(2011/03) Mar 2011

thanks to all mummies who answered bout my bladder infection

now, another question : my gynae told me to start applying the nipple cream from now on. will it help to reduce the soreness in the future when i start bf-ing my baby?

im so bored with the waiting game , can i like give birth soon ????

everyday i read the forum its all about bf-ing, cl, etc et, so envy :'(

Just want to check with all mummies,my bb is 1 week old already,am feeding him 60-70ml every 3 hours,I pumped and let him drink cuz he can't latch properly.

But he likes to gulp the milk and finish the drink very fast,when he finish drinking,he has this wheezing sound which is quite scary,like breathless,so i am burping him in between the 60ml just to make sure he swallow properly.Is this normal to all bb??

angelina,

i know how u feel..im also like WAITING..

gynae visit on tuesday. hope there will be some progress.. if not i will start doing squats!

angelina,

im ur opposite... i wish i can keep my baby in my tummy longer... easier to take care... n can i spend time with my 2 elder child... hahahha

jaime: cannot blow wind mah. u can bathe anot? mine at first cannot on fan, den on aircon my baby start sneezing, so now i sleep in the spare room with the baby monitor. haha

belinda....just use towel and wipe lor..but i dont care sometimes just use very hot water to bath lor..

but the hair i never wash until my mum make the herb to wash lor...so obedient...my #1 i wash my hair secretly before gg to PD or gyane..this time i more obedient..

i on fan coz weather this month stil ok...during my #1 i on air con becuase too hot...

how not to on fan or air con..can die to heat stroke man..

i got so many questions to ask.. but hb doesnt want me to log on too often cos mil said confinement stare at comp bad for eyes..

for my ger, whenever i bring my nei near her, she will suck on the tip only.. didnt even cover the entire aerola loh.. even at hosp, when the nurses n lactation consultant help me, also this prob.. so i thought rather than fight with her everytime on bf from the breast (she gets frustrated when nothing goes to her mouth) , i just pump exclusively.. not so stressed on my side also cos my mum is also the typical type where when bb cries, she said hungry.. cant imagine if i bf from breast, 1 day she must nag how many times.. so now what i did is pump out, store in fridge, bb need to drink, than i warm it up..

warming milk - can i check, if i directly take the hot water from the thermal flask than put the bm (from fridge) in, like that will it consider the temp too high? n usualy must put how long than wun kill the nutrients ar?

rice wine - can i check, if my mum cooks with rice wine, i must rest for how long before i can pump out again? will bb get drunk from rice wine?

exclusive pumping - though its abit ma fan, but guess i have no choice loh..at least still offering bm to bb.. tmr bringin bb for pd check n need to bring all my pump barang barang.. can i confirm, if tmr i pump outside, i put the ebm directly into FTG the milk wun spoil right? estimated around 2-3 hours out so definitely will need to pump at least once outside de.. also, if i bring ebm out, i can still use those from the fridge right than put directly into FTG right? do i need to use those frozen one to bring out so that when we are out 2-3 hours, the ebm that i gave her wun not spoil?

am so confused with all these questions and tmr is bb first time out.. so abit kan cheong..

thanks mummies for ur precious advise!!

valerie : ya lor, still waiting. when is ur edd? seems like lots of people popping before their edd, i dont think mine can be faster de. cause my #1 born exactly on edd, so i doubt mine will be faster [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

spyria : how many weeks r u now? im only38 now, still 2 more weeks to go

treestar : thats the weird thing, sometimes i feel that im lucky cause im still able to play with Josh. at least before the baby is born, i try to spend as much time as possible with him. but when i start to read the forum n see all those cute babies pic from fb, then i feel a bit envy lor. haizzz dont know lah hormones very weird one

saw some mummies mentioned that 3 hrs pump means eg. 12am, 3am, 6am etc.. u mean is not 3 hrs from the time u finished pumping?

