(2011/02) Feb 2011

my wife is in her 11 weeks but the gynae already issue her the multi-vits .. is it too early? i thought only from 2nd trimester then start taking multi-vits. Right now she still taking only folic acid tablets, thinking wait until she 13 weeks then switch to multi-vits.

Then i think from 13 weeks can also start taking fish oil supplements but do we need extra calcium tablets? those in multi-vits not sufficient?

our_first_baby, my gynae gave me multi-vits, fish oil and calcium tabs when I saw him at 12 weeks. Is your wife into the end of 11 weeks? Or perhaps because of size/growth of baby? I'm not sure either..

@our_first_baby: My gynae also gave me the iron & calcium pills when I went to do my Oscar test in week 12. So I guess it's around that time..

OUr-first-baby,

Most Gynaes wont issue multi-vits if the mum to be is having nausea in the first trimester, because it will make her feel worse. no harm taking earlier though.

1) My Brest Friend Pillow in very good condition at $50

2) Brand new Mothercare Multi purpose support pillow at $65 (Original $81.50)

- For use during pregnancy & post birth

- Supports your bump at night

- Can be used in several positions for daytime

- Support during pregnancy & while breastfeeding

- Moulds to your body

- Removable machine washable cover

- Help baby to learn sitting position

Pick up at Queenstown.

Pls PM me if keen.

Pics: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/4325016.html?1280903911

hi our_first_baby like your wife i was given mutli vit towards my end of week 11 cause i finished my folic acid.

and now im thinking only fish oil and multi vit ..wanna check with my doc why i no calcium pills..

bigflamingo - i heard before second pregnancy more obvious earlier..maybe that y yours look big now?

choc: haaa...i agree with yr hubby with the word nice! plus its yr second hor? maybe that y shown earlier n bigger..so anyone let seat for ya alrdy ?

hee..

Hi mummies, how's everyone today? I feel so sleepy and lethargic at work. A good weather today.

Looking at the posts on the CL, I had decided to take those confinement food packages instead of the CL. I think the 3+k is ex. and basically when I spoke to those CL, I personally feel that they know it's the peak period, alot of things they said they dun want to do. Does anyone has catering company to recommend? I saw 2 of them when I google and looking at their menu, it seems good. But Dun knw how is their cooking. Perhaps I will engage a day CL from those confinement agency. Hope it's cheaper.

And from the way I see, alot of mummies are spotting with the bump and I think women after the 1st preg., seem to lose their stomach muscles, thus the bump? Well, my bump now looked like during my 1st pregnancy when I was 6 months. And my skin is stretching to a point that it gets very painful. I don't know whether do mummies experience any pain below the breast. I always slouch when I sit down and now I can't do that anymore. The ribcage below my breasts seem to obstruct my stomach and it really hurts me.

Aiyoh .. pain and more pain.. Sigh .. Wonder why this PG as compared to the last one is so much tiring and taxing. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hi mummies and MTBs,

i am new on this thread. edd 16 feb, going 12 weeks now and doing OSCAR next week.

not much morning sickness, but always feel bloated and nauseous but it seems to have eased off gradually...

Hi felpoo, there are a few tingkat food companies I know of:

1. Natal Essentials ($1588, 2 meals/7days/28days)

2. Chilli Padi ($1568, 2 meals/7days/28days)

3. New Baby ($1300 or $1480, 2 meals/7days/4weeks)

4. Rich Food Catering ($1379, 2 meals/7days/28days)

They also offer packages for 14 days or 20 days so it depends on what you like. Some offer early bird discounts.

From what I read, though Natal is one of the most expensive ones, it has received good reviews. My friend tried Rich Food recently and she said so-so only.

What abt confinementfood.com? Any reviews?

I'd seen the newbaby and did a comparison with both confinementfood.com and newbaby. They seem to offer the same menu but dun know how's the cooking. As for the chilli padi .. errm .. it sounds hot hot to me. Maybe I check out Natal menu.

Anyone know about Spore CL during the day? How much will it be during CNY period?

