(2011/02) Feb 2011

Good afternoon everyone!! Loong weekend coming up!! WOO!!! have been a long time since i last logged in here. Kinda addicted to some online game...heee....

Browsed thru n saw some mummies already went to the Taka baby fair. Any good buys?

Valerie, if u r planning to continue expressing when back to work, then would strongly recommend a double electric pump. I hv a Medela Freestyle and i would strongly recommend tt!! Small n quiet too!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@melody: Your Avent sterilizer is only that kit? Or it comes with bottles, brush, food warmer in a set?

@judy: Not yet leh. My gynae said still too early to tell. Think only by 16 weeks then only can tell.

@su: Medela quite ex right? How much did you pay for yours? It runs on battery? Or have to plug in?

preciousbabi,

yes milk is very important in pregnancy, it is recommended that we take at least 2 glasses daily. HL milk is the recommended milk by my gynae, as formulas and full cream is too fattening according to her.

i think u may wana take calcium pills if u cant take milk.

my gynae gives obimin fr week 12.

BABY GENDER

my first child i also found out shes a girl during OSCAR, around 12+ weeks...

but it is not very accurate at wk 12-13, usu they tell u 70-90% sure. wk 20 detailed scan can determine gender accurately.

Good afternoon, Ladies

Have been nausea and vomitting, sigh...

But long weekend is here, can relax and rest.

Have a great long weekend, everyone

@first mum: Issit as accurate on the 16 week as compared to the detail scanning?

@choc: Thanks choc for keep updating the table! Wow! So many babies in February next year! Hahaha!

valerie,

from what i know, at wk 16 some gynaes would still tell u baby's legs crossed cannot see. but at wk 20 detailed scan, it uses a more high tech machine and it basically shows you everything like eye sockets, heart chambers, spine, limbs, fingers and private part etc...

wow wow wow, so many babies to be born in Feb 2011! hmmm, the month of May this year must be an extremely fertile month, hahaha

@neongoby: So are you confirm going to the baby fair tonight? They extending their opening hours and will only close at 10pm. Haha!

@choc: Thanks for updating the list.. Wow.. Many babies will be out to celebrate CNY.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@baywater & first mum: I'll just have to wait till the next visit then ask doc..

@valerie: 5.3kg is too heavy I think.. My friend was asking me to buy those less than 3kg so it's easier to bring around..

@preciousbabi: Really?? Cos I see the rest from website mostly all 8.5kg! So I thought 5.3kg is consider light. That's why I want to go to the fair to "test drive". Hehehe...

@valerie: you so funny, can test drive somemore.. Haha.. That's what my gf advise me lor.. It will be easier to fold with 1 hand if it's lighter.. But heavy also got advantage, more stable.. So guess it's up to individual ba..

yeah...i also compile and count WAH! 70 leh..i tink more be added in near future...heheee

valerie..for pram hor...need to lookout for those which can fully decline one..which means can be lower till is straight for newborn..but those prams normally more exp compared to those for slightly older baby....

go test drive first...

oh ya...next time u can also consider using pupsik sling...which for me is very useful even till now my boy 27months liao i am still using it

and i have 3 of it! heheheee

http://www.pupsikstudio.com/baby-pouch-slings/

@preciousbabi: Haha! Pram not cheap leh. So must test drive see easy to maneuvre anot. But I see most of the prams nowadays (those cheap one lah) the seat like so shallow! Like the baby can fly off easily anytime. No good one..

@choc: The combi one can decline till 170 degrees. So I guess is good enough bah. It said is for babies of 1 month till 24 months. But like my hubby said, not cheap lor. $459 for a pram. Hmm... Is the pouch safe? Cos I scared the baby will drop. =/ I thought of getting those backpack carrier leh. Whereby you carry the baby in front of you and the baby is facing the front with the hands and legs stuck out. Hee hee.. Look so cute.

valerie...hmmm..i suggest hor...actually can consider the brand capella which is much cheaper...and also can fully decline...ard $200+ can get...alternatively...can go baby kingdom @khaki bukit to buy those older models which are selling much cheaper ...can consider lar

oh..this particular pouch is very safe ba..coz no "ends" no buckle...so i like lor...hmmmm but of coz need to really practise leh...

backpack carrier if i remember correctly i think need to wait for ard 3-4mths old when baby neck is more steady then can use leh...

but i also got backpack carrier lar..also good! hehee... go see see look look lar...

Hi choc, sonographer says it's a girl, but not guaranteed.. My gynae says she will confirm it for me when I go for my nxt apptm at wk 16 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks for the updates, choc. Pls update for me: 1st bb, gynae is Dr Loh, RH. Thanks!!