Mummies, I need help.. My breast is engorged.. Any solution to ease the engorgement? I tried to express, press on the lump but it doesnt work.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] damn frustrated now

2Ks: I see.. So bb slps longer at night nw? Roughly hw long he slps nw?

Ehh, Wanted to ask, I rem my gynae told me last time when I had Jav, I also pump strawberry milk, but I threw all away.. he told me can go ahead n give the milk one leh? True anot huh?

Chocoball: I eat chocs sometimes.. =P my confinement lady says ok.. Jus tk few pcs to curb my craving sometimes..

Pinky: at as big as yours ok! Hahahahaha.... Wahhh yr mil is super pro breastfeeding.. A lil tooo pro.. =X

Jaime: don b pissed.. Chill chill.. Maybe yr mum scared u gt wind go into yr body..

Sunesis: keep applying the nipple cream to moisturise ya.. Don cry.. Jia you!!

Angelina: yup, doc ong told me to apply before I gave birth to Javier too.. N it works.. Nt tt painful when I latched Javier first few times.. This round, I forgt abt it n indeed, when I latched Jayien, it feels painful, thou later when seasoned will b ok.. I rem I din go thru the pain part fr Jav.. Dono leh?

Haven come out also gd Ma, take chance spend more time w Josh n slp more..

Hazel: I cleared my breasts in 2-3 days by massaging real hard n painful, n v v hot compress n by hand expressing n plus pump..

Bingbing: that was what I did initially so called to tell the brain more milk pls.. Ask the milk to come faster..

It helps..

But now I don't do that.. I pump every 3 hourly, in between my bb cries I still latch.. Then next three hours I pump..

My boy no cry after I latch him n sleep for 2-3 hrs, but I never see any liquid come out from my breast!! I told the nurse to top up FM. Few times, the nurse never give and said he sleeps thru. It's really not the same as my #2 last time which always the nurse will top up FM in nursery room. I really wonder is my boy drink enough?!? Cos so far, I can't squeeze any milk out from my breasts yet! He sucks something out each time of latching?

I asked for lactation for advises, but nurse said today Sunday, not working day. Must wait for tomorrow, they will meet me before I discharge. How? Shall I insist to give FM top up each time or just leave it? Even can't see liquid out by hand squeeze the breasts, baby can sucks something out?

Aloha: no issue on mucous plug.. I lost mine one week before I gave birth

Allets: I dun think u bring frozen milk out by the time u go out it will be full defroze. Even I bring down from freezer, it actually take one night to turn into abit watery state.

So u should bring chilled milk. Bring the amount bb is drinking, store into the ftg and bring out.

U are not supposed to use boiling water to soak the ebm.. Bring along a cup or something to soak the ebm. That's it.

Lilprecious: not so fast he can stable his milk intake.. I need a month plus to train him to sleep longer in the night..

I didn't feed the strawberry milk to kyler that time leh... I pour away.. Stunned by the output... Lol. U also pump strawberry milk before ah?

Hazel: I took 2 days to clear the lumps.. Not so fast de.. U ask pixie how long she took..

U can't just do few times hot compress only..

I pump every two hourly plus hot hot compress until breast red red then I managed to clear the lumps.. And I took two days..

Or how about call your ml come earlier?

2ks - wat do u mean cannot use boiling water? even if the milk is in milk bottle, i cant put them into a cup of hot water? soak the ebm as in using tap water? like than wun the milk be cold since taken out from the fridge..

also, if rice wine cook liao, do i still need to wait before i pump? cos due for pumping liao..

Angelina: my edd 17th lor. Lol. Angelia check in TMC lo!! Sigh mine still don't want to face reality [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Need some advices. I hv engorgement now. How to soften my breasts? I used my freestyle to pump but can't pump much. And after pumping still hard as rocks. The nurse ask me to use cold cabbage which I am reluctant cos I heard that is to stop milk production. Can anyone advise on what to do?

