(2011/03) Mar 2011

Angelia, our EDD about same too n there she goes!!! We have to be ready Liao. Hers real fast & furious! Hope mine also this first as it's my 3rd... No time to react n think Heehee.

She also surprised!

Good morning mummies, I missed our thread and you mummies. I have no time to read through the posts but am here to update you darlings...

I finally made it after a long 21 hrs (8pm on 4 mar to near 5pm on 5 mar) of long labour. Javier was born on 5 Mar weighing 2.99kg, natural with epi. Below is my super long yet detailed birth story:

6.30am - woke up by mild contraction pain. Went to pee n saw bloody show (a sting of pinkish red blood) - very happy and excited. Woke hubby up to see n confirm my bloody show. Called gynae and was asked to monitor contraction for 5 mins apart.

6.45am - went to bathe happily, changed to a satisfying dress n put on some light make up as we plan to go have breakfast first.

7.10am - After getting ready, I felt wetness in panty, thought water bag break, went toilet checked and saw 2nd round of bloody show (this time round alot of fresh blood, like menses and saw abit blood cot!) i was freaked out!! Called gynae again and gynae said hard to say, asked me admit to hospital if unsure. 

Decided to admit hospital straight coz felt worried about the amount of bloody show seen as I never hear other mummies having so much of bloody show.

8.15am - Traffic was heavy and only reached Mt. A after nearly an hour. Wheeled to ward level,  weight taken n was asked to wait despite of me alerting them that my blood keeps dripping. They don't look concern about that. 

8.30am - Got into delivery suite and put on Ctg belt. VE done - 1cm dilated only. Cleared bowel. 

9.15am - Gynae came and saw me. Asked me to wait for more dilation and contraction coz it's still early stage of labour. Gynae felt better for me to wait in hospital as I was having heavy bloody show but confirmed Bb is fine. 

9.30am-6.30pm - Waited in doctor's room due to room not available and later transferred to single room and continue to wait. Started to feel some backache on and off but was still active and could walked around, surf net and eat.

6.30pm - After dinner, bb heartbeat was taken and cleared bowel for 2nd time.

7.00pm - transferred to delivery suite and belt to CTG. 

7.45pm - VE checked, 1.5 cm only. Tablet inserted to vagina to soften cervical and speed up contraction and dilation. Nurse said if fast labour can be completed within 6 hrs but longest could be up to afternoon the next day.

8pm - Started to feel contraction pain but could handle well. Then contraction got nearer and more intense as time passed. 

8pm onwards - Endured pain without any help of pain relief for more than 4-5 hrs then started to try laughing gas. Not really liking it coz made me felt drowsy. Nurse kept introducing me 

Epidural but I refused and continued to try my best. Hubby was supporting me then. Sms kept coming in to ask about my progress and hubby asked me to use iphone to distract myself but i was in no mood and interest to touch the phone. Didn't really take note of time as I was focusing on enduring my pain. Had pethidine and hubby was encouraging and giving me full support but it only last me for an hour and I felt not much help. Had about 2 VE checked in between and latest check was only 3-4cm.

3.45am - Finally give in to epidural after some thorough discussion with hubby. Hubby convinced me to take epi as I was really enduring too long and dilation was very slow. He's afraid I will be exhausted later and will have more difficulty to cope. I was very reluctant to take epi and he took some time to talk sense to me. My tears flowed down the moment epidural was injected in me, not due to pain but due to my unwillingness to give in to it. I was feeling very bad and crying then and I could hear nurses asking what happened to me and another nurse replying saying I felt bad to take epidural. Hubby kept consoling me and told me I really done very well to endure for almost 8hrs and it's not my fault and choice as slow dilation failed to help me. He assured me he will still buy me my dream bag even though I lost the bet I had with him. 

6am - Had another VE checked and even though on epidural, dilation was still slow. Only 4-5cm. Felt there was still a long way for me to fight through. Hubby cried as he felt bad to see me suffering and kept apologizing to me for causing me the suffer.

10am - Gynae came again and VE check me and said dilation still not much and Bb's head was still high up. He told me he will put me on drip to increase contraction to push bb's head down hopefully. He warned me to get mentally prepared that I have high chance of a need to undergo emergency caesarean. I told him to try the best on drip and I really wish to give birth naturally. I felt so frustrated and cried helplessly again. Hubby and me kept talking to Bb to ask him help and cooperate with mummy for a natural birth and I kept praying hard to God for a successful natural birth. 

