(2011/01) Jan 2011

Hi ladies, I heard that there is a CL agency which we can contact for CL. I have no idea about this and don't have any recommendations/referals. Does anyone have the contact?

Also, may I know what is the market rate for a CL in month of Jan/Feb? My due date should be mid Jan so confinement month will spill into CNY. Any information will be helpful. Thanks!

wow........so many of you are facing the same thing on girl/boy issue. I am so relieved that i am not the only one. Doc thinks we are having another girl though he is not 100% sure, so we havent disclosed it to anybody yet.

My family keep asking if it is Boy and I dont want to tell unless it is confirm. However my DD loves a girl [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] People around me keep blessing me with a boy and I feel disappointed [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Kristalangel:

Wow, 4 kids. You are a power mummy. Like Hoshi, I'm not sure how i can cope w 2 babies and you have 4. Pei fu! Admire those parents who have more than 2 children. Although it can be tiring, it must be very fulfilling. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Jia you jia you.

Yup, at the end of the day, whatever is the gender of baby... the most important thing is that he/she is healthy!

Anyone has any confinement food caterer to recommend? Those that I checked out online like chili padi are very expensive. Lunch and Dinner for 25 days cost about 1.8k. Any source that cost lesser. Very siong leh.

Hi working wife, there are a few CL agencies around. The more popular ones are GLPS and PEM. I requested for a quote from PEM last month for my EDD on 22 Jan 2011. I was quoted 2.8K due to the CNY. They do not have 100% CLs willing to work during CNY so you need to check and decide fast if you are keen. You may check their website for more infor.

Kristalangel:

Wow that was my ideal to have 4 kids but too bad I married late and by the time I had my 1st ( where my pregnancy was terminated at 19wks due to no heart beat) and now consider my 2nd pregnancy I dun think I can make it to 4 haha I will be 40 yrs old by then haha ... But I do envy u ;)

Though my preferance is to have a boy 1st then girl, alot of this is beyond our control as long as bb is healthy and moreover my hubby prefers girls. My 1st was a boy and now I have not really know the sex of the bb yet so my hubby is praying for a girl haha...

jass,

newbaby is slightly cheaper but still $1k plus. confinement catering is not cheap! maybe u want to try the trial meal first cos some mummies told me the portion is big enough for 2 meals so they only cater for lunch and keep the balance for dinner.

but all depends on individual and how much they eat lah.

kristalangel - wow! 4 kids! So is this your 5th pregnancy? how do you cope with all the kids? are you a SAHM? kudos to you no matter what! But you have 4 girls and im sure they all play so well together... yours must be a happy family [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks pinky..

i oso looking at buying medela freestyle but dun wanna buy in spore. Lets see how many mummies here wanna buy also...

Does the taka fair has the pigeon stall with trade-in promo for bottles?

u gals got your confinement nanny already? i still headache whether to get or not. My edd end jan, so delivery likely mid jan..too close to CNY and they charge more than $3k... heart pain to pay tat money... how ar

Grumpus:

Thanks for the recommendation. Yes, it is indeed cheaper. Good idea to cater just 1 meal per day. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Rachel:

Ya, expensive to get CL during that period. Decided to do without. Will be tiring lah. But I plan to try 1st as I have helper @ home. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

i am new to this thread and currently expecting my 1st bb... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

need tips on things to prepare for the bb's arrival. like wat to buy etc..

the thing is i am located in shanghai currently where hubby is working... feeling lost coz mommy and frens are not ard to give me tips...

Pinky rachael, if u are organising medela breast pump spree from overseas let me know. Am interested.

Mommies that have gone through c-section can share

1. Did ur hubby go in with you? Heard we can be awake during the op

2. How soon did u breast feed? Latch on or pump out for nurse? Wonder if we can breast feed when we are recovering from anesthetic.

I m delivering in kk.

hahaha, yes, 4 kids. This is my 5th pregnancy. accident. I didn't want to get pregnant again lar. Aldy 36 plus years. Feel tired leh. My eldest is aldy 11 but the rest are 6, 4 and my youngest will be 2 end Nov.

