(2011/02) Feb 2011

joodz- Dun cry. They will fade. Really. I had ugly red/ maroon lines all over my bosom and belly when I had Kae but they all faded off. There are some silver streaks but well, I kinda have gotten used to seeing them as a "badge of honour". =)

Anyway you have seen photos of my belly, u can barely make those lines out right? ^.^""

Helps that K actually hugged me and apologised when he overheard me explaining to a friend about stretchmarks & afterward asked me if I had any on his account. Lol. He's a sweetheart and hubby and I love him soooo much!

Just received a letter telling us that because Kae was amongst the top 25% of his level in his school, he qualifies to receive the Edusave Merit Bursary. We are also able to apply for it because well... we have a monthly income of less than the stipulated ceiling. ^.^

Congrats kae! I also used to get bursary. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] every cent helps.

Ping ping

Aiyoh. Both mum and mil also? For me (and Geri so far) our mums are the issue but at least we get along with mil. Must be real tough for you both sides also mean...

Reverie

Poor thing... Sometimes I feel a lot of rlp can be prevented from worsening if dun have to live with them from the start. Somehow once they are prejudiced against u even if u behave like a saint, try yr best to get along/ dun step on their toes, they also see only crap.

Geri ur photo is very 'tasty' n nicely done. The angle it's captured n how it's show the bonding bet u n kai n ur new Bb. Envy ;)

iaad, u hv our support. We're all behind u. Do free feel to talk to us

mum n mil woes. I think it's common. Different background n brought up. My mum is easy going most times however, most times, i'll hv a serious issues if I were to take her adivse. Especially if I'm being 'bully' or view 'bullied' by my h or my anyone. Mums being mums tent to b a fighter cock when the youngs r bullied. Haha

My mil, has a mild personality which lead to multiple layers protection from her family. Inclusive of my h. This protection nearly cost me to D with my h when my first born came out. For 2 yrs, it's keep go round n round this issue n my h view tat her mum is giving a lot n we shd not b the one taking.

During tat time, ive suggested to place my gal into infant care, n after viewing most of the options, we r firm tat infant care is not safe. So the arrangement is to send my girl n my helper from bedok to amk every wkdays, while I'll take a bus n a train to my work place in woodland n bring her back to bedok in the evenings. Tat time, it's tough as it's the rainy season, I dun hv the car n my Bb is young. Moreover I've to bring along my breastpump n EBM everyday to n from work. Gd way of lossing weight lol. Lasted for 9 mths

When I bring up the issue of resigning to resting for 1 mth b4 gg back to work,cos all this has cos me my health. my h wanted me to take over taking care imm, with only 1-2 days of resting alone when I told him, I need more time, he chided me tat I'm too much n I'm taking adv of his mother .... So on. Sigh. So ladies, be ware on ur h behaviour on their mums.

Anyway, these r history. Mum or mil will seldom complaint in front of us, behind us, dun care, switch off both ur ears if it's still within ur theshold. Especially if u need them to look after ur bb, for more close both eyes. As long as ur Bb is happy n health, it's more then u can hope for. Believe me, if u c how most infant care works (even those top infant care ) u will be greatful.

Felpee, for ur case, I do agree with the ladies, u need to make a stand to ur mil, ur h's x n ur h.

Sleeping in sarong. I'm learn tat if everyone is generally happy n all precaution is taken, we shd not b to hard abt it. Ultramately, it's the Bb n the caregiver's comfort tat we need to focus on. Sleeping on cot hv it's danger too, I read articles tat Bb can die in their sleep vos they didn't or unable to turn their head cos out of oxygen. Ladies, pls ensure tat u r attentive to ur bundle of joy even they r sleeping in cot. U'll need to place their head slightly higher but not too high just abt 2cm high for new born.

Those who has no choice but to use sarong, educate the user n when the child reach crawling stage, break the habit. My girl just has a bad fell from my mil's house yesterday. She insisted on sarong hence my maid n mil give in to her n she ended up with s nasty cut on the chin which require more than 10 stitches. Heart pain n the doc say it will leave a scar. Cry cry

as for the gathering , i'm hoping to join for the lunch if my gel is recovering well.

Posted on Friday, November 26, 2010 - 2:29 pm:       

Updated the table a bit - i can make both Wed and Thurs. Geri mentioned she can make Wed, but preferably not Thurs. How bout the rest?

