(2011/03) Mar 2011

Bbrabit> which agent u got ur maid in the end?

I just called Eric and finally mine will come next week supposedly.... He said alot of problems with the application procedures in Phili.. Hence the delay...

Hopefully my suffering will end soon when she comes...

Pray she'll be a good one... :x

Sourduck> ehhh... The most expensive concentrate Lo....

Some AAA grade or what... Can't rem now..

I used to buy that with fellow brides to be when we were preparing for wedding...

That's few years back...

I rem it's $55...

Maybe now cheaper?? (haha I hope..)

Later I go Chong pang see...

Walked past EYS just now but too atas to walk in and ask...

And it's forever empty de... Lol...

Sigh.....

Rayanne made me spool angry earlier... Wanted to abandon her.... Think I have prenatal depression instead of post natal lo.... She made a scene outside Popular and I just walked away... She sat on the floor and cry and wail for like 10-15min... Until a crowd stood ard... Then I walked over..(means i lost!!!) then grab her and walked off...

Chen : welcome back [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Linda : hahaha ur mil is super, same like bb rabit. If she tells u on the bb name just say ok thanks, will talk bout it with hb. I know it's easier said then done but look at the bright side, lucky the conversation will be over the phone not straight to ur face. So can hide ur facial expression ma [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Bb rabit : iukhhhhhh that sounds gross n disgusting !!!!, I used to share condo with my sill before we get married. N she has 6 freaking un trained cats !!! All pee n poop everywhere. N she never let the cats out, always stay in the house. N the condo is small Lor, only 2 bedded one. But my hb always said endure endure just wait till we get married n move house. So it was quite an experienced. Lucky now she's married n left with 1 cat only

rach, my gal's getting away with crying these days too. She cry means we give in. Tanturms are even coming her way, if we're home, we just ignore her. When out, to avoid commotion, we try the distraction method lor. I'm sure Rayanne didn't mean to make you angry...

But ya la, to handle one out and the other in, not easy. I always tell my hub to take on more duties with no. 1, cos i'm already taking care of the one in tummy, each has one. Fair. haha.

Rach : endure endure, sometimes kids can act like that. Josh also sometimes act like a spoiled little brat esp in public Buay tahan leh , horror

BB rabbit, you in my fb? What is your real name? So many mummies inside my fb but I can't remember who is who especially mummies who use Nick here and not real name. hehe... Yes, I ordered my KS bag via vpost. Already paid but then still waiting for it to arrive my US address. I didn't join spree coz I can't wait to order for the bag I want. I scare later the colour I want out of stock if I wait too long. I am too gan chiong but I don't like disappointment. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

those with #1, when u all start disciplining the kids? ie time out corner etc..

maybe those just pass 1 yr maybe stil quite young..but after 18 months/24 months need to instil some home rules etc..if not they can get away with murder man..

so far my boy only make fuss when we make him sit down for dinner outside..n he very distracted with the surrounding...wanna walk ard instead of eating his dinner..

but i wanna think of ways to start instilling some ground rules ie if disobedient or act badly, then need to get punishment etc ..ie stand in corner etc..

Rach- Yr ger did not meant to make u angry lah. She still so young. Hope yr maid come next wk, u will be better. U can try Lao Hang Jia birdnest, more exp, but also bigger bottle. They are v popular with preggy woman, short shelf lift mean more fresh/less perservative.

Angelina- Glad tt ur nitemare is over now. My SIL is single n available, me can't wait for her to get marry. If not, mil wann us to take care of her. FAINT

Rach>> cool it leh. i am a bit scare of baby or kids crying one and will always give in also.

the birdnest Hock Hua say its concentrated one and eat 2 spoonful a day.

Angelia- 'cos she is the onli one left!!! WTF right.....initially mil even wann sil to move in wif us!! Not my problem. I told my dh, she can take mil's place n we dun wan anything to do with her!!!

angelina, thanks!

jaime, i started time out for my gal few months ago (only when she really misbehaves). Seems to work lei, or rather I'm not sure if she knows that's punishment, I'll make sure my facial expression and tone is scary during punshishments. haha. Ya, i do agree, after 18mths makes it easier for both to communicate.

