(2011/03) Mar 2011

milkshake> why does ur gynae want u to be induced at 38weeks?? any reason u cant wait till 40weeks?

I was induced at 40+3 weeks...cuz gynae says too full term liaoz... anytime before 40 weeks.. he wont suggest induce..and will just let natural....

Induce is putting on oxytocin drip to force the contractions to come...and hasten the whole process of contractions and dilation....

to me, it was very painful.. but i dunno how less painful natural is... cuz never tried.. hahaha.. :p

so they will keep increasing the dosage of oxytocin... until duno when la... and gynae broke my waterbag at 8am upon admission... i was 3cm then.... then at 1pm still 3cm.. then start the drip... once on drip...contractions came very fast.... from 8am - 1pm although water bag burst... but still no contractions AT ALL for me....

breaking of waterbag not painful... i didnt even know what he was doing.. until i felt a warm gush of water flowing out..then i asked.... oh... u broke the waterbag???

cuz before he broke, he only told me...

sorry ah.. this will be a bit uncomfortable...

(i tot he just wanted to do a VE for me...)

then after that just lay there... and small gush of warm water just keep coming out once a while....

milktea: why not? if i havent pop by then, i think i will go take a look...

u know hor...last sunday i even brought #1 to the zoo ok! my neighbour was like so stunned, she said i due next month and i still got the energy to go zoo!...

LOL

xiaofeizhu> replied ur email..posted this morning liaoz... sorry missed out.... hehehe.. :p

btw, I'm G6PD... so i cant donate.. wanted to donate when i had Rayanne..called and asked...they said they cant accept.... so... too bad.... want good karma also cannot... lol.....

milkshake> breaking of waterbag is NOT painful.. its the induced drip that will cause PAINFUL and FAST contractions.... ahaha.... :p

Rach,

Cause my tummy very tight and hard, so he suggest. I also dunno how leh. Whether should wait or induce.

Cause the waiting game is very tired. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

not every gynae practiced let bb come out naturally la..

some let the mummies play waiting game, some gynaes gauge by their own experience...

different gynaes diff styles...

Benefits of donating cord blood - Doreen attended me also. I did ask abt e benefits. besides save life, i feel that we can also sort of do a pre check on our bb if she is healthy or not. SCBB is very strict w the bank collection. So, if *touchwood* during their checks they spotted anything, we will be 1st to know n react fast.

Also:

1) our names (mummy or bb) will not be made known. we r tracked by code numbers.

2) draw 3 tubes of blood, i think is from e cord blood. not poke us again. so we wont feel e pain

3) we can contact them anytime before we pop. cos they need to prep e doc for us to bring n equipments standby at hospital. so those who have not done yet, its not too late.

4) yes, even if we donate n *touchwood* we need it back, we can request to either have our cord blood back or they find another suitable one for us n discard ours.

5) note: for those who decided to bank in pvt bank, when u decided to stop n want to donate, SCBB will not accept it

5) if our cord blood is suitable, they will give us a call. if not suitable, they will send a card.

hope i din miss out anything

Woah taka baby fair. Hope I can make it!! Hehe.

How many of u guys donated the cord blood huh? I'm readin the webbie now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rach: thanks alot for today!!!

Chen - anyway i scared of needles too.. be it draw blood or epidural.. AHHH... will be kena poked many times on D day.. sob sob. Think afterwhich "immune" to needles liao *hopefully*

thanks for all the info...so i can call doreen directly..maybe tomorow i tell the gynae as well n ask my hubby ..then i will donate..coz not banking it for personal use..

so v give the 3 vial of blood before delivery??

2K> yup... of coz i know every gynae practice different style..and not all pro natural or pro epidural-less...

ha.. i was just trying to say that my gynae believes in all natural.... and sometimes... some gynae just want easy way out....

thats why i asked if there's a reason why she need to be induced early....

there should be a reason... and we shouldnt just be dummies... gynae say what then do what blindly.... must find out the reason ma....

at least she says her is hard and tight...

(though i dun understand the implications...)

i have fren's fren also asked to be induced cuz she cant stand the waiting game....

so... not just gynae different practice... mummies also different preference de lo...

ultimately, as long as u trust ur gynae's expertise and is comfortable with what he advise and explained to you...then go ahead....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

nolah jaime

when you go to hosp for birth they will then take...

no need extra trip to somewhere else just for this 3 tubes of blood

also if you got any "CHOI CHOI TOUCHWOOD" illness after they test ur blood, you'll be the first to know. also considered free medical checkup lor, think it this way???

2Ks: of cos I know who u r! Hurhur...