Raffles City Shopping Centre, Shokudou, B1 (right at the end, after Breadtalk)

1.idaarshad **PREFER DINNER** OK 9 DEC - but lunch also ok lah if more ppl want that?

2. geri - prefers 8 Dec lunch, 9 dec preferably not

3. choc - ok for lunch...

4. pootz

5. princess 31

6. Rachel

7. Joodz

8. Wish Child - lunch or dinner both can

9. C Nicole - ok for both lunch or dinner

10. trinket - lunch can, dinner cannot. 8 or 9 dec lunch also can

11. Blue Potatochips

12. Unicorn (9th Dec - Lunch ok, dinner can't)

13. MummyFiz

14. Eviangal - if Lunch.. dinner, cant.. need to rush home to see daughter.. 9 Dec ok for lunch.

15 kinderbueno - ok with both lunch or dinner

16 Baywater - generally ok with lunch but subjective to gel's recovery

Felpoo:

Your MIL is too much ..

Seems like she has not get over the fact that you are the legal wife now ..

Probably you should have a talk with your hb and tell him about how you feel rather than bottle everything up and feel even more terrible ..

Hi mums,

I cant meet up for lunch on Wed - 8th but maybe can pop by for a drink coz got company event ..

Will you all be offended if a 10 yr old gal kept talking nonsensical stuffs about your baby ??

I attended a family gathering yesterday and this gal kept bugging me ..

Initially her questions would be like "what's the gender of your bb", "when is your bb due" ..

Then later, she started to ask how to "打掉" the bb and can she use her fingers to poke my tummy ..

Last straw was when she asked whether the bb will come out if she pokes a chopstick into my tummy right at the moment ..

Which I immediately avoided the gal for the whole nite, ignoring her presence ..

But now I totally dislike the gal now for the things she said and I am really scared to let her touch my bb when born ..

My hb thinks I am abit paranoid and superstitious ..

Unicorn-

I find it most disturbing that she asked such questions too. =p I'd have a word with her mum actually because why is a 10yo girl asking about abortion?!?! Mmm... I'd have pointedly told her not to be rude actually. =p Gosh. Is she a niece or some distant relation's kid?

Baby will be fine. Dun worry and dun take what the kid said into heart. HUGS! She was just talking rubbish. Dun let fear take root over what she said.

Bay-

Thanks! =) We had a lot of fun taking those photos. The DI work is a pain though hahaha. So many pics... just gonna take my time. I have to clear some work before I start doing up more of the pics we took that day. Hehe.

Hope your gal gets better too. Is she down with a flu?

Morning Mummies,

I still have to work till 2.30 pm today .. going off to see my gynae at 3.15 pm.

Expo Fair

=========

I went down to the expo parenthood fair yesterday evening. hard trouble looking for carpark.

the main carpark was full and closed. i have to park at carpark K. near Max Pavilion. all eateries were packed too.

Parenthood fair is only half a hall . Hall 4 A while SITEX was 2.5 halls. Hall 4b to 6.

I bought new born diapers . Goon is selling 58 pieces at $14. Nepia is selling 60 pieces at $14.

there is a huge huggies both . huggies new born 24 pieces going at $6.50 only . KKH selling at $7.

Pigeon booth selling the steriliser set with bottle warmer 5 bottles @ $199 . I remembered the same set was selling for $188 at baby expo fair in Oct.

NEX the new isetan at serangoon MRT selling the set for $138 without bottle warmer.

Pigeon steriliser by itself is at $95 at expo fair. i bought mine in Oct from john little for $85.

Prudential is there at the fair as well. But mummies who were hospitalise do not have to apply for the PruFirst gift . my policy got rejected as I was hospitalise for 1 day in Oct due to PV spotting. I still feel it is a good policy to get for babies though.

those going to expo today, please go early . the fair opens at 11am . go 10 plus else no more parking and have to park far far.....

Hey thanks for the update! It's full because Sitex is going on ... I think the crowd is going to be quite worst than Friday so better take cab down instead or train.

I saw your Huggies price we bought it cheaper from NTUC, some of the things is not as cheap too. Probably had to be careful and not think because it's fair it must be cheaper. Do some homework before going down ba.

Got any bedding set selling there?

Joodz, added you aready. =P

Our_first_baby, our class is on every thursday! Hee have fun!

Geri, nice shot and you did a great job of conversion!Kae is really so sweet and smart for his age. =) OH btw Congratulations to Kae getting the Bursary.

