(2011/02) Feb 2011

Morning Mummies

@Zanta: Ya, I think so too.. I will probably bring my own FM.. Don’t want bb to have different choices on the brand.. Haha..

As promised, here is the coupon I mentioned on the maternity photography package.. You can call to check what are the normal package charges without the coupon..

@WishChild: You mentioned you can’t find the website to get free diapers right? Here are the websites:

diapers.com.sg, mamypokoclub.com, huggies.com.sg, drypers.com.sg

I requested samples from them and so far I think I received only huggies and drypers..

@Trinket: Thanks for the reminder.. Will not bear to let bb starve too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Rachel: Any idea if Mount A gives bb goody bag too?

@MooMoo: I bought a tin of Enfalac A+ to start off with.. Though some friends recommend Similac.. Enjoy your babymoon!!

@Geri & Trinket: Thanks for giving us a free lesson on breastfeeding here.. Especially important for us - first time mummies.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

PreciousBabi-

U're welcome. =)

MAH does give goodie bag. =) I delivered 8 years ago so I dunno what are the stuff they now give but they do give the diaper bag, bath tub, receiving blanket, diapers, pads, disposable undies, toiletries at least =)

@mami – tks for highlighting and if there any which I should take note? Which book should I buy to get a whole picture? I will consult my hubby & MIL for this and since this works for most, they should be able to buy my idea. Btw what is gai gai?

@eviangal – me too haven even start packing and washing! Washing still can wait coz have maid and clothes will not take long to dry…haha And sad to say that there are about 60% of bb items I haven buy! For diaper, FM and wet tissue will buy in Jan coz I want fresher stock lor…haha

Anyone suffer leg calf cramp? It strike me while I asleep and still having mild pain…duno what causes it leh.

re: breast pump during hospital stay

checked with TMC, we need to bring our own breast pump..

aiya but that means we gotta bring steriliser and sterilised storage bottles too! unless u intend to pour away the ebm..

mrs ong -me also hvn't started packing and washing..actually hvn't bought lots of stuff too. we've set end-dec as a deadline to settle everything.. i get leg cramps on the calf occassionally too. can't really pin-pt the cause but somehow it usually happens on the right calf only. try to press your foot back, i.e. get ur toes to face towards knee.. that usually works to relieve the pain for me.

Geri, trinket and ah ching - tks much.. guess i'll stick to the wrap that i bought first then.. hehe, i really like it very much somehow cos can just slot baby in and velcro him up after that..

Especially to those mummies who are working now, i have a question here. May i know how do you define Maternity Leave? Will you still provide support to your work during maternity leave? Will you provide minimum support (like replying emails, etc) or partial support (like doing some office works from home) or fully on leave (not doing any office work)?

Maternity leave is no need to work at all. I won't even log on to my office emails. Just let the mailbox become full. set out of office for 16 weeks

@Ah Ching - tks so much and monitor see if there is improvement.

@kinderbueno - im laughing while typing ur nick...u like this brand chocolate bar izit haha. Me too also set end dec coz jan guess i will be too tired and lazy to shop lol..but thinking back guess i will still go jalang jalang coz if not become mummy liao no time to win-shop or meet frens lor. Thanks for the tips and i hv tried doing that as i practice yoga. Did u drink milk regularly coz i did not maybe u can try Ah Ching's advise?? I heard from other month thread it's due to inactive wor. So really duno wat the cause, will ask my gynae this fri and see what she said and will let u mummies know ya.

Mrs Ong - yes.. kinderbueno was one of my cravings during first trim.. lucky i outgrew that... so fattening! i dun really drink milk but got take calcium pills wor...

RE maternity leave - Ideally, i wld say total switch off throughout.. but in reality, i think if baby is cooperative, i'll prob start logging on to read emails in the last 2 mths.. cannot afford to stay disconnected for too long, else go back will be very lost.. but i think my boss quite reasonable lah.. won't force me to do it.. so i guess still can manage at my own pace *fingers crossed!*

@PreciousBabi: I didn't see any coupons attached le. Can you attach again? Thanks alot.

@wish_child: Thanks alot too.

