(2011/03) Mar 2011

my boy last time started w pampers brand..so all the way we let him wear pampers..so now im not sure if my gal can accept petpet in the day and pampers in the nite..

if get too big pack, it will be risky.erm..

2Ks, Lol. Thks thks, I din know cooler bag and fridge-to-go got difference.

Seriously, heng we have experienced mummies in this thread, else some bb items gets so confusing. *bleah*

boymum: u requested for full breastfeeding?? maybe that is why...

i didnt...i told them 12am-6am, feed FM, the rest of the hours then push to me...

i want my zzz! before i go back home...LOL

u try asking for some bottle FM for standby this time round...

most of my friends in Mt A have it, maybe those previous stay in MT A one can confirmed?

TMC do give, i remember i took more than 10 bottles, and the nurse also very nice, she gave me 2 bags of empty glass bottles too...

sinmey: thanks for supporting MP hor...my hub works for MP...LOL..

my CL that time also quite on leh, she also use cloth nappy + liner, the liners if kana urine only she still wash it lor..

its only when i see the meconium so often, i told her forget about using cloth diaper until the poo become more 'stable' cos the amount of detergent + water use to wash the diaper = the same...

and i rather she save the effort and focus more on my baby instead of washing...LOL

milktea,

haha .. u cry let her see ... u win lor .. then act post-natal depression, caused by her .. haaa

when u admitted, nurse will ask if u intend to total BF or partial one .. if u wan total BF, they wont give bb FM. The last time i was on Total BF, then when i discharge, the nurse told me, actually they dun give the FM bottle sample to those mummies who is on total BF, but she still give me abt 10 bottles .. i think those FM bottles are 'subsidised' by the FM company which encourage those mummies who intends to give FM to drink/consume their FM lar .. maybe this explain y they dun give to everybody ..

This time round, i will tell them night time feed FM, so that i can sleep through the nite .. haa.. & request for more FM..

Bee,

whr u stay, if u can come collect from Sembawang, u can have few pcs from me ... if ur gal can accept then only u buy lar ..

sinmey,

wow... NB every feed then poo.. wow!!! that's reli kua zhang.. but is normal???

petpet is okie for NB ya... coz 1st time mummy.. dont reli know how to handle a BB, scare BB will get red red if use those 'cheap cheap' diapers... but if mummies with experience have comment no problem with this.. then maybe i will give a try on it...

okie...saw the black bag in the pic with the blue ice block? that one is the medela FTG,

but u all might notice the height, usually fit best for their bottle...but put slant or something, still can use la...or worse come to worse, just transfer out..

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4871581.png]

2ks

your post lor soh but u did managed to summarized up everything leh, so, not counted lor soh

boymum

huh really ah?? kena suan one ah?

i intend to bf fully of coz but would like to have some spares when going home ley

2K- i love u so much. THKS for the explanation. At least can save the money 1st. My Dh was so amazed by my purchase for myself on Sat, then yest he said he was more amazed by the stuff my bb ger has and will be getting.

hey mummies

im picking up my helper tmr night...any maid's schedule that you have can pm me?

(apart from those i oredi gotten from the maidblogspopt...)

fish: u can consider fitti360 NB too...their tape not as bad as pet pet...but pet pet also ok la..

i seriously dont like drypers only...but if it is free i use...rough use..LOL

sinmey: u stay sbw too ah?? me too leh...lets catch up...keke..how old is yr #1?

#1 time i also ask the nurse to give FM from 12-6am lor...

then they super zun one, 6am sure push the baby to me...

fish,

it's normal especially those on breastfeed bb. their poo is watery & yellowish .. should be ok ba since they change so frequent .. & in fact, my #1 sensitive to bb wipe(i tried all brand), then end up, i use the cotton wool, dip in water/squeeze to wipe her buttock leh .. till when she 6 mths old, i change back to wipe and she is ok with it liao.

i would say the Desitin nappy Cream is really GOOD. So long i can see 'little bit' reddish, i apply the Desitin & everything will be ok the next morning without bb feeling uncomfortable.

pixie: haha...thanks...i tried to be NOT so loh soh already leh...type and type then got points cannot dont share leh..keke..

anything to add on please do so hor..

anyway who is the winner on sat mj???

