(2011/01) Jan 2011

thanks Chabby for the info [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] i will go tesco hehehe :p

Playmat:

Just saw it online at small small world.. So expensive?? I think i wait until i move in to my new unit and think abt it....

Massage:

I also scared that if i book the malay lady, she can fly kite.. That's y decided to book origins and their hot stones massage attracted me. Who wan to book origins?? can book together to get more freebies..

Hello Mummies...

For those who have yet to get your playmats, I found this link that compares LG to Parklin and also LG Prime (15mm thickness) vs. LG Asobang (18mm thickness)...personally I picked the 15mm one, but my gal friend who had sat on the 18mm one says it is very comfy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

The other BP organiser for Playmat is call 'Small Small World'... but i think they are more ex than 'World of Korea'.

http://gubibaby.com/2010/03/04/lg-parklon-baby-soft-play-mat/

I think it is a good idea to keep old panties for our hospital stay, more comfy and more environment-friendly [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Shopping in JB

I was also thinking of doing that but had a bad experience a few years back, a very rude motorcyclist got into a quarrel with my FIL when we were on the way back to SIN on the causeway. That totally freaked me out, and some of the horror stories of people getting mugged and cars being broken into...all kinda deter me from going to JB when it is just me & hubby..

Bravado Nursing Bra

Base on photos, I think the Bravado nursing bra, esp the original one (and cheapest one) should provide very good support with the thick underbands and also shoulder bands. Important when our breasts are getting heavier and full with milk to prevent sagging. Think it also helps that they say it is soft enough to wear to sleep.

i lost count of which pregnancy wk im in. Can u imagine? haha

Think im in wk 28 now. Going for gynea visit this saturday. YAY!!

my tummy is getting sooooo BIG n tight now!

I forgot ... is wk 29 the start of 3rd trimester?

Feel like im in my 3rd trimester now.

Playmat..

I got 1 Parklon one for my #1 and I find it a really gd investment. Expensive but really good quality. Been using for more than 1yr now and still very good.

Dun go and buy from Tiny Toons (or what's it call?). That one is really no quality.

Hi Miaiko,

I have ask Bebelounge for discount if we are get more of those nursing bras [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] she say she will inform you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yes week 28 is 3rd Trimester [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@ Kikapo ya sounds so oomfy you bot four rite? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] saw your order on their thread [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nursing bras...

During my first pregnancy.. i buy from SMH BP.. cheap ones coz I tot since cheap juz buy lah. But a disappointment lor. NO SUPPORT! and filmsy. Elastic band on shoulder also get loose fast. Eeek!

Then went to buy from Le Leche. Quality much better and shape is better too. But expensive lor. S$70+ /pc.

Recently went to check out Mark & Spencer nursing bra.. I find it expensive for a filmsy n thin fabric. So didn't buy. haiz.

Spring Maternity ones totally cant make it.

Triumph ones, worse! juz thin cotton, but so expensive. I cant remember how much. Think $50+ or more expensive. Looks aunty also. haiz.

Mothercare ones.. cheapest ones.. material not value for the money i feel. Plus got a line running down the centre of the bra. Ugly.

Did you all receive email from BebeLounge and saw the BP? I should be getting the Bravado also like Kikapo

lily,

Oh! ok. Yah hor. Last time we organise ourselves and got discount. Yah yah. Cant check with BebeLounge again.

Will let you all know when i got any info.

Ya Miaiko, seem like the Bravado ones like not bad need good ones la if not how..hahha

HOpe they will email you soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and like las time can get bulk disc as few of us quite keen [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Am just worry about the size as we cant try ma..only base on the chart plus also duno by last month will continue to grow or not hahahah

i suppose all ur bbies are moving quite alot in ur belly now rite?

Does anyone's bb move like trembling like tat?