@pyng: I get leg cramps almost everyday while sleeping or when I wakes up when I try to stretch and I thought it's normal??

@Ah Ching: Thanks for sharing. At least now I know around how much should we prepare since we're seeing the same gynae. Did you manage to get free upgrade from 4 bedded to 2 bedded ward last year?

@Jolin: ML is for mummies to rest and look after bb.. No need to work at all.. Your company should have a replacement for you to handover your work to before you start ML? The replacement should handle all your work during your absence.. I don't intend to check emails at all.. Dun wan to stress myself and the company has no right to expect you to do anything from home..

@WishChild: You're welcome [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Zanta: Blur me.. Just recalled I posted without the coupon.. OMG!! Here you go..

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4786865.jpg]

Thanks a lot for your replies.

Hm, but i think for my case, i need to support my work from home, cos i am the only admin cum hr cum partial finance staff in the company [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Company will hire a temporarily staff to cover me during my leave, but for some confidential works, will still come back to me, i think.

I'd be glad to help if i can, but my biggest worry is being the first time mum, i don't have experience in handling baby at all. Plus don't know if my mum can help (she has not confirmed), hence, it's kind of quite stress for me now. Don't know if i can cope [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

zanta: yes, i got the free upgrade.

in june 2009 was the h1n1 scare, so TMC allowed limited no. of visitors and during limited timings..

hee hee so i didnt experience the overcrowding prob that was mentioned in the thread earlier.

jolin...fully on leave and not doing any office work...will entertain calls only when i am free..this is my definition of Maternity leave

i will be handing over my work to my colleagues so hopefully they dun keep calling me...

but is natural they will call u frequently for first few weeks or so..but i told them the response time will not be immediate and best if they SMS me and i call them at my own convenience..

hehee

geri

yup, I really appreciated being able to breastfeed and meet mummies outside when i was on maternity leave and it was so convenient...

same, my mum also gave up breastfeeding me almost immediately cos she had mastisis, and blamed me for it (!). wah lau, I had mastisis 5 times (worst pain in my life, far worse than delivery) in the first 6 months but persevered through it all by God's grace and hubby's support... anyway, my mum never discouraged me from breastfeeding, though we had (and have) other issues. :p

so I was a formula fed baby, and turned out immunity, brains etc still quite good haha! so for those mums who end up not breastfeeding for one reason or another, don't let those mums who can easily breastfeed make you feel second class, or that you're not giving the best to your baby. so long as you've truly genuinely tried VERY HARD and tried your best, don't need to feel bad. i share this cos i know some friends got really depressed when some breastfeeding nazi mummies guilt-tripped them big time.

maternity leave

unless exceptional circumstances, it's complete switch-off leave! not obliged to check mail at all - think it's in the labour laws. of course if you're bored or want to keep in touch with the industry, or company really needs you and has been nice to you... then different la.

managed to eat a slice of mango after craving for the last 3 days. so shiok!

was shopping at OG just now and saw Medela Dual Electric Plus (with some free gifts) selling at $268+... so tempted to get it!

Mums and Babes having Nov promo for the same set but comes with the city style bag with the cooler bag at $299! also very tempting..

cant decide whether I should get the electric plus or get a freestyle US set?? px ard $200 diff while dual plus is local set..

or I should wait until next year then decide.. cos i still have an avent manual (used only 3 times) at home and 3 medela single electric (but motor suction is very bad cos 4 years old liao).

ah ya..

my boss had a talk with me yesterday and already plan for me to take on projects after my maternity . I better take a good 16 weeks rest.

ah ching

i heard freestyle / PIS works much better than dual electric... i think with pumps really yi fen qian yi fen huo...

why don't u wait and try the avent manual first? since this is not first kid, might be easier to establish flow and supply sooner so manual might suffice?

Isetan Serangoon opening sale tomorrow

- Best buy Philips Avent Steamer Blender with VIA gourmet set & magic cup $160 (usual price $258.50)

(keke, i feel like a salesgirl) =P

trinket, I'll be at home with my elder boy who will be 19mths and my newborn alone..

so I am considering if got dual pump then will have to spend less time on the pump..

cos I afraid my son will fuss when I am expressing.

