(2011/02) Feb 2011

@moomoo73: Congrats!! I am so looking forward to seeing my baby soon. Finished walking around the area and went shopping. Still no indication. Looks like she will like to stay in longer...

@moomoo73 - congrats & rest well!

@gin - oh gosh my fav food is all types of bean & legumes! Guess hv to consume moderately.

@mamaying - My gal chinese name is 盈璇

Xuan is very common among gals now!

@zanta - yahor i should have say tat to him...hee My water retention is not serious so cannot really see much difference after massage lor. My masseur has good hands & her force is supber sia...she told me she massaged her cousin who csec after discharged & even do the binding!

Just wonder how u all manage after confinement is over. My MIL can help me but she will be busy taking care of other grandkids. I cannot possibly stay at home all time as i would like to resume my yoga immediately. Imagine i have to go yoga & after yoga rush home & pump [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Then night time also have to pump in every 3 hours, wash & sterlise...

@moomoo: Congratulations on your NB!! You must be exhausted after so many hours of labour. Do update us your birth story when you're ready.

@pyng: I think Joodz mentioned before actually no need to keep sterilizing the breast pump. For me coz I seldom pump so I only sterilize it when I need to use.

I wanted to name my girl with Xuan too but the person calculating her name said cannot use so no choice..

@kittyki: Haha.. Coz my hubby's name in birth cert and IC got both dialect and Han yu pin ying so I don't know which one to use. But now I suppose use dialect better.

@Sweetie Wong: You also c-sect?

Moomoo,

Congrats on your newborn.

May I know how much your bb drink now?

My bb is now fully on FM. She takes 60ml per 2 hours. But in between she takes a lot of plain water. I am afraid she takes too much water and under nutrition. She is 3 weeks old and is measured 4.2nd on this Tuesday.

Should I increase her milk intake?

Zantarina yup i m oso c sec already done my massage last 2weeks my wound no mre pain as if nvr gve birth yet keke all tks to my gynae keke

I had Keloid after my c section fr the first preg... doc claimed he gave me a foc injection for better healing. My doc always on the safe side... anyway i did 5x massage when nearing 3 months and thou like not much effect, it took me a good year to slim down and i din exercise. When i manage to fit into some of my old clothing, i got preg again... so keep again lor.

I finally delivered baby Alexandria on 20/2, at 40+5 weeks. Long birth story, will cover another time. We started inducing her out on Fri afternoon but she was born only on Sun afternoon.

Spent a week in hospital, just got home today, stayed for 5 days after the birth cos she had neonatal jaundice and needed phototherapy, so I stayed on to breastfeed her.

I have 4 bottles of home made confinement red rice wine to let go at $12 each bottle.

750ml

no preservatives added

best for confinement, blood circulation and remove wind "qu fong"

pm me if interested

Jolin: I think we are not advised to give plain water to babies.. cos FM already 80 percent is water..

I think u should stop the water and just give FM.. see how much your BB takes..

Give plain water only if BB become constipated... suggestion

Hi mummies & MTBs,

Interested in getting a neck float for your baby?

Comes in 2 designs:

Disney Princess

Thomas and Friends

Each at $16, kindly PM me or email me at [email protected]

Thanks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5154008.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/5154009.jpg]

@Sweetie Wong: So good.. When did you gave birth? So fast no pain liao? I still experience some pain when I try to get up after sleeping. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] That's why I don't dare to try the massage yet..

@Cherry: Congratulations on your NB!! Pls rest well for now and update us when you're ready. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Admitted again. Contractions around 15 min interval. 3cm dilated... Opting for epidural early on this time so I have energy to see my baby. Unless baby takes 12-13 hours, I think daddy is going to miss seeing the crowning.

I am not sure if i am pregnant as it is too early to test but this few days i am having white discharge which is uncommon for me.Is this pregnant symptons or i am actually having so kind of infection.I am so worried as i am trying to conceive.I also pee alot,keep running to the toilet.

Any Mummies went thru this?Need advices.

fangfang jia you!!!!

moo moo congrats ah!!

hehee...i was missing for past few days...coz my mum left me at my 3rd week of confinement..so had to take care of an active toddler and my newborn from 4th week onwards...

not easy as had to wake up every 2-3hourly...then wash bottle, clean poo, express milk...bring elder son to school...

wah...tired but no choice... so glad today is my "official" end of confinement...though i ended it last week lor.. heheee

DearAll

Need advise how to clean baby tongue, tried to use a damp cloth and insert to baby mouth with last finger but failed to clear the inner side

Baby tougue is white .=( My MIL suggest to give abit plain water to 'wash mouth'

Pls advise me

Thanks alot!

