(2011/01) Jan 2011

hi chabby..i diden go for the talk, tired n lazy. Do u know wat is the difference btween cordlife n stermcord? We haven decided which one to choose

Just got back from the talk too. Signed up the 21yr plan with cordlife. It's $5400 +GST which can be fully deducted from the child's CDA account.

Like what Chabby said earlier, there's also the 1 yr plan at $1250 then subsequently $250 every yr.

Anyway just to clarify certain points we discussed earlier abt compatibility.

1. The cord blood is a 100% match with the baby, then lesser as we progress down to siblings and so on.

2. The cord blood can be used to treat more than 80 diseases. *Touch wood* but if the child is born with a genetic disease right from the beginning then his own cord blood cannot be used.

Some differences btwn Stemcord and cordlife:

1. Method of processing and storage is different. Both uses dfferent technology. Also Stemcord splits the cord blood into 2 vials but cordlife stores as 1. Cordlife claims there is less chances of contamination this way.

2. Cordlife is one of the 40 out of 400 cord blood storage companies in the world and the only one in singapore that has an recognised accreditation (equivalent to ISO standards).

At the end of the day I feel this is just something that is good to have if you can afford it, buys you a peace of mind. Of cuz you hope to never have to use it but at least when you do, you know you have it. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Arte,

My little muai Thai princess move till we can see her movement even under clothing... She like to poke poke flip flip... And dunno where she learn a stretch out both arms/leg move. Super sharp bump on e otherwise super round tummy...

I m 26weeks preg now and firSt time mum... E reality of having a actual little one living inside me is really hitting me Liao... Cos my tummy is protuding n I can always feel her wriggling... Really feel excited but yet super scared... It is 3 more months before we can carry our little ones in our arms.. Feel thT time pass too fast ljaoz..

Have received my tummy wrap Liaoz... I think my hb is in disbelieve thT I already bought something to "slim down" tummy bfore bb even born... I m ignoring himcos he have absolutely NO idea how scary to be losing one's "Yao"...

Hang in there everyone.. We have completed abt 3/4 of our pregnancy journey... And good luck!!!

Kimmy,

think Chelleybaby oretty much sum up and answer your question. that's wat their consultant says today. i jus went there to chat w consultants and left. didn't stay for the talk. the talk topics doesn't appeal to me.

chelleybaby,

woah, you took the 21 years one at one short.

dunno if i'll bank 21 year w stemcord a not.

i cheapo.. picking the one which cost lesser. hehe. but i've seen students who kana some childhood cancer at 14 and 16. it's good to have such form of reassurance and possible treatment option available.

Arte,

yes. from the guide book it says you shld be able to feel the baby movement by the 5th month and earlier of you are thin. i felt mine slightly later.. guess it suggest something about my fatty storage

Nimkulut,

am feeling like you do. try to be happy and focus on the positive. trying to settle my back-up plans shld i be tired and too stress to handle the little one. warn my colleagues w kids, sister and my parents to stand-by to help me when i call for help. even my hubby is worried. i keep reassuring him (and myself!!) that parenthood is on-the-job training. we shld be due around the same time. i'm 25 weeks and 6 days on. maybe we shld exchange number so we can call to chat when we wake up to feed in the midst of the nite. hopefuly labour will be smooth and fast too. *cross fingers and pray!

Hi mommies, went United square today to take a look at Bumwear. Then pop into another shop called Mummys & babies (i think). Was having back ache recently and gynae says its due to bad posture. The shop sells something called maternity belt to support the tummy and back and relief backache. The brand is emma jane. Anyone using something like that?

Logic is to help support the growing tummy so that lower back stress is relieved.

Got that and still trying to get used to it cos when standing it feel ok, but when seating, it seems to be rather tight.hahaha

Since its a maternity belt, should be safe but want to hear from other mummies.

Chabby,

I kiasu so signed up one shot 21 yrs, then don't have to worry abt forgetting to pay annually. And I only plan to have one child anyway, so the cord blood v precious!! hehee

ivftwins,

I'm considering getting a maternity belt too cuz my back is killing me (more of upper back actually)! How much did u get yrs for? I heard there are 2 types.. belt or like a tube top ard the tummy..

i paid $32 for belt. Mine is a belt and not a tube as it has velcro to adjust abdomen size and side velcro for back support adjustment.

yes. my back is also killing me. even when sleeping leh.

Seems like most mummies here are controlling ur wt well!! I cant and I ald gained 10kg at 24 weeks 4days. Cant endure hunger and im hungry all the time!

My little prince is now 770g..

