(2011/03) Mar 2011

rach: teresa mentioned what about bf????

i saw bf words appearing then i get excited! LOL...

annie: thanks thanks...its not very proud to be one anyway...LOL

rach

u should paste ur message daily so that we can keep reminding the mummies here who are still uncertain...

daily reminder!

won_mummy

jiayou!!! good luck ok!

angelina: try durians and kampong eggs??

bubblypig: i tell u hor..the navibot super good in picking up fur lor...

everyday go back i feel my floor so clean...

i have 2 furkids at home...

erm...they dont bother about the robot leh...one of them siam it cos he scared...the other one just lie down there and once the robot detect him, will go another way...never bump into him too...

my #1 more scared...he saw the robot only climb up sofa to sit lor

angelina

i gained 1.5kg straightaway when i had a bowl of fish beehoon soup, 2 whole durians + milktea

thats all in 1 meal

so, cfm durians helps :p

pixie: lets come out with a phrase each to encourage mummies to bf...LOL

3 of us super encourage bf....

mummies here any questions just feel free to ask us ok...

can compare our styles too...

latch, pump whatever...

Angelia: ya lo. Haha.. My mil also thinks bm nt enuf fr Jav in e beginning.. I don care jus continue.. Lucky don stay w her if nt can die. Think abt it frm my accident till nw.. Even when I was hospitalised, they din even bother to cone visit me.. =( nt to mention a CALL to ask hw am I. I feel Jayien so unwanted by them.. Mayb tts y so much happen, so we will treasure him more. Tsk... Don care abt them. As long as we happy can Liao. =Xx

Lailai: oh okay... My gynae tells me it's ok.. I jus ate sth nt compatible to my tummy.. =.=

Rach: I'm too tired to cook n look aft Jav myself. Esp recently. I alrdy chose things to eat tts nt oily.. But still, sigh.

Sunesis: thank u.. =) I got better last night aft med. I wa jus pretty worried it'll trigger labour cos my gynae did mention to me tt dere r cases of serious diarrhea ending up in labour.. Haha.

2Ks: hw much u paying for IFC nw?

Congrats Gal!! =D M, rest well n update us yr birth story when u r better.. I mus tahan like u, no epi!!!

Won_mummy: u will b next! Wheee~ excited? Keke..

lilprecious: remember i told u about kyler school previously? so now we are changing his school...cc not much difference la...about $20 or more. but i like their concept...

but cos of didi...i need a cc that has IFC too...just nice that side also have...but IFC is much more ex than current one...its about $670+ per month. but u saw from the pics i posted in FB rite? i think its a nice area for didi to grow up in...

so i told myself just pay the couple of hundreds more and hang on there for 14 months...

no bags no holidays for me lor...sob sob..

No babies on triple 2? Thought would be M... well, today's a beautiful date too.

Congrats M and gal!

won_mummy, yr discharge should be show. It will be within the next 3 days liao. At least u've ample time to prepare. The last time I had show, bb popped on the 2nd day.

2Ks: Thanks for the advice.. Mayb i should convince my hubby to get one.. House gt mani furs around.. was tinkin to get a air purifier to put at bb room to clean up the air too.. but dont know if it reali helps anot..

Today's my turn liao.. In Mt A delivery ward now, 3 cm dilated. Had epidural injected. Contraction pains win hands down...

2ks

i can be total(exclusive) pump expert coz thats what i did for #1

latching wise i totally failed. hope this time round can 50-50 latch + pump...

yesterday discussed pump or latch strategy with hb liao we decided on 50-50...

dont want bb to get used to 1 kind all the way....

M n gal, Congrat wor.. Wow.. M same edd with me, she popped le, my boy still don't Wana come out wor.... Stone... Btw, going check up later in the afternoon... Hope Gynae can advise me something.. I target my exact edd.. If one day before edd (nx tue) still no sign.. I will induce n let BB out on the exact edd... Don't Wana drag le...

