(2011/01) Jan 2011

Nimkulut, don't bother abt showing your tummy la. as long as bb development is on track then everything shud be fine. baby development is exponantial. 3rd trimester time they may surprise you if they suddenly grow twice their usual size.

during my last pregnancy, my tummy also not big at my 2nd tri. it only begin to shows alittle during 3rd tri. my baby is consider quite big at birth. i didn't eat durian though got craving cos no season so can't tell the effect on baby size. i remember i ate quite a bit of crab and chicken wings last time :p

think on the other side, since tummy not so big that means you won't have much excess fats to shake off later lor ;)

Poor mummy,

i dun intend to get.worry it has a weird smell.

my mum wld probably make me use the herbs to shower le. can't image i've to use herb shampoo and body wash along w the herby water..

*scream in terror!

i've seen those dry shampoo though. no rinsing required. more interested in that. got lobang or feedback on that?

Chabby: :D okok will do... Will tahan till sat n ask my gynae... Now I jus guai guai eat my supplement n eat some fruits..

Ting:

My EDD is in 12 + weeks and now into 27th weeek already. Feeling strong movements and have a feeling Bb will be born mid dec. around 36-37 weeks same as my DD so assuming 9 weeks left :

I havent do any preparation yet, will do once my MIL arrive here in Nov [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Basically dressing and napppies cause I have other things saved from my DD time.

One bad news is my 3 yr old maid is going back home and I am in process of hiring new one. Hope she will learn everything soon [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I also just came back from my gynae's visit. Already gained 8kg to date, and gynae says I've put on too much weight... must go control my diet... says I can only put on another 3 kg for the rest of my pregnancy.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Poor mummy,

I've bought the ginger cream and showergel from the BP.... Think it's more convenient, so dun have to keep boiling the herbs when we bathe during confinement. Also, seems like reviews are quite good too.

So busy after mid of last week, no chance to post...

Chabby, I tried those powder shampoo during #1 time, but I find it very difficult to use. Perhaps it was because I still have shoulder length hair, and it comes powder form, so will be like "white white" like that.. I don't like!

Miaiko, I had another friend who had chicken pox when expecting her #2, but #2 turn out happy and chubby and totally healthy! So don't worry so much now!

Oh dear, my sweet tooth is getting worst... keep wanting to snack on sweet stuff...

Chabby - Hahaha.. dont think u need to use the herbal shower gel along side with the herb brewed for shower. THink its either one.

I cant stand the smell of the herbal shower, it makes me even more sticky than not showering... So thinking if it is wise if i can skip and and use the gel instead.

Hoshi - Really ah.. okok hmmmmm my agency will provide the herbs coz its part of the package.. actually i also worry abt the wound part - If it will worsen it or not. My last confinement was quite bad... Gyane gave me lotion and use it on pail, i need to sit in e pail for a few mins.

chabby - the dry shampoo - Hmm it will help to remove the stickyness look bah.. but i find that the itch still remains.... Am going to zap my hair short short before delivering!

I don't like the herbal bath... I feel very dirty after that, cos it seems to leave behind this brownish residue... yucks! End up, I use the water from the shower head to rinse, so defeats the whole purpose right?

Littlepigpig:

You may want to change the size for some sets. Some babies who are born bigger may not fit into NB size. This also depends on the cutting of the clothes. My #1 was born at 3.1kg. By baby shower, he is not able to wear some of the NB clothes we got as gifts. Still, from experience its advisable to have abt 3-4 sets of NB clothes (my mum washes baby's clothes very deligently hor). Depending on how often they stain / dirty the clothes with the pee, poo, milk, you may also need to change it quite frequently esp during 1st month when you are learning to manage your baby. For #1, I only bought 0-3 mths and they look really huge on him during the 1st month. Very cute haha. This time I intend to mix NB and 0-3mths too. Save $. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Nimkulut:

Don't worry about the small bump. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] I had a friend who only discover that she is preggie in her 5th month. She was really skinny to start with and only gained a total of 8kg for her entire pregnancy. Baby was about 3+kg at birth.

