(2011/03) Mar 2011

Juz had my check up yesterday, BB head is down already... (32weeks)..but my BB weight abit light wor... at 32 weeks, he is 1.7kg only wor!!! can anyone tell u wat is your BB weight???

Fish, your bb so fast head down already? So good... Mine still haven't leh. Still up wor... Hope he will head down in the comning weeks, b4 CNY. Fish, I think your bb is normal. Mine worse than yours, 1.3kg at 31 weeks only. lol... This saturday is my next check up, will see if there is big difference.

Annie,

u thinking of start your maternity leave on 28th Feb wor... i'm thinking of taking only I have the sign of labour wor.. coz many frenzs who gave birth b4 told me, they took maternity leave earlier and they felt so bored staying at home and wait for BB to come out, the time is like not moving like that, very slow... and some BB refuse to come out on the EDD date wor... they have to wait longer...

so... i'm thinking if i still can move and not feeling tired, maybe i will work till i'm abt to give birth....

Annie,

Ya lor!! coz i feel his kicks from both side of my stomach already...

then yest gynae said my BB weight is below the average line, made me so worry wor! but he did a few measurement for the BB, luckly everything okie.. hope BB can absorb more nutrition in the next 8 weeks ba!!! pray hard pray hard...

Hi Annie, my EDD is the same as yours. Re maternity leave, me will work till got signs of labour bah... if cant tahan, will take MC to rest.

Fish, at first I also thought I taking my maternity leave only when I go into labour but I think taking a few days before my due date should be okay, can rest at home and do last min cleaning if needed. By then we will be very heavy and I think I will be lazy to go work already. Now already into maternity mood liao loh. I got a strong feeling my bb will come out early leh. If a few days early, then just nice I take 28 Feb rest 1-2 days then bb pop. I don't think my bb will over due. It's just my sixth sense la. Haha.. To me, I at home I can do many things one. Like watch drama/TV, surf net, go out walk walk, tidy my things, etc. I can spend some time with my dog also. Somemore I taking the week same as my due week, is not very long, so is okay to me. Then I will start going back work on a Monday too, I prefer this way leh.

Fish, bb small good ma, easier to give birth? Haha... My thinking...

AirMez, is this your #1? This is my #1, so I'll be nervous. I scare work until pop what if labour sign appears during work or what then no time to bathe b4 going hospital? hahaha.. I wanna bathe one last time before admitting to hospital, otherwise don't know how long later after birth then can bathe liao. :p

Pixie> dun rem Mt A giving receivin blankets... Think those who attended Mt A Anenatal class also given a check list on what to pack in hospital bag and includes swaddling blanket cuz not in Mt A practice to give...

But if like what Pinky says, maybe The goody bag sponsored by different companies may include...

So if there are is bonus Lo.... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

can i check if baby shield car seat is good? getting a pre-loved toddler de.. cos hb and i dont want to get an infant one which cant sit long..but it is reclinable.. so any issues for bb around 4 mths like that to sit? the one i getting happens to be my fav RED colour..think bb likes it too! cos when i was viewing, she happends to be moving around..heehee..

Annie: Yup, this is my 1st one. Seeing my mum's past 'pattern', i think my labour is gonna be a long long one... so think me definitely got time to go home, bathe, go and whack one BIG meal, before admitting bah...

Actually i also wont feel bored at home, me just love to nua [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Just tat wanna maximise ML time with bb loh... Like wat u said, personal preference. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning Mummies!!

Finally finish with my closing... so stress... yday midnight, bb was moving ard and bua-ing me so furiously that kept me half awake zzzzz...

At week 28 checkup, bb is in breech position, although gynae say still early no need to worry but I still worry leh... if bb head nv turn down in time how...

Re ML, my EDD is on a weekend so I think I will work until Wed then take MC for Thurs and Fri to rest then start ML on a Mon for easy calculation... that is provided BB guai guai until EDD then come out.. otherwise ML will start upon signs of labour =)

BBrabbit - Do take care and rest well ya.. dun over exert yourself...

sorry to interrupt..

But if you would like to buy personalized nice photo frames for your new born bb, do visit http://fluffyheartz.blogspot.com

There are also personalized greeting cards for purchase too!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4970718.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4970719.jpg]

Milktea- re your munchkin diaper organizer.. departemental stores got got.. I saw it at both Robinsons stores, Taka also have.. Kiddy Palace some of the branches have too. Hmm.. i think cannot repackage by opening the box up lei.. we also dun want to risk somebody opening up the box and things go missing.. my tots [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyway Munchkin Mozart Magic Cube is down to USD 19+ at Amazon. Still not below our targeted price.. we shall aim ! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

if suay suay natural + emergency c-sect, any idea how much it will cost in total?

for hosp bill from TMC, my sis who delivered May 2010 (she c-sect + epidural), her hosp bill add up to $5k+.. after medisave, she has to pay $3k in cash..

