(2011/03) Mar 2011

blurjen,

how to order from you. u have any ordering format to follow?

btw.. is the price stated online is before discount or after discount?

Rach,

this time i order from blurjen coz she stays nearer i think.. u dont mind wor??

Fish, so far no one send me the order yet so i think i wont have enough order. maybe u can order from rach instead. btw the price is b4 discount [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi 2Ks,

Ya lor, PEM's CL got good or bad, but thru agent good in a way, u can change the CL if she is not good.

Mine was my friend used b4 via PEM. And I called her, she sounds ok. But then after that the agent said if multi-storey house, they charge $150 for each storey wow provided the CL wants to climb up/down somemore. So after checking w my CL, she does not want to climb up & down. No choice, I got to move back to my own parents plc to do confinement then and to cut cost and also good for me that I dun hv to climb up & down as well.

panda hut: u stayed landed ah...

really leh...climb up and down too much during confinement..you are supposed to sit more, lie down more to rest...

mine also engaged from PEM, if booked early, got early bird discount of $50, better than nothing lor...

the agent quoted me $2000 instead of 1900 lor..cos i think they gauge on size of house, how many people etc..

eng eng go in and see the confinement food stuff...piang! so expensive! top up a few hundred can engage CL le...

panda hut: oh ya...just to let u know the herbs hor..dont get from PEM...my sis ordered from them, i look at the herbs...its of lousy quality...the dang shen soooooo skinny...

get from outside better

2ks

I think I'll train my maid to cook confinement food, herbal soup will be simple one for daily consumption, maybe the very tonic one will get my mum to brew for me once a week lor.

My neighbour still around, they are more eager den me on the gender of this current baby.

2ks,

but if getting CL.. still need spend another $1K-$2K for her to buy the stuffs for her cooking wor! and need to standby a room for her as well.

So... wat we think is.. we save this $1k to $2k, juz order and my mother / MIL can save more time to help me take care of BB!!

tigg3r: i think popular got recipe books on confinement food...

herbal soups i think is those few kinds lor..u can get from ZTP, Fu hua those prepacked ones...then add on abit better quality ones..

but have u plan out who will go marketing for you? confinement food have to be fresh...

fish: my CL zzz with my baby...focus on my baby..i need to rest..

u know hor...initially i also tot of asking my mum to help...but then hor, i tell u, my mum so many years never handle baby before, she forget and dunno how to do it...furthermore, during their time, they dont breastfeed...so she only pour cold water on me...

confinement food might be good and convenient la...but usually they are precooked a couple of hours early, then left there to cool, then deliver to u, u still got to make hot...

confinement are suppose to eat fresh and hot food okie..

i very particular on confinement, cos i see the good and bad of confinement compared to my friends...

i actually regret for not wearing long pants during that time

oh ya...fish..

u checked whether the soup got use kampong chix? then the meat they used got use kidney part of pig?

i drink kampong chix soup...its very very nourishing...

i remembered my mum spend about $300-400 on ingredients on my confinement food...herbs about $300 too...but i think my MIL bought too much so i still got leftover in my fridge

angelina: are u indonesian? i have a ex colleague who is indonesian who believes in eating confinement food too..

ginger: helps to release the wind in your body...but but cases are like too much ginger result in yellowish of baby..

soups: nourishing, helps to build up milk supply and "warm" the body..

i wont be hiring and CL to cook for me any confinement food.. MY MIL will be preparing them for me.

But am getting a CL lady for post-natal massage .. very the traditional way include the 'Pilis',bengkung (body wrap) and the jamu (herbs)..

2Ks,

i doubt they will use kampong chicken ba!!!

if the food we order and we think reli not okie enough.. then juz cook some additional soup to drink... i'm soup lover person! so.. alot soup is reli okie for me de

btw...

talk abt confinement, remind me of asking something..

u gals ever heard, we can boil herb and bath and wash hair and bath BB as well during our confinement??? anyone know wat kind of herb and where we can get it??

