(2011/02) Feb 2011

Princess it is painful and I had no choice.. Will not take epi but still wanted my pethidine jab. I really went hysterical... And cos dilate so fast, very painful but was quickly over. Cos when wanna push can't use gas mask also, only way to end the pain is follow instructions and push baby out. Thanks to hubby, midwives n dr, very fast was over... So listen to instructions very impt [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The good thing abt no epi is I was moving abt right after delivery. Had a friend quite unlucky, took epi but still pain so they gave higher dose but she still feel pain, end up legs numb for next few days and not getting pain relief.

Mamaying :What's this pethidine jab? My gynae has not told me anything about it. Is it a painkiller? This is the one which u said u asked for but nurse told u too late to take, is it?

Ya, what happen to ur friend is one of my worst nightmares too ... and also earlier in the forum, one mummy mentioned an little-known side effect of epi is difficulty in urinating afterwards ... I'm also afraid of that!!

So...any other advice in coping with the pain of labour? Do the breathing techinques help? Must hubby be a super good coach? I dun think I will be able to count on my hub tohelp much in those moments of pain ...

Gas mask makes u high ir drowsy ba. Injection think is to make u drowsy not so pain, but must take before 6cm dilated or 4 hours before delivery. Wat we hear is 'horror stories' I have friend took epi sleep til dr wake her up to push so really depends. But on epi think they will put tube n urine bag or something like tt.

To enfure pain, only thing is endure. Relax so dilate faster and listen to midwives. If really pain go for epi ba.

What do you all do before confinement lady arrived? Other than the usual keeping of valuable things and cash, i am going to keep my house phone away! Who knows she may pick up and call malaysia haha. Better be safe then sorry.

I am also start to think what kind of instructions i should give the lady when she comes. How much housework should i ask her to do, whether she is willing is another question. I was also thinking whether should i restrict the food money or else she overbuy and all the expensive food to 'share'.

Sorry to interrupt this thread.

I'm selling my nursing pillow @ $35, bought in Dec 2010, use only 3 times, condition of e pillow is stl new.

Cash on pick-up/delivery @ Pasir Ris/Tampines MRT.

Kindly PM me if u r interested.

Thanks all and have a safe pregnancy!

Shu Hui

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5070780.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5070781.jpg]

hi all!!! induced on the 27th at 1pm at TMC. Laboured for 14hours. Finally baby Alessia is out on the28th, via natural birth, assisted with forceps!!!

Took 3 epidurals during labour!! this angel is a tough one!!! all good.. still in tmc now.. baby got a little jaudice today, so shes under the light. Besides that, all good. Im just exhausted, still staying here..eat sleep and breast feeding her every 3 hours here... indeed the TMC food is not too bad... maybe will be discharge tomorrow or the day after if her level of jaundice is still high..

Congrats Esther!! Wow 3 epidural. That's must be super painful. So scary Im now panic of the pain lor. U are great mommy. Jia you =)

Hello choc my baby is 3.0kg, name puah ying rui. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] thanks.

Sigh... Think baby's jaundice starting to show up. Hope tml morning will be sunny to give him some light...

Hi choc,

Pls kindly help to update the table.

My bb girl is out on 27/1/2011

Weight: 3.074kg

Name: Shermaine Tan

Thank you in advance.

Mamaying- how much milk is ur boy taking? Mines taking 20ml-25ml every 3-4 hours, very little isn't it?

Choc - pls help me to update, my gal is 2.675kg out on 26th Jan. Thanks!

mamaying...u got supplement with FM or u got expressed out to see how much is he drinking bo?

for myself this period i am expressing out as he was just discharged sat morning due to jaundice...

so i dun latch unless the EBM takes too long to warm up and my boy too impatient...

wannabel...mine taking 70ml EBM per feed...every 2-3hourly...hmmm..u got latch before feeding him the bottle one? maybe that explain why he drink 20-25ml? or he fell aslp?

i had a long day man... Delivered baby trishelle on 28jan... Fine n cute little tigress... :)

Birth story-28Jan:

4am- contractions started, was sleeping so didn't reali paid attention.

