(2011/01) Jan 2011

dear mummies, I'm doing a Bp on Sophie the giraffe , baby first toy. It's a natural rubber teether made in France. If anyone is interested to order for mummies in this thread, special discount can be given to u all ya. Cos all is ready stock. Pls pm me ya. Tks.

PM - I think I saw a pregnancy pillow that looks like the Taka one selling at First Few Years (KKH). You can go to FFY website. Its cheaper, abt SGD130 I think.

Hi, chabby.. I can't slp side way too, not use to it and very uncomfortable. There are those prenatal massage by those lady who provide post natal too so i thought of trying if it helps... Thanks..

Hi CL, u r so lucky... Prob i try out J&J moisturiser.. Thanks..

Charleen, i started backache since 1st trimester.. thats y i thgt of trying out prenatal massgae, hope it helps..

Ivftwins, i have a jamu massgae contact frm frd.. Maybe u want to ask her, Lisa - 83844153.

Hi anyone is in aqua aerobics class? Recommend?

hi mummies.. havent logged in for many days liao.. too tired recently..

anyone started to notice if your ankles are swelling? mine's swelling until my colleagues also noticed.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] i thought only third trimester than it will start?

If you are not into yoga, can try pre-natal pilates instead. Helps me with my backaches!

And a cheaper option to pregnancy pillows is a regular long body pillow (can get frm aussino), cheap, useful and good!!

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I have the following items for sale OR exchange.

1. BNIB Little Giant Milk Bags. Made in Korea. Good Quality. 1 packet for $10, 2packets for $6 each

2. BNIB Carters Rompers for baby boy. 6-9mths. 5pcs in a pack. $22

3. Thomson Medical Black/ Blue Sling/ Shoulder Diaper Bag $4

4. Maxi-Cosi Cabrio Fix Car Seat – Under Warranty! $198

5. Sterilising Tablets about 30pills - $4

6. Arm’s Reach Co-Sleeper - $69

7. Naforye Air-Flow Baby Carrier - Blue Colour, Good Condition 9/10 $29

8. Quinny Zapp Baby Stroller – Wave colour! Almost brand New! Condition 9.5/10! $308

9. Quinny Zapp Original Stroller Basket – Good Condition! 9.5/10! $35

10% discount or free Diaper bag if you buy more than 2 items!! Can throw in Free glass bottles!! Free sterilizing tablets!

Can Exchange for brand New MammyPoko/Fitti/Pampers L Size Diapers

Collection near Parkway Parade, Raffles Place or Bt Batok! Or via Postage

Please PM me if keen. Thanks!

Sorry to disturb, I have already delivered and looking to clear some brand-new and preloved baby and maternity items. Please refer to this link http://picasaweb.google.com/116194716505027587843/ItemsForSale?authkey=Gv1sRgCOf1kYbm-8Ta1gE#

for related pics and descriptions. Items include BN Avent Light Moisturizing oil @ $15, My brest friend nursing pillow, and Dale abdominal binder.

If keen, please PM or email me at [email protected] Thanks!

SOLD items will be deleted in the album, so it won’t be confusing.

PS: just to add, for every purchase for $15 and above, you get 5pcs of Drypers S for free. so for $30, u get 10pcs and so on. while stocks last!

pinky_j,

do monitor if you are swelling anywhere else.

my feet is bigger la.. dun i dun think it's swelling. swelling can be any trimester.

possible cause of swelling could be water retention or pregnancy induced hypertension (PIH).

be extra careful and monitor swelling especially if it's on hands and face. if you are concern about, can just pop into any GP to get your BP measured.

Anyone looking for a good second-hand stroller?

I have a Capella S228 (black and orangey red) for sale at $150. Suitable for newborn. It is a four-wheel drive stroller and the handles are reversible. It comes with full-canopy and a three-point harness. I bought it about 6 months ago at Robinsons (retail price was about $200). It is used occasionally as I also have another Combi stroller (a hand-me-down) from my colleague. I'm letting the Capella go because I have just bought a twin stroller (expecting another bb). Please email me at [email protected] if you are interested. Thank you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mrs Ang

Mamas & Papas brand (from UK) baby Cot & changing table (both cream color)

Used only for 2 years and is in very good condition

Cot has 3 levels and is good for newborn till 3 years old.

Come with mattress and bed sheets.

Bought at $1500 now selling $450!

