(2011/03) Mar 2011

Won mummy

Its up to ur gynae's practice.

Some can sign package for consultation n delivery thru gynae at one go.

Some only sign package with gynae frm 12th weeks onwards for consolation n scan.. Some include vitamins also...

Then u can either sign hospital package thru ur gynae clinic, the nurses do for u, or some will require u to fax in the form to the hospital urself...

Hospital package no need so early decide.

U can fax over in ur 3rd trim.

Mist gynae packages ranges from $500-1000 for similar things.

Some just have 3D images for every scan, some only 2D.

So different gynae charges differently.

Mt A has prenatal classes too. It's recommended to go for the classes ard 5th month onwards... I think it's a total of 8-10classes... Forgot liaoz..

Every class 1.5hrs I think... With refreshments provided..

Yum yum!! Sandwiches n curry puffs etc with Milo tea n coffee...

Dun think I'll go this time round cuz I rem when I went last round, all are #1 time parents only.. Very informative n good la... Prepare u for what's to come...

ESP the BF part.. Mummies who wanna BF, start reading up early, know what to expect n mange ur expectations...

It doesn't come easy.. Alot of perseverance n determination needed in the 1st weeks... Most supply establishes after 4-6weeks.. So initial days are really trying means n ways to up up up supply... But the rewards are never-ending n satisfying.. Hubby support n parents or in laws support are very impt.. Because they will be the ppl who'll pour wet blanket n say aiyah, no milk la... Dun starve my grand child, give fm easier to take care blah blah blah...

So.. We must be well prepared before baby even comes..

I brainwash my mum every time I get a chance to...

Telling her BM doesn't come dripping from day 1.. It starts with a few drops to a few ml n need to keep latching n pumping to increase it... Told her it's not a very easy thing etc etc....

When baby came, she did comment so little full meh??

When I pump after latch only have 5-10ml, she say keep for wat? I told her if I add 3 pumps together I got 30ml liaoz... Which is what is needed for 1 feed in the 1st week...

And slowly they see 1/4 bottle full, 1/3 full, 1/2 full to 2 bottles full... Then diam diam liaoz... By then I've proven that I HAVE MILK, so u shut up!! N to a poinyno space to keep my EBM n I decided to stop pumping at 3rd month.. Save effort,Time, rest n water in washing all the time... And Ta dah, 11mos have passed....

But it's slightly easier for me cuz I'm like a SAHM, so not much obstacles la... N my girl has never left me for more than 2 hrs in her life.. Hahaha.. Very sticky...

Yah...

Sorry for the long Lo so post..

But 1st time mummies jiayou okie!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rach

im lucky in a sense that both my mom and mil very pro in bfding. so my mom would make soup etc for me to increase output n all. and she would encourage me to wake up every 3 hrs to pump etc...

only my hb complain. coz he cannot touch my boobs for many many months hohohoho....

i have tried medela pump b4..i find it better than avent..the suction is more natural n not too painful.

i oso cant drink plain water now..sometimes wan vomit..i drink fruit juices instead..esp orange juice..

presto - oic. keep receipts! lucky you tell me now. was thinking abt e medisave claiming part how to do next...haha. tks

rach - ur msg is not long! its very good information! yes, my MIL also dont believe in given BM. she din give my hubby n his bro. n when my SIL c-sec, she also dont allow her to give my newphew cos she was eating med. so i tell myself, i must not let bb grow too big. i want natural!! so she have no reason to stop me from giving BM.

at least now i understand, it comes slow at 1st. maybe thats when ppl start to feel stress n give up during early stage. tks for ur encouragement.

rach

i think what you wrote about "manage your expectations" - i agree TOTALLY

if mummies set high expectations and get no output, very frustrating de...

expectations grows along your output. so 1st time mummies here, pls dun expect 100ml from your 1st pump etc...once bm supply established then upz your expectations; pump more to upz ur supply

and another thing i like to tell mummies is - no mummy on earth (except those with thyroid i think?) have no bm...dun try few weeks liao and say "oh i got no milk" and then stop. somewhere must be wrong so seek help ard...SURE GOT BM one! dun let other ppl bluff or affect you!

won_mummy - heh heh. give credit to cynthia.. she was the one who reminded abt keeping receipts [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

YES! KEEP E RECEIPTS :0

I have friends forgotten all these. Keep it and bring it together with everything in your folder when you bring along to labour. While discharging they will take all your receipts and claim max $450. Still not bad la

Pixie> actually my mum not that bad.. Cuz I stay with her last time(just shifted to my own place 2 mos ago) n I already educate her on BF frm my own reading up n info frm fellow mummies... But still they are really ignorant abt BF n how it works so when they see they will tend to comment..

