(2011/01) Jan 2011

My c sec? scary loh [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif].. i was hoping for natural delivery tat time..after hours of waiting ..imagine i was the first one to check into the hospital and the last to come out..

Emergency c sec i suppose quite scary as after 13 hours of lying down there with bags burst, epi and all my baby keeping trying to come out but cant..veri kan cheong and i am so worried!

than dr came and say cant wait anymore than quickly rush me in to the operating theatre all rush rush..(which is wat i hate most) with the metal bed and big Spotlights and all..

that all i can recall now after the 6yrs++ gap..the pain and all actually i kind of forget and dont wan to remember ..better not to remember and treat this as the first time..

I believe Ignorance is bliss like wat sherill say i never watch any birth videos or watever for my first pregnancy we just go with the flow..so if you dont know anything you wont expect anything i just focus my mind on my boy that time! hahahhaa [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i check out the guardian jus now they selling the cotton panties at 3.95 having promo buy 2 get 1 free [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think except Lily. if i remember correctly, daphne is also c-sect for #1 rite? heard not tat scary as we though. I went and watch the video from youtube, those mommy opt for half epidural look happily lying on the bed waiting for the doctor to complete the whole procedure. Think positive...positive...

Lily,

oh that's cheap! I saw disposable cotton panties at Giant yday n it feels comfy. $3.95 perpack but for mens'. :p cant find for ladies one.

Bought a few pack of maternity disposable panties from Watsons while preggy with #1. REGRET! it's paper-like and super big and ugly. OMG.

Got so many regrets from buying cheap cheap stuff. haiz.

ya Kimmy, mus think positive and forget my first one operation...hahha

Miaiko, those at guardian come in sizes and in a pack of 5 if i remember correctly but dont know is it only this branch having promotion la..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yes yes, I went to buy the guardian disposable panties too...I wanted to buy the bigger sizes but the size L run out really fast...so I only managed to grab 2, they will call me to collect my free one when the stock arrives...so better grab it fast [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yes Kimmy, you are welcome i am very particular as if cant use Jamu than you choose those ML tat use Jamu than how? they will just use normal oil than no effects liao? last time the one i use they use essential oil so i feel comfortable after that and i can tahan the wrap for the whole day which is good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and flatten the tummy faster kekeek

Hi Ladies, how have you been? it has been quite sometime since i came in to chat with u all and update my baby developmt. me experience changes in my daily routine recently. my hb finally decided to enrol my #1 in childcare cos he begin to worry that we may not be able to cope with childcare arrangement for #1 and also #2's arrival at the same time in Jan. we have rushed our #1 in childcare since 2 weeks ago. till date, no good. my #1 still refuse to attend childcare and will cry badly... haiz... beside the childcare arrnagement, we also started to rush home to cook dinner everyday starting this week. we use to go MIL's place to have dinner but recently my SIL brought back her child to let MIL look after. my MIL doesn't seem to be able to cope cos she begin to have HBP again after starting to take care of the new baby. my #1 also can't accept the changes. she just refuse to eat her dinner and only insisted on drinking milk like her baby cousin (i think she is jealous and just wanna gain attention). i think my #1 need more time. i decided to let her cope with her childcare arrangement first. at home she got guai guai eat her dinner but refused to go to bed. hopefully in one month time, she can wake up happily in the morning put on uniform and rush me to bring her to childcare to meet her teachers and friends. after that then i try introduce her to her baby cousin.

anyone here has experience the same as me? if hav can share share how you cope? i not sure if i m doing the right thing actually.

Hi Ting,

don't u think its lucky u started to put her in CC earlier now than wait till #2 comes. It will be more stressed then ba? Maybe in daily conversation can talk postively about school and don't look stressed or unhappy about it yourself in front of her. My girl took one month to totally stop any crying. Jia You!

