(2011/02) Feb 2011

ZANTA

Hey, relax. Wasn't trying to put down your beliefs dear. Sorry k?

Itz just that some people feel very pressured to take birds nest on the various forums (and around me there are a lot of people I know who let the pressure get them to buy things they cannot afford).

Was just listing other ways to get the vitamins we need that is more affordable and just as healthy. There are many ways to get calcium, vitamins, protein out there and they might be more cost effective and just as, or more, beneficial.

Just saying. Not like I earn money from selling vitamins or from putting down Birds Nest leh. =) I apologise k? Peace? =) No hard feelings. Like First Mum said, I dun mean malice lah. I am sorry if I was insensitive ya?

JUDY

Hehe. Baby so cute! I hope mine will be co-operative. Doing my detailed scan on of all days, Children's Day. Haha. I am on flu meds so my baby is prob drowsy too.

CODIPRONT (CODEINE) - a flu medication

Just to share: my Pharamcist friend says to hold off on the medication "codipront" whilst expectant. It is technically safe for pregger mummies, but it causes the baby to be pretty drowsy, so she adviced me to err on the side of caution and not take it for now. (DISCLAIMER: Of coz, this is her professional view and my sharing so please don't get upset if u are taking it right now too. =) I decided to stop taking mine 2 doses earlier and just tahan a bit of my flu for now. The antibiotics are helping and I feel much better already.)

CNICOLE

Congrats on your promotion and string of good news! Woohoo! =D It must surely come in handy esp with baby on the way. =) I really admire mummies who can juggle regular jobs with motherhood and being preggers. =) Gambatte! I hope there will be more blessings coming your way and more good news!

Zanta don't have hard feeling toward Geri. She don't mean it n chill. Zanta I also consume bird nest n I feel eating bird nest help me recover my cough n it works. Normally I brew the bird nest although it troublesome but worth it. Hmm mommies shld try Msia or Indonesia bird nest if u girls don't mind pluck lot of feathers. The msia or Indonesia bird nest is more cheaper.

JUDY

Couldn't PM u =) PM me ur email so I can send u the stuff I was talking about? Will try to do them up over the weekend for ur reading pleasure. (^.-)

If anyone else here is also a Christian and would like to receive the encouraging articles related to pregnancy and childbirth, just PM me yea?

(Not evangelizing... fyi ^.^ So pls dun misustd my intentions.)

Wish Child

Thanks =) Yea not trying to be mean in any way. Sighs. Apologise if I came across as being so to anyone once more.

I am glad birds nest worked for ur cough. =)

Just to share other interesting stuff that I feel helps with cough (in no way putting Birds Nest down)...

1) I like taking wild honey with lemon. =D A doctor friend recommended it last time and it really does help. Can try next time too.

2) Luohan Guo is also very good with coughs. =) U can get the Luohan Guo drink from some TMC shops.

3) And lastly, my Chinese tutor, who is a sinseh (still in touch with her... she now specialises in baby massage), used to make us students this concocton: Nan Bei Xing (its 2 kinds of Chinese almonds) boiled with rock sugar & Pear (or apple or dried orange skin also can) The Nan Bei Xing combi is also a very good remedy for coughs. Boil until the pear/apple goes nice and soft. Very good for the throat as well. =)

Give it a shot next time a cough bothers u. ^.-

I feel like shopping so much today . John little sale @expo is still on . Will probably drop by . Anyone started buying baby stuff yet? Or should I wait for the baby expo on 22 oct ?

Hi Geri thank u for all the information. =) I try drink honey lemon but get worse. Hmm I dont dare to drink Luohan Guo coz it Liang. It ok to drink it during pregnancy?

Hi cnicole I have bought some dress n clothes online for my bb. Hehe but I wan to purchase the breast pump but don't know when shld I purchase it. Shld purchase after bb 1mths or purchase it soon..

Wish child

IMHO I think shd purchase breast pump b4 baby arrives so that you'll b able to start using once baby arrives. At the beginning for most mummies, milk supply will b quite low so a gd way to stimulate the flow would b to pump again after feeding baby.