For meals, haiz, really hard to keep her down, she needs DVD to keep her still at home. Ok, bad habit, i know... but whatever that works la. haha.

bb rabbit : your mil is mad lah ~ why must she ask your sil to stay with you ~ since she is the one left than ask your sil to stay with the mother or move out herself lo ~ =.=''' how old is your sil ?!?!

Chen, Angelina> it's the 1st time I'm so freaking with Rayanne that I really felt like walking away.. Lucky I was meeting my mum for dinner... She appeared and carried her...

Else I'll strangle her already...

Maybe it's the pregnancy hormones..

But i feel this pregnancy I'm getting more short tempered and I get angry VERY VERY easily...

But I'm always very tolerant towered Rayanne... But just now I really lost control.. Put her down... She struggle and make noise.. I just walked off... All the salesgirl in the shops were staring at her and at me... I just fixed my eyes on Rayanne and she just cry for the whole time...

Sigh... Now she look at me and give me that cheeky smile...

Dunno to forgive and forget or be angry with her.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

can i check if there's any side effect of eating too much bird nest?

Rach - chill k.. maybe it's just Rayanne throwing tantrums or maybe teething so abit cranky..

rach (rayrachel) : Chill ~ i dont know whether you believe anot ~ But somehow, i hear old ppls say before ~ when you're pregnant your #1 can feel de ~ so maybe Rayanne trying to gain more of your attention now ~ she scare her love with be snatch by your bb inside ~ sometime to believe sometime not ~ Depends on yourself ~ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sourduck> yah the concentrate also got many kinds ones...

From $30-60...

Different grades.... Abit late to start eating now but I think better than never...last time still got mum to cook for me cuz staying with her... Now stay on my own can only buy myself..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I never give in to her cries and I dun normally spoil her..

My Hb is the one that spoils her... She knows I dun and she normally behaves... Just now dunno what happened.. I too impatient and she too notti...

Like if she falls while walking with me, she will get up on her own... If she is with my mum or Hb or anyone else, she will stretch out her hand and expect to be given a hand to stand up.. But when she's alone with me, she never make that request...

allets, I heard my mum says cannot eat too much bird nest coz the bb will have alot of phelgm in future. Will got asthma. The best tonic is still cordyceps, not bird nest. If you ask the chinese medical shop, they will agree with you on this too that cordycep is the best tonic, not bird nest. Bird nest is just to make the bb's skin fair and smooth. Doesn't help the bb in term of health.

Jaime

it all depends. Naughty corner subjected to if ur boy understands the rationale or not. But generally after 2yo can use notti corner.

Kids frm 1-2yo can try distraction, ignore etc

not sure if u do believe me but our kids understand what we talking about so lay very simple to understand ground rules before going out or doing something new.

Can try the 5-3-1 method (ample warning at 5,3,1 mins) to let ur child transit frm 1 event to another. Coz usually kids bow crave for routine, if we suddenly say stop they will throw tantrum....

can try the relaxation method. Ask ur child to think of a pre determined animal eg bunny. And when angry, ask him to think about the happy bunny for a while so that his body relaxes...

Can try the "I know" method. Let him throw the tantrum, then after he calms down:

-assure him it's all right be to angry

-identify his feelings; eg frustrated, angry, sad. When he grows older he can tell u how he feels more easily

-then explain why we say cannot

-then followed by lots of hugs n kisses

the above is very useful coz it let's ur son identify hard to pinpoint feelings

Generally books n all say ignore is the best weapon for parents. If outside, ignore n cut short the trip. Ur child will know the consequences- if i throw tantrum, I will have very short outings!

