(2011/03) Mar 2011

2k - tks for updating. haha. i guess so. cos we have lots of mummies in March!

yes, heard about mrs wong's class. cos i would prefer to deliver in Mt A. wonder if they will accept us who does not deliver in TMC. and if Mt A provides such classes like TMC aft our delivery before we head home.

spyria - parentscraft centre is mrs wong's class? noted on e contact. will check it out

chen - yes!! i heard a lot about nurse teaching in hospital, then when home v tough to handle alone. really, 1st time mummy like me who knows nothing.

so many of you BF for abt 6mths. but is it v inconvenient when we return back to work? our BM keep in fridge then heat up, will it be not so 'fresh' anymore or will have bateria?....i intend to BF for 3mths if possible, so that 1mth b4 i return to work, bb already used to bottle. will it be sufficient?

won_mummy: no prob! if u delivering at MT A also can join mrs wong classes...but MT A also got sis kang class if i am not wrong.

its not inconvenient to bf when at work. u know initially, i wanted to bf for 3 mths like u, then end up extend to 6 months cos i got ample supply, then extend again for 9 months, then said might as well 1 yr...then after 1 yr, i extend another 2 months, and finally i stop cos i going for long holiday...

or else i think i might bf longer

2Ks - I did give her the bottle. At least once a day from the time she was 3 weeks. Either my MIL or her father would give and then one day he was working late (he'd usually gives the night feed), MIL went for dancing class, so I gave the bottle and then she decided no more bottle for her, major drama. But still we kept trying off and on, nope totally refused.

One thing that I notice about my kid is her amazing persistence, so yeah. I totally agree, at least a bottle of BM a day but it didn't work for me.

won_mummy, most mummies usually bf for at least 6mths, for the immunity. Yes, for my office, it will be rather inconvenient to express. There's no nursing room, i've colleagues who express in the toilet, which I find it very unhygenic. I'll explore using some meeting or clean store rooms. hee.

Maybe we can try a good switch between direct latch and bottle feed while we're home, then hopefully when we're back to work, bb can adapt to the bottle.

won_mummy

no worries, if you have the mindset that bm is the best for your baby, you will go on to bf no matter what.

i pump exclusively for my boy till 15mths, and enough supply till 16mth+

and its convenient for me to pump at work. when your bm is more established liao, can pump 2x a day only in office. no need to go rush here and there.

i changed workplace in the whole of the 15mths and both workplace will find a place for me to pump.

it helps if you have colleagues who are mothers; can band together to source for a room (if there is non) in the office

btw, about the bm in fridge...

all bm have anti bacterial properties. in some countries like australia, they dont even encourage sterilizing pump parts etc because the bm itself is anti bacterial.

heat up or fresh bm, also the same. except if you store the bm in freezer, some enzymes will be destroyed (neglegible). but still, no matter what, better than fm

i sell bm storage bags for 2yrs liao and i usually guide new mummies on how to bf and achieve more output. nowadays become bf counsellor to my customers liao....

2Ks - Oh the screaming, the sobbing, the searching for my boobs. I tell you if it weren't for my maid who finally managed to get her to drink from a sippy cup!! I might have quit work, I could hardly even hold her for the first 2 days!

Chen - I do hate it when ppl expect mothers to pump in the loo. like would you eat in the loo? no right, sigh. I used to be able to pump in my room, my rommie is a Mom and my friend, so no shame lah and can use the comp and work too. Now I'm sharing with a guy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so I have to book the mother care rooms on another floor, but I know I'm lucky we even have such a thing!

PrestoRabb - *wave wave*

yeah stay near tamp central =)opp stadium actually.

thanks for the info i will check it out.

won_mummy - not sure if its mrs wong classes cos the brochure didnt indicate the teachers that are involved. Mt. A dun hv any pre and post natal care svc?

2K/chen/pixie - tks for sharing and the encouragement. haha. shall see how much i can supply n how long i can endure. my office have nursing rooms. was just wondering abt e storing in fridge, etc but you have cleared my doubts!

spyria - tks! i will check it out. not sure abt Mt A. but i nv hear ppl mentioning except TMC's Mrs Wong.

pixie - you sell storage bags? something like e zip lock bag? wow...another lobang found! can call you lobang queen? u have lots of goodies! i know who i can look for if i need supplies. i assume its cheaper than from dept stores?