Happybelle,

been lucky that my hubby is able to support all of us so I haven't worked since my 1st kid .. so I am a SAHM ... also tough lar. I am the driver. Whole day I'm ferrying my girls to school, ballet, tuition .. *sigh* no rest for me. I have a maid to help me. Thinking about whether my hubby will yell at me if I ask for an additional maid when no. 5 comes along. lol :p yes, my girls play well .. of course they argue as well.

yes, we are a big and happy family most times. noisy too. hahah!

kristalangel - wow you're a power mom and your hubby's also a power dad to be able to support the whole family!!!! yeah SAHM to so many kids also means you must be very busy - i can imagine all the logistics you have to go thru!!! but your maid is also not bad, can cope with 4 kids.... my bro-in-law has 3 kids and already they had a few maids quit one after another cos they say they cannot cope with 3 kids!!!! some maids are really expecting as little work as possible!!!!

big happy families are good! never a dull moment in the house!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/biggrin.gif]

kristalangel - wow, 4 kids and 5th one on the way! I cannot imagine. Hats off to you. But if u can handle and finances are not a problem, its nice to have big families.

Weather so nice today, too bad have to work. Can't wait to go home.

Hi ivftwins, me deliver my no 1 c-section. below is my reply.

1. Did ur hubby go in with you? ->Yes.

Heard we can be awake during the op. -> Yes. Can. choose epidural instead of FA for this. heard some Gynae do not allow hubby to be ard in the op if their MTB chose FA. You need to check with your Gynae.

2. How soon did u breast feed?

-> i start bf the following day.

Latch on or pump out for nurse?

-> latch on. for the first day, i requested nurse to cup feed my bb with formula milk.

Wonder if we can breast feed when we are recovering from anesthetic.

-> my Gynae say no problem to start bf on the same day of delivery. in face, he wanted me to start bf as soon as possible to kick start my supply. don't know is i read form somewhere or Gynae told me that the first few hrs when bb juz arrived is the crucial time to kick start our milk supply.

Hi pooh, if you have decided on Avent pump then go for it when you find good offer. like what grumpus say, the more you pump the more milk you will get. i think its quite true. we need to work hard for our supply. for me i use reverse psycology. i thot since i have paid for the pump i must well just pump on... and i managed to last for 13months. for me i actually not sure if i have enough supply cos i let my #1 latch on most of the time during my maternity leaves. i tried to pump also but the bottle content always seems miserable and discouraging. i only began to "see something" after i went back to work when i pump. i can see milk supply increase overtime but the flow is very slow ... i thot could be because my breast are use to my #1 comfort latching style.

I know there are mommies who have just too much milk and their excess milk can splash over bb face but there are mommies who need to work hard for their supply. so if u happen to be hte later and wanna wait for milk supply to come then buy pump will be quite difficult lor.

Hi Sputnik, I will gave them a innocent look and ask them what's wrong with me having another girl? of cos inside me i am feeling more than irritated as i am already very disappointed with it. but on the other hand, i also want to protect my child. the baby inside though is not of my desire gender, is still my child. i thot i need to cope with my disappointment so as not to affect my pregnancy.

Both my hubby and myself love children. we thot having 2 children will be a comfortable arrangement for us. to have a family with girl and boy will be perfect. as i m nearing the high risk age for pregnancy, we both thot that if can close shop after this will be good. we feel really disappointed after Gynae announce that inside me is a girl. even though my Gynae sounds very confident in the result, i still hope miracle can happen during detail scan. if not, i may have to try once more but that will definitely be the final cos c-section cannot do more than 3x. depend on fate lor...

Hi, I'm back resting at home after my amnio test. Got mc from my gynae for 3days. Will know the results 2 to 3weeks later. My gynae say will let me know when I see him next for my detail scan.

Did not manage to know the gender cos he and the assistants were too busy with the procedure and I dun want to disturb by asking. So will only find out when i go for the detail scan 3 wks later.