She not so diligent to wake me up to pump but rather baby will wake me up every 2-3hrs Lo... Hahaha...

Only after baby slept thru then I will wake up middle on the nite with wet tops then pump..

I not so diligent to put alarm clock to pump.. Hahaha...

But after 3rd month I stop nite pumping also.. Can sleep more...

So I made sure my girl really drain both breasts before she sleeps the next morning faster let her latch again..

Lazy mummy here.. Wahahahha....

I think I would have harder time with MIL cuz she didn't BF any of her 3 kids n she was very surprised when I wanna BF when she first came to visit me.. Everytime ask me.. Got milk or not? Enough or not? Not filling one la, BM very thin etc...

I always very confident n say GOT!! Enough!!

Like last weekend she also ask me, huh now still BF ah? She already coming 1yo still got milk meh??

See?? Ignorant question.. Who say mike decreases after 1yo??? Hahahah...

talk abt breastfeed..my MIL and her sister was like aiya no troublesome jus give formula milk la...no breastmilk then don have lor....

i was like "don think ur my elderly u knoe everything ok"..their advices hor sometimes make me go crazy..i think me as first time mummy oso knoe more than them..

so i agree with pixepixel, never let other ppl comments affect u!!

rach,

Agree with you! My mum & mil really one kind too. Keep saying have milk or not. BB hungry don't have never mind don't waste time. My mum sometimes still ok cos she herself BF 3 my 2 elder brothers till they are 3yrs old! But when I m born she barely have any so I don't enjoy it boobooo..

Follow your heart. In here out there is e best

rach

my elder sis was super fanatic about bfding so she kinda influenced my mom with all the knowledge

then my turn to bf....my mom oredi know how bfding works so she will be helping me, like ask me to wakie if i couldnt etc...

i still put alarm clock hor. even i pump like 4 x a day kind, friday (pre-weekend) to sunday i will still wake up in the middle of the night to pump 1 more time to push up the output...by then my boy oredi eating semi solids liao i still push myself on...

u could say that i was crazy over pumping during those times

fish

papaya soup lor, initially

or fenugreek

or mother love more milk plus

i think can buy in stores. last item can order online

Won mummy>

yes very slow at first..

In fact, first 2-3 days only got colustrum... Very impt first milk for babies.. It's where all the 精华 is Lo.. Some people dunno squeeze out and throw! OMG!

it's the most precious thing we can give to our little ones with the immunity inside...

And many people not aware, NEWBORN babies dun need milk for 1st 3 days of their life.. They can survive even without milk, I'm not saying we purposely starve them or dun feed the , but that's the days it'll prob take for our milk supply to stet coming too...

So, we just latch as much as we can... N once milk comes in, baby will do just fine.

I was rushed back to hospital after we were discharged cuz baby cried for 2 hours non stop the moment we reached home n at a loss, I also cry... CL tried to help but also no use... So HB called Mt A n we were asked to go back. Upon return, nurse said baby looked fine n she stopped crying too..

Could be the environment change or what but nurse said baby is hungry n asked if I wanna give FM. so I say ok though I dun want to but I dun want to starve her n I was so lost n scared... And baby actually finished 30ml of the FM. then she fell asleep... Then nurse say... See? She hungry la.. Till now I also dunno issit she hungry that's why cry or what...

But that bottle of milk gave me a peace of mind.

Was given 4 more bottles to stand by at home...

So in the first week, I just latch day time n at nite CL Feed the FM bottle. By 2nd week supply increased n I stopped all FM n I pumped for the CL to feed EBM at nite so I can sleep 6hrs straight...this time round I dun wanna give FM Lo...

I will pump as many times as needed to give EBM for night feeds.. Last time blur blur forgot I can just pump for nite feed, no need to give FM ma.. But learnt frm experience la...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

rach

thats why when i had super bad engorgement in the hosp (my milk kicked in super fast on day 2 i think after the colostrum came n went), couldnt latch on properly due to blocked ducts, i told the nurse to give my boy water only.

evil hor...hahah...

pixie

AGREED TOTALLY!!!!