I have a question here... My friend in wk 11 now, when gynae check up yesterday, bb open legs big.. but couldn't see 'birdie'.. means girl girl? or too early to see? still have chance to be boy boy?

hihih

xiaofeizhu83: I have this CL on hand, Yue Fen 83756048, told her to KIV for me. BUT I have alr chosen another CL. You can calling her, not too sure of her rates, she is a M'sian so it should be around S$1.8 - S$2K ba!

If not, call PEM, I heard good reviews abt them too!

2Ks,

I agree with you the importance of confinement. Our body are really different after giving birth. Chinese believe our bones are open up during the process. That is why we need to nourish back IN CASE future problem arise. That why the only 1 month can nourish as much as possible is the best.

My last 2 confinement was sucks. #1, CL ran away and as a new mummie & newborn was crazy. Mil help for 2 weeks in bathing bb as she also long time never take care BB too. I didn't follow all the rules & really 6 months later, body start showing signs..

#2, I didn't get CL as my mum helps me. SHe cooks well and everything and help during the day BUT night time I am alone doing. VERY tiring really with BF & nobody to help me take over as Hubby working next day suay suay that period he have training unable to take leave! But still I eat confinement food, follow the rules, my body indeed is alot alot better! I swear to it lo.

So #3 this round, close shop! Why getting a CL instead of maid? CL can help me with BB at night whenever I take DOM after 2weeks+ I will really nourish back my body and charge for the rest of many years taking care my children. SO... indeed follow rules do help. I wear lousy T shirt and lousy pants. I do wear socks but on off just wear home shoes lo. I stil bath BUT with Herbs & after that wipe the body with white rose wine which will help close the pores.

So I felt 1st time mummie if possible get a CL or someone experience to help & guide so won't be so confuse & out of control. Newborn always crying crying we won't know what they want. Unless have help which is very important for us too.

SOrry for the long post hehhe.

Just back home from gynae check. Next visit 1 month from now lo. BB was very noti, hiding when gynae want to measure. So today bit tough to measure & no measurement shown. Gynae also rushing to delivery too.. phew.

Guess gotta wait till next visit in Nov to see gender if not detail scan le... hai

Fish, I tot can just buy from any chinese medical shop, right?

For confinement, we can bathe/wash hair for the 1st week right? To those mummies with > #1, did you all ah? If not, how to tahan in our hot& humid climate?

puan sri: does malay believes in engaging CL to help during the month too?

fish: are u referring to da feng cao? bath your self not bath baby...

can be buy at any medicated shops...

buy in malaysia cheaper...but i tell u normal da feng cao are mashed...orginal plucked and sun dry one are very diff to find now..

Angelina,

Mummies here offer a few webby you can try. If you do not wish to take full month of food. Maybe you can get 14 days or 20days. Though I never try tingkat as in the past either my mil help or my mum cooking and I cook myself too. I continue eating confinement food for 40days. I love it. THe smell of sesame oil wow! I love ginger too but due to BF I put a little only..

Can also try borrow books from library too. Popular selling confinement food book too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Also have prenatal food yeah.

cynthia: exactly...think u should get a CL this time round...u closing shop rite? so must make sure your this confinement must do properly...

seriously i must thanks my previous CL for taking care of me so well...that is why until now i seldom fall sick de.

DOM with chix soup, yucks! that is what i hate most! but cos of CL makes that, i think it help me for warming up my body lor...its really really very not nice to drink!

this time round, i intend to bath maybe alternate days, wear properly, wear socks, eat more ginger, drink more soups..i wanna make sure i do a good confinement..closed case lor...

Puan Sri; can share with us, how different is Malay & Chinese confinement food ah?

Me very picky eater, I will need variety of food for that 1 month, plus cannot go out somemore, will need to find why to 'entertain' myself (food wise)!!!

Fish,

Actually if have people help you like bathing BB etc, can sometime you can rest during day & night why not and good to save on CL hehehe. If I have the help from MIL or my mum, I SURE wont get CL! Getting a CL $2k. Confinement food need around $1k too... if don't get, can save the $2k and rather give an ang bao to our mil or mum instead....