Btw, mummies, juz asking, when we start our BF job.. If we can supply more than BB drink.. We storage into the storage container n put in the fridge.. How many days the milk can last??? But if we put into the freezer, how long can it last??? Then if the BM take out from freezer, what is the proper way to warm up n let BB drink ya???

2ks,

i have the irobot at home cos i have a furkid too. was contemplating the scoomba the other time but heard reviews tt not so good. cos the water inside get dirty very fast while cleaning and in the end the floor also not very clean. do read up on it first lor.

AirMez!! Your turn??!? Lolx. Contraction pain powerful huh?

Aiyoo... really alot of the March babies can't wait to see the world man! Lolx.

bubblypig: air purifier doesnt get rid of the fur in the house...

but navibot does...u be amazed when u open the box to throw the fur...its alot...i am surprised too...

next monday be bringing my 2 dogs for grooming before baby arrival...keep them clean as well..

pixiepixel: i also dont intend to latch all the way, cos i dont want baby to get used to my neh neh, it will be hard time for me when i get back to work, and also not easy for the caregivers.

i prob alternate between latching and pumping during the 1st month or so...

after that i will convert to exclusive pumping too...

- can store more milk

- others can help with feeding

- can gauge how much he is drinking

- rest more! no need to standby my neh neh

pixiepixel, yesterday i tried to latch on my gal, she would only take milk from one breast for 15mins... then next breast she don wanna suck liao... how? and my breasts are like super engorged, just saw a lacatation consultant yesterday. hope today is a good moo moo day lo. btw, i think i'm running out of glass bottles to store my EBM, how arh? use storage bags and then express liao keep inside can? i reali dunno wat to do after i ran out of those bottles man, helpz...

pixel, why you fail on latching on?

luckily my pump arrived le, so if I also latch fail then can seek your advice.

All the experienced mummies has got diff method, diff experience too, so it's really helpful that the rest of us has got mentor to seek help from =)

L3x, hw long you been using irobot?

You buy in SG or US?

Cleaning of the machine ok?

Now with baby coming along, I really hope to get one, coz mop no need evryday but if can keep dust and hair away, it will be really good =)

but 2Ks wont pumping alone have lesser milk? i taut say latch on will have more milk? i think i'm expressing like a lil less than 100ml per pump on both breasts for 30mins.

LX3: really? the scoomba bad thing is cant go "home" to charge, heard will stop once the water is finished...

i see only la...hubby is more than satisfied with his navibot..

he happily just clean it this morning...

airmez: jiayou! having contractions already ah now?

zenia: no...pumping will have more milk than latching...

cos latching - send signals to the brain that how much baby drinks, the neh neh will produce..

but for pumping, u schedule it 3 hourly pumping, pump until dry, or pump until u see severals let downs...

sometimes u can produce like 150ml but baby only drinking 100ml, so means u have extra rite..

as days goes by, more and more extras...

zenia: when the baby latch one side, and refuse on the other side (some babies are very sleepy, lazy to latch)

what u should do is pump the other side too...

if baby latch 15 mins on one side only, pump the other side for 15 mins too..balance up..

u wouldnt want to result in one big one small neh neh isnt it...

milktea: yup...u can always see our different styles...latching perhaps rach is more good in it...

for me & pixel, we are good in pumping and storing...

i tried both la...latching and pumping...

been "consultant" for many of my friends...sometimes i think i am damn loh soh...

but cant help it leh...i gets excited when come to BF...

milktea,

i have been using it for a year or so. bought from US online. must very hardworking in cleaning after every use cos if not the rollers might jam. cos for my case i have long hair and a furkid with long coat too. normal dust and hair can clean quite well.

2ks,

must tink before buying lor. cos not cheap also.

hur hur... ya hor... thanks for the advice...

so hor, let say i pump at 3pm today, then i store in the fridge in the milkbag, then later i pump again at 6pm, can i store the milk in the same milkbag? accumulate the whole day supply liao then put in the freezer?