Just to check, if normal delivery without epidural, does that means that when doc sew back can also feel the needle? I saw taiwan talk show, one lady was saying the sewing back of vaginal after delivery is more painful??? She also no epidural...

Rose:

My epi ran out when before I deliver my #1. Cant feel the needles thou as the entire area hurts. Wont even feel when the gynae cut. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ting:

It must have been really stressful for you now. Fingers cross that #1 will be able to adjust soon. At least this is not coming at the point there you are 2 crying kids on your end. Jia you jia you! Hope this phase will pass soon.

My sis told me not to think so much. Just remember to:

1. Ask for epidural

2. Push when told to.

Post delivery "to-note"

1. dun gulp down water, just sip bit by bit after delivery. if not, tummy will be big and bloated.

2. when drinking, must sit down. if not the uterus will be loose and cause urine incontinence when age. Mum say she didn't believe when she's doing confinement so suffer as a result of this.

Hi, kimmyksc, yeah, my #1 also c-sec.

Actually, it's really not so scary lor. I also did not watch any video at tat time cos did not want to scare myself. When they pushed me to the OT, I just let them inject the epidural and then they would test to see if my lower body was numb. Then, my gynae and other docs would inform me tat "they are starting now". I felt no pain at all. Just lie there and relax. It actually felt like I was in a movie when seeing the OT spotlight, haha.....

Within few mins, my baby was out. Then my gynae and the rest of the ppl would all congrats me. The happiest moment was to hear my baby cry. Then after cleaning and wrapping my baby, the nurse brought my baby over for me to see and kiss before bringing out to show my hubby while my gynae still stitching me.

After everything's done, they transfer me to the recovery room where the nurses there would monitor. Once my lower body got some feelings, they would transfer me to the ward where my hb waiting. Then it would be bedridden for the whole day with drip. The nurses monitor me for the whole day n nite n checking bp etc. Then next day, I was allowed to get out of bed and the 1st thing I did was to walk slowly to the nursery to see my baby.

For C-sec, it's very fast but of cos it takes longer to recover. I'm still going for C-sec this time round.

Hi Daphne,

yours is consider elective c sec rite ? Yr really sound good and not scary think my is more complicated as it's emergency bah [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] mayb I should check with my doc abt it your sound good lay can See baby coming out can hubby go in ?

Daphne, hubby not allowed to be with you during C sect? cos you opt for lower half body epi only right....

You got down to walk the next day. That is fast! When I had my fibroids removed with an open surgery, think i only come down on 3rd day and was bending 90 deg.

Hi Ting, your situation really quite stressed up. But like what apple says its really lucky that u realised it now and send #1 to CC.

As for yr girl's getting use to it - Why dont u start off with half day CC first, assure her that you wont be leaving her the whole day and then slowly move to fullday. Ie if you can afford the time. Dont worry abt it, it just a matter of time before they get use to going to sch and playing with friends.

For me, my boy also cried and cried and beg not to go sch but soon (after 1.5mths) he found a tr whom he is comfortable with and gets v attached to her.

For cooking, maybe u can invest in a pressure cooker/ magic pot to help you with soup. Will save u alot of time.

The night before u can start preparing the ingredients - ie all the cutting and chopping.

@Jass, aiyoh cannot imagine the epi ran out.. they didnt monitor for you?

Poormummy:

Think I dilated too slowly... Haha so they probably thought I should have delivered at least 1/2 hour sooner so no need to top up?

re: Pressure cooker / Thermal Pot

Ya... I like it too. Helper can't cope with looking after #1, doing housework and cooking (hehe anyway she cant cook, she can use like 1L oil in 1 mth and 1L sugar in 2 weeks kind) so we get her to just dump all ingredients into Thermal Pot without seasoning. Yummy enough for us. For her portion, she will then add tons of soy sauce. We get healthy dinner too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jan'11 thread Bulk Purchase Order

Discount given till 12 Nov.