Actually, i'm kinda curious, since bm supply doesnt come immediately, if we reject fm from the hospital, then bb will have no milk for 1st few days. Although, I heard bb have reserves to survive w/o milk the 1st few days, but it doesn't work for my gal lei. No milk, she crys, so I started her with fm till supply comes. Till now, I duno how to start total bf w/o giving the 1st feed of fm...

angelia

the agency called and say can pick up liao

so damn fast until i dun have time to react...yest chiongz to giant to buy mattress, bedsheets etc

now she come to help me clean up my house (again) heehee....

i hate training ppl. im not a PR PR person

sinmey: u can try MP wipes too...their wipes no camomile content, its purely water one...

but have to be frank, it dries faster than pigeon, cos its water content...

i also used both desitin original and creamy...original when the butt is red, creamy for daily protection

I thought if you want to fully breastfeed, you are better not to feed FM? The colostrum that our breast produce will suffice for the baby in the first few days? And we must keep latching on baby in order to increase our milk supply and kick in? If we feed FM in the first few days, will that affect our delay of coming in breast milk and supply?

Rach, you're the breastfeed expert, please give your comments. Thanks!

chen

my #1 oso cry when no milk mah. i just let him suckle on my breasts even though my milk supply havent kick in...coz

1. they drinking colostrum, very filling one lah

2. bb suckling helps your milk supply to kick in (faster)

after my boy suckle liao then he zzz liao...but yes, will cry when hungry

i asked nurse to feed him water lo...or u can choose glucose

hi mummmies

err, sorry if this sounds dumb...need to clarify, if in hospital we allow night time FM, will it affect our milk supply? I thought the more often we latch/pump the faster the milk supply will come in

chen: exactly lor...from what i know bb reserves only about 2-3 days...

last time nobody guides me then also first few days no CL, my mum keep blaming me said i made her grandchild hungry and dont give FM...

until i keep breaking down and cry...

annie

can give fm if you want to. its up to individual

if we latch (in order to get our supply to kick in sooner), and after bb drank the colostrum liao, still hungry, what can we do?

1st time mummies hear baby cries very "heart pain", so usually will tell nurse, ok give FM

some babies suckle and take in colostrum liao wont cry then ok lah, no need to give FM...

it depends on how "hungry" or "big-eater" your baby is...

when my #1 started, he drank like 10-30ml of bm when i got him home..considered normal/not hungry bb

my hb's colleague's daughter, after discharge, oredi drinking 80ml per feed! so how to upz ur supply wor...80ml is a lot when you first started bfding...so ppl give 1/2 bm 1/2 fm lar

2Ks,

ya, me stay sembawang .. & my #1 is now 21 mths.

thought we suppose to have a north mummies catch up ..

bb rabbits, xiaofeizhu ?

Annie and pixie, I see, so just let them suckle and be determined not to touch the fm? She kept crying in my arms, so the nurse just suggest fm, didn't help me follow through my bf plan also. sobs. But it was really tiring after the labour and pushing la.

2Ks, ya lor, but the reserves theory doesnt seem to apply to my gal lei. I was in a 2 bedder ward, my neighbour's bb was like so well behave after giving the nipple. My gal cried real loud, i was so pai sei. No choice lor, gave her fm to pacify.

myjewel: no no....u are not dumb to ask question la...

bb rabit: its actually up to individual, some mummies will choose

1. fully latch - give babies colostrum and also let the milk kick in faster

2. but that also depends on how fast individual milk will come in... (some 3 days some 5 days some 7 days)

3. if milk doesnt come in after 3 days, baby reserves might finished using up, and then will fuss and cry (hungry ma), then maybe FM will have to come in to supplement.

depending on babies too, some dont suckle that well yet, so means even the colostrum the baby didnt manage to absorb in = empty stomach.

not all babies suckle very well, and also some mummies cant manage to latch properly, many issue, some flat nipple/short nipple, inverted nipple etc.

myjewel

yes technically, yes yes yes

but hor if your boobs are very "willing/ting hua" boobs then latching during the day, your supply will come in very soon

some ppl got "lazy" boobs. must keep latching then got supply coming in

it all depends on situations, by 3rd day if you dont get milk flow etc then can consider latching on more...

some kiasue mummies scared no milkflow (coz 1st time mah), so kept latching...milk comes in vert fast n hard, then *poof*! u get engorgement...hahahaa

some ppl dont want to latch on at night coz tired lah, sore nipples lah etc...but if your supply comes in & you can get some rest at night, why not?

A RESTED COW IS A PRODUCTIVE COW....moooooo

BB rabit, ya loh. We are new so only get all the knowledge and info from books and listening to expereience mummies.