Hi Valerie, I havnt but the sterilizer yet, but thinks it consists of only the kit.. Saw the advert in another popular mummy's forum.. hehe

For lightweight stroller, think combi has some lightweight ones...

@choc: Hahahha! Why you buy so many carriers?? Lol~

Ya, I'm looking at other brands. I'd prefer those with reversible handle. So that at anytime I can let my baby face me when I'm pushing the pram. But very heavy leh. 7+kg. -_-

valerie...why i buy so many? hmm..initially was to have a spare to wash and another one to use..

but hor...as times goes by and when new design come out...hand itchy lar..go buy lor....

in fact i have those MIM slings too..hehe..my hubby used to ask me how many baby i got..how come i need 5 slings in total at one point of time..end up i sold off the MIM slings... now still left with 3 pupsik pouch ;X LOLxxxx

yeah..i agree those with reversible handle is good..coz initial stage hor..baby sometimes may have vomit milk problem...so u can see and carry them up in time in case choke on own vomit...

u getting me excited leh..i want to get a new sterilizer too..wonder any good bargains for Avent... I go down tml!

Oh ya...last week or the week b4 i went down to the Taka Toy fair...the sale was CRAZY! each toy ard $5... also lugged back like mad...this time better jeo my hubby along... =D

@choc: Hahaha! You sound like an impulsive buyer to me leh. Haha~ Then did your hubby say anything about the toys that you bought? LOL~

Ya, and not only that. There will be a stage whereby the baby will want to keep looking at the mother. So if you push her/him go gai gai then he/she keep cannot see you then will cry. End up have to hand carry.. But nowadays the pram so many colors! Black is like so difficult to find now..

valerie...next time i invite u ladies to my house and u sure be shocked..LOL... can be a mini playroom for kids liao... what u tink..hahaaaa

I am a very "implusive buyer"...if dun buy my heart will itch from day 1 till the day i buy... heheee...so normally i will just buy if i find that its useful...

hubby say me? but i using own money leh...so far wun say me lar..but will complain the room very cluttered...

nvm nvm...next time i joined any spree or bp, i will post here...poison all of u... HEHE

black prams shld have leh.... u go see...alot leh.. but why black? grey also can... oh ya..Mclaren brand also not bad...very light

@choc: Wahhhhh~ Your kids are so xing fu.. Hehehe.. Actually I also quite impulsive buyer. Haha! But always buy already never use/wear. =p So the baby fair my hubby MUST got with me. If not I'll end up buying a lot of things which most of them he might think is not necessary. Hee hee...

Black can use for both boy and girl mah. Hee.. And won't get dirty easily. Grey also can lah. But a lot I see all very colorful. Mclaren like quite ex leh.. Hmm...

Hi mummies, how's everyone? Hope everyone will hv a nice weekend. Today went to a field trip with my girl's Childcare and I think I walked too much. Hv a bit of spotting.. It was very tiring day.

Choc, I've bought the slings during my first PG but ended not using it becos I felt clumsy with the twirling here and there. Maybe I shld try it out this time again and see how it goes. I seen a lot of ladies using it and it really leave the hands free.

Valerie, 400+ very ex. As recommended by other mummies, get the Capella. I got tht one abt 200+ but what I dun like is the wheel. It's rather rigid and I think after 2 years the wheels are completely gone with the wind. And it's very heavy. Hvnt tried combi for newborns but I like their toddler's stroller which cost me 300 and it's so light that even when I carry my girl I can easily collapse the stroller myself and put it at the car boot.

Btw, where's the advert for the taka sale? I take a look and hv a reference to their price. I will give this sale a miss as I m still hving lingering MS [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Most probably I wi go for the New Mum at Expo during October. This exhibition has a lot of goodies bag :p

preciousbabi, at long last I found someone who has the same Gynae as I do. Mine is Dr Henry Cheng. Maybe we can see each other in the clinic too.. He also advised me not to take mill during the 1st few months too as it can sometimes worsen the MS which I agreed with him too. He will advise u to take soya milk instead. I'm those who can't take vanilla milk or any milk is hot. So for me, he advise me to take soya and if not, find other sources of calcium. My own opinion of Dr Henry on his way of practicing gynaecology is abit unconventional as compared to other Gynae.. Haha.. Last time I also compared notes with my other friends and they share the same views as I do. Most imptly is tht u hv to be comfy with him.

Jolin, u take it easy. My MS fir my 1st PG lasted me through the 5th month. But u shld realize tht ur MS is not considered as bad as during the first few months, rite? I m also hving bouts of nauseousness during evenings too. So do take it easy.

I think I must be crazy. Just went to buy a camera which costs me 400 and now regretting the buy. I realized I shld buy my breast pump instead! Saw the avent UNO electric tht cost me 339 and I was hesitating so much. N yet I went to buy a camera without even batting an eyelid. Really want to go n knock my head against the wall..