Please conatact me at 97970047 for viewing or photos. Sorry, i hv problem to upload the photos here.

ivftwins:

I'm with KKH too. Currently only given Multi-Vits. Gynae shared that he will start me on Fish oil at the next visit (week 30). This is the same case as my #1. Not sure if its a KK practice or its just my gynae but the fish oil is started towards the end of 2nd to early 3rd trimester. Not prescribed any calcium.

re: sleeping position

I used a normal pillow to support my tummy when I sleep on my sides. Find that it is more comfortable to sleep on my sides than on my back. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Almost blackout the other day when I stand for about 20-30 mins. Started seeing stars and got ear block. Turned so pale that I scared my helper and some passers-by. Had to squat down and rest for 15 min before I can even stand up and walk properly. So scary... so mummies, please take care of yourselves.

HI Jass1408,

You take care ok. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Me having my check up this sat really looking forward to it and i will ask for multi vit too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

jass1408,

That's what happened to me too! Was really scary at the time cos wasn't expecting it. But when I told my gynae about it, he was quite unconcerned, apparently this happens frequently once we hit week 20+. As long as your blood pressure is ok and there are no other symptoms like contractions or anything it's not a serious matter usually.

I am starting to feel itchy all over my body, sometimes face also, but those arent even real itch, cos if I tried to scratch, it will like go some other part and itch, kind of like imaginery itch all over! Does any of u have this too?

As for swelling, sometimes when I wake up, joints of my fingers or ankle have that feeling but will go away after a while. I have bad water retention at the last tri for my 1st baby, that I took injection to ease the pain of walking. Hope this round wont be that bad again.

Lily & Luckymummy:

Thanks. I checked with my gynae as my BP is quite low this time round 40+/80+. He says its quite common for pregnant mum to have lower BP. Just be care and don't stand for long. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]) Hahaha but then ever since that happens, I'm a bit paranoid.

Do take care Jass1408 and Luckymummy. For me i do feel giddy when i suddenly stand up sometimes can see stars... and getting breathless easily.

I dont get all these when i carried my 1st child wonder is it due to age catching up [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Me coming to week 25th this week and if people ask us how many months? how do we calculate? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

My feet n ankle has swelled too! I also tot it's too early to have such swelling. I couldn't fit into my working shoes so went to buy a pair of Crocs.

First time I'm wearing Crocs n I think Crocs doesn't suit me. The support is quite bad until now the part behind my right ankle is very pain. N my ankle is hard n stiff! So I'm walking around with a limp, plus body weight is heavier. Terrible.

Anyone can advise wat is a good pair of shoes to wear that can also accommodate a swelling feet?

Hi Bethel, been a crocs fan but been wearing fit flop since my 2nd tri and it helps me for backache wonder whether its effective or jus depends on indvidiual but it does help alot for me. Was actually recommend by my colic whom is preggy and she wore fit flop all the way too [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hope it help [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I am attending pre-natal yoga classes and my instructor gave us some tips.

1. To prevent water retention and variscose veins for legs, lie on your side, raise one leg up and do ankle rotation. But must support your leg when doing this as we are not as flexible now. And of course, you can raise your legs higher with cushions when watching TV at home.

2. To prevent water retention of fingers, do wrist rotation and shake your wrists (like you are drying your hands).

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Can I ask, when they always say put cushions or pillows to raise up your feet, do they mean put them at the feet part or the knees part? i find it very uncomfy if the pillows are propped at the ankles part, but if I put the pillows below the knees, then the foot not really raised leh...

Hi Misty,

Same here... i never raise my feet as not so comfy [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Anyone who had experience terrible cold and slight cough with phlegm?

Anyone who knows what remedy I can do. I am having headaches for 3 days already and can't sleep well at night. So far asked husband to rub vicks vaporub on my chest and forehead. I feel better for awhile and then again i will start to have clogged nose again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]((

Help [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bethel: U can try Fitflops.. I wear them from 1st tri until now.. no much back aches.. ;-) But abit ex lah...

Misty: raise your feet = placing the pillows at the ankles.. may have to stack one or two to get the height.

To reduce water reduction, can also drink more small amount of water regularly throughout the day.. But dun drink too much before u slp loh..

Yes Apple i am wearing them too veri comfortable i must say ex but worth it lo no choice [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lily, Apple,

I've seen fit flops, they look like birkenstocks ya?

