(2011/02) Feb 2011

@preciousbabi - the measurement from head by ultrascound scan right?

@MiMi - Is it complusory for all and so far i still have not done the test? Is to be done on how many wks?

Other than the issues of feeding bf/ FM, will come other issues such as , do we pick baby up once baby cries? Do we pat/rock baby to sleep ? Do we wake Baby up( those on schedule will understand this) when baby is sleeping in afternoon?

Older generation and other moms who have had at least one kid will pass on their comments. We may have our own way. They have theirs. Sometimes, managing these conflicts is best by acknowledging Yes, good idea. Will try. BUT u do ur own way. If they ask later, just say it didnt work leh... Mayne their baby is different, all babies are different etc ( although i learn from Gina Ford that all babies are the same!! Habitual creatures so dont introduce something u dont want to permanently follow through!!) e.g. Giving pacifiers for example. Babies can do without it but once u introduce it, they learn to depend on it, then u think the baby needs it.

Whoever it is will not be caring for ur baby all the time anyway so how will they know?? LOL! Of coz those of u staying with in laws will find it hard as the in laws are there all the time. My advice for your case will be take it easy, all roads lead to Rome.. U don't see a 12 year old waking up at night for formula or crawling on the floor like a baby right? Yes, other moms who are raising the baby their way/proven modern methods may get a sleep thru baby at 6-8weeks, urs may take 6 months but hey.... Relationships with in laws are fragile. Ur baby will eventually get there so just allow the in laws to have it their way especially if they are the ones who take care of baby for you...

These are from my personal experience. Sometimes i forget and try to argue with in law. Then I ask myself, why I did it. It's pointless and actually once I reach home, I can do whatever I fancy with my baby.should have just played good daughter and agreed with her etc...

Mrs Ong, i think its not compulsory. But im amongst the high risk grp, tts y i hv to do the test. I think you r fine if your gynae din ask u to go for the test.

You all preparing hospital bag liaoz?? I havent even wash my babies clothes nor prepare anything lei... Havent even clean the toys etc too..

Tot can wait till Jan than do all this ma..

Mrs Ong, u do need some support from people around u if u intend to schedule baby. Hubby especially coz need his help at night for first few weeks. If it's a one woman battle, it will be uphill in Asian society like ours. Esp in laws etc will come running once baby cry n insist baby is hungry. Whereas in Ang Mo countries, such methods are pretty common.

Baby cry does nit necessarily mean hungry. Can be so many other reasons. Once u know he is not hungry, u can rule this out and expel the other reasons such as poo, pee, rash itch, attention, etc.

Scheduling also helps u when u go gai gai with baby. U know exactly when he needs his milk n next time, meals. U wouldn't be guessing and u can safely pack only what u need. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] most of my frens have to bring an army bag of formula feeds, cereals, etc ect in case baby wants it. No predictable timing. For me, I even know that my son will not need to do big business if we go out 2-5pm. He always does it between 8-9am daily. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] unless diahorrea lah.. Then that one cannot control liao.

WOw most of them have prepare the hospital bag. I still have prepare yet. Haha i still haven buy all those diaper cream, soap, shampoo, wet tissue and other bb stuff. Haha still thought of buy all the stuff on Jan. The hospital bag i also don know what should i bring too.

Maybe i know whether hospital did they provide formula milk for baby?

@WishChild: Some mummies shared on what to pack for the hospital bag this morning.. Can copy them as reference..

According to the experience mummies, hospital does provide formula milk for baby.. I think in disposable bottles somemore.. But dunno if they charge?

Precious Babi: I sorting out the cupboards now.. Cos now packed with dd's stuff.. Cleared 2 drawers liaoz.. Still sorting.. Bought boxes to organise them..

Hmm.. guess i gona start washing in early Jan ba.. first baby more kan cheong.. 2nd baby.. kind of like take a back seat liaoz.. hahaa..

Wish child: no need to bring anything for babies.. Everything for baby is provided for.. You can bring a new set of clothes if you like. But the last time I didnt pack anything for baby at all except the beansprout pillow.

But was told by the nurse not to put it on baby.. cos might be too heavy for them. So i lay it beside the baby for pictures..

I will bring the receiving blanket too.. Just to spice up the picture.