Hope above helps. My boy is 3yo so we've been thru the usual tantrums that comes with each age stage

tryes- Just saw tt u like the bb coal bag. Tot tt is out of stock alreadi

Annie- yes, cordycep is still the better than bird nest. But birdnest also not tt harmful if not taken in large quantity. My mum also make tt for me or paosheng with pork rib/black chicken. Bird nest is also have, during my coughing time.

bbrabbit: now VConcierge have promo....as long as you use POSB/DBS Mastercard to pay....can use their service free of charge instead of 5% of invoice total. Then shipping also 15% off. Heh.

Annie: I also dun dare to eat my bird nest, scare baby develop phlegm also. My grandma cook cordycep soup for me with pork loin instead of black chicken. She say black chicken too 'bu' scare baby become too big size.

Allets : I like bird nest n eat them quite a lot. But recently I went to a&e because of eating bird nest. Very weird usually okay suddenly I can't breathe. Hb made the porridge with 1 spoon of bird nest.so since then never eat anymore, don't dare to try

Angelina> I'm resting on the bed now still fuming with anger... Think I'm like very petty to a 14mos... Must be the hormones... Think my #2 will be a very hot tempered girl.. Jialat.. Just like her daddy....

Oh ya.. I was saying I'm in the bed... And Rayanne cane over look at me... Gave me a big kiss on the lips...

Faint... Dunno to cry or to laugh... Sigh.....

See her I angry but she so adorable also....

Chill it Mummy!!!!

Still dunno why I so angry??????

RAch: Guess you have to explain to her lor, not too sure if explaning to her, she will understand or not? But let her know Mum is angry with her and she have to understand lor!

Say is easier than done! Gosh, dun know next time I will have the heart to do such things or not?

bb: huh? OOS, i check last week, still got leh....! haha, nevrmind lah, still got the other one!

Aiyoh, your MIL really a little too much. YOur SIL also your hub problem.... better start pyschoing your husband then he has more to take care of (you and your kid), if not your husband will kena 'obliged' to care / provide for your SIL!

Angelina, I think your is a reaction, I also got a fren who is allergic to bird nest, his windpipe will swell when consume it.... so better watch out!

TRES- want to join in the KS spree oso but wondering will they be more sales nearer to Christmas...you ordering soon?tin LAILAI is interested oso..

BB RABIT- you getting the KS soon?

CHEN, nevertheless I hope you enjoy yourself in Spain..you only in Barcelona or you went all the cities in spain?picketpockets in winter gt?

ANNIE- when I sleep on left side or right side, bb oso kick, so I oso nt sure where's the positioning of the head woh..kekeke

BB RABIT/ ANGELIA- honestly I feel in ASian ctries, the old" feng jian" thinking peo still prefer BOYS over GALS..my own mum is one ..LOL..tell mi very easy to have gals, more difficult to have boys..all my 4 aunties all gave birth to BOYS, then I tell her, then why you are the oni one tat gave birth to more gals, the rest all gave birth to boys..so conclude is more easy to have BOYS loh..(then she keep quiet)..

my own mum thinking is more" old fashioned" than my mil..LOL..nowadays, angmos ctries regardless of boys or gals all love equally woh..we are in 2000 liao, nt some 1920 century leh..

another tin I have to get a CL LADY now cos partly my mum health I dont tin can stand, partly, my hubby tinks my mum " Toks too much"....so now dont kw go where to find CL, so late then change of plans..tsktsk..

Earth Mama Angel Baby Body Butter & Stretch Oil

Any mummies need to replenish stocks??

I'm ordering this week...

Please PM me if keen..

thanks..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Raylynn is kicking me alot today...

At least 100 times in the last hour..

So active... Like 打鼓 like that...

I lie on sides or back also kick...

Lol...

BbRabbit: wahhh..extreme case! wan yr SIL to move in!!? i think some bedside cot cant convert.. jus normal cot as it is..=)

Linda: yr mil v weird.. anw, if she really wans u to haf dat particular name, tink u shud do like wad the rest of the ladies suggested, thank her n say discuss w yr hb.. so anything, u get yr hb to reply .. if u all dowan the name, ask yr hb to tell.. easier for u..