@choc, thanks alot for the thread on list of bad/lousy spree-ers. May I know what size u normally wear for your bottoms b4 u were preg (for me to do a comparison coz I nv buy ON/Gap clothes b4)? I saw u ordered XS for your pants which sounds quite small to me.

@Amazing Miracle, don't worry abt the small bump, enjoy the convenience b4 it show or u will start to complain when your bump is out!! Hehe.. Like choc, I already can't fit in almost all my bottoms except for 1.

Btw, how much did u got the fish oil for? Is it from Dr Ang? I asked my hubby is it necessary to take, he said yes.. But I'm still contemplating to get anot..

@our first baby, I think your wife & I are seeing the same gynae. Dr Ang gave me the multi vit when I was 10wks and the assistant told me to take aft i finished my folic acid.

amazing miracle, i checked and it's not necessary to take calcium pills ... it's better to take it with your daily food diet or drink similac is good enough. so fish oil and multi vits is okay liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi zanta,

yes dr ang gives sunward multi vits and not obimin. but i think they are all okay, we just need to be pay more attention with the fish oil supplements. Like your hubby, i also tink it is necessary to take it. not sure if dr ang sells fish oil supplement cos he just gave us a brochure of natal care triplus and recommended us to buy. can't find it but saw that the EPA is at higher level 62.5mg .. a ratio of 5:1 with DHA at 312.5mg. lower EPA should be better as too much is not good. i read too much EPA can cause excessive bleeding at birth or something ... so probably we will go with neurogainS instead (still thinking) which contains 325mg DHA and 32mg EPA, higher concentration of DHA at 10:1. If you look carefully again, natalcare plus contains d-alpha tocopherol but neurogain uses natural tocopherol, not an expert but i think natural better ba? haha well you can share with your hubby. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

more people seems to be taking neurogain S/PB/PB+ or Dhaxtra. not many seems to be taking natalcare triplus ... if i am not wrong neurogain distributor in singapore is from mederis, a malaysian distributor so maybe ask my malaysian colleague to buy from there instead. cheaper i think. neurogain S is selling in the pharmacy here at about $38-$40 a bottle of 30 tablets good for 1 month consumption.

Morning mummies~

Yesterday I called the clinic to check for my Oscar result. The nurse said the result is out but the dr has yet to sign on the result. She said based on the ratio figure the risk seems low. But she doesn't give me any assurance leh. The way she said like not confident like that. Hmmm... Hope it's really fine though. Bleh.

And last night I vomited again. I was hungry so I cooked a packet of maggi mee. The moment I finish eating, in less than 5 mins I vomited everything out. *sigh* And I thought I'm getting better though I still vomit almost every morning. =( I'm so tired today~ I can't keep my eyes open... =(

Hi MTB,

I went for my 2nd gynae visit yesterday and saw my baby leg kicking and hands waving at us.. so cute! That moment is just so amazing. BTW anyone knows what is the right size for the baby at week 10?

My gynae also prescibe me OBIMIN, now I am at week 10. Is it too early? But he did not ask me to stop folic acid.

zanta.... i normally wear S size lor...but as the old navy cutting is bigger for maternity pants...XS fit well for me....so i buy XS lor... i got the Old navy maternity pants lor...

comfortable...so this round get more...and the Gap maternity top also good! =)

valerie...call the clinic again... ur results be fine ya [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

terrylyn, i would think different gynae prescribe different combination of supplements... since we have chosen the one...just follow what that gynae say [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

for myself i was instructed to take iron+folic acid in morning, calcium+folic acid at night... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

ping ping

heh cool. wonder whether dr wong will have to rush from one of us to another! haha, but not likely to deliver on EDD la... the last time i delivered 4 days before. you?

am feeling better today, after resting for the past two days... still some phlegm and mucus but overall not so giddy. hope all those with flu are recovering well too.

