(2011/01) Jan 2011

luckymummy11,

I also had the same question.

Not too sure. But seems to be only at Raffles City.

I always don't get the flyers in the mail. So I will check their website now and then.

jass,

i dun remember seeing nestle..could be i missed out.

you can check w the other mummies who've been there.

but one thing for sure is that there's booth that sell diapers such as

1. huggies, 2. goon and 3. nepia

I had been reading the thread actively and was supposed to be a Feb mum, but who knows that I will deliver in Nov. My lovable baby is still in ICU.

I signed up for a prenatal yoga class in Shambhala Forum shopping centre 6th level.

Only manage to attend one lesson. I have 5 lessons remaining.

I'm looking for someone to take over at only $100.

Classes are held on sat 1230-145pm or thursday 630-745pm.

Also availabe at 1130am on Mon, Tues, Thurs & Fri.

Instructress is very knowledgeable. She will attempt to understand each student's condition and which pregnancy week they are in and then advise them accordingly during the excercise.

Class size only 10-15.

Pls reply/ pm/ 81616490 me asap if you can help as this package expiry date is 07 Jan 2011.

http://www.singapore.comoshambhala.bz/

I have also 3 tubes of Elancyl of stretch marks cream going at $70.

Currently at expo ... Wow the crowd here is horrible .... So many ppl ... Parking definitely a prob... Trying to cruise my way to hall 4....

Wow! Seems very pack at expo :-/ sigh... Now still tinking go or not. Any mummies there seen BUGGSTER Baby pram?

Currently only left the pram which I yet to buy.

O ya! How to fit in our new born in carrier in car when we discharge from hospital? BB so tiny... :-/

hi mummies, i came in here just to check what's at the parenthood expo and saw some of u were keen on the bjorn so thought i'd share some advice from a mummy of a 17-month old. i got the synergy which was the highest range = excellent back support + mesh so breatheable and thus baby wont be so hot. i used it for when she was 2 months till about 8 months, by then quite heavy. then i found this other carrier called manduca sold at novena which is much better i find. baby's support not at groin area and good spine support for baby as well. btw im not supporting this carrier brand or anything, you can go to the shop there and try a few. some may like other brands. but after that i find bjorn like not so good cos compress baby against you, and lagi worse if you carry baby facing out when they're older. it's actually very strenuous for them. just to share this advice cos bjorn is not cheap (neither is manduca, it's about $250 but can use until kids are older cos got back, front and hip carry) so rethink your investment.

Charleen, actually when coming home from hospital most prob you'll just carry baby in your arms because too early for baby seat i find. and the head like so wobbly..just ask hubby to rest before driving and drive safely. i got the bugaboo chameleon and maxi cosi car seat and only put baby in after 1 month (after confinement) and still the seat like too big for her then. haha. hope this helps.

Hi caramelle,

tot sg traffic police say a must to put the BB in car seat? I was trying to figure how for quite a while till now kinda give up. Haha! C if any experienced mum can teach :p

I got a BB carrier, but NB still kinda small to put in, even if put in, how to put safety belt? Sigh.. Prob gotta consult the traffic police if we kanna their stop :p or pose this question in their traffic police forum :p giving us such a difficult task. Somemore I'm gg back jb to do my confinement! ^_^"

cos of BB passport issue, I gotta extend my stay in hospital for 3-4days more :-/

haha!

charleen,

wow your hospital stay is gonna cost quite a bit then.

parenthood expo:

Anyone saw babysafe products there? Any idea what is the discount like? If it's so packed maybe I'll just wait for the robinson's sale.

baby weight:

went for my checkup yesterday and doctor pronounced that I've put on too much weight (again!) Ladies, may I know what is the norm for you now? I thought 3 kg in a month in our third trimester didn't sound too bad....baby is currently estimated 2.3-2.4 kg at 33wks.

Charleen,

when my #1 was brought home from hospital she was barely 2kg. so i definitely dun hv a big bb.

still we put her in the bb car seat from day 1.

we used the infant head support cushion to support her head and neck plus the seatbelt cushions as additional support for her neck.

one wk after discharge there is an appt to check bb jaundice level, means u hv to take bb out again. so that's another time u'll be risking yr bb if u dun use the car seat. it's not just the trip home from hospital.

sorry, car seats are something i feel extrememly strongly abt.

Charleen,

thank you. baby is ok. moving actively as per normal but i strain my thigh muscle as a result of the slip. so thigh muscle hurt badly when i sit and stand. my fault. so now have to tahan the pain.

car seats

you may wan to asked the experienced mums about it. i bought 2 infant head support, 1 for car seat and 1 for pram. so will put the infant head support n maybe some cushion/small pillows to fill up the gap to ensure safety.

you (or hubby) may wan to try out and familiarize yourself a few gadgets before you deliver.

