(2011/03) Mar 2011

Wah, I still dun catch the cooling pad thingy.

2Ks, the hospital one really small ah? Now I think back, Rach's is girl girl, so maybe she never experienced the boy boy's shooting pee skill. LOL.

I bought the waterproof mattress protector for my own bed sometime back.

Thinking if I should need something for the baby cot mattress too. Incase leakage from diaper hor..

Pixel, after work I also go see then update you all if there's more to get from Watson.

mummies, check w u all...u all bought cots?? not the 3-in-1 play pens? i saw the play pens that have the top layer for changing diapers, then two levels to adjust for babies sleeping...

y prefer cots? I havent buy any cot or playpen so tot of asking for ur views...

2Ks, hmm.. ya likely will do at home. I think maybe too tired to step out still.

Sometimes I think this full month celebration is more for relatives, the parent. Coz bb still so small, sleep and sleep.

I am more looking forward to one yr old celebration. HAHA!!

angelia, my hub did give some warnings la, but I still went ahead. He knows if I wana do, I'll do. haha. Cos hair lei, crown of my head, no nice hair, I'm like woman of no confidence. haha.

pixie, ya lor, can't help but to suspect about that teacher...

2ks, u're right abt children forgiving easily, they don't hold grudge. Hmm, maybe she's just not in the mood for school this week. I shall keep observing...

milktea: TMC one is small...hospital free gift mah, how big will they give, tio bor...

MT A one maybe bigger?

u confused about what on the cooling pad thingy?

can i clear yr doubts?

ok...

for home use, i usually use

1. babysafe waterproof protector for the mattress follow by the bedsheet (BP sells also on waterproof protector)

2. then i used those blue blue rubber mat on top of the bedsheets...cos i dont wanna keep washing bedsheets leh..

3. it more or less helps on the flow of the urine/vomit etc, cos of the grooves i think...

for outside

1. starting cos i havent buy my skip hop diaper bag, i used tollyjoy changing mat as base on any changing table (really, some s.c never clean those changing table one)

that mat can fold and its big enough

2. after i bought my skip hop (cos can hook on to my peg perego), i used the slight cushion changing mat that comes along with the bag

2ks

thanks...u cfm with me again via email or sms abt the quantity ok...just dont want to get it wrong, then duiz

milktea

the cooling pad, is like a changing mat. cept its rubber type. and perhaps a bit bigger.

you can used it for changing diapers, or let your bb sleep on it (put the cooling pad on to of your mattress)

but its too bulky to bring out lar. best use at home

babybride: u are referring to the bassinet right...

its actually up to u whether to use cot/playpen/sarong etc.

depends on space also...cot can be quite big.

and also budget

erm...i prefer cot...why? cos i dont have to bend too low to change the diapers, then also there is 4 levels to adjust height

re full mth party venue - hmm...i think e diff is, if book venue outside, u pay for e cleaning [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] for me, cos my hb side have fewer relatives. wanted to do at my mum's house w big corridor, but hb dont agree. so die die i must find a ext venue.

re breastpad/leaking - hmm...my friend intro me buy a shell thingy from medela call collection shell or wat...will that helps?

babybride - hmm...cot or playpen i think is up to individual. does ur house have room for both? n do u intend to have no. 2? wat i heard was, cot more stady n comfy. but more ex, take up space n cant use v long. playpen height is lower n less comfy. but u can convert it to play area when bb grows up. can use it for more yrs n purpose. somemore its cheaper. if u not sure if bb will prefer cot or sarong or wat, maybe if u buy a playpen 1st, dont like still can keep till he is 6mths n above to use again?

won_mummy: that breast shells hor...it will help to collect those dripping milk la...but u will feel like madonna u know...

something hard hard round round, pointing out..

if u dont mind la...but its not comfortable

babybride - i bought the graco playpen and it was about 300 plus. So it wasn't much cheaper and by the 6 month we switched to cot. But the playpen is now used at my mom's place so it's not a waste of money. The changing table that come with the playpen I think max you can use it for is 6 mths.

M: the pics made me laugh la...hilarious the pics...

i also bought graco playpen leh...i tot it was sturdy...

i just sold it a couple of months back for $150...lugi so much hor

2ks, thanks for answering my queries. :) For the blue blue rubber mat u are using, any brand? I've only seen the Tollyjoy foldable ones around...

Mummies using pigeon wipes, do we need to buy the case? Is there a purpose for the case to seal in the moisture of the wipes or is each individual packet resealable by itself so don't really need the case?