Good morning mummies,

Sorry for those who shown interest in the 2packet of 72pcs mummy poko diapers and I yet to reply your sms, BECAUSE i mass deleted my sms...

piangz.. lost all sms..how clever.. haha...

I still have 2packets (72pcs each) S size mummypoko to be sold. Deal at admiraltly Link only.

Giving away 10odd loose pc of S size mummypoko.

SMS me at 93621700 for a reasonable price.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4561985.jpg]

Regarding backaches, I find that since starting prenatal yoga, my backaches that develop in the afternoon have gone away. Of course, I had other aches from exercising the hips and thighs but they disappeared after the first few days. Now 3 weeks on and no more pains.

I have a new problem though: leg cramps! The other night I was hit with a triple wave of cramps in my left calf. It just wouldn't subside and kept coming back just as I thought it was ending. Asked my gynae about it and he said the only cure is 'delivery'. :p Anyone else has better tips than that? He mentioned don't get too fatigued, and don't let your feet get too cold at night.

Yes, I think most of the ladies here have controlled their weight gain really, really well! I've put on 10+ kg already (shy to reveal exactly how much also). And my baby's weight is approximately 700-900gm according to my gynae last Fri. I'm terrified of turning into a sumo wrestler if this goes on. Btw there is an interesting article in TIME magazine about "How the first nine months shape the rest of your life". Talks about fetal environment shaping baby's destiny (and weight).

Gynae ordered me to control my diet better by cutting down on sweet things and carbo. But I love carbo! Good bye morning beehoon, hello wholemeal bread. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Anyone else in the same situation as me?

ivftwins and chelleybaby,

you can get the maternity belt at around $28+ from spring maternity @ suntec level 3. saw it but didn't get that. my pain is more at the ribs and at the groin area where the legs join the body. my GP say stand too much while teaching. so advise me to sit and rest as much as possible.

luckymummy,

i had calf cramps pretty bad and persistent on one day. when i've calf cramp means i'm inactive for too long. sigh~ walk n stand too much = groin ligament pain. rest too much = calf cramp. you need to do some stretching of the calf area. tilt the toes towards you to stretch the calf area. it seems to help for me.

my gynae also told me to watch my weight. gained 6kg till date. first 4 mth: no gain. 4th - 5th mth: 3 kg. 5th- 6th mth: near 3 kg.

i cut down on laksa, chicken rice and bubble tea after the initial 3kg jump in a month. mine looks like a sumo wrestler already. gynae did a 3D scan for my little tiger and it shows very fat and round cheeks! try small meals instead of all at once.

i saw the Time magazine cover at the news stand.. was wondering if i shld get it.

CL,

i try to eat fruits before i start w each meals. if not very hungry, eat fruits and drink lots of water to fill the tummy. help prevent constipation also.

Hoshi - just a ques. Did u find yr reading go down to normal level after changing yr diet? Was yr reading v high to start with? How long did it take for reading to go down after diet change? Thanks.

Chabby,

The sumo wrestler I was referring to is myself! lol

Gynae already commented (quite tactfully) that my baby's stomach is kinda 'round', i.e. BIG. Well, if mummy has larger than normal tummy, no surprise that baby's tummy is big too. sigh.

You should get the TIME mag. It's one of the few articles I've actually truly enjoyed reading from that mag. They mention that low birth weight can increase a baby's chances of getting diseases and heart failure later on in life. Hmm. That's about the only thing consoling me about my phenomenal weight gain so far.

luckymummy... i'm also getting bad leg cramps especially when i try stretching in bed before getting out.. gotta smack hubby to wake him up to help me relief it.. hur hur..

hubby actually researched online n mentioned that it is likely due to not enough calcium although i think it's more like due to insufficient of salt in our bodies.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anybody setting up the bed n stuff for baby yet? yest just took the cot from my SIL and am thinking whether to fix it up already or not.. week 27 tomorrow.. 1 more week to week 28 scan.. cant wait!

My gynae says to drink more water and flex yr ankles more often to prevent leg cramps..

I wanna ask you ladies how to tell the difference between a kick and a hiccup??