Joanna,

My CL uses Xi kou tang liquid to wash bb mouth every morning before bath. Use black cloth also so that we know if e dirt (milk stain) really come out.

Ah Ching,

Ya. I also think not to give her too much water, but she cries a lot and Everytime she opens her mouth, my mum or CL will feed her water saying she is thirsty. She likes to drink water also and rejected pacifier. I don't know what to do also [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hi all, anyone feeding with MAMAX GOLD FM..

I have balance of 12 bottle left given from hospital. let me know if u r interested.

hi..been MIA for v long & i'm now a mummy.......!!

babygirl's arrival - a week b4 EDD.

delivery date/time: 31st Jan 2011 - 1.50pm

here's my update for the latest table:

No 89

Nick mrs_pm

EDD 6-Feb-2011

Weight@Birth 3.56kg

Name -

Gynae Dr L C Lee (fyi, she's highly recommended by my KKH nurse friend)

Hospital KKH

Expecting Child# 1

Gender Female

@DadnMum: You've got PM. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Mrs_PM: Congratulations on your NB!! Enjoy Motherhood.. Did you gave birth naturally?

@Fangfang: Jia You!! Finally it's your turn. Let me know your VBAC experience..

@Reverie: Did your gynae explain why you got keloid? And did you eat seafood after you gave birth to your first?

I gave birth on my EDD, without going through the induced birth process planned on the same day, phew!

Hi Choc,

When you next update the table, can you add in for me pls? Many thanks. I am no 108 in table.

ADD is 22 Feb, and my chubby baby girl Rae Yann weighs 3395g.

@TangoBebe: Congratulations on your NB!! Your girl's weight got the same 4 numbers as my girl. Hehe..

@Reverie: Huh.. I also moving alot le coz I taking care of my girl on my own.. Your keloid appeared how long after your op?

Hi everyone! ThanK you for your well wishes! Anna Lim Yu Qi born on 26th Feb, 3.12 kg.

@En Xuan: VBAC is vaginal birth after C sec

Birth story

9pm: still doing my 1.3 km walk around to induce baby. No indications

11pm: contractions started

2am: decided to head in to check even though I was afraid of false alarm coz contractions was coming irregularly but about 3-4 times an hr

2:15am: reached hospital. Nurse check and I am 3cm dilated. Decided to send me straight to labor ward.

Informed hubby I was in labor and asked him to fly back when possible.

4am: decided to administer epidural since pain is coming in and I am not allowed to walk around

8am: Doctor checked. 5 cm. Broke my waters to hasten birth process

12pm: cervix fully dilated at 10cm. Nurse taught me how to push( suck in breath, crunch and hold legs in and push)

12:10pm: doc came in.

12:46pm: after 10-15 pushes and doctor cut me a bit, Anna Lim is born

2:30pm: Hubby arrive in hospital. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Congrats Fangfang! Feel great that bb is finally out right?

I will be discharged today, waiting for the PD and my gynae to give the go-ahead. Here is my birth story:

24th 4.30pm - experienced leakage but not sure if it's water bag burst cos it's not like I have one big puddle of water. Called gynae and was advised to be admitted. Had a good shower and hair wash plus dinner before I made way to hospital.

7pm - arrived hospital. Gynae confirmed water bag has burst. Put me on antibiotic drip for my GBS. Not much contractions.

10pm - put on oxytocin to induce

12plus - contractions getting more intense. Called for administration for epidural at 1am. Since I decided to have epi I thought no point delaying. Anesthetist came at 1.30am. After injection, I was shivering all over.

4.30am - fully dilated already and nurse asked me to practice pushing... I vommitted twice during the process due to the epi. OFB - the nurse give me plastic bag instead of bowl [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

5.15am - gynae came and I had 4 pushes...vomitted again... Can u image bottom push and mouth vomit?! After the 4th push, bb gal came out at about 5.30am.

@moomoo73: Having the baby in my hand is definitely fantastic. Enjoying my alone time with her b4 the onslaught of my two other kids! My exp with epidural is great. I only throw up after the birth twice. Had shivering problems with all three. C sec, induced with no epidural and natural w epidural.

@En xuan and terrylyn: Almost ur turn! Keep it up!

I haven't pop too. Edd is today. Went to see gynae yesterday and he did VE and said baby is ready but I have not dilate. Going to see him on tue, 1 mar. Praying hard for my body to cooperate and dilate for baby to come. :S

Moo moo job is really not easy... My gal needs to be fed every 2 hrs... Btw, is the medela nipple cream safe for babies? I applied and then immediately after, my gal is hungry. I know the instruction says it doesn't need to be removed before breast feeding but mummies out there, do you?