Pixie, I would prefer to fully latch on and if possible, I don't want my bb to have any FM. I am not sure if I can do it, but I am determined to try my best to fully breastfeed and my hb also support me to do so. So I am quite pessimistic about giving FM. I will ask the lactation consulatants in Mt. A. to help me. I heard Mt. A. is very good and into helping mothers bf, that is also one of the reason why I chose Mt. A. Hope they can help me. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bb rabit: some ppl will choose:

half latch half BM during their stay in hospital

reasons could be:

1. mummies suffering from side effect of epidural, cant sit properly, vomitting, unwell

2. in pain still cant sit properly

3. tired, wanna have a good nite rest (like me!)

anyway just 6 hours of not latching or pumping within the 2 days doesnt make a huge difference...its only when the milk comes in, you must be damn hardworking..

2ks

thanks for making up more points...i missed that part hor...

chen

my boy also cried very loud at night, my neighbour is TOTAL FM mummy (shiokz) and bb dun need to wheel in at all....good rite...

i oso dun care lo...in the end after latching still hungry, i asked nurse to give him water...

coz by 2nd night i started to have engorgement liao. mulk ducts blocked....so the milk/colostrum cannot flow out, bb got nothing from my nipples even when suckle very long....

during my #1, i also insist on TOTAL bf. Ask the nurse to push the bb to me whenever she cry for milk .. & the most feed her the water to stop her cry .. but i know during the few days, we really have no milk lor, somemore i have a inverted nipple, she cried/suckle till so long also not enough milk .. End up i give in to feed her at least 1-2 FM after the 30 mins suckle, till my BF supply kick in after 5 days.

So this time, i decide not to stress too much to myself & bb .. just rest as much as i can during the hospital stay(let the nurse feed her at nite) & i'll start my moo moo career after back to home. Anyway, my bb will be on bottle feed since my nipple cannot perform. I'll let my bb to suckle to stimulate the supply then i pump to store .. heat up to drink when hungry.

Not sure if this will delay the supply, but mine did kick in 5 days & i DID the TOTAL Breastfeed to my #1 for a full 1 year lor ..

Pixie- I love tt one...rested cow is a productive cow!!

2k- THKS. Can i engage u as BM consultant...hahahah

Pixie/2k- Is it true that we can start drinking fish n papaya soup now? mdm Ida said i can start now to help ensure milk supply is good.

bb rabit

never tried drinking before delivery leh!! i drank on day#1 though

anyway mummies, sometimes i feel a bit of "let down" leh! i think my boobs preparing to work hard liao....

why #1 time i never noticed? perhaps, i didnt know the feeling of let down at that time hor

sinmey: ya lor...dont know plan until when...

my #1 turning 2 this month...

pixie: arrange another day to take revenge! play until what time that day? how many rounds?

chen: ya lor..its very hard to gauge now or plan now whether can dont touch FM or not...cos also have to see baby responses...

like mine only drinks like 40ml on the day discharge and can tahan 3 hours...

whereas my SIL one 1.5 hours must drink 60ml...

so where got so much milk to produce for the baby...

very stressed one hor...LOL

2Ks,

no.. not due to total bf. #1, i only half bf half fm in Mt A that time, not even full BF cos my milkflow not in yet.

for #1, i totally dun have any experience in new born, also i never buy any standby infant milk powder at home. Before i went home, i asked a nurse when i carrying my girl in the new born room, that i want to get just 1 bottle to standby in case my girl needs it cos my milkflow not there yet. She just 'suan' me said, Mt A never give ready milk bottles for mummy and baby. Then i told the nurse, i never buy any at home, just 1 bottle will do. She went inside and took 1 bottle for me, and 'suan' me again, she said i give this specially for you, not to other mummy and baby! never say anything, i just keep quiet! hmm.. so i thot i was not suppose to ask and kanna 'suan' by the nurse. When i gave birth #2, i didn't ask anymore, hahaha, scare liao!!

I still remember the nurse!! brown curly short hair, thin thin nurse and with her big eyes! when i gave birth my #2, i dun dare to talk to her when i saw her in Mt A !! hahahaha..

Desitin nappy Cream is good ya.. okie.. i shall get this brand coz i havent buy nappy cream yet!!!

Annie.. i was told by my colleague, if we wana breastfeed... we muz let nurses know so they will intro our nipples to our BB instead of milk bottles.. some my colleagues kids, first child was intro the milk bottle 1st, then from there onwards, BB refuse to the nipples but choose milk bottle onli.. while 2nd child, she intro nipple 1st... then BB refuse to drink from the bottle... but stick with the nipples only...very confusing.. but is that truth???