- baby seat, pram, sterilizer, breast pump

luckymummy,

3rd trimester supposed to be 2kg per mth. 3kg dun sound to bad la. i put 3-4kg per mth in 2nd trimester already.. so i'm quite scare of standing on the scale. my gynae appt is on Monday. keep you posted on my weight gain.

i think giant sell babysafe products also. can't recall if i seen it at expo.

re: newborn in car seat

actually hubby and i have been contemplating about getting infant car seat for baby.. but decided against it as i was telling hubby we'd not go out much during the first few months and when about 4 months onwards can start using those car seats that are suitable from newborn onwards le.. we bought maxi-cosi dori that is supposed to be suitable for newborn.. but i doubt we'll really use it.. the first few months i'll probably just sit at the rear passenger seat, put on my seat belt and carry baby myself instead.. :p i dont see the point in spending a few hundred bucks on something that will only be used for a few months and not very often..

luckymummy>> you can try going to kiddy palace to look for babysafe products.. taka baby fair will also have.. the next taka baby fair is in Mar.. just nice after confinement..

diapers.. just curious.. what are the brands that mummies here have purchased for baby's use? i was told to prepare abt 200 pieces of diapers just for first month alone!! personally i've bought huggies newborn and small size and have gotten a brand new pack of drypers newborn size free from somebody else.. thinking if i should buy a pack of pampers newborn size as well.. hur hur.. any recommendations?

Pinky,

If u sit in the rear with yr seatbelt on u r safe. The bb u r carrying in yr arms is not.

Somebody hits u from behind, the first to go flying is the bb in yr arms.

The value of safety cannot be measured in terms of dollars.

pinky,

i agree w grumpus. i was thinking EXACTLY like you. sit in the back seat and carry the baby in a baby sling. but all the mummies at work scold me and say this kind of money dun save. they advise me to hunt for a car seat that can last more than 1 year.

so at the last baby expo i bought 1 car seat that's for 0-18kg at $109(dun really know 18kg is the weight of which stage)but hubby and i decided that we dun wan to compromise on the safety.

bought from this company at the last baby expo.

http://www.aprisin.com.sg/store/index.php?main_page=index

Hi Pinky,

I would suggest you do not stock up too much of new born diapers. It really depends on your bb birth weight. Some S size diapers can fit 3kg and above. Moreover, you will have a packet of new born diapers from the hospital which you can bring home. (they will charge to your bill). i have always been a fan of pampers. i find huggies and mamypoko too thick. i heard goon is good also.

Hihi I bot 2 packs of goon to try bot it at parenthood fair for $14 for 58pc of newborn bot some advent bottles too and kiasu bot 8bottles of heinz bottle food at 10 bucks lol bot some cute hairbands for my gal too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Okie.. v strong reaction against what I plan to do.. I shall go borrow infant car seat from hubby's cousin..

gingersnap I have diapers newborn size to last a week or so.. so think I'm still quite safe.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] found that prime supermarket near my place sells huggies super ex.. :'(

Hi Pinky

RE: Diaper

I learnt from experience from my mummies friends that dun store up too many same brand diapers at the same time. Your bb's bum may develope rash from the particular diapers. Wait and monitor to see if your bb is okie. Buy small pack first. So if he/she is okie, then get yr family mambers to stock up for u.

If he/she develope rash, at least u can still change the brand.

I bought only 1 small pack of pampers NB (24 pcs).

Pooh.. so far the amt I bought is still ok.. bought the huggies at parenthood fair as it was cheaper.. I controlling what I buying le.. :S

Chubby,

Up to 18kg car seat can last very long. My girl is 3 and weighs 12+ kg. Some of the boys her age weigh abt 15kg.

So yr car seat can last at least till 4-5 yrs old.

I was at the fair too yesterday from 4pm to 8pm, we didnt park, my hubby just drop me and go, otherwise I wont be able to shop for too long. He sure nagging & asking me to go within 2hrs. Really very crowded outside, but inside of the motherhood fair was still managable.

I was quite irritated by the sales pple trying to aks us to fill up survey form n the delphine pot..... Everywhere I go, I see them, I mean not just in the fair. They are at united sq and all the malls.

I bot 6 sets of few sleepers that covers up to their toes, a snuggle, one set of towels, puku mittens and booties (5 for $10 tot that's cheap), 2 packs of Huggies NB, 1 pack of Nepia NB and 2 packs of Huggies wetwips, one nurising bra and one bumper mat from small small world.