Another question is how long does it take before u can express the milk? Just nw I tested but nothing leh....

@ Zantarina: What a coincidence, I had difficulty pushing her, maybe due the weight and the position she was in, hope your experience was not like mine [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@ Moomoo73: I apply the nipple cream after shower and leave it on. I am facing difficulty with bfeeding too, cos my supply is pathetically low...droplets...this is day 5 post delivery...

My birth story is painful...more like a nightmare!

18 Feb, 12 noon- admitted for induction as was 3 days past EDD. 1st prostin pill inserted to induce labour

18 Feb, 10pm- regular contractions 1 in 5 but cervix still closed- decision to hold off 2nd prostin till cervix more open

19 Feb, 6am- contractions same but cervix only 1cm dilated- decided to go ahead with 2nd pill

19 Feb, 6pm- good contractions but cervix only 1.5cm dilated- 3rd pill inserted

19 Feb, 9pm- gynae gave me 50-50 chance of delivering vaginally. Option of c-sec discussed. Decided to give vaginal birth one last shot. Broke water bag and given epidural

20 Feb, 5am- VE by midwife, only 3-4cm dilated

20 Feb, 8am- VE by gynae, 7-8cm dilated

20 Feb, 12 noon- started to have urge to push

12:30-2pm- active pushing. epidural already run out, on laughing gas only

2pm- gynae came and vacuum assisted

2:10pm- baby Alexandria was born

I had a tough time cos my baby's head was down but facing sideways, not facing my back which is the correct position, so I had to push her until she was low enough for my gynae to vacuum her out.

Time from induction to delivery- 50 hours

time from active labour (waterbag burst) to delivery- 17 hours

Very xiong. Recovery was very slow initially. First day I really couldn't get out of bed. I can only sit up straight today, with the help of a binder, 7 days after the birth.

Hehe now I'm not sure if I ever want to do that again!

@ TerryLyn: how's ur sIde today? Any signs yet?

@ moomoo & fang fang: so happy for u all that e waiting is over... Hmmm, how's ur baby??? After reading ur birth story, it helps to get mr ready... Btw, how to bathe baby cord ? They say need to wash n dig???

Anyway, am at KK for Induce now... Jus inserted pill 5 mins ago n I'm feeling super hungry n abit thirsty.. Hmmmm... Listening to my iPod to help me destress... Am so scared [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

en_xuan: no sign for me still. =( today is the EDD already. Jia you! Do keep us update when you have deliver! Very soon you can carry your bb liao.

cherry: Congratulations! my bb also have been facing sideway. Hope my bb will be able to turn to the correct position.

En Xuan, Jia you. The most important is to rest n wait patiently. Soon u will see ur bb. When the contraction getting more n more painful just tell urself. The more painful it is the more faster u can get to see ur bb. So u will have the strength to wait n take the pain. Jia you!!

En Xuan, later if feel the pain try to ask for epidural early...it helps to relax u and dilate faster [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jia you...

So many posts to catch up on! I see that so many mummies have given birth since my ADD on 6th Feb ... congrats to all of u [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Moomoo: I'm glad you managed a natural delivery on the 3rd try of induction ... even though it was a painful expierience for you but I wish u a speedy recovery. I had 2 failed cycles of induction and we eventually went with an emergency c-section 16 hrs after the start of induction. I remember feeling so tired and dejected that all that time was spent on nothing! Plus the decision to go with c-sect was a very swift one so basically I had no time to react. It was mentally quite traumatising in the 24 hrs after, even though it was all over very quickly.

Mrs Ong, Gina, PinkyVal: If I read correctly, all of u have G6PD babies? My baby Lucas too, and I remember feeling so scared when my PD told me that, as I didn't know much about it. Gina - thanks for the list of chinese herbs to avoid .. I will bear in mind. PinkyVal - it's fine to take Fenugreek to boost milk supply, even with G6PD baby. I already asked my gynae [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I'm taking 2 capsules of 600mg daily, although one of my friends is taking 9 such capsules a day! It does seem to help but maybe coz my dosage is quite low, my milk supply is not super fantastic either. But I guess important thing is that baby is peeing and pooping very regularly.