The rest of the stuff is to bring for yourself.. e.g clothes, jacket for hubby and stuff to entertain yourself.. oh.. i think shower gel etc too if you dont mind bathing..

Milk samples are free. Can ask for extra before leaving hospital.

Yah I think I wash bb clothing in early Jan. I agree first baby more kan cheong... Hee...second one I more relax. Hospital bag I will pack the night before my c sec. Just make a list first .

Thank u evaingal n preciousbabi. Hmm i still worry need to bring a lot of stuff go hospital or not. Haha. Hmm thinking of getting free formula milk sample online. But cannot find. Think need to give them a call. =)

since this preg my in laws have actually pretty much taken things into their own hands. bought stuff for baby, decor the room, and prepared stuff without consulting me and hb. i cant say its not getting on my nerves but i am learning to deal with it since they insist i move in with them for a couple of months. sigh actually a lot of things lah but trying to close one eye. maybe cos me and hb very young bah(22 and 26 yo) but i do read and research a lot. i forsee life to be a bit tense once baby is out. like i mentioned, i am very very lucky to have a supportive hb. he is someone who will stand by logic and not blindly follow all those old wives tales..

@Evian & MamiB: True hor.. 2nd bb not so kan cheong liao.. Haha.. Coz I thought by Jan maybe too tired to do anything le.. Just want to rest and relax.. So might as well prepare first and I dunno when bb will pop, so standby lah..

Now packing up to go home.. Chat tomorrow!

@PreciousBabi: I hope the hospital don't charge us when they feed bb with FM.. Oh ya, I heard that hospital only have got certain brand of FM so if you already got preference, bring your own FM just in case..

Aiyo.. So many mummies already started to pack the hospital bag. I think I lagi worst coz I don't even have a proper bag to be a hospital bag!! Omg!! Wanted to go buy a hand carry lugguage whereby next time can use when going for short trips too but have yet to go buy.

@Mimi: How to know if we're in the high risk group??

Wah joodz

U really youthful. I m a good 10 years older than u! Faint!!

In ur case, in lawprobably think u need a lot of guidance n help. That's why they are so hands on! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] In a way u are lucky also lah. Although I know as a modern well informed mum, u rather be able to make ur own choices.

I wish I met my hubby when I was younger.. Pregnancy for older women is tougher 101%... Plus next time, u got more energy to chase after the children. Like my gf, same age as me. Her boys are 11 years old. Mine is 3?!? I still long way to go..... Pant! Pant!

@Joodz: Huh.. I thought you already pack them in a bag you're going to bring to the hospital.. Hehe..

Mummies, I just went to weigh my weight and guess what??!! I gained another 2kg just within a week..!! OMG!! All thanks to my constant cravings for Mcdonald and late night supper I guess.. Gotta control already. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Zanta-> dont worry can use normal bag to be hospital bag. I plan to use a big bag which i used for school days. If not enough will used my hubby out field bag they name as AliBaba bag. That super bag can put a lot of stuff inside the bag. Haha.

Jooz-> As this sentence said The king is not kancheong but eunuch will be kancheong. Haha is good that ur mother in law n father in law are prepare for ur girl arrival n also very excited as is their 1st grandchild. Elderly dont listen to us.

My dad is a very good example. No matter what i said he dont believe and dont agree with me. Haiz He only will accept what people said n worse is the person said the same thing as what i said too. Yet believe others then me. lol so i just take it easy n ignore it.

Mami B, Treat as a exercise to chase after ur boy. But chase after kids really very tiring.

But older mom have good point too. Older mom at least u know what is best for ur child, also prepare for child n finance stable for child too.

Zanta, My weight also shoot up too. Haha my gyna said wow i gaining 5kg in 1mths for past 2mths le. Haha so total is 10kg n im now overweight. Haha.. I also super love to eat mac. Hmm nowadays i force myself to go strolling and walk a lot. As stay at home too much nothing to do just sit down that why i getting more n more fat. Haha. But i stil cant stop eat double cheese burgar n french fries. =( Hmm also cant stop eat beef.

@wish_child: Me too!! Can't stop eating beef too!! Anyway beef contains iron so is good for the bb la coz my gynae nv give me iron tablets so I get my iron from the foods I eat lor.

