(2011/03) Mar 2011

Icic.. If bb develop habits now can we still change them in their 2nd mth? My cl really spoil my bb. She's like the older days ah-ma who will fuss over the bb at the slightest sound.

Baby happie: try increasing your fluid input and food input..

U should c some increase..

St: to phrase out midnight feed is not u to decide leh.. It's bb and their tummy.. If they hungry still hv to drink then they can sleep peacefully...

I seen some bbs till 1yr old still wake up for milk..

Babyhappie - Can change one.. Not too late.. But you must have the determination lor... Hubby and you must agree together like how long to let baby cry then go and carry/reassure baby la, etc etc...

You also must be determined and can tahan baby crying/screaming etc lor... First few days sure difficult for baby to kick off the habit, but once baby get the hang of it and learns that "hmmm, no matter how long i cry, my mummy is not coming to pat, rock me to sleep, i shall not waste my energy crying anymore".

It's a learned thing... It's also how u inculcate to your baby...

Anyway it's always easier said than done... I'm still learning also... Haha...

How i know lei... Last time i work 3 yrs as a part time babysitter... I've seen a lot of families, how they put their babies to sleep and how they train them to sleep on their own... Mainly is all ang moh families, but they are very successful, thats why they can hire me n go dating in the evening, so they know their baby will be asleep n have no problem settling themself back to bed even if they do wake up (honestly they hardly do, all sleep thru the night one)...

I've also seen my fair share of local babies.... All the rocking, patting and etc... Those mummies wanna pull their hair botak... haha....

omg.. Such a long winded post..

Fel,

Agree with you our neh neh is sleeping pills! Haha! Mine latch n can sleep on my bed for 2hrs+ till next feed lo.

Yew yew, today is my Day 6. I give up pumping & purely latching. I felt extremely upset when I see drops n only 10-20ml. So I rather don see n time being latch any 2-3hrs as I judge from my bb mouth moving around searching :p

I come across from some articles. Pump may not yield what you want for a start, latch n e change of their nappies n poo will show your bb drinking your BM or just latching for comfort...

No matter how each bb differs...

Even now I m a 3rd time mummy, I will still gan cheong n v lost in all these.. As time goes we handle our bb, we know their style [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

then hor, my CL sleep late plus always cooks all these confinement food - ginger n all the bu tonic until she always like so HOT/heaty... n she bathe like at least 3 time a days to cool down one... so i tell her she can on the air-con so more comfy for her lor... but she don't want n tell me if NB baby sleep air-con then next time always must have air-con; cooling cooling then can sleep... so not good also... then me if weather not that bad... fan will do...

Fel, not long winded la.. It's valuable advice. I shall start training next week. With cl still around it's not gonna work. Sometimes I just let bb cry n distract myself by playing on my iPhone. But cl will come in n say Ai yoh y let the bb cry until lidat. Keep playing w ur phone how to take care of bb. -_-

i tried pumping for ten mins at night for every 3 hrs and get about 180ml, but like not enough for my boy as he sometimes wake up less than 2 hr for 100ml.

was wondering if i pump 15 min can increase supply? normally at 10min, like no milk alr

prettymimieyes,

You can increase supply by pumping more frequently & longer. I usually pump 20-30 min if I have time. Usually can get at least 2 letdowns.

pooh bear: i normally latch on in daytime, but now pump at night - wake up two times 230 and 5am to pump... v shack alr leh....wonder if my bb feed more at night or is same throughout the day as she also latches on me 2 hrly or more often

Mummies - Wanna ask those who put their babies or planning to put their bb in IFC

For FTWMs, we get $600 off the IFC fees right?

HOw much your pay after the $600 off???

I've a friend who vaccinate her child with the compulsory n all the other recommended vaccinations... cos she wanna the best for her child... then at age 2 her child is detected with autism n she suspect maybe she have "over vaccinate" him thus causing the autism...

her 2nd child she just go with the compulsory vaccination n the 2nd child is ok...

thinking of which; a baby below 1 yr old is so small n wt is less than 12kg... it is probably not a good idea to pump their little bodies with so much vaccination within a yr...

Hi fel,

Im planning to put my baby in IFC... saw one near my place which the ratio is like 1:1 or 1:2 ... after $600 subsidy for working mothers the fee is around $580...

my 1st maid taking care no. 1 n no 2 toddler...

also contemplating to get 2nd FDW to care for bb only... cost of maid= to cost of IFC

still considering...

but maid sometimes is a problem ...

Gosh.. I sense prob coming.. My ah Ma came n visit me n she said my face no colour looked pale cos lack of sleep.. Think she is trying to Psycho me to give fm n pump less so tat I can get enuf rest.. How?! Think my mum told her abt me waking up at nite to pump.. But can't be help rite? Wan give bb bm def must sacrifice de Ma.. To e older generation, they thought that even if u dun pump diligently, still will have milk de..to the them e 1 month confinement rest is most impt.. How. Wat should i do?