Miaiko:

Glad to know that you are well again! Must eat when you are hungry ok [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chabby:

Wish List sounds so good. A bit paiseh to say to friends and colleagues thou hehe~ I got duplicate items and some clothes that are too small for my boy.

Bought both the herbs and the shower gel. Feeling deprived as my mum only let me shower about 4 times (w herbs) during the last confinement. Hahaha now I intend to shower everyday.

Hoshi, may i know what ginger cream and showergel you bought from BP? do u mean we can use them in place of the confinement shower herb? for me i can't use the herb cos it will cos rashes and irritation on my skin. can share with me your method?

thank u ladies for your comforting words. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Poormummy,

Muz cut hair ah? i over shoulder length now. intend to bun it up the entire confinement. alot of MTB cut to short hair i realise..thanks for your review. will jus use my normal shampoo when i sneakily bath..keke

Misty,

eat fruits for sweet tooth. i also eat/drink. jus had soya milk w pearls from Mr bean on my way home. hehe.. intend to sneak a bit of shower here and there w tap water still..muhaha.. lucky mum dun read EL or use PC..muhaha

Jass,

for good frens only. frens for so long.. no need to paiseh. for their kids, wedding or birthday i'll outright ask them what they want de. practical also. anyway i dun intend to throw baby showers. so dun really expect much present anyway.

Jass and Poormummy,

intend to shower everyday ah? hmm..family will nag? remember dun shower the first 2-3 days to prevent from getting a cold hor.

sorry to drop a message here and disturb mummies

i do have a brand new capella infant car seat BLUE in colour for sale as I got it from a baby contest [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Retail price is $159

I am selling at $120

Its still brand new in box

anyone interested please email me at [email protected]

chabby,

yes I am considered tall, but I don't think that excuses me from this ridiculous weight gain. Been in denial about it but now have to face up to reality. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] I'm wondering if it is possible to only gain like 3 kg more for the rest of my pregnancy.

How many small meals are you ladies taking?

Durian is high in fat (along with avocado and coconut meat) so I am definitely avoiding those fruits! Unless you are having difficulties putting on weight, I don't think we should over indulge in these fruits.

Yah, I have no idea how to tell people NOT to buy me certain things. It's not so bad if they asked me, but I can't really go around announcing to them what to buy me, unless they are close. What if they weren't going to buy me anything?! lol

Hi, very tiring today after yest's party for my son.

Btw, the chilli padi catering is quite ok. Like their batik cloth layout. The food is also ok. Like their nonya kueh and maki. Only thing is the bobo chacha a bit too sweet. Think might use them again for my baby's first month shower.

Hihi, 1st time mummy here. New to thread. EDD is 13 Jan. Having a boy in MAH.

Went for my gynae check up 1 week ago and I already gained almost 11kg since pre-pregnancy weight. Gynae said it's okay and no need to cut down food intake. Is this normal?

Seems like everyone seems to have good control over their weight except me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Haha.. I think Angbao more practical for gifts..

Most ppl give angbaos nowadays anyway.

Btw, for your estimated weight gain, check out http://www.babycenter.com.sg/tools/weightgain/?intcmp_lnav_tool_weightgain

It shows you how much you will probably gain! Looks like im off track. I already gained 10kg and have 4 months to go!

----------------------------------------------

You will probably gain 11.3 kgs - 15.9 kgs during your pregnancy.

If you gained the average of the range above, this is where the weight would go (totals are rounded): You:

Uterus 1.1 kgs

Breasts 0.5 kgs

Blood 1.4 kgs

Water 1.9 kgs

Fat 3.8 kgs

Subtotal 8.6 kgs

Your baby:

Fetus 3.4 kgs

Placenta 0.7 kgs

Amniotic Fluid 0.9 kgs

Subtotal 5.0 kgs

Total 13.6 kgs

Hey Ivftwins, I assume you meant TMC parentcraft?