Btw, I only got like 4 bags and all are too small to put all my stuffs in. And I threw my drum bag away after moving house thinking I will not be using it anymore. Haha..

I also searching for FM samples from online but I think stage 1 FM v lil samples coz they encourage BF. I only managed to get some diaper samples.

On breastfeeding, don't overdo it yah? If by 4th or 5th day still not much milk coming out, eg when u pump u can tell, and baby keeps crying even after you latch for like 1 hr each time, and diapers show v little urine or v yellow urine,I would say go ahead and supplement with formula. Cos bb might be dehydrated. And prolonged dehydration is definitely dangerous for bb.

I supplemented with fm for 2.5 months and bb had no nipple confusion. Managed to total breast feed from 2.5 months to 20 months. So Jia you! It's still possible.

The saddest thing I've heard is some babies starved to death cos mum refused to give any fm even though wasn't producing enough breast milk. Best thing to do is consult lactation consultant whenever in doubt. Don't believe if others say you have no milk. But if a qualified lactation consultant says that,(and I know a few mummies who had to accept that) pls don't be a hero and let yr baby suffer.

Zanta I looking for FM sample too. Hmm I called my Sis friend to get for me newborn FM as she work at friso company. If there have I try get 1 more for u? Other FM brand online don't have free sample as they encourage breastfeed. So must give the company a call. =)

Trinket, thank for the information really very helpful for me as I'm 1st time mommy. I also very scared don't have breastmilk n know nuts about breastfeed. Hehe also must thank to Geri n mommies here gave me a lot of information about breastfeed. (^_^)

mummies dun need to bring too many things to hospital. You would have a hard time to bring all the stuff and baby when going back.

Those delivering in TMC, just pack your own open front PJs, grooming items, jacket, camera, disposable undies, sanitary pads, that will do. Baby items they will dress the bb and give you a bb bag of items when discharge. The most bring along a receiving blanket & pair of mittens. =)

i was very bo liao n went to check my bb hospital bill..

but must bear with my posts cost the i cant type the 4th letter in the alphabet as something wrong with my comp's key.

hospital x charge for FM. They just charge a baby package . Total bill $756.86. but pay $158.86 after minus Meisave.

@wish_child: That would be great!! Thanks in advance.. Did you ask if the sample comes in packet form or a small tin? I wonder how many types of brand of FM should we standby in case baby is picky.

@Trinket: On baby starved to death is v sad le. Carrying a baby in us for about nine months is not easy and imagine the baby is starved to death afew days after he/she is born. Will take note of this. Thanks for the reminder.

@Rachel: TMC don't provide receiving blanket? Is receiving blanket the blanket with a hood use to wrap bb?

@Ah Ching: That means bb's total hospital bill cash portion will be $100+ for 3 days 2 nights?

Morning mummies.. Have been busy past few days and really need to catch up on the thread. Wow.. so many of you have packed the hospital bag. I havent even completed my shopping list yet.. hehe. Also need to go wash bb's clothes.

Btw, which type of FM will you be using? I am finally going for my babymoon this evening to Koh Samui (it was a postponed trip), really looking forward!

Zanta, i will go find out whether is it come in tin or packet then get back to u. But normally Is come in tin if not wrong. Haha I will just standby 1 bottle FM. As I going to BF my bb. If not enough milk supply then will mix BM with FM. Heard my friend said BM supply will come in after 1 week. =)

Morning! I MIA last few days coz helping hubby out at the office hahaha...

HOSPITAL BAG-

Not packed yet either but having had to pack hubby's luggage bag all this while (which has way more barang) in less than half an hour (speed packing), I should be able to get that ready quite fast lah.

For me, I am going KKH so they will have gown for the mummies with breastfeeding opening. Not gonna bring my PJs as a result hahaha. Just gonna have to pack into my bag my toiletries, my iPod Touch, my phone plus their chargers, my lingerie, the camera (and charger), baby's baju, baby carrier, and MAKE UP. Crap the last time I didn't have any make up with me so looked damn jialak in all my photos hahahaha. This time more hiao. To be fair, I can also photoshop la... hmm. ^.^

Most hospitals will have receiving blankets... MAH gave. Not sure about KKH. Anyone who delivered there before knows what they give FOC? =)

I know they dun give bath tub. MAH did. =)

BABY'S CLOTHES

Only will get to me in January as they are hand me downs from a friend. =)

FORMULA MILK/

BREAST FEEDING

I agree that if ur lactation consultant says you REALLY have no way to breastfeed, u should give FM... But be informed that breastfeeding is a learning process for both you and the baby at the start.

