(2011/01) Jan 2011

o ya! Angel done her successful flip 2days ago!

the best part is, she was sleeping and cos of her gassy tummy, probably in pain, and she twist n twist till flipped a few times. this 2 nights all like that. then now she know how to flip already! haha!!

Grumpus, chelleybaby, charleen,

But if eliminate egg n dairy products..i really dun know what things i can eat liao le...like every morning, i dun know what kind of breakfast i can eat...avoid dairy, i cant drink milo ady. No bread, no cake, no biscuit....how huh?

Or it is better to change to fm then i no need to worry what i eat will cause allergy to bb?

puix,

that's why nowadays i also hardly eat breakfast already.

can still eat bread, cornflakes, cereal. bread got no dairy and eggs (i think). drinks more difficult, just drink plain water lor.

dun change to FM!! BM is still best. it's just a small prob.

Puix,

I haven't been taking dairy and eggs since a couple of months back cuz of my son's reflux. Every morning I hv toast with jam. I drink plain water or soya bean. Sometimes I drink sugar cane or crysanthemum. No Milo, no bubble tea, so hv to find alternatives. So no cakes or chocolates for me too. It's just a small sacrifice on my part, since still got bm, why not? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Grumpus, chelleybaby,

Do u know y ur bb got allergy? Is thst becoz ur fsmily members have allergy history like asthma, allergic nose, etc? Will ur bb's eyes n nose seems like red red all the time?

Btw, my boy is still waking up every 3-4 hrs for milk even at night, he drink at most only 120ml..is it normal to a almost 5 mths old bb? How come he cant stretch his sleep during night? But day time he does not want to drink more than 120ml each feed wor so cant make him full enuf during day time...

puix,

my family has history of various allergies. childhood asthma, eczema, contact dermatitis, rhinitis etc etc....

some bb just hv small tanks. my elder girl was like tat. 3-4hrly milk through the night. if i make her drink more during the day she will vomit. no choice but to continue until she was 7-8mths and eating more solids, then her night feeds wean off.

Puix,

I was allergic to cows milk when I was a baby, i was on isomil (soy fm).

And my son also can't sleep thru the night, he goes to bed ard 9+ and will be up for milk at 1, 4 and 7. I'm used to it already. In the day he is bottle fed, and he drinks 100 ml every 3+ hrs, taking more than 1/2 hr to finish it!

grumpus, chelleybaby,

both my hubby n I dun really have serious allergy ler...maybe just nose sensitive in the morning. And heard that my sis-in--law has childhood asthma. that's so unlucky for my boy to got the eczema...sigh...

i have a question ler...now i have about 30+ frozen milk inside my freezer (prepared before i back to workforce). During that time, i dint know my boy got eczema or may have food allergy, so did not control my diet. Does that mean that I got to give up those milk? that's very wasted ler especially my supply is low and those are precious to me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Puix,

you can try giving those in the freezer, but if u see it triggers his eczema, then yes, no choice got to dispose or give them away. Else u can hold on to it first then try again a couple of weeks later. I stopped dairy in late feb, and I gave away my frozen ebm tt was stored before that. No choice.

Puix, do some trial n error testing on ur frozen ebm.

U can have Horlicks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Try not to keep the room too dry too. So bb skin will b moist but not wet or too dry. It'll help a bit [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Puix,

Some bbs r just sensitive n not truly allergic. When they're slightly older they can adapt. Depending on how old the febm is, maybe u can keep n try again when bb is older

Chelleybaby,

Yr boy exactly like my elder girl. 1, 4, n 7am until 8mths.

puix, i am not quite sure how bad your baby's ezcema is but mine has ezcema as well (that's what the PD told me). I was prescribed with Physiogel AI cream as I had previously posted. I apply every morning. It seem to help but my baby's skin still feel dry. When I went to PD last week, I am told that i have to moisturise 3 times a day...PD said the bottom line is to keep moisturising or keep baby's skin moisturised.

