(2010) 2009 TTCers Moving on to 2010... Come on in!

Lizzie,

eh.. my DH addicted to my food woh..

bbdust mummy,

haha.. nvm.. we cook together.. haha.. or all of us sit there then my DH cook? (Even worst.. wonder really can eat anot? hehehe =_=")

Lizzie,

yah.. cos the maintanance of the house not so good.. if need full reno will need lots of $$ liao..

xzz, if want to save money, can do away with false cellings. tiles if is ok can dont touch.. just do grouting. as for kitchen, wall tiles can be skip and replaced by washable paints that will save alot and much more modern.

reiko,

false ceiling we see how issit lor. unless we want to install downlights instead of just 1 piece of light.

tiles maybe, cos now is ceramic.. which we dun like. but if over cost then we leave it first.. until few years down the road, got more $$ then do. Kitchen wise.. they dun have wall tiles, so just paint.. but cupboard may need to change.

alison,

i can't wor.... its like a lot leh pengx... now that is a way of encouraging people to get preggie..see they dont work get preggie get money... here, we work, get preggie get nothing.

xzz, yaya if you want down lights or cove lights then need false ceiling. can be quite expensive if do full house. but at the end of the day you wont be using all down lights lor.. very taxing on electricity bills. sometimes side lamps also do a great job and nowadays so many pretty hanging lightings.

if cupboard interior is ok, yellowish can be clean de. you may consider to change the doors only. like my wardrobe, interior ok, i just change the sliding doors.

tiles if want to change better change it now. can go wholesale factory and look for good deals. afterall changing tiles in future will damage furniture.

u know how much the truck drivers are paid there? $48 bucks per hour..the car washers $50 bucks per hour..and that is a lot more than what I am earning loh despite deducting taxes... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

XZZ, congrats on getting yr own place! my fren oso got her own place but she did not do any reno...juz do some painting before she moved in few yrs back. Back then, she just had her bb gal and money was very tight. Since then, she has gradually added some furnishings and the whole place looks cozy now : )

reiko,

yah.. i install downlights only but wont use them all the time. only when have guest then will use. I do light side lamps thou.. but provided my DH want. Hmm.. will go back check the kitchen cupboard again.. Oh.. u have lobangs for tiles at warehouse?

coconutz,

hmm.. okie.. yah..thats what my DH and i were thinking lor.. do the major and required ones.. like toilet and kitchen.. then the rest.. just paint over.. slowly find things to hang and deco lor.

xzz,

keke...sure sure, i will treat u free coconut during yr last trimester!!!! jiayou!

i have been baby dancing for the last few days...wondering whether my eggs fertilised a not? or whether i have ovulated at all this mth?

xzz, sorry i dont have.. because i nv change my tiles.. my tips is read from reno forums.. you can try renotalk got alot of tips.. and also can do away with feature wall lor.. expensive and waste full. can also play around with different paint colours and wall decals.

dining table can put to last to buy.. because 2 ppl can just eat at coffee table.

xmas and cny sure got many offers de.. do flip more papers, sometime you can get really goo deals.

XZZ

If you wan, I can intro you a trust worthy contractor. He is a business friend of my dh.

He do not have a registered co... he work on his own. No marketing cost so the overall cost will be lower. You just tell him what you want him to do and he will quote you.

Another one is A&D Interior Design Co along upper serangoon rd... look for Ricky. They quotation is quite reasonable.

Oh... can get some 2nd hand furniture too.

My Picket & rail dining set is only $400! 2nd hand... soild wood with 6 chairs.

XZZ

Wat really is expensive is the hacking and tiling of the floor and walls. So if u could close one eye on this, it will be a good saving.

xzz, for your reno, best do your flooring first. It's important as sometimes, old tiles can start to crack and even worse pop out due to wear and tear. If you have shifted in and want to re-do your whole flooring, you are going to have lots of trouble. Imagine where you are going to put your furniture, where you are going to stay and or even your installed cabinets, you may need to take them out as you need to replace the tiles.

If you are tight on budget, you can don't use ceramic tiles. There is another kind of wooden flooring. Can't remember the term for it. They just paste onto the cement floor. I think it's call laminating.

xzz

If I were u, die also must hack and do tiling.

#1 impt cos if u redo u must move out whereas cabinet can wait.

If u prepared to install later not much problem and u still can stay in.

Most basic at least: 2 bathroom 1 kitchen plus flooring.

If u not prepared to spend then dun do build-in wardrobe or not do only ur mbr but other br leave empty 1st

Also I dun recommend ceramic floor tiles for living, u can use homogeneous tiles.