There might be some minor hiccups with establishing breast feeding initialy, so hope you don't think that something is wrong and give up right away. =)

From an article I read that explains breastfeeding in a very clear and easy to understand manner:

The most important thing to remember about getting started breast-feeding is that it takes babies a while to figure out the mechanics of this practice. At first, they have no idea that they are eating until the milk begins to fill their stomach. This means that your baby does not recognize either the breast or the nipple. An infant does not understand that the nipple is the source of the milk. A baby does not even realize that the nipple is in its mouth unless certain parts of the mouth are stimulated. Only then will he or she latch-on and begin to suck. In a few days, the infant begins to make simple connections and learns to breast-feed. Until then, he or she is very easily frustrated and may have some difficulty getting started.

After all, babies only decide that they want to eat when they are very hungry. In just a few moments they become frantic with hunger. Being held next to the breast with the nipple near their mouth does nothing to soothe them. The nipple must be introduced into the mouth and stroked along the palate. Only then will the innate urge to suck be activated. The baby will latch-on to the nipple, the milk will begin to flow, and the baby who was frantic only moments before now relaxes completely, blissfully enjoying the sweet taste of the soothing liquid.

Breast-feeding operates under a feedback mechanism mediated by hormones. When the baby latches-on and begins to suck, the hormone prolactin is released from the pituitary gland. Prolactin stimulates the breasts to produce milk. That's why more breast-feeding produces more milk. Whatever the baby takes during one feeding will be replaced in time for the next feeding. In the beginning, the baby will want to nurse frequently, probably every two hours. The breasts build up the milk supply from zero to 1-2 ounces. After several days, once the milk supply has been established, the baby will receive more milk at each nursing session and be able to last longer between feedings.

The feedback mechanism has important consequences when a bottle of formula is substituted for a nursing session. Your body does not know that the baby received a bottle. It senses that the baby did not need to eat for a longer time than usual, and it cuts back on the milk available for the next nursing session. Your decreased milk supply leaves the baby hungry at the next nursing, prompting you to offer another bottle, thus setting up a vicious cycle. It does not take many days before you are tempted to give up nursing entirely because there was "not enough milk." It is important to remember that there is no such thing as not enough milk. Your milk supply will drop off only if you interfere with milk production by substituting bottles of formula for nursing. Many new mothers inadvertently sabotage their breast-feeding efforts in this way.

In addition, if you abruptly change the nursing schedule, your breasts will become engorged, that is, painfully full of milk. Engorgement is very uncomfortable and can lead to breast infection. If you wish to change the nursing schedule, there are several points to keep in mind. Never skip more than one feeding at a time. Never discontinue nursing abruptly. Always make changes over a period of days, so that your milk supply will decrease gradually. If you need to be away from the baby for a period of time, use a breast pump while you are gone. The milk you pump from your breast can be saved to bottle-feed the baby at another time and you will avoid engorgement.

zanta: yeah, that's what I paid for baby in June 2009. $100+ cash.

For my own bill, 4 bedded at TMC, I paid ard $1k+ Medisave $3k+

That's becos I took epidural.

If without epi I think cash portion less than $200.

Is there anything stuck under the letter "d"?

You might have to get it sent to a shop for repairs, or use a plug-in/ wireless keyboard first for now?

all this talk abt breastfeeding and hospital bag is really informative for a first-time mum like me!

errm.. can i ask two silly qns..

- what's a receiving blanket? or rather what's the difference between that and a normal blanket? i bought this pocket thingy from ntuc last wk, where u can slot ur baby in to the pre-sewn pockets.. (reminds me of taco bell). According to the packaging, that's safer than a blanket cos baby won't suffocate accidentally.. so if i hv this, do i still need the receiving blanket?

- this thing abt nipple confusion.. so baby just drinks breast milk all the time? i tot need to drink plain water and that would hv to be fed thru the bottle.. hmm, i also read somewhere that new mums could get some rest by pumping the milk and letting another caregiver feed baby at night thru the bottle... is that wishful thinking??