For more information or bookings, please call our Thomson ParentCraft at 6251 4090.

Cheques for CBE registration should be made payable to THOMSON MEDICAL CENTRE LTD and are to be mailed to Thomson ParentCraft Centre at Thomson Medical Centre, 339 Thomson Road, Singapore 307677.

Please write your name, NRIC, contact number and CBE course date on the back of your cheque.

http://www.thomsonmedical.com/parentcraft_centre.htm

Hihi all

wah just a few daz so much chatting friday took leave to take my son out children day Ma but he catch a cold and was down with high fever!! And Today boss cam back already busy busy no chance to log in at all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

went for my check up on sat my gal growing quite well I suppose I am into my week 25 but baby growth show week 26 2 Daz haha and can see chubby cheek and mouth openin and closing cute!! My gynae say my will be most likely 1st week of Jan [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] so ask me choose date heheh ;)

hope to come in to chat miss the chat here and ya I received my cinch wrap too! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

luckymummy,

3 kg for the rest of the pregnancy?? quite difficult leh. i machiam like 3 kg per month. my students keep commenting that it's bigger than a basket ball already. dun worry ok..

i didn't tell them the gender. hopefully this will deter gender specific gifts. i quite shamless w my close frens..muhaha

magdalene and luckymummy,

jus ensure everything is healthy and cut down on fatty food. i was told 3rd trimester is the one we gain weight fastest!

CL,

very useful URL. i gain 6 kg so far. but can't sit for long hours already. can't imagine 3 more months to go.. ROAR! the projection i got is tha same as yours.. exactly!

Lily,

good to hear everything is good. choose date already? choose a "ji" date. remember to buy a present for your older kid and say it's a present from the newborn. hear this trick can help reduce sibling rivalry.

Mommies, may I check if anyone is taking cordyceps and 泡参?

Realize that my mom been boiling birdsnest with 泡参. Kind of remember that we cannot eat ginseng. Is 泡参 a type of ginseng n can we eat?

ivftwins:

I've been taking american ginseng tea every 1-2 days. Recently have been craving for hot tea. Since I have to cut down on teh and green tea, I'm surviving on American ginseng tea. Cannot drink too?

Chabby:

I'm not getting any CL nor my mum/mil in helping w confinement. Hehe so got more freedom. I was really miserable during confinement previously. The confinement food and DOM makes me sweat like crazy. Plus breastfeed... feels really yucky!

CL:

Ya.. i like angpao best. Haha else NTUC voucher also not bad. Practical hor [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lily:

Wow.. how about 1 Jan? Great date: 01/01/11 plus your confinement can end before CNY. How shiok!

Thanks chabby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] readin all the threads finally done phew real fast [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

me gain 6 kg so far my gynae say it's all rite wo and I ask him how big is my gal he say all growing according nvr tell me at all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Thanks CL!

Jass: i dunno lor that's why ask mommies here if they know......I would love a cup of hot tea. At times i would break the rule and have half a cup of tea from killiney type of shop.Surviving on decaf coffee occassionally.

Hi luckymommy and chabby,

I think we have same concerns. last sat I visited my gyne and i have gained 9 kg already in 26 weeks [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Only need to gain 3 kg for the next mos. quite impossible [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I hope we manage to gain 1 kg per month [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Magdalene!

My EDD is 12Jan, also delivering at MAH and it's a boy too! Maybe I'll see you there.. hehee [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hi Ivftwins,

I nvr take anything at all..so am wonderin i am not normal no one will cook anything for me to eat [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so sad..