Laminate can overlay one..

All floor tiles must hack and lay new ones, therefore bathroom need to do water-proofing ok.

xzz

another thing.

Please dun make the mistake to do tile shopping on your own.

Alot of homeowners think they shop cheaper than getting from the reno contractors which in fact is NOT..

Kitchen need to do wall tiles leh cos if u cook and u dun do... I will cry for u

zz, no need de.. my friend also no tiles in kitchen.. she does cooking everyday.. i talking abt the other side of the wall where by no stove there.. stove there of coz must have at least steel/tile/glass backing..

At least wipe marks better den oil stains in the cracks. Anyway I see all those industrial kitchens use steel, so it should be the best for cooking bah.. ^^".

My hubby cleans the kitchen for me, and he also prefer metal back.. ^^b.

zz,

hmm.. my idea similar to urs.. so now depends on budget.. i prefer homogenous cos cant afford marble. Cos wood will make house hotter and ceramic can crack easily.

Liz,

no worries, i may get both quotations from ZZ DH and ur friend de.. maybe in Jan or so will check with u guys for info again.

BBP,

yah.. i know what u mean.. i consider before oso, thats y dun intend to do build in stuffs yet.. cos if have bb, i prefer a cupboard that can be shifted.. only when bb big liao.. got permanent bed le.. then will do build in.

xzz

Honestly unless u prepared to maintain the marble then make otherwise pls dun...

Marbles stain easily becos it's natural and porous

Wood wun reli make the house hot lah.. my brs all parquet flooring

Also dun forget to run air-con pipes first even if u dun intend to fix air-con... if not later fix u will cry..

I hate reno mess

i am referring to the plaster lines between each tiles... not so white after years of cooking.. ^^".

There is a type of marble, called compressed marble though.. ^^". I went to my friend's place he laminate his floor using wood look alike, very nice!

zz,

hmm.. thats y we dun intend put marble floor, we put homogenous tiles (look like marble oso), and its very cooling. We dun like wood cos make the house very dark leh.. oso.. wood cannot kena water else will have termites..

reiko,

hmm.. then u sit down and rest a while lor.. i sometimes get this pain de.. then sit down rest a while then no more.. sometimes is caused by the wind in the intestines.. after farting then okie liao..

Hi everyone! First, gotta spread **BABY DUST ** to all!:)

We have been TTC for 2 months now, been married for 7 months. Would love to have someone to talk to, esp those first-timer TTCer above 35 years!;-)

I went for my pre check-up last Thursday and found a 6.5cm fibroid in my uterus. Am now in two minds about having it removed.:-( Though it does not interfere with trying to get pregnant, it could cause extreme pain during pregnancy. anyone else had experience with fibroid and fibroid removal?

Again, good luck to all and hope to hear from all from you!:)

First of all..."PUBLIC APOLOGY" to Alison...char bor...pai seh leh...that day i KO until i was late for work...set alarm to ring at 2pm, but somehow the pig in me didn't hear it...then when dh call me then i thought he was waking me up to go ur place... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] SORRY SORRY SORRY... mai angry hor...when Vio come back, we go visit u end of the month hor...

CD33 today...still double line on OPK...no sore breasts, got discharge, and dunno is it me, eating cajun mashed potato and it's sour, all my 3 colleagues all say it tastes ok, not sour...anyway not gonna think so much although last 2 days go cramping le...and backache so severe i didn't do much "housework" except for vacuuming and some ironing nia...oh...and i suspect i've got thyroid disorder cos i ballooned so much in the past 1 year...so went for blood test on Monday...kena jabbed 3 freaking times to draw a bit of blood....and my veins are so tiny and faint that i must draw from the back of my hands, not the normal place to draw blood...freaking pain...anyway, waiting for blood test results...should be out today or tomorrow ba...

i got a question...is it possible to have PCOS 3-4 months after my V scan and although gynae says that my uterus lining and ovaries are healthy???reason being, this cycle is really funny and unusual cos i've never had double lines for coming 3 weeks lor... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

i wanna puke liao....NB...CCB...pui....Ris Low is on the cover of FHM!!! heng ar...my dh dun buy FHM liao.... BOYCOTT FHM FOR THIS MONTH!!!! wait everyone grow eye needle...

hi tubby!

Er... u wanna try test on hpt for fun? :p

kaoz.. ris on FHM? -_-"

what she has to show huh? really...

from what i know, PCOS wont suddenly pops out?

As for thyroid, if feel very hot lately and constantly, weight suddenly increases alot, then might need to check check ba..

else.. dun stress urself over this la. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]