Btw, KKH can sell the natal care plus, obimin and calcium over the counter w/o precribtion. But they dun carry the triplus.

apple79>> i bought it at 39.20

rachel>> i wasnt really looking at pigeon bottles.. so i cant answer on that.. sorry!

my MIL doing my confinement for me.. hope now crossing fingers all will be ok..

Hi Ting and Grumpus

Thanks for the great info. Didnt know much abt breastfeeding cos I have not been really reading up on tat. Will be going for a breastfeeding talk this sat. So hope it will feed me more knowledge.

Hi Dahpne,

Have a good rest. Don't worry so much, I'm sure everything will be ok. Just look forward to seeing your bb again at the detailed scan. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Do you know how much is KK selling the natal care DHAxtra gel?... My gynae is selling at $46... so ex....

Hi Ting,

Which pump are you using? I tot bb latch on and pumping out the milk, the supply shld be ard the same? For my no.1, very difficult to maintain supply coz bb refused to latch on and I had engorgement and the pump only managed to pump out very little... the most I had was 100ml for 2 sides after 1 hour of pumping... I was using the Medela Mini Electric single pump. and while pumping one side, the other side starting leaking.. very jia lat... so now I just purchased the Medela Freestyle, hope it will help...

anyone tried the PIS advanced and freestyle before? was using PIS Advanced but are considering freestyle. however, one of the spreeist told me that freestyle are gentle and slower and PIS advanced are harder and faster. anyone knows?

Daphne!

How was ur experience of amnio? was it very painful?

Take lot of rest and dont carry heavy things. If you need to extend 3 days MC, consider it because the uterus need time to recover from the test procedure .

Everything will be fine for the next visit. dont worry.

Hi coconutz,

I also never tried the PISA and Freestyle before. But reading up all the threads, it seems that:

1. PISA motor stronger but bulkier

2. Freestyle more gentle but the freestyle thing very cumbersome to fix, but lighter

In view that I may still be BF while at work, I purchased the freestyle lor, since more convenient to bring around...

thanks hoshi. I oso find PIS heavy too. but juz worried the motor not strong enough cos i pump quite frequently during my last pregnancy.

coconutz,

I also dunno... one mummy commented that FS not strong enuff, while another commented that PIS suction too strong very pain...

Think if u are not bringing ur pump out, can buy back PIS, but if u are bring them out and logistics is a issue, then better buy FS... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi, regarding breast pumps, I have also read that for 1st time bf mums, Freestyle is more suitable as the suction is gentler than PIS. FS is lighter hence more convenient for travelling around. PIS suction is harder and might be quite painful for 1st timers, so it was recommended for mums who have experience in bf before. I am also considering between Freestyle and Swing as I am going to be a SAHM, I wonder if I really need Freestyle.

furlin,

actually is quite hard to know now. cos even though u're going to be SAHM, yr bb may hv probs latching then the only way u can bf is through pumping.

that's what happened to me.

Hi hoshi, not sure if KKH selling the natal care DHAxtra gel. I bought 3 mths supply for my medicines so won't be going there any soon. Maybe u can try to call the KKH pharmacy to check. The no. is 63941500.

Sherill, thanks. Will rest well. Think the mc shd be sufficient cos after these 3 days will be sat n sun. So I'm actually resting a total of 5 days b4 starting work next mon. The nurses there also reminded me not to put pressure on the uterus and also avioded crowded places incase ppl accidentally hit my stomach.

The procedure was quite fast. A bit of pain when the needle was inserted. Then I can feel the needle moving into my stomach with a bit of pressure. I close my eyes throughout the procedure as I need to relax my stomach. I did not want to freak out if I see the needle. So not sure if it's really thick but think shd be looking at the mark on my stomach. The fluid is clear yellowish and it's a big tube.

grumpus,

I am worrying exactly what you have mentioned [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] But if wait until confinement then buy the pump might be too late. Can share ur experience how you resolve the pumping vs latching prob? Did you buy a single/dual pump before delivery? Thanks!