10am-4pm - fighting with the again slow dilation and can feel pressure pressing on my anus as bb's head was slowly moving down. Urge to push was strong but nurses asked me to endure and control as Bb's head was not down enough for me to push. 

4.15pm - Finally fully dilated and bb's head was confirmed down at the right stage to start pushing. Midwife and gynae encouraged me to push hard and I really used all my full force to push even though I couldn't feel very well due to the numbness from epidural. I was telling myself I had to do my best in order to escape from emergency c-sect. Hubby was supporting me all the way and midwife said I was doing very well on my pushes. Gynae saw bb's head and was telling us Bb has very long hair! I was fully focusing on my pushes then. 

4.50pm - After about 14 sets of hard pushes my Bb was finally out and crying loud. Both my hubby and I were crying in touch when he was placed on me. Felt such a relieve when he was out and I felt everything was worth it. 

++End++

I'm so glad that Javier can latch on and suckle well. Just that it's difficult for me to wake him up for feed (nurse says he is sleepy maybe because of the epidural I had). But once he is awake and latch on, he could do very well and I will have hard time to unlatch him. Everytime I try to unlatch him by pressing gently on his chin, he will suckle even harder and refuses to let go off my breast, so cute. I have to wait for him to be satisfied with one side of my breast then he will let go of my breast himself, then only I can change him to another side of my breast. So far I have fed him thrice already as he was sleeping throughout the night.

Javier looks more like me or daddy I still can't figure out but he has two dimples like me (daddy only has one dimple on the left, so Javier's left dimple is more obvious). I will upload more Bb pics on fb when I have time. Was really tired earlier on and I could only come here now. Will be back to catch up with all the posts I missed when I have more time. I am happily doing my moo moo career and I wish all mummies the best for those who have popped and those who are still waiting. Soon will be your turn, Jia you!

Boo!! Can't sleep with the pain down there and the uterus contracting.. Nurses said uterus over stretch due to 2nd bb so will feel the contractions..

My boobs engorged too but heng I brought my pump along this time round. Once beginning to be rocks liao I just pumped. Gave ebm to my bb, then another feed she too sleepy to take, I pumped out again. Then next feed latched her to clear my blocked parts, I got double the amt frm previous pumps!

Yesterday night oredi pumped out more than 100ml Liao and the milk started to turn yellowish to whitish yellow. Hope goes on this way n bb can helped to clear my rocks asap

Mummies with hard rock boobs

must clear them but don't clear all else the supply goes back into your boobs in full force again, vicious cycle. Unless u need the supply then different story

jia you mummies!!

2ks congrats .. Mine uterus was painful when the press the blood out but after tt it's ok .. Even latching dun feel contraction much

Pixie ur supply really damn alot.. Envy

I day 7 also cannot pump so much luckily it's enuf for

Bb for now

Now bk to latching after my sore nipple has recovered

Congrats! 2Ks... u reali super fast leh... rest well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Can i ask something?

For those who's using the freestyle...

After your sterilize, lets say i sterilize liao then i wanna use...

There's a lot of water vapour all over the pump parts.. It's okay to use it? Just connect?

The breast shield can go into sterilizer also?

Kinda blur...

My bm only 2.5ml after pumping both sides...

Latch Eden on the WHOLE NIGHT... OMG.... Like a human pacifier...My baby cannot differentiate day and night, or rather his is opposite... He becomes so alert at night..

Evelyn> I almost died last nite... RY & RL took turns to cry before falling asleep... Then RL latched every half hour..

My baby brain app records 1am, 1.20am, 1.50am, 2.20am, 2.50am. 3.50am, 4.20am, 5am... Then I didn't bother to press cuz I totally Ko liaoz...

I literally didn't sleep.... Latched and latched...

Good thing is my boobs almost went soft... But still hard lumps somewhere....