OH YA

Remember to pack neccessary documents (I/C, any letters that your gynae might have given you to produce at the hospital)... and if you are collecting your baby's cord blood for private storage, the package for the doctor to use to collect it.

mummies here.. any one care to rent a MPV for weekends or weekdays.. attractive rated for mummies i can trust here... anything pm me ok? haizzz,..

oh ya geri is back!!!

Hmmm just read the forums about some mummies who gave birth to premmies...

They advice that even if you are orig seeing docs etc at private hospitals to switch to KKH in such scenarios.

The price difference is about $30k ++ !!!!

Believing NONE of us will go into pre-term labour. AMEN!

Idaar- HEHEHE! Yea I MIA-ed for about 2 days coz was helping hubby out. Paiseh.

Did up another photo... =) Taking my time to do the DI... a bit everyday coz I dun wan to trigger carpal tunnel problem. I had it when I gave birth to Kae that time due to the Relaxin (chemical ur body produces to relax the muscles).

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4785522.jpg]

Kinder-

That blanket u bought is enough =)

I fed Kae purely on breastmilk. They dun need water. Ur boobs are smart lol... they produce a thin milk at first to quench thirst then the thicker milk with colostrum for baby to drink.

If you want to you can pump and share feed, but for the first 3-4 weeks u should try to feed via breast to estab milk supply better. =)

IMHO I'd rather feed via breast- less colic (less crying!), less trouble (no need to wash bottles hahaha) plus the milk has the thin then thick consistency. U pump out the baby gets only one consistency... =)

Kinder-

Also, as long as baby not crying from hunger... dun have to half BF, half FM.

Some MILs and Mums from the old school FM only club will tell U cannot just BF exclusively, baby will be hungry.

That is NOT TRUE. =)

Feed baby regularly. Initially, they will want to feed every 2-3 hrs and they might doze off whilst drinking, so you must tap tap their cheeks to remind them to continue. As long as they keep suckling when they wake up, means u should continue feeding. It is when they completely refuse to suck that they are full for that moment.

Remember to alternate breasts intially to establish milk suppy. 15-20 min per breast. But later on, u can just feed via one breast throughout for one feeding and next breast for next feeding. =)

Hi Geri, thanks.. will go back and try.

kinder: abt receiving blanket.. I also not sure. I just wrapped baby in those traditional white napkin cos it is cooler in our hot weather.

baby who are totally breastfed do not need to drink plain water as our bm is 70-80% water.

i think it is a personal preference if u want to express the breastmilk and let someone else feed through a bottle.

but several books do not recommend introducing a bottle until latching is established to prevent nipple confusion.

Personally, my boy used a bottle from the day he was born and he managed to latch on somehow later after my numerous attempt at offering him the breast.

For first time mummies, I feel that we shouldnt be stressed abt breastfeeding cos it will make matters worse.

After giving birth, we will feel very emo also..

so really no point getting stressed/ upset over such things.

However, we must perserve in offering baby the breast if we really want to breastfeed.

the main thing is not to give up.

we can always teach baby to latch on when they are older and have better control over their bodies.

Practice makes perfect!

Ah Ching-

Agreed!

Just keep persevering... honestly, although Kae latched on ok in the delivery ward after I birthed him, later on my mum scared me by insisting I wasn't feeding Kae enough (this is the woman who didn't prepare me about placenta coming out, had no clue what stretch marks were and didn't tell me what to expect when delivering baby... I went in mong cha cha except for a few things I read about). I caved in and allowed a FM feed... but later on regretted it. She was very pro FM then and I had to stand up to her a lot. She later became pro BM and started asking her office younger colleagues to seriously BM their kids hahaha.

Once the milk is established, it just keeps flowing! =) Initially, supply won't be gushing one... but it will get better with time.