Most shops would allow you to collect the pump nearer to delivery date or after u hv delivered so that warranty starts when u collect.

hi geri, oh just saw you previous replies in the thread to me.. i am not a christian leh.. in fact my family is buddhist so i doubt i will be going to your church:) but thanks so much for the offer.

Hey mummies... Thanks for the warm welcome n so quickly updating the table... My gynae is paul tseng n m delivering at tmc... The best i feel

Mummies who wanna know how i juggle.. Oh boy.. Its tough... 2 hands on boys wanting to play iphone n jumping all the time n 2 girls going thru childhood into teenage years... Its way vast that i have to be in 2 diff worlds.. My girls help to

Play w my boys when maid is bz.. Got a fabulous maid since last oct.... Demanding potty training 3rd one n still breastfeeding my 4th one.... U sure can wen u are in this position... Mummies cn just do it.. So at times to let my mqid rest n finish her werk.. Wl bring the boys out to jb to fill up

Petrol.. Nite outs to mil place n all n mind u...midnite is still young for my boys.... Hehehe

Geri... Huge age gap n ur son being the only one means he will b protective but mite b a bit jealous coz all attention was on only hm last time.. Talk to him abt it.. Make him get a present for bb n present it wen shes born n include him in ur diaper n milk duties... Love n care will blossom in no time... Pls feel welcome mummies to ask me anything.. If i can help i sure will.... I got lobang for cheap nb diapers the last time wen i gave birth n mummies all ordered... Will try source again this time if any.. Hope to make good friends here.. Guess i m the only malay here?? I m arab by race lah...

Hi cnicole Ya the breast pump very ex but if choose to breastfeed the bb shld buy it that's what i feel =).. cnicole what is ur bb gender?

Hi Su thank u for the info.. I'm afraid after few weeks or mths my milk supply will stop.. Will the milk supply out of sudden stop? Even keep pumping n feed the bb?

Judy,

Was at TMC yesterday too.

Were u wearing a LBD and carrying a black and white striped bag??

My detailed scan went fine. Done in less than 20 mins. Everything is ok. Baby is 15 cm and 330 g at 19 wks 6 days.

Dr Ang also gave me a 3D picture of my little gal.

She was putting her hand on her chin like being deep in thots..

the bad news is I've put on 2.6 kg in the last month so nurse advice me to curb my carbo.

just take veg and drink 1 glass of milk.. hiyahh..

ah ching: yes i was! were u the one staring at me weirdly? haha.. when i exited i saw this woman with her hubby constantly looking and i thought that was a little unsettling. loool..

Ah ching... Heheee me worst I put on ard 3.5kg within 4 weeks =X heheee heng gynae say it's ok as blood pressure and protein level in urine is fine so ask me to eat per normal...

But I will try to cut down thos sinful food which I had been indulging hehee....did a double check I put on total of 18kg for first pregnancy...so I still have some buffer to go!!

Detailed scan... So far so good the gynae scanned n check all major parts like arms, legs, thighs, brain, heart, lung, kidney... Blood flow in baby and stomach all ok....

She commented the baby is a tall baby and weighing 410g as of 20weeks... Must keep a diary liao else I sure forget in a few weeks time [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

zanta... I think that ztp bird nest always got promo leh!! Will mix n match lor see where got better discount at the point I buy then just grab lor.... On nutritional value there always been alot of stands on bird nest but for myself I just drink coz it's yummy and may help in baby complexion...

Pump... Errr shld get it before give birth coz with help of pump can help to stimulate milk flow and increase the milk supply too .... Errr milk supply is base on supply demand method meaning if u got keep latching on and pump out regularly, there will always be milk... Unless irregular pumping then the milk supply will drop....

Is ZTP birdnest good? Are they all the same? I happen to pass by ZTP today and she say i could get 1 liang free if i buy 2 liang. It looks a little cheaper than Yu Ren Sheng even without the offer.

Cnicole-

I might have a spare one. You want? =) A breast pump is very very helpful. I breastfed for 3 years and there are times when I kinda had a lot of milk and nowhere to go (coz Kae was all full and happy). Had to pump to prevent engorgement. =) Let me go check ya? If I have a spare (but it is manual), we can meet and I can pass to you to use first. ^.-

Judy-

OH NO! Lol. I forgot there was one other mummy who asked me to send her bible verses. Faints. Lol. Sotong liao. So sorry ya? =) Totally respect your beliefs.