2ks

apart from M's post, i oso laffing at your madonna post....

audrey

i never used the case till my #1 was 2yo. i late bloomer when it comes to pigeon case. but i top up the wipes from non-pigeon brands

audrey: u are welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

blue blue rubber mat very easy to buy...annaku have, pigeon also have...

i have the case at home, for refill...

for bringing out, i buy those 80s which comes with a flap, which is better, keep the wipes moist..

M, the blog made me LOL at my pc haha! Hilarious!! Thanks for sharing. :)

pixie, icic so the case is not really necessary rite? The pigeon refills are ok to use alone on their own ya?

about the wipes getting dried rite

for those big packet wipes, either comes in "stick back the sticker" type; or "press the plastic flap-click into place" type....of course the 1st kind gets dried faster lo...

so what i do (even till today) was, i buy a combo of above, remove the plastic click lock once i finished using the packet of wipes, and stick them onto brand new packets for those with "stick back the sticker" type.

-remove the manufacturer glue form plastic click lock

-use double sided tape to seal 4 sides

-remove the "stick back sticker" on original packaging

-paste the plastic click lock after removing the double sided tape backing

viola! now you can have longer lasting wet wipes

coz my fav brand (apart from anaku) is the first choice wet wipes from cold storage and they are stickers type *bleah*

sorry lor soh post

bababride - I bought a 4-in-1 cot in the end cos this is my #1, can still re-use for #2 otherwise can change to be a junior bed when she grows bigger... comments from colleagues playpen need to bend very low to change diaper resulting in backache becos only 2 adjustable heights while cot usually have 4 adjustable heights, cot is more sturdy... the cot that I bought can support up to 40kg toddler while the salesperson say a playpen usually support up to 15kg only... as for bassinet that comes attached with playpen for changing diaper, you can actually buy an individual one can fit on your cot if you like, KP does sell it... But ultimately, its up to individual preference =)

Poohh... today absorbed super alot of info. Read until my eyes tired.

2Ks, I think I know the cooling pad le, think I will just get one from Tollyjoy la, can also pass to MIL to use so that I hsve one each size should the one from Mount A is big too.

Madonna, that's really funny... I think I need to standby cabbage in the fridge, my co said it helps to cool the breast down during the initial stage.

Oh.. all the preparation just for the boobs, I really hope I will be able to breastfeed for at least 6mths!!

Audrey, my co told me the box not necessary de, she said we will use wipes so fast that no chance to dry up =P

2ks

during my #1, my sis gave me a pair but i dun dare to use leh. coz i see & touch it, it feels so weird to put inside my bra...super bo liao

xiaofeizhu, how come got 4-in-1 cot? i only saw 3-in-1 playpen at mothercot but not for cot leh..if can get the diaper changing on for cot better still leh..caz originally eyeing on the playpen becaz got diaper changing area..my room very limited space or if all can be together better still...

hmm like that seems that cot can last longer hor...

audrey i bought the changing mat from pigeon for S$13.90...its the blue on one side and pink on the other side one...its big area so i guess shld be more safe bah

ohya mummies,

can I ask, hv you all heard that durian will mk ur baby bigger or gain more weight?

I like durian but I wana control control la.

And drinking chicken essence will cost baby to gain more weight or nt?

Isit alrite to drink one bottle a day now?

I rem during first trim some mummies said one bottle a week I think..

audrey, i used the case for the weight lor, so that I can pull out the wipes w/o lifting the whole packet, esp when it's finishing. When cleaning pee and poo, no extra hands to hold the packet of wipes liao... for me la.

milktea: erm...i will suggest those box use for home...

cos if u hold the bb legs one hand, then the sticker of the wipes keep falling then how you pull out the wipes? will kalang kabok la...

unless its those flip top kind...

anyway the box usually will come with one pkt of wipes also..

then hor, other brands wipes also can fit in...

no no...dont use cabbage unneccesary ok...cabbage will reduce the milk...of cos it help on engorgement la...but it not as good as using warm water or cold compress

wahhh... heng I asked.

Now I think I need the Pigeon box as well. Tsk tsk..

And about the cabbage, it will reduce milk ah??!

warm water as in cloth in warm water then put at breast ah? Then wats'a a cold compress?