I came across this shopping checklist for newborn in 'Babycare' magazine and thought of sharing with mums to be here who are also 1st timers as me & feeling confused and overwhelmed on what to buy. Take this as reference and I think we can add or remove any items listed at our own discretion. Hope it helps! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Baby clothes: 6-8 sets of clothes; 3-4 sleepsuits; 4-5 pairs of mittens; 4-5 pairs of socks or booties; 2 cardigans/cotten wraps to provide extra layer

Bedroom: 1 well fitted, clean mattress and a baby cot; 3-4 sheets sets (no pillow); 2-3 blankets; cupboard to store baby's clothes and essentials

Diapers & bath: 6-8 diapers per day; baby wipes or cotton wool for diaper changing; 1 tube of barrier cream; baby oil or lotion; baby wash; 1 changing mat; 1 baby bath tub; 2-3 sets of towels; 1 baby nail cilppers or scissors

For breastfeeding: nursing bras; 4-6 pcs of breast pads per day; breast pump; breast milk containers or bags

For bottle feeding: 4-5 milk bottles; 4-5 teats;bottle brush; sterilising equipment;4-5 bibs and/or muslin squares

Outdoor: a baby stroller; a rear facing car seat if travelling by car

Hi hoshi, i have both Avent Uno electric and PIS Advance. I can't tell if the mlk supply for bf and ebm is the same cos i don't know how much milk bb drinking when latched on. but she always gave me the impression that she haven got enough after 20min latched on each breasts. i tried to pump on one breast and let my girl latch on other breast, the mlk i got is few drops only. i also tried pumping before her feeding time, what i got from both my breast is even less than 100ml. very discouraging lor. I consulted PDs and base on my child development, they assured that she is feeding very well. They also commented that no breast pump in the market is better than your bb's mouth. so during my maternity leave, i nvr manage to fill up a 125ml Avent bottle but i still continue to bf and pump. after i came back to work, i start pumping with my PIS (cos with my avent uno, i may need to spend 50mins doing the ebm one side after another )and after pumping for sometime i manage to fill up 2 x 125ml Avent bottles during each ebm session. at first i was very proud of my achievement but later after few months when more colleagues came back from their maternity leave and do ebm, i noticed something not right again. i always got to spend at least 25min for each ebm session to fill up 2x125ml Avent bottle but the others ladies used less than 10min including pack up of pump etc. Their o/p is more than mine. becasue all of us store our milk in a common fridge at the nursing room so from one look i can see that i am using the smallest bottles. the others are using VIA storage containers or the other don't know what brand. the size of her bottles is about the size of soya sauce bottle (small size type). all their bottles are almost filled to brim and they took only less than 10min. i thot OMG!! i really wanted to hide my bottles from them but i can't find other fridge my milk. sigh. i am not sure if the slow flow in my milk is the result of my girl's feeding style. both my hubby and myself thot that she want to feed for the sake of comfort latching cos she suck very slowly. like taking opium like that. oh ya. one more thing to share. the flow rate for my milk during pumping with my avent uno and PIS is almost the same. in case you are interested to know also my colleagues doing ebm are using PIS (old model. size less bulky than my PIS adv), mini electric (very noisy motor but size less bulky)and the other super mom using 2 avent manual pump (she has the smallest carrier for her pump and she can even pump when electricity trip).

i found something regarding bb refusing to latch for feeding. i thot you may want to take a look.

http://www.babycenter.com/0_nipple-confusion_8491.bc

ooosp! my post like getting longer and longer...hope you ladies won't mind :p

furlin,

i bought a single manual pump to standby before i delivered, cos i tot sure no prob to latch bb on :p

when she had probs latching i used the manual pump to faithfully pump every 3 hrs. fortunately i didn't hv probs with supply.

after abt 2+ mths when i figured my bb was really never going to latch properly i got a medela swing.

this time round after discussion with hb i invested straight away in the freestyle. if turns out my bb can latch well i'll just sell it off 2nd hand

grumpus, my situation opp from you. i bought a avent uno cos i got no confident that my bb will latch on for feeding :p but she turned out to be very pro in latching on to feed. she can even feed dog style. that time my hubby and MIL see liao laugh until sit on the floor.

but on the other hand, i got problem with expressing milk... sigh

Ting,

dog style! haha i read already burst out laughing.

actually hor, expressing milk also got technique one. i was very lucky i had a friend to teach me cos i was suffering from very bad engorgement from not being able to clear the milk out and luckily she taught me wat to do.