Choc and Ah Ching-

I cannot wait to go for my detailed scan after hearing everyone talk about their's. 1st oct... come faster leh!

Idaar-

Thanks for sharing with us =) Yea, the good thing is Kae has been pre-empted for YEARS about what to expect, and he has been around my SIL who has 3 girls & observed what it means to share time and attention. I am getting him to participate with the caring for his sibling with simple little responsibilities (reading to baby, etc). He is a very gd natured boy, so I am fairly confident he will take to the role. Have told him that should mummy be too busy for a chat, that we can keep a little book to write letters to each other to. =) He knows that we will never love him any lesser and that baby will need a lot more attention. I think after this one, I might have another baby... then that's it. Hahaha. Need to ensure we have enough time, resources, etc for our offsprings. My hubby tends to work late and travel for work, so I am seeing how we cope with one more little one before we aim for more. Grins.

Wish_child-

Just keep feeding at regular intervals for the first 2 or 3 months. This establishes the milk flow. And initially, when u breastfeed, sometimes takes a while for it to get going. Don't worry and keep persisting. I was told by an expert before that baby can survive for up to a week (unbelievable right) initially even with a little milk. So don't worry. As you feed, the flow becomes more... overflowing, in fact! As Kae did not like to drink from the bottle, only from the breast, I had to milk myself and toss the milk out sometimes =p Get the number for the lactation experts at the hospital you are going so that you can call them should u have queries. The supply stops when u decide to stop. 3 years of feeding later, I decided enough is enough. Lol. So we had Kae cold turkey. It was unbearable for him for the first 2 days. And after those 2 days, my milk supply stopped pretty much there and then. It is a supply-demand thing, as chock pointed out. =) Eating more fish, more broccoli might help as well. And if u have engorgement or sore nipples... use the leaves of a lettuce that has been refrigerated to line ur bra cup. It cools the boobs down. Get a good lanolin cream for your nipples too. I used Pure Lan (we always ROFL at the brand name). =)

Wish_Child

About the LHG- Try asking the sinseh at the TCM Hall if it is ok? But the nan bei xing concoction is I am very sure, safe. =)

As for baby stuff...

I have been given a ton of stuff from maternity wear to bottles to pumps by a friend. My other friend is waiting to hear what gender baby is - if it is a boy, she will pass me stuff... if it is a girl, she says her sister can pass me stuff. =D Happiness!

Ho Geri,

Thank u for the information. Hehe i dont know how to breastfeed and also dont know about breastfeeding. Thank u. The lanolin cream where can i get it? WHat is the cream for? Cool down the breast? Is it safe even put the cream n breastfeed? WOw now then i know milk supply can last until 3yrs.

Wow so good u have a ton of stuff from your frens.. Sad i need to purchase it casue no 1 is giving me any maternity wear.. Haha for the bb stuff my cousin also giving me some girl clothes. But i feel not enough so i bought some clothes for bb.My frens give birth all is bb boy only mine is bb boy. Haha i kaisu mommy n wanna doll up my litle girl. When will u know ur bb gender?

Thanks everyone. Will stay positive n bedrest more. Hope the 7mth detailed scan is good.

May I know how long u guys recover frm flu/sore throat/cough since we can't take the normal medications coz pregnant? This is the 2nd week that I'm having sore throat n still gg v bad. I'm also having flu for past 4days, getting worse too n today I developed a cough. But my GP can't prescibe stronger med coz I'm pregnant. Feeling so terrible n difficult to sleep at nite.

Just sharing that I bought 4 nursing bras frm CK at chinatown. V comfy n cost only $3.90! Can wear them after delivery coz bf. But I think I will need to get new size in 3rd tri coz will outgrown again.

hi judy.. dont think u saw me.. i was sitting under the electronic board alone.. cos hub didnt go with me..

i knew it was u cos the sonographer came out and said Mr William.. and I was thinking what is a guy doing here, going for fetal scan?

then both of u came out together.. ha ha then i thot oh it may be u lor.

Charmaine

I got all the normal flu symptoms ie flu, cough sore throat, twice since the beginning of this pregnancy.