Think I really gotta start pumping today so that CL can feed RL at nite and I attend to RY. else I'll really go bonkers....

rach..the baby brain really very good...was using it uyesterday nite..esp the timer mode for b/f

weirdly my #1 dont really wan me any more..i also dont know whether this is good or bad lor..

good coz he doesnt whine for me...or ask for attention..

but i feel bad coz how come so fast he doenst want me any more..sigh...it has only been a week lor..

but he is very close to my paretns who r staying with me now..so i guess he prefer the "easier" adults...even my hubby sometimes he also dont want...

but he is very excited whenever see mei mei...everytime wanna kiss the mei mei...

i guess i just have to concentrate on #2 n moo moo career for now..

to make things worst..i suspect #1 is teething..fever, diarrhea..sigh..so worrisome

Annie- be happy that everything is over n ur bundle of joy is in ur arms! Dun be disappointed that u eventually gave in to Epi.. Cos ur labour is too long..n must said that u have a very supporting husband!! It doesn't matter Wat kind of drugs u take n Wat method of birth is that.. The impt result is that Bb arrived safely n healthily... Reading ur birth story made me teared sia.. Mummy u are v weida!!! Good job!!

Rach- u must also jiayou k.. Handling RY n RL at e same time is not easy but u will soon overcome it de!!! Maybe RY just wan attention.. So no choice u got to ask CL helps with RL so that u get to rest.. Dun be too hard on urself k!! Jia you!!!

Mummies- I finally understood the feeling of insomnia ! Had a trerrible nigt Yest from 3plus to 6 plus.. My brain refused to rest n almost every half hour or so, woke up to pee! Never had such experience before de Loh .. I am e type who can fall asleep easily n dun freq toilet so many times even till now at last tri.. Think cos inducing on 8th that's why kan cheong abt it.. Than I broke down n told hb that knowing that body is tired but mind refused to rest .. Almost can't take it Liao.. Only after crying that I managed to catch a 3hrs sleep till now..really looking forward to Bb out by latest by wed!!

Mummies waiting to pop- Jia you Jia you Jia you! We are at e last lap Liao!!!! Was quite surprised to see so many of u also sleepless nite.. We can overcome it de!!!

Jaime: I get from cards n such at raff city! I know, strange plc to buy but TLW at OUB dun haf [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Or order from amazon also can!!

Jaime> yah baby brain is very useful...

Last time I wanna track RY's pee n poo so always use...

Now main thing is To track BF timing cuz I'll seriously forget what time I latched de Lo....

I wish RY would be a bit more indept in falling asleep then I can have easier life..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

COngrats 2k & Annie!

Annie: dun feel bad.. u did well! wat matters most is the well-being of mommy & baby eventually! no matter wat birth methods used.. enduring for such long labour hrs mus be hard on u.. U made it! tats mommy's "wei-da-ness!" Welcome to motherhood!

SHirley/Rach:

I also feel like dying.. like human pacifier.. he latch n latch non stop.. tot he zzz liao release me.. so i clean up n burp him.. scully burp oreadi woke him up.. he starts searching for "me" agn.. jialut.. whole nite like tat.. can latch 1 hour.. still cry.. *faints*

I finally KO at 7am.. jus nw wake up feel engorged.. both sides pain.. massage liao..press abit.. saw abit whitish liquid.. dunno if its consider milk??

We all jia u together ya.. luckily my CL is here.. n give him FM when i KO.. otherwise.. dunno hw to survive..

Jamie:

Hw old is ur no 1? My no 1 is 26mths.. also prefer papa to me.. esp when I couldnt attend to her in my last stage of preg. Its a bitsad la.. but hope They will understand along the way ..

Annie, not bad.. U still have energy to type so much during Ur hospital stay.. I remember I was so tired n pain on the second day..

So good, Ur BB head was down when u start your real push n after 14 sets of push, BB out.. During my two hrs plus real push, I think I push more than 40 sets (each sets four times x 10 counts)...

Anyway, we felt bad for having epi.. Remember before we gave birth, we said die die also no epi.. But such a long hrs labour pain, we Reli can't.. But we tried our best already n we experienced the real labour pain le... Right?? Hee Hee...

Have more rest..