Xiaofeizhu, same here. Bb still in breech position @ 28 weeks. Don't worry! Still early & lotsa time for yr bb to turn.

Starfruit, I bought Britax first class seat during Mothercare Amex sale. I think about 400+? I know original price is abt $500.

Heard so many delivery stories and hope everything will be good for everyone! For me, I prefer natural w/o epidural but I'm not sure how much I can endure too. Besides, anything can happen so I just pray it will be a smooth one!

Btw, I felt cramps @ vagina area yesterday for half an hour! I was so worried that I had to walk really slow. The feeling was as if something was going to drop from the vagina! Very scary! My colleague told me to walk slowly, sit and breathe deeply. Thank goodness it was gone after half an hour! Anyone can tell me what's that? I don't think it's contractions right?

M leave, I also thinking of starting it when labour sign shows.

But I scare I cannot tell the labour signs. Hahahaa..

Then I also scare water bag burst in the office, damned paisei leh.. =P

annie

if ur bb really come out on 28th feb then we may have our babies at the same time, coz im still "choosing" dates for c-sect and 28th feb is one of the options i've shortlisted leh!

allets

3years ago, i had the "suay suay natural + emergency c-sect" @ TMC too....i paid 3k + to 4K in cash too after all the available deduction from medisave

Lailai - Thanks... hope our bb will be guai guai and turn heads down nearer the date...

pixiepixel - I also thinking if my bb will come out earlier on 28th Feb... if she did then she will become anniversary bb cos I had my customary wedding on 28 Feb hehe...

Fish,

my last week's chk up @wk32 .. bb also head down liao with 1.8kg ..

Gynae said average weight leh .. not big not small .. i paste a link earlier .. i think 1.7kg is average leh ..

Lailai, I had exactly the same cramp like yours last Friday while I was walking at Vivo City! Like something pulling and dropping out of my vaginal! It striked me like 3 times then I panicked and faster find a seat to sit down. I even called up my friend to check if that was a fake contraction but my friend said contraction feeling is not like that wor. My friend says contraction is on the tummy itself and is like your tummy shrinking (contracting) feeling, very tight feeling, not something dropping from vaginal feeling. So I also dunno what's that feeling of mine leh... But that was the only time I felt it then no more le. My friend said maybe I carried too heavy thing and walked too long?

pixiel, I want natural birth, I hope my bb will cooperate with me and head down soon. I very scare c-sect leh.

rashes,

i have leh .. start from side of tummy, then thigh, then leg, then hand ... now chest area ... gynae also said it's preggy eczema.. hormon's fault .. i dont have this during my #1 .. now tummy, thigh, hand getting better .. but the chest area looks so ugly lor ..

hope it'll go away after i pop .. & please dun leave me the scar ..

erm...the dropping feeling i had it when my bb head down...its like something dropping..

the head pressing on the vaginal area i think so...

when baby engaged, the pain down there will be more intense...

contractions is at tummy area...like menses cramps double up...

fish: mothercare should have...

think this lucky baby brand also have..

but with bath tub or not i am not sure...

but u really need this...

from what i think, the bath tub quite small,

maybe use a few mths cant use already...

sinmey,

wow?? your BB also abt same weight with my BB wor!!! coz gynae said abit light, then so worry lor!!! i have gain 20kg since pregnant.. BB onli 1.7kg...diaoz... all fat go to me!!! sob sob...

then my colleague's wife, when she 32 weeks, BB 2.4kg le wor!!! but ya la.. her gynae said BB is a big BB.. haha!!! she going to give birth nx week and now her BB 3.25kg le wor!!!!

2ks,

not the bath area.. i like the one that can put bb diaper and pamper and bb powder etc all together... then when i look for BB stuffs... just go there n find!

i havent reli see the real things b4.... maybe when i see the real thing, it might not that useful again... haha!!!

2ks, so that dropping feeling is bb heading down that's why we have this feeling?

Fish, that is not contraction lah, it's a something dropping kind of feeling, unlike menses cramp leh...

I think my bb the smallest, so light!

Wow fish, you don't look like you put on 20kg in pic leh... 20kg is alot you know? Somemore we only 8 mths, still got 2 mths to go... You sure over shoot 20kg... how come you will gain so much? you eat alot? I only gained 9kg so far leh. No wonder my bb so small. I got eat more than what I used to eat but not very big difference in my appetite, maybe that's why.

fish: u go mothercare and see. should have...then lucky baby also have, think should be cheaper.

annie: might be....but then hor...baby head down now, doesnt mean it wont head up again...

only when baby engaged then he/she wont go up again..