Opps, I realise that I might have bot too much NB size already. =/

Lately I keep feeling pain at the vaginal region. It's like cramps, the pain come v fast and go every fast.... especially when my movement is big, ie open my leg big. Quite worrying coz i didnt experience the previous round.

pinky,

yah I saw babysafe at kiddypalace, but I don't know when their sales are. will probly go to the robinsons sale to check it out with my mum. can see household stuff too.

I got a safe n sound (australian made version of britax) carseat which can accommodate a newborn to 18kg. Shd last for a real long time and safety really can't be compromised.

chabby,

my 3 year old nephew is about 16kg and he's fairly tall but not skinny. So I'm sure your carseat will be worth the investment.

poormummy,

how much is the bumper mat at smallsmall world? heard the prices are the same as on the bulk purchase section in the forum.

newborn diapers:

does TMC give us a complimentary pack of diapers? or rather they will provide but the cost is charged to us?

since my baby is apparently higher on the growth charts I don't think she'll fit in the newborn size diapers for long. hehe. bought more small size diapers from 4kg onwards.

Poor mummy, check with ur gynae if u are worried.

I went for mine on Friday and told gynae my uterus is always tightening. When I lie down for svan, he say "oh contractions". I was freaking out cos I am 33 weeks. But he say nothing to worry. Bb weight about 2.4kg and he said it's big. When I look at scan screen and pictures given, data on picture say my edd has moved from 15han to 5jan and I am now in wk 34?! Does this change? I wonder is it cos he never key in my data in scan machine or machine detect base on baby size?

Ivetwins

I also have similar scares recently... Last fri when I was shopping ard i felt my tummy tighten till it's (like a rock), it quite painful when bb move abt. Was so scare I broke out in cold sweat! It lasted abt 10mins before I feel it relaxin. After tht I felt so tired n sore...

Wonder if this is Braxton hicks... I kinda have this irrational fear tht bb will come out earlier than planned.. -_- I m nt mentally prepared yet! N I m only 34 weeks... So scary

ivftwins,

the edd on the scan machine is calculated based on bb size. so if yr bb is big the edd will move forward, if yr bb is small edd will move back.

the original edd given when u first got preggie shd be the most accurate.

Hey poormummy, I think I have the same pain as you. Initially I was also very worried. But I find that I get it when I walk too much that day or if I'm too tired. Usually after resting, its much better. So I forgot to ask doc about it the last time I saw her. If you are very worried, or the pain is really bothering you, do check with ur doc. =)

Hi ivftwins

don't Worry my is more advance than yours when I am week 32 my gal already week 34 few daz but my gynae nvr tell me the weight either so I guess my baby is bigger too he will keep saying not to worry and I am having c sec so baby big also no issue -_-

I think I just need to keep talking to baby everyday that the scheduled c-sect date is not here yet and he must not come out.

I am placenta previa and breech position, nothing's gonna change the fact that i am having c-sec. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

so which week we are in will also change on the machine lah...tot that is fixed but edd can move....

my uterus these days are tightening more often. at night, in the day, get out of car,etc....

tahan!!!!!!

ivftwins and nimkulut>> if you both are worried about tightening of ur uterus, please take salbutamol that has been given by your gynae to relax your uterus.. i've been forced by my gynae to take it as i've experiencing the tightening too often..

re: car seat

actually the car seat that i got (maxi-cosi: dori) is suitable from newborn onwards.. but hubby and i are concerned about the angle coz it seems to not go very flat..

just went to do my first round of washing of baby's stuff (blanket and washcloths).. still got baby's clothes, towels, mittens and booties etc to wash.. urgh.. was looking at the list of things to pack.. i'm still so not prepared..

anyone knows if la senza sells those long sleeve and pants pajamas suit? planning to get a few sets from la senza since they are having year end sale now..

can do and see...i oso wanna get some nice open front PJs... last time i wear those cartoon cute Pjs with button front, my hb wanna faint... haha

re: washing baby stuff -

do we need to use baby laundry detergent to wash these stuff like blanket, bedsheets etc? also, use our normal machine can right?

re: PJ suits -

la senza definitely has, I bought 2 suits from there, both are open front, and they have un-cartoon designs. =)

Hi hi

I just went for my gynea visit yday.

Hmm... gained another 1kg. So far put on 5.3kg pre-pregnancy till now. *phew*

Baby weighs about 1.8kg (only) *bleh* :p I feel bad for my no.2 leh.. coz my no.1 is BIG baby. how come this no.2 is smaller?? hmm..