6am- contractions intensified, woke up, still doubtful if it's contraction... Monitored.. Called gynae.. Bathe, had bkfast 8am- admitted TMC wif hubby...

9am- contractios getting abit too painful, called for epi...

10.30am- my god! Epi doc still not arrive for jab! Contractions pain till I cry F cry M...bit was reali painful... Nurse checked, only 1cm dilated..

11am- Had epi... Still pains felt...

12noon- water bag burst... Checked, still 1cm dilated..

1pm- gynae came, checked, 1cm dilated... wait again... Pains again....

4pm- gynae checked, only 4cm dilated! Omg! Dilation was too slow! Put on syntho...increased epi due to extreme contraction pains...

6pm- woke up from deep sleep, lower numb by epi... Checked... 5cm dilated...

9.30pm- nurse checked, 7cm dilated..

10.30pm- final straw for trying natural... Gynae checked, still 7cm dilation... Pelvic bone still narrow... Had to c-sect!!!

11.45- wheeled in for op... Gal gal delivered just before midnite!

Painful n long long 1st birth!!!!!

Super loved her n heartache when hubby n me heard her first cries....

That's was a painful exp for me, mummies...

Wish all of u have a better n smoother one than mine.. :)

I am so vexed, I can't sleep.. Yesterday my BIL and SILs came to my house to visit my FIL and I told them my case, turn up all of them asked me to opt for c-sect straight.. Even my hubby is not supportive of me trying for induce as they're afraid if I can't make it, I'll need to go thru both pains, and end up paying double price too..

Then just nice my mum's friend called her yesterday to inform her about her DIL's failed natural delivery due to pelvic bone never open up, and also to check if I have deliver or not. After hearing this, the more they asked me not to try for natural.. Haiz..

Today I managed to get my gynae and he advised me to go down on Monday morning to talk about this issue but my hubby can't make it on Monday. So we might be going down on tuesday instead. He then told me that I have 2 choices, 1 is to induce ASAP, the other choice is to c-sect. But he also told me the 2 difficulties which I need to face after induce. 1 is that my cervic is still close and not very sure if it'll open up or not. The other problem is don't know if my pelvic bone will open big enough to let my bb come out or not. But he told me if I experience signs of labour these 2 days, then just try for natural. I'm in a dilemma now.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@Esther: Congratulations!! As long as both mother and bb are healthy, it's all worth it.

@Marie: Congratulations too!! You are a noble mummy to have went thru 2 types of pain. May I know how heavy was your girl when born?

@Val: I really hope so too.. But it seems hard for me now unless I wait for spontaneous labour then opt for c-sect.. Or that I opt for c-sect after day 4 of CNY but bb listens to me and wanna come out on 1st or 2nd day of CNY. If not my gynae is gonna charge me extra for CNY day 1-4 if I choose to induce or c-sect during these 4 days..

@Princess31: You mentioned that you're gonna induce on 5th Feb'11. But is your gynae going to charge you extra for induction on that day?

@Rachel: May I know are you staying in woodlands, or doing your confinement in woodlands? Because yesterday I saw a couple carrying a bb in the lift and they look like they're just discharge from hospital. So I wonder if it's you.

@zanta,

my gal ends up 3.63kg when my last check up jus 2days back was estimated at 3.3kg only...

Zanta I totally understand how u feel.. Same for myself.. Wanted so much to do it natural.. Dats y I endured.. But after d initial pains n still no progress, u'll reali regret being stubborn... Dat process was hell cos we try n we pray but if no dilation or pelvic dun open, means it's stubborn too.. End up go thru all d pain which cud b like mine for 15-17hrs, eventually c-sect which only took 15mins...

Reali, after wat u went thru which is going to b much similar to ur condition now, I reali will advise u to go direct c-sect...

Just dun opt for GA, n u'll still b awake to witness ur delivery.. Lessen those hours of pain for nothing.. N after dat take those strength to recover..

Trust me, it's reali easier said than done to try natural given our similar condition...

@zanta,

1more concern... Baby will b stress if our pelvic dun open n he/she is eager n tries hard to exit n not enuf room for dem to pass thru our pelvic... My gal was trying hard, kept pushing her way thru but can't pass d pelvic..