Allets

I was like u worrying non stop when I was told to be induced on 3 mar. couldnt slp..etc. but who noes.. bb decided NOT to be induced n come out on his own.. for my case.. So dun wry so much, things will work out! enjoy ur last few nites of peaceful slp b4 moo mooo-ing starts =)

summer's mommy...my #1 is 22 months...

my girl initiallly also like to latch non stop until my nipple bleed lor..manage to recover coz bb was in hospital for 1 day for phototherapy..

the nurse says try to use other method ie pat, carry abit to soothe if bb still search for nipple after full feed...try not to give the nipple for comfort suck

my pD say give pacifier lor..

but the nurse at nursery say try not to give..

i dont like pacifier..i only use for my # 1 for a couple of month..but i never like the pacifier..

so far after bk from hospital..after she burp..she zzz..but sometimes..awake again..i try other method..until i super tired..then give nbreast lor...yesterday i try from 2.30-4pm man...then only willing to zzzz...

but at night she was ok...after latch..burp..zzzz.

jia u together

summer mummy, wat ur nick on FB>.i add u...

pinky pink..such ncard sells mudpie?? arrggg.i cant go out...dodnt knonw y i am so fascinated with burp cloth..prob my last baby...wanna try every nice but not necessary [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]...haha.i didnt use it for #1..i ujust use hanky....

Summer mummy n rach, my Bb still look yellowish leh. I latch every 2 hours n try to give some water to her to increase her fluid. My confinement lady Nt here yet. I dying le. She poo after every feed but didnt urine alot leh. Is it normal??

Annie> just read ur birth story.. U are very brave...

Use done very well.. Ur labor is too long to endure throughout, considerig u were in hospital for almost 2 days before u pop.. Very draining mentally also....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Very fortunate to have a very supportive HuBbY..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jiayou on ur moo moo career... I'm sure u can do it very well..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I teared reading the last part...... Finally it's all over and a new stage begins...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jaundice babies> RL's jaundice seemed to be worse today....

Hope it doesn't get worse and asked CL to reduce Ginger today.. So heartpain to see her yellow...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Going to see Dr Simon Ng tomorrow...

Now I shall catch up only sleep... Nitez....

Sourduck> RL poo alot on the first nite home.. All the black meconium... Yest only pee no poo...

I also wanted to ask... No poo ok or not??

Last time RY poo many times a day wor......

I still very reluctant to pump... My pump still kept in box in the cabinet.... If can dun pump then dun pump but tmr start Massage liaoz.. Massage halfway also cannot latch... I think I'll get some energy to pump later.. Now I really go sleep...

Rach, the bb doc at kkh told me bb must at least poo 5 times a days leh... sometimes my gal also nv poo so many times lor. he say supposed to poo aft every feed leh.

Shirley

I also same case.. he kip poo-ing.. can poo twice in btw feeds.. still abit blackish poo.. nt so much of pee.. so i think it shld be normal. u try to give some FM when u r tired.. Hb can take over when feeding FM or EBM.

My boy also looks more yellow today, even eyeball also yellow liao.. i scared he like jie jie mus rent light hm.. no sun to sun him in the morn also.. sigh!!!

Jamie,

my FB name is Evelyn Hu. u can add me: [email protected]. wats urs?

Rach

ur bravado nursing bra is really gd lei!! no regrets for buying 2 at 1 go.. lol! today 1st time using.. bery gd surport.. no "lao lao" loose loose feeling.. such gd fit.. I like! =)

Annie, u r very brave & have done very well! U've tried so hard to prevent an emergency c-sect from happening despite the tedious long labour, Kudos to u and your supportive hubby! Most importantly, everything is over & you're now on the way to your moo moo career! =)

Fish, no need to feel bad..epi or not really depends on situation...it's almost impossible not to take epi if the labour is so long! All mummies are noble! Just concentrate on what you've now - your adorable bundle of joy!

Allets, I begin to feel the anxiety like u...just that I don't know my date of induction yet...hee

So happy for all the mummies who have popped! I should be induced next or following week due to my GD..jiayou worx! =D

Annie: congrats!! after such a long labour have a good rest...

Allets: lol alot of us really can't sleep.. day time can KO only.. sian.. don't worry ya u can pull through. awhile more and u will see ur baby!

Congrats to 2Ks and Annie!!

2Ks - Your labour hours are really fast and furious... still tot we may bump into each other on the 9th at Dr Ang's clinic for our checkup...

Rach, u know how many times must Bb pee a day???