Time magazine: I bought e TIME magazine... Cos I can't believe how good e model looked on e cover!!! Find e article interesting but at e same time pretty stressful. Cos it highlights e fact that we cannot be stressed cos it affects bb negatively... How not to be stress???? Lol

I din read any articles in e magazine tho~~~ :]

luckymummy,

are you very tall to begin with? if you are bigger in stature, you'll definitely put on more weight.

my family and colleagues are all saying my tummy very big also. same size as their 3rd trimester.

chelleybaby,

kick is usually more painful, forceful and random

hiccups is regular and you'll just detect a consistent rhythm movement for a while.

pinky,

be careful of salt intake. i suspect it's not the salt but calcium or iron. too much salt intake cause water retention and increase blood pressure.

i haven't set up the cot (from SIL also) and drawer yet. i'm waiting for myself to cross week 30. dun wan to accumulate so much dust. remember to clean/wipe over once w dettol for all the preloved items just to be on a safe side.

thinking of removing all the curtains for washing after week 32 and a thorough dust over. will get my family to come over to help. hehe.. abuse my privilege as a pregnant lady while i can. muhaha..

chabby.. i'm suffering from slight water retention at my ankles too.. i didnt increase my salt intake as i cannot stand salty food.. hur hur..

i've been telling hubby that we should start getting things ready next month onwards.. still got plenty of hand-me downs to wash n pack.. plastic drawers to get to store clothes etc.. seems like still have plenty of things to be done..

anyone bought ur breast pumps yet? i'm still contemplating to get mine or not..

pinky,

same-same. i told my hubby the same thing too..even compile a "to-do-list", "essential items check list" and "hospital bag list".

maybe you want to start w putting together the plastic drawer and wash the clothes. this one won't accumulate dust so badly since it's inside the drawer.

haven't buy pump yet but shopping for one. couldn't decide between manual (avent) or electric (medela or ameda)

Avent reviews:

- quiet and lasting. colleague used for 4 kids

- no need to look for electricity supply. can express anywhere.

- can empty better

- cheaper

- tiring finger exercise

Medela/Ameda reviews

- quick and easy

- effective in expressing

- fear of break down/problems

- may not empty very well

- expensive

- depend on model, some can be noisy and/or heavy

working wife,

I can't remember what's the range for acceptable glucose reading. But I know when you control your diet, u slowly release the sugar into the blood, hence, ur body can break down the sugar easier. But don't worry so much. My sister is a dietician at one of the hospital, so she will always say take more small meals, and less carbo, then should be fine. However, if your sugar level goes too high, u may need to go for insulin jabs daily. So try to control. So far, I only do the sugar check at my gynae's clinic.... so far quite ok, coz before checkup I will avoid all the sugar stuff and drink a lot of water...

Re: Baby Bed

Don't need to set up so early. Coz you set up so early, will gather dust quite easily. We only intend to set up the bed when my bb is born and we in hospital.

Re: Breastpump

I've already bought mine from US. Medela Freestyle.

Re: Leg cramp

I also have... so far experienced 2 times when I sleeping.. but MIL says at night must wear socks to sleep so won't have any cramps.

Re: Weight gain

I very scared to weigh myself... coz just came back from taiwan on wednesday... kept eating and eating non-stop... everyday eat almost 6 meals... haha...

Hoshi,

woah.. still so gungho to travel! Admirable!

i scare scare. Even Malacca i hesitate..so dying to travel.. keep dreaming of places i went to these days.

Hi cabbY me signed up with cordlife yesterday and got a pretty good deal at 800 + gst. Reason being is I am delivering in Nuh and gynae in Nuh dun charge collection fee so save 250 plus I am a nurse so there's also a further discount to that i am surprise . Got a huggies starter kit plus a bear... However disappointed with the bazaar though. The talk by the various speakers was good.

@ Chabby: thanks for the infor of the bb fair!

Think i'll be going on Fri in the morning where there should be less crowds. dun wanna be in the situation of being shoved and pushed around. bad for bb :p

@Arte: yap, BB moving a long [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] a heart-warm feeling :D got a night, after my toilet break, tried to sleep back, but BB was doing either swimming or somersault inside. can feel her frm left to right, then suddenly got a "upper-cut" from her, as I felt her either hand or leg kicking my stomach (gastric area) :p haha...

this morning woke up suddenly feel stomach why so flat... got a big big fright.. then realised was sleeping on my back, so bb also "flatten" out :p haha... tink now, all our focus is on the little one(s) :D

well, i tink best is eat healthy, dun tink of the weight gain/loss. ya, the most impt is when bb is in our womb. She/he can feel our love, emotion, and also how big/small it comes out in, will really affect the health forever. Small bb, in the later stage of life (abt 40s) will more likely of getting heart problems.

o ya! any mummies ever asked the cordlife/stemlife... Cos I read an article saying that cordblood of this bb will most likely not able to b used to save the same bb if situations arises. Cos genetically it's defective to a certain extent. Not sure how true, but i think there may be some possibility in it. So was thinking will be sending mine to donate. God will bless [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] but if need to use, i think the hospital will use another donor's cordblood for mine.

