(2011/03) Mar 2011

A qns abt bf at those ungodly hrs.Do you all latch in the middle of the night? Or jus give ebm? Cos my bb drink slower when latch then some more gotta pump the other side. Or give ebm then pump out everything on both sides?

zenia, during my no.1 time, i was in a same situation as u. My gal had preference, only drinking the right breast, and not clearing my left. I ended up with mastitis, i.e. fever due to engorgement. My hub brought me to KKH, the lactation was my angel, she massaged my left breast, it was real hard and painful! But it cleared the engorgement and she gave me cabbage to make my way home. It didn't reduce my supply, I managed breastfeeding better since then...

u might wana check if there's difference in the nipple shape. Then before latching, can massage/pull nipple for bb...

limlim, i bf in the middle of the night lei. I'm up for 30-40mins each feed and he wakes up 3 times a night. I've no confinement lady, so even if i give ebm, it will be myself... if u have, and u wana rest, can get yr confinement lady to help. Provided yr breasts are not so engorged la...

Me pump n latch for 15 months. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] for #2 I can pump 125ml each side. For #1, I latch at night after work. Pump in the day.

limlim

really up to your preference leh...

if you find that you latch + pump = longer timing than total pump, then you just totally pump...

that said, if you are the person bottle feeding, then you need to wake up several times at night, to bottle feed and to pump. coz the timing not exactly at the same time mah. maybe need to wakie 5 times for different reasons?

so some mummies i know will latch and pump after latching. meaning wakie fewer times a night. but per feeding + pumping session maybe longer

i dunno ur situation. eg maybe CL or mother or mil helping u to bottle feed?

haha, dun hum tum me lah!

ignorance lah! 1st timer, sure scare this scare that, what if this is not right blah blah blah...

well, now i know who is expertise in what, 2Ks , I will come to you liao! think I wanna Zzzz... so ideally latch & pump.

ok now, Rach, you got spree nursing shawl or not, if not I will go Robinson and buy with the 25% ba!

Zenia> think I'm abit slow in my reply... Cuz I'm reading the posts via email one by one then come in type and reply...

U cannot mix the ebm from 6pm to 3pm cuz at 6pm, the 3pm milk is cOld, the 6pm ebm is warm... DIFFERENT TEMPERATURE CANNOT MIX!!

What I'll do is...

3pm pump out into medela bottle, using freestyle so both bottles are used... Pour one bottle's content into the other.. put into fridge.

Still left 3 medela bottles... Wash the one just used...

6pm use another 2 bottles to pump... Then pour one bottle into the other and put into fridge...

So now 2 bottles in fridge, 2 bottles can wash and be used for 9pm pump.

At 9pm, pump into last 2 bOttles, pour 1 into the other, left 1 bottle...

But the 3pm & 6pm bottles are now same temperature liaoz..

So I'll mixed the 3pm & 6pm bottles together..

Wash 1 bottle.. And earlier still got 1 bottle left..

So still have 2 for 12am pump... By 12am, can still pour 9pm bottle into the 3,6pm bottle OR no more space liaoz, then I'll pour the 3,6pm & 9pm bottles into 1 milkbag and label the date...

Then wash all bottles... U have another 4 bottles to use and the whole thing repeat again...

So at any one time, I'll always have 2 bottles to use...

This is for initial stage when milk supply not so much then need to pour so many times...

Once I can get at least 50ml frm each breast, I'll pour both bottles into 1 milk bag after EACH PUMP... Then keep in fridge... Next pump I'll move the milk bag up to freezer le...

Some ppl says better to put in fridge let it cool down first before putting in freezer... Cuz straight frm

Pump to freezer the cooling down too fast

Might loose nutrients.. Never research how true... But sounds logical... So I'll put in fridge... Then shift to freezer...

To have spare for storage is when u Have more than enough la... Else before u can shift to freezer, u probably use it to bottle feed liaoz....

To thaw, ill bring down frm freezer to fridge The nite before...

By morning, it's liquid liaoz... Open pour into bottle the amount I need, then put bottle into bottle warmer... The milkbag seal back and keep back into fridge for next feed...

I dun like to open close too many times so max I'll keep 2 feeds in one bag... After 2nd opening still got balance, I'll discard... Since got ample supply, no worries and no heartpain... If u heartpain, keep for 3rd feed.. Else dun keep so much in 1 bag so u fun need to open close so many times...

Else defeat the purpose of having a sterile milkbag leh... Hehe...