Kae hated the bottle and refused pacifiers that my mum kept trying to introduce to him- which is good. I did not have to wean him off pacifiers like my mum had to with me haha.

i think receiving blanket is like any blanket that can be used to swaddle baby. they have some zeng ones (with extra features) like a hood (sew one corner with a hood) or velcro (snuggle-wrap) so the baby can't wriggle free too easily. but seriously, any piece of cloth will do lah... sometimes the snuggle wrap is less preferred by the babies cos they want some wriggle room. sometimes snuggle wrap is good cos baby likes feeling more secure.

with babies, i learnt from my first pregnancy that they are really individuals and there is no one size / one product fits all. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

on plain water, most mums today would rather not feed. most old folks swear by feeding plain water, esp if they are on FM, cos FM heaty lah etc etc. then just brace yourself. anyone with a mouth will probably insist that baby is HUNGRY whenever they cry. just tune it out as far as possible, if you have ascertained that hunger is unlikely to be the cause. e.g. after baby has just finished like 90ml of milk.

pumping... well, I would say, if milk supply comes in fast, then direct latching is the best way of feeding baby. no fuss, no pumping, no washing of bottles or pumping equipment, no need to worry if too warm too cold, heated up enough, still fresh or not, nutrients all frozen away or not, etc. but most times, it's hard to successfully latch from the start, so most mums pump so that at least a few feeds a day, baby gets one bottle of ebm (expressed breast milk). you might need a few rounds of pumping to 'make up' one bottle. e.g. i think in the early days, I could only pump out 30ml every three hours. so needed three sessions for one feed. so jialat, haiz.

and direct latching will stimulate more milk production than pumping. so pumping is more a necessary evil than a luxury.

of course, don't be discouraged. some mummies have SO MUCH MILK! i heard some can pump 1 litre a day!!! got so much until can give away for free. baby can't finish enough, freezer got no space, so use to wash face. haha!

ah ching

agree! impt thing is to guard our own sanity. haha... happy mummy = more milk eventually.

yeah old folks always look at the pumped out bm and say, eee so watery, bb sure not full. WAH LAU. if you have enough support from your hubby just tune it out and persevere. medical science is behind you that bm is the best. period.

geri

i love the satin wrap you used as a bustier! great effect on photo...

on ebm, actually towards the end the thicker milk also comes out, and settles at the bottom of the storage bottle / milkbag. so regardless, bb will get both 'types' of foremilk and hindmilk. agree with you it's just leh cheh lah.

first time mummies

one thing impt to remember, don't get sucked into this pumping comparison and envy! very easy to get depressed in the early weeks when other ppl pump a lot and u can only pump a little. i remember getting loads of positive support from my old thread - we try to make each other feel better even though some of us could only pump very little. jia you jia you all the way. and in the end, a lot of us managed to tbf.

Trinket-

Hehehe... The wrap was from my evening gown. The only thing I can still wear from my wedding. ROFL!

I know the EBM has both... but mixed together so it doesnt have the same effect of quenching thirst then filling up baby. It is all mixed up and given one shot. XD

Yea it is true... pumping envy no joke. Some have more, some have less but as long as baby is fed and happy can le.

Have more also damn sian ok. Everytime leak and leak. I must remember to bring SPARE tee out with me- the milk used to leak through and leave a small wet patch. (Also there was a time Kae Lao Sai and my top and pants kenah. Had to buy something to wear and I was at Taka, on the expensive baju floor (coz that was the floor with the breastfeeding station then... this was 8 years ago when breastfeeding was still more taboo). Bought an expensive dress that I only wore ONCE lol.

And if I was out, and it was Kae's BF time & he was not with me, I used to have to run to a toilet to express out my milk (I didn't keep it though) so I wouldn't get engorged or leak. Had to spray the milk into the drainage hole... macam playing super soaker gun. XD

So yea... dun have breast envy... more milk or less milk, got milk can le. ^.^

FOR NEW MUMMIES... you can find more info on breastfeeding here. This includes contact numbers of private lactation consultants if you need any next time:

http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/home/index.php

And yes BF means no hassle. My friends really hated the bottle feeding stage coz a lot of them gave FM- so must wash, sterilise bottle, bring powder, buy powder ($$$$), bring hot water etc etc...

I just take my barang, the diapers/ diaper cream and I am ready to go. Milk supply was all in my bra hahaha.

Even my Mum was sold on BFing - primarily coz we REALLY SAVED A LOT OF MONEY & Kae HARDLY FELL ILL (compared to my friends who gave FM and compared to me- I was FM fed coz my mum gave up almost right away on BFing!)