I cant join the gathering as I would have to work and my workplace is kinda far from town. Enjoy mummies!

Huggies have free gifts if we buy 5 packets of small (can mix). You get a Littles Tikes Hammer (think worth about S$15) + a breastfeeding book. Calculated that per packet of Huggies is about $2 more than other brands like Dryers. But if you work out the free gifts, actually quite worth.

E.g. with 4 packets of small + 3 packets of ultra, can get Leapfrog counting pal, diapers, etc worth $52 + the Little Tikes toy (purchase at expo) + book + Points for cheaper purchases during Huggies promo + barcodes to change for more toys.. So the value kind of exceed the extra amount we paid..

I had been reading the thread actively and was supposed to be a Feb mum, but who knows that I will deliver in Nov. My lovable baby is still in ICU.

I signed up for a prenatal yoga class in Shambhala Forum shopping centre 6th level.

Only manage to attend one lesson. I have 5 lessons remaining.

I'm looking for someone to take over at only $100.

Classes are held on sat 1230-145pm or thursday 630-745pm.

Also availabe at 1130am on Mon, Tues, Thurs & Fri.

Instructress is very knowledgeable. She will attempt to understand each student's condition and which pregnancy week they are in and then advise them accordingly during the excercise.

Class size only 10-15.

Pls reply/ pm me asap if you can help as this package expiry date is 07 Jan 2011.

http://www.singapore.comoshambhala.bz/

I have also 3 tubes of Elancyl of stretch marks cream going at $70.

eviangal, it was quite confusing with the rewards. when we bought 2 packets a while ago, we saw the adverts on the packaging but couldn't be bother to read further as i supposed 2 packets wasn't enough to change anything. hesitate about stocking up due to baby preference.

terrylyn, this week is your first week too huh? i hope i won't get bored ...

charlottein, i read that once baby hit over 1kg they have a very good chance of making through. i heard my granny told me in the past that i was premature too, it was the doctor mistake who told my mom that it's time to get me out but after i come out they realized it's prematured. my granny blame it on my mom ... guess old people don't understand. These kind of things shouldn't happen but I guess the technology and standard was not that good in the past but now is different, everything is better and im sure it will be okay. So i tends to think i am younger than im actually is.. just a story from me ha ha. stay positive!

Hi Geri

My gal fell off from the sarong at my mil's house n suffer from a serious cut on the chin which require over 10 stitches.

Hence need to ensure the wound heal properly.

Charlottein-

HUGS! Like OFB, I believe your little one will do fine. =) With today's medical advancement, premmies do great and you'll be able to bring your sweetie pie home before you know it.

Keeping you in prayer!

OFB-

Wow! I cannot believe your mum's doc could "gabra" like that. ^.^"" And it must have been tough for your ur mum when ur gran started blaming her. Eeps.

Evian-

Really sounds like it was value for money. Maybe I will ask hubby to go check it out with me. What was the cost of 4 packets of small + 3 packets of ultra? =)

Unicorn, why is that 10 yr old child asking this question on how to "打掉" the baby? Does she mean this question literally as in aborting or just wanting to take out the child? You should find the mum and have a talk with her. Why did you think that there is a chance for her to touch the baby when born? Is the girl your relative?

Wow .. ReverieIs, your situation is machiam worse off than mine. They said that in front of you. Sometimes, old folks I felt, should have a bit more 口德. Everything is all about cause and effects. What goes around comes around. They seem to have the mentality that they are given such privilege because of their seniority.

My MIL learnt it the hard way as last time, she always complaint about me to the son and my hubby came to confront me and which in turn led to endless arguements. And with that, she can blame me for the son's sufferings and hardships, blah blah blah.. To me, if you are 自动 enough, you should just keep your mouth shut just like what I am doing now instead of stirring up problems. Now she only complains to outsiders about me.

As i mentioned on how bad her 口德 is, I relate an incident to all the mummies here to listen. My girlfriend who has a child born with some congenital problems, like hole in heart, speech delay and some other problems, you know what she tells me. She said this might be due to her retribution in her previous or present life. That's why she gave birth to such a baby. I was like, mouth gaping open, total loss of words. I wonder what about my previous miscarriage. Can I blame her because I feel that of what she said and that resulted her not having another grandchild to carry. Sigh.. 真的是没口德. And she kept telling the ex-wife how tough and hard her life is, and she keeps praying that Jesus will come down and rescue her from salvation.. Hehe .. No offense to the Christians in here.