Yup, still having contractions..so painful it woke me up frm my nap. Sigh...

Wanna ask hor, wad is water bag leak ar? The water noticeable anot huh?

Last week my checkup, he say my cervice is soft and didilated 1cm. Asked to get ready as I might deliver this week

Yesterday he say not ready yet. Haiz.. He feel the hardness of my tummy so say if monday still not deliver, he suggest induced at wk38d6.

How huh? Isit too early to induce? He say ok since bb weight is fine, already 3.2kg

2ks

^5 i brought my son to zoo on end jan coz birthday boy mah

ever since, x1 has been bugging me to go to "animal jungle" aka the zoo. i dare not say the "z" word else he will bug me for the whole day

so, i bo bian, going to sign up for zoo family membership

jaime: yes...3 tubes of blood will be drawn, they will carry out some test on the blood too and confirm no virus/diseases...

doreen mentioned although the gynae did the test for u in early pregnancy, it doesnt mean later stage ok...

so the blood are used for test before they can accept the cord blood..

pixie: my bb cord blood was accepted...cos i received followed up calls from them a few times

pixie> i just hope i wont be 40weeks again... cuz so long i'm not 40weeks... or baby is 4kg, i doubt Dr Koh will say go induce....

so i pray pray pray... he keep telling me... maybe ard 38 weeks.. i hope and pray so... his 38 weeks...means my 39 weeks liaoz...hahaha...

cuz he's looking at 11mar... i'm looking at 4mar....

so we are both still looking at 27feb - 2mar that week... yayy!!

Pray Raylynn guai guai come out during that week.....

i got sooooo much hardending n bua-ing every day....really very gan kor.... but just wait lo....

everyday feels like... i'm gonna pop liaoz... haahha.. :p

For SCBB, they v fast. I called on Monday morning and they asked me to go down to KKH to sign, but told them I not convenient to go out during this stage. And they arranged a nurse coordinator to come to my plc void deck, explained to me in details the procedures, etc and signed the papers.

They will give u a kit (envelope) and all u hv to do is to pass to the delivery suite nurse (not admission staff) when admit to hospital.

I called them Monday morning and they came down to meet me in the late afternoon.

Stretchmarks: My #1 was vertical lines... now #2 i see horizontal lines....

i'm gonna have a pizza belly instead of watermelon belly liaoz.... :'(

lilprecious: oh dear...jayien creating havoc inside...

just ren as much as u can alrite...

when is yr next check? bb weight now?

my waterbag was burst leh...no colour one...but hor, its warm warm one...

maybe others whose waterbag leaks can advice??

pixie: my office got free pass to zoo/bird park...

and i wanna bring kyler there before didi come out mah...wait less time for him le

Rach.. omg.. you mean the lines can go all directions de ah?? sibei scary lehh...

lilprecious, jiayou hor, when the contraction is very painful, maybe you can try the diff breathing method to lessen the pain.

I had my second BH experience yesternight but I think either it's not as painful as the first round, or that I have better managing the pain this round.

Then this morning I was thinking, myabe BH is to slowly let us adjust ourselves to cope with the real thing without epidural help.

Then again, my pain tolerance has always been very very low, after a BW session I felt like I was raped and couldn't walk properly for 20mins. Hahaa..

So abit challenging to do without epi. Hahaa..

XiAOFEIZHu- dont tin so you can donate..if one party got G6Pd..cant liao woh..but you can cehck again...

MILKTEA- ai yo tat sales guy desperate for sales lah...

new baby confinement food

not bad,its tasty n not so oily

for poky n babybride, if u want i have the price list with me

but i think everyday is lunch n dinner, i dont see the package that said once a day only

toking about stretch marks-- oni got a middle line at the below..but hor, after birth will fade rite..i dont kw hor buy from Rach the butter to display at my table niah..din use much..ehhehehe

I don't know my water consider leak or burst. I jus know got water coming out and it's pinkish in colour. Scare the hell out of me.

Jus back from newborn shoot. Tiring man. Have to pacify him with my breast or else no photos.

babybride, angelina lee,

actually, i feel it more wasted... cos paying high fee for the food, but hv to tell them to skip those n give only the cheap ingredient.... lol...

M,

v sianz rite? wana TBM, also worried bcos of it, they get jaundice... mine was so high that she got admitted urgently to go under triple lights... then was scared by the PD of the possible effect of high jaundice that i cry the whole day. til my gal show sign of improvement in the evenin.... when i called the ward. the nurses can even remember that i was the cryin mommy... can even console me lor... now thinkin back... feel so paiseh that i acted so exgerating... lol

wonder if bb #2 also gona hv different blood from me also. =(

bside ginger.. the PD at that time says to avoid any herb roots stuffs...