Mine last move like tremble. Duno shld worry or not. I hope bb not having spasm or something! *touch wood*

Hi Miaiko,

Yes my move quite a bit...sometimes like bubbles feeling at the lower tummy and sometimes the whole tummy just shake non stop..sometimes just push at my belly button and keep stretching till it hurts alot..wonder wat they do in side..we just hav to monitor.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Miaiko:

Dun worry, mine move quite a bit..

got different combination of movement. from the kick, poke, drag, tremble and wave pattern on tummy.

been moving quite a bit these days.

You may want to try buying from OG or BHG (former Seiyu).

remember some MTB recommend these 2.. value for $$.. cost around $20+ each.

mag,

have passed your contact to the yoga instructor. She should contact you soon. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Btw, just to re-advertise here again, if any mummies are interested in prenatal yoga, to help with aches/pains/inflexibility/cannot wear pants without assistance (hehe), can join a few of us at a class in Bishan on sats.

The instructor will ask what pains you have this week then she will tailor the exercise to help with that specific pain for you. Overall value-for-money class I think.

Sats, 1215-115, Bishan.

Fees: about $100-110 for 6 sessions, depending on class size

class size: about 7-9 pax. (quite cozy n not so stressed to follow)

Please let me know if you're keen so I can pass your email to the instructor or you can email the instructor [email protected]

Sorry for spamming but our thread moves so fast that I think my previous post wasn't even up for one full day!

lily,

The one I went not the tebrau one, i din go to tebrau jusco b4. Not sure if all jaya jusco has FOS if you plan to buy baby cloths..like wat chabby said, Tesco sell cheapest diapers, if looking for diapers, just go Tesco :)..I bought 2 baby cloths from Tesco cos there is one right outside my house in KL, surprisingly the feel of the cloth is really smooth and soft. cost me RM3.90 only.

Sputnik,

My doctor told me low lying placenta can still opt for natural, so long as it's not blocking the birth canal. Placenta previa is blocking birth canal. So u need to check with ur doctor if your placenta is low.

Miaiko,

Ya, my baby move quite a bit. I try to calm her down by offering music..

Chabby,

Im particular when buying things leh. So I want to buy good bras. Especially when i want to breast feed. My experience in 1st pregnancy is that the breasts can really grow so big and heavy.. and those cheap bras offers no support. My breasts become saggy lor! *sob sob* No coverage also. Even more so when going out.

Shape and support very important for me when it comes to bra. No compromise. Else when old.. very ugly. I dun wana regret

applecrab,

Do you have the link to origins massage? How does it work? Do they come to your place? Don't think I have the energy/time to go anywhere.

bravado bras,

ok, very studiously studying the BP thread and analyzing which one/ones I would like to get. haha

tummy movement,

erm, my daughter continues to be quite "si wen" and I only occasionally feel a slightly more violent push. But it's usually a one-off punch, then quiet down again. I feel more vigorous movement at night when I'm lying on my side to get to sleep. Which side gets more movement means she doesn't like me to lie on that side, so switch position. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

btw, how many of you ladies have gone for your prenatal classes? I attended Mrs Wong's class last nite where we viewed the birthing videos. Okay....I'm officially freaked out by childbirth now.

Maybe it's better not to know at all and just go in and wing it.

Im so curious what's bb doing inside.

Do you wish there's window in our bellies? :D

if God put a window in our bellies - I think NOTHING would ever get done - we'd all be too busy sitting around, bending ourselves double watching this fabulous and miraculous thing that is happening inside of us - but wouldn't that be so reassuring as well?

Just to look in there and see the little one moving and growing and being healthy - although it would put our gyneas out of business - no need for ultrasounds or amnios *LOL*

Wah...almost end of the day already! Yippee! I get minor episodes of panic attack when I think about the birthing process, wondering what it is like...but no pt thinking too much, I guess..just have to look forward to our little angels [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

All my hopes are pinned on the bravado nursing bras...like Miaiko, I have not much faith in those cheaps ones, in fact, if you guys visit the china blogshops, some come as cheap as $5. But I cannot convince myself toget them cause I think they really don't provide the right support. Already don't feel very attractive with the stretch marks, if my boobs also get saggy, think I will be so depressed...so yes, I took the plunge and bought 4 Bravado bras, 2 original ones and 2 silk seamless one, 2 in nude colours to go with light coloured clothes and 2 dark coloured ones. I also chose 2 in M and 2 in L in case boobies ballon. For the M, I can use extenders so they will still fit when boobs become bigger. But if boobs shrink, I will add padding..haha...