I guess it's all just too complicated. And I think I better stop saying the bad things she says and does in here. After all, she is my hubby's mother and an old folk. Still have to give her some due respect though at times, she is far too much. I can't totally condemn her as she still has her merits and I think the best that I can do now is try to forget about this whole incident and move on. But I think it's going to take some time.

And now again, wandering aimlessly at home dun know what to do. I feel tired but cannot rest. Have to rush out before my MIL comes back home. Last night, when I came back home, I greeted her and never even bother to talk or look at her. I think she suspected that I had heard the conversation that she and the ex-wife had the other night. I seriously do not know how to face her or even put up a false front in front of her. Mentally and emotionally drained. Just have to wait for my hubby to come home before I step back into the house again. I was still thinking of going to the fair today but guess I give it a miss. Maybe I should start to pack a bit on my hospital bag. But before all this, I must end my post here and rush out before she comes back home. 好像有家回不得

Mummies, wish me luck!

Charmaine, Idaar, Choc, Geri and Judy, have added you in the FB. Someone pls add me into the Feb MTB group? Thanks

Hi Geri,

Thanks for your sugestion. I tried to eat brown rice and wholemeal bread, but not very suitable. I think my body is those heaty type. Get sore throat and fever easily if I take too much whole grain.

Just came back from expo. Got Avent manual pump bundle pack at $85 (up for pump alone is $119) + Avent milk bottles set at $40 (up $85) And get 7 pieces bedding set from happy puku at $69 (up $89).

Ofb,

I think only 2 - 3 booth that selling bedding sets, not as many as e baby fair last time.

Hi Feipoo-

Okay being a Christian, we don't believe in retribution and previous life... lol. Not offended lah dun worry. Just curious... what is her faith? Maybe she is like my mum, very rojak and as a result, very lost.

But you know the bible does advice us to speak the good over ourselves as there is power of life and death in our tongue. So as much as we can, to learn how to speak life over ourselves and our loved ones and those around us. Sometimes, we don't realise that when we speak negatively over ourselves or overly fear something, we inadvertently "welcome" that situation in our lives. There is this bible character called Job, one thing he said after disaster struck him was this, "That which I feared most has happened to me." It seems like by allowing himself to entertain those thoughts of fear, he allowed himself to be attacked in his life. =p

So always look on the bright side and speak what you want from your situation, not what you fear from it. =)

Could I send you some articles for her through you? =) Hopefully it can help encourage her along. ^.^

Fei, BTW I think it is so commendable that you've come to the conclusion that you have. HUGS! I hope she will someday realise what a blessing you are and I believe your hubby appreciates your patience and kindness thus far.

Hmmmm.... Watching my tummy warp as I type this. Lol. ^.^ Hubby is busy cleaning the aircons. Gonna start doing work a bit and will log on again later. =)

Jolin-

My body is not the "liang" kind either haha. My hubby and best friend call me a "heater". I am always radiating heat. Lol.

What I do is to up my intake of vitamin C. Apparently, Vitamin C helps to stave off the "heatiness" in the body in a way. At least, that is something I realised for hubby and me. He used to get ulcers a lot because we are in media line and have to sleep late very often. After starting on vitamin C (organic, food source kind... not synthetic sort), he stopped getting ulcers.

U can also try to balance this by drinking homemade barley water or Chrysanthemum tea. I drink 2 bottles of barley every other day. =)

Having said that, do check with your gynae about food recommendations. =) She or he would prob have better advice. =D

Hi mums,

We will probably pop by expo tomorrow ..

But I am more interested in getting a laptop than bb stuffs ..

Hee hee ..

Geri / Felpoo:

The kid is the step-daughter of an uncle ..

So we will see each other during family gatherings ..

I think I will get paranoid if she is near my bb when her family visits me ..

She always tried to snug near me when I was with the nieces ..

But I dont feel close to her coz she just joined the family 1 yr ago ..

I also dunno how to talk to her mum too .. Not close too ..

My hb said that if she asks the wierd questions again, he will talk to his uncle ..

The scenario that she wants to poke my tummy with the chopstick is really disturbing ..

hi Mummies ,

on Geri suggestion,I change back the group in facebook to a closed group and made Geri , wish child and joodz admin too .