Do they hv those covered toes kinda shoes?

Dun think I can wear slipper-like shoes to work.

Re:sleeping

I hv a normal adult pillow under my ankle to prop my feet up.

And I can only sleep on my left side with a baby pillow to support my tummy.

FitFlops - am also wearing Fitflops, but i do get backaches.. Perhaps it helps me reduce the backache bah coz i find when i wear other shoes, i dont get much support. I bot mine from Amazon - ard $70+ after shipping, isetan/OG - selling $100odd.

casey - Me also another victim of cold and cough with chesty phelgm. Sigh....2 trimesters, and i get 3 episodes of it. It gets very bad at night coz of the blocked nose I cant sleep. I did get medicine from Gynae, and take it unless v unbearable kind. It's non drowsy thus gynae says its safe.

hi moms, i have following brand new maternity clothes and dresses for sale, can drop me an email [email protected]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4546598.jpg]Item 1 SGD 15

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4546599.jpg] SGD 15

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4546637.jpg] SGD 15

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4546638.jpg] SGD 10

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/3877999/4546639.jpg] SGD 10

Alicia,

thank you for sharing.. useful tip. =)

will try the feet trick later on bed.

Lily and Bethel,

fitflops look very high w its thick soles..

i worry i trip. very poor coordination with platform shoes and heels. may jus give it a miss and wear my usual shoes

Hmmm.. I also scared that i might trip too.. But after wearing fitflops, really can feel the difference vs the normal shoes such as flats.. I think it is due to the thick soles.. didnt get leg cramps or aches when walk for very long time..

Poor mummy: are u sleeping in air-con room?? My first tri is like tat.. kept having flu.. Now i take multi-vit plus at least 1 or 2 potions of fruits.. Now at least better..

Hi Casey31,

I had a very bad case of flu and cough with phglem. Sooooooo bad I couldn't sleep lying down! Saw a doctor but refused to take medicine, then my hubby said why I even bother to see doctor if i don't wanna take medication! Grrr. Anyway after 3 days, couldn't tahan, went back to the doctor for medication, which was a wise move as the doctor commented that excessive coughing will be very distressful for the baby and he assured that the medication will have no bad effects on the baby. Took me another 10 days to recover but I'm glad I took the doctor's advice else dunno have to suffer for how long...

try the following tricks when down w flu/cold

simple, easy, tried and tested since i'm allergic to some anit-biotics (therefore avoid whenever possible):

1. i gargle salt water. this is effective in bringing down throat inflammation due to cold

2. hydrate, drink lots of water. can even add those efferversence vitamin C into water to increase immunity

3. avoid junk food. eat fruits

4. ginger tea..

5. drink hot liquid and take steamy bath helps prevent nasal congestion

6. sleep semi-incline

Apple - Yup, I sleep in aircon room. I did attempt to switch off the aircon,but then get woken up again coz I perspire. totally dont like to get blocked nose at all, like this also cannot, like that also cannot. irritating. hahaha...

Chelleybaby - Yah, my hb just tell me not to be "ti-ki" just go see doc and get medication.. =X

Mummies - are u still having morning sickness? Mine stopped for awhile, but yesterday and this morning I vomitted big time again.........

poor mummy,

i was nauseas yesterday too.

suspect it was the fatigue due to poor rest the nite before.

Did you rest well since you are down with cold/flu? could be that, not morning sickness.

Chabby - I'm on the route to recovery..

Oh, didnt know fatigue/tiredness can cause nauseas too.. okok, will take note [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Ah.... I dont feel like working!! hahaha

Good excuse to take mc since u are not well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] take care poormummy

I think Fitflop is good. I used to wear crocs but the cushion support from fitflop is better. I also can't wear slipper for work but my feet will swell after walking so no choice and my boss didn't say anything.

Yes Mitch I agreed with you fitflop is good I try wearin crocs but end of day will feel ache but not fitflop [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Poor Mummy: I switched off the air-con after a few hours and on the fan to maximum.. Cooling enough to last through the night.. ;-)

At least you guys didnt kana colic. I got colic, now alot of things cannot eat.. such as deep fried food, soya milk, milk.... blar blar... Sianx...

having cramps in the tummy areas after eating something.. produce alot of air.. So tummy become very bloated.. Doc say the pains comes from the intestines trying to move and digest the food..

I read from books that the pre-existing food intolerance or allergy will become worse when u r pregnant..