Hi Kimmy, the one at tebrau city dont hav FOC i dont remember but city square will have. But nex to the Jusco hav Tesco. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Luckymummy, the origins link :

http://www.originsjamumassage.com/

Miaiko, i agreed with you...abt the support of bras ..its veri impt ! as after my first pregnancy i already hav saggy breast so need a good one if i am Breast feeding..

Hi Kikapo,

I think i mite try too.. just afraid the size cutting tat all..am very particular it if dont fit well..will not hav good support. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Miaiko,

thanks for advice on bra.

will see if i shld buy more and better ones.

cuz 3rd trimester have to wear those w/o underwire so that it'll not block milk ducts.

luckymummy and kikapo

dunno if ignorance is bliss when it comes to not knowing the birth process. i'm rather scare and freak out by D-day that is about 10 weeks away. glad to know i'm not the only one who feels like this.

Luckymummy!

I was at mrs Wong class last nite also for my makeup class.. I was late so only managed to catch e last part of water birth.. Enuff to freak me out Le lo... My hb also v scared... So we Heng never catch e full clip...

Was comparing tummy size with e rest of e mummies in e class... -_- mine so tiny lo... Scare bb too small size.. I heard if bb born less than 2.5kg cannot go hm...

I m interested to buy maternity bra also... :D dun wan saggy papaya breast!

think I m the rare one with sagging nipple prob, sianzzzz....

today went for 27 2k scan, bb is 1.190kg, average doc said. But head a little bigger.

Now wondering should I realy tie my tube up, cos it will be cut and tied! Well still have 3 months to consider.

Got a range of dates to choose for c-sec, from 8 - 28 jan. Hope baby wont decide to come out 1 month earlier.

Chabby is it true we have to wear non wired bra if not will block ducts? I did not know than I better start wearin non wired

wah, all the second time mummies are saying they want to get better support bras....think I can throw away most of the ones I bought already. Actually come to think of it, the total cost of my 4 bras doesn't even equal to the cost of one average priced bravado bra.

The support thing applies even to the simple wear at home pull down type? So I should get decent support 24/7?

Is anyone looking at the Allure underwire bra? Or does it defeat the purpose of wearing better bras that won't constrict the breast tissue?

lilyh,

thanks for the origins link. Hmm, it looks quite affordable. As far as I've heard most home visit malay massage ladies charge around $100/hr?

Nim,

Did you settle down somewhere in the middle of the class near the projector table? I might have been right next to you on the left! Was wearing a brown top. You probly compared your tummy size to mine haaha, but I think I'm larger than the norm for 7 mths. Esp at night, balloon up like nobody's business.

We watched 6 birthing videos lor. After the first one showed crowning I became quite immune, luckily not much screaming on the video, but after thinking about it later then got the jitters again.

The videos seemed quite fast forwarded, is it really that fast from the crowning part to the shoulders and then the whole body slipping out? Sorry if I'm freaking anyone out, but I'm quite morbidly fascinated with the process.

chabby,

guess this is really something we have to undergo and live to tell the tale. If people can do it without pain relief (gulp) I'm sure I will survive with an epidural...right? lol

luckymummy - my malay massage lady charges $60 for 1.5 to 2 hrs. I remember she usually does for abt 2 hrs when i gave birh the last time.

Nursing bra - think i'm one of the few who dun bother with nursing bras! Cos my boobs pretty small, so never sag even tho i bfeed for 1 year the last time! In fact i think it shrink after i stop bfeeding.

I remember Mrs Wong saying last time pregnant still ok to wear underwire bras, but if are bfeeding then better not cos may lead to block ducts.