@choc: I paiseh to call again leh. Hee... She said my next visit the dr will give me a copy of the result to keep. Hmm.. And so far she didn't call me *touchwood* so I guess should be fine bah...... Though I wasn't very convinced by the nurse yesterday. =/

Oh, I saw your order on the gap top. Did you have that before? Cos I read the review someone said the neckline is very low... Cos if I buy I'll be buying loose one instead of just nice fitting (don't want to suffocate my baby.. Hee...). I scared will be too revealing on top...

valerie... i also order the Gap top before...i find neckline ok leh...u dun buy too loose lar...wun suffocate...in fact very stretchable top and not tight leh....

else u can consider this top..also very nice!

http://www.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=26697&vid=1&pid=749727

trinket...same leh...i also down with phlegm and runny nose...got to accept is pregnant immune system lower ba.... but i keep suspecting is becoz of the iron i started to take...maybe too "heaty"

@choc: Oh ya!! This is nice too! But more ex too. Hahaha! Maybe I'll buy both. I need more maternity tops lor. Yesterday my hubby went with me to go see see look look but also can't find any nice ones. Thanks for the recommendation! =)

Choc, guess you are right. Everyone is different as well! Hee thanks!

Anyone else having Gynae as Paul Tseng? Have you decided which hospital to go to?

valerie...spoilt for choices right? hehehee... alot more sprees to come...

bigflamingo...hmm..i used to buy Gap Ladies lar...but now gap maternity...nono..all along my stuffs from online...seldom buy from retail shop in SG... heheeee...

morning mummies!! =))

recently have very good appetite during the day and not much during the night..

val: wah..can it be u are too hungry alrdy..that y end up puking out...

choc: so far u order from gap its good ?as in same as picture?

Zanta:haa..same...i only left one bottom to wear..heehee.. yup i got the fish oil from Dr ang..he gave me a broachure to read on the fish oil but since he say its good for baby brain development i jus buy on the spot and have been eating since then...its 30 per packet and i think its for a month also..

trinklet: u seen a doc for your sickness? take caree =)

Terrylyn :do you still have a lot of folic acid to continue? some of the mummies eat folic acid with the vit also...my gynae gave me vit at my 11 week and at that time i finished my folic acid..the nurse told me the vit also got folic acid..so i can jus eat the vit..

our_first_baby: thanks for the info! jus now i cant really stomach the milk...i will try HL milk and alternate with amumm milk..

@choc: Haha! Ya! But I always have problem with the sizes. Before I was preggy I also shop online but some doesn't fit. *sigh* Hope this time round all these will fit. Hehe..

@Amazing: I also don't know.. But previously I already wasn't feeling quite well. Have a feeling to vomit but didn't. The feeling is like indigest, want to burp but yet feel like vomit too. And after that I feel hungry cos I went to eat. Maybe cos of that it intrigues the vomitus to come out. But *sigh*, as good as not eating. But at least I felt better after vomiting. =(

Amazing Miracle,

I've been having trouble stomaching milk too, so i take 2 calcium tablets a day until the nausea is completely gone, then i will drink one litre of milk a day. Actually those powdered milk like anmum are not really necessary if you drink fresh milk and you have a good diet. Natural is best, i think!

Hi all, not sure if you are aware, for those taking multi-vits, don't take it with milk or any dairy product as it will affect the absorption of the multi-vits.

Amazing Miracle...hmmm..so far the gap and old navy i ordered are good lar...as in quality and the color...close to the picture i see from website...actualli i have been spreeing alot for my boy from this 2 sites...so far no complaints..hahaaa

next time can consider go ralph lauren site spree when our little ones are out ah!

faithnhope...yeah yeah...if u are taking iron, dun mix with calcium or milk to prevent the absorption.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

valerie... HUH...so fast OOS? omg! quick look for alternatives... =X

Audrey, how are u? seen a gynae liao bo?