This Q was sth i always wanna find out, but till now gotten 2 schools of thoughts.

Charleen : The Pro of cord bld banking is your b will be having the 100% ownership and yes true if there is genetic related diseases you can;t use back the bb's cord bld but there are ard 80 other diseases can be use for. Unless you have genes like thalesemia, hep C, HIV cord bld can't be collected. if not the cord bld can be use for bb siblings if there is any of the genetic defects. So at the end of the day is a decision b/w pte or public bld banking.

Chelleybaby - so ex? i tot we no need to pay if take from public bank. haha.

btw ladies, u all sleep on left or right or back? i like to sleep on the right, but i heard its better for us to sleep on the left..

Chellybaby .: that's is y storing cord bld Is not enough gotta get an insurance with it just in case. Tt will be after bb is born of cos.

Popomin: I sleep on all right left and back will. Keep rotating according to my comfort level

we went shopping for baby clothes today and bought like 8 sets of new born clothing and another 2 for 0-3mth. Wondering if its too much for new born , do you think i shld exhange to more 0-3? Babies outgrow the newborn ones quite fast rite??

littlepigpig,

yup. outgrown very fast. i only intend to have 6-8 sets in total. try to get more 0-6 mths or the larger UK/US cutting. never know how big the baby may turn out or how fast it grown.

there are frens who will buy these baby sets as present unless you tell them not to in advance.

Back to maternity support belt. Anyone using feel that it may restrict baby movement? Initially I Velcro it just nice when walking but feel tight when seated n baby move where the belt is. So I adjust to be suitable for seating but seem loose when walking.

Littlepigpig : I think one day bb can use up to 3 pieces of clothes unless you can wash and dry in time. I got 7 newborns vest like clothes ez to wear then the rest I actually bought 6 mths and above ... thinking if needed can always get more when bb is out.

Hi littlepigpig, i think 8 sets not enough lei. i would say 2 dozen should be more safe. cos like what Mitch mentioned, drying those clothes also need time. scared weather no good. 3 sets of clothes/day may also quite risky cos bb may spilt milk onto their clothes, may urine/shit onto their clothes by accident, sweat alot and also others reason... suggest you get more cotton type handkachief. if your bb happen to be those who sweat alot, you can insert the handkechief into their clothes and change them once they got damp so that you won't need to keep changing bb's clothes.

last time i also scared bb overgrown from their newborn shirt too quickly so only have around 6 to 10sets of clothes. later during my confinement period i asked my mom to help to buy many more sets for changing. siong lei. Oh ya! also don't think of depending on using those clothing from gift sets, some of the sizes are rediculously small. i got many boxes of them for my bb's 1st month gift. i think none can fit her. all been used to dressed up her soft toy liao. when get bb everyday clothing, it's alright to get bigger sizes like 12 to 18mth. cos easier to help bb put on and take off also.

Hello Ladies, how are you. it has been sometime since i last post on this forum. this thread grew very fast lei. i alittle lost track liao... :p

btw any mommies here in their 3rd trimester already? excited or not hnr? me feeling very calm lei. feeling alittle weired :p

Good morning mummies,

Sorry ..me again...

I still have 2packets (72pcs each) S size mummypoko to be sold. Deal at admiraltly Link only or sembawang mrt, lets accomodate a date and time.

Giving away 10odd loose pc of S size mummypoko.

SMS me at 93621700 for a reasonable price.

by the way, you may want to tell your frens and family NOT TO BUY you those baby gift sets.

i've shamelessly put up a "Wish list" for my baby and listed down things i have so they won't buy all the useless stuff or things i already have. Alternatively, you can request for shopping voucher. that one sure useful!

my colleague told me this is what he said to his frens before baby shower

"My boy won't die w/o toys. but he sure will die w/o milk powder. so we'll appreciate NTUC voucher, diapers or milk pwder."

Ting:

I am in third trimester already and lookin forward to an early delivery in Dec [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]How r u?

Ivtwins: I m wearing my maternity pants and bb also move where e rubber belt is... Dunno if e belt is making bb uncomfortable... So I try my best to wear dress nowadays.. Super scared my bb no place to grow...

Already 25weeks preg liaoz my tummy only have a tiny bump... A bit scare after I attended my last antenatal class last sat... My tummy is undoubtedly e tiniest!!! Ppl always comment i like 4 mnth preg. Even my hb concern when he did his eyeball comparison with e rest of e class... -_- I did gain quite a bit of weight - abt 7kg but I started out pretty thin...