Hopefully - my nipple also sag a bit, but does not really bother me. Better than boobs sagging rite ;-)

Luckymummy:

My apologies. My replies abit slow becoz of sudden influx of work.. Sianz..

I saw in the young parents mag that Motherswork is selling the bravado the original nursing bra at $55.. Thinking of going there to try try.. I think cheaper than the spree rite?

The spree selling at $49 for the original nursing bra. cheaper than Motherswork. If the organiser can give us better rates, then it'll be even cheaper! hehe

Ya cheaper by 6 bucks so we shld go there try first lo where is motherworks? Than we know our size and can than buy here in bulk kekekek

Lily,

ya, i read that have to wear nursing bra or bra w/o underwire in third trimester if you would like to breast feed when the baby is out.

grumpus,

i tot it's 2.5kg all along as a benchemark for underweight babies.. must be reading the ah moh size babies standard.

luckymummy

i hope epidural works well on us..hurhur.. i din take any antenatal class.. so didn't watch what your ladies watched.

Good morning mummies! TGIT! 1 more day to Friday. Hahaha for once I'm not looking forward to that as I have been clearing leave for the past 2 weeks.

Apple and luckymummy:

I'm keen to sign up for origins. Tried to contact 2 massage lady to find out about their service but they didnt pick up my call or return my sms. So... i case I kena aeroplane. Think I better stick to agency one LOL. Wanna sign up tog for the freebies? PM me ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Thanks.

re: nursing bra

Intend to buy better ones after my boobs have decided on the size they are going to be during breastfeeding. Heartpain to spend so much when I have no idea if they will fit. Haha so will wear my nuah nuah ones for confinement.

Chabby:

As long as we con't take the epidural too early or too late it will work ba. One of my SMH friend took it too late (when she already feel the urge to push), the effect only kick in after she deliver. Heartpain. Waste money. Need to remember that when you ask for epi, the anesthetist will not be immediately available, thus will need to wait for some time. If you took it too early, like for my #1, the effect wear out 1/2h before my #1 is born. It was too late to top up more. Hurts when I'm pushing. But it definitely helps as my contraction was very frequent, intense and and the contractions started 24 hours before I delivered. Epi helps me to regain some strength by numbing the pain so I get zzz and eat.

re: birth process

Mummies, don't think too much about it. We will have to cross the bridge when we reach it. In the meantime, for 1st time mums, do enjoy your par-tor days with your hubby as life will never be the same with a little bundle of joy. For experience mummies... we can do it again! Jia you every one [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chabby,

Less than 2.5kg is considered low birth weight bb, but as long as bb above 2kg can still go home with u. If less than 2kg bb will hv to stay in hospital until they hit 2kg then can discharge.

I know cos my #1 was born 1.86kg @ 37wks. Stayed in hospital for a wk until she reach 2kg.

sputnik,

that's a very reasonable rate! I also found one contact, but again like someone mentioned, she told me to call her after I deliver. Now that I hear the stories about being stood up....I'm thinking if I should commit to an agency so no matter what I WILL get my massage. :p

jass,

do you think we can get an even better rate if we sign up at their actual shop? Does it work like those facial places where they hardsell you in person but potentially you can get more freebies?

huh...then what is the recommended timing to ask for the epidural? so many considerations...not too early, not too late...aiyoh.

chabby,

the videos are rather....graphic...my husband was quite stoic about it but I'm less so...but I guess we have no choice. and if women are willing to have more than 1 child it can't be all that bad.

low birth weight

I'm really dreading the number on the scale tomorrow. At the rate I'm putting on weight, I'll be lucky if my baby doesn't come out weighing more than 4kg. hehe

@Jass1408, totally agree with you that 1st time mummies shld enjoy Tian Mi Mi times with Hubby. Life will never be the same after having a kid. No more late night outs, no more movies, no more taking own sweet to dine liao. How old is your #1? Mine is 4 yrs on the way to our "freedom" when I wanna try for #2, my hubby asking me if I'm sure. whahaha.