Hi foolin,

if u decide to delay the vaccination... (I've known a friend who do that to space out the vaccination) wat they do is they keep baby at home till baby is 9 month old... they only bring baby to nearby park or beach ... never to shopping mall ...of course eventually they still vaccinate their child... just that they delay till later date

Actually once the BF routine kicks-in... it is not difficult leh...

I direct latch-on during the day/noon, so I just clean both breast with cool boil water then go on to latch-on feed baby , I lay down on bed with baby and we doze off together then baby wake up i change side n then dose off together again... whole process is 2 hour and more than 1 hour im sleeping... Zzzz...

Luckily i my CL n hubby supportive of breastfeeding...

advantage of latch on feeding is baby get to taste the fore milk (more watery to quench taste) n the hind milk (more thick/fat to fill up baby) ... if pump out then the fore milk n hind milk all mix together ...

Allet - Just left ear in and right ear out?

I know should rest more.. But pumping doesn't really take a lot of time ma... By bb's full month, put on make up wont be pale already... haha...

Your ah ma not staying with you what... So it's ok??

treestar - thanks... yeah... FDW indeed can create more problem for us...

There's one ifc near my place, $535 after govt subsidy...

Fel: yes I like my first skool facilities and program.. But anywhere also depends on the teachers la..

U should go take a look at the place and talk to the teachers

Wondering What is Fdw? Also what's de long word for ss? Know it's related to milk flow qty, but not sure long word : p

Update on kidslink

Annie/pixie/zenia - jurong branch is currently on Reno. That's y keep calling no one pickup. Called cck branch, their rates r 5 in 1 = $129, 6 in 1 = $160. No pkg de n their system btw jurong n cck is not linked. So not sure if same rate applies. Need to wait till early apr then call jurong branch again.

Hi fel,

My no.1 is taken care by maid while im working, she is supervise by my grandfather... who is too frail to watch her properly... she bring my baby everywhere in the neighbourhood till i can't find her whenever i spotcheck her during noontime... she always got excuse like baby dun wan to stay at home or baby only eat when carry in the sarong outside... loong story...anyway.. fustrusted i quit my job n stay at home to care for my no.1

My no.2 is put into IFC when he turns 6 months n i return to work , no.1 still taken care by FDW and goes to 3 hr kiddy... benefit i can c is no.2 (now 3yr old) is more independent, can feed himself, can auto put back his toys or shoes in cabinet, more bold..even now not in IFC or CC, he still v. independent n auto, can wear own clothes.

these characteristics my no.1 (5yr old now) dun have, somewat he is more lazy n dependent.

downside is my no.2 in IFC got HFMD twice...

All in all... i think IFC is better unless u can find a really good FDW.

mommies who have done csect,

how small is ur tummy now ah? me going to be bb full mth soon... but still look as though a few mths preggie! terribly upset!!!

2k - Thanks..

Treestar - Icic... ok... Got pros and cons.... I think more or less im settling for IFC also... Just called up, they said June still got one vacancy left... phew...

wow won_mummy, u faster than me... tsk for the info... anyway, the kidslink in JE has moved just beside the big singapore pools outlet at the same area [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so in the end polyclinic still cheaper... however, polyclinic package price is actually the 6in1 jab on the 5th month...

3mths - 5in1

4mths - 5in1

5mths - 6in1

hmmm, think i'll still go to the jurong polyclinc ba.... cos the vacination q is not tt long after all only the see doc q is long...

Jaster, my c-sect wound healed alr... tummy back to norm and lost all my bb weight plus andother 1-2kg but still have 2" hanging on my waistline... guess it's the flabby skin tt makes my waist thicker :S

for mommies who are interested in the Little Skool pricing... org price before subsidy is $1271, working mothers subsidy $600, so end up still have to pay $671...

Little Skool & My First Skool are different right?

I just enquired about My First Skool @ Anchorvale (Sengkang):

IFC

Full Day Fee - $1188

Subsidy - $600

After Subsidy - $671.16 (include GST)

Parents must place a deposit of about $2k initially for insurance, miscellaneous fees, etc.

Jaster: I delivered natually n I still look preggie. I tried my pre preggie pants, all cannot fit. Bottom has expanded n I still have 5kg to shed. Sad..

zenia,

ahhhh!!! then what happen to my tummy... i still have another 8 kg to lose... sob sob sob!!! what if it doesn't go back to normal??? GULPED!!!!!!! i can't wait to start my massage after my gynae gives me the green light man.. i think by then no hope liao.. tummy will stay as it is!

babyhappie,

=( i dun have the courage yet to go try... i doubt i can squeeze in any pre preg bottoms!

fel, I'm considering...supposed to let mil take care till end of this year but I think we may have some changes...IFC might be a better option...but the thought of kana hfmd & stuffs freak me out...aiya...still thinking...u?

Anchorvale has 6 bb cots. The person-in-charge said they will call me in June to let me know about placement since I'll only put him in July if confirmed.

Linda: Thanks for the link on the jab. Very useful.