@choc: I told her I don't want le. Can't find other alt leh. And the white I read from review is see through. So she'll use the excess amount to offset the shipping and refund me the rest. So disappointed. Sobz.. But I asked her to help me check if they stock in any when she's making order. Hope they do!

valerie... white one with flower ok lar..not see thru leh... hmmm...wear with those skin color bra...wun see thru lar... hehee... but the other tank top ok mah..can order to try too

@choc: Ya, I ordered the tank top that you ordered too. Hmm.. But white usually quite see through leh. Especially after a few wash. You bought that top in white before?

valerie...yeah yeah..white one i also got ordered..but prev round was more exp... 15USD..now less than 10usd...

amazing miracle

yup went to see doc on Mon. got some flu tablets and lozenges, told him i was expecting so he gave appropriate medication... took flu tables for 2 days and stopped. thankfully no fever, just need to wait for the flu to ride our its course.

clothes

can't wait till i pass the first trimester then can tell my friends and borrow maternity clothes from them! haha. there are some from my last pregnancy that I passed over - time to recall back!

valerie...but hor...diff pple got diff see thru definition leh! hahahaaa....

trinket...i like the way u say it.."recall back" hahaaa... mine all in my drawer..but some i find like out of fashion liao leh...LOL

need to take out to wash

WTS - Pigeon Rapid Steam Sterilizer (Brand New)

Brand new and unopen/unused. MIL prefer the boiling method.

Willing to let go at $60.

Meet up at Sembawang/yishun MRT.

Interested parties pls sms me at 81003093

@choc: Hahahha! Nvm lah. Already told her I'll take the white liao. Don't want to be so troublesome. Haha! Next time she blacklist me. =p

choc

yah i also just packed all my too-tight-to-wear clothes away and hung up my old preggie clothes. the ones I find really useful are the bottoms - they don't go out of style! used to buy a few from spring maternity. thinking of buying more shorts - at least can try and make sure i like the fit.

going for gynae appt tmw! can't wait can't wait!

@amazing: Yeah i still have quite a lot left which I bought from Unity. The clinic nurse even ask me if i need folic acid. So guess I will still continue to take both the obimins and folic acid till i asked the doc in my next vist.

As for calcium, the doc did mentioned got a lot of other natural food we can take like Soya Milk, Ikan Bilis (or silver fish), brocolis etc. I dun take any milk so have to depend on all these. =/

My doc is at TMC and now I am in dilemna, duno which hospital I should go TMC or Mount A. Anyone got any advise to share?

terrylyn: i am in the same dilemma as u! my doc is a TMC doc(bt doesnt operate in TMC itself) and he delivers everywhere in singapore. i always assumed i will be delivering in TMC but recently i have been doing some research and Mt A seems better. and the maternity packages is cheaper by a few hundred dollars. i always though mt a more exp.. i would also appreciate some advises from experienced mummies.. hee

@judy/trinket: yeah my gynae can deliver at both but if at M.A will be 10% more for his inpatient charge. But the nurse told me it will not be very significant.

Only thing is if there is anything, he might nt be able to rush down in time and sometimes might even need to give advise over the phone.

I need to decide before the oscar test (in 2 weeks) cuz if i am gg to take TMC, then I would need to sign up for the FBI to enjoy discounts.

So i am quite dilemna cuz i also heard that M.A is better than TMC.

here are some things i would like to knw regarding TMC vs. Mt A..

1. Service/Quality Standards - nurses' attitudes, promptness, after care, pro-bf?

2. Hospital Bill size

3. TMC docs delivering at Mt A as compared to at TMC. efficiency?

hope some of you can help me with my qns..

@ valerie: hee..maybe yr baby dont like that favour of maggie mee..

@bigflamingo: fresh milk? gosh i cant imagine stomaching that too..will HL milk be fine also?

Faithandhope: thanks for the information!

choc: im tempted! hee..ok shall go check it out..thanks!

terrylyn : yes i guess taking both should be fine..shouldnt have any conflict ba..

trinket: ok hope u get well soon eh!

as for tmc n Mt A. i got the perception TMc like specialise in babies..so they will have more expertise..as for MT A they specialise in other illness also..so im not too sure about them at baby department..

for me i will choose tmc over mt a..

Judy, my gynae gave me the calcium pills from milk source (organic i think?) I wonder if it will be better?

I have no appetite for food most of the time and can't really take a lot of nutritious food to make up the amount of calcium and fish oil needed for us, i guess I will still need to obtain from supplements. Gynae also gave me NeuroGain S and Iberet folic multivitamins so i am starting to take these 3.