Maybe you can try to keep your bb's skin moisturised the entire day while keeping your diet free from any possible allergy.

Hope my little input can help you.

Had a terrible week! I had flu sibce last Thurs and till now slow in recovering. Then my supposed very productive breast decrease in supply suddenly 3 days ago. End up I got a bad blocked duct and had to go to lactation consultant to help me clear. Almost cried in pain when she massaged my stoned breast for 30mins plus before it finally clear. Then since then that hole didn't squirt during pump. Takes me 1 hr to empty that breast and to get 100ml plus when normally I can get more amount in just 20mins. Wondering is my supply really decreasing since I am totally expressing or due to my sick and lack of rest. So sad now.

puix,

there's an article in today's straits times mind your body abt eczema. as mentioned, eczema is a recurring skin prob, certain food may aggravate and cause flare ups but even if u avoid those foods, it doesn't mean the eczema is cured.

long term management of the condition is needed. like for my elder girl, even though her skin 'looks ok' already we still hv to continue to moisturize 2-3 times a day and she still gets minor flare ups.

i hv another very detailed article gotten from my dermatologist, explaining how to manage etc etc. PM me if u want a copy.

Hi, need advice from breastfeeding moms who has gone on vacation. I am a 'pumping' mum and will be going to KL next week. May I know:

1) how can I transport my pumped milk to and fro? I have a cooler bag but how can I keep it cool during my hotel stay in KL since there is no freezer?

2) How do I sterilise my pump parts? Understand I can use a tablet but not sure how that works.

Is there anything else I should prepare for? Will appreciate any advice from moms who have travelled. Thanks

CLtine: There is a blog which a kind mom posted earlier. You should look at that blog cos I had followed that blog when I first travelled and pumping.

During your hotel stay, you have to ask the hotel to keep the EBM in their freezer. No hotel's bar fridge can freeze your EBM. Is your baby going with you? If so, bar fridge can help to keep it cool while you feed your baby the EBM.

For sterilization, i use pigeon's sterilizing tablet that look like a Vitamin C effervescent tablet. Instead of a large container, i brought a very large zip lock bag, put all bottles in, fill it with bottle, drop in the tablet. That bag is left in the skink overnight.

If your baby is going with you, dun bring only 1 bottle. I brought 4 so that i can wash and sterilize all when I am out shopping with baby.

Things to bring depend on if your baby is going. The bottle cleaner solution and brush is a must.

Let me know if you want to know more.

hi ivftwins, yes i am bringing my baby. Where can i get d sterilisation tablet? Any idea whats d blog address? Thanks a lot for yr help.

Hi grumpus, chelleybaby,

Since your bb also fed 3hrly, may i know do u wait for your bb to cry for milk or you will warm the milk every 3 hrly if he stil hasl not crid for it? Sometimes, my mil recall wrongly the last feed timing, she will warm the milk and feed bb, so the interval only 2.5hr....doing so will make bb a habit to drink too frequent or not n he hence wont stretch his feeding timing?

puix,

i fed my girl every 3 hrs even if she did not cry for milk. that's cos the amt she can drink each time is always abt the same even if i stretch the hrs. so in order to make sure she gets enuff milk throughout the day, i still continue to feed at 3hrly

Puix,

I will warm the milk first anyway cuz can keep heated in the warmer for an hr. I will wait for him to fuss a little before feeding, else if he's not hungry, he'll not finish the bottle.

Puix puix, ya, now I ink we are all chatting in fb instead [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] come come!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wah.. become want to sell thread... =(

can anyone pm me the link in fb?i wanna join in too!!

grumpus,

how are u? we can arrange for playdates soon.. when u free?

Gal,

afternoon wat time? i hv to be home by 2-3pm for my elder girl to take nap.

we could meet for lunch abt 11plus to 12?

u sms me ok?

Lily,

i also just sent request as a member. Am siau huey. i need to be added before i can see all the discussion right? can someone accepted my request? Thanks.