Eventually, we just want our babies to b delivered relaxed, happy n healthy right... U tink carefully ba...

@ zanta,

Yes I am staying in woodlands. But I was discharged frm hospital on the 28/1/2011.

I was indeed out with bb, hubby, my girl and confinement lady for bb checkup yesterday morning.

Which part of woodlands did u see me? Maybe tts me?

Hi Marie, you tried to deliver natural but ended up you went for c sect. Will your gynae charge you both? I am wondering when our water bag is burst and dry up, how long or how safe can a bab stay inside ?

@princess31 - is tat so...guess there is difference b/w TMC & SGH. My gynae room has machines but dun think that can detect waterbag level as i need to book appt for the scan whereby the sonographer will do the scan for me. I dunmind wait till 40wks too but just hope bb will come out no later than 40 weeks coz of aging placenta. Hope to hear good news from u soon!

@zanta - understand ur concern...if i were u i think i will insist to go for natural provided gynae has 70% confident on it. If not, really dilemma. So by induction, our cervix may not open too??? Oh than i may face same problem as u coz scare if induced, my cervix not open or pelvic bone narrow...really vexed man! Well, I told my sis that i may have to induce if waterbag level is low and she straight away told me go for csec! Hubby also commented this which really sian as i wanted so much for natural birth. How to tell if pelvic bone is narrow...only gynae will know right?

@marie - congrats and xin gu ni le to go thru both delivery. For narrow pelvic bone, we can only find out on actual delivery? Can gynae tell when performing VE?

Choc- my milk just came in then when pump went into tubing zzz later when tubing clean n dry then pump again. I am on full latch on only once given ebm (colostrum).

Didn't give formula except few times at hosp to supple$ent. Last night he feeds abt 2 hrly, think milk coming in, he's more full. Night before every hour! I am still ok not very tired[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I endured no shower since tues 11pm! Very 'chao serng' liao! But will shower today, cos tml bring baby for check up. Not sure his jaudice level rising and so sian rainy, no sun, night light therapy for him...

Zantarina: I think best person to advise u is dr. Let him know u wish to try natural, if he thinks it will not go well then follow his advice if he says c sect. Most impt is not how baby is delivered, is how healthy and safe baby is during delivery [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] jia you don't worry so much. Have a good happy and relaxed mood, less worries I think labour will be easier regardless c sec or natural

Morning Mummies,

A little update of my check up yesterday

Baby is weighed 7 pounds plus and head not engaged yet. Gynae said her head position is not good (OP, i also don't know the term), hence, chance of getting her to get engage is very low. My hubby and i decided to go for C-sec and fixed the date yesterday. It will be on 05 Feb 2011 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

In fact, my gynae said i still can try for natural (induce by this week, since bb is matured and big enough) but the chance of difficult labour is quite high (due to the head position). I am also useless lah, scared of pain. So we decided to go for C-sec. I even asked my gynae if i should opt for GA or Epi. He laughed at us and said Epi is better and more comfortable and i sure want to witness the arrival of my little princess [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Zanta,

Agree with Mamaying that the best person to advise you is your gynae. He knows your condition best. In fact, yesterday when i decided the date for C-sec, i kinda regret for some moments. I kept pondering on why i can't give birth naturally, what if something happen during the operation, etc. But hubby said we're lucky that here is Singapore. Most gynaes are pro-natural. They will encourage mummies to go for natural birth and will only opt for c-sec unless mum's and/or bb's life or health is at risk if via natural. Hence, just head dr advice.

I found it quite true. Heard from my collegue who based in Shanghai that 9 out of 10 pregnant women there give birth via c-sec. Reason being is not that they are unable to give birth naturally but the doctors want to make money and the process is faster. Hence, i am glad here is Singapore, gynae is good and handling our case professionally. So don't worry too much, ok?

Put your and bb's health and safety on top is the most important [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Esther, Marie - Congrats!

Zanta - I think best is to remain open to both options and see how it turns out when the time comes and hear your gynae's advice. At this point, we really can't for see what is going to happen so try not to get too worried over it.