Fish> every baby is really very different... So the diapers is also very hard to say... Some babies have golden butt and can take only certain brands... My fren's #1 was ok with Huggies and she stocked so much that time intend to use for #2 as well.. Who knows #2 has golden butt.. Can't take ANY diapers at all EXCEPT PAMPERS... so all her Huggies she sold to me.. Her #2 will have red rashes all over her butt.. No diaper cream can heal it also except Desitin.. And must be thick thick layer every diaper change with Pampers then it got better....When she had #2, I had #1... so I buy over and pray hard my baby can take Huggies...

Rayanne quite okie.. So far I use any brand also okie..

So it's really up to individual baby... Maybe what we eat during pregnancy also affect their skin condition...

Even frm the same factory come out, baby will have different reactions to different brands also...

So we can only buy and cross fingers.. :x

This time I also bought 2xHUGGIES NB & 4x HUGGIES SMALL. if ok then buy the rest from BP..

Many poko is good but exp.. So I dun bother to buy since Rayanne can take cheaper brands.. Save money.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Milktea> actually alot of things also dun need to buy now de...

Just sharing that I have the lobangs if anyone is keen...

Can get now or later.. The lobangs won't run away..

I've never used medela's cooler bag cuz the blue block of thing is so damn heavy.. Haven't put milk already so heavy.. Can die...

Jaime> I think u got he old model of FTG which dun allow the panels to be removed.. The new model can remove the 8panels and just place it in the freezer..

Only the 2cans Roman cannot be removed..

Personally I bought the 2cans roman which is sufficient for 4-6milkbags of milk storage.... And I bought extra cooling panels also.. Shared with my previous threads mummies...

Cuz the 8panels comes in different sizes.. I took the smaller ones and the mummy who got the 6cans took the bigger ones..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oh mummies, these experiences reminded me to pack my nipple cream in my hospital bag, rem to pack one too. I recalled my nipples were so so sore from all the 'trying to' bf.

Oh yes, after supply comes in, we'll all be like milking cows. Feeding and pumping all day and night.

pixie, how much was the MJ stake?

fish

coz the nipples and bottle teats are not the same. your bb usually will pick only 1. so it all depends on what you wanna do. if bfding, then intro nipples. if dont bfeed, then intro the teat

its called nipple confusion

but some babies dont have nipple confusion. they take both nipples n teats. that kind of babies are GOOD babies coz wont give u the headache lar...hahaha

so what we do is we buy teats that are very very similar in texture n softness to nipples...

nuk is just one of them

chen

3, 6, i think 5tai max?

we played till 2am i think?

and i wakie at 7am the next day coz hb n son wanna go out to eat bfast liao *groans*

Stay in hospital> I told them I wanna TBF and so thy never offer any FM to me... Even when baby had pink urine, they only asked if I wanna give water... I was totally determined to TBF and if u read books.. Babies can go without milk for 2-3days after birth.. So whatever colustrum we have for them then is also sufficient... It's us mummies brig kiasu and worry no milk they will die.. Actually they won't...

But it's just gonna be a tiring process for us... To latch every 2-3hrs without much rest after a long labor...

Depends on urself and what u want for ur own baby..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I rather latch and help to stimulate my supply faster.. So this time round I'll still ask for TBF and feed every 2-3hours.. I'm not so fortunate to have milk come in while in hospital.. So the best I can do is to grit my teeth, suffer the pain and soreness, apply more nipple cream, and latch till milk comes in...

Rayanne was on about 10feeds of FMbefore my supply fully kick in and sufficient for her... I pray this time I can do it without giving any supplement at all...

I won't be buying any FM to standby but if things really dun work out then just go downstairs shop n save and get a small tin Lo..

Actually NAN is one of the most 难喝 FM ard.. Most Yucky taste... As told by my previous thread mummies who tested...

Maybe like what some mummies said, it's bland and fishy...

I always tot that nan is closest to BM but was told it's not really so..

Anyway, Rayanne is on GAINIQ now.. So if I were to ever need to buy, I'll prob buy similac, (pre stage of GAINIQ..)

Unless baby dun drink then Bo bian...

At least when they are older they can be drinking the same brand no need buy so many brands... Hee...

thanks all mummies for the informative input! really help a newbie like me!

oh, by the way, what brand of nasal aspirator do you recommend??