I still drink coffee daily cant live without it lo...

hi Jass1408

but 1 jan diff for enrolment of sch? hahahah...i trying to siam CNY lay actually but can save on CL money? hahah but i need to send my son to p1 lay..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lily,

dun be sad. i also haven't taken anything much except for those canned bird nest. to date,drank 2 and suffer insonmia after drinking every time.. sigh~ CL very ex during CNY. easily 2.5k.. if can, dun get. jus get frens/family who can help out to help.. esp make arrangement for your P1 boy. like to school and back, pack bag, supervise homework, meals, etc.

casey,

i know i hopeless case. jus pray for 2kg per month. gynae say 2nd trimester shld only add 1kg per month, 3rd trimester 2kg per month.. guess we all exceeded.

jass,

can't help le.. 1st kid.dunno can handle a not. so need my mum to help. my MIL passed away before we were married and CL is very ex and worry may end up w a lousy CL. rather give that sum to my mum and my mum sure safe bet de. wait for her to go home (10 min walk away) then i sneakily clean up a bit.

ivftwins,

heard that those tonics you are drinking is actually good for your and the newborn immunity. had 1 cousin who faithfully drank it. kid super healthy. dun fall sick at childcare. but jus a bit per day/in moderation. else may be to "heaty"

@Ivftwins, I've been drinking cordyceps with paosheng and/or birdnest with paosheng every week... sometimes I wonder if it's too "bu". My frd says 80% of the goody actually goes to mother....but im still feel so so tired.

Cannot drink tea? I occassionally still make myself lipton tea to drink...

@Lily - The american ginseng tea is quite easy to make. EYS have those pre pack, just add in the tea bag and hot water. Not need to boil or add anything.

Else paosheng also can do the same thing - Add hot water to raw paosheng.

For post natal - have u considered ordering confinement tingkat? i heard natalessentials is not bad.

Abt weight gain - Haha.. so far I dare not put myself on the weighing machine yet also have no idea how much was my pre preg weight... ;p

I just hope I dont cross the 20kg mark all in all.

I wanna go back my pre,pre preg weight which is like during my wedding times... whahaha seems abit ambitious!

Hi chabby am not so lucky I dun hav CL for my 1st kid and my mil offered to help in the and I suffer big time she cook the same soup and dish almost everday one only one soup for all meals totally sick plus I need to wash all my stuff and endure her sarcastic remarks so this time round I totally hav no choice but to engage CL I pay a deposit of 200 and hope that she will turn up she charge me 2800 [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] sob sob very ex ex ex but I dun hav any choice since no one offer their help at all......

chabby and casey31,

"i was told 3rd trimester is the one we gain weight fastest!" This is precisely what is worrying me. Already during the supposedly slow months I'm gaining more than the average, what more this last stretch? Will work towards the goal of 1kg a month, as casey said.

Must train myself to love and relish my wholemeal breakfast and lunch. Started to pack my own lunch to work, not sure if that will make any difference.

ivftwins,

you are so disciplined! I'm still having 1/2 to 1 cup of kopitiam coffee everyday. If it's not coffee, it's teh. On the days that I manage to drink only half the cup I feel very accomplished already!

Thank u ladies. So I can feel safe taking pao Shen. Have been taking it for close to 2 months so technically should be ok lah. Read from the book published by Kkh doctors for pregnancy that it's Chinese ginseng that is not safe. So confused with what pao Shen is.

I super ks when it come to tea coffee lah. Went cold turkey in first trimester. Decaf still ok. Half cup lor.

Oh luckymummy my gynae still tell me 2kg a mth I better start watching my diet then phew

Plus I drink one full cup of kopi c every morning since I was preggy oops is that totally not healthy as realise most of u dun touch coffee at all....

Lily, don't worry, I am your "partner in crime"! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] When I do visit fusionopolis, I will order yak kun kopi, UPSIZE! if not, will be my 3 in 1 daily fix. I TRY my hardest to keep to 1 cup a day! But sometimes fail, or sometimes 1 cup coffee and 1 cup tea.

