(2011/02) Feb 2011

fresh milk very fattening leh.... ;)

i bought HL milk but don't drink everyday, people say cannot drink so much cold stuff, but the milk is cold, sometimes, it causes stomach bloatedness for me, so i add to Milo in the morning.

@Amazing: Haha! Or maybe my baby know it's unhealthy, so refuse to eat. -_-

Omg, I'm so sleepy now!! Exceptionally sleepy. My eyes are like half closed now. =( How I wish I can take half day off to go home and sleep. Zzzzz... The time is passing so slow!

The GAP online looks attractive, i need bottoms!!! and dresses, going to run out of them soon, donno what to do next week [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

@choc, you bought b4 the ribbed tank? Is the arm hole too big or just nice for you? And size s is sufficient for u to wear till birth?

zanta...the ribbed tank i been wearing for quite a while...arm hole for me ok leh....just nice maybe coz i buy S size ba....hmmm...size S sufficient for me to wear till birth anot i duno leh... but i see the material very stretchable..moreover now so cheap...wah..dun buy very "ai wan"....

esp i when i walk past those maternity shops, 2 tops for 45+++... so this to me is a catch..heheee

u order 1-2pcs to try lor....i always order to test water first..then when ok will order more...

heaty: do u girls find that after taking the iron supplement, seems like very heaty? coz after starting my iron for 2 weeks, now feeling heaty leh...and abit sore throat liao..this happen to my #1 pregnancy too...arrrh

Choc - Hi , i am waiting for 17 august.. In the meantime i am fine.. no bleed, no pain.. but sometime slight pain at the left side.. but a while ok already. how you??

Choc - i try taking but i stop taking iron supplement. Too heaty for me too.. And i have sore throat and have to drink alot of water.. ( meaning have to go toilet more often, sigh )

Hi Ladies...

According to my friend, Mt A nurses are friendier. But it seems to me that who is ur gyn plays an important part too.

If ur gyn is Gang Ho enough, the nurses/ staff will pay more attn to u as they dun want to invite unnecessary attn from the Hospital Mgmt. Practical World

I'm amazed that my OSCAR result is out on the same day and the clinic nurse inform me the outcome the early next morning (while chatting with the sonographer, she get to know my gyn). Where some mummies hv to wait a while......

I recall after my delivery, my fainted one the first day, the nurses for my floor was alerted and they r very attentive to me. They even esorted to the toilet for the rest of my stay in TMC!!

hi Choc

Try taking more fruits and veg on the heaty part.

At times, I nose bleed a little, hence my aunt teach me to make Fu Zhu dessert with a little barley help to reduce the heatiness... works like a charm to me. No more nose bleed the next day ">

audrey...great to hear u are fine now..no bleeding [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

me ok lar...so far so good...i tink "that thing" starting to subside...

same hor...but dun take iron i worried not enough iron for baby... bo bian...just keep drinking water now...

baywater...yeah will try take more fruits...hopefully wun feel so heaty...

I bought some maternity bottoms during lunch, so expensive [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] 1 black pants, the material a bit like those sporty stretch pants cost $65.90! *faint* But i must admit it's very comfortable and the lady said i can wear till full term cos the waist band is adjustable. Sigh, no choice.....i got light ears, in the end i bought 1 black pants, 1 white pants, 1 casual 3/4 pants for about $150 after discount, ok lah, i will make sure i wear them throughtout the entire pregnancy. Now i can go GAP tonight to check out the tops [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Judy,

If u hv intention to BF for bb, do let the nurses and the mid-wife know, they will put a 'Full Breastfeeding'tag on ur bb to inform the rest of the ppl that this bb is on Full BF.

Then, they will push ur bb to u once its feeding time and do prepare that they will wake u up in the middle of the nite so that u can BF ur bb.