SCBB

i got GD, will they accept? inducin this sat, stil got time??

Milktea, 2Ks,

lucky, the taka bb sale til 28th.. my confinement b over by then liao!!! can go n buy milkbags le!!!

milkshake,

burstin of waterbag not painful at all.... previously, when gynea was doin VE, she juz ask if i want to burst to speed up things... i say ok... nxt thing i know is a gush of water out liao... but i dun recall given any drip... jux pill in the mornin at the clinic for inducing... but when i checked myself in at the ward... there still wasnt much contraction.... only after the waterbag burst... then everythin came quite fast....

Cynthia,

hmm.. confinement food caterin can b ordered within a few days in advance ba?? at most... ask my mom to cook for the few days.. then hubby go west to collect n bring back to east for me to eat lor... kekke

can i ask wat stage was ur mil at? how often hv to do chemo? need someone to take care of them? paiseh.. cos no experience in this.. also duno wat to expect...

lilprecious...

i only recall the gush of warm water.. like urine... but u cant control the bladder at all... dun even realise it was comin out, until i feel the warm gush on the thighs...

milktea,

y ur gynea wants to induce? juz bcos it safe liao? wat abt u? u want to wait or induce?? for me, i wld hv like to wait for natural.. but not possible for me since i got GD... but if u hv any underlyin med issue, y want to induce??

been havin tummy hardenin every day for at least 4-6x.. hopefully, it sign tat i hv dilated even further...?? then i shld b able to deliver on sat itself???

i just bought a gift for my boy from mei mei...

there is a playdoh with cookie monster..apparently can make alphabet n food..and can feed to the cookie monster...

since my boy like to pretend to feed things to ppl...tots its quite nice..

i better put in my hospital bag...but i still looking for a better gift..but if no time..i will give that liao...

i am actually looking for those die cast bus or train..no battery that kind..tot little boys like to play this kind of things..toy r us sell very ex for such things...

oop..2Ks- i tin so..i blur lah..so do i need to apply the butter cream or can jus leave it..? I wonder..cos I find like a bit " sticky" after applying the "lotion" woh..

poky: GD cant donate cord blood..

milkbags u can get from pixie...should be cheaper.

jaime: i havent buy gift for kyler too leh...dunno what to buy and also he got alot of toys le..

i have a set of melissa & doug puzzle which i havent open, maybe i wrap that and give him

Jamie - i have snacks i need to wrap to give to #1 as a present from her mei mei to her, she's too young to really care but she does point to my belly, go mei mei and kisses it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. Gotta look for a nice animal picture book this weekend, she loves those too.

i also got lots of unopened toys..but i realise all very big..dont wanan bring to hospital..but i want it to be a wow factor a bit mar..

coz apparently my fren;s girl didnt like the present..so now dont like the mei mei..hahahaha...

2Ks,

o... then i no need to call them liao.

cant recall if i ever ask pixie on the milkbags.. but i only recall that it the ziplock, better quality type?? nvm, later i pm her. =)

jamie,

i cheapo... i used the huggies stamps to exchange the leap frog story bk as a gift for mei mei to jie jie... but later, i saw a spree excess for the fridge phonics, i bought again... so now jie jie got 2 gifts from mei mei liao.... lol...

but no gift for mei mei from jie jie, since she duno yet... haha

angelina

is the food portion alot? heard that caterin portion r often enuf for 2 person for small eater... is it?? can pm me the price? do they hv any ongoin promo??

lilprecious, for my #1, i had contractions, then while preparing to go hospital, my water bag leaked. it's uncontrollable, with warm water trickling down to yr feet, then wet the floor. When i reached hospital, then gynae broke my water bag completely. warm feel and feels messy too.

won_mummy, tat's good info. on cord donation. thanks!

jaime, me also bought gift from didi to jiejie liao. And like you, I'm still looking for a better gift if time permits. Never perfect for us. haha.

Think stretchmarks comes with genes lei, i'm starting to be an unbeliever of stretchmark cream liao. Apply everyday, still see watermelon lines. Indeed similar to carrying a real watermelon, the weight and the skin. sigh!

rach, me too... everywhere there lines, different direction... the silver lines alrdy so many,, come new red lines at other portion... whole tummy is either silver or red lines... sianz..

poky, i was like you, didn't plan to get a gift for newborn, from no.2. Then i thought abt it, baby might not understand, but it's more for no.1 to understand that he/she needs to show love to welcome baby too. So i'll bring her to choose a pressie for her didi, another headache. haha.