Regarding CL. I tried to book one CL, but I tell her that I will release her early for CNY, means that depending on which date I deliver, she can work 2 weeks or 3 weeks, then go off for CNY then see if we can pro-rate the fees. But this CL later tell me that she wants to charge the whole month fees even though she didn't complete it, cos new year, once a year only.... :| So I am still thinking about it....

lilyh,

my personal goal of 1kg is because I already put on all that I need to for this whole pregnancy! lol

So your case depends on how much you've gained and what your gynae has told you recently. Think it also depends on your pre-pregnancy weight.

my gyane say 1 cup per day is fine. so limit to 1 bah. i'm not a coffee or tea addict bu i'm a bubble tea addict! worse, high sugar!

misty,

rope in family/frens to help?

esp weekend. get them to cook some meals or help to do laundry/babysit for a few hours so you can rest? can make that as your baby shower wish list. so not everything cost $$.

lily,

worry my mum will have conflict w hubby n FIL. my mum can be quite "one-kind" at times. so i do have my fair share of concern la. think food is more of me being picky. hopefully will loss weight. muhaha..hate ginger!

poormummy,

what is "confinement tingkat"? pls enlighten.

luckymummy,

drink more water and fruits to fill up. i ate 2 slice of fruits before meal to take up space in tummy to limit intake of food. prevent constipation. got once constipated.. push so long.. so scare i push the baby out! *dun laugh hor.. my colleagues laugh when i told them that fear.

ivftwins,

Confirm can take 泡参! Coz my TCM recommended me to take 泡参 every alternate days to pu my body and keep the heart strong coz I get out of breath quite easily and she says my heart quite weak. My TCM also says that 泡参 is the best, no need to take all other herbs.

Btw, take too much bird nest also no good. Coz they contain a lot of protein which may induce phlegm in babies. That's why my TCM said abt my gal coz she's always down with phlegm, flu, cough, etc. But if you take bird nest with 泡参, it will help to avoid the heatiness... and it's also good for bb's complexion.

Luckymummy,

My gynae also says I can only gain 3kg for the remaining of my pregnancy.... I'm thinking like OMG! how is it possible? Think 3kg for one month still ok, but for 3 more months.... haha...

The more I try to control my diet, the more craving I seemed to have... sigh...

I rem reading in a post a few days ago abt getting pre-loved baby cot.

I got a pre-loved kids paradise cot from a fren.

We were kiasu n decided to assemble it last weekend.

However, we realised that one of the screws for the mattress base did not fit. Think it's due to wear n tear, the screw went out of shape.

Anyone knows where I can get spare parts for Kids paradise cot?

For those who r thinking of when to assemble it, mayb shud do it earlier in case u meet a problem like me.

We got quite fed up fixing the base, almost wanted to give up n get a brand new cot instead.

Hoshi, agree! The more u try to control, the more u feel like eating right? Hahahahahaha!

Chabby, hmmm, unfortunately, my relatives like to go out during weekends... don't like to stay at home kind. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

So for pao sheng, we can just buy from Yu Ren Sheng? is it very expensive?

@ misty! yeah finally someone the same as me..i drink Ya kun kopi c everyday as i cant survive without it !! LOL

@ luckymummy, thanks makes me feel beter hahahhah...for this pregnancy tend to snack alot and all unhealthy junk food...

Hoshi, so the Pao sheng we can jus buy from YRS? I wan to drink lay the most easiest way of pu.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Anyone buy from the SMH link ? the ginger cream and shower gel? sound good?? still in the midst of reading that thread ..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I think can buy from YRS...

I bought mine from my TCM. She help me grind the paosheng into powder, so I just need to mix with hot water and take it as a drink... most convenient for lazy people like me... haha... But quite ex lor, cost abt $250 to grind into a small bottle, so I will refill my cup at least 2-3 times... but can last like 3-4 months... coz sometimes I only take once a week..