Summer's mummy my Bb also has yellowish eye leh. See her grow yellow day by day I also heartache. I try to latch n don't give formula. Scare later she too full on fm n don't want to latch.

Annie, dun feel bad abt using epi la. It's ok one. Next Bb u try w/o epi sure can do it. Enjoy motherhood in the meantime 

2ks,

Jiayou jiayou!!

Belinda,

You may be the next one le!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Congrats... Annie n 2Ks!!!

No worries abt the process of labour lah.... As long as the bb isz healthy and safe, we will be happy and thankful Liao....

Now the journey begins.... As a full fledge parent Liao....!!!

To those mummies who have not pop yet......Scary leh.... Now the time is so near..... The anxiety of it, is actually quite torturous hor...... Happy waiting to us!!!

Congrats! Annie n 2k

Annie - nothing to feel bad abt. U tried ur best already! Good job mummy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2k - u r so fast!! Just 2 hrs ur Bb is in ur hands le! 2nd onwards r usually so fast?

oh mine!..posts all throughout the nite..hahahah..

ANNIE- congrats to you..you did well!!...

2KS-- yours is the most happening lah..2nd one really can be so fast!..very short labour and out fast..so gd de..!

hey ladies,

finally after one day of ordeal, i'm able to come online again to this supporting forum thread!

=( can see that i was stressed up yesterday? SOS so many times! hahaha.. kept crying n crying n crying n crying... well even now i am still crying on and off... post natal depression? I hope not! but i'm just kinda upset with my mom! i mean she said she knows how to take care of bb blah blah... but yet everything ask me! ai yo... like i got more experience than her like that... how i know rite? then my dad another example, why never help out one? only know how to arrange and keep my things till i also cannnot find... but i know it's bad of me to think that way.. afterall taking care of my own child is my respoinsibility! i shouldn't have pushed to them... but i'm feeling really tired after the csect and my wound hurts like hell.. due to incorrect position for latching... squatting down etc... imagine today i had to squat down to help bathe!? i was like!? then i stone.. really stone... my hubby shouted at me.. =( i started sobbing uncontrollably again! anyway i've got one whole list of questions.. hopefully experienced mommies here can help to answer? thank you so so so so so so so much!

1) Binder / Pressure bandage

Not sure if it has been answered.. but i still find my wound very raw and painful even with the binder on... must it be worn like 24/7.. at nite i'll take it out... but before going toilet will wear it cos without it i can't get out of my bed!

2) Pooing many times

just read... some mommies also face this problem... mine is like mustard color... normal?

3) Milk intake

BB born on 2nd march. so today considered 4th day? erm... he's taking like 50ml per feed now.. is it normal or too much?

4) Latching

Stopped latching because my nipples were really too sore and i can't find a good position to latch Jovan... i only know football clutch position to feed him manually. Anyway... my breasts feel sore and kinda harden... does that mean i'll have to continue to massage and use the breast pump to pump the milk out? if yes, should i stick to the recommended 15mins or do i do it longer? or when to know to stop pumping leh?

5) Sterilizing and keeping the things sterilized

I'm using Pigeon sterilizer... i understand if i dun open the sterilizer it will stay sterilized for 6 hours... but what if i've opened? u see when things get sterilized there will be water vapour... for milk bottles, breast pump parts just air dry? but like that will be sterilized or not? or how to make them dry? wipe??? but like that will be dirty again or not? so how to keep things sterilized leh? lock lock?

6) Washing of milk bottles n teats

just use the baby detergent and brush right? use hand to rub the teats?? correct? then after that sterilize then air dry?

7) Bathing of baby

do i really need to use sterile water (cooled boiled water) to wipe the eyes and face? do i wipe the umbilical cord first or after bathing? you see when bathing their umbilical will get wet rite? so it's normal?

8) Burping of baby

are there any other ways of burping the baby besides all that are officially taught during lessons? my MIL's way is to cradle Jovan, swipe his back down, kept doing it and he'll burp... anything wrong with that?

9) Gasy baby

anyway to solve it? keep burping the baby? put ru yi oil or???