I never believers that any woman have NO MILK!!

all sure have. It's a matter of mentality n mindset.

And I can't understand why some mummies choose not to BF, sorry to say fir their own selfish reasons.. I really cannot understand. But to each her own la..

BM can't be bought with money n nothin beats giving this wonderful gift to our babies for as long as we can.. Be it 3,6,912 months or even more...

Some due to work ok la no choice.. But some just say very mafan etc... I cannot underhand where the mafan come from..

It's even more mafan to lug FM, hot water n bottles ard Lo... Heee...

Yah... Expect 5-10ml (it's only a teaspoon full if u are wondering how much is 5-10ml) initially,, maybe some mummies have more faster but what I'm trying to say is dun think u can pump 50-100ml frm day 1.

Not sure if anyone gotten that amount before or not though...

Every single drop counts in the early days.. Even I drip one drop on the floor I heartpain... Cuz it's still our effort.

Imagine those accidentally topple over, they really cry Lo...

Slowly but surely, ur supply will come..

But PLEASE PLEASE have enough REST N FLUID INTAKE.

I see many who failed either didn't rest enough or drink enough soups, Milo, Longan water..

I drank 2litre of longan water a day n 2 big bowl of soup during lunch n dinner n hot enfamama for breakfast during confinement days..

Payaya soup, fish soup, salmon.. Alot la!!

And whenever I take a 1-2 hr nap, I wake up with fuller breasts Lo.. So rest!!!!

And I seen a few mummies who didn't really succeed in TBF cuz of their MIL. hee.. Different agreements... Dun let them latch etc.. Cuz the mummies undue stress.. End up not enough milk... Sigh...

Support frm people staying with u VERY impt!!!

prettymimieyes,

i could get down the next mornin, cos need to go n pee... =p

i dun really remember the recovery stages cos was too busi worrying abt my gal, so didnt take note... =(

RE: Breast Pumps

Personally, for first time mommies who r on budget, can try avent manual. new one is abt $70? The petals r able to massage n the speed is controlable (manual mah) til mommies get the hang of expressing.

Another brand is Ameda (i think is this spelling?).. Mommies with bigger nipples, b careful... the funnels r v small.. bigger nipplies will get stuck n block the suction, no milk can b suck out de. have to buy another set of bigger funnels.

Hv not try medela, so cant comment....

I think the parents craft at TMC have all the different types of pumps there for mommies to try b4 they purchase. But i dunno if need chrages or not... any other mommies know??

Re: Breastmilk

both my mom n mil didnt encourage me when i say i want to BF my #1. my mil say that i think i can BF juz bcos i want meh? no milk also no choice....

My mom is for different reasons. Cos if BF, certain food u cant eat. Some of the tonics cant touch, cos may cause jaundice to bb. My mom wanted me to bu myself, instead of forgoin the tonics juz to BF my gal.. she feel that FM is sufficient enuf. She kept pestering me to stop after 3mths.

Still i insist on BF. My gal was on TBF til she was a yr old. I stopped only bcos i was pregnant again. Happy to say, my gal was quite sick-free, she seldom have to visit doc. Even my mom also say that shld b bcos of BM, thus her immune system is good.

So for all mommies, I really urge u to continue ur intention to BF even when ur surrounding r giving u -ve comments. Or when supply dosent kick in. Ask around for tips n keep trying. Wat matter most is ur kid's health rite? =)

Re: Anenatal Lesson

I attended the TMC one for my #1. Find it really useful for #1 parents... with the tips n knowledge learnt during the class, we were less panicky when our gal arrive. My hubby took the books as bible during the initial months!!! LOL.

Patients not from TMC can attend to. But at a higher rate. dun remember the difference. FBI holder will have more discount also.

Apologies for the long n naggy post. =p

pixiepixel,

I also used avent duo electric [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It served me for 1 yr when i bf my #2 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] worth every single cents [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] If i need the milk storage bag, will get from you next march [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mummies, Can help update:

Boymum/Seng kang/ 16 march/ Dr Dolly W./ Mt Alvenia/ #3

rach, bf can be quite ma fan for some mummies when they're back to work. For being a SAHM, bf is almost much easier than working mums. I started to have limited choice of clothes for work because breasts are huge and most tops couldn't fit. Sometimes with meetings packed, we have bear the the very engorged boobs. Worst still, for going overseas w/o the baby, we've to express and discard the milk to maintain the supply. Looking for a place to express when we're out can be almost difficult too...