And...... EVERY single person around me is commenting that my tummy is Pointy.. so everyone say it's BOY. haiz. But scan already show girl. why like that?

cookiefleur,

I machine wash all bbies' stuff. Make sure to close all velcro, buttons, snap buttons.. before putting them into the washer. Also make sure to read washing labels for instructions.

I use only a little of baby's detergent... ie. about 1/3 of recommended amount will do. Soft toys or very tiny items like mittens/botties.. i will put in laundry bag.

I've been busy purchasing baby cloth diapers (not the old fashion chinese flats like Pigeon).. and busy preparing them with multiple washes before baby can use. Been doing alot of 'studies' about cloth diapering also. LOL. Think im getting crazy over it. wahaha

Anyone planning to use cloth diapers for your bbies too? What brands are you getting?

ivftwins,

you mean the contractions you feel are not braxton hicks? Will too many BH lead to the real thing too soon?

pinky,

you are gonna get long sleeved pjs? Not scared it will be too hot? Or you've already been allowed to switch on the aircon during confinement? I have a la senza set of the type you are describing...super hot for normal weather in singapore if the aircon is not on.

If la senza has short sleeved and knee length pjs I'll buy...but I think those are more rare.

miaiko,

that's a very controlled weight gain! my doctor was telling me at 33 weeks baby shd be 1.8-1.9kg. So I'm way over the average standards at 2.3kg. Smaller baby easier to deliver. And don't forget we still have over a month to go?

My colleague also has a very pointy tummy and it's confirmed to be a girl cos she went for the amniocentesis. So those old wives tales are not always true also.

Re: cloth diapers,

I gave up on the idea already cos I'm very scared of the extra washing involved. I already foresee myself to be one of those mummies who can't even get a chance to bathe properly cos I'll be so overwhelmed with baby's needs.

But IF I had to resort to cloth diapering cos of sensitive skin, I'd use bumwear. The material is so soft! I actually ordered a pair from the BPs here..the no-name brand type, and the 'fleece' used is much rougher and feels like it'll be much hotter. Think if you cloth diaper, you should go all the way and buy decent quality. After all it's meant to last till the next child and beyond.

lilyh,

think my doctor is so worried about my baby size cos he's very pro-natural delivery and doesn't want to resort to c-section cos of baby size. Actually he mentioned I'll be the one working harder if she's too big...which is true...*gulp* So be thankful yours is c-section.

Hey Miaiko,

Thanks for your advice! What about softener? Do baby stuff need to add softener?

Wow, your weightgain really very controlled! Mine is 2x yours! haahaha!

Alot of people also say my tummy is more pointed than rounded, so always ask me if its a boy, then i'll just tell them its a girl. think this old wives tale not true at all and the belly button stick in/out one also not true. hhahaha...

cookiefleur,

I wouldn't put softener for baby's clothes. Actually I don't even use for my own washing. Softeners contain a lot of fragrance which can irritate those with sensitive skin or sinus problems. Can save money too.

what is the belly button sitck in/out myth?

anyone start to wash baby clothes already??

i haven't start any yet..

dec mummies starting to pop..

soon will be our turn..

i was wondering when is the best time to wash the clothes..

i still have yet to buy some stuff like baby wipes and diaper..

Miaiko: ur weight really envy me lo..

i ready gain 11kg liao lei..

i'm so scare that i can't get back to shape after i give birth..

baby clothes

i very evil + lazy. outsource them to be washed by my mum.. muhahaha.. i only wash the some mitten, socks n booties myself. actually read a parenting book (100 tips i wish i knew in my baby's first year)that there's no need to buy those baby detergent. just opt for a detergent that is bleach-free, dye-free and fragrance-free will do.

confinement PJs

experienced mummies say wear your normal home clothes will do. you'll be sweating like mad after delivery. if you are doing c-sec, 1 pc dress is recommended. my mum bought those 1 pc batik dress w zip at the front till the naval button which will be easy for BF. $5 each from market. will be confine at home anyway so it make no sense to blow $$ on PJs. my mum also insist that i wear slippers as bare feet cannot touch floor. socks not realistic in SG weather.

pointy tummy and naval button out = boy myth

miaiko..

wah.. so envious. i already put on 11-12kg.. tmr gynae appt and i jus ate sizzler salad bar for lunch today..hur hur

pinky

just use the car seat and dun think so much. unless you can go loan a small baby to try the seat to see if it's the rite size. you can invest in those baby infant head and body support to make sure it fits better. looks like this.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4803060.jpg]

luckymummy

jus use disposable for the first few weeks la. dun worry. i've the traditional cloth type but intend to use the disposable for the first month or so until i got the hand of things. anyway, babies that use disposable has lesser diaper rash actually. read that boys tend to have lesser diaper rash too.