Mamaying - it's pretty cold today so make sure u don't get the chill when u shower. Can u tell from the skin tone if the jaundice is rising? Hopefully will go away!

@sovrana,

within next 24hrs if I'm not wrong, baby must b out after water bag burst.. U can search tis info online cos I saw tis smwhere when I yahoo search for it...

Will b charged c-sect + another 2k+ for hospital facilities while trying natural birth..

@mrs ong,

Doubt can detect during ve cos during dilation, our pelvic can open up as well with the cervix.. So 1st birth always got to try den will know... But if ur gynae can detect narrow pelvic and advise c-sect den I tink u better listen.. Cos very difficult for pelvic to open alot.. End up, baby will stress...

Hi moomoo, think I will just wipe with warm water, weather too cold today but hair really stinky liao must bathe by tml morning! Herbs ba.

Sovrana I know for raffles hosp or my gybae, I go for natural but if end up c sect then will add another 1000. And room I think bit more. Forget le.

Anyway wat is pelvic bone high or narrow? It's only whther I have started dilating right and to check dilation have to go deep in cos cervix is high up inside our bodies.

Hi mummies & MTBs,

Anyone interested in getting a neck float for your baby?

Comes in 3 designs:

Winnie the Pooh

Disney Princess

Thomas and Friends

Will order only if MOQ is met.

Each at $16, kindly PM me or email me at [email protected].

Thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5072430.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5072431.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5072432.jpg]

@Rachel: I saw that couple on 28th at around 1pm at Blk 683 and I was standing at the lift lobby there. Was that you?

@Visha: Nice to see you just now. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@pyng: I asked my gynae yesterday if he can check if my pelvic bone is high up or big enough or not and he told me only by trying natural birth then will know if the pelvic bone will open or not. So there's no way to check..

@Wenzi: Erm.. Is it possible for you to pm me a copy of your receipt for reference since we're with the same gynae? And how is your stitching so far? Does it still hurt or itch? How long after your op were you able to get outta bed to walk?

@Jolin: Does your gynae charge you extra charges for the opt on 5th Feb? I also asked myself why I can't try for natural since my bb have been good and had turn head down since weeks ago. I was so confident I can go for natural but now the problem lies in her weight..

@Marie: Wow.. You have got a big bb too.. And the weight differs so much in your case. Actually, I'm afraid that my stubborness will cause me extra pain and extra charges too. But I'm also afraid that if bb is born less than 3.5kg, I'll knock my head for not trying natural..

@MamaYing: Hope your bb's jaundice is better today.

To all mummies, thanks so much for sharing your valuable experiences and comments. I'm still trying to convince myself to go for c-sect if my gynae tells me to do so on my next checkup as all along he's been telling me my bb's position is good for natural birth. Really abit hard for me to accept.

Ping ping: currently I inserted with a catheter (urine bag) for me to pass urine.

Princess31: I think I'm one of the unlucky one amount thousands of mummy who can't urine after so many days till now. The max is one week after delivery with epidural. Tomorrow going to Kkh to seek for 2nd opinion from the urologyaen of the current situation I facing now.

@littledevil82: Sad to hear about your case. Did you go thru natural birth or epi c-sect? Is it over dosage of epi which caused this problem?

@pootz: Long time no see. How are you doing?

Congrates mummies who had popped.

Confinement

I didnt do a good confinement too. Taking care of bb by myself. Needs to sterlise bottles, warm own food and wash bb clothes once. Went clinic for jaundice check up twice. Was very upset coz my first bb and didnt do a good confinement. Damn depressed that i cried for so many times, was thinking i might gone into depression. Now feeling better after friends and sibling consoling. God created us to be a mother, so they will take good care of us. We are in safe hand. Don worry.

Zantarina: I went thur natural birth with epi. One of my friend who is a vet say the chances of causing by the epidural is low most Likely is during the pushing process. Got to wait for specialist comment.....

SLim - i also have an appt with Dr Ang today at 4pm! my EDD is 1 day before you.. same as your case.. i am 1-2cm dilated..

Hi everyone.

It's been a crazy weekend for me. At home with 2 kids all by myself..