Hahah Rach, I also know, it's MIND OVER BODY.... I'm prepared to be diligent to latch, pump but just in case mah!!!

Anyways got the medela free style pump, buy alr MUST use right... must make my investment worthwhile. Dun worry, if I get demoralised, you, 2Ks and pixel will be the first ones I turn too! Onz?

Dunno lah, no doubt that extra pair of hands has helped me so much so i can get ample rest.

I also dun treat my helper like stranger but to have someone around, makes me feel funny, maybe after leaving alone for 5 years to have someone around, is really total lack of privacy plus I have to also 'mother' her..hmmm.... guess it's a matter to getting use to and till now still not use to it lor!

2ks

yes, i also will do 50-50 from day 1 onwards, so that give hb a chance to bottlefeed x2....coz hubby NO NEH NEH mah :p

zenia

you MUST pump out the other side. then your breasts will produce xML the next 3 hours.

what 2ks say is true.

let me put it this way:-

left boob: baby suckle eg 50ml. full liao. dont want right boob

right boob: pump out as much as you can. you maybe hit 40ml, 50ml, or even 60ml. coz you EMPTY your boob liao

signals sent to brain

then 3 hours later

left boob: you will get back 50ml coz you emptied 50ml 3 hrs ago

right boob: you will get back xML - depending on how much milk you have pumped out

so to increase your supply

1. alternate your baby's suckling. this time is left boob, 3 hrs later is right side

2. the other boob that baby is not suckling, empty your breasts. AND THEN PUMP for ANOTHER 5-15MINS. dont worry you dont get ANYTHING. you are just sending signals to your brain that "i dont have enough, i want more please".

i guarantee you, 3hrs later, your boob that is being pumped will have + in supply

and since you are alternating your boobs that is being suckled and pump...gradually you will see increased in supply from both sides

hths

zenia

before you pour the new ebm into the existing one that is in fridge, bring out the existing storage bottle. cool it, and make sure both new output and existing is of same temperature. then pour the new output into the storage bottle.

in this way, when you freeze your ebm, you wont get the metallic taste (minimize)

freeze whatever is in the storage when its full. no need to be strictly end of the day.

1day, 2day, 3day in fridge oso can

敢敢来

L3x: i interested only but dont think will buy...cos the navibot already save alot of my time...mopping seems to be easier nowadays..

erm..the rollers for navibot ok leh...i dun clean everyday.. but everytime i clean, i am amazed by the amount of dust/fur it pick up

2Ks: i heard air purifier is good since i have a furkid at home.. i brought my dog for grooming yday and juz send her to the vet for spaying today.

Any mummies have air purifier at home?

zenia

after u run out of storage bottles, can switch to the storage bags you bought from me liao...

as i have said before, the bags can store as little as 180ml (as per marking) - store it lying down to avoid freezer burn

OR

as much as 300ml - store it standing up...

stand them up in containers. eg those da bao containers will do

i store them in big lock and lock boxes. 6 full bags of 330ml in 1 lock+lock box

L3x and 2Ks, ya ex investment thats why I been thinking for the past one yr loh ever since I moved out of Mum's plc to live with Hubby.

Scoomba, I heard not so good reviews leh, so will stick to mopping. Which Hubby is in charge.

I think mopping still not so bad coz if no cooking, dun really have to mop evryday.

But coz my hair drop very scary (no fur kids) but lotsa dust even thou I dun open my window unless it's wkend.

Still very dusty.

Ok now I have to decide between irobot or Samsung de..

Hmm.. how to decide?

zenia: pixel answered yr question...that is what i did also..

but i have a couple of storage bottles, those bigger size one...for store prior to transfer to milkbags.

tres: of cos!! 3 of us will be here to jia you for u!

any questions just post here!

Experienced BF mummies, I have a question.