I will vote for natural.. recovery is definitely faster and i think your womb will contract faster if you breastfeed after that...

well although the contraction pain will be one big thing to endure... well my labour hour is 20 hours and yes i had epi... but i oso got very bad side effect.. was shivering the whole time and couldn't sleep..

anyway the moment bb is born everything is fine... you wouldn't remember the pain anymore.. so i will definitely go for natural..

as for the public holiday... as long as you take the 8 weeks of leave at a go and break for a day.. then the remaining 8 weeks of leave will be considered by each individual day and hence will be "eat into" the public holiday in May =) ... so all in all we only luji one on 22nd April... =)

hihi.. im from June thread.. i've got 5 brand new boxes of Pigeon diaper liners (100s) for sale, selling at $8 per box.. also giving away abt 20 sample sachets of Similac Mum/Anmum Materna/EnfaMama.. Please PM me if interested..

won_mummy

yes i've been selling lansinoh breastmilk storage bags for the past 2 years, have my own steady stream of customers. prices fluctuate one lah. but i can tell you a box of 25pcs sells for like 20$ in mothercare but you can get them for $10 or even lesser in WTS/sprees...

meaning half price lor

i started it coz i got lots of bm supply and when i join spree, always not in time to get the bags so i bought them in myself - save the hassle lor

you can go to www.lansinoh to see the pictures of the bags.

btw, lansinoh is the best (imho) after trying so many other brands.

won_mummy

abt storing in the fridge in office, it depends on what brand of pump you use. i think madela have their own black colour freezer bag that you can store the bottles.

as i put my bm in lansinoh storage bags, i lay them flat and put inside an icr-cream containers. you can use lock and lock containers for more "security"

Pixie> ooh u sell milk bags... Yup I only used lansinoh..

The only bags that can lie flat but I prob dun need them..

Hahahaa... I threw away all my frozen EBM cuz no space to keep n I was latching 24/7...

But if I need I get frm u la...

Else I wanted to spree in my own too...

I still have 1 box brand new leftover... Hee...

Hi 2ks,

Can help me update?

Lin/ Taman Jurong/ 26th March/ Dr Adelina Wong/ TMC / 1st child

Linda, you teaching too? how do you cope with the walking?

BB rabbit, thanks. Will try the lotus root with glutinous rice!

Lin

L3x, I'm teaching also but have been on super long medical leave since week 5 as I had spotting in week 4. I suspect it was due to too much walking and climbing of stairs.

My suggestion is either u take medical leave (esp. 1st trimester) or let the school know about it. Request the class to shift to first floor if the classroom is on the top floor. The preggie teachers in my school all do that. Take care.

This thread moves too fast for me!

2Ks, thanks for updating the table and including me! I stay in Bukit Timah.

Rach, are you the one who did a BP on food shears in may/june? I bought a set from you!

Spyria, I see you're with Dr Wong too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] She's the best. About the prenatal classes, Mrs Wong conducts some of the classes for TMC's Parentcraft. If you go down they'll show you the schedule for the classes and who the teachers are. Mrs Wong is v popular so her classes fill up v fast.

Wow.. Everyone is talking about BF and pumping of milk..

I'm a nurse and am very pro breast feeding, especially total breast feeding... Any specific pump your would recommend?

I'm thinking about medela freestyle... It's not cheap, around $418 (cheapest i found in SMF spree).

What do your think??

Cythnia,

wow your MIL so good to you... accept help when u need loh. In the future, u also need to take care of the parents...

I am also surprised to hear that every baby is very different in drinking milk.

Are parents able to tell what their characters profile are when they are baby?

I total breast fed my gal for 15 mths hee hee. I was addicted!!!

I bought e medela electric pump(dual) n worth every single cent! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Noeymum>

yup yup that was me!! I recognize ur nick too!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Tweety

Dun know if we can but I think there's this mother instinct that will help us know what the baby will turn out to be.

I wasn't able to carry or see my babies when they were born, but hubby when to the special care unit to take some photographs for me. And when I saw my elder daughters picture. My first thot ~ she's not gonna be a easy gal to handle sure to be a hot stubborn chilli padi and true enuf this gal have been giving a lot of problem, very difficult to discipline and control. haizzzz.