O if u r delivering at TMC, u can request the a one to one session with the parentcraft consultant to go through BF with u. ">

joy: haa..we are same height..i heard before taller people dont show that early cause space got space..haa..but i dont know how true is that..jus listen..haa

neongoby: haa..maternity clothes are all so ex but since if u can wear full term quite worth it...and bottoms u can keep till your another one..wont go out of fashion like top nor dresses.

baywater: i like that dessert! fu zhu with barley...those food court dessert got sell too..nice..

audrey: if sore throat..maybe u can try starfruit juice with salt but i not sure starfruit liang or not..

Hi mummies/mtbs

I'm new in this thread.

Choc, can trouble u to add me pls. Thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

EDD: 11 Feb

Gynae: Dr Henry Cheng

Hospital: Mt. Alvernia

Child: #1

Hope mummies with MS are feeling better.. No MS for me but irritating breakouts on my face, chest and back and also feeling tired and hungry all the time.. Hate the pimples!! Hopefully they disappear soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Getting more emotional these 2 weeks also.. Everyone in the office seem to be stepping on my tail!! Get away from me please!!!

I’m in the 13 week tomorrow.. Just had the Oscar test last Friday and got the result on Tuesday at low risk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Saw baby waving at us with the legs crossed.. So amazing!! Can’t wait to see baby again but the next visit is end of the month.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Saw your discussion on maternity clothings.. My friend recommended me to a shop at Toa Payoh Central where I find their price quite cheap – pants at less than $30 (can wear after give birth too as they are adjustable).. For mummies who are staying near there can go have a look. The address is Blk 185 Toa Payoh Central #01-334 – Carrano Garment & TC.

Ok, first time post don’t talk so much.. Shall stop here..

amazing, i misread yr msg.. thot u worry abt yr bump is big. =P

btw, what i posted was my 1st prenancy. i am slim type & wearing fitting jeans & top to work.

So, it's easier for my colleagues to spot bump shows big. (n my body cant hide)

it is better that the bump is small as dont have to worry to shred the extra 'fat'.

one of my colleague bump size was like my 4mth size b4 giving birth but her baby is >3kg.. n she returned to work in her pre-natal shape after 2mths.

Trinket, i delivered 8 days before my EDD for my no 1.

Morning mummies~

@neongoby: Yeah~! I can't wait too!!! I want to go to the baby fair over the long weekend~ =D

Anyway, off topic a bit. This morning I had a great scare! When I opened the door and wanting to go to work there's a cat keep wanting to come into my house! I kicked the door, shoo-ed the cat she also not scared! Keep insisting want to come in. Then got a few times I almost "giap" its paw but I slowly close the door. Then I so scared~~ My hubby asked me to use water to splash her so I take the bottle to splash water around her and she finally backed off a bit. But still loitering at my door step! Sob sob. I had such difficulty bringing my sandals out. I threw my sandals on the floor she also not scared. Then when I finally went out she kept following me! I was waiting for the lift and I had to walk around cos she kept coming near me~~ I walked a circle she also followed, then I very tired, didn't want to walk le so I used the bottle to try to push her away in order to prevent her from licking me. But her legs were so firm! Lucky she never followed me into the lift. =( Then just now I called my hubby and asked him if the cat was still there when he went out. He said yes, very difficult to chase her away. Then my heart was pumping soooo fast when I was in the lift that I almost fainted. =( Scare my baby le... Sob sob... =( And I'm staying on the 15th floor! Wonder how did the cat come up..

Valerie - maybe the cat is lost? or she thought ur hse is her hse? if i were you, i will also be scared cos i dont like cats. poor baby, better calm down ur baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@neongoby: Don't know leh. It doesn't really look like a stray cat though. Quite big too. And she doesn't seems to be scared of anything. Nothing can chase her away. I pretend to bark she also not scared. Find myself so silly. =( It's not that I don't like cats but I also will be scared if she like wants to lick me. Then I don't dare to carry her away also cos I scared later she bites me. So scary~~~ =(

mornnig mummies!

its friday and its long weekend!!! wo la!

PreciousBabi: welcome here! and thanks for introducing us the clothes shop!!