Caecelia: thanks for arranging n booking for us! =D

Rach: i totally understand hw u feel! these few days Jav kena scolding n beatings frm us too.. i tink they r starting terrible TWOs earlier den we expect, mayb really due to cos we haf another one in us.. tell u sth, mayb u will feel better.. Jav woke up on Fri night at 2am n sat dere refusing to slp.. in e end we all fell aslp only at 5am in the morning.. nt the extreme yet, next night, he started crying the moment he was put into cot.. WAILED n SCREAMED n choked n coughed.. everything.. for more den 25 mins.. i refused to gif in to carry him out, cos frm young, i don gif in to him too, esp for slping habits.. neither does my hb..n we gave him milk, he rejected it,shutting his mouth so tight when my hb forced him.. dat night, my hb was sick too.. so all v bad tempered.. he started crying n when he tried to cough n make himself throw up, i went to 'tiap' his cheeks asking him to stop it.. aft continuing this for more den 20 mins.. noe wad my dh did? went up, gave him a slap n beat his palm twice,HARD! aft dat, he cried like mad, n i cried w him. another 10 mins, i cldnt take it, i jus carry him n cry n bring him out.. my hb came out n Jav call him "dehdeh" n hug him wans my hb to sayang him..n when he had his snacks, he fed my hb first. my hb felt so damn bad..

sometimes as parents, we try our best nt to gif in cos we wan the best out of dem..dere's definately times we will lose out temper n start acting hysterical.. but we r human too..=) these few days Jav been v naughty, crying n screaming while he doesnt get wad he wans, n keeps throwing things. i will b firm w him n ask him to stand aside.. he'll cry, i wanna gif in each time but i noe i cant, if i gif in i will nt haf any power over him.. soooo, no choice lo. 'ren tong' let him cry, aft dat i'll explain to him n hug him.. ok, long post again.hahahaa

Lilprecious> ya Lo.. Oh man... Terrible twos now??!!!?? I'll be so dead....

Later maid come complain me to police... Hahahaaha...

I hope I dun have to reach that stage... Wahahahha....

hahahaha, wont la.. both os us also lose our cool.. den aft awhile, we jus gt back our senses n feel bad.. its jus dat one moment when his cries n screams gt into us n we jus lost it. hahaa.. my goodness, the one in me kicking while i type.. i tink protesting for korkor!

i nw finding the url den email u again..hehehe

Starfruit : no matter own mother or mil like boys over girls seriously also not our problems lo... 难听的讲, is their son's sperm wadd... Cant blame on us wadd... Right? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lil n all-

I know every kid has a stage of rebel include when they are young[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] when I raised my boy till now, he is 10 yrs old Liao;)

He started his tantrum at 2... Then guai guai till started again at 5... Then guai guai then start again at 7.. Then 9...,

My parent say is their growing transition ;)

Parenting is nvr easy for all of us!

caecilia: haha! show her some webbies of clothings n shoes.. mayb she'll respond! =P

Linda: ya lo.. i haf to agree.. some ppl will tell me 'wah, u so good stay at hm b taitai ..look aft Jav no need work..' but seriously, they dono to stay at hm looking aft a child is much more draining.. hahaa

lilprecious: haha no use leh, i have been shopping online alot..

and i agree that sahm is not leading tai tai life, those people dont understand the hardwork.

Rach : good that Raylynn is kicking alot... Hahahaha! The feeling is damn shiock right... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I fully agree that SAHM is not easy, it's even more draining than working, I honestly don't think I can do it...kudos to all SAHMs!

Btw, my gynae gave me some mags to read. There is a particular fact given by NUH that I would like to share cos I like to sleep on my back. A bit long and cheem, but pls bear with it [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Sleeping on your back is harmful for your baby

Blood from the lower extremites is returned to the heart via the inferior vena cava which runs along the spine. Sleeping on the back obstructs the blood flow through this vessel to the heart due to pressure of the gravid uterus. This in turn reduces the blood given by the heart to the body including the uterus and placenta. This may precipitate foetal distress. Hence sleeping on the back is not advisable. At least 45 degree tilt is advisable.

caecilia: mmmm.. dat means shes nt a shopping princess! hahahahaa.. how abt, stories? music? haha..tv?

ya lo, but nvm la.. sooner or later when they haf their own kids like us, they will und! hahahaa

been a busy day, but I managed to log in to read some of your post. some are funny, some help me to relax.