But Hubby insist this round to get a CL. He say I need to get e health back and he also find it hard to help me and we have 2 brats at home too. So this money reallly gotta spend [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] UNLESS MIL or my MUM out of sudden can help me haha

tres,

so... you mean we go any chinese medical shop and jus tell them we wana the herbal for confinement and they will know wat kinds of herbs to use ya??? becoz i thought muz get somewhere or even need to pre-order! haha!!!

for bath/wash hair.. i think i will do it after 4-5 days give birth ba!!! but i will use towel to clean my body everyday lor! for hair.. no choice, tie it up and try not let the hair touch the face and smell the oily smell! haha!!! then after that will use herb to bath!!! but i think the whole confinement mth, i will on aircon lor!!!

2Ks,

You can try martell with chicken. My mum brew that for me. WA the taste better than with DOM! I am ok with all those alcohol lo [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

YES CLOSE SHOP! So die die last round must nourish. REally my #2 I do better, I seldom fall sick and having migraine too... Less back aching too. So this round I not going to wake at night haha. Let CL do the job. If not pay so much all I do very lugi.

Eat more ginger? But BF cannot eat too much right.. sian oh... If not eat alot ginger really very very good.

If felt wearing socks very stuffy, get those shoes to wear at home. I alt with it. Sometime socks makes my feet sweat more hahah.

Bathing.. I guess I won't do it everyday. I really bear for 1 week before haha. Shall see hows the weather too. Depends on the CL too leh. Some tell me CL will anti bathing one...

cynthia: your MIL okay? my Mum initially also wanna help me one, end up she lost touch handling baby...she dunno at all. and worse not on breastfeeding...she said words like " why u no milk" , u wanna make my grandson hungry is it?, then tell my baby, aiyo, you so poor thing, mummy dont have milk for you etc.

some cant get along with MIL...will have conflicts?

Tres,

I will wash hair & bath on the 7th day as need to go back to gynae for check up on the stitches. Last time I didn't bath n wash my gynae look at my hair straigh away know and scold me. He say we are BF must keep hygiene in highest level lo.

Frankly I am not stuck at home for the 1st month as both my gals have jaundice. I will have to bring them back to hospital PD to check their level around few days after my discharge too.. But I make sure cover myself up haha.

2ks : yes im Indonesian but not chinese thats why dont really understand the importance of the cl n food, etc. thanks for the explanation

Cynthia : ya I saw few already

Tres : I washed my hair n bathed normally just few hours after I gave birth. Think I'm a Bo chap person, n with this kinda weather can't take the heat leh

2Ks,

My MIL cannot as she is taking care of BIL son which will turn near 18mths next year after I pop. So I don't think she will even help me la. BUT we already told them, when I go pop, I gotta put my gals with her. SO BIL just gotta figure how they going to take care of their baobei lo. If not Hubby cannot to n fro them to hospital too ma. I not staying 1 bedded. So my gals cannot possible stay there with me and I no need to rest. I staying 2 bedded. Sometime I will paisay if too much people drop by as I scare to disturb others.... Usually will tell friends n relatives to visit me 1 week after I discharge. Won't look haggard & half dead haha.

My MIL still ok to get along. Just gotta listen hear out there lo...

My mum not very supportive in BF though she herself BF my brothers till they are 2yo!

She say BF too long, bb take all my calcium & I cannot nourish my health with all the DOM N ginger. She worry my health lo. So I understand haha.

Hi 2Ks,

Ya staying w my in-laws, now everyday climb up & down, my legs already feel tired. Moreover, high chances mine is c-sect one, so better to do confinement at my own parents plc, no need to climb.

PEM quote me $1900 coz told them no need to cook for my husband, parents, etc. And I book 6 mths prior so got the $50 off.

My mum saw their herbs package, and said its not ex, but most prob the quality lousy type and ask me not to get the herb package as well.