Moreover, I'm returning to work when my gal is 2 mths old.. so need to express like 2-3 times in the office..

if manual pump, i think very tired and also paiseh to spend long period in the toilet expressing milk lei.

the thing with this pregnancy is that I have limited budget so need to think where I should be allocating the $$.

I will be going on no-pay leave beginning next Jan and return to work in Apr.

so i cant decide to invest in the pump or use the $$ to put my son with the nanny instead of caring for both at the same time.

@Pootz: Where is Isetan Serangoon located at? And the sales will last for how many days?

@Ah Ching: Or you put your son with the nanny, then buy the pump with the ang bao you got from your girl's bb shower? Or buy after you go back to work?

@Zanta - stretch will get cramp meh? i believe u overstretched or stretched wrongly bah...hee Well, my cramp was on my calf and it can get real intense though pain is bearable. Normally the pain will go off rather quick but today it lasted quite hours! Isetan Serangoon near interchange there...

@Ah Ching - why u tahan 3 days then eat ur craving mango?

@kinderbueno - icic haha thn i should nickname as potatoe chip coz its my fav tibits but now old liao so did not eat as much as i used to be when i young unless got cravings.

Breastfeedin.... I agree that try not to give urself pressure on this lar...actually for myself i experience being very firm on not giving my #1 any water or FM during first few days and insist on total breastfeed...

errr..sad to say this had cause my son to be re-admitted to hospital due to jaundice..and he was abit dehydrated too... well..

so now for my #2..i will mixed abit with FM lar... to prevent such separation to happen again..i tink i will cry my eyes out if that happen again due to my stubborness =X

ah ching... MANGO!! yummy!! sometimes i also sneak in a slice of pineapple...heheeee

u so many pumps..then which one will u be using?

if u feel can lessen ur load at home during the leave..i tink worth getting... coz expressing milk can be stressful...

pootz... the Philips avent steamer blender use for those purees later rite? heheee

kinderbueno... hahaa..i put my nick as choc coz i am a choco-holic!! hahahaaa...

wish child : if my gynae let me do c- section on 20 dec. its only 26 more days.im seeing my gynae at 3pm on Sat at AMK KKH clinic.

Parenthood fair

===============

I will be dropping by to parenthood fair on friday after work . need more mittens for my babies .

i just realise the pacificers i bought are for 6mths to 18 mths. are there new born pacificers?

i have alot of cloth diapers. MIL bought 2 dozens and friends gave 2 dozens. i need more rompers and new born pants and tops.

i will have to grab them at the fair. its my last shopping fair coz i am not as active anymore. cant find the energy to do shopping.

Gynae

=====

im still working till sat then head to the clinic. Gynae had better give me HL to rest else i think i would change gynae liao. heard from ADC that i can request for HL to rest from 28 weeks since im high risk w twins and on insulin since GD.

my GD test was a result of 14.9.

Maid

=====

just got a maid confirmed last week and she will be arriving around 6 dec so will need to get her to clean the house and pack some stuff. I will be moving from Sengkang to Yishun straight from the hospital. luckily got some help.

hubby will have to settle the moving while im at the hospital .

hospital stay

============

I will be taking B1 class 4 bedder at KKH. i don't think there are any goodie bag at KKH . only baby diaper and wet wipes available. i will have to bring a lot of stuff. hubby do not have to stay with me at night at the hospital so hopefully he can have a good night sleep at home those few days. hoping the babies will be of good weight at 33 weeks so they can go home with me and not stay so long in nicu. i chose KKH as I'm having twins and most likely they will be premature. I need to take B1 or A class so my gynae the specialist can deliver my babies.

@pootz: Ic.. V sua ku me. Any idea how many days is the opening sales?

@pyng: Why you kept saying yourself old? What's your age if you don't mind to say here?

Ae.. Don't think I over stretched le coz I always did that when I wakes up in the morning.. Maybe I should try Ah Ching's method but I did take calcium tablet in the evening after dinner.

@Cnicole: I didn't know that hospital leave can be requested. But if your gynae really didn't give you any, will it be too late to change gynae now as you intend to have c-sect on 20/12/2010?