End of Lo Soh ness...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

haiz, toking about this...in few more days, my moomoo career starting again. my poor nipples getting tough again. i hope no more chomping of nipple like cigar

chen, is ur girl curious when u latching ur boy? coz i wonder how my son will react when i b/f the baby...

my fren pump so much..the baby get BM milk bath..such an envy hor..

also there is the breastfeeding support grp ppl..u can just call them for help..those are experienced ppl who can help ..

i also strongly recommend if got problem latching...pls get a lactation consultant even though its cost you $...

i was stingy so i didnt get those expert to help me..so i persevere on my own...luckily at 3 months my son was latching exclusively and on full BM...

mine was shorter 11 months...the supply went down coz my boy didnt wanna latch so much after i went back to work..but i went on pump for another 7 months after i went back to work..

so i plan try to do everything right this time round.(hope for a cooperative n hardworking latcher).i super enjoy my 3rd month/4th month coz when i go out wiht my boy..no need to bring bottle etc..just a nursing cover [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

but tt said..those gg back to work must be prepare for bottle resistance...if latch exclusively for 3-4 months

now cl help me bottle feed at night while i pump. so trying to figure out wat to do when she leave.

my hb very discouraging, he keep on ask me hire maid. a lot of pple see me no up, all think i cannot handle, cos my mum and mil not helping me. it's just me and baby. A lot of times me and hb nearly quarrel cos of this.

Repost:

Btw, 3 of us dare to talk so loud so we all have successfully BF for at least 12 mos each... For me is 16mos latching...

2K is 14mos pump n latch & pixie is 15mos of pumping...

Hahaa... 14,15,16.. Hehehe nice...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lailai> Wah!!! U havent deliver already lumps in breast!!! Congrats la!!!!

Actually I also beginning to feel my breasts getting heavier leh... No lumps but can feel substance inside Lo..,, not so deflated like When I wean Rayanne off A MONTH EXACTLY AGO!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So fast!!! I wean Rayanne off on 23rd Jan...

It's 23rd Feb today!!!!!! Woohoo!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tres: sure! if i know the answer i sure help! otherwise still got rach & pixie around...

rach: that is a very loh soh but SUPER CLEAR reply to zenia...

jaime, Yes! She is! To the extend, she would imitate me, put up the pillow against the bed, get her care bear and lift up her blouse to feed! I was so shocked, yet so comical to see. I told her, only mummy has milk, u're not a mummy, u don't have. She does it a few times, i told her shame shame, and she finally stops.

limlim, i tell u, once u're a mummy, yr capacity expands. Areas that u've been lazy in, u'll now be hardworking all for yr bb. My mum was also surprise at the sacrifices i made for my children. So ya, u can always prove them wrong.

rach

i felt abit of letdown "feeling" yesterday liao. fast rite...

limlim

last time at night, i feed ebm via bottle and pump myself. hb zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. cant get him to wakie

on those nights my mom got stayover, she help in 1 or 2 night feeds. but mainly is i do

do-able one de, ppl see u no up, the more u must prove to them hor?? jiayou *pat*pat*

if you really very tired, u try to latch bb both sides at night...then daytime u pump crazily the leftovers to upz the supply. then at night let ur boobs rot lah; dont need to pump out the leftovers...

thats for "im really very tired, worst case scenario" lor

bb drink bm better than none at all

limlim: tell your hubby loudly there are many mummies that survive also without any help after CL left...

can state me as example...

see us no up huh!

as for the Confinement month, seriously if i were u, i will ask CL to feed EBM...

why?

1. u can rest

2. pump takes shorter time than latch

3. others can help if CL not around, i.e. HUBBY

(make him wake up during the weekends when he is not working)

4. after one month, u are back to your own...so rest rest rest...

ops, me talk soft cos bf 8 mths nia, jus sharing everything from experience and hope it's comforting or a learning point for some mummies.

Pixie> hot scalding water to the breast??!!! Sound so self torturing...... OMG!!!

Lailai> u massage too mch will trigger labor.. Dun massage la.. Did the lumps happen before u start to massage or after?? Think overstimulated leh...

Yah think u need to relieve it fast once u deliver else really will result in blocked ducts and mastitis then die....

rach, your guide to pump and storage of bm is so detailed and helpful! I copy,save it, and print out as one of my useful note! Thanks thanks! hehe...

I wanna learn how to transport bm from work to home. Should I start to freeze the ice panel the night before I go work and do I need to put the ice panel into office's freezer or I can just leave it in the cooler bag with the ebm all the way until I go home huh?

My hb say I got nuthing to eat after CL leaves. He damn scare if I cook he'll be the one who clears up all the shit. As if the maid can cook for me, end up I cook for the maid too.

Bb> rest more, drink more fluids, take hot drink before latch/pump and massage ur breast before u latch/pump... Ur milk will come in soon... Dun give up!! I know u won't!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wa Lao... Each time I type on BF now, my tummy hardens and softens and Raylynn kicks and moves...

Kaox...

Not listening to the boring speaker at all...

I still have 60emails to read to be on par with latest posts...

Bear with my lagginess but think the posts are not stopping and after reading and deleting, more emails come in!!!!

rach

torturing but effective in clearing ducts...for my case lah....after a short while milk oozing out, ducts unblocked, lumps go off very fast

i wish i know how to unblock穴道 like kungfu master in martial arts movie heehee

chen, ha ha so cute...

i worry they not only imitate..in case they actually wanan try suckle?? coz how come baby can have it but they cant ..later become more jealous...

annie: for me right, i freeze my panel at home 1st, cos i need to transport bm from home to IFC..

then come to office, i will just continue to put the FTG in the freezer.

i wont leave it outside..

