sleep lei... *keep fingers crossed for good*

Lilprecious - Yeah... Sian, it's not easy.... But lucky my hubby agree to same "method" as me...

We always look forward to the crying when like battery gonna flat liao... Haha... Means he cry till tired and gonna stop... =)

Waaa today nobody wakes up to pump/latch? I m Sooo tired kept tellin myself half hr more then pump n so half hr drag n drag then latch then drag til now.. Sigh lazy mummy..mow pumpin but miserable amt again

I just finish pumping,woke up at 3 and pumped too.guess all mummies are too lazy to post liao,after pump straight away KO. Sigh not easy to be a mother le

Haha... I woke up few times last night, cos Eden kept crying.. Then i saw no new post, thought forum down or what... haha...

Wanna ask you mummies, for those on TBF your babies...

Do you clean your baby's tongue? Cos got the "white white" residue milk?

My grand mother in law (she's nice la), keep asking me to feed baby water to clean his tongue la...

But my baby don't really like to drink water lei...

2k - Ask you ah

When you send Kyler to IFC, how you bring your EBM there?

You need to pour all into bottles and transport there daily? Then the teachers will just heat up the bottles?

Or you give them milk bags?

How much you bring there everyday at 3.5 months?

Cham la... Now i kinda panic liao... 2.5 more months i need to go back to work la... ONly got 10 packets of milk in my freezer, been trying NOT TO STORE milk for past week... haha...

Now panic liao... Need to up my supply.. Scare cannot increase later or cannot match his growth spurt later on...

My pumping time has finally stabilized at 12/1am & 5/6am so you won't see me during wee hours anymore...finally can catch some sleep after 2 weeks of hard work...to the rest of the mummies, jiayou wor! =D

Fel, I rem Rach posted something about feeding bb with water is unnecessary esp if u r breastfeeding...

Lai lai, how you establish your pumping tIme???

Me also pump around 3 am.. But was reading the previous posts , hene no post hahahaahha...

Fel,

I clean bb tongue when I shower him... I use the corner of clothes napkin to put into bb mouth n wipe.

I'm not sure abt IFC, but last time I pump the bm into the avent via cup n bring it to nanny house. Each cup 1 feed n I usually will bring 1-2 feed extra in case bb need it. So, all the yield pump today will bring to nanny house. As long as ur pump yield per day is enough for bb intake, u no need to worry.

Babyhappie,

Binder meaning those meant to shrink tummy one rite? Not those bandage used after csect?

Aaa,

Ai yah… my mommy dun let me anyhow take medi… sian half… =(

Zenia,

Got ML le but waiting for gynae to say that I can start my massage… I gained like 20kg… I’ve lost about 12kg another 8kg to go… but seems like it’s so hard to lose the bal half… everyday weigh myself still the same.. and plus the tummy?!!! =( upset upset!! And that’s what I tot too… maybe cos I never latch… effect of slimming is even lesser???

Yean,

U mean we can start massage le?

fel,

i'll clean my bb's tongue like everyday wor... using the sterile gauze and cooled boiled water..

mommies,

Jovan is "gek-ing" every now and then... like want to shit but can't that kind... does that mean he's constipated (from the poo doesnt' seem like it) or could it be there's a lot of wind in him???

Fel: I used ftg to transport my ebm there. Usually IFC do not like milkbags cos transferring of ebm to bottles might have risk of contamination to them so they usually advice to store individual feeds into bottles for them.

I usually brings 3 feeds of ebm.. If your daily pumping is enough for 3 feeds then u dun hv to store now also ah.

Then u hv to prepare to label their hankies, bottles and stuff. And if u prefer to let bb use ru Yi oil etc all got to produce yourself. I think my first skool is using Kodomo range for bb bath. If u prefer to use your own brand then buy it and pads them.

Tres, initially I pump at 2hr interval on first week....so i gonna wake up at 12 midnight, 2am, 4am, 6am, etc...slowly I try 2-3 hr interval on 2nd week when blocked ducts are finally cleared..and now..I set at 1am/pm...5am/pm...9am/pm...will give myself an hr be4 or after the timing to pump...if happens to latch him..I will delay the pump time but will still pump or I'll be very xinku...

Fel, I think my MIL uses cotton wool & cool boiled water to clean the tongue.

2ks,

How u label the hankie?

I hate the labeled bottles. Ugly with my handwriting using marker on it leh... U know f there is any water proof sticker label around? I saw my girls classmate have but nit sure whr to gt it..

Hiw abt the pamper? Have to bring daily or I can leave the whole pky there?

Finally brought bb Shay for the 1st 6in1 jab. Decided to jab at pd since the cost is <50 as compare to gp. Only diff is to pay pd consultation for each visit.

But I think is ok to pay the consultation lar. Coz gp only jab n nvr do assessment for bb de. They don't even chk he's growing well n I remember they nvr even carry my bb lor.

Bb Shay is now 5.2kg Aka double his born weight (2.6kg). Pd said usually bb double the weight at 4-6 mths but Shay did it in 6wks. But I think if 5.2kg at 6mths is very small lor... Lucky he's on tbc else pd said must cut down milk intake (I feed 120ml 3 hrly, cut down from 120ml 2hrly)

Bb Shay is very brave, only aahhh 1-2 sound during the jab.. Today is 3rd day Liao n no fever... Yeah...

Thanks all mummies for concern.. RL is well and seemed okie... On the contrary, it's RY who was crying and screaming a few times in the nite like she had a scare in the day... >.<""

Sinmey> so u had 6in1 at 6weeks ah ??

Think I'll drag till 2 month...

Tot 6in1schedule is 2,4,6 mos?

2ks, wanna ask u..u huv yr scheduled pumping time rite...so u latch den pump or the other way round?

I tried the former & realized my breasts r usually too heavy & full to be latched on...too much letdown till my boy super Pek chek..all the milk dripped on his face...lol...

Sigh my baby merlion again.. I worried.. Goin to brin him to see doc.. Kkh say walk in wait long.. Sigh goto find a nearby pd liao but I worried.. Caz I gbs positive