Val: but hor even if kitten now better not sayang it first..cause dont know if stray cat ma..den now u got baby le...

but your encounter sounds scary lor! imagine majiam the cat keep following u...if follow in the flat, i think i will scream n run out liao..do u happen to have new neighbour? can the car be yr neighbour one? if not maybe its other level cat...

my friend got me a broucher on Medela pump..now is a newer version and at taka fair its at $799..

@amazing: Haha.. But kitten so cute~ Cannot help it. Hee... But I also will scared they will bite me lor. Cos like what you said, I have baby now must be extra careful.

Yah! I got stuck inside my house for a very long time thinking what should I do lor. And the cat was waiting outside when I close my door. I think she standby there very long already. The moment I open the door wanting to take my shoes out I saw her slowly wanting to walk in. Lucky she never ran lor. Cos I remember when I was very young there's this cat ran into my house through the grille hole! My neighbours no cat leh. The only one I know is the Malay family at 1st floor that has cat. If she follows me into the lift I think I will ran out then let her take the lift down to 1st floor herself.

Wah the pump so ex! But I think electric pump all very ex. Hmm.. But manual ones hands will be very tiring leh.

Morning mummies! I am down with fever and sore throat these 2 days. Resting at home. Abit worried for my baby, hope it will be ok. Luckily the fever wasn't too high, max 38.3 degrees.

Valerie, you must avoid cats at all costs, even small kittens. Reason is cats can carry a parasite known as toxoplasma, which can cause congenital defects in fetuses. The defects can be quite severe, better safe than sorry!

I went for my OSCAR scan in KK on Wed. Very active baby that was kicking and punching the whole time! Hubby and I were quite enchanted by it. Anyway I got my result on the spot, thankfully our risk for trisomy 21, 13 and 18 are very low [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@cherry: Wow! Thanks for the info! I didn't know it's so serious. Lucky I didn't touch the cat with my hand nor leg just now. And I've already throw away the bottle that I used to push her away. =/

yah i think wat cherry say is correct, my gynae said same thing.

lucky u didnt touch it, valerie....*phew*

i am taking prenat vitmains, calcium tabs and fish oil now. on top of that, i am taking ginseng n cordeceps pills that my mother gave me. wonder if all this vitamins are making me heaty.. got ucler in mouth and feeling constipated. i already drank prune juice, vege and fruits intake, but still have not visit the toilet for 3 days. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Just want to share: My Gynae asked me not to drink milk, including HL Milk and Milo.. Coz milk is difficult to digest and will turn bad in our stomach, hence causing diarrhoea sometimes.. That time I thought a little doesn't matter so I took milk with cornflakes for a few days.. After that I went back for scan, the vision in my stomach was very blurr, gotta use V scan instead.. Then doc say it’s bcoz of the milk I took.. Anyone encountered this also? And the Annum and other milk for pregnancy, he say will put on weight very fast. So I've not been taking all kinds of milk since then.. Scared next scan cannot see baby again.. Dunno how true though..

I went to check on the prices of Electric Breast Pump last week at Parkway.. Saw Avent pump at $199 and the other model at $399.. Didn’t know it is so ex.. OMG!! Now read about you guys talking about Medela at $799 *faint*.. Do we really have to spend so much on the pump?

@gregda: Ya!! Lucky~ Phew~ Hope the cat will be gone and won't come back to "visit" again~ =/

Oh, iron pills will make us even more constipated. Pregnancy already cause constipation, iron pills will worsen the condition. Now I only go toilet once like every 3 days. My gynae told me if the iron cause constipation stop taking for a while and take folic acid to replace it.

@preciousbabi: Hmm.. My gynae didn't tell me anything about that leh. She only said I don't have to force myself taking milk if I don't like. So actually till now I didn't drink milk except for once I took chocolate milk.

My sis saw the advert on Straits Times today and she said there's a lot of things at the baby fair. Can't wait to go there~ Hope it won't be tooo over crowded. =/

Morning!!