A) BRAVADO Nursing Bras & Tanks

* FOC Normal Postage (i.e $1 per pc)

* Special offer: $1 off per bra/tank (not applicable for Boy shorts/Bikini, nor for Allure/Sublime combo}

* Your choice of either

i) FREE pair of Bravado Moisture-Wick Washable Breast Pads (worth S$7.50) that is free with purchase of each bra

OR

ii)Get $2 OFF per bra

* The above discounts are given to us when we can collate an order of 35 pcs.

B) Baby K'tan Baby Carrier

* $3 OFF per piece for 15 orders

* $7 OFF per piece for 20 orders or more

Here's the link:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/4633865.html?1288314132

Hi PM, Jass, apple, Thanks for the encouragement.

apple,i wanted to send my #1 to CC earlier wan but no one support me. my hb thot my PIL can manage with all the chores and their grand children. but only recently they begin to "chicken out". initially they like so confident that they can manage and want me to enrol my #1 at those 2hr PG near their place. my hb also support their idea. after starting for 2 to 3mth PG and also after they learnt that there is another grand child arriving, my PIL become uncertain and starts to suggest us to go for alternatives. that time i already paid for few mth fees and also whole yr material fees lei. somemore i turned down many cc offers. not ez to find a cc that can satisfy both my hb and myself. popular wan also always shortage of vacancy. i m not sure if is still consider early to enrol her in cc now. is just 2 months from my EDD. i find it so rush and stressful.

PM, me FTWM lei. now no manpower to help me take care of my #1 if i put her half day. my MIL need to take care of her 2nd grand child and she has HBP. as for my mom, she is presently taking care of 2 grand children also. all small kids. my #1 also not use to my mom's style...haiz. later after i deliver my #2, m going to switch my #1 to another cc. more conveninet for transportation and better environment. but my #1 will have to adapt to new environment again. think i may have to source for infant care or nanny to help me take care of my #2 when i return to work also...

me using thermal pot/slow cooker. becasue is a sudden decision to start cooking dinner at home. so i didn't stock up any ingredients lor. i asked my hb to go marketing on the 1st morning and he just bought enough for that evening.somemore the vege he chose not nice wan n the cod fish he bought for #1 also full of bones. so i bo bian, 2nd day morning, before i go work, i rush to market myself and buy somemore to stock up for the rest of the week. siong lei. luckily my #1 like soup. so in the morning i just get ready the ingredient and dump them into the pot, start timer and leave the soup to cook. after returning home in the evening i then fry simple dishes for them. but very rush lor. my MIL use to serve dinner for my #1 at 530PM everyday. so my #1 is very use to the timing liao. by the time we reach home is ard 7PM. my #1 also have difficulty to switch to this timing. around 630PM my #1 will start to make noise and "find tea" when she is hungry. very frustrating lor. i don't feel like giving her snacks on the way home lei. i scared she won't eat dinner after that. ahhh!!! me going mad liao!!!

Hi Lily & Ivftwins, actually mine also considered emergency. It's becos I chose the timing out of office hours (timing given by taiwan master). So my gynae ask me to go to the delivery suite first where they monitor me and then when about time, they pushed me to the OT.

If it's not emergency, hubby can go in. This time round, I hope the taiwan master give me a timing during office hour as I wanted my hubby to go in with me so tat he knows wat I go through for the baby to be born and he will appreciate more. Hee...

Yeah, I chose the lower body epi only. So can see and hear the whole procedure. I wanted to be able to see and hear my baby once he's born. It's actually quite relaxing and not stressful at all.

The next day, I ask the nurse to put on the binding wrap for me. And my gynae also ask me to put a kind of socks for blood circulation. The first few steps was always painful. But after a while, it will get better. The binding wrap helps as it tightens the wound area. My gynae also told me tat I looked good so instead of staying 3 nites for C-sec, I'm allowed to be discharged 1 day earlier. But think it depends on individual as at the day of discharged, I still see some C-sec patients walking very slowly and painfully while I already walked very fast. Haha....