Gnulyl5> yes meddle freestyle is great!! Fantastic pump.

I used it for 2 months before I stopped pumping n latch full time..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but saves time n effort!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rach - Serious? I'm reading a bit here and there... Need to buy those what valves, tubings, extension tubings? etc etc... Like so complicating lor... I mean im a first time mom ma, so totally a blur sotong to all the pump stuffs...

Then i went to the medela website, their storage bag, so suay, not compatible with freestyle.. SIAN 1/2!!!!

Rach, Great to see you here! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Gnulyl5, I used the medela pump in style. really excellent -- the 2 phase expression helped alot to get the flow going. The tubings, valves, etc. come with the set. You don't have to buy any separately unless you need replacements. I also don't really understand your comment about the storage bags being incompatible with the pump. the medela pumps fit over bottles and after you're done, you can pour the milk into storage bags for storage.

Jazz2: u r under Doc Ong too? Hehe.. I was still thinking like nvr see any of his patients here.. Hee.. U go to his 10mile junc clinic?

Lailai: hehe.. Ya, eat a lil bit more.. No worries as ling as bb gt put on everytime u go fr chkup shud b fine.. =)

Hmm.. I opt fr natural too.. If can go natural y nt? Cos I heard abt alot of c sec cases need longer time to recover n it's more painful leh..

Breastfeeding: I only managed to do it like for 6 mths plus including using up the left frozen ebm. I had so much milk dat I donated abt 60 pkts away but aft due to clingy boy n lousy pump.. My supply jus went dwnhill v v quickly.. I used to start off w Avent pump.. But it really sucks. So pls don ever get avent pump.. In e end I had to borrow frm my son's Godma her medela electric..n Dan towards e end I gt Medela freestyle n only gt to use it fr awhile.. N kept it in the store rm till nw.. Hehe.

Hi Lin- I am teaching in Pri sch for enrichment batik art and time is quite flexible to follow abt 3-4 hrs session N I m done

Now teaching in xinghua and later part my mil will be gg over to st Hilda as principal invited her for introduction course.

Aft xinghua, I will hop over to catholic high too[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Is tiring to keep standing ESP when the Pri 4,5 students may be very active too. Have to disclipine them slot cos they tend to be chatty too ;) but still manageable since my boy is ard this age too ;)

Where are u teaching currently?

Go take a look at our website to see if your sch is interest hee ;)

http://ideastoimages.weebly.com.

Presto - I checked this with dr Adrian tan clinic, the 5% discount only applicable for consultan, and once we sign up the package, not entitled to 5% dis lor,the nurse also mentioned that there will be discount for his delivery charges,

I work it out if I want to sign up, probably, can save $200 onli but not to forget still have to pay the membership fee, so still thinking wat the use lei..,;(

Mrs Teng,

so true is yr instinct! Hope that the baby we have is going to go easy on us....

my MIL said if i want the child to be scientist , read more science. If artist, read more art books... Is it true???

I used the Medela pump and hated it and got myself a Avent electric pump and loved it, plus easier to clean no tubes. Really depends I think.

Tweety

Hehehe! I dun really know if it's true. Think part of it is cultivated when they are young while part is due to genes.

But I definitely believe whatever the mummy does during the pregnancy, baby sometimes just follow. When I was preggie, one of my nephew will irritates me so bad until I really want to smack him. He'll argue with me and give me the funny side way look. And true enuf, one of my gal behave exactly like him.

Lesson learnt, stay away from ppl and things you dun like. Away stay cool and dun get mad.

Morning mummies!!!

Tweety,

I guess we cant really know the character of baby. I agree with Mrs Teng, keep cool don't get mad. For me very tough cause I have a preschooler & toddler!! Imagine been crazy by their nonsense & I am trying to control still tough....

Just try. Relax & don't purposely do certain stuff. Let natural take its course yeah.

ANy mummies hate drinking water???

My mouth have that stupid metalic taste! When I drink water wanted to vomit. All e strange strange symptoms come to me. When I open my eyes, 1st thing is to vomit! Errrhhhhhggggg

hello all,

my first post here.. today marks the 7th week of my pregnancy... EDD is 31 March 2011...

just lost my cool and got quite angry with a vendor for not keeping to his promise. i hope this does not affect the baby.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Also, just to check, my gynae is currently also pregnant. just saw her for the first time least week and found out. now i'm thinking of changing my gynae. anyone who has heard of Dr Yvonne Soong at TMC? Is she ok? I also saw some +ve comments about Dr LN Sim. Any comments?