Jaster: Im day 18 in confinement now, still have my tummy but much smaller than just after delivery. Look like 2 mths preggy now. Got to wear the binder constantly. Did you take chinese medicine "su he wan" , to expel the wind from the body. After taking, I fart alot,very smelly too. Guess its good!

Lailai - At first thought of hiring FDW to take care of baby... But the process like very troublesome, and may create more trouble for myself also... Sigh...

No other family or relative can care for baby... So i'm only left with IFC lor... Worse is im working shift,

Morning > 0700hrs - 1535hrs

Afternoon > 1300hrs - 2135hrs

Night > 2100hrs - 0735hrs

Not adding that always got to put in non-paid OT...

Actually IFC don't really work out for me if i need to send and fetch myself, but with hubby, i think can manage...

Everyday one of us will send, the other will fetch... Since IFC os 0700hrs - 1900hrs...

But when baby fall sick, trouble will befall us le... Need to take emergency leave to care for baby at home...

Jaster, did u engage a massage lady? if got then she may be able to put u back to shape faster... anyway i din put on a lot when i was preg, 10kg to be exact... i alr lost 8kg the first wk after i delivered... think it's becos i have a lot of amiotic fluid ba... if u breastfeeding then sure will get back into shape fast la... no worries de...

Fel: I m actually in yr situation... Kyler went IFC when he was 3.5 months. I never regretted it cos he really learnt a lot in school.. He will come home and performed what he learnt in school. The teachers even teach him how to go up and down a slide carefully.. So when he go down from our bed or what he is always very careful.

Virus is one thing, but after one year old, he gets better and his immune system gets better..

Teachers told me those send to cc when 18 months one take longer time to recover from cc virus..

IFC might not be a bad choice la.. Virus everywhere also got one.. But at least u know they are in safe hands. The teachers wont dare to do anything to them..

U go take a look at the premises first.. My first skool is not bad.. I like their style.

Little skool is premium range for ntuc and my first skool is the cheaper range.

2Ks,

hmm, guess i might need to settle Shay in IFC too ..

My girl, M was settle with nanny when she was 8 mths old (i was working from home at my previous job) and that went very well as her nanny is a very patient/nice lady. But she prefer to work part time job now as she do not want to commit full day to take care my kids. Tried to look for alternate nanny for Shay & seems not able to get a 'good' one ( as i'm comfortable with)

So, i'm looking at alternate now to put Shay in IFC .. initially don't like IFC concept, coz 1 teacher take care 'few' bb and the centre might change teacher which bb like keep having different care taker which sounds no focus to me. But heard lots of good comments on IFC though ... so thinking to give it a try, no harm, if really don't like, i can always take my time to find a good nanny who i can trust ...

Ask u, in IFC selection, wat usually u looking at ? What kind of program they 'should' have ? How much u paying for the one at 350B ? Their fee is quite cheap i remember ? Wat are they lacking compare to those who charge premium like Cheri Heart or even First Skool ?

Sorry, too many question for u ... i have no knowledge in IFC ... knock head

2k - Hope all turns out well for Eden in IFC...

I called my first skool nearest to my place, told me the waiting list is super long... Guess i gotta settle with the other one already.

BB is 7days old today. BF ain't easy... try to latch min 8times, trying to pump out I will only get less than 1oz. Only manage to get 1oz if I dont latch (just want to gauge how mych bb is getting).

So sad & lost! CL keep asking me to buy formula just in case I need to go out for check up & cos my milk is not enuf as bb is growing everyday, bla bla bla...Trying to rest as much as I can but doesnt help much.

THink almost have to giv in formula since cant do much. Anyone know the different between funegreek from Nature ways & GNF other than the price diff?

hi Leon,

My #1/#2 child , milk supply super low for 1st 2 months... i supplement with FM n pump diligently till milk supply kick-in full around 2 months later, then i exclusively BF for the next 2 yr...

so I think it is ok to supplement with FM sometimes... dun stress urself...

Sinmey: now IFC in sbw is quite packed. Prob left those more ex ones.

The IFC at 350b is very small scaled one.. The IFC room is very small. But one thing I like about there are the teachers. Their turnover is very low.. Still the same teachers.

But can't expect new toys la branded rocker la and stuff la..

Difference is the quality of toys, the decoration, the furniture, size, I find..

Other than that, all IFC works the same. They hv to record bb poo, sleep, drink milk all in a book..

Spring maternity voucher wanted!

Anyone has the $10 off $50 purchase voucher that u won't be using? Can gimme? It came in the book of coupons in the goody bag with all the advertisements and samples that the hospitals gave out. I will pay $1 postage/ handling. Let me know if u would like to part with urs. Thanks!

Hi treestar, thanks for your advise.

I have read & hear alot not to give FM, bottle feed during the first mth as bb will confuse and may not want to latch this and tat. Tats y i insist total bf, which hubby dont really agree as he s afraid I cant cope.

Not to stress myself, think I shd supplement with FM then.