I went to GP and he advised against taking meds cos I was only 12 wks the first time. So I use gurgle with warm salt water every morning and use steam to clear my nose. The second time was last week and my gynae gave me polar amine. I didn't wan a take it but the flu was very bad, so I had 2 doses, after that it cleared. But still having a lot of phglem now. Fighting with our own immunity takes 1-3 weeks, so try to see whether u need medical invasion.

Wish child : my twins are both boys . I'm 20 weeks now going for detail scan on thursday.

Geri: thanks for the offer for the breast pump . My sister in law packed 6 big bags of babies stuff and the cot but I dunno if the pump is in the package . I will check with her again. I have 3 nieces and this is the first time we are having baby boys . Everyone is excited.

My MIL wants us to move back yishun next month for 1-2 years . I'm going to rent out my place in Seng kang . I will have alot of packing to do over the next few weeks . Just thinking about it makes me tired.

@Charmaine: My flu took almost two weeks two clear. The longest bout of flu I've ever had. It cleared a little then came back. Went to my GP but she could only prescribed very light flu medication which didn't really help. After two rounds of medication, I asked my gynae (cos it was check up anyway) and she gave me something to dissolve the phlegm and more MC to rest at home. I think sleeping is the thing that actually helps. Try to sleep more.

I am also hoping if my mom taking care of baby, we will move in with her for 1 - 2 years too, but we can't rent out our place yet because we haven't reached the 5 years occupancy rule with HDB. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

If got the money, go and buy some cordyceps and eat lor.. it builds the immune system of baby and mom [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wish child

Don't worry, breast milk flow depends on supply and demand like other mummies mentioned. Means the more u latch and pump, the more the milk flow will b stimulated. Latching is still the best way to stimulate and empty the breasts but pump is very useful when baby does not empty fully or when baby is not w u!

I managed to feed till my elder boy till ard 10 mths then was advised by gynae to stop bf by the time my current preg reaches 3mths so slowly cut down the no of times i pumped u fed til milk flow 'dried up'! Hee...

OFB:

we haven't reached 5 years Hdb rule as well but can do appeal based on valid reason that we need to move back to parents so that they can help take care of baby. Just need to get gynae to prove pregnancy then pass to property agent to settle the rest.

Hi su thank u for the info. Ok sure I will breastfeed my bb n pump the milk regularly. Hmm but heard lot of ppl say breastfeed will be very painful n nipple will crack buy still need to continue breastfeed the bb. Hehe breastfeed is gd for bb n also save up for milk powder money =). But breastfeed in public will it be wierd?

Which brand of breast pump is good?

cnicole,

everything still new in the house so a bit painful to rent it out... ha ha but appeal with HDB always like very low chance. If otherwise, still can rent out a room, that one no problem.

Ah Ching: oh, then I don't think I saw u. I only remembered seeing those with hubbies.. Lol at the phrase on man going for fetal scan. Haha.

Wish_Child

Dun worry, when the time comes, check the with the lactation experts at your hospital if you need help. =) Don't shy away from asking questions or letting them help u ya?

The lanolin cream helps to heal the cracks in the nipples and ease the soreness. =) It is natural and it is safe for baby whilst you are breastfeeding. You should be able to find various brands of lanolin creams at Mothercare and pharmacies. =) It doesn't have to be the Purelan brand, then there were less varieties available lah. Haha. I have seen other brands about. =)

Let me have a look at what I have? since I am quite big sized, if there are any that I might be a bit too big for (lol) I can pass to u first? =) What's ur size? =) I don't mind sharing.

With clothes, just invest in the basics like PJs and those suits where they cover up the feet. When baby is born, people will give prezzies and might give clothes too!

Honestly, if you don't mind, babies wear boy or girl colours nevermind one hahaha. When Kae was a baby, he wore some pinkish stuff coz my bajus then were prev worn by 1) my cousins (they are in P6 and Sec 1 now lol... my aunt passed their baby clothes to me & they are both girls) 2) ME! (My mum actually kept my clothes and my bibs and my cloth nappies in pretty gd condition! Amazing man!) And it was ok. When he was older, we had more boy boy stuff from ppl then we dressed him in those lah, plus stuff we bought. If you intend to have more kids and are particular about what colour they wear, when you buy the baju for baby now, you can buy more neutral shades like pastel yellow, white... so ur kids' siblings can share share. Hehe.