Please feel free to edit the settings if you want to . i just want to group everyone together.

anyone else want to be admin?

joodz : u mentioned in facebook you added the wrong evelyn??

Geri,

Thanks. Will try e vit c. I do take barley drink and chrysantenum tea but since pregnant I try to reduce. Worried they will be too liang, hehe

Btw, do any remember does mt alvernia provide the receiving blanket?

If so, do anyone still buy extra sets? I couldn't remember what did i use to swaddle my girl back then.. It seemed like ages..

Geri, thks for the offer on the articles. She doesn't know how to read and yes, she's a Christian. I think I shall give the articles a miss. Thks anyway. Btw, as u were saying ur friends are doing photography, right? Do anyone of them do underwater shots? I had contacted quite a few an the most they do is only outdoor shots. I only need a shot of underwater n others can be nature

Jolin- Barley should be ok. It is not that cooling =) One or 2 cups a day is ok one.

Feipoo- Yup! They gave receiving blanket. But not towel material. I remember it was quite a thin cotton material- white with baby green lining

Will keep ur friend in prayer. Hugs.

Yup... they did underwater photography for my pre-wedding photos. I have quite a few pro- photographer friends.

What photos do u require and what is it for? =)

I can pass u their contacts if u want.

Geri, remembered that I mentioned taking shots for memoirs as this will be my last PG. Well, I want to do uw shots with my big stomach.. They do offer packages for preggies right? I m very camera shy and will want to do partial nude though. Would be good if u can intro female photographers to me.

Thks

Paiseh. =) I have been rushing out work so some parts of the forum i end up missing out... ^.^"""

My photographer friends are mostly guys though but they are gentleman and will prob have at least one girl around to help them out if it will put u at ease. They are really experienced though and one of them used to do photography and DI for the fashion spreads of "Revolution" - one of those atas watch magazines.

I can give them a call to see if they can are able to do it for you first? =) Not sure how their schedule is like. The other day happened to be public holiday hehe.

What is ur budget and do u have a pool u can use for the shoot already? ^.^

The ONLY female photographer/ DI artist I know is super super super super professional and super $$$$$. Lol. She shoots for Paris and Milan catwalk and for big brand campaigns that kinda thing hahaha. Her pricing is definitely way WAY higher becoz she does international fashion projects.

Geri:

thanks for the tip...i was pondering over what detergent to buy...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] wanna wash the new bb clothes while i still have some energy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Reverie Island: Luckily you have got a supportive hubby, if not I believe you will be suffering from your PIL's bad-mouthed.. Some hubbies will say things like "they're afterall my parents" and expect you to tolerate for the rest of our life.

@Felpoo: I guess what you can do now is to tolerate first and wait for a chance to record the conversation down and play it to your hubby. With the voice recording as a proof, your MIL cannot deny already. As some MIL will play the "I am so ming ku, I'm being framed by my DIL and I'm innocent" role in front of their son which will made their son loathe their wife.. But if your girl can talk, ask her to tell her daddy what ah mad said about you previously. Your hubby should believe your girl bah??

I had been thinking about Valerie aka Pinkyval these few days too as she used to be here almost everyday. Wonder how is she. Or maybe it's month end so she's more busy?

@Val: Do say hi to us if you read this thread ya. We all miss ya.. Do update us the weight of your bb boy ok?

Mummies gg to the fair... I managed to grab some stuff there bt no hands for the goon diapers... Who gg n can grab for me... Much appreciated.. Lemme know ok... Haiz.. Body in pain now

@Jolin: Did you saw any bundle set for Avent Electronic Breast Pump? Do you know how much is it and what is included?

@Felpoo: I'm very curious to know who is the rightful owner of the house you are staying in now? What about staying in your room instead of going nowhere? Your MIL should be ashame of seeing you and not giving you attitude or black-face knowing you overheard her conversation le.

Zanta,

Yes, they have Avent electric pump bundle pack, e price should be $200 plus (below $250) if I remember correctly. But I didn't look at e item (what is included) as I only targeted e manual pump.

Sorry. But should be quite a good buy, I think. I saw quite a few mummies checked on that.

Geri.

Really? Thanks for e info. I love barley drink but ad pregnant now, my mum asked me not to drink too much, hence even I had fever few days back, I also daren't to drink. Maybe I can cook some later, hehe

@Idaar: Is it v v jam over there? Or did you went there v v early to avoid the jam? What are the good buys you got?