like you, i believe i have to push until face green green. my baby is bigger than average all this while.

ivftwins and nimkulut

i've 3 episode of tummy tightening so far.. 2 when i'm asleep. hmmm.. not sure if that's BH. so quite clueless. but 1 thing i'm paranoid about is going to toilet to shit when i've already done my big biz that day! cuz my sister says that's her first sign of deliver and the contraction pain feel like the pain before shitting.

infant car seat,

i din think about baby size, if the car seat is infant car seat, guess the size should be there ba, use the head support..sure can manage.

ivf,

same here, placenta previa condition..seeing doctor tomolo, and she wan me to tell her which date I want to do c-sec..

luckymummy,

My baby weight at 2.2kg at 32weeks but doctor say the weight is ok..so dunno our baby is big or average. diff doctor diff POV.

Nimkulut,

I already gained 10kg lor and my doctor say I will have abt 4kg more to gain due to water retention. My left hand swollen at time till pain :-(

BH,

I started to have this feeling now...especially at night...Somehow dunno why, I have a hunch that my baby will come early than 22 Dec, my belly is now getting lower, V more swollen now..and yes, BH feel like shitting..So everytime when BH came, I try to relax myself and wait. I encountered 2 times whithin 1 hour..same as cookie, i got BH more frequent when I walk too much and tired. after a long bed rest, I feel better and next day won't have BH tat frequent.

PJs,

Mine is the sleeping sheep one leh..consider cartoon..hahha..

Fiona,

i wash mine sometime back,i kept it inside diaper bag to prevent dirt, today place them nicely in wardrobe cos im counting down to my D day.

I was having a very bad lower backache on Sat when I went NEX at Serangoon wif my mother in law for shopping. The pain was so unbearable although we started shopping for barely 30mins.

Is tat normal? Is that a slowly sign of contractions? I am only entering 32 weeks of my preg.

But today was shopping at Taka with hubby for abt 1 hr+, I felt okie leh

Hi cookiefleur

Ya. We bought baby detergent to wash the clothes but I will handwash it (or rather my helper will handwash :p). My hubby even bought softener lor. He says wants the bb clothes to be more soft :p

Hi Poormummy

I also experience virginal pain. The pain is like the baby is stepping on my virginal. Suddenly come, I will 'ouch'.. then it goes away.

Hi Fiona87

I started to wash some liao esp those hand-me-down. Packed and folded nicely in the baby's chest drawer. Btw, did u add me in the fb?

kimmyksc: ic.. my edd is on 27 jan.. so maybe i can start washing around end of dec.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

pooh: ya.. i added u in fb.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

belly button:

Yup, the oldwives'tale is that if the pregnant mummy's belly button stick out is boy, never stick out is a girl. hehe.

pooh:

lucky you got helper! if i have helper, i will also want baby clothes to be handwashed. heehee. but me lazy, so will put into machine i guess.

I haven't started washing anything yet - you are all very hardworking and started liao! i'm only intending to do that when the cot is delivered and then all the nursery furniture is in place... wipe down all the dust from furniture moving, then wash the clothes, bedding, etc. =P

anyone have problems with their own moms/mil? my mom keeps nagging at me - have to do this, have to do that... its overwhelming me quite a bit, esp her "rules" for confinement. feeling a bit sian and wondering how to manage the situation. =(

@Lucky mummy, the mat that I bot was $150. Think diapers will be charged, was told that since it's charged we can bring everything home.

@Cookiefleur, it's excalty that kind of "ouch" feeling that I experience too. Think I will ask gynae this weekend during my scheduled visit. Although I expect her to say "normal" haha

La senza has nice open front PJ? Haha am going to "cheong" for it... ;p Am also hestitating to get cartoon ones.

@Miaiko, initially also toying cloth diaper - since got maid hahaha but I v scare that maid 'anyhow' wash and left with detergent residue.. hahaha being paranoid again.

Did u control yr diet? Today's monday and colleagues all commented that I seem to hv grown alot (size and tummy) over the weekend. hahaha

I am like a water barrell now.

Morning Mummiies ...

Yesterday I started to wash all the bb's clothes starting from NB to 3-6mths first.. I bought pigeon detergent and softeners but have to rinise off lah even though the instruction says no need. I try not to use machine wash as it's washing our adults clothes. I prefer not to mix.

I bought 2 pkt of GOON diaper from the the motherhood fair which is a good deal $14 per pack... wish to buy more but scared later bb can't allergy or dun fit .... I still need to get bath tub and wet wipes ..