I'm very pro-bf, just that there are really obstacles at times. Well, a will, a way. It's all about perseverance, my perseverance only got me thru 7 mths. The best part I like abt bf is the cost we saved on FM, really quite some savings. hee.

i manage to do BF for 3wks..think im the lousiest one here..

So u mean when we are doing our confinement we can start to take papaya soup?

How to make huh?

My MIL dun know abt this, probably i need to do it myself.

can anyone teach me?thx.

Rach,

Actually i cant understand the ma fan... Cos, i was also super tired from the EBM while working. During ML, stil ok.. Once go back to work, early morning have to prepare bb stuffs n pump. Lunch hr, i spent 2hrs to fully empty my breast. (my flow is v slow, although v full), end up eat while working after lunch hr. During work, feel the discomfort from engorgement, but stil have to wait til off work, stay behind n pump again b4 packing up n go back home (another 1+hr). Reach home, latch, wash, cleaning up, sterilising, etc... Middle of slp, stil have to wake up to latch n express again... Everyday with less than 6hrs slp, spent 6-10hrs in expressing. Worse still, my gal also got colic for the first 6mths. Even more interrupted slp. I was sure tempted to give up then. Only the tot of that this is the only opportunity i can give my gal the best immunity i can provide, Once i stopped, no way i can make the supply come back if i regret later, so i strive on...

fish, fenugreek comes in tablets form. It can be bought from GNC, I took it to boost my supply in the initial days. After which, I stopped becos my supply got really overwhelming. It's quite a big bottle, and it's still sitting in my fridge. Maybe can share among mummies if you plan to buy.

bee, u're not lousy la. Can always try again. Yup can drink the soup during confinement. More fluid intake, more supply. I extracted this recipe from babycentre, saved a copy for myself too. Hope it helps:

Fish and Papaya soup

Ingredients

• 500 grams of fish bones (preferable to use threadfin - kurau - fish bones)

• 500 grams of green papaya (the flesh of the fruit is white)

• Three litres of water

• Four slices of ginger (this will help cut down any fishy taste or smell)

• Six pips (cloves) of garlic

• Three stalks of spring onion

• Salt to taste

Directions

• Boil the water, then add in the ginger, garlic and spring onion.

• Cut the papaya into small slices. Discard seeds.

• Pour boiling water over the green papaya to remove sap, then drain.

• Combine the fish bones into the boiling pot, followed by the green papaya.

• Turn down the fire, leave to boil for about half an hour to reduce. This should yield about three rice bowls of soup.

rach

when the angel nurse from TMC cleared my ducts by massage, the 1st pump i got was 90ml - enough for 2 feeds

incredible rite? i was sooooo engorged

yes mummies, no one will have no output.

to sum it up, we must be:-

-determination no matter what

-preservere no matter what

Chen> yes yes!! Work then Bo bian..

But I got some really for their own reasons like dun wan boobs sag etc...

Tonic while BF is still possible..

I finished 2-3 bottles of martell or xo.

Double boil in chicken n dunno what other herbs by my CL.

after boil no more alcohol liaoz so can drink...

If got bu stuffs I drink at nite after I feed..

So got tine for the effects to not affect the milk...

So still ok la...

thx chen encouragement, hope that my #2 will drink more.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow..thx for the rcp also..

I have 1 qns..on bf which i face.

Can share with me how u solve it?

My nipple sores after few days of bb suckling..

Last time i stop my bb frm suckling after that..as it really hurts.

how do we solve this sore prob so tat i can let bb suck again??

Me too..drink water is eergghhhh... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

i drink hot water if not hot milo..

Bee

I had the same prob as u last time. My nipple cracked coz bb suckle too hard. I put cream, bm also cannot.

Then I total express out n feed ebm thru bottle. No more latching

solves the problem lor

hi mummies..

i am preggy @ 10 weeks with baby #4..

it was really an accident and truth b told we did consider #3 is only 8 mths..

but after weighing it out, we thought it was really cruel to terminate a perfectly healthy pregnacy so here i am. haha..