Breast Pump... err...just my thoughts on pump...i would tink investing in a electric pump will be good...coz previously during my #1...i using solely manual pump...first 2 months i pump till my hand "numb"...totally like no feeling and painful...

then feel like crying lor...luckily never give up lar...push on and though still painful but i chose to ignore it... but the Avent manual pump was good as i used for so long...

so now if i going to buy..i will get an electric one...but also worried electric pump will not yield better supply..haha..so contradicting

@choc: Any idea electric one runs on battery or plug huh? Cos I was thinking should I bring the electric one to work next time to express my milk. Hmm...

Precious Babi,

Huh? your gynae said don't drink milk?? First gynae to say that. I suspect it's because you might be lactose intolerant, that's why you have an upset stomach. Special case.

It's true that powdered milk like anmum will make you gain weight very fast though.

Welcome on board PreciousBabi!!

My gynae did not mention about don't drink milk le. In fact, he asked me no need to take calcium tablets when I showed him mine & asked him if I can take that or not. He told me no need to drink maternal milk too as 2 glasses of normal fresh milk a day is sufficient.. If you are allergy to milk, maybe you can take more calcium rich food instead.

Btw, I heard that calcium is very impt for preg women as the bb is absorbing our calcium. And if we don't take enough calcium now, aft we gave birth also very hard to gain back the lost calcium. Correct me if I'm wrong..

Valerie, the moment i saw your post on the taka fair, i dash to get hold of the papers in the office. lol

Seems attractive, the prams are having good discounts (not sure the market price though) but they discount quite a lot.

The Pigeon Sterilizer set seems quite worth it, it comes with 3 big bottles, 2 small bottles and a warmer for a total of $199, good? I told my hubby that we must head down tonight, hahaha…. Hope my condition can take it.

@neongoby: Hahahaha! Maybe later I'll go take a look too. =p That time my sis told me said the sterilizer kit is $180 and she said it's worth it. How come now increase to $199 liao.. Lol. I want to go on Monday. Hee hee..

Valerie - i think it is packaged with other goodies such as warmer and etc. After my above post, i went to do some research, it seems that if you just wish to get the sterilizer alone, places such as kiddy palace and robinsions when they have sale, may give better deal. The good thing about this sterilizer is that it can sterilize other brands of bottles and up to 8 or 9 bottles at one time. (sorry, i maybe ignorant that other brands of sterilizers also can do that).

Maybe i will check out kiddy palace and robinsons first...

Neongoby,

Other brands of steriliser can fit other bottles, but not all bottle brands... I bought an Avent steriliser from mothercare, but opened it up and tried fitting in nuk and mam bottles inside before i bought it, to make sure it fitted.

Bigflamingo, Zantarina & Valerie

Maybe special case for me ba.. I also first time heard that preggy cannot take milk.. Haha..

My gynae also havent prescribe iron, multi-vits and calcium tablets for me when I last visited him at 12 weeks.. How come I see everybody like taking already?? Me still taking folic acid only.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

welcome PreciousBabi ">

Not to worry too much on the tablets. I'm into my 12 wks n like u Folic acid is the only med that i'm taking. ">

relax n enjoy the preg ">

@neongoby: Just now I went to see the ad. The sterilizer includes quite a number of things.. But I'm still thinking will I be using it. Hmm..

And oh, I saw the Combi stroller like quite good leh. It weighs 5.3kg. Will go there to see if it's heavy. Hehe..

havnt been on this thread for the past few days.. Have been feeling fatigue and super tired, plus my ms is still here to stay[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

For the Avent sterlizer, Isetan baby fair is selling for $139 with $80 purchases... Comes with free teether and magic cup..

Judy...no leh...i still waiting anxiously..sob..but my gf whom is ard 13 weeks told me hers is a boy...weird..how the gynae confirmed its a boy...scratching head now...

valerie...i tink can run on battery and electricity leh..depending on which model ba...got to check out...

my boss guessed that i m having a gal cos i wore colorful clothes, *faint*, she said its the hormones at work, sigh, another midwife's tale

choc - 13 weeks can tell? wow, the gynae is willing to make such a commitement? i think ur gf better take it as a pinch of salt, what if by week 16 or 20, the gender is not true then ur gf maybe disappointed or happy depending on her.