10) Pumping of breastmilk

does that help to shrink back the uterus ah? i feel like no effect compared to direct latch on leh!

ladies, pai seh!!! to ask so many questions!!! but i'm really at my wits end!!! HELP... SOS...

by the way ladies, thank you so much for all the encouragement!!! I finally got milk... pumped just now... my LHS still slow in coming... manage to get only 25ml added together... not enuff for Jovan's supply!!! hahhaa...

my heart also very pain... stay premier ward... should have shifted down to single ward on 2nd day.. forked out $5k cash... =( sob sob sob...

Jaime, me also!!! I didnt have any burp cloth for #1 and this time i bought 2 from mudpie plus the bebeaulait set! heh

Shop online la! Thats what i did in confinement #1!

aster - I will try my best to help to answer ur qns k..

1) Yes, wear it 24/7 if possible,... Always keep a towel with you, fold it... When you need to cough, get up from lying to sitting, or sitting to standing, you need to SPLINT your wound.. Meaning hold the towel to your wound, take a deep breath and stand or sit... Thats what we always ask patients to do in hospital after abdominal operation..

2) Baby's poo colour differ in colour from babies to babies.. depending from FM fed to BM fed... Mix or etc...

3) I also don't know... My baby only 3rd day today... Haha... But yesterday when my baby discharge from hospital, the PD say can feed 40ml x 8 times per day.... But i didnt la... Trying to total BF...

7) Yes.. You need cooled boiled water... Guess cos they r more immuno compromised during the first month... Can use normal cotton ball or facial cotton also can... Don't need the sterile cotton balls..

Bathe baby first, partial dry then clean the umbilical cord with cord spirit.. It helps to dry it up... then fall off eventually...

8) I don't Swipe his back, i pat upwards... Thats what we r taught in school la, u pat upwards for the wind to come out...

10) YEs... Called involution of something like that.... Pumping n latching is similar... But up to personal preference also la...

Jaster, im quite free so shall try to help answer ur questions, but hor, these are my methods and opinions ok... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] differs from mum to mum.

----

1) Binder / Pressure bandage

I wore mine 24/7 except when i bathed cuz when i turn at night in my sleep etc, i found it helped to support the wound. Also when at night i sit up to latch, wearing the binder helped with the pain and made things easier. If can wear then wear, but if u find it too uncomfy then take off and sleep but keep it near u and put it on before getting up. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2) Pooing many times

lots of poo : normal

mustard color: normal. It's the bilirubin coming out of the body, its all GOOD! Means liver working well and baby pooing out the chemical tt causes jaundice.

3) Milk intake

Differs from baby to baby but sounds ok as long as lots of poo and pee.

4) Latching

Stimulate your boobs by hand expressing or using a manual pump before you start your 15 mins per side pumping session and like pixie and 2KS mentioned before, use HOT HOT compress to encourage the let down. DRINK LOTS OF FLUID!!! After 2 hours pump again. If however, u dun want so much milk (i.e. you think there is enough) then pump 3 hours later and drag your sessions.) But i guess at this point, u wanna increase supply right, so pump regularly, take plenty fluids and pump even after emptying your boobs, as in the milk stop flowing alr, can pump another 3-5 mins to stimulate more milk.

5) Sterilizing and keeping the things sterilized

I used to wipe my pump parts with tissue before using, best compromise i could think off and then keep in lock n lock. With bottles i would put in steriliser then keep in lock n lock, can keep the lock n lock in the fridge to maintain sterility if u want. I was lazy and just kept in my room so i no need to keep walking to the fridge. lol.

6) Washing of milk bottles n teats

Sterilise already then dont air dry ba, no point right? Keep in container or leave it in steriliser. Just shake off the water before using the bottle.

You can use a nipple cleaner to clean the teats, usually comes with the bottle brush.

7) Bathing of baby

do i really need to use sterile water (cooled boiled water) to wipe the eyes and face? - YES cuz mucous membranes in eyes very sensitive and tap water has lots of bacteria.

And i would clean umbilical cord after bath with alcohol swabs.

8) Burping of baby

nothing wrong, but its good to keep baby a little propped up after a feed, helps digestion and prevents reflux too. But yeah, once they burp its pretty ok, most burping methods are ok.

9) Gasy baby

Burp between feeds + use ru yi oil (just a drop) on tummy and soles of feet (thats what i hear)

Some people would give baby gripe water/rid wind... personal choice here but if baby is relatively ok and not too fussy then i think no need to give any medication/gripe water la.