Valerie, I (or rather hubby) paid ard 700+ for the freestyle. No regrets tho. Cheapest we found was from First Few Years.

Yup it runs on battery n can b used handsfree too!

I got combi the super light weight one as my first scroller. Like the weight but as my child gets older, it no tat safe as she like to climb to the top of the scroller n it's flipped over. Just imagine my horror as she is too fast for me to safe her.

Hence I've to be extra attentive so to prevent her from climbing.

Then, I got scroller no2 - capella. Love it. The model is half the amt I spent on combi n with 4 wheels turning and handle can b flipped over to c the child where I can c my darling ;)

Hey morning everyone! For those who are still looking for CL, I just wanna share what I got from PEM, a confinement nanny agent. I hvn't cnofirmed their "offer", just got quote for info/comparison purpose.. hehe..

If you need nanny during CNY - $2,800

If you need nanny from 8 Feb - $2,200

If from 13 Feb - goes down to normal rate of $1,900

Duties include care of bb day and night, cooking of confinement food for mum, cooking for dad, laundry, preparation of confinement herbs for mum, sweeping/mopping 2-3 times a day, groceries shopping if necessary.

I thought their prices are pretty reasonable considering that I read some of you who engaged CL at >$3k? At least with the agency, you are assured you can get a replacement if the CL cannot make it. However, going through the "proper" channel also meant having to pay the foreign worker levy of $168 - this is to be paid to MOM direct (agent will handle all paperwork, apply to MOM and then MOM will bill us).

The deposit to pay PEM is $550 and remaining amount is to be paid to nanny on her last day. Apparently, we also have to give angpao - market rate is $30 on the first day, and then another based on her performances on her last day.

In case you wonder, nope, I do not work for PEM nor have any connection with PEM hahaha!!

Hi I just bought 6 bottles of neurogainS at $38 each from pharmacy, was told it is only available from gynae but I found Watson selling it. Went to other pharmacies and they all dont sell S, only PB and PB+. Now Watson give 10% discount so I bought 6 bottles at one go. If you all considering to buy too, can buy now.

Was told by the pharmacy PB is a normal dietary supplement but S is for pregnant women. Not sure about PB+ tho but pregnant lady needs 300mg of DHA daily for baby brain development, esp at start of 2nd trimester.

Saw you all discussing stroller. Isn't it like too early to buy? There is going to be another Taka fair usually at end feb or march. You won't need a stroller in the first month of confinement so i guess can still wait until next taka baby fair to buy it. Instead, maybe can buy baby cot, those sterilizer, bottles, warmer etc.

Anyone can share what was the offer at Taka? If we going down i will share with you all the prices and you all can do comparison. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Valerie, are you referring to the Combi Miracle Turn TJT-350? 400+ is expensive compare to other brands but i think most important is you find it comfortable to use. my colleague was selling the same stroller for $100 cos she given birth in Singapore but is going to go back to Norway next month. Quite a steal considering she only use it for a few months.

su, are you referring to medela freestyle? where is first few years"? initially i thought can't find it in singapore, Anyway i saw people doing spree for about $500 a set.

Hi our first baby, yup it's medela freestyle. First Few Years located @ paragon. They also hv one @ KKH.

If I'm not wrong, those from sprees/ bp do not hv local warranty.

Hi su, u are right! They do not have local warranty. I saw them selling $799 at the taka baby fair so your is a steal!! Do you know if avert bottles can be use on the freestyle breast pump? And can it be done manually in case battery runs out?

I saw the avent double electronic pump selling $669 but the single electronic pump only $151.2. So much difference we thought of buying 2 single pump. LOL.

su, your medela breastpump 1st yr warranty is covered by First few years rite? My friend bought her pump from First few years and after the one year warranty, she brought to the Sg Medela to repair, it was rejected. The sales person told her Sg Medela do not cover repair for any pumps bought at First few years.

Charmaine, warranty shd b by FFY. When had problem, I brought back to the shop. Not too sure wat happens after the warranty tho...

Our first baby, u'll nd to get the convertor if u wanna pump into Avent bottles. Wat I did was I pumped into glass bottles n store straightaway so don't nd to get so many Avent bottles. If batt runs flat, u can plug in n use but will hv to stay near the power point. But there's batt indicator so u can charge b4 it goes flat! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hv not used other brands of pump so can't comment... Hee...

faithnhope,

the Confinement agency rate seems reasonable, i hv not found one yet, will try to do so this week, else i may call the agency, see how. Some CL dont do confinement during feb, others hesitate n ask me to call her back, she needs to consider, i think a lot wants to go home n spend the cny with family [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I m at loss too...

oh i went to the taka baby fair on friday nite, din buy anything, juz went to rccee the prices and stuff first, after doing some research during the weekend, i decided to go back this week to get the pigeon sterilizer set at $199.