On pacifier, yes, there're pacifiers for newborn. I bought 1 from NUK which is meant for 0-6 mths.

@zanta - 33! Maybe can ask gynae advise on the crampy part?? Calcium pill maybe hard to absorb so could be part of the problem i guess...

Hi all! reviving the meet-up thread...

seems like quite a large group... to make it flexible and such that we are more likely to have space, do mummies mind going to Shokudou at B1 City hall? It's near an MRT, and has got lots of space, and lunch sets for $7.90.

1.idaarshad

2. geri

3. choc

4. pootz

5. princess 31

6. Rachel

7. Joodz

8. Wish Child

9. C Nicole

10. trinket

11. Blue Potatochips

12. Unicorn

13. MummyFiz

14. Eviangal (if its in town and not too far from my ofc. shd b ok)

15kinderbueno

16 Baywater

Eh oh!

Agree with Trinket... Dun need to go on guilt trip if u cannot BF. If you can BF, that's well and good. If cannot also well and good lah. =)

Like Trinket, I was FM fed and turned out great in the end. Lol.

AH CHING... see lah. Now I want my Mango Pomelo Desert!!! Must go bug hubby to da bao later. Hehehe.

I am gonna hold a baby shower in Dec hahaha... so I will do up my guest list and HELP ME BUY LEH list of stuff hahaha. My dear dear dear godsis is organising it all... she's Kae's Godma and Noah's Godma too. Lol. She helped me out with my wedding as well and was jokingly telling me (altho I think she is serious also hehe) that she wants to be Kae's wedding planner next time XD

Cnicole- WAH! So fast!! =D I believe altho babies are premmies, they will grow well and healthy. =) GAMBATTE/ HWAITIN/ JIA YOU!

can request for HL from gynae, just say you cant walk already .

some gynae request u to stay 1 day at hospital.which is medisave claimable.

since I stay at hospital twice during this pregnancy . ADC said I can request for HL to rest from 28 weeks.

im 30 weeks coming monday .

and my gynae said i may deliver 30-32 weeks. if still no delivery its c section on 33 weeks on 20 dec.

geri... u making me gan cheong now leh..i yet to pack my bag...yet to wash the old clothings...yet to do alot of things... hahaa

trinket...i am ok with cityhall.. =)

cnicole...wah...u deliver anytime from 30-32nd week?! thats pretty soon!!! must post pictures for us when u given birth and free ya.. exciting!!

Choc-

I haven't either so YOU ARE NOT ALONE... just that some mummies voicing that they are packing le so hahaha thought i would just put the link up again.

Hi mums,

My gynae gave me a list of items to pack for the hospital bag ..

I only vaguely remembered the button PJs which I asked where to buy previously ..

Shd be gg to mothercare tonight to check them out ..

Will let you all know the items in the list when I get home tonight ..

Trinket,

I'm fine with city hall too ..

Cnicole:

U are delivering so early !!

Able to celebrate Xmas with your boys ..

Ok I'll try to check whether they are halal, or whether idaar is ok if there's some no pork no lard food?

next week sounds good!

Unicorn-

Where are u delivering? If KKH, they provide breastfeeding- friendly night gowns (2 a day). =)

Check out Muji, their breast feeding gowns are quite lovely but then again, the price tag is as well. Prob comparable to Mothercare though haha.

OFB-

That's horrible! =((

Trinket- Thanks so much!

Sharing an article from my blog on the "Parental Paradox" -

http://bygracealone.tumblr.com/post/1668403229/parental-paradox

Maid throw gal 17 floors down?????? SHIT MAN!!! What a tragedy!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so sad for the family. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Zanta - Yes TMC give receiving blanket and wrap ur bb nicely for discharge.

PreciousBabi - Mount A i not sure if they give the bag of bb stuff..

Geri - I can totally relate to your breastfeeding experience and the shooting gun thingy when out. Haha me too! that's my only woe of breastfeeding. V sianz... go out even couple of hrs only oso must bring pump, find toilet to squeeze out, etc... Last time i still club. So imagine i have to give that up coz i cannot hang out longer than an hr... haha....Now gonna go through this again....ahhhh