10) Pumping of breastmilk

Pumping also stimulates the boobs, as long as milk flows ur uterus will shrink but baby's latch is a bit more effetive cuz they are the BEST PUMP ever! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Congrats Annie n 2Ks!

2Ks: I'm sure u did w/o epi n all? Cos u delivered v fast leh!!!

Annie: no 1 normally would b longer.. Jav's time I took about 29 hours in total starting frm contractions.. Thou I dragged my time to going to hospital, I was in the hospital for 24hrs before giving birth.. I'm the same as u, dilate too slow.. Tts y the wait is long, thus I gave up n go ahead w Epidural... Every person's situation n threshold of pain is different.. Cannot compare one ya.. U feel tt u reached yr limit, jus let it go, n accept it.. Better for u n bb Ma.. =)) u see, even for my #2 this round also long labour, no choice I also tot I could at least go epi free since I tahan contractions for about 3 wks.. But in e end, I still took epi.. I felt regretful too, but we know tt we've tried our best ya!=D yr hb is v encouraging n supportive, at least he unds wad u've gone thru,. Cheer up ok! U've done a reallllllyyyyy GREAT job! Jia you on yr moomoo-ing.. =D

Limlim: yr confinement ending le right? Haha.. Sip is really one sip only ya! Cannot drink too much. Haha.. Anw, St James church kindergarten is v highly rated by lotsa ppl.. U gonna start q-ing for Lucien alrdy?? ... Power!

Jaster,

1) not sure coz nvr had c-sect

2) poo in mustard color is normal for bf bb. If feed fm, poo might be in darker color.

3) 50ml should be normal. how long u feed the bb?

4) be it latch or pump, u should consistently latch/pump every 3 hrs. Each breast 20 mins till ur breast soften. U may pump longer/more frequent to prevent breast engorgement.

5) usually I just sterilize n air dry the pump n bottles

6) yes, I use bottle detergent n brush to wash the bottle n teat, sterilize n air dry

7) i use warm water from tap leh. N I make the cord here is dry b4 I dress the bb. Ur bb on 4 days old. Hospital got give u the alcohol wipe to clean the cord?

8) as long as bb can burp I think is ok.

9) make sure bb burp after each feed even though drink some water. N of course ru yi oil help. Make sure the bb stomach is not open to air. Always wrap/cover the stomach area

10) should be same ba.. I'm exclusively pump n I can feel the uterus contract leh... N it shrink back fast for my case...

Dun stress... Did u engage any cl? Jz come in forum anytime to rant... We are all here to encourage n jiayou together.

BAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I type out everything on iphone...then the forum was down earlier... and all gone..........

Grrrrr.... i'll try my best to answer again..... >.<""""

1) think most csect mummies will wear 24/7 or at least take out only a while to rest the tummy...

2) think the color is fine...

now i'm worried RL hasnt poo for 2 days... and thats why she's getting more yellow?????

she pees but not poos........how to make her poo??

3) think 40ml is pretty fine..

4) try latching sideways.. more relaxed and not so tired to sit up...

5) i leave everything inside till i need to use then i take out... so i dun take it out to dry...

6) pigeon bottle brush has a smaller teat to wash the teats....

7) My CL uses my BM to clean her eyes.... so i will squeeze into a cotton ball for her and she cleans... supposed to be more effective in clearing the eye shit...

8) last time my PD taught to sit baby on my lap and stroke the back up and down very fast....

9) yah..think a bit ruyi oil is fine.. a drop.. on the palm, rub and press on the tummy...

10) i just pumped..and felt a little contractions..so i guess it helps.. but latching is the most effective definitely.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rach - Same here...

Sigh... Eden has not poo for 2 days also.. Today is day 3 of his life.. ONly first day poop few times of meconium...

Tomorrow going to Polyclinic to do blood test for bilirubin, he is also starting to look a little yellowish on the face and chest...

Getting worried...

Finally I had my 1st pump...

Latched RL on side and pump both sides for 10min..

Got 35ml.... Then I stopped...

Pixie> u got 100ml already????

limlim...st james is good.but its those 3 hours kind..unlesss u have arrangement for other times of the days...its after 18 nmonths i think n long wait list hor...

for me i cant coz i need 9-6 care