TIP!!!

For Kae, I just recalled (hahaha it has been 8 years la), you can request that people either give you ANG BAOS or DIAPERS! Lol. I told diff grp of people to buy me diapers in VARIOUS SIZES. And it really helped. We had S,M,L etc sizes in different brands.

When we bought our own, we usually used Drypers. My SILs liked PetPet. =) These days NTUC has their own in-house brand diapers too and there have been some positive reviews. For those who are not as cash strapped, MammyPoko is very popular too. Pampers is good but we felt it was too pricey. We only used Pampers when it was given to us by people as a gift. We felt it was quite thick.

What you can do is write in for samples and try them on your baby. Some kids get rashes when they use certain brands- this varies from child to child.

wish_child (again! Lol... I juz saw ur other msg)

When I breastfed, I faced a few challenges then...

1) Anxious Mummy (and for u girls, coz I didnt have a MIL then, some MILs are also kancheong) who kept asking me to give my kid formula and water. My mum didnt breastfeed me so she had no idea how to go about it & was very very kancheong.

Now she is a breastfeeding advocate hahaha. I persevered and fed exclusively. No water, no formula.

2) Then had less breastfeeding stations... lol. Also people were not so open to feeding and I did not have breastfeeding tops. So, sometimes had to hide in toilet cubicle to feed. Lol.

NOW, there are breastfeeding tops which make breastfeeding easier! when Kae was older (7mths or so), a friend gave me a breastfeeding top. It made breastfeeding so discreet and convenient. I breastfed whenever and wherever, and if I wanted a bit more privacy, I used a shawl to cover the baby or head to the breastfeeding station in the shopping centre. I used to go to the one at Taka when I was with Kaelen because there were hardly any such facilities in town then. Haha.

I fed Kae in the cinema (yea, he went to movies with me and my ex or my friends...) and he slept through many shows. Feed, sleep, feed, sleep. He was so co-operative! Lol.

Breastfeeding has some painful moments but persevere. The initial stages, the nipples might be tender esp if baby doesnt know how to latch on properly yet. But after some time, it gets easier and less painful (at least, for me). Use the lanolin cream... it helps. =)

But I do have to say that when Kae started having teeth... that was when it hurt most coz whenever he fell asleep, his jaw would clench and his teeth would clamp over my nipple. Had to flick flick his cheek with my finger so he would open his mouth and let it go. Hahaha.

Cnicole

Let me know ya? =)

Breastpumps

I used Avent and I loved it. I used the manual one though. My friend also used Avent and gave me her electric Avent pump that apparently learns from your manual pumping your rhythm and pressure, then pumps auto accordingly. =) I heard Medela is good as well. =)

Wish_child

OH YA! Just remembered I had breast shells too. They help with engorgement and also to protect your sore nipples from rubbing against the nursing bra. =) Note- The milk that collects in the breast shield CANNOT be put into the milk bottle to feed baby.

I didn't use breast shields, but some people I know did and they can help also if your nipples are sore and you want to feed baby.

Ask your lactation nurse/expert at the hospital about it k? =)

Wish_Child

My detailed scan is on 1st Oct. =) Not sure whether to bring my #1 to the gynae clinic with me or not as it is a school hol. I feel bad for him becoz the last time he went with us earlier this year, and man was he excited, I had apparently miscarried and the doc had to tell us the bad news with him around. But he was such a sweetheart, he knew mummy was very sad then and stroked my hand and hugged me a lot.

I know this baby is doing well and will be all nice and healthy beyond birth, so I might bring my son with us. We will speak to him and ask him about it.

AND I FINALLY REMEMBER WHO I WAS SUPPOSED TO PASS ENCOURAGEMENT NOTES TOO FROM THE BIBLE! Lol. My sotong brain recalls it is Jolin! Sorry leh. I got mixed up btw the two "J" names.

Jolin

I just went for the prenatal seminar at my church and they gave some excellent stuff with scripture verses. Let me go type them up for u to read, k? =)

The notes also had practical information that I can share with the rest of the mummies.