My breasts are super lumpy and I tried to massage the lumps for the past few weeks. However, I realised whenever I massage them, my bb would react and move a lot. Is there a link? I know I'm not supposed to massage/stimulate my nipples at this stage but how about the breasts? I want to get myself prepared because I believe that every mothers have milk but for my case, they are very stuck inside and I want to prepare them well so that BF comes smoothly for my bb!

I've been using warm towel and the donut thingy bought from rach to soften the lumps and I will massage them 10 times clockwise & anti-clockwise. However, the lumps are back again the very next day! I have a bit of blue-black somemore. This week I have stopped massaging and the lumps are kinda hard again. -_-

Any advice? I want to do whatever I can to get ready.

milktea

i failed in latching coz...my boy CHOMPED down on my nipples one. he is fast drinker but not big appetite...

my nipples cracked, bleed, pus, and until i fever from the infection. so i switched to pump exclusively when he was 2weeks old.

when i say CHOMP, he really CHOMP down one....like chewing gum like that

bubblypig: i dont belive in air purifier...to me, open windows air is the best thingy...

at home u have purifier, but outside dont have rite?

i prefer him to build his own body resistance...

now then u bring yr dog for spaying ah? they need a couple of days to recover leh...

jasmine - i went for Brazillian waxing during my 1st, 2nd and 3rd trimester, so no worry, as long as you can endure the pain.. ;-)

for my irobot, i monitored a website called woots.com and every mth or so the irobot would turn up as the item of the day for sale. tink i bought it at US$120. den aft conversion plus shipping abt S$300 lor.

but it's my hubby who diligently monitored the website every day cos they change the products everyday. it's a bargain website, i tink. not very sure. but it's a good deal la.

milktea: there is a irobot kiosk at best denki with a promotor to demonstrate..

then for samsung there is a counter at best denki orchard taka to demonstrate too..

hubby prefer navibot since he is paying, i ok with anything..

lailai: i think yr lumps prob might not be an easy task...

cos usually wont be like that de..

suggest u approached a lactation consultant after u give birth...

u might be prone to mastitis problem.

hope i am not scaring you...

2Ks: ya, juz brought her to the vet today before her nxt heat come in Apr.. tink she will need a wk to recover..

L3x: u got a gd deal for the irobot. i saw spore selling close to 1k..

Yesterday started some irregular contractons at office, but not painful (just whole body very stiff nia)..

Then from 11 pm onwards, started to have painful contractions. I dunno how to count interval, but they seem to be 5 min interval. And I kept on go to toilet, cos got feeling to poo (but nothing much come out -- soli for being explicit).

Then monitor till 2 am, got abit of pinkish mucus, and the contractions highly uncomfortable, unable to sleep it off.

Super sianz, cos cant carry out my original plan of having another leisurely shower and big meal. Oredi started whining on the way to hospital.

Then kenna raped via VE by a nurse. ---- SUPER PAINFUL!!! And i'm only 1 cm dilated. Wah lau eh, nurses all say it's gonna be a long delivery. Wondering why contractions can be tat painful when it's only 1 cm?!? Somemore, all the while I thought i have quite a high tolerance threshold. Super malu and failure sia. Tsk, tsk..

Took laughing gas. Another 2 hrs later, took thigh injection, then manage to sleep for 2-3 hrs.

Gynae came at abt 9am, and checked it's 3cm dilated. He said contractions are still far apart, and he will burst waterbag to speed things up. Took awhile to manage burst waterbag with a hook. And i oredi started groaning. He said these are still not REAL labour pains, me definitely seem the type to need epi. Double malu.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Anaesthetist came to give epi. Again, took a few tries cos i cant seem to curl enuff. Poked a few times, and finally needle went in.

Wah lau eh, hope everything will go on smoothly from now on.

Bopee, bopee....

airmez: your description damn funny la!

burst waterbag with a hook damn uncomfortable hor??

so now u are playing the waiting game...hope u can dilate faster!