I am under Dr Caroline Khi's care and edd is 9th march 2011 though my previous labour are always earlier..

wah!!

u all sharing all the BF knowledge wor!!

i was told by my mother that, during our 7th - 9th pregnancy... try to use warm towel to cover our breast for at leaste 5-10mins everytime.. it help the enhance milk... is that truth???

and another question... if after we give birth and we have reli little BM...and it is not enough for BB... can give fomular together wit hthe BM???

Since morning, i got such good appetite... So far no nausea/vomiting... lol.. So happy

But i know it wouldnt last long,, it would strike me back later in afternoon or night time..(happen quite a few times liao). but im still gg to enjoy and eat to my fill... already lost 2.5-3kg liao...

hi all, i jus delivered my baby and i have extra one tube (brand new in box) of elancyl stretch mark cream(for pregnant women) which i bought fr john little. retail at abt $47. i want to sell it cheaply at jus $30 . i finish a few tubes during my pregnancy and its v effective in preventing stretch marks.i dont mind accepting shopping vocuher or cash. email me at [email protected] if interested.

rach, abt sagging boobs, i'm ever upset with my mine... shrinked and sagged. sobs.

bee, i had very sore nipples too, but I just continued lor. Whenever it's time for feed, I'll just bear with the pain. After few weeks, it became much better...

yiqi, #4! Welcome! It was a wise and bold decision. You're with Caroline, few mummies here too. Did she conceive your 1st three too?

yiqi

congrats!! #4! wowwww!!

bee

mine bleed, and it was cracked and inflammed. i have a fever from the inflammation

usually if it bleeds, its ok for the baby to take in some of your blood.

but if after 1 mth of latching and it does not heal or recover in time, i suggest that you pump exclusively. give your nipples a rest. look at the big picture: you just want to give bm to your bb. latch or pump, either way works.

bee, I bled slightly only. In fact, quite insignificant... so I just continued. Perhaps, clear the 1st few drips.

bee

lansinoh nursing cream!!!

Soothe dry, sore, cracked nipples!!!

Works effectively n safe for baby consumption.

Best nursing cream ard IMO...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I'm spree ing it in later on also.. Let me know if u want..

pixie

U bring in nursing cream also ma??

Hi everyone, my first post here too...I'm also expecting a March 2011 baby! Currently about 7 weeks+.

Actually I wanted to ask you all to get some opinion - WILL YOU TRAVEL or HAS ANYONE TRAVELLED LONG DISTANCE during 2nd TRIMESTER before?? By long distance I mean like a 12-13hr flight....

rach

lansinoh nursing cream didnt even helped my cracked nipples last time. so i had to exclusive pump

i can bring in together with the milkbags if i have customer who requests

hello hammies03!! your nick is so so so familiar heehee

actually 2nd trimester is the best time for travelling. so i will do long distance if need be

Hi Pixie - yes I know you are from Jan08 thread right? Haha..congrats to you. This is your #2?

Wow..you would ah..but I'm like half hearted about it leh..I have this possible conference to attend, but wanted to tell my boss I'm not comfortable travelling so long distance leh. I know 2nd trimester still ok, but to sit in the plane for like 12-13hrs like very siong leh! Anyone got experience before..how did it feel??

hammies

i was hinting to you, waiting for you to say...we are frm jan08 thread!!

yup, this is my #2, congrats to you too!

i took a 6hr flight when i was 6mths preggy and i was fine. just need to stand up more due to backache

must sign indemnity with airline, and you can request for nicer seats etc...just to make urself comfortable

Pixie - hehe....so we are both expecting #2 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] When is yours due? Mine is estimated ard 20 March or so..Anyway, I hardly log onto this forum already actually, so really lost touch with what's going on in the Jan08 thread. Are you still active there? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, did you check with your gynae first before travelling or do you need any written letter from your gynae about anything?

hammies

my edd is 14th march........

today in jan08 thread we were talking about depression and how to overcome it.

quite encouraging coz some mummies already having 2 kids (#1 is a jan08 baby, #2 is a xxx baby) are feeling stressed so we have been quite encouraging with one another

i just asked my gynae if its safe to travel. she told me as long as healthy can go liao...so off i went (without letter). and because i have no letter from gynae to state im fit to travel, i had to sign an indemnity form imposed by airline. i didnt care much at that time so i just signed...

mummies, those who are in the 10 weeks + now, do you all feel cramp still? These few days I don't feel cramp at all... Just wanna check if there's anybody same as me..but I still feel nausea..