Very tired today, dunno if its cuz I had my massage. but so many stiff areas and my hips expanding. water retention n fats increasing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

dunno why this time round i'm slower at buying things for baby or preparing for the baby in general. maybe cuz its no. 2 and a boy again? I didnt even buy much maternity stuff, in fact only swim wear and 1 top.

lilprecious,

i agree with you, going to work is easier then looking after kids and household.

rach & lilprecious,

i've lost my temper a fair bit with my boy over the past 4 years. but i'm learning to hold back my temper but try to be firm. Cuz if loose temper end up i feel bad.

my hb n i have used the naughty corner or face the wall method with him. if not we use reward system when he is good to encourage him to continue to be good boy. my boy dun usually throw tantrums cuz I didnt put up with it when he was younger. we really left places early to prove a point to him. i think if you scare them early enough they will remember and not repeat so often. and when he was younger i stuck to a strict schedule. i believe kids on schedule tend to behave better. my 2 cents worth . but there's no rite or wrong way.

Mimimo, thanks for the info. Really helpful cos I like to sleep on my back too! Must change already, but can't help it also when I unconsciously turn to my back halfway through the night. ):

Caecilia, don't say too soon. Later your lil one keep kicking until u surrender ar haha. Last time I also keep wondering how come my bb never kick, then now I regret cos sometimes it can be real uncomfy, like a section of my tummy keep pulsating!

Agree all the SAHMs are very 伟大, cos I cannot imagine myself making such a big sacrifice. Salute u all!

Lil- more to come when the kids reach Pri level. That is where our roles will be super multi tasks! Will die frm exhaustion;)

A real taitai is someone that stay at home wo dirtying her own hand in the toilet n kitchen... Really lor;) can tell frm our hand- wrinkle n full of hand cream theraphy ;)))

1- maid

2- wife

3-chef

4- mother

5- tutor

6- transporter- fetch up n down to tuition!

7- nanny- to the younger one

8- daughter to our parents

9- dog sitter

Butter8, ya! I agree w u abt the reward system.. I try to do it w Jav.. But maub he's still a lil too young to und.. Sometimes I will think if I'm pushing him too hard cos aft all he's still a bb to us.. Haha. Ya, routines are rather impt, but Jav frm the day he's born till nw, he always haf prob slping.. Sigh. Thou he's much much better nw, but dere's "stormy days" whereby he'll jus throw tantrums n refuse to slp. Tsk.

Linda: hahaha! Yr description on the 9 roles so funny! But it's true la.. Hehe. Yea, our roles become more impt n heavier as they grow up.. =D

We should feel proud of ourselves! All mummies n mtbs!! Hehehe!!!

starfruit, we went Madrid and Barcelona, were really careful with our belongings lor. I had my sling bag under my jacket... haha. Me love the Spanish food lor. Now seeking out for nice Spanish food locally. Anyone has recommendations, let me know. hee.

Linda, it really doesn't feel good when someone comes to a SAHM and comment on it being a 'luxurious' job. I hate that too. And, you reminded me of this poem I read when my hands were aching bad not soon after my gal's arrival. I came across this poem in 'chicken soup', by Tommi Jo Casteel, and it made me teared. Rather long, but thought nice to share.

"I saw you hide your hands in line,

behind the fair lady,

I noticed too, hers soft and white -

immaculate from care.

But ma, I say, it's no disgrace

to have working hands like you,

and had she lived the life you have,

she'd have hands just like it too.

But her hands have never touched a young

or caressed a fevered head,

with hands so gently folded,

all night beside his bed