Allets - cannot use BOILING WATER... You will destroy all (partial) of the BM nutrients..

Must use warm water... How warm lei.. I don't know.. I uses pigeon Milk warmer which sets at 40 degree celcius...

Hi mummies !

Am now at TMC observation room.. Waterbag burst and bloody show comes!

Gynae check and only 3cm dilate at 8pm , so waiting for more dilation to come... Wish me luck kk...

Pray for my smooth delivery please! Thanks!!!

Angelia: so happy for you!! Say hi to ah lim for me =x jia you ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] everything will go smoothly for you!

It's Angelia turn!!!!! jia you babe!!!

2Ks, my mucous plug dropping more than 2 weeks Liao damn sian! Keep having false alarm pek chek. Now only Pray flu n cough faster recover then wed gynae say ok can induce haha

angelia!!

congrats!! so excited for u. go go go!

valerie,

u at week 39 le...im sure ur bb is arriving soon too.. hehe. must update ar!

angelia: finally u r poppin...! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jiayou!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw mummies, is it normal that my son looks a bit reddish after discharge?? PD says he has no jaundice during hospital stay so can dishcarge after 2 days in hospital..

Hazel,

My baby also looks reddish. Think shd be ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

2Ks, but my left breast milk doesnt seem to be flowing out even i tried pumping 2 hrs or so and using hot hot water to compress.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] my right breast still ok.. damn sian.. now my left breast like a stone lor

Hi mummies, just give birth on the 11/03 1725 at gleneagles hospital, bb etna's weight is 3.03kg. Natural with epidural via vacuum. Just wanna to find out when will my milk supply kick in. Tried expressing but it's looks watery but sticky. Please advise.

Rach - Wanna ask you... For huggies, there's Huggies Dry comfort (RED) , Huggies Dry (BLUE) and Huggies Ultra (PURPLE)...

I remember you mentioned there's different in quality and there's a sequence... Red > Blue > Purple? or etc? From cheapest to most expensive or in terms of quality...

Can advise when you're free...

Thank you...

Allets: u didn't read what me/rach/pixie been posting all along about how to handle bm??

U use warm water not hot boiling water... Boiling water kill the nutrients in yr bm.. As for how many degrees think rach mentioned about 40 degrees water..

I agak agak one

Pls scroll the archives think yday one.. Both Annie and rach posted how to handle bm..

U hv to do homework before Ma... Otherwise kalang kabok

Hazel: kiefer also red red when discharged..

U press his face if it bounce back really fast then most likely no jaundice..

The lumps dun clear so fast la.. It's parts and parcel of bf journey... Hang on there ya

2Ks: ya.. I pumped strawberry milk before.. I had the bubbles on nipple den pump n gt blood.. Yucks. =/ nw I spot a small lil milk bubble on my nipple.. I see, I also wanna train Jayien slp thru the night if can.. If nt dono can handle both of dem to slp not.. =(( Jav slping alrdy 1 prob. =S

Hazel: Jayien still red, having a lil jaundice.. My pd says normally bb will haf higher range of jaundice at day 5-7..

I took 2-3 days to clear the boobs too.. Jus gotta perservere ya.. Yup, moo moo career isn't easy.. But I'm sure u can do it! =))

fel> Huggies dry -> Huggies dry comfort -> Huggies ultra

ultra most exp and usually for nite use...

Day time I used blue... Now I use red cuz the urine qty is more.. Blue can't take so much pee..

But when younger ok..

I got one question...

RY and RL shouldn't be sharing my nipples rite..

Any transfer of germs/virus??!!??

Should I keep one side for each baby???

Or cleaning with wet wipes sufficient???

I intend to let RY latch watever is left over frm RL feed...

Cuz she dun need the milk... She just latching as pacifier....

But if share nipples like not very right leh...

Rach: not good idea to share nipples... Think u can maybe clean with warm water or sth den let RY take.. But u took so long to wean RY off, y u wanna pit her back on nipples again?