Actually I also looking for someone to help me buy 1-2 pkts of Goon Diapers to try as I do not know if it suits my bb or not.. Prefebably those staying in the north so that it's easier for me to go get from you.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Geri: How much do you charge to DI pictures? Can stretch marks or pimples scar be edited away and still look v natural?

@Judy: Where does your stretch marks appear at? I do have alot at my buttock area which probably formed during my teenage years but it's not so visible now. But still, faster apply lotsa stretch mark cream to avoid new ones from forming..

@Charlottein: I believe your bb will be fine as OFB and Geri had said, today's medical are so advance so your bb will be a fine and healthy one. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I have a friend whose wife gave birth to a 7mth+ bb and is 1.4kg when born. Doctor said the lil one might need to stay in the ICU for 1mth but the bb only stayed for 1wk. And after 3yrs, the lil girl is still a healthy and bubbly one. So, stay positive ya. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

But may I know what causes your bb to come out early? My friend's wife's water bag broke so they went to KKH but she waited for 2 days before she gave birth to the lil one.

I just received my Amex bill for the month, and it's horrifying. All my Mothercare and Philips Carnival Sale purchases (all baby related) went on that card, and it's alot. Plus the fact that we booked a new car 2 weeks ago and put the downpayment on my credit card, the bill is jaw dropping! Sigh. All can be considered baby related expenses cos my old car can't fit a baby seat, so bo pian have to change car.

Thanks to all who gave feedback on the Parenthood fair. I was considering going this afternoon cos the hubby has to pull an overnight shift at the hospital and I'm alone at home today but I think I'll give it a miss since the crowds are so spectacular and there are so little baby clothes/other stuff available anyway. Could do with some Pigeon breastpads and diapers but can't be bothered to go all the way to Expo for them- petrol and parking will prob negate all potential savings anyway.

Anyone knows what's cheap to buy in Malaysia? Am going to KL next Wed-Sun. Hubby going there on a sponsored conference so I'm tagging along to enjoy the free hotel room + eat + shop, hehe. We'll be staying just next to KLCC so I will spend the days trawling the mall. Hoping to buy some essentials on the cheap- haven't bought nursing bras and gowns, maternity pads, maybe baby clothes, receiving blankets and such. Are they cheaper in Malaysia?

Shouldn't buy too much clothes tho...my baby's 2 grandmothers have been busy shopping! My MIL contributed a bagful of Osh Kosh and Disney baby clothes (bought by her friend on her US trip) and my mum bought tons of pink stuff from here and there- mittens, booties, hats, button-front tops, etc. I'm left to buy the not-so-cute things like cot/baby monitor/diapers etc. Hehe no complaints tho, since it saves me money and they're having so much fun.

Meeting my best friend for sashimi dinner tonight! Yum! So grateful my gynae gave me the green light to eat raw fish, otherwise pregnancy would be unbearable!

Have a great weekend mummies!

@Jolin: Thanks for the info. I guess the price might be the same as those major departmental store bah. So not so worth it to go all the way down for that. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Cherry: FOS selling cheap and nice rompers. But since the 2 grandmothers had bought so much, save the $$ on clothings bah. Just concentrate to buy those buy ticket items.

Cnicole: thks for making me the admin. Yah I added another Evelyn frm my friends list but it's okay.. Removed her and added the right Evelyn already:)

Zantarina: my stretch marks are small red streaks in a cluster below my tummy above the V area. Considered my blind spot so I did not take notice previously. I relied on my hubby to check for me. Time to time I will ask him if he spot any stretch marks and he'll always tell me no, it's still smooth and supple. Yesterday decide to use my hp to take an upward shot of my bump and holy bananas! I guess I wasnt prepared for it cos all along I assumed I am those lucky few without stretch marks and even bragged to My mom abt it. Haha..

cnicole, mind sharing the link for feb 2011 mtb in fb?

baywater, omg! how's your girl now? must be very pain for both of you! recently i saw my boy in sitting position in his sarong when he wakes up. he had a fall once already.. maybe i should make the switch to bed soon..

RE: stretch marks

my current stretch marks are from my no.1.. its in the whole of my lower abdomen. now is brown colour.. new ones havent appear.. i didn't apply anything to stop cuz i feel it doesnt works at all... plus my gynae ask me not to apply too much stuff cuz massaging might trigger contractions...