Thanks... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i hope the day does not become any worse for me..

morning mummies...

my wisdom is acting up on me. Swelling at the gum on my left side. Now super worried about extracting it when i am 7 weeks preggie. Oh man. What luck? Anyone has any advice?

Oh ya.. Din see my name in list.. Here it is:

Lilprecious/Pasir Ris/Dr Douglas Ong/Mount A/#2 ... thank u 2ks!!

Won_mummy: I attended the mount A prenatal class.. By Sis Kang n some nurses.. Nt bad .. I like e way she teach.. =) but yup, I've heard pretty gd comments abt tmc one also.. Hehe.

cynthia, me me... i hate drinking water too. Even if i'm thirsty, water is not my option. I'm guilty of popping the coloured and soda drinks... but whatever that works. haha.

jazz2, I've also got a hindering wisdom tooth. I'm thinking if we can do extraction while preg. Need to get it out soon...

chen,

mine is acting up? cos if a surgery is needed, very worried abt the pills, injections for extraction of the tooth.

sigh

mine acted up two weeks ago.. Now it's okay already... =)

Maybe you should wait and see...

Chen,

Hi-Five!!! Now I slip water if not some 100+ or other juices. WOnder can add lemon or anything inside e water...

whoa, the thread is increasing at alarming rate and so nice to see so many mummies sharing tips etc.. Enjoyed all the postings.. but cant contribute much cos no experience yet (#1 ma) and moreover, now in office so cant login that often.. :p

--

Btw, 2Ks,

Can add me into the compiled list of Mrach mummies!

my details:

anxious_mtb/Lakeside/15 Mar 2011/ Dr Eunice Chua/TMC/#1 ...

thanks so much!

Linda - membership fee is ard $148 rite.. so means we effectively save only $60 isit..? Not alot also hor.. hmm. I heard tht sometimes babyfair, they have offer for FBI/SBI if there is a booth..

Btw anyone of u knows how much is the prenatal classes at TMC?

Cynthia - I also drink 100+.. favourite gassy drink now. But also tell myself not to drink too much cos of sugars. I think honey lemon and water lemon should be fine.

Presto - 100+ is also my fav drink now... My doc ask me to drink it cos know i cant really drink water... Can prevent dehydration...

good morning mummies

tks for sharing abt BF and storage bag. i just realised e EBpump my cousin-in-law just gave me was medela w so many good feedback by you mummies. still thinking wat brand is that when i receive it, din see before...haha

lilprecious - tks! on e sis kang's classes. when did u start attending? shd i consult my gynae abt Mt A's prog or shd i go to Mt A directly? wonder if its too early for me to ask gynae all these on sat when I am only in week10.

Also, i heard ppl talking abt sign package w gynae, what is there all about? package w gynae is for our routine checks, then we need to sign another pkg w hospital we want to deliver? then is it done thru gynae's clinic or we have to contact hospital directly? I am confused.

gnuly15 - great! dr say can drink.. heh heh. For a moment i was also thinking if i drink too much and no gd too. Searched the internet but not much bad info on drinking it. Heh heh.

Phew lucky we still have 100+ or other honey lemon water. Will be dehydrated from all e vomiting!

won_mummy,

Some gynae have prenatal package. The package you can claim up to max $450 from your medisave upon delivery. They will offset your maternity labour hospital charges.

Some gynae do not have packages. THey prefer pay by per visit. You can also keep those receipts & do e claiming $450 medisave.

Having packages is good as more cost effective.

re: pump

i have been using avent duo electric, quote expensive, 800+ for a brand new box. but worth every cent. in my 15mths of exclusive pumping, i have used up 2 motors, and the final 3rd one is still working (i hope), but passed to my sister when she delivered her #2. we pass the motor around the household :p

pumps are quite subjective. i have a colleague who gets more output from madela than avent, and another friend who gets more output from ameda than madela...

it differs imho

but i've asked around bfding mummies and most of them said avent's suction is quite painful. i feel it rarely but if the suction is quite strong, then i can empty my breasts faster

just my thoughts