Enjoyed how the pastor's wife told us about her third child's unexpected home birth!

She had contractions at 3am that escalated very rapidly. She woke her hubby up and told him he had to call an ambulance as she couldn't walk because the baby's head was "there". He couldn't understand and insisted that he could carry her to the car when her contractions paused. When it did pause, she stood up and her water bag burst. She lay down back on her bed, that she had wisely laid water proofing material on just in case much earlier on, and the pastor realised the baby's head was visible just as his wife had said!

He quickly called the ambulance but before it could arrive, she had to deliver! He asked her to not push, but she wasn't pushing at all. Her body was naturally delivering the baby and pushing it out. So they got their helper to get towels etc, and she delivered the baby at home. The paramedics arrived just then to help with the umbilical cord. =) She said God was so considerate because the water bag didn't burst when she was on the bed (that much water sure have to change mattress!) and that at that hour, everyone was asleep so the paramedics could use the lift without any neighbours seeing her in her "state". Lol.

She got to the hospital, was warded one night so they could observe her and the baby, then was discharged the next day. The bill? $300. Lol! It was so low because she didn't deliver in the hospital so no gynae fees, etc etc. And on the kid's birth cert, they have their residential address as the address he was delivered at. Hahaha.

How's that for excitement? Hahaha! She is quite amazing coz with #2, she slept through her contractions (all 3 no epidural) and didn't feel any pain (she had prayed before and during preggers for painless delivery). The nurses had to wake her up because she was fully dilated and ready to deliver! =)

I had a fast birth with Kae and I didn't take epidural too, but I did feel pain (although not for very long coz I was fully dilated in less than an hour and pushed baby out in 15 mins). So I would like to believe for a PAINLESS deliver this time, aside frm a fast, smooth and safe one. =D

i can't sleep.. so come in n read what u all post.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] n got one question.. when i bath i saw my nipples there got dirt inside.. den i clear it away.. den after that it come again.. may i ask how to make the dirt go off? my friend told me is my milk coming in abit already.. so it become the block..

@First Mum, wish_child: Alright, I shall not b angry with what Geri had said anymore.

@wish_child: May I know where did you get your M'sia or Indonesia bird's nest from? And how much does 1 liang usually cost?

@OFB: Regarding the grades, I'm not so sure but I do find ZTP's bird's nest (concentrated type) cheaper as compare to EYS.

@Geri: Honestly, I do find your "I know ppl who consume birds nest but are very type A" offensive. And I'm also not earning anything by sharing what I know. So I just hope you'll respect our decision and maybe can b more tactful on your replies when you don't agree to our beliefs.. Thanks alot.

fiona... i do not know whether u are the fiona that i have seeked for pram, clothes and also the some other baby stuff.... r u staying in woodlands?- if i got the worng person .. i m sorry.. about ur Q on the dirt - i ever encountered that with my 3rd one as i had leaking breasts at my 5th month... it is hard like crust type rite? no chances of getting it away.. only regular clening only and will come back... rememeber dun press ur breasts k.. if not more will come out

geri mummy..

all ur posts very long one.. but nice to read [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Morning mummies~

Hope all of you had a great weekend! =)

4 more days and I'll be going for my detailed scanning. I can't wait to see my baby!! Hope he's all fine and healthy. *nervous* And hope my hubby can go with me. Hmm...

Good morning mummies,

Have not been here for a while, so difficult to catch up with so many posts.

Val - u r going for the detail scan on thur or Fri? i m going next tue morning.... so excited! recently i can feel my BB 'bloop bloop' in my stomach. hahaha, then when my hubby put his hand on my tummy, she stops. so naughty hor, don want to let her daddy feel her :p

@neongoby: I'm going on Friday morning. The wait is so long~ Hahahha! Me too can feel!! It's like eyes twitching kind of feeling but is in the tummy. Then when I told my hubby and he put his palm there baby is so quiet. I told him have to put longer. Then I'll tap my tummy to "wake" my baby up. But last night he finally felt the movement! Though he said a bit. Hehehe.. Then I tell him few more months he'll be able to see baby's feet and palm on my tummy when he kicks liao. Hee hee hee...