Anyone bought any breast pump set at the taka baby fair? can share?

Hi Neongoby,

We also went down on Sat. I think we going to get the Avent sterilizer set which is at $239 but the Pigeon package is more attractive with 5 bottles, Avent only gave 2 bottles. But i'm not sure if a Pigeon bottle will fit nicely onto a Avent breastpump so we decided to get the Avent set. And i think Avent bottles are better, is it?

We didn't buy breastpump but the Medela Freestyle is selling $799 and Avent Isis IQ Duo is selling $669. Both seems ridiculously expensive compared to a US import. Probably will buy a US import set.

Any other good buys from the baby fair? I have yet to go down but just now I went to kiddy palace & check the price for Pigeon rapid steam sterilizer which is selling @ $125 itself. And the multi purpose sterilizer + bottle & food warmer is selling @ $169.50 I think. So I find the taka's offer quite worth it considering the bundle consists of so many things..

@our first baby, Metro is selling Avent sterilizer for $199 but I don't think got free gift. Taka selling them @ $239 including what?

May I know how many of you will be using the boiling method to sterilise the bottles??

Zanta,

It includes the sterilizer, the warmer, one 125ml, one 260ml and brush. I check kiddy palace selling the sterilizer for $149 (there 2 type of avent sterilizer) and warmer (2 type too) for $126.

Btw, today I went to TPY that shop which PreciousBabi introduced to shop for maternity clothes but I only managed to buy 1 top coz the varieties are not much. Or maybe this batch of clothes not so nice, might be going back again to see if they carry nicer clothes again. Their prices are quite reasonable la, tops are mostly selling @ $20+, & jeans are selling @ $30-40+.

Thanks PreciousBabi for the recommendation!! And I think they also have a branch at AMK but I don't have their address.. Only saw from their plastic bag. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@our first baby, then taka's consider cheap!! But my hubby & his SIL kept asking me no need to buy all this first as it's still early.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I wonder if the sterilizers use up alot of electricity or not..

Btw, today i went to TYP's watsons but nv saw the fish oil which you bought. Which watsons did u bought them at? I still dunno which brand of fish oil to buy.. Sign..

Morning mummies~

Me and my hubby went down to the babyfair yesterday and we bought the Pigeon sterilier kit which can fit other brands of milk bottles as well. Then the auntie still gives us other free gifts. Haha.. Not a lot lah. But have water bottle for baby. My hubby said 2 weeks later we go down again to see the breast pump. He said don't buy so many at one shot. Haha! As for the combi stroller that I was mentioning, our_first_baby, it's the Combi Granpaseo Stroller. But my hubby find it quite fragile cos as he shakes the handle, the stroller's like shaking too. As if the handle will drop. Then he asked the promoter which is the best one among all. And of course he recommend the more ex one lah. Haha! I think is the Combi Miracle Turn. Forgot to ask him what model is that! =/ But anyway we decided to find out more information first before we decide on stroller and cot. Cos still have a long long time to go.

Btw just to share, my sil told me Pigeon bottle nipples are softer than Avent's. Some babies might not like the Avent bottle nipples and will refuse to drink from the bottle.. And Pigeon also cheaper lah. Hee hee..

Zanta,

I went to a few Watson, Guardian and Unity all cannot find Neurogain S and some of them told me this is only prescribe by doctor. But i chance by at Watson Jurong Point and saw them selling at $38. I grabbed 6 bottles!

Hi Valerie, thanks for your update! i think i will confirm to buy the Pigeon Sterilizer set.

I wonder if we should be able to use other brands of teats for pigeon bottles if it is not suitable for our babies, e.g. flow of milk too fast or too slow.

our first baby - the Medela Freestyle and Avent Isis Duo breastpumps are expensive to me, i wonder if i can get anything under $200?

@neongoby: Welcome! From what I know from my sil other brands of teats can't fit. Pigeon must use back Pigeon and Avent must use back Avent.. But I think the flow of milk should be quite standard..

Valerie,

I think can wait until next Taka baby fair in feb/mar to buy it, as unlikely you will need it in the first month. Light stroller also got problem using it because you cannot hang heavy bags onto the stroller or it would topple over. Heavy ones also more stable i heard.

Now we are really confused whether to buy Avent or Pigeon set. Haha

@our_first_baby: Hmm.. Actually for stroller I think not necessary have to buy from fair bah. Cos not all the strollers are promotional price. And I was thinking if possible I would like to buy everything before I give birth. Cos after giving birth I also don't know will have the energy to go shop for stroller anot. Hehe..

Hmm.. Actually I personally find that both Avent and Pigeon are good. But price wise, Avent more expensive lor.