Panda Hut,

I guess its good you go over your parents house. No need to climb. Confinement we are not allow to keep walking too so don't mention climb. Not good for our uterus. If you gong to c-sect, arrangement should be made earlier so in laws will understand why you need to go your parents house. SOME in law may not like it.

cynthia: are u sure we are not supposed to climb? wah, i got to climb up and down everyday to go toilet as well... Mafan..

cynthia: ya must nourish...must keep your health in tip top condition cos you be taking care of 3!!

i will eat after i bf or pump lor...then by 2/3 hours later, should digest le...

wear socks prob wear at night only...daytime, i wear my shoes...no stepping barefoot on the floor..

some people might think i so guai ah...but really lor...i see the effects of good confinement...so i will repeat this time round too

panda hut: ya..their herbs package are cheap and convenient to some people la...cos its prepacked...but i seen the herbs, the quality is really those cheap skate type...for $300 i can buy much better. and those bathing herbs only 10 packets, where got enough...their prepacked herbs all small small packet one...wolfberries also small small, pale colour type...

so better buy outside better..

caecilia: not say cannot climb now when u are pregnant la...we meant during confinement, you are not supposed to walk as much, sit and rest more..

cos our uterus still weak...

and also partly it is still so painful, where got so much strength to climb up & down?

but of cos, its individual also la..like my sis, after one week, she is like normal can walk fast fast...

but for me i pain for almost 2 weeks ah, cos i got a natural tear down there...so i walk like penguin u knw

yrtheresa..

am not so sure about the confinement food.. this is my first time..

but as far as i know.. try to hve as much soupy meal.. no fried meal.. no spicy stuff..

and do not drink alot of water.. no cold drink esp..

Well, I'm not chinese, malay or singapore but am Asian.

So I do the malay massage, try to stomach some confinement food for about 2 weeks (no kidneys, liver, stomach for me). Drink only warm water and that red date drink for a month. I don't go out much for the first 2 weeks.

But I do bathe, cos I can't stand being sweaty and use AC but with socks on. My floors are wood so I don't really bother.

My improvised version. heh.

oldnavy

I've got abt 2-3 batches worth of orders le.. Anymore??

PM me together with payment by 5pm as I'm out n will be back later..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]}}

confinement

I sure believe in but not the cannot bathe part..

Rest n lie down in bed most impt... Else suffer backaches..

Ya will wear socks this time round too!!!

Go home got time then type more..;)

2ks,

so, da feng cao is the herb for confinement bathing for ourselves ya!

then how abt baby??? i heard BB also need some herb to bath wor!!!

fish: i only heard about this product that used to add into the water of the bathing water if the baby got jaundice...its like a kindof plant..suddenly cant remember the name..

otherwise i prefer not to add anything else to bath baby lor..except their normal baby wash la

nat_nic,

Talk about my in-law, sigh!!! Intially plan to do it at my in-law plc and my hb went to inform my MIL, answer we got is she said the house no space for CL wow!!!! Respect her then inform her, yet she say no space. House so big, yet she say no space as there is a spare room on the 1st floor, moreover its 1st grandchild.

All along my MIL dun like the idea of hving CL so i didn't inform her that I will go back my parents plc to do confinement. Till now she also didn't ask. Unless she ask then will inform her, won't ask her anymore, I just plan and do watever I find its best convenient for myself now. Want my hb to come over stay at my parents plc after i give birth, make her regret for saying such thing. hahahaha!!!

my CL is my mum for #1...i think it will be the same arrangement for #2..

she cooks for me n help me with the baby..but at night coz i need to latch i will do the night duties..last time my hubby got help out a bit at night for the first month....

now i only hope he can settle #1 during the night..while i concentrate on #2...

still headache about the sleeping arrangment master bed room cant fit so many..unless i push my #1 back to his own room with my hubby..then i sleep with #2

but have yet to buy my toddler bed.[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] ..mayeb go ikea n recce