Grumpus, gal dolphin, you all bring out bb to meetup arr? where do you both stay? I dare not bring my bb out...he regconize people n place. cry terribly when meet strangers and see new place. sigh.....

Puix,

Gal dolphin stays toa payoh, I stay near toa payoh.

we both hv older kids so more experienced handling bb. Dun need to feel stress tat u dun bring bb out.

My elder girl was like yr bb, recognise ppl n place n get overstimulated easily. When we do go out, she will be very fussy tat night n very difficult to put to sleep. Made me dread bringing her out.

Slowly lor, when bb get older will get easier. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

puix,

i can understand.. my gal now is also like tat... she doesnt recognise ppl n place but she can go wo milk n sleep for as long as outside the moment come back then i very stress coz she will cry ++++ n scream +++... so i very stress to bring her out..

where u staying? u also stay at home mom? mabe we can meet up for playdates? i think go either one of our houses is better.. easier to manage.. when the kids become older then we can move out... hehe.. what u think puix?

Gal dolphin, i stay in sengkang. Am working part time now, 3days per week. M interested in playdates which can train my boy to be more sociable but then my husband always flying...i not dare to bring bb out alone wor...

Somemore my boy no sarong he wont sleep..jialat right. Milk also cry, sleep also cry.. See strangers n place also cry...how huh? Hahaha....

Puix2,

I can totally understand how u feel... I was like u too when I had my boy.. then I slowly learn... no worries.. we learn together as we go ok?give your bb sometime... he will learn to cope..n u can either bring him out in sling or carrier... n when bb are tired they will sleep no matter where they are.. they will fuss abit.. after awhile will b ok...

Oh.. ur hub has to fly ard.. is he pilot?[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] then not easy for u.. do u hv any help?n try to rest while bb rest... its quite important n no worries u count u in for playdates...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] can pm me your contact?[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Puix,

my baby also like tt!! Haha mine is a major crybaby! At home also cry, drink milk also cry, car ride also cry, sit stroller also cry, go out will also cry after awhile! Plus his lung power damn good, everyone in the shopping centre will turn and look at us then we hv to practically run to the car. Haha. My hubby also always not ard most of the time, so I try to train my boy by going out once a day to the nearby shops and walk walk with him in the baby bjorn for awhile. Slowly by slowly he can last longer outside. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Puix,

U open up yr hse for playdate. We all bring bb to yr hse then yr bb will be able to socialize [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ya remember u, chelleybaby, n my hb all same industry. So we shd form a support group [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Grumpus & puix,

yes we shd form a support group! Hubbies always away, we must help each other! My husband was away for 8 days, back for 3 and he just left for another 5 day flt. Haiz, sometimes I wonder if my son can recognize his daddy. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Gal dolphin, ya he is pilot...my mil helping now..but she wil be away 1 month..so i am on 1 month leave to take care bb ..sigh...

Grumpus, chelleybaby..yaya shld form a support grp ....btw, my home very messy, no maid le...paiser to open house le...hahaha. My hubby schedule also very tight...sianz...

Puix2 & chelleybaby, think u shd let more people interact with ur BB so that they will get used to it. I bring Angel to church every Sunday since she is 1month old. Then always bring her out for viewings n shopping. She enjoy everyone's hug n carry n play with her. Even strangers stop to play with her while we carrier her in shopping centers [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My niece was v afraid of strangers too as she is often at home. But now they bring her out a lot, she is better now [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

So don't worry ok! The more u bring ur BB out, the more they will b able to accept strangers [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Any mommy drive with their baby alone? Ie, mommy drive and baby take the car seat and no one else in the car. Does your baby behave themselves throughout? Mine is a naughty one...occasionally, can cry till face is red and gone soundless type...Wonder how to teach baby to take car seats when alone. On the other hand, if my husband drives and I take the back seat with baby in car seat, baby is fine...He will look at me, hold my hand. When he cry, i can take him out of seat. But when I drive, i cannot take him out of seat.