Ting,

my friend told me when pumping, after one round of letdown to sort of adjust and move the suction cups around so that u can target another area of milk ducts cos if u just cup and pump, even for one hr or whatever, u'll mostly only be using the same few milk ducts.

then while pumping also use the hand to massage especially the back area so that those back milk ducts also get used.

after finish pumping, feel around the entire breast make sure everywhere is soft and no lumps that means breast fully emptied.

when bb latch is not the same cos somehow they are able to draw out the milk from the entire breast but the pump is not as effective compared to bb

Actually i find whether bb latch on or pumping better in establising supply really depends on bb. My gal used to fall asleep when she latch on and take very long also, then when i remove her from my breast she will cry as she still hungry. In the end, i relied on my PISA to establish my supply. I find it better cos i can pump every few hrs at a fixed interval, which is very impt for establishing supply.

For the 1st mth, my supply was not great, but got better in my 2nd mth and by the 3rd mth i had excess to freeze. Managed to breastfeed for 1 year and had lots to freeze so really have to thank my PISA. I think a dual electric pump is a good investment for those who are determined to breastfeed.

Ting - i also used to take 30 mins each time to express. Maybe yr colleagues supply very good and flow fast so take much faster. But mine does not flow that fast so i take longer and also want to make sure i empty my breast.

daphne - i did my amnio last week. Right after the procedure got a bit of cramps which nurse say is normal, but went away after resting for abt 30 mins. But for the next 3 days hv to walk slowly so as not to affect the wound. I find that my stomach a bit crampy for the next 3 days and sometimes slight pain, also feel very bloated when i eat. But by the 4th day it was ok. Hang in there!

Sputnik,

oh you did the the amniocentesis test as well? I did mine on the 10th of Aug. For me, no cramping at all and no soreness. Of course, I just took it easy for the whole week and didn't carry my toddler at all or any heavy groceries.

I was initially very worried, cos my friend had a colleague who had 6 hours of cramping after the procedure. wa lau, scary. But didn't m/c or anything lar.

yesterday went for checkup, i thought can know the sex of baby.... unfortunately, my baby's leg is like a pair of chopstick- no open [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] actually before i went for checkup, i have told baby let us know the gender so that i can buy the CNY & full month clothes for him/her. no choice lar... wait till FA scan and see whether can know the gender...

my gynae is going for 3 mths maternity start from next month onwards... i have been refer to another gynae Daniel KK Lee, located at lucky plaza. any mummies attached to this gyane? how is he?

Daphne, 5 days sounds good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Take care and I am sure results will be good.

Hi Ting,

THanks for the article link. For my no.1, it was a very difficult experience coz I did total BF during the period in hospital. On the very day of discharge, when we went back home, my gal developed fever. We went straight back to GlenE again, and was told that she wasn't drinking enough and that her weight fell by more than 30% which is not good. Immediately, the nurses bottle feed her and she looked so satisfied after she drank to her heart's content.... I was very sad coz I was the one who insisted on doing full BF and I didn't know that she wasn't drinking enough, and heard that no need to give water.... sigh... hence, it could be that she developed nipple confusion and refused to latch on coz drinking from bottle is easier than latching on...

Daphne,

Thanks for the KK contact. I will try to give them a call later on. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

TGIF!!!

grumpus, Thanks for elaborating. sounds logical. shall give it a try.

Sputnik, i think 25min for an ebm session a bit long lor. my girl also cry when i unlatch her after she been latching on for a long time. i think she latch on for the sake of comfort latching and not hungry cos she really sucking too slowly. anyway i shall see how. i will try out various method to improve the milk flow. if not i think my boss will be very unhappy if i spend too much time to ebm during working hr :p

you are another brave mommy here.all the best to your amnio test result also.

Morning MTBs!

Went for my detailed scan yesterday and i'm glad to know i'm having a boy after a long wait. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]