Fish, kiddy palace have! I've seen it at juronh pt, matina sq n nex [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rashes, I also hv at the baby bump.

Not seriously type I think, not itchy also leh.

Just red red dots dots all over.

Then hor, under my belly button area hor, black black leh.. anyone too?

What are Braxton Hicks contractions?

Braxton Hicks contractions are sporadic uterine contractions that start about 6 weeks into your pregnancy, although you won't be able to feel them that early. You probably won't start to notice them until sometime after mid-pregnancy, if you notice them at all. (Some women don't.) They get their name from John Braxton Hicks, an English doctor who first described them in 1872.

As your pregnancy progresses, Braxton Hicks contractions tend to come somewhat more often, but until you get to your last few weeks, they'll probably remain infrequent, irregular, and essentially painless. Sometimes, though, Braxton Hicks contractions are hard to distinguish from early signs of preterm labor.

Play it safe and don't try to make the diagnosis yourself. If you haven't hit 37 weeks yet and you're having more than four contractions in an hour — or you have any other signs of preterm labor (see below) — call your caregiver immediately.

By the time you're within a couple of weeks of your due date, your contractions may get more intense and more frequent, and they may cause some discomfort. Unlike the earlier painless and sporadic Braxton Hicks contractions, which caused no obvious cervical changes, these contractions may help your cervix "ripen" — gradually soften and thin out (efface) and maybe even dilate a bit. This period is sometimes referred to as pre-labor.

How can I tell the difference between Braxton Hicks and true labor contractions?

In the days or weeks before labor, Braxton Hicks contractions may intermittently become rhythmic, relatively close together, and even painful, possibly fooling you into thinking you're in labor. But unlike true labor, during this so-called false labor the contractions don't grow consistently longer, stronger, and closer together.

What can I do if my Braxton Hicks contractions are making me uncomfortable?

If you're within a few weeks of your due date, try these measures:

Change your activity or position. Sometimes walking provides relief. At other times, resting eases contractions. (True labor contractions, on the other hand, will persist and progress regardless of what you do.)

Take a warm bath to help your body relax.

Try drinking a couple of glasses of water, since these contractions can sometimes be brought on by dehydration.

Try relaxation exercises or slow, deep breathing. This won't stop the Braxton Hicks contractions, but it may help you cope with the discomfort. (Use this opportunity to practice some of the pain-management strategies you've learned in your childbirth preparation class.)

mummies!

itchy me got a question! i called up gynae clinic and they told me can use calamine lotion for the rash and itch.. but when i was at guardian earlier, the pharmacist say calamine lotion will dry the skin and might not be so effective in reducing itch leh.. she recommended me to apply normal moisturiser.. does it really helps? thought of getting normal jj bb lotion.. does it works?

for the brands that mummies recommeded earlier, never see it over counter at pharmacy leh.. must ren 2 more days than ask gynae give me lotion!

Fish,

i saw something similar at ikea.

but its a changing table and there are shelfs at the bottom for you to store and put baby stuff.so its like a one stop station lor.

Milktea20, me also hav dark patch around belly button area, underarms n a bit at the neck area... worse one is underarms la... so er xin lo... very dark... I saw online say this is Machiam pigmentation like tt [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

zenia/ milktea - ya manz! now wear sleeveless also dont dare to raise up my hand.. cos dark patch like machiam never wash.. haha..

allets, dun think moisturiser helps lei, unless it's itch from dry skin. Can try though, moisturiser shld be preggy friendly. The other time, my belly was itching bad, my gyane prescribed antihistamine cream for me. Worked well. I apply stretchmark cream everyday, works like moisturiser too, doesn't help with my itch lei. Maybe u call the clinic, ask to purchase over the counter.

sinmey & Annie,

Ya lor... 20kg le wor!!! so sad... i was 50kg lei... then now 70.4kg le!!! HAI.... 8 weeks to go.. think i will hit at least 75kg!! sob!!!! sob!!! i reli have to work HARD after give birth to back to 50kg lor!!! if not.. reli bang wall lor!!!

pinkypink,

kiddy palace have ya?? okie?? i'm going JP later, go n take a look later...

2Ks,

thanks for the website.

spyria,

the one u saw at Ikea, how much???

ya Chen, dark patch supposed to become lighter a few months after birth of ur bb and it depends on individual lor... some go off faster some go off later... i'm reali paranoid with the dark patch underarms, reali hope it can go away faster :/

fish: are u sure u put on 20kg? definitely dont look like it lah...

not all weight on u la....

your breast, your waterbag, all that also contributes to the weight mah...

once give birth should be 6-8kg lighter le