My advice is try to walk more and dun be afraid of tearing the wound etc. If everything also scared and everything also dare not do, will recover very slow.

Hi Ting, thinking of getting a maid? as handling 2 kids by your self is no joke.. i have been thru your stages but i was only with 1kid tat time and alrady find it so struggling when i send my son to CC las time esp when they will be down with fever and all sorts of funi illness and when i hav no one to help i keep taking leave and in the end leave a bad mark on my job [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so my arrangement since my son turn 3 was he attend kindgergarten and afternoon for enrichment classes..till now he is going to P1 le

But all these of cos it mus be at your comfort zone and level la..

Hi Daphne,

Oh choosing timing also means emergency? My was because the baby head can get fractured liao as keep pushing but cant come out [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I salute you meaning yours is elective..! I must check with my doc abt the procedure and see whether my hubby dare to watch or not lolz..scully at the sight of blood he faint..:p

Abt the operation, i remember i was asked to go down the bed the nex day too.. but i think you are strong lah i dont remember no pain at all lay..

Ting:

What i had learnt from my mom is that buy few days' of grocery at one go or plan ahead for the meals and usually on weekends.. then pack them up according to the planned meal.. Easier this way.. My mom's record is 20 - 30 mins can cook a meal with 2 dish and a soup... Of coz, ur fridge will be overfilled with food...

Thanks for the updates on the Bravado Bra...discount a bit the little but definitely better than nothing...

How many mummies have placed orders? Let's do a quick count to see how far we are from the target of 35 Bras..

1) Kikapo - 4 Bras

Hi Lily, for elective c-sec, can only choose the timing during office hour. So anything out of office hour will be consider emergency and they will hv extra charge for using the delivery suite also.

Dun worry about the procedure. It's fast and easy. For me was due to my baby being breech, so had to go for c-sec. At tat time, I was very scared also but after the whole thing, it's actually not as scary as I thought.

Of cos still got a bit of pain when I started taking the first few steps. But after a while, should be ok. I even look after baby myself during confinement and my MIL only cooked and washed for me. And my massage lady came 7 days after my C-sec.

I won't be getting the nursing bras as I still had a few which I bought last year for my #1. In the end, I only wore a few times as my #1 refused to latch on and I pump out my milk instead. But anyway, thanks for orgainizing.

Wow Daphne, you are strong! me look after my baby and wash all my clothes tat y now i suffer..as i nvr rest well during my confinement.. i think your genes are good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] can recover so fast [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

daphne,

thanks for sharing, ur c-sec experience sounds good, it should be able to calm many mommy down. my fren c-sec also can walk the next day :)..I know I can do it too..oh ya, where they poke you for the epidural? issit the same as natural birth, inject into our spine. Can I say tat the whole entire procedure from the moment they push u into OT till out is less than 1 hour?

ivf,

Some gynae allow husband to go in when opt for half body epi, my doctor allow just tat my husband scared...hahha

Ya Daphne is one strong woman [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]..not like me quite freakout lolzz

Hi kimmyksc, yeah, the epi was through the spine. They asked me to sit on the OT bed and inject the epi.

Baby comes out within 10 mins but the stitching will take longer. Overall, the whole procedure is less than 1 hr. (excluding the recovery time in the recovery room)

Haha, Lily, I can be weak at times also. As you say, maybe my genes are good, so I can recover very fast. Hee....

I remember when I was pregnant with my #1, the nurses even ask me to slow down as I walked too fast during my last few weeks before EDD.

lily, looks like u n my hubby same, scared of blood...my hubby say later he faint there inside OT..

Ting,

I dun have experience on this. Gambate..it will be alright soon...

Bra,

My cup only increase by half size. worried no milk supply...already got 4 nursing bra, so not intent to buy more...

daphne,

I might ask u b4 but forgot. hospital will give pain killer after c-sec rite? BF also can take pain killer rite?