Hey Mummies

Yesterday I was at mothercare marina square and surprising they have a range of nice nursing bra from $40-$59 each maybe u gals can check it out there. I bought 4 yesterday ;)

jass,

have make up my mind on epidural a long time ago. And my FIL hint hint to me that one kid/grandchild too little.. he's hoping for 2 kids from me. hubby is the only son. sigh~ just take it as it comes bah.

luckymummy,

seen pregnancy books la. colour photos of a mum giving birth with half the baby out and abloody placenta. but i believe not as graphic as your video.

told my hubby not to stand anywhere beyond my (currently non-existent)waist line. worry he faint. later i've 1 more thing to worry about while giving birth. keke...he has a much lower pain tolerance than me.

timing of epidural..

dunno how. pray hard timing not too off and effect kick in in time. my sis ask for epidural quite late as she dilate very fast. (she deliver in 4 hours for both kids!!) so she advise me to ask for it early. be prepared that some mothers may vomit after administering epidural.

couple's time

sigh~ i'm married last dec and concieve in March.. so fast pregnant. dunno i shld be happy of sad about this. dun dare to go movies as i worry the sound effect too loud for the baby.

poormummy

your hubby very cute. he's very considerate towards you.

re: Low birth weight.

Try eating more meat. It is suppose to beef up your baby. My very petite, or should I say very thin good friend, who gave birth in July only gain 8kg in total at her last gynae visit. I think she was less than 50Kg when she deliver. Although her gyane mentioned that her baby could be small (about 2+ kg), he was born at 3Kg. The scan can only give an estimate of bb's weight.

Luckymummy:

I'm not sure, is there a shop? Haha

Poormummy:

Yes... kinda of lost the freedom to do whatever we want at whenever we want as we have to establish routine for our 'king-of-the-household'. The time we go out, we sleep depends on him esp for the initial part huh. LOL #1 will be 1 mth short of 3YO when #2 is born. Wah... I must say you are quite brave. Haha after a good period of 'freedom', its going to be hectic again. But good lah... 2 children can play together [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

@Chabby, considerate ah? Haha I think more for himself coz mummies are have the natural instinct over own kiddos however for Daddies, unless they are in auto-mode else got to remind and remind, nag and nag. It's like taking care of 2 boys in the household at times.

@Jass, 3Yr old is good age gap. Mine will be 4.5YO in Jan. Actually I didnt want to, my #1 kept asking for a sibling, thus I brought up the issue to my hubby - and bingo and first trial *shy* Hope he will get into his feet as a korkor soon and will not get into much sibling rivalry.

Nursing Bras - I notice that most nursing bras are full or 3/4 cup. I not very use to that coz I've always been wearing half cup ones. Have u gals come across any half cups nursing bras?

Try to buy those with shape ones, those without dont look as nice under tight Ts.

Eh, can't remember who ask where Motherswork is, but the last i remember, there is a Motherworks at Great World City.

Yes Yes! Bulk order for the nursing bra!!!!

Poor mummy, think my is the very far gap my son will be 7 years old imagine..so big a gap..i am also worried that my maid cant cope feeling quite stressed now as still thinking of the date for my c sec..

PM, I think the structure of the nursing bra cannot be a half cup one. First of all, the support may not be there, and secondly, maybe because of the clip to "release" the cup, it needs to be attached to the shoulder strap?

Kikapo, I thought the original one doesn't come with a hook? So have to wear like a tank top? I better go read it again..

applecrab and jass,

No shop then will have to settle for the email signup. But I'm still thinking about it and asking around more pple for their massage contacts. Jass if you need to then better go ahead with your booking.

About bra size after delivery,

I'm not actually very busty, always a confirmed not very full B cup before pregnancy, even now have at most increased by half a cup size, but the band width has gone up significantly. Will my bra size go up tremendously after delivery? Or no one except god will know the answer to this question? :p

I'm paranoid that I'll spend hundreds of dollars on bravado and then cannot wear...