I hate the weather.. it's been raining non-stop in Yishun for 2-3 days already.

Sent my son to CC this morning and the teachers were all telling me that I'll get pain here and there next time when I am old.

then my mother also called me and told me not to get into the rain or else I'll get confinment wind which will cause death..

all these well meaning words are really making me wonder if I'll really get poor health in the future..

sigh..

now trying to 'bu' back by drinking my red date tea. hot drinks whenever possible.

joy07: I also went thru the same thing like u for my first confinement..

DOnt worry.. the ill feelings will pass as it is our hormone causing us to be depressed,

but very impt to voice out here or to anyone so as to release the 'stress' ok..

it is good to cry also cos i feel better after crying too.

stay strong.

mummies who have popped.. do u still feel tender at the uterus?

my son always sleep on top of me and I will feel that my uterus is tender.. a bit pain when he lie on top of me..

i still feel pressure at my V area.. wonder if it is normal?

Havent gone back to see Dr Ang for post natal, mainly cos raining the whole day and nobody help me take care of my gal gal..

@Ah Ching: Wear more when you go out & don't get caught in the rain. I scared you'll get rheumatism next time. Wear a jacket and carry an umbrella.

Hmm, can ask your son don't sleep on top of you? Will be bad for your uterus. And again, please rest more. Can your mum help you a bit?

Today is my last day of work and I can't wait for the day to end~~~ And my hubby last night asked me to buy a maxi dress for CNY. Maybe I'll be going town tomorrow. And I still have to queue up to change currency. =( I hope the queue won't be too long! My baby keep doing stretching inside me and is making me so painful..

Hi mommies, just back from my 36th week check with Dr Adrian WW. My baby's head still not down yet. doc said most likely I need to go for c-sect. Due to baby size (2.9kg); chances for her to go down should be quite low.

Another issue I am facing now is I have booked Mt A for the delivery, however since I want to doc to perform Sterilization for me (I am 40 this year)after baby is out but doc said such surgery is not allowed in MT A. So bo pian, I have to choose TMC now....so sian...anyone can share the medical bill from TMC (C-sect with epi)? Is it more ex than Mt A? How's the nurse and conf food at TMC?

By the way, what are the factors you will consider if come to choose date for c-sect?

I also think it hard to detect whether our pelvic bone is high or narrow...dino that wanted natural delivery yet so many hidden & considering factors. My hubby just told me that his fren's wife ended up emergency csec due to narrow pelvic bone...sort of hinting to me that i may as well go for csec [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@zanta - hmm guess u hv to listen to ur gynae's advise now.

@loinky - so u going to admit today?

@loinky, i am wearing green top and black bottom today. dun think i will b early there today. as my hubby said he will only come back to fetch me at 3:45pm. how u feel now? i dun dare to walk too much now. as we hoping a rabbit bb. hehe....

Mrs Ong- not admitting today.. doing CTG..

SLim - Oh.. i will be leaving office at 3pm.. if u happen to see me.. i am wearing yellow (circle prints) with black pants =) i also hope bb will be born on the 9th, dan i can celebrate both kids b'day together =)

pinkyval: thanks.. so good u can celebrate CNY.

My mum has forbidden me to go home as she says I am still in confinement..

but my frens are coming to visit me on Chu San.

I can also wear back my pre-pregnancy clothes liao..

but too late to buy new clothes.

my son only 19 mths old.. still very baby..

now he sleeps on the bed with me and baby.. and he is afraid I will disappear at night so he sleeps on top of me..

sigh.. he wakes up whenever I wake up..

so he is not getting enuf rest also.

Hi sovana.. I was there abt 10.45am too this morning.. Wow ur BB is 2.9kg already .. Mine same Edd as urs But my BB only 2.5kg..dr say not good must eat more other wise got to deliver early.. I ask abt mt A hospital also but he suggested tMC services will be better.. Cos mt A got a lot of "Lao Qiao" like KK.. Very fierce Missy.. Ha ha.. I think I saw ur name on tha appt book.. Vivian Ng.. Appt on Monday morning also.. I be there too.. Another day off.. Looking forward to ML..