Mums who are breastfeeding - it is such a tough job!!! I have been struggling since Day 1, with engorgement, sore n cracked nipples etc ... I still don't find the process particularly enjoyable but I don't mind it so much nowadays either. I guess we just need to get used to it. At the start, my baby latched every 3 hours in the daytime and every 4 hrs in the nighttime, but just as I was settling into this "routine", it's all changed again in the past week. Now he wants to latch barely 2 hours after last feed in the day, and at night he sleeps up to 5 hours at a go. I used to have to supplement the midnight feed with at least 50 ml of formula milk, but in the last 4 nights I don't need to do so anymore. Patterns are all changing, and I think this is going to be the norm for the next few weeks. My hub says it's due to growth spurts. Any experienced mum has advice on how to settle into the breadfeeding routine? Or is "go with the flow" really the best method? Afterall, they don't call it "Demand feeding" for nothing, right? I decided not to incorporate Gina Ford methods at this point of time when I'm barely coping with the rigours of breastfeeding! :p

Also, my baby's first month is coming up on 6th march, this Sunday. I'm abit nervous about "Breasfeeding on the go". The party is being held at an external venue for at least 4 hrs so I'll definitely have to bf at some point in unfamiliar surroundings. So far, my bf routine is like this: turn on air con in bedroom, take off all top-half garments, use 2 (yes, two!) breastfeeding cushions to prop baby up to a good height for latch, so that I have both hands free to either keep him latched or to take note of timings etc. I have friends who can bf in public toilets, in the open, in new surroundings, in the car etc .... gosh, I wonder how I'm going to do it ... my baby has only been to the pd outside of the house and that was for an hour max ...

Anyway, all bf-ing mummies - keep at it and share your horror stories and tips here! In the past 3 weeks, there have been so many occasions where I feel like giving up and switching to formula. I keep wondering about my supply (doesn't seem like much), techniques, and then keep battling with sleep deprivation, and when baby cries, it's really quite terrifying!

On top of breastfeeding, I'm learning all about looking after baby from scratch. From how to hold, how to bathe, how to decipher his cries...I'm still learning and it's difficult sometimes, especially when nursing a c-sect wound and still feeling the post-pregnancy effects (lots of perspiring, lochia, tiredness etc) ...

Well, 3 weeks on, I'm in better shape than in the past couple of weeks, so those mummies who are struggling on now, while I cannot say it will get easy so soon, things DO get better, and you WILL learn the basics pretty quickly, so take heart [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cherry

what an ordeal! Still gd that yr gynae let u deliver naturally - most would have advised csec by then right?

Princess

don't worry - practice makes perfect with outside latching. Join the FB group - lots of rants and advice on bfdg there.

Natal Care Plus (400mg): Each box of 30 capsules at $14.00 (U.P. $16.05)

http://img831.imageshack.us/img831/8470/img1140sx.jpg

http://img821.imageshack.us/img821/5936/img1141e.jpg

Natal Care Triplus (625mg) : Each box of 30 capsules at $28.00 (U.P. $32.10)

http://img823.imageshack.us/img823/6593/img1190o.jpg

http://img593.imageshack.us/img593/2861/img1191u.jpg

http://img830.imageshack.us/img830/9746/img1160a.jpg

All boxes with Expiry 2013.

Bought too many from Dr Adrian.

================================================

An Australian specially balanced formulation that helps fulfill DHA requirement for fetal / baby brain development, and optimizes the brain development of the fetus and infant.

The core element in NATAL CARE PLUS - Natural Fish Oil - contains DHA and EPA, which is particularly needed during pregnancy and lactation. Apart from that, NATAL CARE PLUS also contains Vitamin E, an anti-oxidant that helps to alleviate the negative impact of free radical formation, and increase normal cell function.

================================================

Cash on pick-up/delivery @ Jurong East or Raffles Place.

Kindly PM or leave SMS at 9 876 1872.

Thanks all and have a safe pregnancy!

Sorry to interrupt.

I have a brand new (sealed) bottle of GNC fenugreek pills for sale.

The expiry date is 01/2014

Selling at $18 inclusive of normal postage. (Retail price is $29.50)

If interested, please PM me, thank you!

@Princess31: Oh really?? Then I'm going to take le. My BM supply has decreased a lot. Today I called my PD clinic to check & apparently they have not heard of fenugreek before but asked me not to take cos don't know what it contains. But my hubby said should be ok. And my sis helped me to ask the people from pharmacies they also said should be ok. Thanks for the confirmation! =)

@Choc: Can help me update the table? My baby's name is Ryden. Thanks!! =)

Thanks Sweetie Wong, Reverse island and Lily.

Very busy daily so no much time to come in and hope to catch up with you all again.

trinket: OK..not much time to log onto internet these days but no harm joining the FB grp ... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Who can add me?? My email add is [email protected]. Thks!! It'd be great to have some support re bf-ing!

PinkyVal: Ya...I've been taking since first week and I feel it helps, but of course has to be taken together with other helpful stuff, like milk, fish, etc ... but I've got a few other friends who swear by fenugreek, and my own gynae also encouraged me to take it, so I guess it must help somewhat [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But don't expect miracles either ... do share your experience ok!!