ZANTA-

No prob one. =) U want can also add makeup and looks natural... lol. I did not wear make up for my shoot, just foundation, so I basically added it in post and did my skin nicely.

I also ummm... ahem tucked in my chubby chin a bit and my chubby arm too XD.

As my hair colour was not even (half dark brown, half reddish brown) coz haven't touched up in months, I also evened out the overall colour. ^.^

The aim is to not overdo it but make it look damn nice yet natural all at once. =)

I charge depending on amt of work needed.

I have done very complicated DIs such as restoring old photos with missing bits or parts of the picture that went mouldy or got very badly discoloured. Those I charge much higher because of the degree of complexity.

Jeanie-

Like you my stretchmarks are from my first child. But it still is just a fairer tone for mine.

If any of you have stretchmarks, avoid exposing that area of sunshine (dun tan ur skin there when swimming) as it will make the pigmentation worse.

For me, I do apply Bio Oil... haven't had any problems and gynae says it is ok. So after shower, I just dab on some oil. Some days I also use Body Shop's spray on olive oil. I bought tons a while ago before they discontinued it.

Joodz-

Hahahahaa! I know the feeling lor. For the longest time with Kae, I had no stretchmarks hor. Then suddenly the MRT lines appeared- first as a short line then it spreaded all over. Sianz! =)

But it will fade over time =)

Jolin-

Supposedly in third tri we can start drinking coconut juice le (lagi cooling right). Lol.

I did that with Kae in third tri. I drank coconut juice every once in a while. ^.^

As long as you don't overdo it, it's ok. Ur body needs the balance too.

mommies, have u / ur frens tried Sleepy Wrap? I went to the baby slings shop at Square 2 just now after my appt at TMC and was gonna look at the Menduca and the auntie (owner I think) rec me the Sleepy Wrap for younger babies (can use from NB).. feels pretty gd..$79.90 there, retails for US$39.90 online before shipping..

Wondering if any other mommies are interested? It fits all sizes since u 'tie' it yourself.. but not complicated to do so.. and the fabric is pretty high quality as far as I can tell and tried

Back from parenthood fair. got fine for illegal parking.. =P

i bought a Maclaren Quest stroller for #01 as current stroller is suitable for new born. HB saw the advertisement but went to wrong booth initially.

the booth is selling at 279 without organiser. HB told them that adver states it is 238. the sales personnel said wrong price was stated.

but we found the correct booth with 238 + complimentary organiser which costs 45. the booth is at the end of the right side.

I got pigean food n diapers for #01.

Geri: yeah.. that's my mum. imagine my sis who is going to get married next yr keep calling me n crying in the phone..

@Joodz: Some ppl already told me that their stretch marks appeared in their third trimester, some got it weeks before they gave birth, but my bestie got it during her second trimester so I'm still keeping my fingers crossed. We can only try to prevent by apply anti-stretch mark cream/gel/oil but if it still appears, then we got no choice too. But did you apply any anti-stretch mark cream?

@Jeanie: I saw from the instruction booklet which come together with the stretch mark cream, it said don't apply it in circular motion, apply in up/down motions to prevent contraction so I did that.

I am going to make my own sleepywrap actually hahaha. It is about finding a similar blend of cloth and getting the right length cut. I can get a friend or my mum to just sew the hem around to make sure it stays fine. The sleepywrap's key thing is really in how you wrap and the blend of fabric they use lor. =)

Zanta-

It actually boils down to how stretchy your skin is. The oil only helps prevent it from getting dry and flaky. Drink more water, take more vitamin C as vitaminc C helps your body make more collagen =)

I might make the sleepywrap (which I forum-ed about months ago) to use with Noah for just the initial 2 mths then switch to my Menduca. =)

Zantarina.... Bought diapers n clothes.. Not much time as rushinh to booth n lots of ppl gg sintex n the fair is so far compard to many other years... Blanket n booties as well

Felpoo dear.... Be strong n we have problems one way or another... hope u will find a resolution soon....

@YJHL: Sleepy wrap looks hot too me le coz it kinda wrap around our upper body from front to back..

@Geri: You mean Makeup can also be edited on our face? I think I'm only looking at editing of nice complexion. Haha..

My mum got no stretch marks at all on her tummy after giving birth to 4 children. But she is v kiasu la, start to apply Palmer Cocoa Cream from the time she knows she's preg so she swears by it. Other then applying stretch mark cream, I also cook white fungus in dessert and eat them as white fungus contains collagen.