I dun scared of the pain since daphne say is ok..hahha..plus my last surgery at neck area also no pain at all..think positive!!! I can do it.

@Ting, why dont u enrol straight away to the CC that is nearer to you. If I were you, since yr intention is to enrol #2 to infant care, I rather you chose 1 center that has both IFC and CC or near to each other. Else logistic will be an issue to you next time. Dont you yr elder one into another round of stress. It takes time for the kids to adapt even thou they will eventually....

Dont worry abt the marketing, soon you will work things out..you can make use of weekend to start stocking up. Maybe ask the CC to offer yr gal some bread at 5plus (they have T break too right) so that yr gal wil be famished at 7pm but have space for dinner by then.

Agree with the rest that Daphne is great!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi kimmyksc, the hospital did give me pain killer after c-sec and a pack when discharged but i did not eat at all. Those medicines given by the hospital should be safe for bf.

Acutally I think those who give birth naturally w/o epi are the strong and great ones. Mine is just the Operation procedure tat is scary to most ppl. Hee...

wow daphne thats very strong of you.

Even for this time round I will still opt for GA. Cos I really scare to be aware whats going on. But maybe I will cut down on drips. The last round, I was on drip for 2 full days, cos very scare will be more painful after drip came off, blah so foolish of me, its the same pain.

Hi Lily, my mom also recommended me to get a maid/helper. hmm...i wouldn't sae no to the suggestion but till now i just can't convince myself to have a stranger to stay at my place long term. furthermore have heard alot of negative things on having helper also. i will feel very insecure since i have no one to monitor the helper at home.

Hi apple, Thanks for sharing. will try to plan ahead.

Hi PM, the cc which m gg to switch my #1 to later only accept child at 3YO. my #1 only turn 3YO next Jan. as for infant care, i still can't decide. but if i have to put her in infant care, i will choose one near to my #1 cc lor.

Thanks for your suggestion. will ask the teacher to give her snacks at ard 5PM. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi ladies....

been MIA for a long time...hows everyone?

my tummy's gonna explode...super tight! anyone experience tat?

Posted on Friday, October 29, 2010 - 1:14 pm:       

Hv added my order..

Bravado

1) Kikapo - 4 Bras

2) Miaiko - 2 Bras, 2 tanks

3) darienna - 4 bras, 1 tank

Baby K'tan

1) Miaiko - Breeze,White size M

Bravado

1) Kikapo - 4 Bras

2) Miaiko - 2 Bras, 2 tanks

3) darienna - 4 bras, 1 tank

4) Luckymummy - 3 bras (yet to order)

Baby K'tan

1) Miaiko - Breeze,White size M

Just got back from doctor's check my total weight gain is 1.3kg over 4 weeks! woohoo! Much lower than I anticipated and my doctor says no need to do GD test since my urine samples are usually ok. At least my semi diet control paid off...baby's weight is estimated 1.4-1.5 kg at 29 weeks.

btw, mummies who have registered interest in the yoga class: the instructor says some of you have contacted her to indicate interest but did not exactly say yes yet, so she can't firm up the start dates. If you're really keen can email her back to confirm? Thanks!

Aiyoh... you all make me so gian to buy bras. LOL

Miaiko:

Can I check if the offer stands for ALLURE UNDERWIRE NURSING BRA? I'm looking at this range as it seems easier to wear with the normal hook at the back. Can't imagine the ballooned boobs over the sportbra kinda of design and heee will prefer lined cups so that the nipples can't be seen. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Another thing about the freebies. You mentioned about the Washable Breast Pads. I thought that comes along with each bra? Is this additional or is it that we get to choose if we want the pads (that comes along with the bra) or 2 bucks off when we purchase?

Jass1408,

Yes offer stands for Allure underwire nursing bra.

Breast Pads not additional. We are given open to choose either the pads or $2 off.