The last weekend was not very good for me. Had been on and off feeling sick and caught cold [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Neo, Val,

So happy for you. All the best to your coming detailed scan. I still don't know when mine will be scheduled, but it should be soon after my 20 weeks dating scan this Saturday.

And so envy you all... can start to feel baby moving. I still can't feel anything leh, even my hubby said that our baby daugther is quiet. Ai yo, i hope my baby don't be like me leh, my mum said she only felt my movement when i was in her womb in the last trimester...

I wanna feel my baby soon...

Good morning everyone! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Hope the weekend was fun and exciting for all of u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Just spent the last half hour reading the previous posts and there's just so much info to learn from u mummies. Thks for the sharing regarding gynae packages ... the more I read, the more I feel like I'm lugi-ing!!! How come my gynae hasn't promoted her packages to me yet? And no mention of booking for hospital ward/room etc ... so clueless abt all this. Let me read up (I know I want to deliver at Mt A) and then I can ask the nurse more about it. I definitely have to make the bookings via the gynae's office rather than directly on my own to the hospital, right?

Neongoby & Pinkyval: I'm also feeling bb movement daily now. In the beginning, I wasn't sure it was the right thing as it's such a STRANGE feeling .. kind of like churning motion in the tummy area. Feels like bb is rolling or moving around, rather than kicking/punching. but hard to say lah. I feel it quite a few times a day, and especially so at night when I'm trying to fall asleep.

Like your hubs, mine has also tried to put his hand on my tummy to feel..but I think I have too much tummy fats so he hasn't felt anything yet, plus bb seems to stop moving when hub does that too!! Our bbs are so smart! :p Or is it naughty ...

Other mummies - any interesting bb movement anecdotes to share??

How are your detailed scans going?

Any others discovered low lying placentas at this stage?

Those with Dr Ang .. .do we have to book our maternity package with TMC on our own or Dr Ang will do that for us? I think should be on our own right, cos we will need to pay deposits..

When is the time to book the maternity package?

@Jolin: Don't worry, maybe your gynae will arrange just 1 or 2 days after your visit to your gynae? Baby is very active at night. Maybe at night when you are lying down you concentrate more to feel your baby, see if she's moving a bit. =) Cos mine always move when I'm lying down on bed at night.

@Princess31: Haha! I think your hubby has to put his palm on your tummy for a very long time. Cos I also don't know when is my baby going to move. Sometimes he move a few times, but when I put my palm on my tummy he stop moving liao. Trying to be cheeky. Hehehe...

princess

it's very common for the placenta to be low lying at this stage. Most of them will move up in the 8th month.

geri

thanks for sharing abt the schools. tried to PM you but you don't accept Pm...

i was also in the UK for 3 yrs. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] haha, maybe we were there the same time.

yeah, I always thought st james was good cos it's relatively cheap, and has good and curriculum. but yup, definitely the peers might be of the atas crowd.

i think yr boy's school is not the typical neighbourhood kind... with HCL, PV and balloting! haha.

roysth is crazy la... i heard that there are only like 20 PV places, and 140 applicants! definitely not opting for those top 10 schools. i think the pressure will kill me if not my kid.

can send me the stuff you're sending jolin. am christian too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

cnicole

glad your twins are doing so well! and also the promotion wow! congrats. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

princess31: same! my movements started at week 16 actually, though they say chubby woman wont feel so fast.. maybe i am considered lucky bcos i am very aware of my body and its every feeling, so i was particular sensitive to his 'new feeling'.. then suddenly week 50 onwards they proceeded to become kicks. and each day i am feeling it more and more. today i was woken up by repeated kicks to somewhere in the middle of my body which made me want to pee. after stop i dont feel like peeing le. i dont knw if its my bladder cos i dont knw the position of my bladder. but its quite cute. the difference between my week 16 and week 20 movements are that the earlier ones felt more like fluttering and churning while the more recent ones felt like 'pushes'.

got a pleasant shock this morning. i dont knw if its due to my clothes or what, but today when i was looking at the full length mirror i realised my tummy seems to have inflated overnight. i havent been properly looking at my tummy since last friday so i got quite surprised at the developments..

my hubby is still only hearing gurgling/pop pop sounds though..