Annie> hahaha u are good..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] join us in kokking ppl head...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

limlim: for me during ML, i ordered tingkat lunch...

deliver rite to my door step and i can be full too...cos bf hungry easily

Jaster> I drink anything... Hur hur... Each time I go see gynae, sure got koi or COMEBUY... wahahaaha...

These few weeks appt earlier, koi only open at 11am so I buy COMEBUY... Lol....

Shit, hardening AGAIN!!! I can't breathe!!!

Pixie> 1cup everyday call moderation ah??!!?? Lol...

Moderation is like 2-3 tines a week la...

Bubble tea is once a week for me now since gynae appt once a week.. Lol!!!!

Havebt eat coconut for a long time....

Must go find coconut man....

rach

1x a day is moderation lo, imo heehee

self console lar!!

limlim

i have made my choice of tingkat lunch (after reading reviews n checking out with friends etc) + tingkat dinner after my confinement mth.

if you keen to know who i will be using, you can pm me? then u can try...for your 2nd, 3rd, 4th mth of ML...

pixie n rach,

hahaa.. wah!!! pixie, every day 1 cup!!! hahaa.. i take 1 sip i also scared u know? hahaa.. but now i dun care liao!!! i want to drink...

limlim: lunch portion enough for 1 person la..

got soup..

somemore the one i ordered hor...damn punctual la..

only late once for the 3 months cos raining heavily

Limlim> if at ungodly hours during confinement, I ask CL to bottle feed ebm, I get up to pump...

Faster for baby and faster for me also.. Can go back sleep faster.. Pump 20min.. Latch 40min... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

limlim, u can consider tingkat delivery to yr home, for 1 or 2 pax kind. Along the mths, bb sleeps lesser and wants more attention. It might be difficult to cook or u'll get disturbed cooks in between, even during housework, gotta drop the mop and attend to bb. Or maybe when u're confident to manage liao, u can try handling bb and cooking for the family.

jaime, she didn't try to suckle la. But i must say there'll be more bonding with no.2 than no.1, cos latching requires much time and bonding is strong. I'm kinda guilty towards no.1, even though doing confinement, i'll make it a point to pick her from school with hub. She coping better liao...

2k, pixie> I stopped cuz I'm gonna give birth liaoz and wanted to rest my breast before being abused by Raylynn la...

Else I'll continue if not preggy Lo... Lol...

So we all 3 got no problems with BF de....

Hi rach,

thinking about buying the cinch earlier.... but miss ur earlier post on the spree... do u have any extra from the spree, if not, any idea where else i can get it...

As D day looms closer, in my mind I keep thinking of what to eat before I pop... lol... now on my list is KOI, Manhantta Fish, tom yum... but I just recover from sore throat so still dun dare to go eat Manhattan Fish and tom yum... arrggghhhh

I also wanna start on coconut since already 36w... on sunday went to NTUC at sun plaza but dun have so sad....

Can I wash the bottles and teats liao, dry it and just keep in sterilizer now then when need to use then just sterilize it?

Tres> I can bring in pupsik nursing shawl or be be au lait...

I like monpetitjardin but they give sole distributorship to others liaoz... I can't get it BP price but u can get 2 for $70 online.. U can check if audrey wanna share with u..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wah!

Today super action packed!

and got refresher course on breastfeeding and pumping and how to step by step transfer of EBM.

i like!!

thanks mummies!

Btw, I wanna get nan zhao for confinement.. sunday go Fu Hua at sembawang out of stock, today go ZTP at Tampines also out of stock... really many people in confinement now???

i oso thinking of what to eat

i just bought 10$ worth of bak kwa from a hawker stall...5pcs...later eat that for tea break!!

i wanna eat cempedak!

durians!

mangoes!

baked rice

kway chap

rach, I scare I will cry and blame myself badly if I ever fail bf coz I really pin 99.99% hope that I will make it to TBF! I really feel pissed when my friends who failed to bf successfully discourage me saying not everyone has milk (rubbish!), no easy (this one I know but still must try hard!), and what bf is an hassle and will meet alot of problem when you return to work! I always tell them off and I filter whatever comments they made to me. I only enjoyed talking to friends who bf successfully and are encouraging in their words. I see the difference attitude from these two groups of mothers. The group who made it always give helpful guidance to you while the other group is opposite just because they can't make it, they will try to pull others down too.

2Ks, you put the whole FTG bag inside the freezer?? Can I put the FTG (with freezed ice panel and ebm bottles inside) at room temperature? coz I not sure if my office allows me to put my ebm inside freezer or not. Btw, if can use the fridge in office, is put ebm in fridge and not freezer right? so confused...

2K,Annie> too bored in seminar so I type n type.. Now batt left 18%... Lol....

Annie> freeze ur ice panels at home overnite n put into ur cooler bag then bring to office...

If got freezer or fridge in office, dump ur cooler bag in..

Idea is to keep ur bag as cold as possible...

After pump put ur ebm into cooler bag inside fridge or into fridge..

When u go home then dump everything into cooler bag and bring home.. Sure still cold cold de..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]