Glad I m gg to gynae this coming sat! Can ask abt bb weight

n whether bb growing well... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] by e way I heard from colleague that eating durian will make bb bigger... Is it true? Is it ok for preg to indulge in durian?

chabby, mitch, ting: thks for yr advice, i think my mil too excited bought the really tiny and cute clothes, now i really wonder if bb can wear them or not. Haha looks like i got to go exhange to a bigger size.

Anybody using those water proof diaper pants to wear on top of the nappies? do you noe how many will we need?

Nimkulut,

i got the same problem as you. wearing those low waist pants/bermudas. the little tiger will kick exactly along the rubber belt there when i sit down.

Ask the gynae to check.. didn't the gynae did a detail scan for you at 20 weeks or so? he/she will be able to tell how heavy is the baby.

i also heard that durian will make baby grow fast and big inside. that's y i'm avoiding it at all cost. but remember durian is high in sugar and not advisable for people w high cholestrol/BP. go easy if you worry about gestation diabetes or BP.

littlepigpig.

you mean the nappy cover? i've stand-by 6 of various sizes from S to L. dunno enough a not. not enough then buy from kiddy palace. i'm hoping not to have too much wastage. make sure it have elastic bands at the sides so to prevent leakage.

Went to see gynea last saturday. And everything seems ok. Saw my bb moving n kicking inside.So cute! but I feel the session ended so soon. My hb asks if i would like to hook bb up to 24hrs cctv, so I can stare abt bb all day long. haha. I said YES! *lol*

my chickenpox all dried up already. Thank God mine is considered mild case. Pray hard bb will be born ok.

I also gianed near to 3kg the past month leh. haiyo. but hungry need to eat rite? keke

Sherill, how are you? your ADD within 12weeks ??? :-o like very fast hor. i hope my girl don't arrive so early. her sister starting playgroup early Jan next year. i hope i can accompany my #1 during her 1st day cc. so have you got every necessity ready? now me like in honeymoon don't know what i want to do and too lazy to start packing.

My detailed scan done at week 18. Bb growing well then...

Haha I afraid of GD, and I dun wan my little tiger to become big fat tiger la... But cos tummy a bit tiny so I concern ma... Maybe eating a bit of durian can help bb grow a little...

Looking forward to my gynae visit this sat... Time pls pass faster~~~

littlepigpig, i bought 3 diaper cover. err...but i didn't have them in the beginning cos sua gu, don't know got this type of thing :p i personally find the diaper cover quite expensive lei. cos we need to get fitting sizes. and bb grew bigger everyday very quickly. hmm...if u want to use diaper cover from the start, i think u may need to get 3 to 4 sets. if you not using dispossible diaper for your bb, then you may need more.

Hello mummies, wow the thread move so fast this week ah..

Am looking thru the posts where I last read..

Charleen - So envious, u can quit n an tai.. but will lugi on the maternity leave leh...

Leg cramps - So far I had only 2 bad episodes, both of them happens when Im abt to turn my body and then I have to "freeze" down there, unable to move my leg.... massaging helps abit, but i rather leave it to subside by itself... anyone touches my calves at that moment will get a punch from me. hahahaha

While u gers are busy setting up baby cot, I need to think of a place for maid's stuff.. haha she'll be here anytime in Oct.. and I have yet to get her neccessities.

And I haven get a single pc of suit for my NB yet...So shameful to say :p

Miaiko, poor you to have kana chickenpox during pregnancy. glad to know htat you are recovering already. don't worry, your bb will be alright. but guess you need to control your diet lor.

You only put on 3Kg so far or since last check out? me put on almost 10Kg le and Gynae still thot that i control my diet and commented that i didn't put on much weight lei.

http://picasaweb.google.com/107435811188765719302/MummyBabyStuffs#

dear mtbs, sorry to disturb again. have added many new items. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i've alr delivered my gal & looking to clear the abv items. hope mtbs can find them of interest to u.

pls refer to abv link for related pics & descriptions. all items are described to the best of my knowledge. items u see in the provided link are all up for grabs (except for those that have been RESERVED), items once SOLD will be removed from the link.

if keen, pls SMS to 96495528 for fast deal. pls do NOT leave PM or postings in the forum as i'm unable to keep track of them. calls from unknown nos. will not be entertained.

here's wishing all mtbs a safe & happy pregnancy!

Nimkulut,

check w gynae first before the durian binge.

it'll be safer to go for durian closer to delivery. ask gynae for baby weight ok? it'll be a better. tummy small may not equate to baby small.