Today whole day din work much, keep chatting chatting. BAD.

milktea: yes...i remember mrs wong said before...cold cabbage will reduce the milk...

hot compress, just use warm water soaked in hanky pressed on breast, same for cold compress...

but there is this donut relief pack which is round and with hole in the centre that can keep in the fridge then put on breast one...

but hot compress is good enough for me...

i only use cold compress when i wanna stop breastfeeding..

apparently hot compress clear my ducts better

2ks/chen/milktea, thanks!! Looks like i should go get a pigeon case as well, just for convenience sake. So far i've only gotten the 6 for $19.50 refill pack, so just get one more case enough le rite?

Pixie, thanks for sharing your tips.. u r such a hardworking mummy haha, pei fu pei fu!

milktea/2ks, ya i also heard that cold cabbage will reduce milk flow. My friend recommended Osim hot & cold compress, i'll go check it out soon. :)

milktea: hahaha!! share share info la...

audrey: no prob...the case inside will come with one packet of wipes too...so u have 7 packets...then plus the hospital discharge that packet...

depends on whether u wanna stock up more or not la..

initial period really use alot of wipes...

pixie: shower with hot water, then can see 寿桃 on yourself leh, cos red red and pointed....LOL

babybride, ooh okok i shall go check out pigeon changing mat too, thanks! So have u decided on cot or playpen? Me also having a headache over which one to get. Seems like cot is better for those worried about backache - like me!

milktea, confirm durian increase the weight of baby..caz my gynae keeps telling me dont eat durian caz he keep saying i got big baby..

my friend got a small baby that is abt 1.5kg at last 3 mths so last 2 mths her gynae ask her eat durian to get a bigger baby...in the end her baby is 2.3kg i think...

audrey, ya i got very bad backaches liao...but the lady at mothercare was tellin me that playpen can adj height so same amount of bending as cot leh...so i stil dono which one to buy...

i didnt attend mrs wong class..y need hot compress and cold compress huh?? just put on top of whole breast?

2ks

thats the only time can see big boobs. after bfding, back to small cup size, very sianz lei

so i dont mind looking at it more haha

yup yup....durian help bb put on weight...

but then hor...now is not durian season leh...now the durians are all injected one...

maybe can try eating kampong eggs instead??

babybride: hot compress help to relief block ducts..

cold compress help to reduce milk flow...

2ks, icic 7 sounds like a lot for now haha, but yet I know from u girls that it won't be enough! Btw do u start using the wet wipes on your bb from day 1? I heard some say better to start with cotton wool and plain water first cos bb skin is sensitive, maybe after 1 month then use the wet wipes wor...

babybride, ya me too having very bad backaches, else i would prolly just get a good mattress to place on the floor haha! Hmm if the amount of bending is the same then no diff leh, maybe those mummies who shared got better cots? So far i see the cots only 2 to 3 adjustable heights, but some mummy shared hers got 4 wor! If get playpen, u intend to let baby sleep in the playpen through the night? The mattress good enough or not?

2k - oops...i bought that already. going to be madonna for 1mth....lol...else buy le dont use, wasted. haha

angelia - r u feeling better already? still resting at home?

pigeon case - hmm...i dont know which one u all talking abt leh. dont recall seeing such case. can get from everywhere?

milktea - i will suggest dont over 'poo' urself. eat moderate...maybe once a wk. ie birds nest, chicken essence, etc...n durian cfm is no no. my colleagues ask me to avoid sweet stuffs, all e weight will go to bb n might have big bb, diff to natural.

for chicken essence, actually i seldom drink. but have reserved 2 btls. my friend suggest to drink 2 btls 1 shot when going to deliver. she say will help boost our strength n energy during delivery. not sure how true, but no harm trying [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2ks

HUH!! really ah?? no REDUCE????

from normal boobs to bfding boobs, my difference was 2.5cups increment. if i stayed at that level, my hb sure very happy to ML every night kakaka....

audrey: can always buy if not enough...dont worry...wipes the price more or less controlled...so buy anywhere also same price..unless during taka sale for member la..

i used wet wipes for my bb from day 1, sometimes i mix use water and wipe...

but hor..cos the cotton wool so small, then dip in water liao, then like u need many many pcs then u can clean it leh...

so what i usually do is i clean with wet wipes 1st, then go through another round with wool dip in water..

but then hor...its only the initial 1-2 months..after that i dont bother le...just use wipes...

won_mummy : Yup, i'm feeling much more better... Still resting lo.. got to check with my Gynae on my next checkup whether am i still able to work anot lo... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pixie: i just find it hard and soft nia...

hard when engorge, soft after stop breastfeeding...

but i permanently up one cup la...thats for sure...

perhaps this time round you can upz 1 more cup again after bfing period, making it grand total of 2cups increment hurhur